User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 84
  2. Negative: 37 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    6
    Uprising offers four new maps for multiplayer and the Alcatraz-themed zombies mode. I don't spend a lot of time playing zombies (even though it is quite the challenge and can be loads of fun), so I weight more of my score on the maps. None of the new maps are bad, which is nice, but I also don't feel like they are also amazing either. Studio is a rehash of the first Black Ops' FiringUprising offers four new maps for multiplayer and the Alcatraz-themed zombies mode. I don't spend a lot of time playing zombies (even though it is quite the challenge and can be loads of fun), so I weight more of my score on the maps. None of the new maps are bad, which is nice, but I also don't feel like they are also amazing either. Studio is a rehash of the first Black Ops' Firing Range, and serves as one of the more memorably experiences this time around. New maps are welcomed, if for no other reason than to mix things up a bit more as the original set of maps aren't all that great to begin with. If you're pouring time into BO2's multiplayer, this is a good buy. If you've cycled the game out already and were just wondering if this would bring you back for another go-round, I'd say you're better off putting your money elsewhere. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty: Black Ops II's Uprising brings less amount of content than the first map pack Revolution, but the multiplayer maps are a far more improvement over Revolution, and the new Zombies map adds some new features on the fun Alcatraz map. There a four new maps in the Uprising DLC: Magma, Vertigo, Studio, and Encore. These maps feel much better when played and more memorable and gaveCall of Duty: Black Ops II's Uprising brings less amount of content than the first map pack Revolution, but the multiplayer maps are a far more improvement over Revolution, and the new Zombies map adds some new features on the fun Alcatraz map. There a four new maps in the Uprising DLC: Magma, Vertigo, Studio, and Encore. These maps feel much better when played and more memorable and gave me that feeling of playing it again after playing it once unlike Revolution. Magma, is a map featuring an Japanese village full of lava, now this map was decent, just annoying with the magma everywhere able to kill someone almost instantly, and be careful where you move, as in my first game I had a lot of people who died from the magma. Encore, a concert stage had a well done design and made it a fun map. Firing Range fans can rejoice with the new map Studio, a remake of the Firing Range stage from Black Ops I only with the Hollywood set theme environment. While it was nice of Treyarch to do this, they should not get in the habit of lazily using old Black Ops I maps and slightly redesigning them and passing them of as new maps and charging us for them. Studio is a fine exception, but they should stop at that. The final multiplayer map, Vertigo, is a fancy map, probably modded from the Campaign level where the team goes to find Karma. Mob of the Dead, the new Zombies map, is an interesting map with new features such as the Afterlife, which is very handy. The Afterlife is used at the beginning of the game giving players to control a ghost like figure and able to attack Zombies without them attacking you, but of course, it does have a time limit. The fact that they chose Alcatraz for this map was excellent and that the new Easter Egg is escaping Alcatraz makes for quite an exciting story. Overall Black Ops II's Uprising is an improvement over Revolution, with better multiplayer maps and an exciting new Zombies map, it is a disappointment that they did not add a new Zombies game mode or at least expand the "Turned" game mode to maps other than the Diner. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    6
    This was an ok map pack. The really only good maps in this pack are Studio and Mob of the Dead. All the rest are just boring and repetitive. Mob of the Dead is an AWESOME expansion to COD: Zombies. The HUD has an all new design, new guns, new mystery box design, new zombies, new perks and new traps. Pretty much the best zombies map ever made. Studio is a fun and competitive map. It hasThis was an ok map pack. The really only good maps in this pack are Studio and Mob of the Dead. All the rest are just boring and repetitive. Mob of the Dead is an AWESOME expansion to COD: Zombies. The HUD has an all new design, new guns, new mystery box design, new zombies, new perks and new traps. Pretty much the best zombies map ever made. Studio is a fun and competitive map. It has good spots to hide and is a remake of Firing Range from the original BO. But other than those two maps its not that great of a map pack. I think they should just sell the maps seperately so that you can just buy the ones that look interesting to you. Expand
  4. May 19, 2013
    7
    I don't really care much for the multiplayer maps, one of them is just a simple remake of a map from Black Ops 1, I am mostly impressed with the zombies map, Mob of the Dead, it is excellent! The design is awesome, the zombies are cooler looking, Easter Eggs are hidden everywhere, and also it is something you can finish, not just a survival map, but something with an actual goal toI don't really care much for the multiplayer maps, one of them is just a simple remake of a map from Black Ops 1, I am mostly impressed with the zombies map, Mob of the Dead, it is excellent! The design is awesome, the zombies are cooler looking, Easter Eggs are hidden everywhere, and also it is something you can finish, not just a survival map, but something with an actual goal to achieve. I am still having a ton of fun with my friends playing this map, we all love it the same. As for the multiplayer maps, well, not to impressed honestly, they are almost like any other map, but with a design to fit the theme. Trust me on zombies though, it is worth it. Expand
  5. GFC
    Apr 29, 2013
    6
    For this review i will be rating the maps on their own and then come up with a final verdict.

    Magma- A map with lava. That is pretty much it. I thought they could have done more with it. The trailer made it sound exciting but in the end I just found it to be very stale. 4/10 Encore- Man This was even MORE disappointing then magma. I like maps where you can climb stuff and get to
    For this review i will be rating the maps on their own and then come up with a final verdict.

