User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1315 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BickleT.
    Nov 15, 2007
    7
    Okay, it's gorgeous. The sound is great, yada yada yada. But seriously, it's just run and gun. No cover system, no strategy, nada. Just look at the pretty ways to kill the enemy. Oh, and keep in mind the enemy will always spawn in the same place. It ends up being a gorgeous pattern recognition twich factor game.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    I like to limit what shooters I get, so Modern Warfare is a good game if I'm actually getting it. The campaign is not as strong as the other games, but still has value. The real fun is in the multiplayer. It's really tight and fast paced as finding matches is easy and quick.
  3. May 19, 2012
    7
    In terms of Call of Duties, this is the best one. Game wise it's decent, but nothing worthy of greatest game status. If you want to try Call of Duty, which I don't reccomend, try this one. Otherwise play a good game series.
  4. May 7, 2013
    7
    My review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its gloriousMy review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its glorious moment and cannot feel how great of this game. Regarding SP, fun! Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    A solid and entertaining experience, I came to the game too late to get anything from the multiplayer experience but the campaign itself was very entertaining and the story arc plays well across the three MW games. Graphics, gunplay and immersion still hold strong even today whilst many games of this period have quickly aged and flagged.
  6. May 1, 2016
    7
    This game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughlyThis game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughly experienced. The shooting is both varied and weighty. The levels are designed in such a way as to hint the player towards multiple possible tactical approaches ; Choosing to storm the inside of a building is as challenging as it should and might reward you with a unique vantage point. The various set pieces are seamlessly integrated and never feel odd or disconnected from the main mechanics. The voice acting is great and the minimalist story telling keeps the scenario engaging and fairly credible. That said, the game is clearly part of a sophisticated war propaganda machine and is likely indirectly responsible for the death of many young testosterone filled adolescents in need of adventure ; I believe this will be rightly regarded as a historical piece of Zionist propaganda down the line. The main villain's name is even named after the current president of Syria, whom the Zionists are currently trying to actively murder ; Russian patriots are also antagonized. The visuals, animations and lighting hold surprisingly well, and thoroughly immerse . Modern warfare is not only a good shooter, it is simply one of the best FPS experience of all time and deserves to be celebrated as such. Expand
  7. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    6
    COD4 has an amazing campaign mode with many jaw dropping moments. But it only lasts for a short while. The multiplayer is great for about a week when you realise that you're doing the same thing everygame. The skill level is not even here. 1 shot and the other guy is dead in most cases. The game needs better custom games to keep the longevity of Halo.
  8. GarrettL
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    This game is so overrated and isn't even that fun to play online. The story in single player is the most generic story ever, terrorists with nukes. The regenerating health make it so easy to beat it this game could play itself. It is is fun but really just another generic fps on xbox 360 over hyped.
  9. xbox360master
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets the whole game down for me i would perfer to play Rainbow six or MOH Airbourne.Plus there is no co -op online or off unlike COD2 why?Oh and what makes this different from any other shooter, someone plz tell me. Expand
  10. George
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    Uninspired, dull, and nothing new. Single-player is akin to having your hand held on a tour through an interesting locale, but one that is fret with boring and unimaginative pit stops. Each pit stop amounts to, more or less, a shooting gallery. Multiplayer is what I would call completely unoriginal with a twist. Deathmatch, the outdated stand-by, and Team Deathmatch (in essence, Uninspired, dull, and nothing new. Single-player is akin to having your hand held on a tour through an interesting locale, but one that is fret with boring and unimaginative pit stops. Each pit stop amounts to, more or less, a shooting gallery. Multiplayer is what I would call completely unoriginal with a twist. Deathmatch, the outdated stand-by, and Team Deathmatch (in essence, deathmatch without the ability to shoot certain people) are present, of course, as well as a multitude of other slight variations. The slight twist is two things. One, the ability to rank up, complete challenges, and unlock additional guns, equipment and perks. And, two, the ability to call in some form of support as a reward for killing sprees. Unfortunately, you unlock, at most, a handful of guns where one is a clear winner in each category. Equipment is mostly useless, and perks are unreliable, ineffective, useless, or all three. Calling in support during a match amounts to rewarding luck with an unfair advantage. Being harassed by an AI with the equivilent of autoaim and wallhacks defeats the purpose of multiplayer. Expand
  11. KyleK.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I think this game is being way overblown. I don't know about anyone else, but I think the game press isn't terribly reliable. Is Halo 3 really a near perfect game? Was Halo 2 for that matter? This is another game where name seems incredibly important--and it should be given that the original Call of Duty took what Medal of Honor did and made it even better. And CoD 2 was great I think this game is being way overblown. I don't know about anyone else, but I think the game press isn't terribly reliable. Is Halo 3 really a near perfect game? Was Halo 2 for that matter? This is another game where name seems incredibly important--and it should be given that the original Call of Duty took what Medal of Honor did and made it even better. And CoD 2 was great as well. But once Medal of Honor Airborne came out everything changed. Play that game and then come back to CoD 4. The production values are, I think, vastly better in almost all respects--and as far as gameply goes it's open ended and they found a way to improve on the controls. While in iron sights mode you can use the movement keys to peek up or lean left and right. Switching to CoD 4 you immediately realize that that's something you can't go back from; that was a subtle but incredibly compelling change to the game. Admittedly I'm rating the PC version here, but I can't imagine it's a completely different game. Just please don't go out and drop $60 on this; rent it first at the very least. 6/10 for graphical updates and inclusion of an incredibly hard difficulty but boredom and sloppiness otherwise--incredibly simplistic gameplay at times,for example using a Javelin AT launcher: all you have to do is line your sights up with a big rectangle on the viewscreen. Doesn't matter if the tank is even in view--it still knows it's there and all you do is point and click. Expand
  12. ScottB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    6
    The online play is not nearly as extensive as Halo 3. you and your buddies can't sign online from the same xbox 360 and play social matches together. that's no fun at all. also, the campaign in this game is very short. it may be visually stunning, but visuals aren't everything. this game is overrated. i think i'll stick with halo 3.
  13. UncleDouglasB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    This game is grossly overrated. There's really nothing special about it, it's just too linear to have depth and be enjoyable. The controls are wonky (holding down the left thumbstick for running gets annoying) and the graphics are inconsistent. An overall disappointment.
  14. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstartedCall of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstarted the franchise into what it is now, and if you go back and play this game you'll notice few differences between it and Black Ops, bar killed streaks, guns, perks and maps. If you haven't played Call of Duty 4, it's worth a rent at least, but you can get it quite cheap now and there are still thousands playing it online every day. 3/5. Expand
  15. Jan 4, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch of rooms of houses cluttered with boxes and junk, voice acting is great and the music is pretty good and gunfire is good, the controls are AMAZING some of the best out there, multiplayer is what you should buy this game for, it's deep fun and amazing, just buy this game for the multiplayer Expand
  16. May 22, 2011
    6
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted --
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted -- at no point does the SP require any skill but following directions (except pressing the right button at the right time, in the case of the dogs and grenades, which are both instant kills and can be hard to avoid). The whole SP campaign really ends up being a skeleton on which to hang a bad action movie on. 1/5.

    As for multiplayer, it's better than the PC version, if only for the ability to play split-screen. I actually had quite a bit of fun after disabling the horribly overpowered killstreak gimmicks and enabling Old-School mode for the item collection skill (the default MP has a spawn-with-items system). They give you the tools to remove much of the dumbed-down FPS gameplay that's so ridiculously popular nowadays, and so it earns a solid 4/5 in my book.
    Expand
  17. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    My 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. ThatMy 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. That aside the multiplayer fares better with the Old School mode especially. The amount of glitches exploited for the brilliant game Mike Myers is unreal yet fun. The campaign is the real let down for me and thats why it can't get a high mark. Expand
  18. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Ok this is old I know, but this game used to be amazing, this game has gone downhill ever since, now its just people hacking... this game used to be made of gold... now the only thing made of gold in this game is some of the cammo... and hackers, if your going to hack, dont boast about it... it makes you look like a ****
  19. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game is probably the best modern war shooter game ive played, but still not that special to me.
  20. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    Honestly I couldn't even pick this one out of the billion entries of this series if they were in a line-up, and I only played 2 of the series. Smooth controls.... it's a shooter with a bunch of pricks playing online and some kind of ridiculous story for the 40 minute, linear campaign. I guess it was fun enough.
  21. JamesB.
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game succeeds in most players ratings. The gameplay on the other hand falls off against that beautiful presentation very harsh. You are confronted with the worst thing of modern FPS games: a linear awefully scripted rebirth of COD2. If one can learn from doom3 debacle ist that no one likes scripted shooters. Especially if the are illogical. Just to name one of such an annoyance: One can shoot out of the enemy helicopters that are the most often the most dangerous thread in the campaign the MG gunner. But in the moment you shot him he is replaced by a new one (unlimited times). The multiplayer has a slightly different presentation that does not look so well like the campaign, but the field of depth effect looks in online mode great as well. The problem with online mode is the fact that your success mostly depends on how often you have played multiplayer and how good your connection is to the XBOX that hosts the game. The more often you play the game the better is your weapons arsenal that by default makes you superior to newcomers. That is not a great idea but it is one you can accept. But if you loose your duels against other players although you sawe and shot the first then you get really mad. Even worse is that the engine looses your kills during game. I witnessed with my friends who sat besides me more than once that the in game statistic showed 2 kills on my list and five seconds later my 2 kills were gone and I was again at zero. This happens very frequently and has nothing to do with the score-penalty one gets for killing friendly players. In the end result both parts look really great at first but fall of short very fast if one gets a deeper look at them. Expand
  22. Mike
    Feb 8, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoile I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is alot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personnaly think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry if I have displeased you in any way. Expand
  23. kipa
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different shade of gray. I severely hate the online gameplay. I dont know where to start, the perks probably seemed to be a good idea in the production room to give the player a more customizable character. well, the perks just ruin it.... a guy can take a .50 caliber sniper rifle to the chest and just keep on running just because he has juggernaut? in reality that would tear a man in half. i also hated that they didn't make a rate of fire cap on pistols, so if your in last stand just smash right trigger and unload 12 shots in half a second. also from the point when you "kill" a guy and he slide into last stand bullets don't register, so you will shoot him maybe 17 times before they die. I thought this game whas about realism. OK WTF is with the knife, i am used to playing games where you have to pull out the knife and use it by itself and it takes 2-3 hits. but no in this i guess you can whip out a knife instantly and stab a guy in the foot from 3 feet away a get the kill. in conclusion great single-player game with stellar fps mechanics but on the other hand multi-player is one big game of grab ass, no real skill involved, spawning into gunfire, knifes doing 5x more damage than bullets, no team strategy involved in public matches makes it dull and frustrating. Expand
  24. JordanW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    Its impossible to overlook the impossibly short lifespan of the single player missions. Poor effort! Next time stick with blue ray so you can put in a solid 20 hour campaign.
  25. MassA.
    Dec 29, 2007
    5
    I really liked the game, so don't get me wrong, but it is disappointing that it is too unrealistic. You see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out I really liked the game, so don't get me wrong, but it is disappointing that it is too unrealistic. You see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out of a door instead of thinking about how to handle a tactical situation realisitically. This should encourage Activision (AND Ubisoft) to push for more realistic game productions, so that older fan can also enjoy "games". Btww, we should somehow find a solution that kids don't get access to these kind of games. It's a real turn down (to my ego), when I lhave to listen to a kid's voice giving names, bt being the best killer in town! Expand
  26. NateB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    This game is very very over rated. Basically the same game as all the other CoD's, just prettier. The missions are all almost basically clones of the prior games, and when they do add a little something new it is horribly boring (like when you drop bombs on guys). Sure the game looks amazing and the animations are all really smooth, but its just more and more of the same. No new This game is very very over rated. Basically the same game as all the other CoD's, just prettier. The missions are all almost basically clones of the prior games, and when they do add a little something new it is horribly boring (like when you drop bombs on guys). Sure the game looks amazing and the animations are all really smooth, but its just more and more of the same. No new tactics, no cover system or even the ability to lean, poor story that jumps all over the place, still fight enemies with unlimited amounts of ammo (and men at points) and the only thing destructible are cars (which all unrealistically explode). Stick with R6:Vegas, Gears and F.E.A.R. for now. This game is not what I would expect out of a next gen title as its only a prettier version of the same game released back in 2003. Expand
