Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    94
    These maps are pretty impressive and very well-designed. They range in size from small to large, and contain a lot of unique details. If you are considering expanding your Black Ops experience, the Annihilation Map Pack is the way to go.
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    91
    Just like the second map pack, Annihilation succeeds overall in delivering DLC that keeps players happy.
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    90
    In my opinion, Annihilation is easily the best of the DLC, and much of the original multiplayer content, for Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    Four quality new multiplayer maps and one for the zombies. [Oct 2011, p.85]
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    84
    The four new competitive maps are fun, even if they are a little too similar to what we already have, and the Shangri-La zombie map is pretty great.
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    80
    A nice new map pack, a bit expensive but well made.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    The Annihilation Pack is a very good DLC created for Call of Duty: Black Ops. The lack of interactive elements in the new levels is a step backward for this game (remember the zip-lines in Kowloon or the elevators in Hotel or the deadly turrets in Berlin Wall?). Anyway, the DLC is a great addiction for most of the hardcore Call of Duty supporters.
  8. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Annihilation is another fine showing from Treayarch. I know that some people may have gotten to the point where they no longer want to spend 1200msp on another map pack, but while it is of this quality, I have no problems in recommending it.
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    80
    As good as the previous DLCs. Expensive as usual, but 4 good maps and the zombie level are worth the price.
  10. Jul 16, 2011
    75
    Annihilation offers exactly the same as the last two map packs: great maps, but little innovation. Those who are just looking for some new terrain, will be pleased though. Those who look for a new experience, won't.
  11. Jul 14, 2011
    75
    While significantly less gimmicky than Call of the Dead, Shangri-La offers a competent and interesting entry in the Zombies series. While not as mechanically solid as early entries like Ascension, this map offers the novelty most battle-weary Zombies veterans will need to keep them interested.
  12. Jun 30, 2011
    70
    These are another batch of consistently entertaining maps built on the solid bedrock of sprawling architectural foundations.
  13. 70
    Another rock-solid performance from Treyarch.
  14. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    Another highly competent map pack, with no stinkers and a few potential classics - particularly the new Zombies level.
  15. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    At this point, before buying the third map pack, you should ask yourself how much Black Ops you're really going to play before Modern Warfare 3 comes out. While Anihilation has it's strong points, ultimately it's the least exciting of the three, and one casual fans can stand to miss out on.
  16. Jul 1, 2011
    68
    This is the worst download content released for Black Ops. Escalation and Annihilation are Call of Duty's two last expansions, and they both come from opposing ends of excellence scale.
  17. Jul 28, 2011
    60
    The Annihilation map pack for Black Ops has some enjoyable maps, like "Hazard", "Hangar 18" and the new zombie map "Shangri-La", but overall itʼs just another overpriced DLC.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    6
    In my opinion, if you're not a die hard call of duty fan don't get this map pack. It seems to me like ever since modern warfare 2 came out,In my opinion, if you're not a die hard call of duty fan don't get this map pack. It seems to me like ever since modern warfare 2 came out, the guys who make call of duty have become money greedy bastards. The zombie map is good, but the multiplayer maps are boring. Skip this map pack. Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    In my opinion the best DLC so far. Looks like Treyarch finally realized presenting buyers with trailer size maps is not a good idea.There areIn my opinion the best DLC so far. Looks like Treyarch finally realized presenting buyers with trailer size maps is not a good idea.There are two mid-size maps (Drive-In and Hangar 18) and two big ones ( Silo and Hazard - which is a remake of popular map from World at War called Cliffside) all that plus new jungle oriented zombies level.Solid 8 from me because I'm still not Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2011
    8
    In my opinion the best DLC so far. Looks like Treyarch finally realized presenting buyers with trailer size maps is not a good idea.There areIn my opinion the best DLC so far. Looks like Treyarch finally realized presenting buyers with trailer size maps is not a good idea.There are two mid-size maps (Drive-In and Hangar 18) and two big ones ( Silo and Hazard - which is a remake of popular map from World at War called Cliffside) all that plus new jungle oriented zombies level.Solid 8 from me because I'm still not used to Activisions greediness and their high price mark for dlc threats. Full Review »