User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1292 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2012
    7
    In terms of Call of Duties, this is the best one. Game wise it's decent, but nothing worthy of greatest game status. If you want to try Call of Duty, which I don't reccomend, try this one. Otherwise play a good game series.
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is the best game in the series. The campaign is fast paced and really fun and emotional, the graphics are great and the sound effects and music create a great atmosphere. The multiplayer is extremely fun and you will spend days playing this mode, here is where the game has its replay value due to the 4 hour campaign mode which is a shame but it is a perfect game for me and it deservesThis is the best game in the series. The campaign is fast paced and really fun and emotional, the graphics are great and the sound effects and music create a great atmosphere. The multiplayer is extremely fun and you will spend days playing this mode, here is where the game has its replay value due to the 4 hour campaign mode which is a shame but it is a perfect game for me and it deserves the score I am giving it. 10/10 (don't worry no other call of duty game after this one will receive this score) Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    The year is now 2012, we have MW3 and soon we will have BO2. And yet CoD4 will forever be the greatest CoD game ever. And coming in second WaW. CoD4 was so simply yet so superb. I am a die hard Halo fan and I approve of this game.
  4. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    What a game! This being the first of Activision's new Modern Warefare releases, brought so much to the table. I replayed through all the CoD games this past week and its amazing this one still has great replay value after 5 years. Great Game, that will always be a classic.
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This game was absolutely great, it revolutionized FPS games, the minor connection problems aren't game-breaking like they are for the later call of duty games, and I still have a great time playing this game on multiplayer. The introduction for the campaign was also great, I greatly enjoyed all aspects of this game.
  6. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Now, it's been a long time since I have played this game, but it's still my personal favorite in the Call of Duty franchise. But then again, I have little to compare it two, as 'i haven't played very much of the first three games. So this review will not be a comparison to the previous games, rather a review of the game itself. The plot is pretty straightforward, terrorists obtain aNow, it's been a long time since I have played this game, but it's still my personal favorite in the Call of Duty franchise. But then again, I have little to compare it two, as 'i haven't played very much of the first three games. So this review will not be a comparison to the previous games, rather a review of the game itself. The plot is pretty straightforward, terrorists obtain a nuclear device and plan to detonate it, you have to recover it, and eliminate the terrorists. What makes it worthwhile is the delivery. The missions are fun, and there are quite a few interesting and spectacular moments. the weapons and attachments are fun to use, and add a nice edge to multiplayer. The multiplayer, though, is where the game shines. The maps are well designed, and the perks add yet another interesting element to the gameplay. I also enjoyed being able to customize my weapons. Overall, the game has an enjoyable campaign, and a stellar multiplayer. Definitely one of my favorite shooters. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But otherThis was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But other than that, it is close to flawless. The maps are great, the gameplay is nice and fast-paced, the weapon balance is as close to perfection as any CoD game has ever been, and it is just overall a joy to play. Second to World at War as my favourite Call of Duty game. Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    The best game ever made. My favorite franchise overall is halo, but this game is my all time favorite game. I had a boner for many hours a day and i didn't even take Viagra. I did horrible in school for the longest time and was addicted to this game forever. Modern warfare was a great idea **** the WW2 ****
  9. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    From its classically intriguing story, its fascinating characters, its perfectly revolutionary multiplayer, and its absolutely gorgeous breadth of graphical milestones, "Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare" easily lifts the shooter genre above its head and carries it to new heights.
  10. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    (Multiplayer review) This game paved the way for all fps releases in the last 5 years. Not only was this game tight, responsive, and extremely addicting for 2007, but here in 2012 it hasn't lost it's appeal. The ability to create-a-class with so many good options gave gamers a sense of personalization and customization that separated MW from other fps'. Killstreaks were also as addictive(Multiplayer review) This game paved the way for all fps releases in the last 5 years. Not only was this game tight, responsive, and extremely addicting for 2007, but here in 2012 it hasn't lost it's appeal. The ability to create-a-class with so many good options gave gamers a sense of personalization and customization that separated MW from other fps'. Killstreaks were also as addictive as crack when you are calling in airstrikes and choppers on the enemy. Many pros, few cons. My favorite fps to date. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    Honestly I couldn't even pick this one out of the billion entries of this series if they were in a line-up, and I only played 2 of the series. Smooth controls.... it's a shooter with a bunch of pricks playing online and some kind of ridiculous story for the 40 minute, linear campaign. I guess it was fun enough.
