User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1314 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jh
    Aug 9, 2009
    7
    Fortunately I'm unbiased enough to not mark off a huge load of points just because I don't like the overall userscore. I feel a 7 is representative of the game, unlike the kind of scores it's pulled elsewhere. CoD4, like the many CoDs before it, is extremely linear. Someone actually had taken the position on the Destructoid forums that linearity doesn't make a game Fortunately I'm unbiased enough to not mark off a huge load of points just because I don't like the overall userscore. I feel a 7 is representative of the game, unlike the kind of scores it's pulled elsewhere. CoD4, like the many CoDs before it, is extremely linear. Someone actually had taken the position on the Destructoid forums that linearity doesn't make a game bad. He's wrong and right; non-linearity extends the life a game by presenting the player with multi-faceted decisions, warranting extended playthroughs and evoking the emotion of 'freedom' that you don't get in linear games. Linearity only works if the game is really long, and that's exactly where CoD4 commits its greatest sin. It's short. On default difficulty I completed it in 4 hours, without even trying. Thankfully it was a rent. Haven't gone back to it since. Expand
  2. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    7
    A good game, all in all, but offline story and online map design hold it back from greatness.
  3. PaulH.
    Feb 8, 2008
    7
    This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way they intended feel is best and do not allow you to express yourself in the least. The only reason my rating is so high is because outside of the gameplay, everything else is fantastic. Expand
  4. SeanC.
    Mar 5, 2008
    7
    While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), you can't break wood (all that happens is a cheesy "hole" appears), you can't break much of anything important. Half Life 2 even had better physics than this. Another flaw is some of the level designs. For example, in single player mode, there are a few areas where you can look up, throw a grenade where it's completely open, and the grenade will bounce off an invisible wall in the air and land on your head. In multiplayer mode, the level designs get very repetitive, and it starts feeling dull very quickly. Some people have mentioned how sniping is so realistic because of the wind and gravity effects, but I'd like to point out that the only time those effects come into play is during a three minute part of a level where you take exactly two sniper shots. In reality, the rest of the game is just like any other game with sniping, except that your guy trembles like a mad man when he's using the scope. Aside from these flaws though, and the rather narrowness of the storyline, the game is pretty fun. Killing people never gets boring in multiplayer, and there's a lot more value to using various guns in this game than there is in just sticking to one or two guns. Customizing your player with different weapons, accessories to your weapons, and perks is a nice addition, and the game is relatively balanced so that each class of gun has a scenario on any level where it can be good. Expand
  5. WarGator
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number of nades, etc.; more realistic killing, I shoot somebody twice and they do not fall down dead or wounded because of extra +health points; increased ability to move in buildings needed, not enough entrance ways and windows to shoot from. GOOD POINTS: Each game becomes more realistic than the last game; weapons are represented realistically; good graphics; flows well; fighting is realistic; uniforms are realistic. Expand
  6. RodanM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. Multiplayer is available for those who have time to unlock everything. Those who don't will leave the game early due to being able to only select a few beginner weapons at the start. This is especially frustrated when getting gunned down by someone with a better weapon. Expand
  7. ChrisL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    This was a fun game game. The level design was great and kept it from getting stale. However, it was way too short, there were no vehicles, and it was too lienear. The story was better than Halo 3 but not the gameplay or multiplayer( i got bored quickly with it). RENT IT BEFORE YOU BUY IT!!!
  8. KevinR.
    Dec 6, 2007
    7
    A good game, but the mechanics are not as refined as Call of Duty 2, and several gameplay gimics (such as the AC-130 mission) are just not fun.
  9. chump
    Aug 21, 2008
    7
    I bought this game after being told by everyone that it was the best multiplayer game for xbox live - and the best shooting game as well. I have been cranking a lot of Battlefield:Bad Company .. until I bought this game. In hindsight - COD4 - while good, is not up there with BC. The limited arenas/lack of free roaming, no destructible environment, no tanks or vehicles .. most I bought this game after being told by everyone that it was the best multiplayer game for xbox live - and the best shooting game as well. I have been cranking a lot of Battlefield:Bad Company .. until I bought this game. In hindsight - COD4 - while good, is not up there with BC. The limited arenas/lack of free roaming, no destructible environment, no tanks or vehicles .. most disappointing. Granted - there are plenty of online game options. A great game - just didn't quite live up to the hype for me though. Expand
