User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1299 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    Multilayer only As I believe that the COD series have been a little over hyped lately Treyarch has stuck to the basic formula (kill for xp unlock from xp rinse and repeat) with adding one large exception more customization as more is good it seems as though they had the idea but didn't go as far as they could it is in the middle. All and all it is a fine game if your tired of MW2.
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Despite what other people have said this game is extremely enjoyable. Weather youre doing more scripted over-the-top action sequences in the campaign. Shooting the crap out of endless zombies in zombies mode, or decimating the other team in multi player. This game is a lot of fun. While other people may say its a recycled version of MW2 I say any thing that can keep you entertained for 2 Whole days!!! is pretty good in my book. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    While I am still pretty new to the Call of Duty series I've only played World at War, COD 4, and this one, and I hated COD 4, this has to be the best one I've played so far, the campaign is epic the story mixed with the awesome gameplay kept me hooked, the multiplayer is outstanding, right up there with Halo: Reach and Battlefield: Bad Company 2, and the controls still deserve praise, the only flaws are some technical issues like you and your enemies getting stuck in the environment, and some other weird glitches, even with those this is still one I can highly recommend. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty: Black Ops definitely contains the most intricate story in the Call of Duty franchise. In addition, stunning graphics and intense game play add to the quality of this game. Unfortunately, the game costs a whopping $60, which is not a reasonable price whatsoever and is not as detailed as Modern Warfare II. Regardless, this game will provide you with a substantial amount of entertainment, however, I would advise you wait for the price to decrease before purchasing it. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    This game is OK. I bought it listening to those little voices in my head saying "This will be the best game of they year!" I get home and well, its not as good as i would of thought. The campaign is amazing! But its just the multi-player that caught my attention. It was almost exactly like MW2. Really close to it. Not enough new guns, and the "customization" sucked. They made it look so good on the trailer, but all you can do is change your guys entire outfit and face paint (witch looked really stupid anyway). I definitely wouldn't of bought this game, but its good for those kind of people that are happy with a game thats almost exactly like they're predecessor. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2010
    7
    It's alright, the single player is nothing really to get excited about but the multi player AND Zombies rescues it a little bit. It's not worth the money right now but might be worth it when reduced to just above £10, your choice!
  7. Dec 25, 2010
    5
    Overly anticipated let down of the year. Campaign is the only thing keeping me from giving this a zero......The online play was overly ambitious with the interesting wager matches and nice weapon customization, but that certainly doesn't cover up the bland gameplay, graphics, maps, guns, and killstreaks. The game is below mediocre and is popular because it has the "honor" of being branded as a Call Of Duty game. Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    Wow. One of the most epic games ive ever played. I liked that the environment was always changing, giving each level a different feel. But it still doesn't have the same feel as the origínal modern warfare. Very good story line though, probably the best ive seen since halo 3. Its just the ending i didn't like, it wasn't the sort of ending i was hoping for. Both modern warfare's had a good ending, but black ops really dropped the ball. But the zombie mode is awesome, could play it for days on end. Expand
  9. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    Black Ops is a fine game. It seems a bit recycled from the previous MW2 title. "Customization" feature is meh at best. Although the purchase of perks, weapons and such through experience points is a nice touch. BO is good but not as good as MW2.
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    Id rather play halo 2 than play this crappy game. BORING BORING BUGGY BUGGY BORING BUGGY BORING BUGGY BORING BUGGY BUGGY BUGGY RUSHED RUSHED CRAP!!!!!!!
  11. Dec 31, 2010
    7
    I was first introduced to the Call of Duty series when I played the first Modern Warfare, and I have played every one of the games released since, so I've had a couple tastes of the works of Infinity Ward and Treyarch. I was hesitant in buying Black Ops because of the horrific multiplayer experience that was offered in World at War (Treyarch's previous game). I began by playing the single played which I think was very decent. It is nothing compared to the experience offered in many of the other games available right now, but it is entertaining and has the best plot of the series. After that, I played zombies for a little while which I find extremely fun, as I did in World at War. Zombies can be a bit difficult and confusing to new players, but once you get the feel for it then it is surprising how fun it can be, especially when you're playing with some friends. The only real problem is the connection. It is difficult to find two more players when you have a friend or two in your lobby already, since when it connects you it usually fails in an attempt to migrate the host. When you do get it to work, it is very fun. However zombies does get boring after a point, and that is when I headed into multiplayer. Now, coming into Black Ops multiplayer, I was really only hoping for the fixes to the two problems which had ruined Modern Warfare 2 for me: grenade launchers (and other explosives), and commando. I was pleased to see that they had removed commando and significantly reduced the potency of grenade launchers. Making the killstreaks not build on each other was a much needed change as well, as it makes it much more likely that everyone will be having fun on some level, instead of one person stealing it all. But now I must move on to the topic of fun. With Modern Warfare 2, I really wanted it to be a fun and great game, and it was for a while. But there were some huge issues that arose and ruined it for a ton of people, including me. It just stopped being fun and what's the point in playing a game if you're not having fun? So as I mentioned before, I was very pleased to notice that they had effectively removed the two things that had really ruined the previous game. However, I soon noticed a problem: Black Ops Multiplayer is too similar to Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer (for me anyway). Sure all of the cool customization options are available, and there are lots of new killstreaks, but the gameplay just feels repetitive in some way. It's really as if they took Modern Warfare 2, changed around the guns and maps a bit, added some more customization and the CoDPoints system, and took out the major flaws from before (except for Last Stand/Second chance. They also took out quickscoping which I think is a good thing because it results in less people running their mouths and thinking they're amazing for getting a few lucky shots, but that's just my opinion). What I'm trying to say is, I'm not getting very much fun out of this game now. I feel like Black Ops is the icing that has been added onto the cake of the previous games; it's just becoming too similar.

    So as someone who has been following the series for a few years now, I think I may just be burnt out on the gameplay that is seeming to repeat itself from title to title. And it's a shame that if there is a Modern Warfare 3, it will most likely be horrific, seeing as it will be made by the newer employees at Infinity Ward, and not the originals who made the series as large as it is (they all either left or were fired earlier this year).
    Expand
  12. Jan 1, 2011
    6
    Black Ops is an okay game, in my opinion. I played campaign, it was pretty short, and some things reminded me of MW2. But I didn't play multiplayer, by the looks of what was happening to my brother. The multiplayer looks like crap. He said the guns bounce like crazy, which gets annoying. The hit markers don't help, since you don't know when you're shot too well. Guns are the same as in the others, and some don't even look like real guns, like the G11. Some maps do have cool things with them, like the RC-XD tunnels. But the maps are kind of boring. I think it's safe to say that Black Ops wasn't the best game, since I've played all of them, from Call of Duty 2 to Black Ops. I'm not gonna discriminate on opinion, though. It's an opinion, and that doesn't matter. Unless they take it too far. Expand
  13. Jan 5, 2011
    7
    Well, Treyarch have finally equalled Infinity Ward. The same on-rails Hollywood BS, the same Keystone Cops animations, the same abysmal AI (cool new enemy forward-roll into the MIDDLE of a corridor I'm shooting along?), and the same blah-de-bloody-blah story. The multiplayer (enhanced by 'borrowing' Ideas from such sources as the vastly-superior Halo series), and Zombies modes manage to drag the score up to 7, as the Assassins Creed-a-like, wafer-thin, story mode fails to excite. Next-year's game should definitely just steal the AI from F.E.A.R. and Halo, hand-draw the animations, scrap respawning enemies, and use a game engine that doesn't revert to super-lo-res-patchwork-quilt-mode as soon as you get within 10 feet of an object. Expand
  14. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    A fantastic game. Campaign could be a little better, but the multiplayer is groundbreaking, like all the Call of Duty games. I love how you can buy the guns you want, and all attachments are already available. And you don't have to wait around and do the annoying headshot challenges to get a camo for a certain gun. I own it for PS3, and I will be honest when saying, it is EXTREMELY laggy. It could use an update, but other than that I LOVE this game. I also like the "Dead Ops Arcade" mode in Zombies! Expand
  15. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    This was my first COD game. And what can I say. I was impressed. Thrilling graphics and great gameplay. I liked the storyline but it did feel a bit. 'huh' if that's a correct term. Definitely a highlight for me was the Stones 'Sympathy for the Devil' on a game mission. Made the game for me. Worth the play and having played COD MW2 I can see they've done a lot to the multiplayer aspect. Saying that when I brought it round to a friends we spent the whole time playing the Zombie game. One of my friends said they'd buy the game just for that part. It's a good game and the COD team definitely keep a standard when making these games. Expand
  16. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    Unbelievably hyped up and overated. As what i see as the only decent game series or game on the XBOX, i was massively dissapointed when i realised what had become of Call of Duty. The story line began as engaging and interactive, but soon enough the repetativeness sets in. After playing wi-fi battles for over 4 hours with still no luck in seeing what was so good about this game, i simply gave up. Goldeneye 007 for Wii was a far better effort than this. Expand
  17. Jan 9, 2011
    2
    that was terrible.this is just like every other cod game they throw in some cool new gadjets about an hour of story mode gameplay and some new maps.the online feels like im playing MW2 whitch suked also I was expecting something new frome cod Black Ops but sure enough it was like the other cods and suked balls
  18. Jan 10, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For a game worth £45 or $60 (in the US) I expect the following features as standard; *SINGLE PLAYER*
    DECENT GRAPHICS - This is comparable to WAW sometimes worse with the amount of grain on screen it's as if the grain were introduced to hide the fact of how little time was spent on the graphics. CATCHING STORYLINE - Main character relives events that bring him to current timeline; brilliant, very interesting and I love conspiracy theories. (Spoiler: the experience he shared with the guy that saved his ass from prison is his schitzophrenic self) WTF... so your hero technically is a villian..
    BANG FOR YOUR BUCK - After the helicopter mission found in the jungle(Single Player) I unloaded a clip of the FAMAS into the enemy; who was standing in a truck; inside the cave. He is still standing after i emptied my sidearm and threw whatever grenades I had. I almost had to collect pebbles or small rocks to finish him off. SOUNDS - This was quite good in single player. The guns sounded powerful even if the bullet spluttered on its way out and dies after shortly exiting the barrel.
    Conclusion = 1/10 "It sounded decent."

