User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1301 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, the best next gen FPS. The single player is flawless and multiplayer is addicting and fun. A must buy.
  2. EvanG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is so realistic and so modern in aspect of the weapons except for the perks, but the perks are what makes Call of Duty a game. Overall, its sick and i give it a 10/10.
  3. RyanP.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2007 and best FPS in a long time. Single player was a little short, but multiplayer part of the game makes up for it. I don't know why people would rate it a 1 or 3, but it is the best game of 2007 (yes, better than Halo 3).
  4. TravisM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or Halo 3... Buy this twice and give one to a friend. Expand
  5. PatrickA.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as Condi Rice and Vlad Putin really hammers it home that this is not WW2 but a present day "worst-case" scenario. This game is incredibly immersive and entertaining, and combined with the excellent graphics makes me feel this is the best of the FPS's out this year. Expand
  6. RyanP
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    I don't know what the last person was talking about when he mentioned blu ray, I mean, if they made the campaign longer it would've been on both systems no matter what, but in this case, both the PS3 and 360 have the same, short campaign, but this is still a VERY excellent game on it's own. Let's hope the next CoD installment is longer. I mean, look at Halo 3!!
  7. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This is the year of the FPS for the 360. Halo 3, Bioshock, Orange Box, and now COD4! The multiplayer is excellent.
  8. SteveM.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game of this genre I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Expand
  9. DC
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art ofThis game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art of spawn killing, I love the random spawning. Great game a must have, GRAW2 and RAINBOW need to take a back seat to COD4. Expand
  10. NickK.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Best MP game ever made, runs 60 fps on the 360, I have not ever had a drop yet. Game is a beauty and gives reason to keep playing. SP was the most cinematic game I have played for an FPS. Great Job Infinity Ward, 2 thumbs way up
  11. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Even after all the hype and anticipation, Halo 3 and Rainbow Six Vegas (good though they were) were poor compared to this game. It boasts awesome graphics and sound, and with great variety of weapons and maps, this could well be the best online FPS ever.The only thing holding it back from a 10 was the short single player but this is still a must-have 360 and PS3 game.
  12. JAMESV.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It is a great campaign but it is to short. but the best part is it is realy great/emence online. (if you dont have live then you might not like it.)
  13. JamesT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, Good single player, and absolutely astonishing online play.
  14. JohnK.
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike other shooters like gears of war and halo 3, the enemies do not react to you other than ducking. This makes it extremely boring on successive play-throughs. Additionally, on veteran difficulty, you will run into a few particularly frustrating parts that require you to either memorize the enemy movements or get lucky as hell by finding the one place that they don't seem to shoot at. But you're not buying this game for single player are you? The multiplayer is very good, but not very well polished. The level design is not as good as halo 3 and you can use the same strategies for almost every map. Not much variation in that. Spawning is absolute garbage. You will spawn into an airstrike at least once a game and enemies will spawn behind you in your own side of the map. Unlike halo (i feel the need to compare it to this because I feel they nailed the respawn system) in COD 4 it is very easy to get locked in a spawn trap which gets frustrating. Finally with multiplayer, the matchmaking system is very bad. You can be matched with people of any skill/experience which makes a difference when higher levels get better perks (in addition to the likely skill differential). You will also find yourself joining games that are in progress only to spawn and find that you have lost. That is rather annoying. Having said all that about the multiplayer, it is still incredibly fun and I find myself playing it way more than I ever did with halo. Summary: Cons-- Completely scripted enemy movement, unpolished multiplayer which needs improvements in matchmaking system, map design, and respawn system. Pros--Absolutely stunning visuals, High replay value on multiplayer. Multiplayer is very fun and offers enough to compensate for frustrating respawn and matchmaking issues. Expand
  15. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is refreshing to see a game with such scope and imagination. The multiplayer is also a great, if sometimes slightly repetetive, experience. Having said all of this, though, whereas COD4 beats Halo 3 hands down on imagination and original gameplay ideas, it falls just short of Halo 3 when it comes to overall fun factor. That is, once you get past Halo's confusing plot line and complete lack of new ideas. Expand
  16. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower score such as zero while the comment was purely praising it. Simple mistake people do, and simple fix that we can do. Expand
  17. PapaDoc
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward made a modern warfare game, instead on another WWII game. I have nothing against them, but I was a big Medal of Honor player when it was on the PS1, so I am kind of getting tired of this concept, and the crappy guns. In Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare it brings in a believe story which is interesting the campaign is good and challenging especially the last final mission (High Mile Club good luck beating it on Veteran) This is also one of the most completive multiplayer game I have every played. Multiplayer is where the game really shines as there is a lot of modes to play in. My personal favorite is Domination (it's a great mode to perfecta your aiming skills.) But there are other modes such as one on one, team death match, and etc. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a perfect FPS for the Xbox 360, and for someone that has both consoles (PS3 and XBOX 360). If you are deciding which system to get it for, I would suggest getting it for the Xbox 360. I have play the PS3 version, the graphics are the same and the sound is the same, but to me it felt better on the Xbox 360 as FPS shooters typically control better for the 360. Ergo Halo, Halo 2 and Halo 3. But it still a great game for the PS3 just takes a while to handle. Also if you're an achievement hound then the Xbox 360 is the way to go anyway. This is the first time I played a Call of Duty game so I hope the rest are just as good. So to sum this up, just buy this game you won't be mad and the replay value is very high, I bought it last November and I'm still playing it. Now please excuse me I have someone sending me an invite to play COD4. Expand
  18. MikeyB.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and depending on the skill of the player will only take about 5-10 hours to beat on their first time through, and on top of that has little replay value, since the paths for completing missions in the single player are fairly linear. additionally the game has a rather confusing storyline, which with effort one can make sense of, but seems very thrown together and many things are left unexplained. as for multiplayer, its fun, but can get very aggravating; its lost a sense of balance since the last call of duty releases, such as a large number of weapons that are either nearly useless or capable of pulling instant kills under any conditions (ask someone you know who plays it about the M1887s). also, as soon as somebody gets a killstreak, they're given special bonuses such as helicopter, aircraft, and drone support that makes life very difficult for other players if they're not fortunate enough to get as many kills in a row first. the game's redeeming feature is the special ops mode, which consists of several mini-missions (some ripped and slightly altered from segments of the campaign mode) which allow players to jump right into the action in a large number of enviroments, and can be played with a friend for assistance. although it is a game you can have quite a bit of fun with, it seems like a step down from its prequels- as it's lost the co-op and extra gore that was seen in call of duty WaW's campaign, alot of realism that the series held as a standard (possible spoilers) for example, the russian soldiers use weapons that are either considered outdated by their military terms in real life (the russians swapped the ak47 for the ak74 and RPD for PK machine gun in real life, yet they use RPDs/ak47s in the game) or are in reality guns used by completely different armies (FAMAS is french, AUG Hbars are Austrian, P90s and FALs are Belgian, and TAR21s are Israeli), and finally- weapons do incorrect amounts of damage (the vector is a .45 and does less damage per shot than the mini uzi or mp5k (only 9mms). combine all that info, and the result is a less than stellar experience when comparing the game to it's predecessors. arguably, it is fun to play, but it has so many bad mechanics you'd think would be ironed out before release its just aggravating. i suggest renting or borrowing the game if by some biblical prophecy theres somebody who didnt buy it yet, or at least wait til you see it on sale before actually buying it. its not as fun as the previous cod titles and wont last as long in entertainment value. Expand
  19. MikeT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 for grownups, this is the next-gen title that Bungie should've made. Great multiplayer, great singleplayer. Not a perfect 10 because in singleplayer, there are some frustrating points where you restart over and over b/c its not clear exactly what you must do.
  20. DavidWorsham
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Best game of the year, hands down.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Best FPS on the current generation of consoles, hands down.