  10. DustinB.
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    Great graphics, attention to detail, and numerous maps can't help this title from becoming frustrating to the point of no return. Not only will you get killed from across the map, but it could very well be by a pistol. The distance that people can see when not zoomed in is way to far to make this game fun over the long run. And what saddens me more is that the single player is easily Great graphics, attention to detail, and numerous maps can't help this title from becoming frustrating to the point of no return. Not only will you get killed from across the map, but it could very well be by a pistol. The distance that people can see when not zoomed in is way to far to make this game fun over the long run. And what saddens me more is that the single player is easily one of the best for FPS on the 360 but it only lasts 5-6 hours. If they could have doubled that this game could very still be in my 360, let alone my collection. But alas it is not. Glad i got this via Gamefly first, could have wasted $60 that is now going towards Assassin's Creed. Expand
  11. FPSMaster
    Nov 13, 2007
    7
    This game's single player is a 9 overall, but multiplayer is a joke. This is why I gave it a 7. The campaign is short, but every level is great on every difficulty even though Veteran gets frustrating at certain points. Great graphics, great weapons, great sounds, great A.I. But the multiplayer is a different story. The more I play it the more I feel like I'm looking at and This game's single player is a 9 overall, but multiplayer is a joke. This is why I gave it a 7. The campaign is short, but every level is great on every difficulty even though Veteran gets frustrating at certain points. Great graphics, great weapons, great sounds, great A.I. But the multiplayer is a different story. The more I play it the more I feel like I'm looking at and playing a reworked version of Black Hawk Down on Xbox, meaning it's too fast, looks and feels cheap and plays like a shooter trying to be crazy like Burnout or something. The animations are of Counterstrike level from 1998, the weapons have no weight, the bodies have no ragdolls and just fall over like in Black Hawk Down and the graphics took a huge hit online lighting and framerate-wise. The multiplayer just feels and looks cheap and the perks make it feel even more like a kids game that's hopped up on speed. The bullet penetration was not fleshed out correctly and quickly becomes a gimmick where people just blindly shoot through everything while camping behind the same wall the entire match. And since rockets and grenades don't go through walls too this engine just feels way too gimmicky. There is no teamwork, but it doesn't matter anyway because it's like Quake in that you just die, respawn, run for a few seconds from your terrible spawn points and die again from the same guy that just killed you. Infinity Ward is so much better than this, but you won't see it unless you go back and play Call of Duty 2 which is 10 times better online. Expand
  12. BickleT.
    Nov 15, 2007
    7
    Okay, it's gorgeous. The sound is great, yada yada yada. But seriously, it's just run and gun. No cover system, no strategy, nada. Just look at the pretty ways to kill the enemy. Oh, and keep in mind the enemy will always spawn in the same place. It ends up being a gorgeous pattern recognition twich factor game.
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    I like to limit what shooters I get, so Modern Warfare is a good game if I'm actually getting it. The campaign is not as strong as the other games, but still has value. The real fun is in the multiplayer. It's really tight and fast paced as finding matches is easy and quick.
  14. May 19, 2012
    7
    In terms of Call of Duties, this is the best one. Game wise it's decent, but nothing worthy of greatest game status. If you want to try Call of Duty, which I don't reccomend, try this one. Otherwise play a good game series.
  15. May 7, 2013
    7
    My review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its gloriousMy review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its glorious moment and cannot feel how great of this game. Regarding SP, fun! Expand
  16. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    A solid and entertaining experience, I came to the game too late to get anything from the multiplayer experience but the campaign itself was very entertaining and the story arc plays well across the three MW games. Graphics, gunplay and immersion still hold strong even today whilst many games of this period have quickly aged and flagged.
  17. May 1, 2016
    7
    This game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughlyThis game follows the trail left by Allied Assault while successfully bringing the formula to the next level.This is a masterclass in single player campaign pacing and scenario. Expert and respectful checkpoint placement means that you will never redo a section previously beaten twice. Playing on hard is highly recommended as the various mechanics and level design will be more thoroughly experienced. The shooting is both varied and weighty. The levels are designed in such a way as to hint the player towards multiple possible tactical approaches ; Choosing to storm the inside of a building is as challenging as it should and might reward you with a unique vantage point. The various set pieces are seamlessly integrated and never feel odd or disconnected from the main mechanics. The voice acting is great and the minimalist story telling keeps the scenario engaging and fairly credible. That said, the game is clearly part of a sophisticated war propaganda machine and is likely indirectly responsible for the death of many young testosterone filled adolescents in need of adventure ; I believe this will be rightly regarded as a historical piece of Zionist propaganda down the line. The main villain's name is even named after the current president of Syria, whom the Zionists are currently trying to actively murder ; Russian patriots are also antagonized. The visuals, animations and lighting hold surprisingly well, and thoroughly immerse . Modern warfare is not only a good shooter, it is simply one of the best FPS experience of all time and deserves to be celebrated as such. Expand
  18. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    6
    COD4 has an amazing campaign mode with many jaw dropping moments. But it only lasts for a short while. The multiplayer is great for about a week when you realise that you're doing the same thing everygame. The skill level is not even here. 1 shot and the other guy is dead in most cases. The game needs better custom games to keep the longevity of Halo.
  19. GarrettL
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    This game is so overrated and isn't even that fun to play online. The story in single player is the most generic story ever, terrorists with nukes. The regenerating health make it so easy to beat it this game could play itself. It is is fun but really just another generic fps on xbox 360 over hyped.
