Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    87
    With everyone’s attention being steered towards Call of Duty: Ghosts, it’s great to see that Treyarch still have their eye on the ball. Buried may have finally ‘buried’ my interest in the Zombie mode, but let’s not forget the real reason why people are still playing Black Ops 2 online; the amazing selection of maps, and Vengeance has just added four new killer ones to the mix.
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Vengeance has become a really zombie centered DLC. With four new multiplayer maps, of which only two of them are really worth it, and an awesome new zombies map called Buried, you can have hours of fun shooting. The Ray Gun Mark II is the cherry on the pie, and summed up Vengeance is worth every penny.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Vengeance offers one great map, two really good maps, one decent map and more Zombies stuff for the players who still understand what Zombies is about. That's enough to call it a win, but it'll be interesting to see if the formula holds once Ghosts is out.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    78
    Vengeance equals a visit to your local snackbar. The fries (four new maps) are well fried, but there's a soggy one there in the form of Detour. Thankfully Buried, the hamburger special, is very good and fills the hungry gamers stomach up well. That's what it's about in the end.
  5. 76
    Unfortunately, the multiplayer maps are pretty disappointing. But the zombie mission is great.
  6. 75
    If you play Black Ops 2 for its multiplayer component you have likely already downloaded the pack. If you haven’t by now, and you are looking for a reason to get back into it, Vengeance may just be the reason you need.
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    In light of the announcement for Call of Duty: Ghosts' dynamic maps, Vengeance really doesn't feel like enough to justify a purchase on its own, even if core fans will find themselves satisfied, and it's not a bad way to supplement the Season Pass.
  8. Sep 1, 2013
    69
    An awkward, inconsistent mish-mash of styles. [Oct 2013, p.71]
  9. Jul 8, 2013
    67
    If you’re still playing Black Ops 2, and let’s face it, you probably are, Vengeance is worth picking up for the multiplayer maps. If you’re primarily a fan of the Zombies mode I’d say you could save your points/money, but this is the strongest collection of multiplayer maps the game has seen since it launched.
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    60
    Another overpriced DLC for Black Ops II. The maps are well crafted (the "Wild West" themed "Buried" is a definite highlight here), but cannot justify the price tag.
  11. Jul 4, 2013
    60
    As a whole, Vengeance will most likely satisfy diehard fans, but it’s still missing that spark of creativity and fun that made Revolution such a great DLC pack.
  12. 60
    Not one of Call Of Duty’s better map packs, but there are still some highlights and plenty to keep fans playing for just a few more months.
  13. Jul 3, 2013
    60
    Apart from that the new maps are fine, although the whole package is overpriced, coming in yet again at an extortionate 1200 points.
  14. 50
    You've already played the best bit. [Sept 2013, p.102]
User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    3
    Another lazy DLC from treyarch. I mean, really? C' mon for 14.99 we get 4 maps and 1 new zombie map, and one of the maps is just a simpleAnother lazy DLC from treyarch. I mean, really? C' mon for 14.99 we get 4 maps and 1 new zombie map, and one of the maps is just a simple re-texture! Talk about lazy, you ain't even getting your money's worth. At least in the first dlc they gave us a weapon! If you look at Battlefield 3's DLC you can tell how much effort they put in those, for the first 2 DLC's they put in 10 weapons along with 4 maps in each of them, thats 20 weapons and 8 well designed maps! BO2's DLC maps aren't that bad but they don't really take effort. Look at it! Uplink? you mean a retextured Summit? Put some effort treyarch into these DLC, they lack any of it. Oh, and maybe some more content, too Full Review »
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    As you can tell, not many critics are enjoying this latest installment in the Black Ops 2 DLC collection, and I can see why sometimes, likeAs you can tell, not many critics are enjoying this latest installment in the Black Ops 2 DLC collection, and I can see why sometimes, like the sub-par multiplayer maps, with the exception of Uplink but Buried could be one of the greatest zombies maps ever. Not because of the layout or the new items mind you, but the amount of Easter eggs and arriving to the beyond epic closing of the COD zombies story-line. And that alone is worth buying this DLC, but as the others, it is overpriced, and lacks replay value. But total it is good, but not great. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    Of the 3 map packs I've played for Black Ops II (this review was made before Apocalypse), this one is my least favorite, but it's notOf the 3 map packs I've played for Black Ops II (this review was made before Apocalypse), this one is my least favorite, but it's not terrible. Of the 4 multiplayer maps, Uplink is definitely a good map, considering it's a remake of the popular Black Ops 1 map Summit. Rush is my personal favorite, taking place on a paintball course (What's next? A theme park?). The other 2 maps, Cove and Detour, aren't terribly special in my opinion. And then there's the new Zombies map, Buried. No doubt people will be looking for the Easter Eggs (as they always do) while I'm blasting away at zombies with a few new toys. Overall, not my favorite map pack in Black Ops II, but it's decent nonetheless. Full Review »