  12. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    In 2007, boasts a fairly good graphics nawatjiman.
    Is the best single-player. FPS game ever in the history of the game has such a good story is not uncommon. Have and have not seen anyone try modern warfare background.
    Optimization is recommended. Frame without a break in the low-end computer.
    Multiplayer is also very good. Weapon has a good balance and the various maps.
  13. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games I've played during the life span of the 360. I'm all about multiplayer and I believe if they stopped making CoD games after CoD4 was released, everyone would've been perfectly happy. Multiplayer is perfect, The maps are well made and the weapons are balanced. Even the campaign is pretty good for a multiplayer dominate game. I went back and beatThis is honestly one of the best games I've played during the life span of the 360. I'm all about multiplayer and I believe if they stopped making CoD games after CoD4 was released, everyone would've been perfectly happy. Multiplayer is perfect, The maps are well made and the weapons are balanced. Even the campaign is pretty good for a multiplayer dominate game. I went back and beat campaign on all difficulties and it has a neat special mission at the end of the game. Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    The campaign of this and every other Call of Duty title is utterly horrible. It's a series of set pieces without a good story or decent gameplay. The multiplayer, however, is fantastic. It's fast-paced and tactical on the highest levels of play. Every other CoD online isn't worth your time.
  15. May 6, 2013
    9
    FUN AS HELL all that needs to be said about this amazing game
    the campaign is crazy good it tells an interesting story involving what looks like world war 3
    Also even after 5 games have come out modern warfare's multiplayer is still fun to play
  16. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    It was the start of one of the best series of games ever. COD: 1, 2, and 3 were the first games in the series although this game was the first that got people to buy the game. If you didn't ever own it but thought about buying it you probably should of bought it. Then once people heard about MW2 and people bought thought it was the start of one the best game series ever.
  17. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    The best Call of Duty no doubt, incredible for making montages and commented gameplays in youtube. Activision couldn't make a better game than this one. I love it!
  18. May 7, 2013
    7
    My review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its gloriousMy review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its glorious moment and cannot feel how great of this game. Regarding SP, fun! Expand
  19. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This was amazing game, and STILL is. This game beats Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. This game started Montages for COD and went even further by making it Modern and fast pace. I really wished they made more DLC but over I STILL love it and STILL an awesome game.
  20. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best FPS's ever made it was so innovative in the multiplayer and there is still a large multiplayer community. the story is well done and the voice acting is great and the characters are well-written and the graphics might not look so good today it still runs at 60 FPS so don't listen to the naysayers a must buy
  21. Rem
    Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Infinity Ward has now placed themselves among the giants in the first person genre. With Modern Warfare 2, they deliver with a spectacular campaign and a refined multiplayer. Adding cherry to the top is the fun and new spec ops mode. The campaign looks towards a more blockbuster feel this time around as there are clearly more emphasis toward setpieces and explosions. Tying this together isInfinity Ward has now placed themselves among the giants in the first person genre. With Modern Warfare 2, they deliver with a spectacular campaign and a refined multiplayer. Adding cherry to the top is the fun and new spec ops mode. The campaign looks towards a more blockbuster feel this time around as there are clearly more emphasis toward setpieces and explosions. Tying this together is a story, while not living to its full potential, sets up some fantastic segments throughout the whole game. It also has a controversial scene that may turn the media's head. The multiplayer is better than ever. With rebalancing and new killstreak awards, it becomes more addicting to play. Last but not least the new and fun addition Spec Ops mode. It can be played by yourself or cooperatively. It gathers inspiration from the campaign and Call of Duty 4. These are fast and fun bits that are even better with a friend. With all this in mind, my only three major gripes with the game are 1) The story isn't too interesting 2) The AI is lacking and enemies keep respawning. 3) The multiplayer needs a bit of balancing. Other than that, Modern Warfare 2 establishes Call of Duty as a brand that will stick for a long time. Expand
  22. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Yeah I gave it a ten. DEAL WITH IT!
    I LOVE this game every couple of months I'll replay the story mode (Which thank God doesn't het as DARK AND GRITTY as the other games do later on) just because I love it that much. Whilst it does have respawning enemies, a few (But not too many) scripted moments and quite a weak main antagonist I can see past all of this because I love this game SO
    Yeah I gave it a ten. DEAL WITH IT!
