User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 57
  2. Negative: 23 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    Let's get this out of the way: The main reason I bought this map pack was the bonus multiplayer weapon- a first in Call of Duty DLC- the Peacekeeper SMG. It has become one of the more popular weapons in Black Ops II with its accuracy and decent power (compared to other SMGs, at least). The maps themselves aren't too bad either. Grind is the standout of this pack, taking place in a skateLet's get this out of the way: The main reason I bought this map pack was the bonus multiplayer weapon- a first in Call of Duty DLC- the Peacekeeper SMG. It has become one of the more popular weapons in Black Ops II with its accuracy and decent power (compared to other SMGs, at least). The maps themselves aren't too bad either. Grind is the standout of this pack, taking place in a skate park. The other maps aren't too bad, though Downhill is my least favorite. Die Rise, the included Zombies map, is pretty decent as well. Though the maps are decent, no doubt people bought this for the Peacekeeper, which I'm not surprised. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    I like the multi-player maps. The Peacekeeper is a very awesome gun. My favorite was the skate park. The dam map was pretty horrible though. The Peacekeeper really made this pack worth it.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    This DLC was a bad way to start off. Die Rise, the new zombies map, was way too big, and didn't feel like zombies at all. The 4 new multiplayer maps are all bad, but grind is better than most bo2 maps. turned is horrible, because it's luck-based and the hit detection is horrible. The peacekeeper is a pretty useless weapon, and i don't really use it. i don't recommend buying this dlc.
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Not commenting on the MP maps as the maps make absolutely no difference to the actual gameplay(Shoot'n'kill).

    For the price this is sold, it's a complete rip off, sure you got the Gangster actors in Mob of the Dead, But overall, the map is poor and adding anything stupid to a zombie map is enough to attract some fans because of how they limited the previous maps from certain things that
    Not commenting on the MP maps as the maps make absolutely no difference to the actual gameplay(Shoot'n'kill).

    For the price this is sold, it's a complete rip off, sure you got the Gangster actors in Mob of the Dead, But overall, the map is poor and adding anything stupid to a zombie map is enough to attract some fans because of how they limited the previous maps from certain things that were already in black ops 1 Zombie maps, It's a sales tactic, Luckily, I didn't buy Black ops 2 OR this DLC pack, Activision deserve none of my money for this piss-poor attempt at a cash in. Want more free map packs and Better cod games? Stop putting money into CoD Games. Activision is a company that desperately need a money crisis, To realize how much they are ripping fans off. Just look at activisions last 5 games that aren't cod, I bet they all have less than 55 on metacritic, CoD Is the only game they care about, Lets ruin it and let a good Publisher take the franchise!
    Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    NOTE! I am not reviewing this DLC with my opinions on DLC considered I am only reviewing it on it's actual quality.
    Revolution gives us two good multiplayer maps with the rest being fairly average and an excellent return to form for Zombies. Also for the first time we get a new weapon (Which I recall they said they would never do) the Peacekeeper. It could be considered OP with the range
    NOTE! I am not reviewing this DLC with my opinions on DLC considered I am only reviewing it on it's actual quality.
    Revolution gives us two good multiplayer maps with the rest being fairly average and an excellent return to form for Zombies. Also for the first time we get a new weapon (Which I recall they said they would never do) the Peacekeeper. It could be considered OP with the range of an Assault Rifle but it has the range and recoil of a SMG so it kinda balances out. Also we get a shallow mode in which you can play as a Zombie (Another thing they said that they would never do) and have to hunt down a human and if you kill the human you become it, ultimately though it's nothing special.
    So yeah this DLC just gets a recommendation especially if you were a Zombies fan and were't satisfied by Tranzit (Transit).
    Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    ew.....just.....ew. It's just one map that i like, and 1 that's ok and 2 that just stink, i love the peacekeeper, but it makes me so mad how everyone in a game pelts me with it and how half the maps just aren't that great, i just don't think it's amazing and i don't recommened it, but Die Rise on the other hand is a real treat, it's very fun and has some great content for the zombiesew.....just.....ew. It's just one map that i like, and 1 that's ok and 2 that just stink, i love the peacekeeper, but it makes me so mad how everyone in a game pelts me with it and how half the maps just aren't that great, i just don't think it's amazing and i don't recommened it, but Die Rise on the other hand is a real treat, it's very fun and has some great content for the zombies franchise, but don't buy it for multiplayer's sake, buy it for zombies, and screw all the campers out there, just cuz your over prestige 9 doesn't mean you can sit in a corner and pick off people who have no chance, douchebags.... Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    2
    New maps are okay but what's the point if the game runs like crap. Bought the season pass on release day because I had faith in the series. I completely regret this purchase after waiting patiently for a patch, and listening to that idiot David Vonderhaar ignore the majority of the Black Ops 2 community asking for a multiplayer fix, and pander to the incredibly small esport crowd. I'veNew maps are okay but what's the point if the game runs like crap. Bought the season pass on release day because I had faith in the series. I completely regret this purchase after waiting patiently for a patch, and listening to that idiot David Vonderhaar ignore the majority of the Black Ops 2 community asking for a multiplayer fix, and pander to the incredibly small esport crowd. I've been playing CoD since its beginning and Black Ops 2 will be the last one I ever purchase. Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The most content packed into a DLC yet, and that alone gets a good grade. There is something for everyone! If you are not into zombies, then multiplayer is your choice with good maps and a new weapon, and vice versa. Great job treyarch!
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    Great map pack worth every penny. Peacekeeper is a very balanced gun,the new zombies map is a great addition as it mixes up the zombies formula and adds additional guns to zombies such as the PDW and the AN-94.the multiplayer maps are also very good and each map is very unique in terms of map design and suited to different game modes,although turned is something that is easily forgettableGreat map pack worth every penny. Peacekeeper is a very balanced gun,the new zombies map is a great addition as it mixes up the zombies formula and adds additional guns to zombies such as the PDW and the AN-94.the multiplayer maps are also very good and each map is very unique in terms of map design and suited to different game modes,although turned is something that is easily forgettable but a good change from other modes Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    The revolution pack adds a new zombie mode where you play as a zombie and adds a new gun called the "PeaceKeeper", that alone should drive you to this pack, but the new map called "Die-rise" is a top seller for me. I'm a huge zombies fan and this map is amazing and makes me excited to see what else they're working on.

