Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This map pack features new multiplayer maps, including Kowloon and Berlin Wall.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 10, 2011
    85
    It appears this is one CoD based DLC that's no rip-off, and thus First Strike is certainly well worth the buy.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    85
    Overall, Ascension feels like a perfect blend of old and new, making it a must play for zombie fans.
  3. Feb 3, 2011
    80
    Overall, then, it's a fairly robust package with a steep asking price. Adding novelty additions to the mix might incense the grumpy critics, but these map-specific gimmicks seem to be going down genuinely well on Xbox LIVE - just like the blast doors on Radiation or the space rocket on Launch.
  4. 80
    So the question is: how good is the new map pack? And without hesitation the answer is: very good indeed.
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    80
    First Strike is a nice map pack with a lot of variety. Treyarch did a great job with the level design, offering different settings with this valuable downloadable content. Anyway, 1200 MP are too much for a single map pack.
  6. Feb 3, 2011
    79
    Black Ops multiplayer users will be pleased with this First Strike DLC despite its high cost.
  7. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    First Strike, then, is a well-balanced collection of different styles of map, its highlights undoubtedly favouring those who tend to play away from Free For All and Team Death Match.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    One of the best map packs out. 4 great new MP maps and an amazing zombies map. each one of the new maps is different then any other map out right now. the zombies map is bigger and better then anyother zombies map. with new perks,new weapons and a new enemy this map has lots to do. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Very enjoyable, worth it or all COD fans of all degrees especially the new Zombies map, seriously you cant go wrong with zombie monkeys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    The First Strike Map Pack is a must have for any frequent player of Call of Duty Black Ops. Treyarch did a great job of positioning the Domination Points and Demolition Points on the new maps as well. I find Domination to be best on Kowloon and Berlin Wall, Demolition to be best on Kowloon and Discovery. The Stadium Map gives you a little taste of Nuketown and is the place to go if you want to generate a lot of kills. If you are a Zombies player, you surely will not be unhappy with the new map there, and the soundtrack on the higher levels of play is awesome for sure. Is it expensive, maybe, is it worth it, for sure! Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    The map pack was okay. Zombies map Ascension proved to be quite fun but not the multiplayer maps. Even though they added some interactive maps, it still didn't prove useful. Not a lot of people used the zipline in Kowloon, the no-man zone in Berlin Wall as people didn't throw smoke grenades, and Stadium has nothing except that big hockey stadium which was just in the way. The only map was Discovery because of the destroyable ice. That really helped. If you just want a fun zombies game with simple multiplayer maps, get this. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    Ascension and Discovery were great but the others... not so much. All though I am not a big fan of the other three maps, they are interesting. Kowloon brings zip line warfare. Berlin Wall brings you No-Man's Land. Discovery brings you destroyable bridges.Stadium brings you a normal map, so that classic could possibly remain fun. Ascension brings you a whole bunch of new crap, being a zombie map. This one is probably even with Escalation and kicked Annihilation's butt. Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    I give these maps a better score than Black Ops by itself. However, I think these maps should've been included with the game. I'm not likely to buy "Escalation" though as I've been warned by so many bad reviews and i think at this point, COD BO fatigue is setting in. For me, COD is always about Modern Warfare --so until MW3 comes out, I'm saving my money. Collapse
  7. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    i bought this thinking it's going to be awesome, but it's sucks ass, and treyarch is a sellout company because they delievered the maps to xbox earlier than ps3 Expand

See all 21 User Reviews