User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1322 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch of rooms of houses cluttered with boxes and junk, voice acting is great and the music is pretty good and gunfire is good, the controls are AMAZING some of the best out there, multiplayer is what you should buy this game for, it's deep fun and amazing, just buy this game for the multiplayer Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Second best game I have ever played on any xbox system...Original Halo. That said this game is by far the best war game ever made. The weapons are great, the killing is great. I love how you can bomb people from the sky with a remote. Very violent, great.
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    FPS perfection!! Theres very few games I would give a 10 too but the Call of Duty Series, (especially Infinity Ward) is definitely an exception to the rule. There is no Game out there that has the intensity in single player mode and game play and frame rate in multi-player. There is no substitution for the Whole Call of Duty Series!!
  4. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it'sThis is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it's best for this game. It's extremely fun. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Very good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play itVery good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play it again I always have fun. Easy 9 in my book. Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    10
    The best game of 2007, hands down. Infinity Ward has revived the franchise to it's true potential. With an interesting story with memorable environments and locations, and extremely fun, intense, and addicting mulitplayer, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, is the reason why Call of Duty, is where it is at today.
  7. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    The single player sucks and is incredibly short and the online is the definition of repetitive. i don't understand what people like about this,if you want a good shooter play Bioshock, Half-life 2,gears of war or crysis
  8. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this game, the SP was really fun and exciting, and the graphics at time of release was quite ground breaking for my 360. Story was a bit plain, but this is a war shooter so that's not too much of a detractor. Liked it? - Yes
  9. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    best game ever .................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Best COD of the series so far, clearly a superior game for it's time. This is a retrospective review however, and the groundwork laid by COD4 has yet to be realized and improved upon as of this review. Still, it can't be denied the enormous significance of this game; Halo 2 created online multiplayer; COD4 perfected it.
  11. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This is a game that I went out of my way to play the single player, when I usually just skip to the competitive multiplayer. This is still my favorite of all of the Call of Duty games from this amazing franchise. I enjoy how simple and balanced the gameplay is. Please do yourself a favor and pick this up for the sheer fun that it will bring to you.
  12. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    Not a perfect game but a good one. The graphics for its time were breathtaking. It is the best campaign out of all the call of duty games. Its an elite Fps and will keep you playing for a while. the flaws in this game are not any big ones but a few little ones. first of all there are way to many glitches in the game. also some gun classes have to many guns and some dont have enough. AlsoNot a perfect game but a good one. The graphics for its time were breathtaking. It is the best campaign out of all the call of duty games. Its an elite Fps and will keep you playing for a while. the flaws in this game are not any big ones but a few little ones. first of all there are way to many glitches in the game. also some gun classes have to many guns and some dont have enough. Also like the other call of duty games the game focuses to much on multiplayer and not enough on the campaign. but overall a great game but some flaws that keep it from winning any special awards Expand
  13. May 14, 2013
    10
    For me, this game will always stand out for being the best game to come out of the franchise. I absolutely loved it with a passion and upon release I struggled to put the game down. I will explain why, this game holds the highest rating out of all the games in the series next to it's successor (Modern Warfare 2) for a reason. It was addictive.

    This game stole at least 25 days of my life
    For me, this game will always stand out for being the best game to come out of the franchise. I absolutely loved it with a passion and upon release I struggled to put the game down. I will explain why, this game holds the highest rating out of all the games in the series next to it's successor (Modern Warfare 2) for a reason. It was addictive.

    This game stole at least 25 days of my life away from me and I didn't have a problem with that, this was due to how unique the multiplayer was. This game brought out a serious competitive streak when it comes down to the multiplayer. I wanted to reach the maximum prestige and have that awesome looking emblem, unlock all the guns over and over again and keep progressing ahead of my pals. It was a fun experience and for another key factor which has ruined the Xbox 360's social sector. Party chat. It wasn't around then so you were constantly in game chat, meeting new people and having a laugh with complete randoms. Let me tell you this, you were considered a badass if you gained two helicopters in one TDM. Now? I couldn't really care if some kid got a nuke or MOAB in the later games.

    Now though, the COD franchise is becoming nothing more than recycled goods. In my opinion, what I experienced through this games multiplayer I will not be able to experience again on any of the new games in the series. I no longer have the desire to grind it out to max prestige, especially now as game chat is usually out of the window as party chat has turned people into unsociable recluses. This will remain my #1 FPS of all time. Not for graphics, not for gameplay, not for the maps or the guns. Just the social experience that came with it.
    Expand
  14. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    A solid and entertaining experience, I came to the game too late to get anything from the multiplayer experience but the campaign itself was very entertaining and the story arc plays well across the three MW games. Graphics, gunplay and immersion still hold strong even today whilst many games of this period have quickly aged and flagged.
  15. May 1, 2016
    7
    This game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughlyThis game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughly experienced. The shooting is both varied and weighty. The levels are designed in such a way as to hint the player towards multiple possible tactical approaches ; Choosing to storm the inside of a building is as challenging as it should and might reward you with a unique vantage point. The various set pieces are seamlessly integrated and never feel odd or disconnected from the main mechanics. The voice acting is great and the minimalist story telling keeps the scenario engaging and fairly credible. That said, the game is clearly part of a sophisticated war propaganda machine and is likely indirectly responsible for the death of many young testosterone filled adolescents in need of adventure ; I believe this will be rightly regarded as a historical piece of Zionist propaganda down the line. The main villain's name is even named after the current president of Syria, whom the Zionists are currently trying to actively murder ; Russian patriots are also antagonized. The visuals, animations and lighting hold surprisingly well, and thoroughly immerse . Modern warfare is not only a good shooter, it is simply one of the best FPS experience of all time and deserves to be celebrated as such. Expand
  16. CalebT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC. I was a little disapointed by the last one but this game more than makes up for it with it's overall intensity. From the excelent sneaking missions to the hectic urban battles, this game has it all. Look out Halo, Bioshock, Gears of War and the Orange Box, there is a new champ in town and it's called Call of Duty 4.
  17. CMode
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutey AMAZING in every aspect except length, but that is made up for with the hours spent playing multiplayer!!!
  18. MaxS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Simply put "the fun never stops" . From the training course, to the end assault at 20000 feet, this game just rocks. Oh yeah the Multiplayer is pretty good too!
  19. TonyG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are phenomenal, boards are expansive and well thought out, and the sound effects are great. After awhile, you can even pick out the reports of the different types of guns. Buy / rent this title if you're looking for insane multiplayer FPS. Expand
  20. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, the single-player mission is very short. It took me about 8 hours and I kind of took my time. So it was a ten for quality, but the quantity sets it back. That would be made up for by the replay-ability of the multi-player, except for I didn't like the multi-player. Granted, I only tried it for a few hours, so it might just take more getting used to, and I didn't get to try all the modes. But so, since I didn't enjoy the multi-player, and the solo campaign is so short, I can't quite give it a perfect ten, though it seems like a crime to not give it a ten considering how excellent the single-player mode was while it lasted. Expand
  21. J.D.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic single player + multiplayer with gorgeous graphics make this an easy purchase. Forget Halo and buy this game. You'll understand when you are launching bombs from an AC-130 and watching the guys on the screen fly all directions.
  22. JamesP.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    i have finished the game and i thought it had everything it was superb and it was detailed with great first person shooting and cant wait for call of duty 5 to come out
  23. SamF.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to be on your toes, using cover sensibly and picking your weaponry appropriately. I also haven't experienced half as much lag as I have on Halo 3 and overall the multiplayer modes are much better implemented. Only fault for me is the dodgy melee button, but that's changeable! Expand
  24. JamesB.
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game succeeds in most players ratings. The gameplay on the other hand falls off against that beautiful presentation very harsh. You are confronted with the worst thing of modern FPS games: a linear awefully scripted rebirth of COD2. If one can learn from doom3 debacle ist that no one likes scripted shooters. Especially if the are illogical. Just to name one of such an annoyance: One can shoot out of the enemy helicopters that are the most often the most dangerous thread in the campaign the MG gunner. But in the moment you shot him he is replaced by a new one (unlimited times). The multiplayer has a slightly different presentation that does not look so well like the campaign, but the field of depth effect looks in online mode great as well. The problem with online mode is the fact that your success mostly depends on how often you have played multiplayer and how good your connection is to the XBOX that hosts the game. The more often you play the game the better is your weapons arsenal that by default makes you superior to newcomers. That is not a great idea but it is one you can accept. But if you loose your duels against other players although you sawe and shot the first then you get really mad. Even worse is that the engine looses your kills during game. I witnessed with my friends who sat besides me more than once that the in game statistic showed 2 kills on my list and five seconds later my 2 kills were gone and I was again at zero. This happens very frequently and has nothing to do with the score-penalty one gets for killing friendly players. In the end result both parts look really great at first but fall of short very fast if one gets a deeper look at them. Expand
  25. SimonP.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    As a single player experience this is arguably second to Halo 3 or Bioshock, but add in the superbly implemented multi-player aspect and it
  26. PaulH.
    Feb 8, 2008
    7
    This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way they intended feel is best and do not allow you to express yourself in the least. The only reason my rating is so high is because outside of the gameplay, everything else is fantastic. Expand
  27. Mike
    Feb 8, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoile I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is alot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personnaly think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry if I have displeased you in any way. Expand
  28. HughGRection
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Sweet. IMO best game of 2007.
  29. LoganC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great story plot, Amazing graphics, Realistic environments, if your looking for experience thats like actual combat this close to it.
  30. SeanC.
    Mar 5, 2008
    7
    While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), you can't break wood (all that happens is a cheesy "hole" appears), you can't break much of anything important. Half Life 2 even had better physics than this. Another flaw is some of the level designs. For example, in single player mode, there are a few areas where you can look up, throw a grenade where it's completely open, and the grenade will bounce off an invisible wall in the air and land on your head. In multiplayer mode, the level designs get very repetitive, and it starts feeling dull very quickly. Some people have mentioned how sniping is so realistic because of the wind and gravity effects, but I'd like to point out that the only time those effects come into play is during a three minute part of a level where you take exactly two sniper shots. In reality, the rest of the game is just like any other game with sniping, except that your guy trembles like a mad man when he's using the scope. Aside from these flaws though, and the rather narrowness of the storyline, the game is pretty fun. Killing people never gets boring in multiplayer, and there's a lot more value to using various guns in this game than there is in just sticking to one or two guns. Customizing your player with different weapons, accessories to your weapons, and perks is a nice addition, and the game is relatively balanced so that each class of gun has a scenario on any level where it can be good. Expand
  31. JoeL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game ROCKS. It may have a few flaw, but I can't think of them right now because of how fun and addicting this game is. The multi player aspect of the game is awesome. This is a must have, but it will ruin you because you won't be able to play any of your other FPS games.
  32. DaylandM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Its the perfect online multiplayer experience. Every fps that came before paved the way for this, the ultimate online experience. It borrows a little from every game that came before it, to our benefit as critical gamers. I sincerely hope that by raising the bar for everyone else, some game company will be motivated to exceed what COD4:MW has achieved.
  33. SamB.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion of the COD sandwich is the multiplayer. Infinity Ward made leveling up and completing challenges feel better than it should. Framerate during online play is great, all the guns are balanced perfectly and each map offers it's own set of pro/cons you must learn at your own discretion. It's the features like a hit icon to let you know your bullets have reached another player and killcams so you know not to make the same mistake twice that well round and polish the multiplayer. I honestly have no complaints about this game, overall, singleplayer is great, multiplayer is great, controls works great and the game is just plain fun. This game is not about art direction or camera angles, it's about fun, the game is f - u - n. Expand
  34. BenC.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    The single greatest game to ever grace my disk drive. This is a near perfect masterpiece of a game. From the intense singleplayer campaign, to the endlessly replayable multiplayer, this title is flawless. Although Co-Op campaign would be nice, I won't fault the game for not having it.
  35. JacobL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged in massive battle and next sneaking through enemy territory in gillie suit. The campaign truly takes advantage of the setting being present day. This is shown through the weapons, missions, and vehicles. The campaign may be short but it is truly amazing. The multyplayer is also very fun to play. There is a lot of customizing for your character including weapons, perks, and cameos, oh my! Once you level up all the way you can even enter prestige mode where you start over with a symbol indicating you leved up and gave up everything. Despite all this greatness there are some minor flaws in the campaign. For one thing sometimes your objective is a little unclear and I sometimes found myself restarting the level just so I could hear the important dialouge again. But again this can easily be overlooked. If you can get Call of Duty 4 don't hesitate you'll love it. This is one of the best 360 out there. One thing to note though once you've played this you'll most likely rarely/ever play Halo 3 again. So if you haven't bought it yet (which is very unlikely) or are still not done with it yet be warned. Call of Duty 4 is somehow superior to Halo 3 in every way unimaginable and has fun all over it and personally I wouldn't want it any other way. Expand
  36. SawyerC.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    The best xbox 360 game by far I haven't even looked at halo 3 since i bought cod4 when it came out.
  37. kipa
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different shade of gray. I severely hate the online gameplay. I dont know where to start, the perks probably seemed to be a good idea in the production room to give the player a more customizable character. well, the perks just ruin it.... a guy can take a .50 caliber sniper rifle to the chest and just keep on running just because he has juggernaut? in reality that would tear a man in half. i also hated that they didn't make a rate of fire cap on pistols, so if your in last stand just smash right trigger and unload 12 shots in half a second. also from the point when you "kill" a guy and he slide into last stand bullets don't register, so you will shoot him maybe 17 times before they die. I thought this game whas about realism. OK WTF is with the knife, i am used to playing games where you have to pull out the knife and use it by itself and it takes 2-3 hits. but no in this i guess you can whip out a knife instantly and stab a guy in the foot from 3 feet away a get the kill. in conclusion great single-player game with stellar fps mechanics but on the other hand multi-player is one big game of grab ass, no real skill involved, spawning into gunfire, knifes doing 5x more damage than bullets, no team strategy involved in public matches makes it dull and frustrating. Expand
  38. SimonM
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning system. Mutliplayer on the other hand has proved its point after years of age - this is absolutely a classic. The leveling system and weapon/class customization through perks changed the game. The maps are all great (a few have some unfortunate choke points). Spawn killing by non-grenade methods is difficult when both teams get used to how spawning works. People don't realize that this game isn't about rampaging. It's about survival and kills. Each match has its own momentum swing. Hopefully the sequel will get rid of the sticky aim and spawning flaws in both first player and multiplayer. Otherwise this is a very memorable game. Expand
  39. ZackM
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    COD 4 is amazing. Although the game was costly, I soon realized it was money well spent once I began to play it. The game defiantly lived up to the hype for me. The graphics, game play, and replay ability factor were all there. BTW, this game is very similar to SOCOM US Navy Seals. So, if you loved SOCOM (as I did) you
  40. michaelk
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Single Player is irrelevant in this game. It's not about that so stop complaining people. Simply put the online play is the best available. It will take days to be able to compete with other players but once you get a prestige under your belt it is just THE best social online experience ever.
  41. JacobM
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played CoD4 online multiplayer. Yes, some of the maps are taken right from the campaign, but, to me, that doesn't matter. They are still very interesting and make the online game play unpredictable. Both the campaign and the online multiplayer are superior to that of CoD WaW in every aspect. If you don't know which one to buy, certainly buy CoD4. WaW is garbage compared to this game. However, Modern Warfare 2 is coming out in less than 4 months, so you should probably save your money for that game. Expand
  42. MikeH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although the campaign is a tad short, it is brilliantly paced and incredibly atmospheric. Without spoiling it for anyone: the sniper mission, in particular, is one of the best single-player shooter levels I've ever played. With all the challenges and unlockables the multiplayer is deep enough, and has enough room for skill, to make this one you'll be playing for months to come.
  43. MikeS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Single player campaign is a bit short, but it's still the best I've seen on the 360. The multiplayer is basically perfect. I've played Halo 3, and I can't even begin to understand why the scores are comparable.
  44. JohnS.
    Nov 10, 2007
    8
    The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also really short (5 hours). Multiplayer is fast-paced action. It has a persistent system for unlocks, ranking, etc. It's awesome. If you want to play this game for the single player, rent it. If you want it for multiplayer then buy it. Expand
  45. EricAtkins
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The campaign is unlike any campaign I've played. The multiplayer gameplay is innovative with meta games and great graphics. There is a lot of replayability in this game. I am one of the biggest HALO fans, but I won't be playing Halo 3 until I'm tired of CoD4. Unlike Halo 3 (which seems like downloadable content for Halo 2), CoD4 is fresh.
  46. WarGator
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number of nades, etc.; more realistic killing, I shoot somebody twice and they do not fall down dead or wounded because of extra +health points; increased ability to move in buildings needed, not enough entrance ways and windows to shoot from. GOOD POINTS: Each game becomes more realistic than the last game; weapons are represented realistically; good graphics; flows well; fighting is realistic; uniforms are realistic. Expand
  47. BDub
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the cover system). I'm playing the MP a lot right now, and like it a lot, but the single player was probably the best i've ever played. The graphics and sound on a nice system is amazing. The SP isn't very long, but i don't feel it was short either. If keeping the game shorter is what they needed to do to make the game as intense as it is, then i'm all for it. I'd much rather have 5 hours of bliss than 10 hours of boring sameness. This game is an absolute must buy. I'm a previous Halo fan, and enjoyed H3. It doesn't excite me to say that i liked this game a lot better than H3, but i did. The single player story is gripping and just so well done. Expand
  48. AnttiP.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Great game, with a small but. Some multiplayer maps don´t have that good graphics. To be honest, some maps look pretty crappy. This is shocking, as we know the quality standards Infinity Ward has become famous of. Some maps like Bog and Backlot just don´t look good at all. I think the problem is with the lighting.
  49. SeanZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is actually much better than the playstation 3 version. Fanboys of the PS3 still won't admit the 360's superiority in games and online. Call of duty 4 completely proves all that the 360 has already said. Great graphics, no lag whatsoever, and much smoother than the PS3.
  50. ChrisH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Besides the fact that this game is absolutely beautiful. It delivers the best console FPS action out there today. The single player story is interesting and engrossing, and the multiplayer level system is he definition of addicting.
  51. RayB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as fun as cod 4...not by a long shot. thats a major suprize, considering halo 3 was meant to own xbox live...but cod 4 won that battle hands down. however...the game of the year must goto bioshock. Expand
  52. GregQuick
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Based on the 360 multiplayer beta, I have to give this game a 9, only because there were only 3 available maps and at least half of the game was locked. I fully expect to give this game a 10 rating when it is released, because the beta by itself was ridiculously addictive...
  53. PatL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, amazing!
  54. AllanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Though short the single player is THRILLING. And the real reason to buy any FPS is the multiplayer which succeeds on EVERY level. A remarkable multiplayer experience that perfectly blends run and gun with Ghost Recon style tactics. Bravo IW.
  55. MichaelE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  56. ShaneC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    By far the best game of the year. Halo pales in comparison.
  57. JohnC.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The graphics are amazing, Couldn't believe what I was seeing. The gameplay was very fluid and enjoyable, perfected actually. I am not far into the game, maybe two hours, but I am addicted.
  58. JasonL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I haven't been to far into the campaign but what I have played has been as good as an FPS military style game. That being said this game probably has the best multiplayer I have ever played. I'm a huge halo fan, I love Rainbow Six Vegas, I enjoyed lost planet and GRAW 2 and this trounces all of them easily. Aside from the occasional lag the mulitplayer is perfect.
  59. ArthurH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and detail they put into every mission you'll see why. Buy it now! Expand
  60. RoBoTG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    CoD4's multiplayer alone warrants a perfect score, but it doesn't stop there. The single player is great and Arcade mode is super cool.
  61. KyleB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect 10 out of 10. Expand
  62. StuW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable game. I wish I can get back to the single player game but I'm hooked on the upgrade-crack system of multiplayer. It's Diablo II all over again, except in a game that keeps your heart racing for hours and blows your ears and eyes away from your head. If you are into FPS you better get this game - now.
  63. JordanW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    Its impossible to overlook the impossibly short lifespan of the single player missions. Poor effort! Next time stick with blue ray so you can put in a solid 20 hour campaign.
  64. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There is so much diversity that this game will make you want to play the single player at least twice (Having an arcade mode is a major plus) The Single player is fantastic, but what makes this game special is the most comprehensive and enjoyable Multiplayer that Call of Duty games are known to have. Playing through Xbox Live I can always find a game. The RPG style of leveling up weapons is such a nice touch. As far as I am concerned if you hate FPS in all forms and don't want to shill out 60 dollars for this game. At least go to your movie rental store and try it out for a week - I promise you that you will not be disappointed! Expand
  65. vz
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Want extra hours of campaign game play? Push the difficulty level on notch higher than the recommended one :) Even getting killed is so sweet in such a wonderful game!