  22. MikeR.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so cool, the multiplayer is awesome and the campaign is also awesome. Perfect 10! This game is gaming at its best! YAHHHHHH
  23. EricO.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played.
  24. CalebT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC. I was a little disapointed by the last one but this game more than makes up for it with it's overall intensity. From the excelent sneaking missions to the hectic urban battles, this game has it all. Look out Halo, Bioshock, Gears of War and the Orange Box, there is a new champ in town and it's called Call of Duty 4.
  25. ImaC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    If you like fps and tons of action... this game is for you. I've played them all and this sits on top of my list. You cannot go wrong with this game... I've already decided the moment I finish I will start it again. Live is awesome as well...! buy this...
  26. NeilVitro
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    One rare, AWESOME, compelling, realistic, incredible gaming experience. It IS too short, because it is so much fun that you can't bear for it to end. Upon beating it, I immediately started playing through it again.
  27. BjörnH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example cant count on that your allies cover your six. Anyway, it is worth the buy. Expand
  28. L.D.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. The multiplayer kicks ass, but the single player is a little short with not much of a story and a little plot twist, but it's still fun. Co-op would've been nice. But who gives a shit, the mp is frickin fun. I actually liked this game better than hal03.
  29. PaulC.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The campaign mode is probably not even worth trying, but the online multiplayer is great fun and highly addictive. The only downside is that the online players tend to be a lot more annoying. There's a much higher incidence of racist and homophobic comments playing this game than Halo 3, that's for sure.
  30. StuartD.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    What an amazing game, nothing like it on the 360 that compares to this beauty.
  31. CMode
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutey AMAZING in every aspect except length, but that is made up for with the hours spent playing multiplayer!!!
  32. MaxS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Simply put "the fun never stops" . From the training course, to the end assault at 20000 feet, this game just rocks. Oh yeah the Multiplayer is pretty good too!
  33. TonyG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are phenomenal, boards are expansive and well thought out, and the sound effects are great. After awhile, you can even pick out the reports of the different types of guns. Buy / rent this title if you're looking for insane multiplayer FPS. Expand
  34. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, the single-player mission is very short. It took me about 8 hours and I kind of took my time. So it was a ten for quality, but the quantity sets it back. That would be made up for by the replay-ability of the multi-player, except for I didn't like the multi-player. Granted, I only tried it for a few hours, so it might just take more getting used to, and I didn't get to try all the modes. But so, since I didn't enjoy the multi-player, and the solo campaign is so short, I can't quite give it a perfect ten, though it seems like a crime to not give it a ten considering how excellent the single-player mode was while it lasted. Expand
  35. J.D.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic single player + multiplayer with gorgeous graphics make this an easy purchase. Forget Halo and buy this game. You'll understand when you are launching bombs from an AC-130 and watching the guys on the screen fly all directions.
  36. JamesP.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    i have finished the game and i thought it had everything it was superb and it was detailed with great first person shooting and cant wait for call of duty 5 to come out
  37. SamF.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to be on your toes, using cover sensibly and picking your weaponry appropriately. I also haven't experienced half as much lag as I have on Halo 3 and overall the multiplayer modes are much better implemented. Only fault for me is the dodgy melee button, but that's changeable! Expand
  38. SimonP.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    As a single player experience this is arguably second to Halo 3 or Bioshock, but add in the superbly implemented multi-player aspect and it
  39. HughGRection
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Sweet. IMO best game of 2007.
  40. LoganC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great story plot, Amazing graphics, Realistic environments, if your looking for experience thats like actual combat this close to it.
  41. JoeL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game ROCKS. It may have a few flaw, but I can't think of them right now because of how fun and addicting this game is. The multi player aspect of the game is awesome. This is a must have, but it will ruin you because you won't be able to play any of your other FPS games.
  42. DaylandM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Its the perfect online multiplayer experience. Every fps that came before paved the way for this, the ultimate online experience. It borrows a little from every game that came before it, to our benefit as critical gamers. I sincerely hope that by raising the bar for everyone else, some game company will be motivated to exceed what COD4:MW has achieved.