    I LOVE this game every couple of months I'll replay the story mode (Which thank God doesn't het as DARK AND GRITTY as the other games do later on) just because I love it that much. Whilst it does have respawning enemies, a few (But not too many) scripted moments and quite a weak main antagonist I can see past all of this because I love this game SO MUCH! The pacing is superb, the story is actually interesting and the dialogue between characters is amusing with quite a sad ending. And oh my God this was the first game to truly shock me (Pun intended) with that mission and it's aftermath anyone who's played this game will know which one.
    Sadly however the multiplayer is in a bit of a state with hackers and modders (Although not as many anymore) running rampant through games.
    So basically this game definitely gets a recommendation!
    Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Astounding at the time, yet it still holds up in the present as a game of pedigree. Call of Duty 4 was revolutionary when released. The story was gripping but it was the time sucking online multiplayer that stole our hearts. If the online servers were still policed today it may still have offered the best multiplayer experience.
  24. May 29, 2013
    9
    By far the best Call of Duty in the franchise. Campaign was unique for the time and the characters were well developed. The Combat system is well done and the multiplayer is still fun to this day. This is about as good as Call of Duty games are ever going to get when it comes to multiplater as it is the most balanced. Would definitely recommend it.
  25. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This game was literally the best Call of Duty because it changed Call of Duty forever. Finally where a game evolves into the modern day instead of WWII. Don't get me wrong I love WWII, but this game separates itself from everyone because it is the first modern call of duty obviously. The campaign is phenomenal, multiplayer was fantastic. Never had a problem with servers until like 5 yearsThis game was literally the best Call of Duty because it changed Call of Duty forever. Finally where a game evolves into the modern day instead of WWII. Don't get me wrong I love WWII, but this game separates itself from everyone because it is the first modern call of duty obviously. The campaign is phenomenal, multiplayer was fantastic. Never had a problem with servers until like 5 years later because of hackers, but this game is just amazing. Expand
  26. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    By far the best CoD game I've played and to say it was released in 2007, is very, very impressive. Thought the storyline was one of the best and the online is great, despite the modders which is the only thing that ruins the multiplayer but that has nothing to do with the game itself. The graphics aren't the best, but don't forget this isn't a new game. Activision really put other gameBy far the best CoD game I've played and to say it was released in 2007, is very, very impressive. Thought the storyline was one of the best and the online is great, despite the modders which is the only thing that ruins the multiplayer but that has nothing to do with the game itself. The graphics aren't the best, but don't forget this isn't a new game. Activision really put other game developers to shame when they brought this out and I thought they let themselves down with the release of Black Ops 1 & 2. Ignore the haters on here, they're clearly just fanboys of Halo or Battlefield that hate this game because it is AMAZING and popular something they will never be. Expand
  27. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    There has not been a better cod since this. This was the start of the cod franchise because this game was just way too good. This was when Infinity Ward was actually good
  28. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best shooters ever, the best Call of Duty game ever, etc. A lot of good things can be said about this game. I've spent an incredible amount of time enjoying it. The campaign is of course based on scripts and doesn't have much variety, but in 2007 it looked incredible and had a lot of breathtaking scenes and missions. And the best thing about singleplayer is that it's only theOne of the best shooters ever, the best Call of Duty game ever, etc. A lot of good things can be said about this game. I've spent an incredible amount of time enjoying it. The campaign is of course based on scripts and doesn't have much variety, but in 2007 it looked incredible and had a lot of breathtaking scenes and missions. And the best thing about singleplayer is that it's only the warm-up before the jaw dropping multiplayer action. A diversity of customization options introduced in this game became a standard for all modern FPS, the maps were nearly perfect balanced, as well as weapons. The arcade mode is a waste of time, and there are other minor flaws, but this game is still a great experience. Sadly, I can't recommend buying it now since a very small number of players play it's multiplayer on X360 and PS3, and on PC it has this stupid dedicated servers system. But it will always be in my heart as (I repeat) the best shooter I've ever played. Expand
  29. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    this... game... woah, seriously this thing defined the genre of FPS' i still play it today, if anything this game still holds up today, so black ops 2 can suck it.