  66. MichaelR.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it or you could buy it to add it to your collection because its worth keeping.I don't think games can get any better than this game.The start and ending is better then a lot of Hollywood movies. Expand
  67. KevinL.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This game plain and simple, just never gets old. Awesome from the minute you turn it on, until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  68. BrutalThumb
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    If this doesn't get game of the year, it will be a true shame. Yeah, the single player is short, but who cares, I would rather have a short campaign that is wonderful than a long one that is dull. And where it truely shines is online. GOTY!!!!!!
  69. RodanM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. Multiplayer is available for those who have time to unlock everything. Those who don't will leave the game early due to being able to only select a few beginner weapons at the start. This is especially frustrated when getting gunned down by someone with a better weapon. Expand
  70. COD4Nut
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls slightly short, but the way that infinity ward has made up for this is the intense online mode with tonnes of different modes and player perks and also the ability to call in airstrikes and choppers. AWESOME! kicks halo 3's butt like shaq would kick kobe's. can wait for the next one. Expand
  71. AdamM.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Great single player pretty short but best online game ever made, i loved halo3 and the orange box (not so much team fortress2) but this is the best online fps by a country mile.
  72. MassA.
    Dec 29, 2007
    5
    I really liked the game, so don't get me wrong, but it is disappointing that it is too unrealistic. You see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out I really liked the game, so don't get me wrong, but it is disappointing that it is too unrealistic. You see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out of a door instead of thinking about how to handle a tactical situation realisitically. This should encourage Activision (AND Ubisoft) to push for more realistic game productions, so that older fan can also enjoy "games". Btww, we should somehow find a solution that kids don't get access to these kind of games. It's a real turn down (to my ego), when I lhave to listen to a kid's voice giving names, bt being the best killer in town! Expand
  73. NateB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    This game is very very over rated. Basically the same game as all the other CoD's, just prettier. The missions are all almost basically clones of the prior games, and when they do add a little something new it is horribly boring (like when you drop bombs on guys). Sure the game looks amazing and the animations are all really smooth, but its just more and more of the same. No new This game is very very over rated. Basically the same game as all the other CoD's, just prettier. The missions are all almost basically clones of the prior games, and when they do add a little something new it is horribly boring (like when you drop bombs on guys). Sure the game looks amazing and the animations are all really smooth, but its just more and more of the same. No new tactics, no cover system or even the ability to lean, poor story that jumps all over the place, still fight enemies with unlimited amounts of ammo (and men at points) and the only thing destructible are cars (which all unrealistically explode). Stick with R6:Vegas, Gears and F.E.A.R. for now. This game is not what I would expect out of a next gen title as its only a prettier version of the same game released back in 2003. Expand
  74. MaxM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    Takes a while getting used to but its fun when you get the hang of it. The weapons need balancing, though. For example, the sniper is useless because everyone dies in one or two hits anyways. Plus theres a frikin kill camera when you kill someone with a sniper. It takes the whole point out of it! Still is a great game though.
  75. MattM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Perfect, in every detail. Perfect online, perfect campaign, perfect controls. Perfect.
  76. McdeathO.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. Well worth a buy and as a diehard halo fan who was thoroughly disappointed by the 3rd in the series, i seriously recommend this game. A serious benchmark in FPS's...[9.8/10]. Expand
  77. Shadowstorm
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    The recently released PC demo and the multiplayer BETA on the Xbox 360 platform has convinced me to purchase this title. Multiplayer gaming was smooth, graphically impressive, and the gameplay mechanics were, I felt, very balanced. So far I have been impressed with this and I can't wait to get my hands on it again on November 5th, when this title is released.