  43. SamB.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion of the COD sandwich is the multiplayer. Infinity Ward made leveling up and completing challenges feel better than it should. Framerate during online play is great, all the guns are balanced perfectly and each map offers it's own set of pro/cons you must learn at your own discretion. It's the features like a hit icon to let you know your bullets have reached another player and killcams so you know not to make the same mistake twice that well round and polish the multiplayer. I honestly have no complaints about this game, overall, singleplayer is great, multiplayer is great, controls works great and the game is just plain fun. This game is not about art direction or camera angles, it's about fun, the game is f - u - n. Expand
  44. BenC.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    The single greatest game to ever grace my disk drive. This is a near perfect masterpiece of a game. From the intense singleplayer campaign, to the endlessly replayable multiplayer, this title is flawless. Although Co-Op campaign would be nice, I won't fault the game for not having it.
  45. JacobL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged in massive battle and next sneaking through enemy territory in gillie suit. The campaign truly takes advantage of the setting being present day. This is shown through the weapons, missions, and vehicles. The campaign may be short but it is truly amazing. The multyplayer is also very fun to play. There is a lot of customizing for your character including weapons, perks, and cameos, oh my! Once you level up all the way you can even enter prestige mode where you start over with a symbol indicating you leved up and gave up everything. Despite all this greatness there are some minor flaws in the campaign. For one thing sometimes your objective is a little unclear and I sometimes found myself restarting the level just so I could hear the important dialouge again. But again this can easily be overlooked. If you can get Call of Duty 4 don't hesitate you'll love it. This is one of the best 360 out there. One thing to note though once you've played this you'll most likely rarely/ever play Halo 3 again. So if you haven't bought it yet (which is very unlikely) or are still not done with it yet be warned. Call of Duty 4 is somehow superior to Halo 3 in every way unimaginable and has fun all over it and personally I wouldn't want it any other way. Expand
  46. SawyerC.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    The best xbox 360 game by far I haven't even looked at halo 3 since i bought cod4 when it came out.
  47. SimonM
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning system. Mutliplayer on the other hand has proved its point after years of age - this is absolutely a classic. The leveling system and weapon/class customization through perks changed the game. The maps are all great (a few have some unfortunate choke points). Spawn killing by non-grenade methods is difficult when both teams get used to how spawning works. People don't realize that this game isn't about rampaging. It's about survival and kills. Each match has its own momentum swing. Hopefully the sequel will get rid of the sticky aim and spawning flaws in both first player and multiplayer. Otherwise this is a very memorable game. Expand
  48. JukkaS
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I'm making this review now, May 2009, after many games I waited for a very long flopped, I have always came back to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. This game has that something, that doesnt let go, the singleplayer is just perfectly long that you complete it over a weekend, or faster if playing on easier difficulties. The multiplayer, is something never seen before, near perfect. Yet I'm making this review now, May 2009, after many games I waited for a very long flopped, I have always came back to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. This game has that something, that doesnt let go, the singleplayer is just perfectly long that you complete it over a weekend, or faster if playing on easier difficulties. The multiplayer, is something never seen before, near perfect. Yet CoD4: Modern Warfare has got some minor faults, few bugs still remain and few other small mistakes. But this has absolutelly no effect on the quality of the game, these minor faults do not shatter the strong bulletresisting glass of CoD4. A mustplay for every fps fan, and any other. Expand
  49. ZackM
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    COD 4 is amazing. Although the game was costly, I soon realized it was money well spent once I began to play it. The game defiantly lived up to the hype for me. The graphics, game play, and replay ability factor were all there. BTW, this game is very similar to SOCOM US Navy Seals. So, if you loved SOCOM (as I did) you
  50. michaelk
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Single Player is irrelevant in this game. It's not about that so stop complaining people. Simply put the online play is the best available. It will take days to be able to compete with other players but once you get a prestige under your belt it is just THE best social online experience ever.
  51. JacobM
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played CoD4 online multiplayer. Yes, some of the maps are taken right from the campaign, but, to me, that doesn't matter. They are still very interesting and make the online game play unpredictable. Both the campaign and the online multiplayer are superior to that of CoD WaW in every aspect. If you don't know which one to buy, certainly buy CoD4. WaW is garbage compared to this game. However, Modern Warfare 2 is coming out in less than 4 months, so you should probably save your money for that game. Expand
  52. NikhilKulkarni
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    This game is just as fun as Halo. Now, I am a huge Halo fan. But when I started playing this game, I shared my love of FPS with this and Halo. I'd say both of these games are equally terrific in terms of both campaign, multiplayer, skill, and strategy. Both COD4 and Halo 3 really deserved a high score.
  53. MikeH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although the campaign is a tad short, it is brilliantly paced and incredibly atmospheric. Without spoiling it for anyone: the sniper mission, in particular, is one of the best single-player shooter levels I've ever played. With all the challenges and unlockables the multiplayer is deep enough, and has enough room for skill, to make this one you'll be playing for months to come.
  54. MikeS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Single player campaign is a bit short, but it's still the best I've seen on the 360. The multiplayer is basically perfect. I've played Halo 3, and I can't even begin to understand why the scores are comparable.
  55. JohnS.
    Nov 10, 2007
    8
    The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also really short (5 hours). Multiplayer is fast-paced action. It has a persistent system for unlocks, ranking, etc. It's awesome. If you want to play this game for the single player, rent it. If you want it for multiplayer then buy it. Expand
  56. EricAtkins
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The campaign is unlike any campaign I've played. The multiplayer gameplay is innovative with meta games and great graphics. There is a lot of replayability in this game. I am one of the biggest HALO fans, but I won't be playing Halo 3 until I'm tired of CoD4. Unlike Halo 3 (which seems like downloadable content for Halo 2), CoD4 is fresh.
  57. BDub
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the cover system). I'm playing the MP a lot right now, and like it a lot, but the single player was probably the best i've ever played. The graphics and sound on a nice system is amazing. The SP isn't very long, but i don't feel it was short either. If keeping the game shorter is what they needed to do to make the game as intense as it is, then i'm all for it. I'd much rather have 5 hours of bliss than 10 hours of boring sameness. This game is an absolute must buy. I'm a previous Halo fan, and enjoyed H3. It doesn't excite me to say that i liked this game a lot better than H3, but i did. The single player story is gripping and just so well done. Expand
  58. AnttiP.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Great game, with a small but. Some multiplayer maps don´t have that good graphics. To be honest, some maps look pretty crappy. This is shocking, as we know the quality standards Infinity Ward has become famous of. Some maps like Bog and Backlot just don´t look good at all. I think the problem is with the lighting.
  59. SeanZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is actually much better than the playstation 3 version. Fanboys of the PS3 still won't admit the 360's superiority in games and online. Call of duty 4 completely proves all that the 360 has already said. Great graphics, no lag whatsoever, and much smoother than the PS3.
  60. ChrisH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Besides the fact that this game is absolutely beautiful. It delivers the best console FPS action out there today. The single player story is interesting and engrossing, and the multiplayer level system is he definition of addicting.
  61. RayB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as fun as cod 4...not by a long shot. thats a major suprize, considering halo 3 was meant to own xbox live...but cod 4 won that battle hands down. however...the game of the year must goto bioshock. Collapse
  62. GregQuick
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Based on the 360 multiplayer beta, I have to give this game a 9, only because there were only 3 available maps and at least half of the game was locked. I fully expect to give this game a 10 rating when it is released, because the beta by itself was ridiculously addictive...
  63. PatL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, amazing!
  64. AllanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Though short the single player is THRILLING. And the real reason to buy any FPS is the multiplayer which succeeds on EVERY level. A remarkable multiplayer experience that perfectly blends run and gun with Ghost Recon style tactics. Bravo IW.
  65. MichaelE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  66. ShaneC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    By far the best game of the year. Halo pales in comparison.
  67. JohnC.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The graphics are amazing, Couldn't believe what I was seeing. The gameplay was very fluid and enjoyable, perfected actually. I am not far into the game, maybe two hours, but I am addicted.
  68. BatMan
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Makes Halo 3 seem like dog vomit.
  69. JasonL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I haven't been to far into the campaign but what I have played has been as good as an FPS military style game. That being said this game probably has the best multiplayer I have ever played. I'm a huge halo fan, I love Rainbow Six Vegas, I enjoyed lost planet and GRAW 2 and this trounces all of them easily. Aside from the occasional lag the mulitplayer is perfect.
  70. ArthurH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and detail they put into every mission you'll see why. Buy it now! Expand
  71. RoBoTG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    CoD4's multiplayer alone warrants a perfect score, but it doesn't stop there. The single player is great and Arcade mode is super cool.
  72. KyleB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect 10 out of 10. Expand
  73. StuW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable game. I wish I can get back to the single player game but I'm hooked on the upgrade-crack system of multiplayer. It's Diablo II all over again, except in a game that keeps your heart racing for hours and blows your ears and eyes away from your head. If you are into FPS you better get this game - now.
  74. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There is so much diversity that this game will make you want to play the single player at least twice (Having an arcade mode is a major plus) The Single player is fantastic, but what makes this game special is the most comprehensive and enjoyable Multiplayer that Call of Duty games are known to have. Playing through Xbox Live I can always find a game. The RPG style of leveling up weapons is such a nice touch. As far as I am concerned if you hate FPS in all forms and don't want to shill out 60 dollars for this game. At least go to your movie rental store and try it out for a week - I promise you that you will not be disappointed! Expand
  75. vz
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Want extra hours of campaign game play? Push the difficulty level on notch higher than the recommended one :) Even getting killed is so sweet in such a wonderful game!
  76. MichaelR.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it or you could buy it to add it to your collection because its worth keeping.I don't think games can get any better than this game.The start and ending is better then a lot of Hollywood movies. Expand
  77. KevinL.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This game plain and simple, just never gets old. Awesome from the minute you turn it on, until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  78. BrutalThumb
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    If this doesn't get game of the year, it will be a true shame. Yeah, the single player is short, but who cares, I would rather have a short campaign that is wonderful than a long one that is dull. And where it truely shines is online. GOTY!!!!!!
  79. COD4Nut
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls slightly short, but the way that infinity ward has made up for this is the intense online mode with tonnes of different modes and player perks and also the ability to call in airstrikes and choppers. AWESOME! kicks halo 3's butt like shaq would kick kobe's. can wait for the next one. Expand
  80. AdamM.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Great single player pretty short but best online game ever made, i loved halo3 and the orange box (not so much team fortress2) but this is the best online fps by a country mile.
  81. MaxM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    Takes a while getting used to but its fun when you get the hang of it. The weapons need balancing, though. For example, the sniper is useless because everyone dies in one or two hits anyways. Plus theres a frikin kill camera when you kill someone with a sniper. It takes the whole point out of it! Still is a great game though.
  82. MattM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Perfect, in every detail. Perfect online, perfect campaign, perfect controls. Perfect.
  83. McdeathO.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. Well worth a buy and as a diehard halo fan who was thoroughly disappointed by the 3rd in the series, i seriously recommend this game. A serious benchmark in FPS's...[9.8/10]. Expand
  84. Shadowstorm
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    The recently released PC demo and the multiplayer BETA on the Xbox 360 platform has convinced me to purchase this title. Multiplayer gaming was smooth, graphically impressive, and the gameplay mechanics were, I felt, very balanced. So far I have been impressed with this and I can't wait to get my hands on it again on November 5th, when this title is released.