  27. PaulS.
    Oct 17, 2008
    5
    The game is fun...for a bit. I don't know what people are so mad over with this game, over all I feel it wasn't and still isn't worth the price you pay for it. While it seems like its a good SP game and a good MP game it falls on its face in terms of longevity. I know most CoD4 fans hate Halo, but the comparison is there in terms of replay value. I can find 10 reasons off The game is fun...for a bit. I don't know what people are so mad over with this game, over all I feel it wasn't and still isn't worth the price you pay for it. While it seems like its a good SP game and a good MP game it falls on its face in terms of longevity. I know most CoD4 fans hate Halo, but the comparison is there in terms of replay value. I can find 10 reasons off the top of my head to play halo again, Single and Multiplayer, I can think of maybe 2 for Call of Duty 4. Its good, but not as good as everyone says it is, thats why I voted so low. To much hype for not enough return. Expand
  28. Jag
    Feb 25, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoil I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is a lot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personally think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry. Expand
  29. PeteW.
    Dec 29, 2007
    5
    I have to agree with Max here.The game has the Call of Duty name and good graphics, but the gameplay itself is really mindnumbing. The path is extremely linear in the single player and the 'cool' bits like the sniper shot and the bombing are over in two minutes.All the levels are extremely scripted with alead by the hand nature. The training level and first level are really I have to agree with Max here.The game has the Call of Duty name and good graphics, but the gameplay itself is really mindnumbing. The path is extremely linear in the single player and the 'cool' bits like the sniper shot and the bombing are over in two minutes.All the levels are extremely scripted with alead by the hand nature. The training level and first level are really atmospheric and promise much, but later on the gameplay hasn't evolved sinced games like Socum on the PS2. I started playing one evening and before I knew I was on the Sniper level (at least 2/3 through the whole game). If you are into multiplayer then this is good, but the single player could leave you unmoved. Expand
  30. JeanF.
    Mar 18, 2008
    5
    Very good on first play through but very scripted and frustrating to play for achievements.
  31. JeffS
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    It's pretty cool, I'll admit, but I think it's total B.S. that there's no indicator of when you're going to lose the hammer. I smash like 6 barrels and then just as I'm about to smash the 7th, the hammer disappears. And who builds a ladder that doesn't go all the way up? Gorilla graphics are pretty cool and the bump mapping on rolling barrels is It's pretty cool, I'll admit, but I think it's total B.S. that there's no indicator of when you're going to lose the hammer. I smash like 6 barrels and then just as I'm about to smash the 7th, the hammer disappears. And who builds a ladder that doesn't go all the way up? Gorilla graphics are pretty cool and the bump mapping on rolling barrels is photorealistic. I hope that eventually you actually get to rescue the girl. Expand
  32. JohnP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    4
    I normally don't rate games but I want to save you all some heartache on this one. It is completely scripted which just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. You will see endless enemies coming out of a doorway until you advance to a specific line then all enemies stop. You will see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that I normally don't rate games but I want to save you all some heartache on this one. It is completely scripted which just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. You will see endless enemies coming out of a doorway until you advance to a specific line then all enemies stop. You will see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation because of this. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out of a door instead of thinking about how to handle a tactical situation realisitically. In my opinion this game is just not worth playing and I wish I hadn't wasted my money. Beautiful graphics, good sound, and cool weapons don't even begin to make up for the huge amount of fake scripting and endless robotic enemies in this game. Boo!!!! Expand
