Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    100
    There are few video games released this year that you simply cannot miss, Call of Duty: Black Ops is one of them.
  2. 95
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Treyarch have done a fine job with Black Ops. Not only does the game retain its Call of Duty aesthetic appeal, and pushes all of the series strengths seemingly as far as they can go, but now other aspects of the game are also to this high standard.
  4. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    87
    Black Ops is a solid addition to the Call of Duty franchise that really puts Treyarch on the map. You won't get anything original out of it, but if you liked what came before, then you will have a blast.
  6. Dec 10, 2010
    81
    Treyarch really brought their "A" game here with Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    There are games that deserve to be relegated to the bargain bin, or played when there's simply nothing else on the shelf. This is one of them. It's not broken, it's just bad.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated and praised for years to come. This is the BEST game ever. Collapse
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    True amazing experience online and offline.. now that mw3 has been released people will see how much off a good game this truly is!
    Its cool
    to hate black ops , i cant think for one reason why ! Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    I don't get all the negative user reviews. Clunky controls? Its the same setup modern warfare 2 had. Bad graphics? Graphics are amazing. The campaign is great and so is the nazi zombies. The only reason I did not give it a ten is that it requires you to be online for the combat training. I can't get online so I would have loved to play with bots on the map. Anyway, best call of duty yet. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    this game managed to be good, but not much more. the campaign was really good for a cod game, and i'd recommend it. the zombies is amazing, and better than world at war's in a lot of ways. the multiplayer, however, it kind of weird. the maps and thematics are good. i liked the tone and the way the graphics worked. the balance was poor though. the famas, aug, and ak74u were overpowered. ghost perk was an issue, and so was the rc-xd killstreak. the guns weren't very memorable, and it wasn't that fun. i liked playing search and destroy, though. the maps were good for it, and messing around with other people was fun. overall, this game was good overall, but the multiplayer was only okay. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2011
    6
    Call of duty black ops is a nice firstperson shooter. I like to play the campaign. But the story isn't nice at all. The game is just an media spectacular.
    The gameplay is nice and it's also a nice game to play. I give call of duty black ops an 7 because it's nice to play but just like the other call of duty games
    i doesn't have a nice story
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2011
    4
    At this point, I think COD Black Ops is mostly riding on Multiplayer. The single player campaign was a disgrace--I actually felt embarrassed for Treyarch--who designed that ? Didn't anyone from Treyarch actually play the solo campaign? Everyone I know who's played it has found right away all the silly loops you get stuck on, or the wonderful "Barrel of Fail" where what--I don't hit one button right and I'll never get past the level? That's a mistake, not real gameplay. And as most have pointed out, multiplayer is just a new skin of COD MW2 --except with maps that seem a little less thought out. I sure hope MW3 brings something new to the table b/c this is getting a little old especially for the $. Don't even get me started on the Expansion maps that cost a third of the game itself! Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. noticing that ALOT of the people giving it a 10/10 are people who are reviewing anything on this site for the first time. it looks at thought there's some "sandbagging" going on to get this crappy game's metascore up. the reason i say this is in general, people usually state their opinion when something is bad (i.e. restaurant, movie, service) and when it's good or average you usually keep it to yourself because you expect it to be good. i just wrote my first review and i did it to state my hatred of treyarch and this game. if it was great i would be playing it right now instead of writing reviews about it. don't buy this game and if you do get it used and don't give treyarch/activision anymore undeserved money. Expand

See all 494 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.