  85. Daboy3000
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and theCall of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and the promotion system is fantastic allowing you to develop yourself with better perks, weapons and upgrades. But one question remains, will the single player kick as much ass as the multi-player and if it doesn't i don't care cause i'll be online, kickin' backside. Expand
  86. PvtCastle
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the weapons like the M16 A-4 and the AK are very realistic. I would recommend to everyone. Expand
  87. ElisioS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To add insult to this injury, the achievements are all based on the campaign. Sure you get the "arcade" mode, but there aren't any achievements for doing things like getting a high score in said arcade mode. The campaign itself is pretty good, its just too short for its own good. It can also be very repetitive after awhile, but non-standard missions, such as a sniping and gunship one, break this up and create some amazing moments. The enemy AI isn't particularly impressive. What the game does well, is very solid however. The multiplayer is very, very polished and the graphics are nothing short of great. In comparison to other Call of Duty games, this one doesn't feel as "pop n shoot" and this is mostly because of the new modern setting. For example: an M4 equipped with the M203 'nade launcher makes it pretty tempting to run n gun, whereas an M1 Garand in the hedges of 1944 France had the tendency to make you take your time and conserve ammo with precise shooting. Overall, I liked the game just like I liked CoD2 and CoD1, but ultimately it was just too short for me to actually buy it. I simply borrowed it from a friend and beat it in a single midnight to wee hour of the morning sitting. Its a shame that it was so short. It really left me craving for more, but maybe that's a good thing. Otherwise, it might have gotten repetitive to the point where its boring if the developer ran out of ideas to keep it fresh. Buy it used for the XBox Live experience or borrow it for a weekend or two like I did. Its worth a playthrough for sure. Expand
  88. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' games. Then the multiplayer is also in a league of its own, I don't understand why so many people bang on about Halo 3's multiplayer, this game leaves it K.I.A in the Live battlefield. If you like games then you owe it to yourself to play this. An instant classic. Expand
  89. BM.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    This game Is just SICK! One of the best all-around games I've played. Made me say Halo what? But I am sick of all these people complaining about the campaign being too short- Turn up the difficulty and I promise you that it will take you a lot longer to beat. It will borderline piss you off.
  90. Adrisn
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Pretty much perfect game. Now everyone thinks they wanna be in the military.
  91. EricG.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    The campaign is nothing special pretty much feels like the other CoD's but online is very involving, you can hold your own with the default classes and weapons but leveling up to unlock more weapons, accessories, and job classes pulls you in this is my new favorite online game.
  92. JacobH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the two points because the single player campaign in very short even on the harder settings, you cant have 2 players on the same Xbox online (like Halo 3), and the AI can be really really retarded sometimes. Also the fact that no matter how many times you're allies die in the campaign another one pops up from behind to "help". Expand
  93. MattC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Multiplayer alone worth the price.
  94. BryanMcCann
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Just for the multiplayer this game would have gotten a 7 but its graphics are much better then Orange dumb boxs at least in this game, online is not totally lag paradise where you can not even play the game. if you like multiplayer get this game if you dont have live just rent this because the story is way to short!
  95. AndrewA.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This game is intense. Love it. This is why i play video games.
  96. NickJ.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This game was an all around best. I have friends that LOVE Halo and when they bought CoD:4 they were amazed by it. One problem is the headshots. You have to shoot them twice. Also the online cage-match is not good because people "boost" their rank. I hope they know this is against the Code of Conduct for Xbox Live.
  97. DanielC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    The best FPS on any console so far, Single player may be short but it has arcade mode which will give at least 4-6 hours ontop,If you play online then the gaming goodness will never end i have played online for over 250 hours and am only now starting to play other games,So if that is not good value what is. thank you COD4!
  98. DewaldH.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best multiplayer out there! Single player is incredible, I enjoyed finishing it on veteran!
  99. Ryencoke
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this game is some of the best I have seen in a long time. Runs perfect, and is better than the PS3 version (I have played both online and offline). Best game on the market until Rainbow Six Vegas 2. Expand
  100. ChrisB.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    the games amazing... yea the singleplayer is pretty short... but the online definately makes up for that... halo 3 is a bunch of crap compared to this COD4... a must have game... for people with good taste
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.