  30. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    This game is a lot of fun and definitely worth getting. The campaign is fun and keeps you entertained by switching up what you're doing periodically. The down side is that the campaign is full of infinitely spawning enemies making it difficult to move forward at times. The ending wasn't great but the rest the game is excellent.
  31. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game was a masterpiece for its time. It made me get off the Halo series and it set the standard for FPS. This game easily one of my favorite games of all time.
  32. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Great single player story and probably one of the best shooters of all time make Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare a must have for all game libraries. If one does not own this game, than they do not understand the first person shooter genre.
  33. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game revolutionized the world of first-person shooters. The advanced gameplay, mechanics, and graphics were the first of its kind for the FPS. The elements of the game still inspire developers to this day. Some say this game was inspired by Half-Life 2 in some ways, for me it's a great game in general. There were so low and hard points to the main story. For the most part, theThis game revolutionized the world of first-person shooters. The advanced gameplay, mechanics, and graphics were the first of its kind for the FPS. The elements of the game still inspire developers to this day. Some say this game was inspired by Half-Life 2 in some ways, for me it's a great game in general. There were so low and hard points to the main story. For the most part, the campaign was designed with exceeding epicness, and had some moments of glory other video games will never be able to take. Even better then the campaign as the multiplayer. The multiplayer is now the godfather to all FPS this generation. The multiplayer sets standards that will always be praised. 2007 may be the Year of the Shooter for many years to come, yet the biggest shooter of that year was Modern Warfare, whose glories will last a long time. Expand
  34. Jan 18, 2014
    4
    This is one of the hardest games to review this generation for many reasons. Let me start by saying I get my competitive online multiplayer shooter itch scratched by Halo and my co-op/modern military multiplayer shooter needs filled by Rainbow 6, so I found COD's online offerings a little dull and the community full of pricks so that wins it no points. The first time I played through COD IThis is one of the hardest games to review this generation for many reasons. Let me start by saying I get my competitive online multiplayer shooter itch scratched by Halo and my co-op/modern military multiplayer shooter needs filled by Rainbow 6, so I found COD's online offerings a little dull and the community full of pricks so that wins it no points. The first time I played through COD I found it very entertaining but the forced set pieces and crap AI made it feel like an expensive ghost train with no ghosts, the characters where rubbish and the story pointless. However this game started the trend of the shock moment in COD games and in this one it was executed perfectly, the part where the player is caught in an atomic blast is one of the best and most memorable moments in gaming history, the blast was so great it managed to kill COD as the series has gone downhill since that very moment, even this game couldn't be arsed to compete with it as it just kind of ended a little bit later when I believe the atomic blast would have been a perfect ending to the game. With all this in account the game scored a 6 but the price it was, compared to the length of the game, knocks a point off to 5. I mean the game is less than 6 hours long which no one should be paying full price for. Which gets me to the point where Modern Warfare gains a 4, just like gears of war I have to look at the legacy that COD left us, it's a giant seller and because of this other games try to copy it's selling points so this is another game that helped flood the market with generic brown cover based shooters. COD also saw the raise in sales of **** DLC and micro transactions off the success of this game. Expand
  35. Dec 12, 2014
    4
    This game is insanely overrated. I'm only focusing on the single-player as I generally don't care for multiplayer. The mission structure was boring. The format, after finishing the first three games, has grown repetitive. But the most infuriatingly over-praised aspect is the story. Maybe if had not been executed in such a bland way with absolutely no personality there could have beenThis game is insanely overrated. I'm only focusing on the single-player as I generally don't care for multiplayer. The mission structure was boring. The format, after finishing the first three games, has grown repetitive. But the most infuriatingly over-praised aspect is the story. Maybe if had not been executed in such a bland way with absolutely no personality there could have been something memorable. But, sadly we were left with this trash Expand
  36. May 1, 2016
    7