  33. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare can sometimes be a fun game to play, but with an incoherent plot and a dull and repetitive gameplay, the game will soon become quite boring. The game's plot lacks cohesion and can confuse players with it's poorly connected storyline and the graphics are quite mediocre in which sometimes it can be good and sometimes it can be ugly. All the followingCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare can sometimes be a fun game to play, but with an incoherent plot and a dull and repetitive gameplay, the game will soon become quite boring. The game's plot lacks cohesion and can confuse players with it's poorly connected storyline and the graphics are quite mediocre in which sometimes it can be good and sometimes it can be ugly. All the following instalments in the Modern Warfare franchise blatantly copy this game in all it's nothingness. If you are a Call of Duty fan you will surely like this, but everybody else will call it a bore. Expand
  34. Jan 18, 2014
    4
    This is one of the hardest games to review this generation for many reasons. Let me start by saying I get my competitive online multiplayer shooter itch scratched by Halo and my co-op/modern military multiplayer shooter needs filled by Rainbow 6, so I found COD's online offerings a little dull and the community full of pricks so that wins it no points. The first time I played through COD IThis is one of the hardest games to review this generation for many reasons. Let me start by saying I get my competitive online multiplayer shooter itch scratched by Halo and my co-op/modern military multiplayer shooter needs filled by Rainbow 6, so I found COD's online offerings a little dull and the community full of pricks so that wins it no points. The first time I played through COD I found it very entertaining but the forced set pieces and crap AI made it feel like an expensive ghost train with no ghosts, the characters where rubbish and the story pointless. However this game started the trend of the shock moment in COD games and in this one it was executed perfectly, the part where the player is caught in an atomic blast is one of the best and most memorable moments in gaming history, the blast was so great it managed to kill COD as the series has gone downhill since that very moment, even this game couldn't be arsed to compete with it as it just kind of ended a little bit later when I believe the atomic blast would have been a perfect ending to the game. With all this in account the game scored a 6 but the price it was, compared to the length of the game, knocks a point off to 5. I mean the game is less than 6 hours long which no one should be paying full price for. Which gets me to the point where Modern Warfare gains a 4, just like gears of war I have to look at the legacy that COD left us, it's a giant seller and because of this other games try to copy it's selling points so this is another game that helped flood the market with generic brown cover based shooters. COD also saw the raise in sales of **** DLC and micro transactions off the success of this game. Expand
  35. Dec 12, 2014
    4
    This game is insanely overrated. I'm only focusing on the single-player as I generally don't care for multiplayer. The mission structure was boring. The format, after finishing the first three games, has grown repetitive. But the most infuriatingly over-praised aspect is the story. Maybe if had not been executed in such a bland way with absolutely no personality there could have beenThis game is insanely overrated. I'm only focusing on the single-player as I generally don't care for multiplayer. The mission structure was boring. The format, after finishing the first three games, has grown repetitive. But the most infuriatingly over-praised aspect is the story. Maybe if had not been executed in such a bland way with absolutely no personality there could have been something memorable. But, sadly we were left with this trash Expand
  36. AnonymousMC
    Sep 20, 2009
    3
    Really don't get the huge ratings for this game. All I see are 8's and 10's, seriously, could this game be more suck?

    Naturally, when I got the game I thought it would be good, I mean, it has two f*cking helpcopters on the front cover, so I was like, "Dude! I get to fly helicopters?!" Sadly, to my dismay, I could not fly around in a simulator like fashion taking off
    Really don't get the huge ratings for this game. All I see are 8's and 10's, seriously, could this game be more suck?

    Naturally, when I got the game I thought it would be good, I mean, it has two f*cking helpcopters on the front cover, so I was like, "Dude! I get to fly helicopters?!"

    Sadly, to my dismay, I could not fly around in a simulator like fashion taking off and landing as I pleased.

    The graphics were about as good as Microsoft Flight Simulator 2000 (Which I play daily), so I guess that's a plus.

    But really, I didn't get the point of all this "First Person Shooter" stuff. I turned on the game and was like, "What is this?" I just don't get why on the front cover you would have helicopters yet not let the player fly them all over.

    Bad Marketing, Bad Game, Bad choice at not having helicopters.
    Expand
  37. MatD.
    Jan 2, 2008
    3
    Singleplayer game is very short, and once that is finished the game is pointless. Multiplayer is simply a joke, is no differnt then any other crappy FPS online.