  20. xbox360master
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets the whole game down for me i would perfer to play Rainbow six or MOH Airbourne.Plus there is no co -op online or off unlike COD2 why?Oh and what makes this different from any other shooter, someone plz tell me. Expand
  21. George
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    Uninspired, dull, and nothing new. Single-player is akin to having your hand held on a tour through an interesting locale, but one that is fret with boring and unimaginative pit stops. Each pit stop amounts to, more or less, a shooting gallery. Multiplayer is what I would call completely unoriginal with a twist. Deathmatch, the outdated stand-by, and Team Deathmatch (in essence, Uninspired, dull, and nothing new. Single-player is akin to having your hand held on a tour through an interesting locale, but one that is fret with boring and unimaginative pit stops. Each pit stop amounts to, more or less, a shooting gallery. Multiplayer is what I would call completely unoriginal with a twist. Deathmatch, the outdated stand-by, and Team Deathmatch (in essence, deathmatch without the ability to shoot certain people) are present, of course, as well as a multitude of other slight variations. The slight twist is two things. One, the ability to rank up, complete challenges, and unlock additional guns, equipment and perks. And, two, the ability to call in some form of support as a reward for killing sprees. Unfortunately, you unlock, at most, a handful of guns where one is a clear winner in each category. Equipment is mostly useless, and perks are unreliable, ineffective, useless, or all three. Calling in support during a match amounts to rewarding luck with an unfair advantage. Being harassed by an AI with the equivilent of autoaim and wallhacks defeats the purpose of multiplayer. Expand
  22. KyleK.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I think this game is being way overblown. I don't know about anyone else, but I think the game press isn't terribly reliable. Is Halo 3 really a near perfect game? Was Halo 2 for that matter? This is another game where name seems incredibly important--and it should be given that the original Call of Duty took what Medal of Honor did and made it even better. And CoD 2 was great I think this game is being way overblown. I don't know about anyone else, but I think the game press isn't terribly reliable. Is Halo 3 really a near perfect game? Was Halo 2 for that matter? This is another game where name seems incredibly important--and it should be given that the original Call of Duty took what Medal of Honor did and made it even better. And CoD 2 was great as well. But once Medal of Honor Airborne came out everything changed. Play that game and then come back to CoD 4. The production values are, I think, vastly better in almost all respects--and as far as gameply goes it's open ended and they found a way to improve on the controls. While in iron sights mode you can use the movement keys to peek up or lean left and right. Switching to CoD 4 you immediately realize that that's something you can't go back from; that was a subtle but incredibly compelling change to the game. Admittedly I'm rating the PC version here, but I can't imagine it's a completely different game. Just please don't go out and drop $60 on this; rent it first at the very least. 6/10 for graphical updates and inclusion of an incredibly hard difficulty but boredom and sloppiness otherwise--incredibly simplistic gameplay at times,for example using a Javelin AT launcher: all you have to do is line your sights up with a big rectangle on the viewscreen. Doesn't matter if the tank is even in view--it still knows it's there and all you do is point and click. Expand
  23. ScottB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    6
    The online play is not nearly as extensive as Halo 3. you and your buddies can't sign online from the same xbox 360 and play social matches together. that's no fun at all. also, the campaign in this game is very short. it may be visually stunning, but visuals aren't everything. this game is overrated. i think i'll stick with halo 3.
  24. UncleDouglasB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    This game is grossly overrated. There's really nothing special about it, it's just too linear to have depth and be enjoyable. The controls are wonky (holding down the left thumbstick for running gets annoying) and the graphics are inconsistent. An overall disappointment.
  25. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstartedCall of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstarted the franchise into what it is now, and if you go back and play this game you'll notice few differences between it and Black Ops, bar killed streaks, guns, perks and maps. If you haven't played Call of Duty 4, it's worth a rent at least, but you can get it quite cheap now and there are still thousands playing it online every day. 3/5. Expand
  26. Jan 4, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch of rooms of houses cluttered with boxes and junk, voice acting is great and the music is pretty good and gunfire is good, the controls are AMAZING some of the best out there, multiplayer is what you should buy this game for, it's deep fun and amazing, just buy this game for the multiplayer Expand
  27. May 22, 2011
    6
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted --
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted -- at no point does the SP require any skill but following directions (except pressing the right button at the right time, in the case of the dogs and grenades, which are both instant kills and can be hard to avoid). The whole SP campaign really ends up being a skeleton on which to hang a bad action movie on. 1/5.

    As for multiplayer, it's better than the PC version, if only for the ability to play split-screen. I actually had quite a bit of fun after disabling the horribly overpowered killstreak gimmicks and enabling Old-School mode for the item collection skill (the default MP has a spawn-with-items system). They give you the tools to remove much of the dumbed-down FPS gameplay that's so ridiculously popular nowadays, and so it earns a solid 4/5 in my book.
    Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    My 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. ThatMy 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. That aside the multiplayer fares better with the Old School mode especially. The amount of glitches exploited for the brilliant game Mike Myers is unreal yet fun. The campaign is the real let down for me and thats why it can't get a high mark. Expand
  29. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Ok this is old I know, but this game used to be amazing, this game has gone downhill ever since, now its just people hacking... this game used to be made of gold... now the only thing made of gold in this game is some of the cammo... and hackers, if your going to hack, dont boast about it... it makes you look like a ****
  30. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game is probably the best modern war shooter game ive played, but still not that special to me.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.