    Magma- A map with lava. That is pretty much it. I thought they could have done more with it. The trailer made it sound exciting but in the end I just found it to be very stale. 4/10

    Encore- Man This was even MORE disappointing then magma. I like maps where you can climb stuff and get to certain areas sort of like nuketown. There were tons of objects I wished i could jump on to get to objectives faster but this map is just boring.. I know this is a low score but 2/10

    Vertigo- Man I was not expecting this map to be so good. I love how you are able to find shortcuts through the maps and do certain things. This map is just really fun to play around in. I would say it was even better than grind! 9/10

    I decided to not count studio since it it was already in a different call of duty game.

    Mob of the Dead- When I heard about this zombies map I had low expectations. I mean how can any zombies map live up to die rise? When the map finally came out. I thought it was amazing. The afterlife concept is really cool. I love how you are the power source but at the same time you need to be careful with it because there is no quick revive. The new perk is a nice addition and I hope it comes back it future maps. Also the easter eggs are amazing. Also the new weapons they added are awesome. The uzi and Tommigun are good but its the box weapons you want. My new favorite box weapons are the Blundergat and Ak-47. Another great thing is the characters you play as. I feel like a mobster in a group of 4. The last thing I will talk about is the boss. He is terrifying! I was grabbing a part then all of the sudden he appears. And when you kill him you feel awesome. Mob of the dead gets a 10/10.

    As a whole I give this map pack a 6 out of ten.
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Glad to see that Treyarch is at least trying to keep CoD fresh. Treyarch has always made worthwhile, although a little overpriced DLC, but i always find it fun. And when in comes down to it, it doesnt matter what you think of CoD it just matters if your having fun.
  7. May 9, 2013
    5
    The maps are excellent and the new zombie mode is interesting, but as of now this DLC should have been released with the first one. Not nearly enough content.
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    Uprising is a so-so DLC from Treyarch. The multiplayer maps are feeling very played out now, which I forgave Revolution for, but now it's a tad of an annoyance. Still, nonetheless, amusing. The latest zombies map "Mob of the Dead" is a lukewarm zombies experience, the fun factor is quite high at times, and the Alcatraz theme is excellent, but the long and tiresome setups is a completeUprising is a so-so DLC from Treyarch. The multiplayer maps are feeling very played out now, which I forgave Revolution for, but now it's a tad of an annoyance. Still, nonetheless, amusing. The latest zombies map "Mob of the Dead" is a lukewarm zombies experience, the fun factor is quite high at times, and the Alcatraz theme is excellent, but the long and tiresome setups is a complete drag, resulting in an even more boring solo experience. The DLC's best cut is the Zombies greif map "Cell Block," filled with hilarious tricks to pull on the dreaded enemy team and a triumphant return of the perk-a-cola "PhD Flopper". Overall, Uprising is not a bad DLC, but it's slightly dissapointing. Expand
  9. Jul 25, 2013
    6
    The only thing that saves this map pack is studio and mob of the dead. magma is one of the worst maps I've ever played, and vertigo is better than magma but still bad. studio, a re-skin of firing range was lazy but at least we have a good map in bo2 for once. although the map is worse than the original firing range, because they took out a lot of cool sight lines, and the hollywoodThe only thing that saves this map pack is studio and mob of the dead. magma is one of the worst maps I've ever played, and vertigo is better than magma but still bad. studio, a re-skin of firing range was lazy but at least we have a good map in bo2 for once. although the map is worse than the original firing range, because they took out a lot of cool sight lines, and the hollywood props are just silly and make the map weird. grind is overall a bad map but better than a lot of the other bo2 maps. mob of the dead is awesome though, and saves this map pack. (sort of) The ideas were awesome, the themes behind it were cool, the additions kept zombies fresh, the characters are interesting, and the map is big but small like the original bo1/waw zombies maps. get this DLC if you had the original black ops, but if not, you might not want to. Expand
  10. May 11, 2013
    0
    This mappack has its highs and lows. One low is the high price for only one new map. So I wouldn't recommend getting this if youve already moved on to new games. Another is that in zombies there is not any super great places to run trains and the zombies die if you try to explore the map. The highs for zombies are awesome new traps, characters, guns (ak47, death machine,etc...), and anThis mappack has its highs and lows. One low is the high price for only one new map. So I wouldn't recommend getting this if youve already moved on to new games. Another is that in zombies there is not any super great places to run trains and the zombies die if you try to explore the map. The highs for zombies are awesome new traps, characters, guns (ak47, death machine,etc...), and an easier story that doesnt require too much skill and is acheivable. The acheivements arent a real grind which is also nice. For multiplayer, firing range is brought back which is another awesome small map. The other maps have hazards that are easily avoidable. Vertigo has lots of cover and ups and downs but is dissappointingly linear in some aspects. Magma has lava but past that feels like another map. Not a bad map, but not great. Stadium is fun in game modes with more players and the centre is the control point. However the map feels like it just has a lot of twists shoved into it that are rarely used. Fun maps all the same and a great aspect is that they all give you the ability to use any gun and do pretty well rather than catering to one group of weapons Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    85
    Treyarch continues building on it's DLC-train with Uprising. With four new Multiplayer map and a solid new Zombies map you can, again, have hours of fun. With Mob of the Dead, the developer let's see that it still has got a lot of exciting and original ideas for the franchise. Once again, Treyarch shows that it's the king of DLC-making.
  2. Games Master UK
    May 30, 2013
    77
    The highlight of which is the excellent and star-studded Mob Of The Dead zombie map. [July 2013, p.75]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 28, 2013
    80
    A gimmicky but fun mix of fan service. [June 2013, p.103]