User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1298 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, the best next gen FPS. The single player is flawless and multiplayer is addicting and fun. A must buy.
  2. EvanG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is so realistic and so modern in aspect of the weapons except for the perks, but the perks are what makes Call of Duty a game. Overall, its sick and i give it a 10/10.
  3. RyanP.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2007 and best FPS in a long time. Single player was a little short, but multiplayer part of the game makes up for it. I don't know why people would rate it a 1 or 3, but it is the best game of 2007 (yes, better than Halo 3).
  4. TravisM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or Halo 3... Buy this twice and give one to a friend. Expand
  5. PatrickA.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as Condi Rice and Vlad Putin really hammers it home that this is not WW2 but a present day "worst-case" scenario. This game is incredibly immersive and entertaining, and combined with the excellent graphics makes me feel this is the best of the FPS's out this year. Expand
  6. RyanP
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    I don't know what the last person was talking about when he mentioned blu ray, I mean, if they made the campaign longer it would've been on both systems no matter what, but in this case, both the PS3 and 360 have the same, short campaign, but this is still a VERY excellent game on it's own. Let's hope the next CoD installment is longer. I mean, look at Halo 3!!
  7. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This is the year of the FPS for the 360. Halo 3, Bioshock, Orange Box, and now COD4! The multiplayer is excellent.
  8. SteveM.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game of this genre I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Expand
  9. DC
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art ofThis game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art of spawn killing, I love the random spawning. Great game a must have, GRAW2 and RAINBOW need to take a back seat to COD4. Expand
  10. NickK.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Best MP game ever made, runs 60 fps on the 360, I have not ever had a drop yet. Game is a beauty and gives reason to keep playing. SP was the most cinematic game I have played for an FPS. Great Job Infinity Ward, 2 thumbs way up
  11. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Even after all the hype and anticipation, Halo 3 and Rainbow Six Vegas (good though they were) were poor compared to this game. It boasts awesome graphics and sound, and with great variety of weapons and maps, this could well be the best online FPS ever.The only thing holding it back from a 10 was the short single player but this is still a must-have 360 and PS3 game.
  12. JAMESV.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It is a great campaign but it is to short. but the best part is it is realy great/emence online. (if you dont have live then you might not like it.)
  13. JamesT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, Good single player, and absolutely astonishing online play.
  14. JohnK.
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike other shooters like gears of war and halo 3, the enemies do not react to you other than ducking. This makes it extremely boring on successive play-throughs. Additionally, on veteran difficulty, you will run into a few particularly frustrating parts that require you to either memorize the enemy movements or get lucky as hell by finding the one place that they don't seem to shoot at. But you're not buying this game for single player are you? The multiplayer is very good, but not very well polished. The level design is not as good as halo 3 and you can use the same strategies for almost every map. Not much variation in that. Spawning is absolute garbage. You will spawn into an airstrike at least once a game and enemies will spawn behind you in your own side of the map. Unlike halo (i feel the need to compare it to this because I feel they nailed the respawn system) in COD 4 it is very easy to get locked in a spawn trap which gets frustrating. Finally with multiplayer, the matchmaking system is very bad. You can be matched with people of any skill/experience which makes a difference when higher levels get better perks (in addition to the likely skill differential). You will also find yourself joining games that are in progress only to spawn and find that you have lost. That is rather annoying. Having said all that about the multiplayer, it is still incredibly fun and I find myself playing it way more than I ever did with halo. Summary: Cons-- Completely scripted enemy movement, unpolished multiplayer which needs improvements in matchmaking system, map design, and respawn system. Pros--Absolutely stunning visuals, High replay value on multiplayer. Multiplayer is very fun and offers enough to compensate for frustrating respawn and matchmaking issues. Expand
  15. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is refreshing to see a game with such scope and imagination. The multiplayer is also a great, if sometimes slightly repetetive, experience. Having said all of this, though, whereas COD4 beats Halo 3 hands down on imagination and original gameplay ideas, it falls just short of Halo 3 when it comes to overall fun factor. That is, once you get past Halo's confusing plot line and complete lack of new ideas. Expand
  16. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower score such as zero while the comment was purely praising it. Simple mistake people do, and simple fix that we can do. Expand
  17. PapaDoc