    This game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughlyThis game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughly experienced. The shooting is both varied and weighty. The levels are designed in such a way as to hint the player towards multiple possible tactical approaches ; Choosing to storm the inside of a building is as challenging as it should and might reward you with a unique vantage point. The various set pieces are seamlessly integrated and never feel odd or disconnected from the main mechanics. The voice acting is great and the minimalist story telling keeps the scenario engaging and fairly credible. That said, the game is clearly part of a sophisticated war propaganda machine and is likely indirectly responsible for the death of many young testosterone filled adolescents in need of adventure ; I believe this will be rightly regarded as a historical piece of Zionist propaganda down the line. The main villain's name is even named after the current president of Syria, whom the Zionists are currently trying to actively murder ; Russian patriots are also antagonized. The visuals, animations and lighting hold surprisingly well, and thoroughly immerse . Modern warfare is not only a good shooter, it is simply one of the best FPS experience of all time and deserves to be celebrated as such. Expand
  37. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    The game is amazing and here is why. The campaign is very memorable, very fun, challenging, pretty long, but overall amazing. The multiplayer? The best in the entire CoD series. It's fun and very refreshing for it's time. It's very well balanced, and addicting. It introduces several new features into the series. Features such as killsteaks, Create-A-Class, Challenges, 18 players gameThe game is amazing and here is why. The campaign is very memorable, very fun, challenging, pretty long, but overall amazing. The multiplayer? The best in the entire CoD series. It's fun and very refreshing for it's time. It's very well balanced, and addicting. It introduces several new features into the series. Features such as killsteaks, Create-A-Class, Challenges, 18 players game modes, perks, knife melee, etc. Overall, the best CoD game of all time, and one the best shooters to date. Easily a 10/10. Expand
  38. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This was, by far, the best FPS shooter ever released. This was truly Call of Duty's best game. It was so simple, yet SO great. It had flaws, good flaws that made a game fun. You know, fun, the f word that didn't make you scream. It was the PERFECT game. If I was rich. I would take this game, upgrade the graphics, and release it again.
  39. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This game, defined the next generation of FPSs with a sharp plot delivered with high octane action. This is how war games are meant to be made, and played. Missions like war pig and game over have crystallized in my mind as some of the greatest missions. Ever. 9/10.
  40. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 9.5 out of 10 (rounded up to 10).

    Call of Duty is the definitive videogame cash cow. It is basically the Micheal Bay of gaming. There are plenty of explosions, the budgets are gigantic, they make a tonne of revenue and most importantly, they haven't really innovated in 2 years. Most of these claims can be laid at the feet of the game that started it all: Modern Warfare. In all fairness, I doubt Infinity Ward even thought about the large amount of sequels that could potentially follow this game. After all, everybody thought that a modern shooter wouldn't work- that it would fall apart after so many games spent in WWII. That never happened.

    The single player campaign of MW popularised the approach to turn FPS narratives into globe trotting linear levels, that go through dozens of set pieces in less than 6 hours. Off course, this is the real negative of the game. The plot can't sustain pace all too well and so you'll have this wrapped up in one really long session. But that doesn't mean it sucks. The bombastic campaign is set piece after set piece, with an epic ship infiltration, a tank driving sequence and a kinetic car chase all making the cut. Of course there is also the iconic "All Ghillied Up" Sniper level which sees you sneaking through an abandoned city with one ally and plenty of soldiers after you. It is still the greatest FPS level of all time. The levels aren't open at all with funnelled corridors making for the most interesting environnments, but this linearity suits the game. It has been criticised for this in more recent entries.

    The story is one of the best in COD history, as a mysterious Russian villain begins to cause widespread havoc, even though the instantly likeable Captain Price thought he had assassinated him years ago. You take the role of John "Soap" Mactavish, a new recruit who just wants to prove himself. Multiple twists and turns are taken and the use of multiple roles (even if Soap is the main character), helps to flesh out the story. A particular level uses the first-person perspective in a genuinely disturbing way. The killing of certain characters also helps the player to develop a strong emotional feeling, even if this is the first installment.

    The game is designed with a high level of replayability in mind. There are multiple difficulty levels and an addictive Arcade mode. In fact, the epilogue level of the game that comes after the credits is probably one of the most replayable levels in gaming history. The campaign is so inviting that you will want to go back and play through it again. The short length is certainly a detractor, but collectibles and achievements certainly add more time to the experience. But enough about single player, because multiplayer is the main attraction of Modern Warfare.

    The modes are excellent. From Team Deathmatch to Capture the Flag, there is a wide range of variety on offer. This means that investing hours into the mode won't get repetitive like it does in other shooters. The maps are fairly large, but certain ones are designed to be tiny. The close quarters feel is what makes the COD MP so unique and that is firmly established here. The ship map that is ripped from the campaign is a particular campaign, but most of them are instant classics and the DLC helps to increase the amount of environments on offer. It may not be as dynamic as Battlefield, but it certainly is more polished and more approachable. The slick gunplay and easy control scheme are perfectly suited to the game. This is further advanced by the quick use of gadgets and the fast switching- this may seem like a small compliment in these days, but back 7 years ago, it was revolutionary. So was the levelling system and the constant influx of new weapons and gear. It plays out like an RPG online and that is truly an amazing advancement. THe scoresteaks and perks are fairly outlandish in such a grounded setting, but they still work to make this an unpredictable and exhilarating experience.

    So Modern Warfare is responsible for plenty of annoying things. Short campaign. Check. Lack of open choice and environments. Check. Campers. Check. Twelve-year olds with screechy voices. Check. Yep, this popularised pretty much what everyone hates about the genre. If you look past its damaging legacy and embrace it for what it is, you'll get the third best Call of Duty out, just behind BLOPSII and MW2- but that's my opinion.
    Expand
  41. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Probably the best CoD there is.. this game is the least frustrating call of duty out. Maps, perks and guns are perfect and no overpowered ks, guns RC cars
  42. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is the best call of duty game and nothing can beat this game. Campaign is really fun with and without cheat codes. It's short but it's multiplayer makes up for the short campaign. Multiplayer has a variety of weapons and perks to choose from.
  43. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of my most favourite shooters. This is the first Call of Duty to depart from the World War II era and now takes place in "Modern Warfare." The campaign is very fun with exhilarating missions, the story is compelling, the characters have great personalities, and the environment is excellent. And then the multiplayer is absolutely amazing. I've spent soCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of my most favourite shooters. This is the first Call of Duty to depart from the World War II era and now takes place in "Modern Warfare." The campaign is very fun with exhilarating missions, the story is compelling, the characters have great personalities, and the environment is excellent. And then the multiplayer is absolutely amazing. I've spent so many hours just on the online part. The leveling system works really well, the maps are all fantastic, and the game modes are really fun to play. Call of Duty 4 is a must play shooter and it's a must play. Expand
  44. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    i used to love call of duty games because i enjoyed working to unlock all the perks. but every time i play online, someone somehow unlocks all the weapons/perks/EVERYTHING within hours. i on cod4mw, it took less than three hours for someone to ruin it for me AGAIN! just like in mw2 and codwaw and mw3... i'm never buying these games again as i don't even get to enjoy the challenge ofi used to love call of duty games because i enjoyed working to unlock all the perks. but every time i play online, someone somehow unlocks all the weapons/perks/EVERYTHING within hours. i on cod4mw, it took less than three hours for someone to ruin it for me AGAIN! just like in mw2 and codwaw and mw3... i'm never buying these games again as i don't even get to enjoy the challenge of progressing anymore. Expand
  45. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    The good old times of CoD. Has a nice Multiplayer and the Campaign is just wonderful. I can totally recommend this game to everyone who likes CoD. This is one of the best Parts.
  46. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    best game ever made on console. its truly sad where this franchise has went. totally down the toilet with activision pumping and dumping games with the cod name on it just to make profit as fast as they can. truly shameful. long live cod 4.
  47. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4 is an excellent shooter with a memorable story and a multiplayer that has an incredible replay value. CoD 4 was the first game I've played in the series back in 2010 and I've been playing CoD ever since.The story is great along with awesome and in depth characters. Today, most CoD players don't even play the game for its story. But, I highly recommend playing CoD 4 'sCall of Duty 4 is an excellent shooter with a memorable story and a multiplayer that has an incredible replay value. CoD 4 was the first game I've played in the series back in 2010 and I've been playing CoD ever since.The story is great along with awesome and in depth characters. Today, most CoD players don't even play the game for its story. But, I highly recommend playing CoD 4 's campaign as it's unforgettable experience coming from a first person shooter. As for the multiplayer, it's addicting as any other CoD except this CoD will more simpler in terms of perks, kill streaks, etc. But it still has the CoD formula that we all love to play. S , I give this game a 10 out of 10 and highly recommend it to any COD or fps players. Expand
  48. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Literally the best FPS I've ever played, nostalgia goggles on or off. It's a shame it's not supported for online. Would love to see a redux version for next gen consoles
  49. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    The CoD game that launched the franchise into the stratosphere. The campaign was incredible - better than some summer blockbusters. What else can be said about the multiplayer? This was lightning in a bottle, and has been the standard by which we judge all future CoD games. CoD4 was the best game of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation, and I will cherish the memories I have and the friends IThe CoD game that launched the franchise into the stratosphere. The campaign was incredible - better than some summer blockbusters. What else can be said about the multiplayer? This was lightning in a bottle, and has been the standard by which we judge all future CoD games. CoD4 was the best game of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation, and I will cherish the memories I have and the friends I made playing that game. It is the gold standard, and it is missed. Expand
  50. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    split screen or single player are both fun even if i get beet by someone who is new at this i mean really it is surprising that a new person like that can beet you at your own game that you been playing longer than her
  51. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    This game is a classic. a must-own. The multiplayer is brilliant and addictive. The singleplayer has the best story and most memorable missions in a Call of Duty game. The only reason i'm giving this a 9 is because it may be a little bit outdated from the other Call of duty multiplayers nowadays. But at it's release in 2007 everyone would've have given it a 10. It's still a masterpiece inThis game is a classic. a must-own. The multiplayer is brilliant and addictive. The singleplayer has the best story and most memorable missions in a Call of Duty game. The only reason i'm giving this a 9 is because it may be a little bit outdated from the other Call of duty multiplayers nowadays. But at it's release in 2007 everyone would've have given it a 10. It's still a masterpiece in many others opinion including mine. Expand
  52. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    Sem mais melhor jogo da franquia esse multiplayer muito bem trabalhado , Parabéns pelos desing , progamadores , roteristas e etc da Infinity Ward , Tomare que tenha uma remake
  53. Jun 12, 2015
    9
    While not my favorite CoD game, definetly one of my favorites. Campaign is excellent, with a very cool storyline that is CANON (cough cough BO 1 and 2 cough cough) and the only downside is that it´s not very long. (4-7 hrs. long) However, multiplayer is where the game shines! It´s extremely addictive and very enjoyable, maps are great, a variety of weapons, and overall fun. Downsides areWhile not my favorite CoD game, definetly one of my favorites. Campaign is excellent, with a very cool storyline that is CANON (cough cough BO 1 and 2 cough cough) and the only downside is that it´s not very long. (4-7 hrs. long) However, multiplayer is where the game shines! It´s extremely addictive and very enjoyable, maps are great, a variety of weapons, and overall fun. Downsides are that there are too many host migrations and that hosts can do whatever they want. Also, the game is filled with hackers, especially the PS3 version. But in the end, Cod 4- Modern Warfare is one of Infinity Ward´s greatest masterpieces ever! I highly recommend it if you´re starting out CoD or if you haven´t played it yet and are disappointed int he newer CoDs. Expand
  54. Oct 20, 2015
    10
    This game was revolutionary. The first person genre would not be the same without this game. The addition of the perk system is groundbreaking. On top of great multiplayer, the campaign was 2nd to none
  55. Nov 6, 2015
    0
    sucks major ass, Like when I get promoted to major some lowlife mouthbreather starts sucking on my ass. It's awful, the other team gets too many touchdowns and we can never even make it to the world series. It's not my fault that Donald Trump is the best player or that our team keeps luesing
  56. Dec 15, 2015
    8
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare
    Gameplay is great, story is okay, new fresh idea
    Great levels and fast past action. Check it out, its a pretty dam good game
  57. Mar 24, 2016
    9
    Though the franchise as a whole may have outstayed its welcome due to it being a money-making machine, there's no escaping the fact that Call of Duty 4 is exceptional in every aspect that it attempts to target. Single-player is by no means a drag, and provides memorable characters that you will care about in the line of duty, as well as some jaw-dropping sequences.

    The real highlight
    Though the franchise as a whole may have outstayed its welcome due to it being a money-making machine, there's no escaping the fact that Call of Duty 4 is exceptional in every aspect that it attempts to target. Single-player is by no means a drag, and provides memorable characters that you will care about in the line of duty, as well as some jaw-dropping sequences.

    The real highlight here however, is the multiplayer. Creating your own classes to suit your style of play, or to suit the map you're going to be playing on if you've planned that far ahead, Modern Warfare will provide you with endless hours of entertainment and fantastic first-person shooting mechanics that is only rivalled by Halo 3. An absolute blast whether you are playing solo or with friends, and a true legend within the multiplayer gaming world.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.