  78. Daboy3000
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and theCall of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and the promotion system is fantastic allowing you to develop yourself with better perks, weapons and upgrades. But one question remains, will the single player kick as much ass as the multi-player and if it doesn't i don't care cause i'll be online, kickin' backside. Expand
  79. PvtCastle
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the weapons like the M16 A-4 and the AK are very realistic. I would recommend to everyone. Expand
  80. ElisioS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To add insult to this injury, the achievements are all based on the campaign. Sure you get the "arcade" mode, but there aren't any achievements for doing things like getting a high score in said arcade mode. The campaign itself is pretty good, its just too short for its own good. It can also be very repetitive after awhile, but non-standard missions, such as a sniping and gunship one, break this up and create some amazing moments. The enemy AI isn't particularly impressive. What the game does well, is very solid however. The multiplayer is very, very polished and the graphics are nothing short of great. In comparison to other Call of Duty games, this one doesn't feel as "pop n shoot" and this is mostly because of the new modern setting. For example: an M4 equipped with the M203 'nade launcher makes it pretty tempting to run n gun, whereas an M1 Garand in the hedges of 1944 France had the tendency to make you take your time and conserve ammo with precise shooting. Overall, I liked the game just like I liked CoD2 and CoD1, but ultimately it was just too short for me to actually buy it. I simply borrowed it from a friend and beat it in a single midnight to wee hour of the morning sitting. Its a shame that it was so short. It really left me craving for more, but maybe that's a good thing. Otherwise, it might have gotten repetitive to the point where its boring if the developer ran out of ideas to keep it fresh. Buy it used for the XBox Live experience or borrow it for a weekend or two like I did. Its worth a playthrough for sure. Expand
  81. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' games. Then the multiplayer is also in a league of its own, I don't understand why so many people bang on about Halo 3's multiplayer, this game leaves it K.I.A in the Live battlefield. If you like games then you owe it to yourself to play this. An instant classic. Expand
  82. BM.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    This game Is just SICK! One of the best all-around games I've played. Made me say Halo what? But I am sick of all these people complaining about the campaign being too short- Turn up the difficulty and I promise you that it will take you a lot longer to beat. It will borderline piss you off.
  83. Adrisn
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Pretty much perfect game. Now everyone thinks they wanna be in the military.
  84. EricG.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    The campaign is nothing special pretty much feels like the other CoD's but online is very involving, you can hold your own with the default classes and weapons but leveling up to unlock more weapons, accessories, and job classes pulls you in this is my new favorite online game.
  85. JacobH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the two points because the single player campaign in very short even on the harder settings, you cant have 2 players on the same Xbox online (like Halo 3), and the AI can be really really retarded sometimes. Also the fact that no matter how many times you're allies die in the campaign another one pops up from behind to "help". Expand
  86. MattC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Multiplayer alone worth the price.
  87. BryanMcCann
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Just for the multiplayer this game would have gotten a 7 but its graphics are much better then Orange dumb boxs at least in this game, online is not totally lag paradise where you can not even play the game. if you like multiplayer get this game if you dont have live just rent this because the story is way to short!
  88. AndrewA.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This game is intense. Love it. This is why i play video games.
  89. NickJ.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This game was an all around best. I have friends that LOVE Halo and when they bought CoD:4 they were amazed by it. One problem is the headshots. You have to shoot them twice. Also the online cage-match is not good because people "boost" their rank. I hope they know this is against the Code of Conduct for Xbox Live.
  90. DanielC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    The best FPS on any console so far, Single player may be short but it has arcade mode which will give at least 4-6 hours ontop,If you play online then the gaming goodness will never end i have played online for over 250 hours and am only now starting to play other games,So if that is not good value what is. thank you COD4!
  91. Jag
    Feb 25, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoil I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is a lot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personally think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry. Expand
  92. DewaldH.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best multiplayer out there! Single player is incredible, I enjoyed finishing it on veteran!
  93. Ryencoke
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this game is some of the best I have seen in a long time. Runs perfect, and is better than the PS3 version (I have played both online and offline). Best game on the market until Rainbow Six Vegas 2. Expand
  94. ChrisB.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    the games amazing... yea the singleplayer is pretty short... but the online definately makes up for that... halo 3 is a bunch of crap compared to this COD4... a must have game... for people with good taste
  95. JustinE.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, gets old extremely quick, and it doesn't help that everyone that plays Halo is a complete A HOLE. Seriously. Everyone. CoD4 is also much more balanced. Overall way better. Expand
  96. KevinN.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    The best Online game that I've played yet. The Campaign is amazing and the action never stops.
  97. DavidG.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and it changed my perspective on first-person shooter games completely. This is a must have game for any gamer who owns a PlayStation 3, xbox 360, or PC. Online for call of duty 4 is the greatest. The game play is also incredibly realistic.
  98. DavidGagen
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC shouldI never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC should definatley purchase this award winning game. Expand
  99. JeremyA.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing between the campaign and the online play one of the greatest games of all time.
  100. BadHatHarry
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    (I would give this game a 9.5 but there is no 9.5 in the score rating database thing) This game is an amazing achievement in 360 history. Top-notch graphics, excellent campaign, awesome muliplayer! This game has it all.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.