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward made a modern warfare game, instead on another WWII game. I have nothing against them, but I was a big Medal of Honor player when it was on the PS1, so I am kind of getting tired of this concept, and the crappy guns. In Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare it brings in a believe story which is interesting the campaign is good and challenging especially the last final mission (High Mile Club good luck beating it on Veteran) This is also one of the most completive multiplayer game I have every played. Multiplayer is where the game really shines as there is a lot of modes to play in. My personal favorite is Domination (it's a great mode to perfecta your aiming skills.) But there are other modes such as one on one, team death match, and etc. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a perfect FPS for the Xbox 360, and for someone that has both consoles (PS3 and XBOX 360). If you are deciding which system to get it for, I would suggest getting it for the Xbox 360. I have play the PS3 version, the graphics are the same and the sound is the same, but to me it felt better on the Xbox 360 as FPS shooters typically control better for the 360. Ergo Halo, Halo 2 and Halo 3. But it still a great game for the PS3 just takes a while to handle. Also if you're an achievement hound then the Xbox 360 is the way to go anyway. This is the first time I played a Call of Duty game so I hope the rest are just as good. So to sum this up, just buy this game you won't be mad and the replay value is very high, I bought it last November and I'm still playing it. Now please excuse me I have someone sending me an invite to play COD4. Expand
  18. MikeyB.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and depending on the skill of the player will only take about 5-10 hours to beat on their first time through, and on top of that has little replay value, since the paths for completing missions in the single player are fairly linear. additionally the game has a rather confusing storyline, which with effort one can make sense of, but seems very thrown together and many things are left unexplained. as for multiplayer, its fun, but can get very aggravating; its lost a sense of balance since the last call of duty releases, such as a large number of weapons that are either nearly useless or capable of pulling instant kills under any conditions (ask someone you know who plays it about the M1887s). also, as soon as somebody gets a killstreak, they're given special bonuses such as helicopter, aircraft, and drone support that makes life very difficult for other players if they're not fortunate enough to get as many kills in a row first. the game's redeeming feature is the special ops mode, which consists of several mini-missions (some ripped and slightly altered from segments of the campaign mode) which allow players to jump right into the action in a large number of enviroments, and can be played with a friend for assistance. although it is a game you can have quite a bit of fun with, it seems like a step down from its prequels- as it's lost the co-op and extra gore that was seen in call of duty WaW's campaign, alot of realism that the series held as a standard (possible spoilers) for example, the russian soldiers use weapons that are either considered outdated by their military terms in real life (the russians swapped the ak47 for the ak74 and RPD for PK machine gun in real life, yet they use RPDs/ak47s in the game) or are in reality guns used by completely different armies (FAMAS is french, AUG Hbars are Austrian, P90s and FALs are Belgian, and TAR21s are Israeli), and finally- weapons do incorrect amounts of damage (the vector is a .45 and does less damage per shot than the mini uzi or mp5k (only 9mms). combine all that info, and the result is a less than stellar experience when comparing the game to it's predecessors. arguably, it is fun to play, but it has so many bad mechanics you'd think would be ironed out before release its just aggravating. i suggest renting or borrowing the game if by some biblical prophecy theres somebody who didnt buy it yet, or at least wait til you see it on sale before actually buying it. its not as fun as the previous cod titles and wont last as long in entertainment value. Expand
  19. MikeT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 for grownups, this is the next-gen title that Bungie should've made. Great multiplayer, great singleplayer. Not a perfect 10 because in singleplayer, there are some frustrating points where you restart over and over b/c its not clear exactly what you must do.
  20. DavidWorsham
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Best game of the year, hands down.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Best FPS on the current generation of consoles, hands down.
  22. MikeR.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so cool, the multiplayer is awesome and the campaign is also awesome. Perfect 10! This game is gaming at its best! YAHHHHHH
  23. EricO.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played.
  24. CalebT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC. I was a little disapointed by the last one but this game more than makes up for it with it's overall intensity. From the excelent sneaking missions to the hectic urban battles, this game has it all. Look out Halo, Bioshock, Gears of War and the Orange Box, there is a new champ in town and it's called Call of Duty 4.
  25. ImaC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    If you like fps and tons of action... this game is for you. I've played them all and this sits on top of my list. You cannot go wrong with this game... I've already decided the moment I finish I will start it again. Live is awesome as well...! buy this...
  26. NeilVitro
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    One rare, AWESOME, compelling, realistic, incredible gaming experience. It IS too short, because it is so much fun that you can't bear for it to end. Upon beating it, I immediately started playing through it again.
  27. BjörnH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example cant count on that your allies cover your six. Anyway, it is worth the buy. Expand
  28. L.D.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. The multiplayer kicks ass, but the single player is a little short with not much of a story and a little plot twist, but it's still fun. Co-op would've been nice. But who gives a shit, the mp is frickin fun. I actually liked this game better than hal03.
  29. PaulC.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The campaign mode is probably not even worth trying, but the online multiplayer is great fun and highly addictive. The only downside is that the online players tend to be a lot more annoying. There's a much higher incidence of racist and homophobic comments playing this game than Halo 3, that's for sure.
  30. StuartD.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    What an amazing game, nothing like it on the 360 that compares to this beauty.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.