  38. chrisob
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    The most dull, and boring game I've ever played in my life. The SP is just a dull, boring , linear, cliched story line that is easy to beat even on the hardest difficulty. AI just stand there and enemy AI chuck grenade upon grenade at you. There is nothing original about this storyline. MP is the same way, the gameplay is shallow, and the maps linear and badly designed. Perks make The most dull, and boring game I've ever played in my life. The SP is just a dull, boring , linear, cliched story line that is easy to beat even on the hardest difficulty. AI just stand there and enemy AI chuck grenade upon grenade at you. There is nothing original about this storyline. MP is the same way, the gameplay is shallow, and the maps linear and badly designed. Perks make the game way too easy to be good at, that anyone can pick the game up their first time and go 40-4 on it. Kill streak rewards in combination with the perks just make this one of the most unbalanced games ever. COD 4 is just another generic overhyped game on the consoles. No variety, nothing new, nothing innovative, and nothing spectacular. The sequel will be just the same, just more unbalanced. Expand
  39. MaxD.
    Dec 13, 2007
    3
    People are stupid. Are you guys blind , graphics are cod2.5 quality while the gameplay is the same as other shooter out there, it brings nothing new to the series.
  40. ApocalypseB.
    Nov 10, 2007
    2
    Don't get this score wrong, it is a very good game, well at least the multiplayer is. But the very bad propaganda against those bad old terrorists in the Arab lands where fighting is an every day thing, according to most reviewers, is very insulting. And seeing a kid pretending to be on the front line playing this, killing 'these stinking Muslims', made me give this 2.
  41. Gras
    Jul 2, 2009
    2
    The reason why my score is so low is because of how overly hyped and overrated, and don't forget disappointing, this game is. Multiplayer is the only thing which keeps it driving, the single player campaign is way too average. That's one of my beefs with the CoD series, the SP Campaigns are more of an arcade shoot-em-up instead of a real, entertaining game with an engrossing The reason why my score is so low is because of how overly hyped and overrated, and don't forget disappointing, this game is. Multiplayer is the only thing which keeps it driving, the single player campaign is way too average. That's one of my beefs with the CoD series, the SP Campaigns are more of an arcade shoot-em-up instead of a real, entertaining game with an engrossing story. The graphics are way too stale, and textures are horribly undetailed. Or maybe I think that because I play too much MGS4 and Gears of War? But for a game this hyped, the graphics are a major letdown. Now, when compared to Halo, this game is better just on the terms of how even more overrated Halo is. I'd still prefer to play Halo once in a while rather than COD4. Expand
  42. BiloP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    2
    Seriously compared to Halo this is crap! No ducking, no vehicles, no skill and basically the same level designs in multi. Its soo easy its a joke, better off with Halo or GOW.
  43. JamesN
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    This is the GRAYEST game I've ever seen, it looks like they actually made an effort to use a limited color palette with gray as the base. The story mode has a bunch of twists and turns, too bad they are the SAME twist about 17 times.They have giant plot holes all across. I think the real low point of this game is the death streak. So I'm doing terrible and now the game is This is the GRAYEST game I've ever seen, it looks like they actually made an effort to use a limited color palette with gray as the base. The story mode has a bunch of twists and turns, too bad they are the SAME twist about 17 times.They have giant plot holes all across. I think the real low point of this game is the death streak. So I'm doing terrible and now the game is plastering it on my screen that because I suck so badly they need to give me an edge. Not that it matters because the edge lasts just long enough to run out a full minute before I see anyone. So lets see, I can't see anything because its all gray, and the game rubs loss in my face. Well don't worry because it still can get even worse. Normally kill streaks are determined pretty much randomly by luck... and im not saying everyone because some people get it regularly with great skills. For the most part however its luck. So, Hardline, Grenade Grenade Turrent, Helicopter, NUKE. Seems to be the common trend of this game. They seem to fail to realize that in a real warzone all this guided killstreaks stuff is balanced because there is thousands of people fighting. In a map where there is only 8 people on each side a guided missile is completely overpowered. Lets finish off this review with the fact that you can pay extra to start off with the end game gear, and whoever has the higher level weapon always wins. Expand
  44. Davidc
    Nov 13, 2009
    2
    Wow, how is this getting such a high score? campaign took me 3 and a half hours!!!! Absolutely ridiculous. Does anyone remeber half life? it took days to get through and was far less linear than this. The only saving grace is multiplayer which is decent but the maps pale in comparison to cod 4. Im utterly dissapointed.
  45. HaloLover
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    This game is steaming munt, compared to Halo 3!