    On the multiplayer side you get a few new maps, the map that stands
    The revolution pack adds a new zombie mode where you play as a zombie and adds a new gun called the "PeaceKeeper", that alone should drive you to this pack, but the new map called "Die-rise" is a top seller for me. I'm a huge zombies fan and this map is amazing and makes me excited to see what else they're working on.

    On the multiplayer side you get a few new maps, the map that stands out to me is GRIND. Grind takes place in a skate/bmx park and has a hard to hold down middle section but the outskirts lead to plenty of kill and die opportunities.

    The peacekeeper I feel is a big over powered but in a game with weapons that hit hard and shoot fast it's easy to counter the peacekeeper.

    Pick up this map pack if you have not.
    Expand
  11. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Revolution is a solid DLC from Treyarch, offering 4 new fun maps to the game's multiplayer, the problem being none of these maps stand out to the money's worth, but that changes with the new zombies map "Die Rise," possibly the best map added to zombies since Verruckt, it adds exciting gameplay and a fantastic layout. The other feature added to zombies was "Turned," this is the worst ofRevolution is a solid DLC from Treyarch, offering 4 new fun maps to the game's multiplayer, the problem being none of these maps stand out to the money's worth, but that changes with the new zombies map "Die Rise," possibly the best map added to zombies since Verruckt, it adds exciting gameplay and a fantastic layout. The other feature added to zombies was "Turned," this is the worst of the pack's lot, with boring gameplay and tiresome goals, it's actually pretty terrible. Finally, the Peacekeeper SMG is a superb weapon that is sure to keep the little kids crying over their mics. This is money well spent if you are a fan of this year's Call of Duty. Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2013
    1
    I have bought all DLC's for COD MW3 in vain, i will not do it again for Black Ops 2. The main problem is that not all the players are getting the new content, so the matchmaking for the new maps will take a lot of time and you will probably find games with bigger latency than usual. The friends you like to play coop with may not have the new maps. Getting extra, better weapons in a DLC isI have bought all DLC's for COD MW3 in vain, i will not do it again for Black Ops 2. The main problem is that not all the players are getting the new content, so the matchmaking for the new maps will take a lot of time and you will probably find games with bigger latency than usual. The friends you like to play coop with may not have the new maps. Getting extra, better weapons in a DLC is a form of getting better gear than the rest of the players out there which is like creating a pay to win situation. It feels stupid to pay for new maps when you think about games like CSGO who have hundreds of free maps available for download with amazing graphics and a much better gameplay. To make the review complete: i loved single player in BO2, multiplayer is a pure crap, the zombie mode is stupid. Look at Left 4 dead or Dead Island and learn how to make a good zombie mode. Oh, forgot the sniper rifles. LOL! Why even bother puting in sniper rifles when people are using them to quickscope and use them like handguns? Expand
  13. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    I'm basically new to the Call of Duty franchise on console (played the original COD way back when on the PC). Enjoying BO2 and really like the Revolution maps. Very worth it in my opinion. Some may say it's nothing new but that's fine. They're cool new maps and I got accustomed to them quickly. Very pleased with the purchase.
  14. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    I remember the days when maps were FREE for CoD games. Now you have to pay for a few maps and for a god damn weapon. BALANCE THE FREAKING MULTIPLAYER INSTEAD! Shame on you Treyarch!

    Paying for maps This is just insane....
  15. Feb 11, 2013
    6
    The maps are a complete blow off, and really not all that interesting. The best one is probably Downhill, which is just a remake of Array and it's at a ski lodge this time. Grind was good the first few times, but now if you go into the Revolution lobby it's going to be selected almost every time. The map set in the temple is really easily dismissed. I enjoyed the environmental shift ofThe maps are a complete blow off, and really not all that interesting. The best one is probably Downhill, which is just a remake of Array and it's at a ski lodge this time. Grind was good the first few times, but now if you go into the Revolution lobby it's going to be selected almost every time. The map set in the temple is really easily dismissed. I enjoyed the environmental shift of the water in Hydro, but it's still pretty bland and renders the multiplayer still pointless. Die Rize is actually quite well done and is extremely interesting and has a lot of layers that are fun to play through and expose, along with several cool achievements. Overall Revolution is only worth the Zombies, so it should really only be worth about 5 bucks. I have the season pass and will be getting all further DLC's, but I would wait on reviews until you purchase the next DLC if you do not have the season pass. Expand
  16. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This is the first content pack for Call of Duty Black Ops 2 and it delivers. In addition to 4 new maps we are given a new zombies map and a new SMG. The 4 new maps are medium in size and designed in a way that is complimentary to different play styles and game modes. The new zombies map, Die Rise, offers the best zombie experience thus far and is the first in the series to offer a trueThis is the first content pack for Call of Duty Black Ops 2 and it delivers. In addition to 4 new maps we are given a new zombies map and a new SMG. The 4 new maps are medium in size and designed in a way that is complimentary to different play styles and game modes. The new zombies map, Die Rise, offers the best zombie experience thus far and is the first in the series to offer a true vertical experience. The new SMG is not overpowered. Ignore the naysayers. When something new comes out, everyone is going to use it. It hits hard up close but fails at range. Exactly how it was designed to work. I would have liked to see a few more weapons added (Battlefield destroys CoD in post release content) but there is by no means anything BAD about this DLC. Expand
  17. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    this is an amazing pack. everything was awsome but the zombie mode was freaking awsoem and the maps was cool to if you want to buy this dlc i am reccomending to buy it
  18. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing onCall of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing on that map again. The all new Zombies map "Die Rise" is a great addition to the Black Ops II Zombies series and an improvement over the original map "TranZit", plus the lava and denizens (goblin creatures from the fog) do not return which is a big relief. Die Rise features a new perk "Who's Who", and a new buildable Wonder Weapon "The Sliquifier" and a few other buildable items scattered across the map. Die Rise will take some time for players to get adjusted to it, but when they get a good sense about the map, and are playing with friends or at least good people online a Public Match, then you'll have the best experience, also WATCH YOUR STEP! The brand new weapon, that is a first for Call of Duty DLC, "The Peacekeeper" is a decent SMG that is easy to use, but a seems to be a bit overpowering, and it's pretty annoying when your in a game with everyone using the same weapon. "Turned" is a competitive co-operative mode that pits four players against each other on the Diner map of TranZit. While this sounds fun and all which is, I can't help but feel this game mode is very limited due to the fact it's only 1 human vs 3 zombies and the only playable map is the Diner, hopefully Treyarch will expand this game mode to bigger and better maps for the best experience. Black Ops II's Revolution offers the decent multiplayer maps that unfortunately don't give you that special feeling that makes you want to play it over and over again, a well done Zombies map that will take time to get adjusting to but a big improvement over TranZit, a nice but bit overpowered new SMG, and a fun but very limited new Zombies competitive co-operative mode. Collapse
  19. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    Unbalanced multiplayer, mediocre campaign, and overall terrible community. Activision really should've spent more time creating this, especially when it's such a "high-profile AAA" game.
  20. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    Ok here is the problem which I don't think many people are seeing. Treyarch has released at least three of these games. Why is it that World at War had great releases. The maps were wonderful. You had a night map that was terrific and you had the Japenese map. Now there was another one but I guess it was forgetable. They also released more maps and for the most part were GOOD-GREAT maps.Ok here is the problem which I don't think many people are seeing. Treyarch has released at least three of these games. Why is it that World at War had great releases. The maps were wonderful. You had a night map that was terrific and you had the Japenese map. Now there was another one but I guess it was forgetable. They also released more maps and for the most part were GOOD-GREAT maps. These new maps are ok at best. The Hydro map is kinda of boring, the snow map is ok, the skateboard map is good, the other one in the desert city was pretty good. The problem all of them have though is they are the same old thing. I also don't understand why there is only one new weapon. It would have been neat for them to come out with at least 4 new weapon's I played with someone yesterday who was already GOLD in the new gun. Also because there is only one new gun everyone is using it. I feel like they just don't care and lets just release whatever since most people will buy anyway. Now with DIE RISE. That is one awesome area of death. The whole time I was playing I kept think why dont they connect these areas and release this whole place in multiplayer. It seems they have gotten where they want the matches to be over as quick as possible. Die Rise is great and really requires team work. Glad to see they also realized how lame the LAVA was and took it out of this map. Expand
  21. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    Really like this update. The maps feel well made and fairly balanced. The variation between the 4 feel good and I certainly like the Peacekeeper SMG. The Peacekeeper is as advertised having the handling and quick ROF of a SMG with the stopping power and accuracy of a assault rifle. The only draw backs I've seen with it is the accuracy, and the iron sights when you're targeting at longReally like this update. The maps feel well made and fairly balanced. The variation between the 4 feel good and I certainly like the Peacekeeper SMG. The Peacekeeper is as advertised having the handling and quick ROF of a SMG with the stopping power and accuracy of a assault rifle. The only draw backs I've seen with it is the accuracy, and the iron sights when you're targeting at long range which I'm assuming is the built in drawback to this gun. Only gripe is that there are only 3 modes to play on them (TDM, Domination and Moshpit). I"m assuming in moshpit you would see modes like kill confirmed and hardpoint, but the maps seem to be built for Domination I have yet to try any of the zombie updates, but I'm not really a zombies fan myself. Expand
  22. Feb 3, 2013
    0
    Call of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing onCall of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing on that map again. The all new Zombies map "Die Rise" is a great addition to the Black Ops II Zombies series and an improvement over the original map "TranZit", plus the lava and denizens (goblin creatures from the fog) do not return which is a big relief. Die Rise features a new perk "Who's Who", and a new buildable Wonder Weapon "The Sliquifier" and a few other buildable items scattered across the map. Die Rise will take some time for players to get adjusted to it, but when they get a good sense about the map, and are playing with friends or at least good people online a Public Match, then you'll have the best experience, also WATCH YOUR STEP! The brand new weapon, that is a first for Call of Duty DLC, "The Peacekeeper" is a decent SMG that is easy to use, but a seems to be a bit overpowering, and it's pretty annoying when your in a game with everyone using the same weapon. "Turned" is a competitive co-operative mode that pits four players against each other on the Diner map of TranZit. While this sounds fun and all which is, I can't help but feel this game mode is very limited due to the fact it's only 1 human vs 3 zombies and the only playable map is the Diner, hopefully Treyarch will expand this game mode to bigger and better maps for the best experience. Black Ops II's Revolution offers the decent multiplayer maps that unfortunately don't give you that special feeling that makes you want to play it over and over again, a well done Zombies map that will take time to get adjusting to but a big improvement over TranZit, a nice but bit overpowered new SMG, and a fun but very limited new Zombies competitive co-operative mode. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    75
    It's same old, same old. There's nothing truly special about the new Revolution maps, but nothing truly wrong with them either. Having never really enjoyed Call of Duty Zombies, the new zombies content leaves me cold. By pitting three zombies against a single survivor, the new Turned mode makes a complete mockery of a true zombie apocalypse. [Apr 2013]
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    86
    For great maps, and another epic Zombie campaign. [Apr 2013, p.79]
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Treyarch has done a great job with Revolution. It's the biggest package of content ever before in Call of Duty history and the overall quality is remarkably high. The only bit of the DLC that isn't that exciting, would be Turned. The multiplayer maps are well designed and Die Rise is a brilliant new zombies map, filled with Easter Eggs. Fans of the Call of Duty series shouldn't hesitate and buy this DLC instantly.