    *MULTIPLAYER*
    MAPS - If you're a runner and gunner, this will work for you but otherwise forget quickscoping, no scoping or just forget picking up a Sniper rifle because due to the number of industrialized buildings in each map, you will never find enough range. SOUNDS - I purchased an RPK (yes you have to rank up and buy **** it reminded me of my nephew farting uncontrollably after eating a sweetcorn or 3.
    WEAPONS POWER & ACCURACY - Very Average power, most weapons are completely inaccurate unless you lie down on the floor and set up camp. Conclusion = 1/10 "I killed someone!!" (A random tomahawk throw killed someone on the otherside of the map. They sent me hatemail after that and then I had to block him as a user)

    So don't buy this new but give it a once over when it hits the bargain bucket which at any rate with COD titles might take awhile.
    Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    Well I just finished the story of Black ops and I must say great job on the story Treyarch.the only reason I didn't give Black ops a 9 or 10 is because the multi player is just a copy of MW 1 and 2,very fun though...
  20. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    The single player campaign was the best that I have played in a CoD game to date! It is short like the other CoD games but very entertaining and had a great setting! The multiplayer has improved a lot with no more spamming nube toobs with scavenger or 80 foot knife lunges. Although the game has fixed many of the flaws from Modern Warfare 2, it has come with a few new ones. It is Treyarch we are talking about, so that means that there are going to be a little more spawn kills than in the Infinity Ward games. Even though the knifing has been fixed with no knife lunges... the knifing in Black Ops is the most broken part of multiplayer. Don't be surprised if you try to knife somebody and it doesn't register and then get blasted 2 seconds later with a shotgun when you are recovering from the stab/ slash, or when you are running around the corner and then somebody slashes when you are 10 feet past them and it registers as a kill. Aside from the minor knife flaws in Multiplayer the game is pretty fun to play... until it's time to trade in when pre-orders come around for the next one! Expand
  21. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    Obviously one of the finest games of the year. Most reviewers or players who aren't capable of stringing together consistently good online stats are going to be frustrated of course. Don't let upset gamers' scores fool you out of buying a strong addition to the Call of Duty series. Although it could use more singleplayer features.
  22. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Great game. The story is good, and the multiplayer is even better. A lot of people complain about having to earn weapons and points, but I love it. It gives you something to look forward to and work towards.
  23. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the worst call of duty and heres why. The multiplayer is soooo boring. i play for 2 minutes and put in mw2. not only that but the story mode sucks theres nothing special about it. zombies is same as waw.
  24. Jan 22, 2011
    7
    This game could have been so much better But the campain is OKAY but nothing really mind blowing and multiplayer is mostly fun only when you are playing with friends but still a pretty good game
  25. Jan 27, 2011
    2
    I am not a fan of the online, multi-player aspect of any FPS games; I buy them for the single player campaign only. This game has one of the most disappointing single player campaigns that I've experienced in quite some time. It's uninteresting, way too scripted/on rails, and the game in general looks and sounds outdated. I generally don't trade games in either...but this one I will. What a waste of $60. Expand
  26. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    By far the best outing from Treyarch. This iteration of Call of Duty also happens to be the best overall. Though the Modern Warfare series was better in some ways, Black Ops just delivers so much more. The most cohesive COD campaign in the series with tight controls and great gameplay. Add in a multitude of extras like zombie mode, unlockable mini games, combat training and the standard yet upgraded multiplayer and you have one heck of a game. One of the more fun and surprisingly fun options is combat training. In this mode you play with and against AI controlled bots in deathmatch and team deathmatch games on any of the multiplayer maps. You can also have your friends join in with you to take out the bots. Combat training also has the option to name the bots after the people on your friends list which is a lot more fun than it should be. Overall Black Ops is the best in the series and one of the best games of the year. Expand
  27. Oct 9, 2011
    1
    A stain on the Call of Duty franchise. A campaign that is short, forgettable and completely ridiculous, and multiplayer that to this day is still plagued with game breaking issues and lacking any kind of spark. Outdated graphics that look years old, and a most empty and hollow experience that left me bored after one week. The only redeeming quality, and the 1 point score of this review, is the Zombie mode, which is beginning to lose the originality and unique feel of World at War, and becoming victim to the money hungry Activision, where they believe quantity over quality everyday. The sooner this game is forgotten, the better off the gaming world will be. Expand
  28. Jan 28, 2011
    5
    Wait... Isn't this just the same as all the other call of duty's? The campaign is not worth playing, unless you wan't to be dissapointed. Multi Player is Multi Player which is just as poop as MW2. Zombies is the only thing that saves this game, but does not make worth 50 dollars. Why not pick up AC: Brotherhood, Halo:Reach, or an older title, such as Bioshock or Modern Warfare(the most respectible CoD), or even Fallout 3 game of the year addition. In other words, wait till this is on the clearence rack. Expand
  29. Jan 30, 2011
    2
    Just another yearly Call of Duty. Although this game did have one thing unique from all other Call of Duties, I've never had a game so anachronistic that I had to stop playing for a week to recover from the shock of G11's, Famas's, Walther WA2000's and M60E3's in the Vietnam War. It has it's entertainment "Value" if you can look past all of that, however I can not.
  30. Jan 30, 2011
    6
    There is nothing particularly unique about Black Ops. If you played Modern Warfare 2 or any of CoD's previous installments, you get the idea. Multiplayer is the main selling point, and where you will get the most mileage out of Black Ops, but doesnt do anything much different from previous installments. The maps seem a little more balanced and thought out, campers are much less of a problem. As is usual, there are certain weapons and killstreaks you will encounter more than others. Fortunately the developers paid attention to player complaints on the last few games, so no more resupplying claymores, and kills earned through killstreak rewards nolonger count toward unlocking your next killstreak. Other than a little more balancing, multiplayer isnt all that much different from other installments

    I was extremely disappointed with the campaign. I usually take my time with campaigns, not rushing through, and still managed to beat the entire campaign in MAYBE 6 hours with little to no reason (or desire for that matter) to replay the campaign. I imagine the shorter campaign is due to the developers correctly reasoning a majority of players buy the game for multiplayer. I would go as far as to say a lot of people dont bother playing or finishing the campaign. If you liked the previous games, you will like this one. If you were one of the handful of people that didnt like MW2, dont waste your time as it is essentially more of the same.
    Expand
  31. Feb 3, 2011
    2
    Maybe its just because I've never really been a team death match guy (tho I am loving Crysis 2 TDM demo) but the kill feel cheap and most are got by snipers and campers, and the fact that you kill someone by shooting them in the leg is ridiculous, the only reason I pick up these games anymore is for the cinema quality single player (even then it doesn't top Uncharted 2) and that is the reason it gets a 2 instead of a 0 Expand
  32. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Story is great; perhaps the best Call of Duty stor.. oh wait MW3 came out. Still pretty good but the graphics are beyond horrendous on a count of the older version of an already dated engine. Multiplayer still does and always will be the worst.

    5 out of 10
  33. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    I've got to say, this is exactly what MW2 wasn't. There is much less gay stuff in multiplayer (why carry a gun in MW2?), noob tubes have been toned down, and perks are fewer and much more balanced. I like the money system and how I can buy any perk I want and any gun attachment, while still having to level up to unlock guns. Graphics haven't changed, but that's ok with me because I prefer a high framerate to textures. As for campaign, some may call it farfetched, but it made more sense than the one in MW2. At least they explain everything, but it is short. I also like how it rewards those who played WAW. No complaints other than the short campaign. Expand
  34. Feb 8, 2011
    4
    The effort is obvious, and commendable. By recycling the same formula as usual, but adding a few new features, Treyarch have impressed the masses. But this is only filler, just like World at War, following the absolutely magnificent Modern Warfare 2 (possibly the best FPS I have ever played) and keeping the fans on their toes in preparation for the massively anticipated number 3. Graphics are shameful for a modern game, as is the sound. The campaign is, although creative, quite uninvolving, and the multiplayer is extremely patchy, amateurish and tedious (the maps, too, are awful at times, although improvements have been made lately). It's a COD release, so that as a starter point obviously earns points, but Black Ops is hardly worth the attention of serious fans, despite going down a storm with 'pro gamers' who seem to think that running in circles and jumping up and down while aimlessly blasting poorly designed weapons is realistic, exciting and tactical. I'll take MW3 now, please! Expand
  35. Feb 8, 2011
    8
    Visually very refreshing experience. Good weapon responses.
    No proper co-op mode; Only objective is to survive the zombies. Wave-defence; If and when the objective fails; Wave 1 with the same **** room all over again. One point off.
    Really good improvement from MW2 to the campaing. While at it. Campaing was very colorful, a lot more details and improvements in areas. Still, found it too
    short, if a game can be played through in one night, its too short. One point off.

    Score (8.0)
    Expand
  36. Feb 8, 2011
    3
    BLACK OP'S makes MW2 look very very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  37. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    This game sucks, everything about it, play uncharted 2 instead. Uncharted 2 is totally awesome and black ops is exactly like every single other **** shooter i have ever played, it **** sucks nuts. if u have a 360 play halo, if u have a ps3 play UC2

    UC2>COD
  38. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    'Allright then,who am I?'
    'American spec-ops?Check'
    'Who am I killing today?Zombies,Commies,Terrorists or Nazi's?'
    'Terrorists again?Ok,damn. I wanted Aliens this time,I'd show them who's boss'
    'Didn't i do this last year?I did?'
    Meh.
    Almost single handedly destroying the FPS.
  39. Feb 26, 2011
    2
    Anyone who tells you this is a great game has obviously not played many games. I did not have very high hopes for this game, however I had read good reviews and was excited for the campaign. After playing through the campaign, I was thoroughly disappointed. It was not the story that upset me (because I will give Treyarch credit for coming up with a superb story), it was the execution. Too many glitches, to many set pieces in which you simply had to walk places, the objectives seemed repetitive, etc. The AI was simply atrocious, and people would do nothing but roll around on the ground half the time. And a lot of the time Treyarch was just lazy. Puting infinite spawn points in places which eliminated any sense of tactics other than sprint as fast as you could and pray you dont die. None of the characters seemed particularly memorable. However, despite its shortcomings, the single player was not god awful. I was able to finish it and there were sections that i really enjoyed, but overall, not spectacular, not even close. Now on to multiplayer, which, for me, is the most important part of any game. Unfortunately, Black Ops's multiplayer was simply atrocious. Its an unbalanced mess. The guns are all either underpowered or overpowered. There was really nothing new brought to the table at all with the exception of the ability to customize your soldier, which still had been done before in other games multiple times. I found nothing good about the black ops multiplayer experience. In their attempts to make the game more fun, Treyarch removed perks such as Commando, and Slide of Hand. While many would argue that this is a good thing, and makes the games more realistic, I would say that these were some of the only reasons i ever came back to MW2. Also, instead of fixing MW2's problems (laggy, glitchy, hackers, "Host migrations") It seems like Treyarchs MP is just as, if not more littered with problems.

    Now, on the things like graphics, Sound effects, etc. Graphics seemed like three steps backwards. Modern Warfare 2 had much better textures than this game. Black Ops makes everything seem too... colorful. As in cartoonish. The explosions were boring and dissapointing. Sound Effects: ...wow... were do i start... sh*tty as f*ck. And while the voice acting was okay, the sounds of the guns and explosions all blended together and sounded two dimensional.

    Overall, this game is going on Ebay. For a game with such huge funding from Activision, this is probably the biggest dissapointment of the year, however, because its name is "Call of Duty," it will get praise from IGN and is bound to win several awards for no reason. If this game had not been a COD game and did not get the support of the Cod fanboys praising it blindly and calling it the "best game ever made" without ever playing any other FPS's, this game would have an average of 2.0 or lower
    Expand
  40. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  41. Nov 14, 2012
    3
    If you or your kid have been diagnosed with ADHD (Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder) or Kalnienk vision disorder this game is designed especially for YOU ! This is not the Black Ops game you were hoping for... This is Super Turbo Edition ! Treyarch came to the conclusion medium size maps are boring and not engaging enough.Play area has been shrinked significantly (on most of the maps) to accommodate extremely engaging close quarters play-stile of spawn chuck a grenade and then either kill something or get killed by whatever flew out of opposite side. Every map has been build around simple principle of tiny area and 3 corridors to flow the gameplay in the middle left and right side. I dont care about single player or will be talking about it but I assure you its Michael Bay style showcase from killing Vietcong soldiers, wing-suit flying all the way to some idiotic command and conquer RTS style mini-missions 0_o why ? I don't know... and YES ! There is dubstep, because every game in 2012 needs some of that wub wub. The only redeeming factor could be zombies, but why would you be willing to pay full price for it when there are more engaging brain eating themed games available for a lot less (L4D series) So far I've spend 5 hours in online battles and had no fun at all ! I'll try to sell this game by the end of the week or trade with somebody for something else. Meantime I'm going back to battlefield, maybe I won't have shiny 60 frames per second but at least game is not forcing me to have fun doing escapades inside rat maze size of a shoe box ! Expand
  42. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    Call of Duty Black Ops was one of my most wanted FPS games ever, until I bought the game, the whole game is absolutely rubbish.

    The story isn't great (not surprisingly), I won't spoil anything for any new comers to Black Ops or the Franchise but I will say you will be disappointed or if you don't care about the story then you shouldn't have any problem. (This game is nominated in BAFTA
    VGA for best story, how!?)
    The gameplay is mostly the same as the other past games but with a few tweaks to the gameplay which is very Minor.
    This game is also very intense, Lot's of explosions, grenades going off, your allies shouting. This isn't one of the best in the Series.

    The online mode is what really shines the most. The online is decent, new weapons, killstreaks, equipment and minor gameplay tweaks. But even the online play is not good, I feel it's just getting old and boring. But the best part of the game is zombies, a return from World at war, but it has a lack of maps to play on but with the New first strike adds an extra map but it's not enough.

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is kind of decent to play, I regret buying it but I do go back to play it and it may get better when more map packs are released. Not a must buy for new comers or even fans but try it.
    Expand
  43. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Both the multiplayer maps and the campaign of Black Ops are weaker than its predecessor, even if its plot is slightly more interesting. Graphics are also slightly worse this time around. However, the inclusion of zombie modes and dead ops arcade mean that this is a game bursting with content. The Call of Duty formula remains enjoyable but this is not a must buy.
  44. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Treyarch always make less better games. I loved the setting of the campaign, the story line was great. Unlike Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops can really reveal who is good at the game and who isn't. Not to mention the Zombie levels were very good, especially ascension. Overall a great game and I don't think you can ask for anything more.
  45. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game all in all. Much like others in the COD series, and actually addressed some of the more prominent complaints about MW2, like seemingly unlimited tubing, quickscoping, boosting, and glitching. I give Treyarch a lot of credit for staying on top of the game as it has developed in the marketplace, patching where they see the need develop, and having in game bans for those who have been reported for boosting. I've traded my copy in after 4 months however, as the game has become stale. Where this game falls short is in its lack of complexity. However flawed, MW2 was pretty complex and difficult, and prestiging for non-cheaters took quite a bit of effort. Black Ops came with maps that were small and linear (even in the First Strike pack - aside from Discovery), and presitging was quite easy. Hit marking was seriously flawed as well.
    Anyhow; I enjoyed Black Ops while I had it. It was a solid game, but even running different patterns on small, linear maps gets old pretty quickly.
    Expand
  46. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Well its good and i'll give it that, it ties everything the call of duty franchise has with a pretty bow and has chucked in what every call of duty fan wanted. I would say though before i rant about how good it is, do not get it if you havent got xbox live gold it is a waste of money. So back to the rant, zombies is a robust package and a blast with people you know and dont. I have made around twenty friends just playing zombies and my aspiration is to reach number one on ascension but i do have to say at round thirty when it last half an hour to get to round thirty-one you do get bored so i admire you glitchers for your patience. That then of course brings me onto the glitches, oh so many! each zombie map has one and even a few multiplayer ones but i wont spread them around. I must say the campaign story is a pile of **** at only seven hours or six for me, the only reason i finished it was for the bonus zombie map because i hate cheating. The multiplayer is where it stands out though, everything MW2 had and more, the sounds with my turtle beaches are awesome and the graphics are stunning in 1080p, this has to be the best COD ever for me, i hope then next carries everything this has onto it. Expand
  47. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    You simply cannot miss this game. Just like almost everybody else who bought it, I thought i sucked too. But you really start to get into the game when you get to level 20 and you played about half-way through the story. Please do yourself and go pick it up, or don't sell it!
  48. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    was fun up until the guns got nerfed, the host-match system sucked, and the lag made the game more painful to play everyday. I was thoroughly disappointed after all the hype. going back to MW2 was a breath of fresh air
  49. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Call of Duty Black Ops, is another great game in the Call of Duty series, although some things could be changed.

    The campaign was great, you met up with some old friends, you got some new tech and weapons, and you even got to use some other cool gadgets inside the campaign. The campaign even had a twist to it which made the story line even more greater and made you think.

    The multiplayer
    was alright, but it could be better. It felt like almost all the other Multiplayers on other Call of Duty games but with different weapons, different maps, and different kill streaks. But it did add some new cool features including the Dolphin dive, or the prone dive. It even added more customization into the playercard, the player models, and the guns, but the multiplayer did feel the same and a little old. Expand
  50. Mar 16, 2011
    1
    this game is an absolute abortion, a waste of developer time and so horrifically last gen that it could have been made for the ps2. from a lack of options to the hideous graphics as soon as you put it in the 360 (or ps3) you will know that you have been robbed. the controls are so clunky that a simple task like turning round can be a chore, the framerate suffers too.i completed the whole game in less than 45 minutes, hardly value for money. if realistic shooters are what you are looking for then go and buy battle for the pacific as it is better in every possible way Expand
  51. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    This game is complete and total garbage--game play is weak at best. There is NO TEAM PLAY, and no real skill (other than hand-eye coordination) required. Strategy is non-existent and the number of bugs that negatively affect game play are off the charts. Playing this game simply makes me angry--I do not enjoy ANY aspect of the game itself. The Easter eggs were a fun novelty on day 1, but not enough to overcome the overwhelming sense of buyer's remorse I felt after suffering through several hours of playing this atrocious game. The dynamic team play, strategy and realism of BFBC2 & MOH is much more enjoyable than the childish running and gunning of the COD franchise. Lone Wolf snipers do not win games of BFBC2 or MOH--TEAM PLAYERS WIN. COD is for younger players who lack real FPS skills or the patience for a game that requires working together and employing different strategies against different types of opponents. Activision is well-known for releasing bug-filled games that they have no intention of making work properly--because they have already gotten paid, and they plan to take your money on the next version--that you HOPE didn't have as many bugs as the last. Then they throw so many features in the game that you hope make you overlook the obvious, glaring problems that make game play so poor.

    I'm sorry I took my chances with Treyarch and Activision...they have once again proven their inability to make a good game. I too ran like a lemming and bought into the hype...but I have been fooled too many times...but not there won't be a next time for COD.
    Expand
  52. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    Black Ops is part of the Call of Duty franchise, we all know that, but if we pay attention to the game instead of its popularity, we can see it for what it really is. PROS: the maps are decent, the campaign is better than a lot of other games, and you can play online with 2 people on the same Xbox360. CONS: The guns are really unbalanced(some guns, such as the Famas or Ak74u, can kill you in 2 shots), it takes a lot of ideas from previous call of duty games, and the main point i gave black ops a 3 is because of the BULLET LAG. This kills the game. You could run around a corner getting shot, make it to cover, but then randomly die. If you watch the kill cams, they shot you before you even made it around. You also can see other players before they see you(or vice versa) obviously getting an advantage. You can also be shooting someone in the last seconds of your life, and you could be aiming right at them, but in the kill-cam it shows that YOU DIDN'T SHOOT AT ALL. I do know the kill-cams are what the other players see because i have done tests with friends. This con outweighs all the pros by far and just makes the game aggravating to play. Expand
  53. Mar 21, 2011
    1
    I'm going to start by saying that this game has been the only game I have ever bought that I truly regret pirchasing. Nothing about it stands out to be very good in what is the post popular fps franchise on the market. Single player was okay, though the fact that they brought back the infinite enemies until you advance thing was an unwelcome surprise. The story was short and predictable, but I didn't buy this game for the story. This brings me to the mutiplayer, which is so broken that it is hard to play it. There is no spawn system to speak of. Mw2 at least tried to spawn you where enemies weren't looking, but black ops has shown many times that such concerns such as spawning in front of an enemy of having the enemy you just killed spawn with you in their sights are not important. Maps are not varied at all. There are barely any maps that sniping can be used effectivly on besides quickscoping, which they failed to stop. On top of that, every player has an obsession with the two smallest maps. You will never see nuketown or firing range go withoutthe majority vote if either are an option, whch is puzzilng because they are not great maps bby any stretch of the imagination. The best things about this game are theatre, zombies, and combat training, but even these have issues. Theatre will sometimes cut the matches short, there is only 1 zombies map, and I will not spend 20 dollars for new ones when I spent more than enough for the game itself, and combattraining doesn't work offline for some strange reason though it is only me and some bots. I am not a **** sniper camper as my refiew might make me out to be, I am just a player that has bought 4 cod games and whatched them reach their height only to decline in the last 3 and now I think it is a game to see how bad they can make this franchise and still get sales. Expand
  54. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    Entertaining multiplayer and certainly the best yet, but shocking single player has let this game down as a whole, no where near as entertaining as previous outings.
  55. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    If you look at this game as a standalone and not a sequel to arguably one of the most successful and profitable franchises in Gaming History, then it is a solid shooter. While plagued with early bugs because the Developer is known for being a beta hating, hype killing, bunch; the game still has a large package for $60. If you are a fan of the series and hate this one, your doing too much comparing and contrasting. If every game is compared to a level of perfection that one game may rarely fall into, then only 1 or 2 games a year would even be worth talking about. But I will never buy another game with this much hype on launch night, throw a launch party, if the game didn't have a thorough open beta. Wake up Activision, stop counting your money for one minute, relieve some hype steam pressure, and ensure that you are delivering a solid product on launch day. Too many bugs for a AAA title launch. Expand
  56. Mar 23, 2011
    5
    Frankly the singleplayer is just crap. Despite the several slightly different environments you get to play in everything looks and feels about the same because of gameplay that never evolves and a totally boring color palette that also never changes. I could care less if it's longer since it's just more time to not be having any fun at all. The multiplayer is good - in theory. What that theory doesn't include is HOST ADVANTAGE which I absolutely guarantee will haunt every match you ever play with instantaneous deaths, invulnerable enemies, and spawn camping - camping -camping. Camper friendly perks, guns, maps, everything. Balance? No one who honestly plays this game could possibly find it balanced. Zombies is a slightly redeeming quality if there were more than 2 maps and 1 that you have to burn and unnecessary $15 to get as DLC (not including the dead ops arcade which is fun but super limited). At this point you have to face the truth, which is that Activision is publishing CoD for money, not the buyer. If it wasn't for wasting money on so many of their games I wouldn't have known how this was possible, but here's the answer. Activision uses the following to get buyers - promising to deliver on past greatness (CoD 4) - Promising to fix problems - Establishing a forum for people to communicate to the developers But none of these things matter because - Activision refuses to release a new game for fear that they could alter what they view to be the golden formula - Actually building the game with problems so they can claim to have something to fix when it's time for another sequel - Activision's money lust has proven that they don't give a rat's ass about the community so have fun banging your head against a wall in the forums
    here's the fact, if you want Activision to start caring about their community, then you have the power to do so, it's called a boycott.
    when the next CoD comes out, you simply don't buy it because Activision is not delivering the goods promised. When Activision finally gets beat over the head by a lack of sales, then they'll get their ape-like brains to build a connection between profit and respecting the community. On the other hand, if you DO purchase the next CoD and it turns out the same way, then you're rewarding their behavior of **** the CoD franchise for profit. I want to see CoD return to it's former glory but that's just not happening under the lordship of the Activision pig.
    Expand
  57. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    If you're a fan of Call of Duty. you'll like this game, at the very least. It's delivers the same thing Call of Duty has delivered every year for the past 6 years, and improves on a lot of things. The one thing holding back the online play though, is the lag compensation put in by developers, something that is locked into the Net Code and cannot be fixed through a distributed patch.

    If
    you're into Call of Duty, it's a fun game that will last long - but only if you can handle the half a second delay online. This is coming from experience. Expand
  58. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Decent story- liked how it tied in with the Stones song. Not as emotionally involving as World at War- but I'm a sucker for WW2- Brothers in Arms Hell's Highway brought me to tears and not for the reasons some bad reviews gave... Good set pieces- that crossbow zipline through the window from a tower you've just stormed was pretty damn awesome. Can't judge multiplayer as I'm a singleplayer campaign kinda guy. Only poor moment- the graphics on the boat mission.â Expand
  59. Mar 27, 2011
    5
    when I first heard about the premise behind this COD installment, I was very, VERY interested. I'm one for the cool conspiracy theory storyline. The undercover and subterfugal feeling that I got throughout playing was awesome, and I genuinely did enjoy the story, even though it was terribly short. Then I went online. Utter garbage. To this day, there always seems to be more of an onus on the multiplayer element, and still nothing has beaten COD4 for the fun and style, in my opinion. I have been attempting to play on veteran mode, having done the previous titles with some effort, but this one takes the mickey. I agree @ColdSpike, it is a shocking display for upping the difficulty of a game by simply throwing a thousand enemies at you, all of which are throwing grenades, and then changing the points where the game hits a checkpoint so they are too few and far between to bother with playing. The only thing saving this title is the actual storyline, which still could have done with more development...oh and zombies. Just for a laugh. Expand
  60. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the best outings in the famed cod franchise. Whilst opinion has seemed to divide the community on this game, I think that any fan of this series would be missing out if they don't give the game a fair go. In regards to the single player campaign, you will be drawn into the action from the opening moments- and the pacing throughout the game that never let's up from this point. Whilst the single player campaign makes no major innovations, you will know what you are in for as it is COD as it is known and loved by so many!

    Multiplayer is where the meat is at for most gamers these days, and for myself- at 12 days played, it has been the most Addictive and fun filled online ride since COD4! as a gamer, we all want value for money, and this mode is testament to the amount of entertainment value one can get out of a game with such high production values. Innovations in this area includes much greater customization options over previous COD titles, as well as a greater freedom in how you unlock these customisatins. A form of online currency has also been introduced as a means to purchase equipment etc, as well as to wager on matches with other players

    Last but not least the extensive Zombies mode returns!

    Highly addictive, huge replayability and great value for money
    Expand
  61. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 8/10 Sound: 4/10 (Toy Guns) Graphics: 7/10 (outdated engine)
    Campaign: 5/10 (cheap non-stop action)
    Multiplayer: 7/10 (level up system and perks raise unstable online experiences score slightly)

    overall interesting game, fun for an arcade shooter, easy to "pick up n' play" but nothing that can sustain me for more than 2 hours at a time. Clear host advantage when
    online and poor team balancing (looks at immediate score rather than user kdr). worth picking up only if your a devout COD fan Expand
  62. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Black Ops è il settimo di questa meravigliosa saga.
    E' uno sparatutto in prima persona che affronta questo genere in modo affascinante, infatti è stato dichiarato ufficialmente il migliore sparatutto del 2010 ed è ancora oggi tra i migliori, con tanti milioni di copie vendute, però i rivali non mancano.
    Parlando del gioco non posso evitare di dire che è un capolavoro, ma a causa del cambiamento della casa produttrice c'è stato qualche disapprovazione su questo titolo.
    Quasi tutti i capitoli della saga sono stati fatti dalla Treyarch; ma noi ricordiamo bene il predecessore di Black Ops, ovvero Modern Warfare, esso è stato creato dalla Infinity Ward, ciò ha creato rivalità tra le due case produttrici e quindi l'ultimo numero della saga non è stato molto apprezzato a causa di ciò.
    Voi vi chiederete come mai siamo passati alla Infinity Ward e successivamente di nuovo alla Treyarch?
    Tutti i Fan della saga lo sanno; La Infinity Ward ha voluto partecipare in Call of Duty facendo un buon affare con l'Activision, ma voleva modificarne il titolo chiamando il videogioco solo Modern Warfare, nonostante ciò il ''Call of Duty'' è rimasto, così c'è stato un litigio tra perchè doveva starci solo una collaborazione della Infinity Ward che voleva andare oltre; così poi è ritornata la Treyarch ma noi videogiocatori sappiamo che è migliore la Infinity Ward è quindi c'è stato questo calo di approvazione nell uscita di Black Ops.
    Ma ora parliamo del gioco in se per se.
    Call of Duty: Black Ops parla in parte della seconda guerra mondiale, ma ne troviamo una sola missione, il resto si ambienta dopo, ed è del tutto una Guerra Fredda.
    Durante la Storia dovrai fermare in parte vari nemici intenti ad usare il Gas Nova, un gas capace di uccidere migliaia di persone.
    Il protagonista, ''Mason'' viene interrogato per tutta la campagna del gioco, infatti le missioni sono ciò che lui si ricorda e quindi immaginarie, dei pensieri dove non tutto è reale.
    Durante la campagna avrai degli amici che ti saranno molto fondamentale e di aiuto per sconfiggere l'Unione Sovietica passando poi ai nemici principali del gioco che si uccidono mano a mano si percorre quest'avventura di ben 15 missioni con una longevità che varia tra le 6 e le 8 ore, anche in base alla difficolta che come nei normali sparatutto è suddivisa in quattro: Recluta, Soldato, Esperto e Veterano.
    L'interrogazione su Mason è causata dal fatto che dentro la tua testa c'è qualcosa di importante.
    Infatti vieni scambiato inizialmente per infiltrato ma a volte anche per uno di loro, intento a collaborare con i nemici , tutto ciò si capisce poi alla fine della campagna.
    Parte molto fondamentale della storia è un'amico che conoscerai a Vorkuta, una ''prigione'' dove sei stato rinchiuso.
    Esso ti accompagnerà per gran parte di questa avventura.
    Dovrai viaggiare tra Vietnam e Cuba, dove affronterai molti nemici e trovare l'obiettivo della missione, ma non sempre sarà possibile a causa del buono intelleto o meglio della buona furbizia dei nemici.
    Affrontarli non sarà semplice, infatti bisognerà contare molto sull'aiuto dei tuoi amici, ma saranno loro ad appoggiarsi su di te.
    Ritornando a prima, da Vorkuta dovrai fuggire con la collaborazione del tuo nuovo amico di nome Reznov; sarà grazie a lui se ti salverai la pelle, ma non il cervello, ciò perchè durante l'interrogatorio il protagonista difficilmente si ricorderà tutto nei minimi dettagli.
    Ti immergerai, e dico ''immergerai'', anche in missioni Stealth, ma ciò non vuol dire che ci dovrai annegare.
    Di luoghi ne vedrai passando da case e città, a fiumi, villaggi e boschi ma non mancherà la neve e quindi le montagne.
    Il tutto con un'eccellente cinematografia che ti farà in alcuni casi immedesimare in Mason.
    Come abbiamo accennato all'inizio, una missione è ambientata nella seconda guerra mondiale, lì non sarai Mason ma bensì Reznov, esso è stato a raccontarti cio che avviene poi nella missione.
    Esso, Reznov fu un infiltrato che collaborò nella ricerca del Gas Nova.
    Il protagonista, Mason, non ne potrà farne almeno di pensare a Reznov, e quì che io non posso aggiungere altro.
    Molto affascinanti sono le missioni ambientate in Vietnam, e non mancherà il pilotaggio di alcuni veicoli per breve tempo, in particolare l'Hind, un velivolo.
    La fine della Trama avviene alla fine dell'interrogatorio, perchè l'interrogatorio finisce e quindi dopo che Mason capisce dove trovare la base nemica intenta a fare una strage, dovrai andarci e impedire che ciò avvenga, lì finira questa avvincente storia ma non accenno se con un lieto fine o viceversa; toccherà a voi scoprire tutto durante la campagna quando ci giocherete.
    Le missioni non sono mai uguali e mantengono un certo tipo di cinematografia che renderà sempre più spettacolare la campagna, anche i disastri e le tragedie non mancano.
    Expand
  63. Apr 14, 2011
    6
    Yet again the critics get it so wrong with another Cod Game.Ok,they didnt get quite as over excited than they did with Modern Warfare 2(the most over hyped & overated game in history).The user scores for this & Modern Warfare says it all.. For my Views on this game,you only need to head over to my Modern Warfare 2 review.The exact same critisisms apply.Ridiculus storyline,No Campaign Co-Op(Not even a rubbish Spec Ops mode),Re-Spawning Enemies(What is this,the 80's),& gameplay & graphics that are competent sure,but are both feeling very tired now... Oh yeah,& a mode that allows you to fight against bots,but you have to be online to use it?! GREAT!... an offline mode,you cant use offline.Nice One. For me in future,if i'm to buy any more CoD games,they will need to have CAMPAIGN Co-Op as standard.& thats just for starters.they need to really start to evolve this increasingly stale series with genuinely new gameplay features.I can already see alot of discontent with the series as it is.I've always been a big fan of Treyarch,& always been a vocal supporter of them.Over the overated & less talented Inferior Ward.but i was really dissappointed with Black Ops.Especially with the lack of Co-Op.Especially after they had in in the excellent World at War. Expand
  64. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    yet me get stairght to the point yh i love black ops on zombie mode hahahahah also i like zombie mode online if u want to add me on xbox 360 my gamatag is mahadz64 il'l be waiting see u later dudz
  65. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    Maybe single player is some bored, but multiplayer gives you a lot of funny hours, if you like direct acction, Black Ops multiplayer is the best option or it could be Modern Warfare. Do not forget Gears of War multiplayer, all this games are pure acction. If you prefer more strategy, maps bigger, be able to use vehicles you should try Halo Reach, Bad Company 2, Crysis 2, Killzone 3...
    There is a lot of Call of Duty haters, but Black Ops is not only the most sold, is the most played in XboxLive too, so it is not a casual thing, Black Ops is a great game, it is not perfect but it is outstanding.
    Expand
  66. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    To be honest i cant say i diddent have fun with the campain. It was pretty well made and had a nice cinematic flair. But there is where it falls flat it is just so generic and not super intersting. The mulitplayer is alwasys full of players that are willing to play with you if you enjoy this type of multiplayer Whitch i dont. I would try it out just for the pretty fun single player.
  67. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    well compared to homefront this game is fantastic. to start out with the campaign it is hard, intense, a good story, and is entertaining. the campaign is base on a black opps agent (Mason) who was involved in the vietnam war. i wont tell you anymore. next the online play is excelent. the maps are not really oriented for sniping but all wepons are good. next the wepons are very good there are many chices of supmachine guns, assalt rifles, launchers, pistols,and others. this game in conclusion this game is worth the money you pay but its not worth any trade in value but you wont want to trade it in Expand
  68. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Engaging story, balanced multiplayer, good graphics, smooth gameplay, I don't see any of these problems "stated" (rather spewed) these negative reviews. The story has a lot more... well... story in it than any other previous CoD game. I guess the typical simple minded gamer rather would have a run-and-gun campaign without a story. The multiplayer which everyone seems to complain about, keeps the goods and throws out the bad from previous Call of Dutys. Balanced and fun, it contains a heightened sense of satisfaction when you win. Rarely any campers, and a simple way to counter them, this is probably the most balanced CoD to date. This Call of Duty also introduces some of the best features in game history to the series, theater mode, split screen online, combat training which is really fun with a friend in split-screen.
    Overall, I do not understand the negative review on this game and why everyone dislikes it so much. It's a great installment in my opinion and will be playing it for a long time.
    Expand
  69. May 1, 2011
    0
    Highly unoriginal. A LARGE waste of money considering all the games in the past that are just like it.
    If you have lived under a rock for 5 years and missed the games that this clones, Id give it a 6. The solo missions are neat climatically if you ignore all the blood on the screen and superhuman feats that jon Mclain would laugh at, but the gameplay is just terrible. People have been
    saying it for years. Then they forgive it for its decent multi player (far to fast paced and ramboish for my tastes.

    Do the history of gaming a favor and SKIP THIS!!
    Expand
  70. May 11, 2011
    8
    Call Of Duty doesn't really bring anything new to the table, but why fix what isn't broken?
    The single player campaign was an average play. It seems that Treyarch wanted to make an 'epic' campaign, but for me, failed to deliver with a story that had trouble gripping me as I played through it.

    The multi player is where the game truly shines. Once again, nothing significant was added onto
    the already existing engine, but is delivered as a very solid competitive shooter. Alternative Kill Streaks and the leveling up system have been implemented in a solid way, and aid the games re playability considerably. The multi-player maps are quite average, every map was well thought out, but none of them really stuck as favorites in my mind like some maps from the previous games had.

    Conclusion: If you aren't a fan of previous Call Of Duty games, this is not for you. If you played one of the previous games and found yourself getting bored, this does not bring a lot to the table, and you may find yourself feeling like you're playing the same game with a few tweaks. For some this may be enough to keep them going, but others will tire of the same old quite quickly. Call Of Duty: Black Ops could be summed up as a solid shooter that risks very little by delivering more of the familiar game-play that gamers have come to love across the past few years
    Expand
  71. Jul 12, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but not really the full potential we've seen in a Call of Duty game. For starters the singleplayer experience wasn't as appealing as it could have been, because it was hell bent on making the game feel like an action movie, and a suspenseful one, where in reality the story was boring, had more holes than the Iraqi Navy, but most importantly it was cliche. The multiplayer is where the experience is at, but even that was severely boring after a while because it was just MW2 with a sugar coat graphically, making it lookelike Bobby Kotick vomited. And I feel the game had potential but the minor things like graphics, repetitive gameplay, land it on a 7 because at the core of it all, it is a solid COD game. I only recommend this to Michael Bay fans... but to those Michael Bay fans, even the effects aren't all that impressive. Expand
  72. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    Black Ops is not necessarily a horrible game, in fact it can be really fun sometimes, but there are some issues that are too bit to let this game be better. The first issue is the campaign, which clearly takes the idea of 'constant extreme action' from MW2 way too far. Every mission has slow motion that is so over the top it seems stupid, and they all have unbelievable events such as riding a motorcycle out of a building and then jumping onto a moving train at 100 mph, and while they look cool, they will make you say "Really Treyarch?" The story is confusing, but it is fairly good, especially by the end of the story where everything comes together, and it should be interesting to see how the MW series will link to this series, but one issue i have is with Reznov. The hardened and old WW2 character from World at War is back somehow, and his return simply screams that they only had him return as a stupid, cheesy story arch. However his story is still quite good, and also quite good for a shooters story. However the campaign gameplay suffers heavily, in the way that it simply is not fun. In this, even more so then the previous Call of Duty games, it is simply going around the next corner and shooting the same enemies, often with the same guns. It feels as if every mission is exactly the same, and it seems Treyarch thought they could bring in variety by adding 'explosions' and 'slow motion' almost everywhere, but it doesn't work. And of course, the horrible length of the game is simply too small to almost even call it a full campaign. Perhaps if they didn't have activision up their ass to make it an annual release, they would not have such issues and they would be able to actually work on a quality release. The multiplayer side is a different story however. It has issues of course, some very bad actually, but for the most part the new things that Treyarch brought were good. The wager matches are great fun, with games such as Gun Game and One in the Chamber, they are unique and even technically have a meaning. Their called Wager matches because you wage money, if you get onto the top 3 you get a new thing called 'CoD Points', which are important because their now used to buy almost everything equipment-wise after you unlock it. However the biggest issue, as it was in MW2, is the Multiplayer simply has too many balancing and camping issues. Its obvious that the maps support campers by having many little nooks and crannies where someone can hide and kill, and the balancing issues are, at this point, too severe. There are simply too many guns that are clearly better than all the other guns, and the fact that higher level characters get the guns first makes the game hard and unfair to the lower levels. The guns are all supposed to be equal, however they seemed to abandon that theory with Black Ops, and made guns such as the Famas and Commando so overpowered that they seem unstoppable. Also, the Killstreaks are ridiculous and beyond just overpowered. The guy with the highest amounts of kills can get things such as a radar map which shows the direction enemies are facing, or they can go into a Gatling gun which can kill everyone on the map twice, and even a nuke at 25 kills which ends the game, meaning the person with the most kills simply gets MORE kills because he has so many kills. Its all very disappointing from the series which produced Call of Duty 4, and its even more disturbing that even after MW2 had very similar issues, Treyarch did not listen. The graphics, for lack of a better word, need to be a bit redone. They do look good, and at some points fantastic, but there has been literally nothing done since MW2, and the things they could do now that far more graphically superior games have been coming out such as Crysis 2 and Witcher 2, are endless. Overall i give the game a 5, the campaign has a good story with a few faults, but quite bad gameplay, and the multiplayer is fun, but unfair, unbalanced, and ridiculous. Expand
  73. May 27, 2011
    7
    Been there done that. I'm a bit torn on how to score this. Its a fine game. Its polished. Lots of cool weapons and an uhm...tenacious...multiplayer community. I just think if someone threw me the profits from millions upon millions of sold copies of COD games that I would actually have enough money for more than just a bunch of programmers and polish. I Think I could afford to pay someone a few hundred bucks, Sit them down in a room and say, "Hey...do you think you could help us and give us one freaking innovative idea?...since we can't seem to come up with anything ourselves. I mean seriously, we have about as much creativity from one year to the next as Wayne Newton, and he has hashed out the same crap in Vegas for decades. Please help us before we sink in the ever growing cesspool of our own cash grabbing content." The multiplayer gives this thing most of its appeal...but the appeal is in human vs human challenge, definitely not in creative game modes. After five years they come up with sticks and stones mode and they smile and wink like they pulled a rabbit out of their a$$. Its still just a bunch of guys running around killing each other. Hey geniuses, ever thought of including some of the exciting occurrences and situations from campaign like settings and events into a competitive multiplayer mode? Holy****, what's that sound? Is that Gabriel's trumpet? Is the world coming to an end? Oh...never mind, Activision isn't listening and would never do anything that requires that meager amount of vision. Do not misread me as someone who is hating on COD out of a rebellious nature toward the Fan Boys out there. I am hard on COD because tough love expects more from them. Their programming skill...or at least the number of programmers that all that cash can employ is impressive, but the lack of creativity has me exploring other options when it comes to multiplayer or military combat. Shape up or ship out. Bottom line...a high quality, well performing, polished game of blah blah blah been there done that. Expand
  74. Jun 4, 2011
    1
    boring, terrible gameplay. hope MW3 is better.
  75. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Yet again Treyarch tries to compete with Infinity Ward as the best developer of the Call of Duty franchise. Black Ops is obviously much better then their previous game, World at War but like the latter, Black Ops just contrasts too much with the original Modern Warfare series we all play and love. The balance in Black Ops is much better then Modern Warfare 2 but the addictiveness severely lacks. For many players the only reason they haven't lost the Black Ops disc is probably due to Nazi Zombies. Nazi Zombies alone I give this game an overall score of 8/10. Without it I would give it a 6.5/10 Expand
  76. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    I must not be the only one that thinks this is getting old. More Call of Duty = More of the same. Not much has changed since Modern Warfare. Black ops is a solid game and I spent quite of bit of time playing it, but they need to show me something special before I pick up Modern Warfare 3. The graphics haven't improved much neither. Crysis 2 and Battlefield Bad Company 2 looks a lot better. When are buildings in Call of Duty going to become destructible, or the maps become more fleshed out and more interactive. Windows break and thats about it. The effects from explosions and gunfire aren't very impressive. This game is recycled bits and pieces from World at War and Modern Warfare. Which really isn't a bad thing, I'm just trying to find out what is new besides the maps. Zombies don't do anything for me and if I wanted to kill zombies I would play Left 4 Dead or Resident Evil or something similar. Paying $15 for 3 maps and a zombie map is ridiculous. Call of Duty needs to be remodeled, reinvented, renewed, it needs more than a face lift by November. We want innovation from the best selling shooter of this gen. Maybe the developers that are making the next Call of Duty will take some risks and surprise us. I hope so for the gamers sake. Expand
  77. Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Overrated guns are terrible, Online is terrible. You die too easily. People are dumbasses calling it "Best Call of Duty game" It's second to worst after World at War.
  78. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Campaign had a handful of bugs, which is too many. Heck, one bug is too many. The multiplayer would be alot more fun if it didn't constantly boot people out the party and glitch out so much. I love the modern warfare stuff, but black ops is underwhelming, and I'm glad that I waited till it was twenty something bucks on half.com to buy it. Otherwise, I'd be so pissed off and had a bad taste in my mouth about COD. They need to just make a zombie COD game and modern warfare 3 and that's it. Try something else. Expand
  79. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    This was an all right attempt by Treyarch, could have been better. Graphics were alright, and multiplayer still remains fun. It just didn't have the same feel that MW2 had, which was a better game, and I am sure that everyone would agree with me. The campaign was just too much. It was just non-stop shooting and no breaks. It was like a rock song that has the longest solo, or seeing the same stripper everyday. I do not like zombies, personally because most people take it too seriously and make up a plan like complete nerds just to finish. I prefer Left 4 Dead over Zombies. Cannot wait for MW3. Expand
  80. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    Well in my opinion the game as all other FPS shooters has it's flaws and and good points.
    This game was for me a favourite among Call of Duty games, being more balanced than 4 (and even more balanced with the patches). The game may not have the same graphics engine as MW2 or graphics but the gameplay is pretty much more or less the same. The multiplayer is the main part of the game as
    usual to modern gaming. Single Player to me is a warm up session before you compete with hundreds of thousands of people online in seeing if you are better or not. Zombies was a fun minigame since it retains much from WaW and improves on it, adding new elements and with newer creatures.
    The multiplayer killstreaks aren't as overpowered as MW2 , The nuke was just overpowered to end a match in a single hand, The weapon variety is actually nice (but stats with many weapons are actually similar). Camping is less of a problem because camping spots can be easily overpowered. Perks are also more balanced and less overpowered, such as Warlord (Bling from Mw2), you can't use the Grenade Launcher with anything else. And I like the COD points system, it's much like Combat Arms except weapons are kept. Many inexperienced players hated the MW2 challenge system for higher attachments but COD points are easier to obtain.
    The game is great and shouldn't disappoint an FPS player. Overall Treyarch had done a good job and is now listening to players for improvement
    Expand
  81. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    One small step forward, one giant leap back. Modern Warface 2 towers over this game graphically. Shiny dull levels, can't run around stabbing anyone anymore, like running through porridge, sniper rifles don't kill in one hit making them pointless, shotguns are awful and are underpowered, levels show little creativing except awesome nuketown and summit of which the first rarely appears. The campers will say it is wonderful because you can stand still in a corner quite easily with ghost on, this is a fast paced fps, please go and play BF and stop diving on the floor, 90% of the contracts are for games like domination which i never play(pointless). Bring backthe sacked MW2 makers!! Expand
  82. Vik
    Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Black Ops is the latest game from the hit video game series Call of Duty. It was rated 4 stars by Game Informer. The campaign of this video game is a sequel to Call of Duty: World at War. This game was designed by Treyarch and produced by Activision. Along with Black Ops, Activision has produced the other Call of Duty games as well.
    This gameâ
    Expand
  83. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Though not a flawless game, I actually preferred this to the killstreak whoring gameplay of MW2, also it didn't get released with a slew of game breaking glitches and extreme weapon imbalances. The singleplayer was pretty typical in COD fashion as far as length, the storyline had kind of a cool twist at the end, but the singleplayer isn't where Black Ops really shines.

    I love the
    multiplayer compared to MW2, for the most part the map designs are better, its much harder for a team to killstreak dominate, and many annoying perks have been removed from the game. My only gripe would be the iffy bullet registry at times, and lack of GREAT secondary weapons.

    For as many people I hear complain about this game, none of the arguments are usually credible, it's usually player preference. "I can't quick scope anymore", grow some balls and make a real setup, I like sniping as much as the next guy but sniper setups should not be mobile setups. "The guns are broken" Really? The Famas and AK74 are the only two guns that really stand out, but are lame in comparison to marathon/commando/lightweight setups, or pre nerf akimbo 1887's, or even the spas for that matter.

    "No more one man army" Thank god, it should of never been in the place in the first game, it just encouraged an already bad community to noob tube even more.

    In my personal experience, people who are legitimately good at the COD series, especially those that really liked COD4, liked Black Ops and thought it was a general improvement over MW2

    In conclusion If you have not played this and just hear people hating on it, they usually just tend to be disgruntled MW2 pub stompers that were allowed to do well because of how the game was terribly designed, and they were unable to carry over that strategy to Black Ops
    Expand
  84. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    I found this game to be rather blah of a game. There really wasn't anything added to the CoD franchise with this game. It's pretty much the same as the games before it. And zombies? I mean really, what's so special about the zombie mode? I didn't much care for the zombie mode in World at War so why should I care now?
  85. Sep 1, 2011
    1
    Visuals are probably some of the worst i've ever seen, bad gameplay, a horrible map level of effort, and overall, one of the worst Call of Duty games i've ever seen in my expiriences of playing COD
  86. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    Boring gameplay, the charachers seem like homelesses, predictable acts but the worst thing is the multiplayer. Lots of cheaters and campers, suck at all
  87. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    To start with, I'd like to say this ISN'T a 10/10 game. I'm just giving it that to p*** off the blatant fanboys who gave the game 0/10. I mean c'mon, giving a game a 0 on the day it comes out? Because you've obviously played it a lot by that point... and lets not get into the people who mention BC2 or Halo... heres the thing battlefield fanboys - BC2 SUCKED. It was essentially the same game I played with BC1, just with a worse story and a load of boring MP maps. I loved BC1 though, and will likely love BF3.

    Back to the matter at hand, this game is about a 8.5/10 for me - whilst it is essentially the same old tried and tested COD formula, it is by far the most balanced. Not having to unlock 'Cold blooded' is a god-send now, and is where the new 'cod points' system works best. There are quite a few new additions, but nothing to overly shout about, its just new perks, weapons, maps etc. As for the story, this was the best out of the Call Of duty's yet. It certainly was the most intriguing, and actually kept me playing compulsively to the end. Something a COD has failed to do since #4, which remains the best one of the series. Whilst you may think I haven't detailed enough new features to warrant an '8.5', I don't care. You have to look at the game on it's own, as a significant number of gamers will start with this Call of duty - whilst most of us old hats are privy to the series, they're not, and will want a more fair, just approach to the game itself, NOT the series. Plus it has Nazi zombies, which is just sheer beast! :P
    P.S. I do agree that MW2 is an overrated, unbalanced piece of junk - but don't punish black ops for the sins of the father...
    Expand
  88. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    **** **** overrated game. If you're a spoiled rich, prepubescent, squeaky whining **** who likes to swear, I recommend playing this. The series has gone downhill since after Cod4 was released.
  89. Jul 2, 2011
    3
    Before I start this review let me just begin by saying I am not what people would call "a Call of Duty fanboy", yet I have followed the series since the beginning on the PC, all the way to Black Ops on the 360. I am not a huge fan, but I like what the "good" Call of Duty games have done for videogames. I enjoy all forms of videogames and am just giving my ten cents on what I thought when playing Black Ops. I'm also fed up with the argument between the CoD fanboys who don't know anything about videogames and the hardcore gamers.
    Now let's start with talking about Black Ops. When I first picked up Black Ops and started playing it, I loved it. It was intriging and a blast on multiplayer. I honestly thought Treyach had outdone themselves, then it settled on me. I was playing a horrible game, utterly horrible, that felt tacked on and trying to do things it had no business doing. So did a game like this become the best selling form of entertainment of all time? Well people are suckers for things that look good and entertaining. They never really investigate, they just buy, buy, buy (I'll have you know I obtained my copy free of charge). Black Ops is a game designed for simpletons, children, and people who like to complain. Why am I saying this? Because Treyach took out everything good out of the multiplayer that made MW2 a great game. MW2 was realistic, it felt like raw warefare. Call of Duty Black Ops feels like little children playing with toy guns in the sandbox. It's pathetic. Take grenade launchers (noob toobs) for instance. This was a realistic part of Modern Warfare. While it might not be right sometimes to be bombarded and killed instanteously by a grenade launching through the air, it's realistic and makes the game more enriching and detailed. This is just one instance of where the realism has been ejected from the game. The RC-Cars, the lack of good guns, the ridiculous reticles, and the lack of even one good sniper rifle. The realism that the Modern Warfare series injected into the shooter craze was incredible, Black Ops is a total backstep for the series, but then again it's all opinion. If you like dumb downed arcady dull shooters be my guest.
    Then you have the campaign, which is not much better, but shines in some areas. The biggest and best part of the campaign? The story. Which takes unexpected twists and turns every which way, and is the one area BLOPS can beat MW2 at. Everything else? Not so much. It's still the same here. Linear mission design, muddy and ugly textures, hiccups and bugs about everywhere. The set pieces find themselves interesting, but everything else is awful, including the length of the game, an absolutely ridiculous 4-6 hours.
    Lastly is the co-op mode Nazi Zombies. Whearas World at War's Nazi Zombie mode felt like true to the grime, dirty and raw, yet fun and accessible, the new zombie maps are mediocre at best. The first Kino der Toten is actually quite good. It feels more like old school Zombies than anything else. The other map however features historical figures from history all conjoined in a survival group in the pentagon fighting off the hordes. What I don't like here is the little amount of diversity within the section and the main spreadout of the map, as well as the "boss" who arrives at around 10.
    Multiplayer 1/10
    Campaign 6/10
    Zombies 5/10

    In the end, Call of Duty: Black Ops just makes it ever so clear that Treyach does not know how to make a real, true to the grid, realistic, war game. It's disappointing, lackluster, and meddles in unrealistic gameplay. Make Infinity Ward not Treyach, for if not the Call of Duty serikes as a whole might just be done.
    Expand
  90. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    overall I think call of duty black ops is just an OK game. The multiplayer doesn't really offer anything new to the series, and could get pretty boring after awhile. The same goes for the zombies mode. I also think the campaign could've been better for it's kind of dull. If you are thinking about getting this game, you might want to look for something else.
  91. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    Decent game. Modern Warfare 2 was definitely better in my opinion. Both in gameplay and in graphics. Maps are good. Not a fan of Treyarch. They seem to have choppy gameplay, poor animations, and inferior weapons. They also like to satisfy kids with zombies all the time. Childish in my opinion.
  92. Jul 14, 2011
    6
    Call of duty black ops is a nice firstperson shooter. I like to play the campaign. But the story isn't nice at all. The game is just an media spectacular.
    The gameplay is nice and it's also a nice game to play. I give call of duty black ops an 7 because it's nice to play but just like the other call of duty games
    i doesn't have a nice story
  93. Aug 17, 2011
    6
    + Good - Bad -Same engine as World At War and CoD4:MW (rollback from MW2) obviously no innovation like critics claim -Short Campaign with weak characters -Really Buggy -To been there done that with the weapons selection (the weapons are fine its just I hate playing 3-4 games in a row with mostly the same weapons) -No innovation in Graphics (personally I don't care, but they didn't do anything to really make up for it)
    +Return of Zombies
    +Fun Multiplayer
    -Any game is fun in Multiplayer with the right people
    -Feels more like an Expansion and not a Standalone game
    -Doesn't compare to other CoD games
    -$60 on release, really should have been more like $40 on release (though personally after playing it I wish I had payed $20 and I were you I would refuse to pay more than that)
    Expand
  94. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    this game killed gamers, and those of us that are true gamers, will almost 99% of the time agree that Call of duty killed gaming, yes it is fun for only the single player mode, and zombies; but the multiplayer hasn't changed since the first game implemented with multiplayer (hence call of duty 3/ 4) very boring repetitive online features, maps making it difficult to actually enjoy it being fun, quick kills and graphics don't make a game i wish people understood.. but they don't, its for mostly the youngsters who like to say their good and when they play a game were it takes skill to kill somebody they die and say o i lagged or that's not fair, he's higher ranked then me, and all that bull **** they say, the campaign very short and not really different then mw2 or WaW or Mw, it differs slightly but the graphics are the same since WaW
    Ratings Graphics-...... WHO cares
    Fun-3
    Creativity-1
    Upgradability-0
    Lasting gameplay-0
    Features since included into game-3
    porting since multiplatform-3
    Expand
  95. Aug 17, 2011
    5
    Probably the worst COD game, but it still is enjoyable... If you ignore it's many flaws, such as the overuse of the perk "Ghost", some weapons being overpowered, and "Blop" shotting, caused by a flaw in the perk "Second Chance".
  96. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    I don't recommend this game. Don't get me wrong, it's a really fun game, but playing on XBL can just frustrate you out of your mind. Treyarch has also released about 50 map packs for you to waste your money on. The only thing I would recommend is the campaign. I loved every second I played it. The campaign's really deep and fun to play through. The campaign is fairly long and quite enjoyable with many awesome plot twists. If your only buying it for the campaign, then jump right into it! Expand
  97. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    I think most people agree that it was a huge mistake to hire Treyarch in the making of this game. Multiplayer is broken. By far one of the worst gameplays of an FPS.
  98. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    The singleplayer campaign expects you to read the storyboard's mind or else you die, making a supposedly thrilling experience an infurating trial-and-error experience. Not only that, but Treyarch's attempts to make a psychological thriller makes a story that is so confusing that it seems as if 300 different writers worked on whatever they felt like and pasted it all together. So beside the horrible singleplayer campaign, the rest of the game isn't that big of a redeemer. The zombies mode is a recycled, cliche, dull attempt to accomplish what games like Left 4 Dead and Killing Floor already succeeded, yet it is overrated beyond belief by Call of Duty's mindless, brainwashed zombies who take whatever is thrown at them. The multiplayer is the best part, and I occasionally find myself returning to the offline, but it becomes a "I have played longer than you, I have better guns" and "I can be selfish and make my team win when 20 dogs rush everybody". Expand
  99. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    Call of Duty : Black Ops isn't by any means flawless , but it is definitely a game that anyone who enjoys a solid campaign and a rewarding multiplayer experience should pick up .
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A short campaign which is never spectacular and never very clever, but always solid enough. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    By dint of obstinacy, Treyarch delivers probably its best with Black Ops Call of Duty to date - but probably not the best in the saga.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!