  46. JoeyG.
    Sep 10, 2008
    1
    Pure crap... I urge you to buy Halo 3 its a much better game the campaign is longer and if you play through it its not like COD4 where one play you have seen it all.
  47. BenK.
    Dec 2, 2007
    1
    Scripted game, very lame.
  48. Ano
    Dec 31, 2007
    1
    This game is pathetic seriously. GT said Halo 3 is the game of the year, and I am inclined to say that is bullshite also. The Orange Box gets it for me, but this game is by far the most over-rated game of the decade. No ducking, Sniper has the same power as a pistol, simply its shocking. I really can't see how people love this crap!?
  49. Ultimatetoa
    Jan 8, 2008
    0
    this game is dumb. i mean no aliens or intergalactic travel what kind of halo game is this any way. they said that Halo 4 future tools of warfare was game of the year, and Ano you suck, the orange box sucks, and halo 3 deserved game of the year.
  50. EddieM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    0
    Absolutely worthless. Halo 3, without the fun. Campaign is exactly the same as past games, and the supremely over-hyped multiplayer is just horrific. People need to hop off, and go back to true FPS greatness; Halo. I mean, unless you feel like hiding and camping the whole time... and then dying in two shots. I play my games for FUN, not realism.
  51. PeterC.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    wow. this game is the biggest piece of garbage ever. i'd rather eat garbage. the graphics are the worst ever in a game. they are probably worse than the N64. and don't even get me started on the framerate issues. the game's character movements are terrible and choppy, the characters all look like robots, and the game constantly freezes. also everyone knows that nobody uses wow. this game is the biggest piece of garbage ever. i'd rather eat garbage. the graphics are the worst ever in a game. they are probably worse than the N64. and don't even get me started on the framerate issues. the game's character movements are terrible and choppy, the characters all look like robots, and the game constantly freezes. also everyone knows that nobody uses guns in a war; what kind of bullsh*t is that; everyone knows that they have pillow fights. Expand
  52. AndrewD.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    This is definately a great game. what I do not understand is why people take the time to say this game is broken in all ways when it is clearly not. They must like attention. The ONLY negative thing I can say about COD4 is that sometimes it becomes very frustrating when you face people who play it way more than you do.
  53. JamesG.
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    Sucks ass compared to the PS3 version. Infinity Ward built CoD4 from the ground up on the PS3, with the 360 version being a port of the PS3's. Game looks alike, but the differences ARE there, hence why most unbiased reviewers praise the PS3's CoD4 with higher regards.
  54. Limanima
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Pales in comparison to the PS3 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the XBox while on the PS3 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience.
  55. JohnD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    I have both systems and the reason I give this one 0 is that the PS3 version is just superior compared to this crap. X360 just can't handle what the COD throws at it, framerate drops, graphics are good but not when compared to PS3 version. Also the controls felt better for me with Sixaxis. Iin conclusion if you have both systems get the PS3 version.
  56. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    The single player sucks and is incredibly short and the online is the definition of repetitive. i don't understand what people like about this,if you want a good shooter play Bioshock, Half-life 2,gears of war or crysis
  57. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    Why does anyone like this game? It looks like crap, it plays like crap, the maps are crap, the story is crap, everything is crap. This has to be the most overrated game in history.
  58. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    i used to love call of duty games because i enjoyed working to unlock all the perks. but every time i play online, someone somehow unlocks all the weapons/perks/EVERYTHING within hours. i on cod4mw, it took less than three hours for someone to ruin it for me AGAIN! just like in mw2 and codwaw and mw3... i'm never buying these games again as i don't even get to enjoy the challenge ofi used to love call of duty games because i enjoyed working to unlock all the perks. but every time i play online, someone somehow unlocks all the weapons/perks/EVERYTHING within hours. i on cod4mw, it took less than three hours for someone to ruin it for me AGAIN! just like in mw2 and codwaw and mw3... i'm never buying these games again as i don't even get to enjoy the challenge of progressing anymore. Expand
  59. Nov 6, 2015
    0
    sucks major ass, Like when I get promoted to major some lowlife mouthbreather starts sucking on my ass. It's awful, the other team gets too many touchdowns and we can never even make it to the world series. It's not my fault that Donald Trump is the best player or that our team keeps luesing
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.