Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first DLC Map Pack that offers a massive amount of content, including four all-new Multiplayer maps, a new Zombies map, a new Zombies game mode, and -- for the first time in a Call of Duty game -- a brand new Multiplayer weapon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    86
    For great maps, and another epic Zombie campaign. [Apr 2013, p.79]
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    The Revolution pack brings some great maps to the multiplayer world of Black Ops 2 but some are easily better than others. Among the additions are what could be a new classic for the series and what may be the biggest dud we’ve seen in the game, so it is really a mixed bag. Thankfully, the good outweighs the bad here and makes this a quality buy for fans of the game
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    Call of Duty Black Ops II – Revolution is a very solid DLC, though not the revolution you mentioned in its title.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Treyarch has done a great job with Revolution. It's the biggest package of content ever before in Call of Duty history and the overall quality is remarkably high. The only bit of the DLC that isn't that exciting, would be Turned. The multiplayer maps are well designed and Die Rise is a brilliant new zombies map, filled with Easter Eggs. Fans of the Call of Duty series shouldn't hesitate and buy this DLC instantly.
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    78
    The four new maps offered by Revolution are interesting and fun. Especially the interactive elements in two of the maps really hit the spot. It’s too bad the new weapon is slightly unbalanced and the game offers a sub-par selection of new zombie content.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    75
    It's same old, same old. There's nothing truly special about the new Revolution maps, but nothing truly wrong with them either. Having never really enjoyed Call of Duty Zombies, the new zombies content leaves me cold. By pitting three zombies against a single survivor, the new Turned mode makes a complete mockery of a true zombie apocalypse. [Apr 2013]
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    60
    Although I don't feel like I would have wasted my cash outright, I do feel a little disappointed that there wasn't more bang for your buck here.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The most content packed into a DLC yet, and that alone gets a good grade. There is something for everyone! If you are not into zombies, thenThe most content packed into a DLC yet, and that alone gets a good grade. There is something for everyone! If you are not into zombies, then multiplayer is your choice with good maps and a new weapon, and vice versa. Great job treyarch! Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    Let's get this out of the way: The main reason I bought this map pack was the bonus multiplayer weapon- a first in Call of Duty DLC- theLet's get this out of the way: The main reason I bought this map pack was the bonus multiplayer weapon- a first in Call of Duty DLC- the Peacekeeper SMG. It has become one of the more popular weapons in Black Ops II with its accuracy and decent power (compared to other SMGs, at least). The maps themselves aren't too bad either. Grind is the standout of this pack, taking place in a skate park. The other maps aren't too bad, though Downhill is my least favorite. Die Rise, the included Zombies map, is pretty decent as well. Though the maps are decent, no doubt people bought this for the Peacekeeper, which I'm not surprised. Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    Really like this update. The maps feel well made and fairly balanced. The variation between the 4 feel good and I certainly like theReally like this update. The maps feel well made and fairly balanced. The variation between the 4 feel good and I certainly like the Peacekeeper SMG. The Peacekeeper is as advertised having the handling and quick ROF of a SMG with the stopping power and accuracy of a assault rifle. The only draw backs I've seen with it is the accuracy, and the iron sights when you're targeting at long range which I'm assuming is the built in drawback to this gun. Only gripe is that there are only 3 modes to play on them (TDM, Domination and Moshpit). I"m assuming in moshpit you would see modes like kill confirmed and hardpoint, but the maps seem to be built for Domination I have yet to try any of the zombie updates, but I'm not really a zombies fan myself. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    The revolution pack adds a new zombie mode where you play as a zombie and adds a new gun called the "PeaceKeeper", that alone should drive youThe revolution pack adds a new zombie mode where you play as a zombie and adds a new gun called the "PeaceKeeper", that alone should drive you to this pack, but the new map called "Die-rise" is a top seller for me. I'm a huge zombies fan and this map is amazing and makes me excited to see what else they're working on.

    On the multiplayer side you get a few new maps, the map that stands out to me is GRIND. Grind takes place in a skate/bmx park and has a hard to hold down middle section but the outskirts lead to plenty of kill and die opportunities.

    The peacekeeper I feel is a big over powered but in a game with weapons that hit hard and shoot fast it's easy to counter the peacekeeper.

    Pick up this map pack if you have not.
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    6
    The maps are a complete blow off, and really not all that interesting. The best one is probably Downhill, which is just a remake of Array andThe maps are a complete blow off, and really not all that interesting. The best one is probably Downhill, which is just a remake of Array and it's at a ski lodge this time. Grind was good the first few times, but now if you go into the Revolution lobby it's going to be selected almost every time. The map set in the temple is really easily dismissed. I enjoyed the environmental shift of the water in Hydro, but it's still pretty bland and renders the multiplayer still pointless. Die Rize is actually quite well done and is extremely interesting and has a lot of layers that are fun to play through and expose, along with several cool achievements. Overall Revolution is only worth the Zombies, so it should really only be worth about 5 bucks. I have the season pass and will be getting all further DLC's, but I would wait on reviews until you purchase the next DLC if you do not have the season pass. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    Ok here is the problem which I don't think many people are seeing. Treyarch has released at least three of these games. Why is it that WorldOk here is the problem which I don't think many people are seeing. Treyarch has released at least three of these games. Why is it that World at War had great releases. The maps were wonderful. You had a night map that was terrific and you had the Japenese map. Now there was another one but I guess it was forgetable. They also released more maps and for the most part were GOOD-GREAT maps. These new maps are ok at best. The Hydro map is kinda of boring, the snow map is ok, the skateboard map is good, the other one in the desert city was pretty good. The problem all of them have though is they are the same old thing. I also don't understand why there is only one new weapon. It would have been neat for them to come out with at least 4 new weapon's I played with someone yesterday who was already GOLD in the new gun. Also because there is only one new gun everyone is using it. I feel like they just don't care and lets just release whatever since most people will buy anyway. Now with DIE RISE. That is one awesome area of death. The whole time I was playing I kept think why dont they connect these areas and release this whole place in multiplayer. It seems they have gotten where they want the matches to be over as quick as possible. Die Rise is great and really requires team work. Glad to see they also realized how lame the LAVA was and took it out of this map. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Not commenting on the MP maps as the maps make absolutely no difference to the actual gameplay(Shoot'n'kill).

    For the price this is sold,
    Not commenting on the MP maps as the maps make absolutely no difference to the actual gameplay(Shoot'n'kill).

    For the price this is sold, it's a complete rip off, sure you got the Gangster actors in Mob of the Dead, But overall, the map is poor and adding anything stupid to a zombie map is enough to attract some fans because of how they limited the previous maps from certain things that were already in black ops 1 Zombie maps, It's a sales tactic, Luckily, I didn't buy Black ops 2 OR this DLC pack, Activision deserve none of my money for this piss-poor attempt at a cash in. Want more free map packs and Better cod games? Stop putting money into CoD Games. Activision is a company that desperately need a money crisis, To realize how much they are ripping fans off. Just look at activisions last 5 games that aren't cod, I bet they all have less than 55 on metacritic, CoD Is the only game they care about, Lets ruin it and let a good Publisher take the franchise!
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews