Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The most anticipated game of the year and the most ambitious Call of Duty game ever, Call of Duty: Black Ops II is coming to Wii U. Launching this November 18th, Call of Duty: Black Ops II delivers the most groundbreaking and viscerally immersive Call of duty experience yet. Rooted inThe most anticipated game of the year and the most ambitious Call of Duty game ever, Call of Duty: Black Ops II is coming to Wii U. Launching this November 18th, Call of Duty: Black Ops II delivers the most groundbreaking and viscerally immersive Call of duty experience yet. Rooted in near-future fiction, the title propels players into a visual landscape in an epic single player campaign highlighted by branching storylines and non-linear missions; a re-imagined multiplayer that introduces players to some of the most cutting-edge weaponry and equipment that 2025 will have to offer; and punctuated with an all-new Zombies experience running in the multiplayer engine. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    90
    From the joke-ridden Studio and Magma, to the surprisingly refreshing Mob of the Dead, there's a lot of solid content on offer here in Uprising. In terms of raw layouts, pretty much every map on offer here delivers solid FPS action, and there wasn't one arena in particular that I outright disliked.
  2. 85
    Celebrity cameos by Ray Liotta, Michael Madsen, Chazz Palminteri, and Joe Pantoliano are fun perks, but what really stands out is how expansive and enthralling this hour-or-so mission is.
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    85
    Treyarch continues building on it's DLC-train with Uprising. With four new Multiplayer map and a solid new Zombies map you can, again, have hours of fun. With Mob of the Dead, the developer let's see that it still has got a lot of exciting and original ideas for the franchise. Once again, Treyarch shows that it's the king of DLC-making.
  4. May 30, 2013
    77
    The highlight of which is the excellent and star-studded Mob Of The Dead zombie map. [July 2013, p.75]
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    75
    I definitely feel like Uprising is a piece of DLC that’s worth your money, if for no other reason than the Mob of the Dead mode.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    The usual mix of the mundane, the inspired, and the not quite fully-formed, but at least two of the five maps are minor classics.
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    60
    It’s nice that the developers get to play around a little through these map packs and let off some steam, and as they stand, these maps and the Mob of the Dead mode are engaging deviations from the jingoism and machismo, but is it not also a shame that developers are reduced to using map packs to go a bit hog wild, rather than hedging their bets on something new?

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I really like this DLC. Studio is just like Firing Range from Black Ops 1, except more colorful and it was easily enjoyed. Vertigo is hard,I really like this DLC. Studio is just like Firing Range from Black Ops 1, except more colorful and it was easily enjoyed. Vertigo is hard, because you can easily fall off. Magma is also difficult due to the magma around the whole city, and if you step in it, you'll burn alive. Encore (I believe) is a very colorful map that is salon fun to shoot people in. Mob of the Dead is also fun! You play as one of 4 mobsters in Alcatraz, and the setting is very dark and eerie. You also are able to go into the afterlife to turn on power and inaccessible areas where the main character cannot go. This map is the best Zombies map on Black Ops 2, and will definitely be a map I play a lot! Collapse
  2. May 6, 2013
    10
    The zombie map makes the DLC worth it.

    I would have only given it a 8 because I can't buy the zombie map separately, but gave a 10 to
    The zombie map makes the DLC worth it.

    I would have only given it a 8 because I can't buy the zombie map separately, but gave a 10 to balance out all the idiot hipsters who blindly give 0's because it's fun to hate The Man.
    Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Mob of the Dead was pretty fun and unique! Although I did think that it would be much bigger. Magma was fantastic and my favorite. The remakeMob of the Dead was pretty fun and unique! Although I did think that it would be much bigger. Magma was fantastic and my favorite. The remake of Firing Range, Studio was excellent as well. Encore was alright and Vertigo sucked. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    6
    The only thing that saves this map pack is studio and mob of the dead. magma is one of the worst maps I've ever played, and vertigo is betterThe only thing that saves this map pack is studio and mob of the dead. magma is one of the worst maps I've ever played, and vertigo is better than magma but still bad. studio, a re-skin of firing range was lazy but at least we have a good map in bo2 for once. although the map is worse than the original firing range, because they took out a lot of cool sight lines, and the hollywood props are just silly and make the map weird. grind is overall a bad map but better than a lot of the other bo2 maps. mob of the dead is awesome though, and saves this map pack. (sort of) The ideas were awesome, the themes behind it were cool, the additions kept zombies fresh, the characters are interesting, and the map is big but small like the original bo1/waw zombies maps. get this DLC if you had the original black ops, but if not, you might not want to. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Glad to see that Treyarch is at least trying to keep CoD fresh. Treyarch has always made worthwhile, although a little overpriced DLC, but iGlad to see that Treyarch is at least trying to keep CoD fresh. Treyarch has always made worthwhile, although a little overpriced DLC, but i always find it fun. And when in comes down to it, it doesnt matter what you think of CoD it just matters if your having fun. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    4
    Due to some average multiplayer experiences, to the decent new zombies map, i would say this dlc came as a dissapointment for me. I wouldDue to some average multiplayer experiences, to the decent new zombies map, i would say this dlc came as a dissapointment for me. I would expect some more for a full-priced game dlc. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    2
    If you are looking for a shooting game, the call of duty series is not what you want. Buying the game will enter you into a (generally)If you are looking for a shooting game, the call of duty series is not what you want. Buying the game will enter you into a (generally) terrible community, that refuses to play any likewise game unless it adheres strictly to call of duty's style. Buying the game will shorten your attention span, make you addicted to gore, and cause you to give up playing any other game. By the time you buy your first call of duty game, the next one will come out at double the price. The only difference between these updates is more weapons, even higher resolution graphics (and therefore worse performance), and even gameplay. The game, as I see it, is not a shooter, but a contest (LETS SEE WHO CAN GET THE MOST GORE ON THEIR SCREEN, TEABAG AND MUTILATE THE MOST BODIES, KILL THE MOST UNARMED CIVILIANS, MAKE THE MOST GRAMMATICAL AND SPELLING ERRORS, AND SWEAR THE MOST!!!!!!111). Now that you've heard my review, go make your own decision. If you want to deal with the ten year olds who yell over the chat at the slightest imperfection of their teammates, the swearing and primitive trances of rage and vengeance, the brute, murderous, and senseless air of the game itself, and the community that is repulsive to outsiders and anything that doesn't involve guns, play this game. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews