User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1338 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but not really the full potential we've seen in a Call of Duty game. For starters the singleplayer experience wasn't as appealing as it could have been, because it was hell bent on making the game feel like an action movie, and a suspenseful one, where in reality the story was boring, had more holes than the Iraqi Navy, but most importantly it was cliche. The multiplayerNot a bad game, but not really the full potential we've seen in a Call of Duty game. For starters the singleplayer experience wasn't as appealing as it could have been, because it was hell bent on making the game feel like an action movie, and a suspenseful one, where in reality the story was boring, had more holes than the Iraqi Navy, but most importantly it was cliche. The multiplayer is where the experience is at, but even that was severely boring after a while because it was just MW2 with a sugar coat graphically, making it lookelike Bobby Kotick vomited. And I feel the game had potential but the minor things like graphics, repetitive gameplay, land it on a 7 because at the core of it all, it is a solid COD game. I only recommend this to Michael Bay fans... but to those Michael Bay fans, even the effects aren't all that impressive. Expand
  2. May 27, 2011
    7
    Been there done that. I'm a bit torn on how to score this. Its a fine game. Its polished. Lots of cool weapons and an uhm...tenacious...multiplayer community. I just think if someone threw me the profits from millions upon millions of sold copies of COD games that I would actually have enough money for more than just a bunch of programmers and polish. I Think I could afford to payBeen there done that. I'm a bit torn on how to score this. Its a fine game. Its polished. Lots of cool weapons and an uhm...tenacious...multiplayer community. I just think if someone threw me the profits from millions upon millions of sold copies of COD games that I would actually have enough money for more than just a bunch of programmers and polish. I Think I could afford to pay someone a few hundred bucks, Sit them down in a room and say, "Hey...do you think you could help us and give us one freaking innovative idea?...since we can't seem to come up with anything ourselves. I mean seriously, we have about as much creativity from one year to the next as Wayne Newton, and he has hashed out the same crap in Vegas for decades. Please help us before we sink in the ever growing cesspool of our own cash grabbing content." The multiplayer gives this thing most of its appeal...but the appeal is in human vs human challenge, definitely not in creative game modes. After five years they come up with sticks and stones mode and they smile and wink like they pulled a rabbit out of their a$$. Its still just a bunch of guys running around killing each other. Hey geniuses, ever thought of including some of the exciting occurrences and situations from campaign like settings and events into a competitive multiplayer mode? Holy****, what's that sound? Is that Gabriel's trumpet? Is the world coming to an end? Oh...never mind, Activision isn't listening and would never do anything that requires that meager amount of vision. Do not misread me as someone who is hating on COD out of a rebellious nature toward the Fan Boys out there. I am hard on COD because tough love expects more from them. Their programming skill...or at least the number of programmers that all that cash can employ is impressive, but the lack of creativity has me exploring other options when it comes to multiplayer or military combat. Shape up or ship out. Bottom line...a high quality, well performing, polished game of blah blah blah been there done that. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    One small step forward, one giant leap back. Modern Warface 2 towers over this game graphically. Shiny dull levels, can't run around stabbing anyone anymore, like running through porridge, sniper rifles don't kill in one hit making them pointless, shotguns are awful and are underpowered, levels show little creativing except awesome nuketown and summit of which the first rarely appears. TheOne small step forward, one giant leap back. Modern Warface 2 towers over this game graphically. Shiny dull levels, can't run around stabbing anyone anymore, like running through porridge, sniper rifles don't kill in one hit making them pointless, shotguns are awful and are underpowered, levels show little creativing except awesome nuketown and summit of which the first rarely appears. The campers will say it is wonderful because you can stand still in a corner quite easily with ghost on, this is a fast paced fps, please go and play BF and stop diving on the floor, 90% of the contracts are for games like domination which i never play(pointless). Bring backthe sacked MW2 makers!! Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Though not a flawless game, I actually preferred this to the killstreak whoring gameplay of MW2, also it didn't get released with a slew of game breaking glitches and extreme weapon imbalances. The singleplayer was pretty typical in COD fashion as far as length, the storyline had kind of a cool twist at the end, but the singleplayer isn't where Black Ops really shines.

    I love the
    Though not a flawless game, I actually preferred this to the killstreak whoring gameplay of MW2, also it didn't get released with a slew of game breaking glitches and extreme weapon imbalances. The singleplayer was pretty typical in COD fashion as far as length, the storyline had kind of a cool twist at the end, but the singleplayer isn't where Black Ops really shines.

    I love the multiplayer compared to MW2, for the most part the map designs are better, its much harder for a team to killstreak dominate, and many annoying perks have been removed from the game. My only gripe would be the iffy bullet registry at times, and lack of GREAT secondary weapons.

    For as many people I hear complain about this game, none of the arguments are usually credible, it's usually player preference. "I can't quick scope anymore", grow some balls and make a real setup, I like sniping as much as the next guy but sniper setups should not be mobile setups. "The guns are broken" Really? The Famas and AK74 are the only two guns that really stand out, but are lame in comparison to marathon/commando/lightweight setups, or pre nerf akimbo 1887's, or even the spas for that matter.

    "No more one man army" Thank god, it should of never been in the place in the first game, it just encouraged an already bad community to noob tube even more.

    In my personal experience, people who are legitimately good at the COD series, especially those that really liked COD4, liked Black Ops and thought it was a general improvement over MW2

    In conclusion If you have not played this and just hear people hating on it, they usually just tend to be disgruntled MW2 pub stompers that were allowed to do well because of how the game was terribly designed, and they were unable to carry over that strategy to Black Ops
    Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2011
    1
    Visuals are probably some of the worst i've ever seen, bad gameplay, a horrible map level of effort, and overall, one of the worst Call of Duty games i've ever seen in my expiriences of playing COD
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    Boring gameplay, the charachers seem like homelesses, predictable acts but the worst thing is the multiplayer. Lots of cheaters and campers, suck at all
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    this game killed gamers, and those of us that are true gamers, will almost 99% of the time agree that Call of duty killed gaming, yes it is fun for only the single player mode, and zombies; but the multiplayer hasn't changed since the first game implemented with multiplayer (hence call of duty 3/ 4) very boring repetitive online features, maps making it difficult to actually enjoy it beingthis game killed gamers, and those of us that are true gamers, will almost 99% of the time agree that Call of duty killed gaming, yes it is fun for only the single player mode, and zombies; but the multiplayer hasn't changed since the first game implemented with multiplayer (hence call of duty 3/ 4) very boring repetitive online features, maps making it difficult to actually enjoy it being fun, quick kills and graphics don't make a game i wish people understood.. but they don't, its for mostly the youngsters who like to say their good and when they play a game were it takes skill to kill somebody they die and say o i lagged or that's not fair, he's higher ranked then me, and all that bull **** they say, the campaign very short and not really different then mw2 or WaW or Mw, it differs slightly but the graphics are the same since WaW
    Ratings Graphics-...... WHO cares
    Fun-3
    Creativity-1
    Upgradability-0
    Lasting gameplay-0
    Features since included into game-3
    porting since multiplatform-3
    Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2011
    5
    Probably the worst COD game, but it still is enjoyable... If you ignore it's many flaws, such as the overuse of the perk "Ghost", some weapons being overpowered, and "Blop" shotting, caused by a flaw in the perk "Second Chance".
  9. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    I think most people agree that it was a huge mistake to hire Treyarch in the making of this game. Multiplayer is broken. By far one of the worst gameplays of an FPS.
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    The singleplayer campaign expects you to read the storyboard's mind or else you die, making a supposedly thrilling experience an infurating trial-and-error experience. Not only that, but Treyarch's attempts to make a psychological thriller makes a story that is so confusing that it seems as if 300 different writers worked on whatever they felt like and pasted it all together. So beside theThe singleplayer campaign expects you to read the storyboard's mind or else you die, making a supposedly thrilling experience an infurating trial-and-error experience. Not only that, but Treyarch's attempts to make a psychological thriller makes a story that is so confusing that it seems as if 300 different writers worked on whatever they felt like and pasted it all together. So beside the horrible singleplayer campaign, the rest of the game isn't that big of a redeemer. The zombies mode is a recycled, cliche, dull attempt to accomplish what games like Left 4 Dead and Killing Floor already succeeded, yet it is overrated beyond belief by Call of Duty's mindless, brainwashed zombies who take whatever is thrown at them. The multiplayer is the best part, and I occasionally find myself returning to the offline, but it becomes a "I have played longer than you, I have better guns" and "I can be selfish and make my team win when 20 dogs rush everybody". Expand
  11. Sep 15, 2011
    5
    It gets boring after a while. LOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLO
  12. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is one hell of a great game, Its for anyone who is a fan of the Call of Duty franchise or first person shooters. Black Ops is a great game, but does have some flaws. First off the Campaign is one of the best of the series, it has a great story with many twist and turns, and strong characters. The Campaign just doesn't fell like a Call of Duty campaign, it hasCall of Duty: Black Ops is one hell of a great game, Its for anyone who is a fan of the Call of Duty franchise or first person shooters. Black Ops is a great game, but does have some flaws. First off the Campaign is one of the best of the series, it has a great story with many twist and turns, and strong characters. The Campaign just doesn't fell like a Call of Duty campaign, it has psychological type feeling to it and is not what a COD fan would expect. I'm not saying that its a bad thing thing to be different. You play as Alex Mason who has been hired to kill a Russian terrorist named Dragovich, accompanied by Frank Woods, a SOG soldier who in my opinion is a Bada$$. Black Ops has a lot of great missions, some that make you feel like you were dropped into the shoes of a Vietnam soldier, and others missions have you go to a facility where the soviets used to make Nova 6 gas during the Cold War. Next is Multiplayer which is what most people who play COD buy the game for. The Multiplayer is really good, but not the best in the series. It has a lot of new additions to killstreaks like a remote controlled car strapped with explosives, a pack of dogs to attack your enemies, or you can control your very own gunship. There is a lot of new things in the multiplayer, I really like all of the weapons and perks. There are so many perks to suit your own play style, my favorite is Perk 1: Lightweight Perk 2: Sleight of Hand Perk 3: Marathon. Which are all good for speed and agility in each match of multiplayer. The guns that I use with those perks it usually a SMG for added agility. Third is Zombies which is a round-based mode where you fight hordes of zombies on different maps, you can also buy the DLC maps like Call of the Dead which is my favorite map. In Call of the Dead, George Romero the director of the best zombie movies ever, is a zombie himself who is invincible until you get a certain gun. Zombies is really fun and there is a lot to do in each map. Now the flaws that I have found in Black Ops are when you are trying to kill someone and they are shooting at you, you can jump out of the way and be out of sight and still die and on the killcam it won't show that you even moved. Then sometimes you can shoot someone with every bullet in a clip and be reloading and the person kills you with one shot. There are a lot of problems but none that ruin the game completely. Call of Duty: Black ops is a must buy for any COD fan. Can't wait for MW3. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    You cod fans are trying to rate down bf3.. so I'm here to get back at chu all . AHAHAHAHAHHHHHAAAAAAAHHHHHHAHAHHAHAAHHAHAHHAHHAHHAHAHHAHHAHHAHHHA
    AHAHAHHAHH
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    Okay so there is veteran and then there is retarded. black ops decided to replace its veteran with retarded. i found myself scream at my television over the simple fact that Treyarch believes removing checkpoints from the game is fair under the idea that "because it's veteran we can make the game absurd." Treyarch already had enemy's on veteran that had 100% accuracy and could kill you inOkay so there is veteran and then there is retarded. black ops decided to replace its veteran with retarded. i found myself scream at my television over the simple fact that Treyarch believes removing checkpoints from the game is fair under the idea that "because it's veteran we can make the game absurd." Treyarch already had enemy's on veteran that had 100% accuracy and could kill you in 5 shots now you have to go through areas that take 15 mins without a checkpoint that's retarded. story is interesting but gameplay will piss you off most of the time then none. Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    ZOMBIES!!!!!!!!! That is all I have to say on the matter... Everything else is just meh. I mean decent single player and the only enjoyable part of multiplayer are the wager matches that are tense and exciting. ZOMBIES, however, make it a great package!!
  16. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    Honestly at first all I did was compare this to MW2. I truly hated this game for quite a while. Eventually I actually went back to MW2, and could not stand it. I then realized this game is quite simply amazing. The graphics exceeded the predecessors, and so did the game play. I now compare MW3 to this one, and without a doubt the multiplayer in this game is still without a doubt better.Honestly at first all I did was compare this to MW2. I truly hated this game for quite a while. Eventually I actually went back to MW2, and could not stand it. I then realized this game is quite simply amazing. The graphics exceeded the predecessors, and so did the game play. I now compare MW3 to this one, and without a doubt the multiplayer in this game is still without a doubt better. This is honestly the best FPS I've ever played to this day. Expand
  17. Feb 15, 2012
    3
    The worst call of duty to date the controls are sloppy the graphics are awful the story line is boring and online is the same thing everytime. all the guns feel as though they do the same thing and the unbelievably unfair perks ruin online even for the people who are great at this game. The only thing really good about this game is figuring out the zombies hidden storyline
  18. May 2, 2012
    0
    I will never buy a Call of Duty game made by Treyarch ever again. Sub-par campaign, horrific multiplayer, and the worst graphics i've ever seen. The only thing that i would prevent this from being an unrated review was the decent first 2 DLC packs.
  19. May 11, 2012
    0
    A very bland game. This game is a copy of all the other call of dutys. Fail campaign and lame multiplayer..
    everybody camps in corners. I suggest battlefield 3..
  20. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    u shuld get call uv dooty blac cops too becuz its teh most epic gaem i hav evar plaid n u shuld play it to. teh releaz uv dis gaem iz proably teh gratist step mankind haz evar taykin. if u dont play this gaem, then ur probaly just a huge nurd who plays stoopid gaems liek wurld uv warcrap.
  21. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    this was biggest surprise of 2011 for me. this game was best story by far. woods and resnov are great supportive actors. mutiplayer was fun but its not really my thing.
  22. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    fun gameplay, best storyline and best twist I've ever seen in a Call of Duty game. ground breaking graphics for the year it was released also, and extra points for bot support for offline gamers like me.
  23. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    This game is simply outstanding and had rarely any flaws.

    PROS
    -ASTONISHING gameplay
    -Fun mini games
    -HD graphics
    -Amazing campaign

    CONS
    -weak story
  24. DME
    Jul 22, 2011
    8
    The campain was nothing short of epic. It had a great story, interesting characters (Reznov was my favorite), and plenty of variety. Zombies is back and better than ever. But it has it's letdowns... No highscores for offline or private match play. So if I get to round 42 on Solo, nobody is gonna believe me unless I take a picture of the TV screen and show it to them in person. It alsoThe campain was nothing short of epic. It had a great story, interesting characters (Reznov was my favorite), and plenty of variety. Zombies is back and better than ever. But it has it's letdowns... No highscores for offline or private match play. So if I get to round 42 on Solo, nobody is gonna believe me unless I take a picture of the TV screen and show it to them in person. It also takes to long to find a match for Zombies. But Kino Der Toten is an instant classic and the dialogue (while repetetive) is hilarious. What's left? The heart and soul of Call of Duty... multiplayer. I am happy to say that Black Ops has the best multiplayer of any CoD game I've ever played. Everything (well, mostly everything) is balanced. Perks are well thought out. Weapon choices and attatchments are good. The sniper rifles are no longer over-powered. My only gripe is the FAMAS. The FAMAS is the most popular weapon because it is too accurate for the damage is does. Take away two bars of accuracy from the FAMAS and all weapons are balanced. Private Matches can be customized to a surprising extent. Maps are exceptionaly designed, but sometimes visualy-unappealing. And the 4 new Wager Match modes delivered even more fun. Killstreaks are better, but I wish there was more interactivity with some of them (eg. Attack Helicopters and Attack Dogs). I also wish we had the Predator Drone back. But the best thing about multiplayer is that Treyarch is keeping the place clean of hackers (yes, you may stumble upon one or two). The game is free of glitches (due to frequent updates), and has fast matchmaking. Overall, you can't go wrong with Black Ops. This really feels like a great end to the CoD series. But we all know Activison won't stop until they lose their customers. And after this, I don't think it will be happening soon. Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    The weak and twitchy single-player - with many of the same old flaws - almost undermines all of the superb extra features and pretty much flawless multiplayer offering. Veterans and regular players still have the advantage over newcomers, but with Combat Training and the Zombie mode, there is plenty of fun to be had for even the most inexperienced players. Black Ops isn
  26. Jun 29, 2011
    1
    The game has not changed at all since the last release, and is unlikely to change in the next. The areas are bland and boring, the textures and graphics look outdated and the maps are uninspired. The storyline may as well not exist, but it's even more insulting that it thinks it is good. If you buy this game, you buy it for the multiplayer, and even that isn't great. Regenerating healthThe game has not changed at all since the last release, and is unlikely to change in the next. The areas are bland and boring, the textures and graphics look outdated and the maps are uninspired. The storyline may as well not exist, but it's even more insulting that it thinks it is good. If you buy this game, you buy it for the multiplayer, and even that isn't great. Regenerating health still makes me hate this entire franchise. The one redeemable thing about this game is the zombies mode, which multiplayer is actually quite fun; however, it's very limited and doesn't have much lasting appeal. Expand
  27. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    It's all right I guess. There is more hype than fun with this game. I seriously do not see what's so fantastic about this game. It's a C at best. The campaign is boring. I didn't finish it. The multiplayer's probably the best thing about it
  28. May 25, 2011
    6
    I really enjoyed the Modern Warfare games, but this game is a step back for the series if you ask me. The graphics are hideous to look at, which isn't surprising considering the age of the engine now, it all looks very smudged and washed out. MW2 on the other hand was very crisp and clean. The gameplay is probably the only solid thing about the game, however I've (along with; I'm sure halfI really enjoyed the Modern Warfare games, but this game is a step back for the series if you ask me. The graphics are hideous to look at, which isn't surprising considering the age of the engine now, it all looks very smudged and washed out. MW2 on the other hand was very crisp and clean. The gameplay is probably the only solid thing about the game, however I've (along with; I'm sure half the planet) played enough Call of Duty for several lifetimes to find the same thing exciting. The series needs a reboot now, along with a new engine and some new game mechanics, or we will be seeing a great series dying a horrible death. Expand
  29. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Haters are gonna hate. This game might not be the best call of duty game, but in my opinion it has so many things in it that keep me entertained that it's definetley worth the $60 price tag.
  30. Nov 12, 2010
    6
    I reviewed this game earlier in the week after I had gotten it and it had gotten a higher score then. I'm not trying to take away from the game, really, as it is still a pretty decent shooter in the Call of Duty Franchise, but it's too much COD. I was looking forward to Hardcore mode, because quite frankly, core mode sucks big ones in pretty much any game. I thought with the smaller boardsI reviewed this game earlier in the week after I had gotten it and it had gotten a higher score then. I'm not trying to take away from the game, really, as it is still a pretty decent shooter in the Call of Duty Franchise, but it's too much COD. I was looking forward to Hardcore mode, because quite frankly, core mode sucks big ones in pretty much any game. I thought with the smaller boards there would be more action going on, but sadly there's even MORE camping in this than their was in MW2. I'll probably still play this for a bit, but I'm not very well impressed with it. I like the new system and I think it's a fresh take on an aging format, but I think that and Zombies mode are about the only thing Black Ops really has going for it. I think their hit detection needs to be improved, as sometimes shots don't register when they should. There's also an issue with shooting through objects. I believe there is something that needs to be tweaked there. I've seen people should through rocks..big rocks, and I don't think that's possible with the weapons of the time(or most any time), even with the Hardened perk. There is also an issue with being able to see people through a wall, as well. If you are pressed up against a wall, chances are, someone could see a limb or something poking through the other side and will just kill you. I'd give it a 6.5 if I could, but I don't think it's worth rounding up, really.â Expand
  31. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The gaming industry journalism is at it's lowest these days. A game like this having so many 100% is completely ridiculous.

    Con
    1 - AI is incredibly stupid.
    2 - Physic system is completely inconsistent. Enemie shot dead fall trought walls or barricades ?!
    3 - Veteran mode is completely ridiculous. 4 - Online experience is still a dodging grenade simulator like Modern warf 2
    5 - Small maps
    6 - Already cheaters on day one ...

    Pro
    1 - Zombie mode
    2 - Graphics
    3 - Acting
    4 - Weapons

    Very good challenger to whom who want to take time and give a try is Medal of Honor and Bad company 2
    Specially Bad company 2 seem to be lightyear in front of Call of duty Black Ops.
    Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2010
    5
    This game does not live up to any of the hype or reviews. Outdated graphics and the unrealistic feeling make the game a bore and make you feel as though you've played it before (its just like world at war). Do yourself a favor and grab reach or MoH if your looking for a good fps.
  33. Nov 11, 2010
    7
    While I do agree about the negative comments written about this game, I still think it has some positives as well, making it worth buying. The biggest pain is the location of respawn points, commonly behind you and then behind the guy behind you and so on. I think this game is alright without being awesome and I wouldnt get rid of mw2 just yet. Unfortunately, we have to hope that a patchWhile I do agree about the negative comments written about this game, I still think it has some positives as well, making it worth buying. The biggest pain is the location of respawn points, commonly behind you and then behind the guy behind you and so on. I think this game is alright without being awesome and I wouldnt get rid of mw2 just yet. Unfortunately, we have to hope that a patch can fix some of the problems that ire us all. The maps arent awesome either and this game feels like it has been overmarketed and under sold. It is meant to be under-promise and and over-deliver but its still OK to play Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2010
    5
    My opinion on Call of Duty, Black Ops (CoD:BO) is based on the fact that I play the Call of Duty series games on the Xbox 360 for the overall â
  35. Nov 11, 2010
    5
    This brief review focuses on the single-player mode, as I have yet to properly tryout the multi-player. After all the hype, Iâ
  36. Nov 12, 2010
    7
    I hate to say it, but COD B.O. is a huge disappointment. The campaign has it's moments, but is marred by too many cut scenes and dialog. The action scenes, while fun, are very short and seem like they were spliced together as an afterthought. Not to say the campaign was not fun...it was (Although it is on the short side). I first thought that was going to be OK due to the trade off for theI hate to say it, but COD B.O. is a huge disappointment. The campaign has it's moments, but is marred by too many cut scenes and dialog. The action scenes, while fun, are very short and seem like they were spliced together as an afterthought. Not to say the campaign was not fun...it was (Although it is on the short side). I first thought that was going to be OK due to the trade off for the usually stellar MP mode, but this was even more of a letdown. The maps are mostly poorly designed, game play is slow, weapons are inaccurate, sound is weak, and graphics are very dated. I will be returning to MW 2 for my multiplayer fix. Expand
  37. Nov 23, 2010
    5
    At times this game can be quite fun when you are doing well online, but mainly quite tedious in the fact that online its always the same kind of deaths - killed by a camper - or killed after getting several hit markers. This is so frustrating! Sometimes it takes 3 shots with a shotgun even if it is about 3 yards away. Private matches are no way near as fun than on mw2 and so finally thisAt times this game can be quite fun when you are doing well online, but mainly quite tedious in the fact that online its always the same kind of deaths - killed by a camper - or killed after getting several hit markers. This is so frustrating! Sometimes it takes 3 shots with a shotgun even if it is about 3 yards away. Private matches are no way near as fun than on mw2 and so finally this game does not live up to mw2. Expand
  38. Jul 29, 2011
    5
    williamwiggles
    Jul 29, 2011
    10
    This game just doesn't have the finesse that MW2 had. The only thing Black Ops really strikes as impressive is the Zombies game mode. While zombies remains really fun, Multiplayer and Campaign are a sad sight. More or less, I occasionally come to play zombies. But for other Call of Duty related purposes, stick to MW2 and wait for MW3.
  39. Nov 21, 2010
    6
    I found the plot took a turn for the absurd which was surprising given Call of Duty games usually try for realism. The game levels are pretty though pitfalls are plenty and you'll be replaying from a few checkpoints because you didn't jump just right. I found that most of the Ally NPCs couldn't shoot straight (would have been nice if they could function as well as the enemies) and providedI found the plot took a turn for the absurd which was surprising given Call of Duty games usually try for realism. The game levels are pretty though pitfalls are plenty and you'll be replaying from a few checkpoints because you didn't jump just right. I found that most of the Ally NPCs couldn't shoot straight (would have been nice if they could function as well as the enemies) and provided no help, mostly being on-screen to act as props (and run into my crosshairs). It became a bit frustrating they way enemies continued to stream in to replace their fallen comrades until you could move far enough into a room.

    Multiplayer is what redeems this game.
    Expand
  40. Nov 22, 2010
    5
    Okay, so I'm gonna give this game a REAL review. As a longtime fan, I wasn't too excited to hear Treyarch was putting another CoD title out. I mean, I logged over ten days of play time on World at War, but I thought it was the nowhere near as good as Modern Warfare. And then Modern Warfare 2 came out, and blew my mind. It was a HUGE improvement over the mediocre WaW, and kept me in aOkay, so I'm gonna give this game a REAL review. As a longtime fan, I wasn't too excited to hear Treyarch was putting another CoD title out. I mean, I logged over ten days of play time on World at War, but I thought it was the nowhere near as good as Modern Warfare. And then Modern Warfare 2 came out, and blew my mind. It was a HUGE improvement over the mediocre WaW, and kept me in a trance for the better part of a year. So naturally, when I heard Treyarch was coming out with Black Ops, I was not sold. Of course, I bought it, just because all my friends do, and I like to keep up with the times. But I sure as hell was not gonna wait in line at midnight like every other person brainwashed to think this was a brand new CoD title coming out. Because let's face it, it's not. It's every other title before it, with a couple new features. In all, it has worse graphics than MW2, absolute disregard for sniper-friendly maps, a lackluster knifing system, and a horrible hosting system. Now don't get me wrong, it does have some improvements; The massive customization options, the wager matches, the in-game currency, and some of the new killstreaks are enjoyable, and make it easier to build the inevitable addiction that you undoubtedly will develop. So, all in all, I know I'll be playing it until the next installment by Infinity Ward, and yes, I am already addicted to it. But face it, just because you're addicted to something, doesn't make it good. Expand
  41. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    The single player campaign feels like Time Crisis to me. An relentless assault of guys popping up from behind boxes and through windows. The flashback narrative device works well but the missions themselves are so linear they feel like a PowerPoint presentation.

    I've been playing violent games for years and few games have made me baulk like BLOPS has. The scene where you stick a knife in
    The single player campaign feels like Time Crisis to me. An relentless assault of guys popping up from behind boxes and through windows. The flashback narrative device works well but the missions themselves are so linear they feel like a PowerPoint presentation.

    I've been playing violent games for years and few games have made me baulk like BLOPS has. The scene where you stick a knife in a Vietnamese guy's neck and jiggle it around comes to mind. As does the scene where you're on boat killing loads of villagers and casually listening to a ditty by the Stones.

    The Multiplayer however, is a definate improvement over MW2. It's buggy but I've been having a blast. The customisation options and theatre mode are great additions.
    Expand
  42. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    The latest entry in the COD franchise features one of the most memorable single player campaigns in recent memory. Ditching Modern Warfare 2's OTT theatrics, Blops tells a a grittier tale which focuses on black ops agents during the 1960s. COD's highly popular multiplayer is back and largely resembles the last few entries. New additions include wager matches and credits which players mustThe latest entry in the COD franchise features one of the most memorable single player campaigns in recent memory. Ditching Modern Warfare 2's OTT theatrics, Blops tells a a grittier tale which focuses on black ops agents during the 1960s. COD's highly popular multiplayer is back and largely resembles the last few entries. New additions include wager matches and credits which players must earn to unlock new weapons, killstreaks and a host of customization options. The only real knock on this game is that some of the weapons sound very weak and flimsy. Expand
  43. cfh
    Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Black ops is fun, but the campaign makes no sense. Besides the Campaign being confusing; you get to do a lot of cool things like fly a helicopter, ride a motorcycle, swim in a lake, and much more. Zombies can be really tough espeically by your self. It has cool guns like the Thunder Cannon. Co-op is really good. Black Ops has the first Co-Op Online Gameplay, so you can play split screenBlack ops is fun, but the campaign makes no sense. Besides the Campaign being confusing; you get to do a lot of cool things like fly a helicopter, ride a motorcycle, swim in a lake, and much more. Zombies can be really tough espeically by your self. It has cool guns like the Thunder Cannon. Co-op is really good. Black Ops has the first Co-Op Online Gameplay, so you can play split screen online. You can also go up against CPU charaters. While playing split screen in 'Mutiplayer' except for online you can get any gun, attachment and camo. Except for the Campaign this game is great. Expand
  44. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    Treyarch return this year with Cod 7, Black Ops. This action packed game is on of the best COD games so far. It's excellent graphics, thrilling game play and whole new weapon load-out has set the limit for this years games. Plus the epic return of the fantastic "Nazi Zombies". When I first opened Black Ops I noticed the name and counting on the side of the gun, I don't really understandTreyarch return this year with Cod 7, Black Ops. This action packed game is on of the best COD games so far. It's excellent graphics, thrilling game play and whole new weapon load-out has set the limit for this years games. Plus the epic return of the fantastic "Nazi Zombies". When I first opened Black Ops I noticed the name and counting on the side of the gun, I don't really understand that and I think that the front cover doesn't make a lot of sense because all of the previous COD games all had a picture that refers to a certain scene or a character in the game. But I still think it looks pretty cool. The main menu is very impressive. Your strapped in a chair surrounded by TVs (trying not to spoil for new players) and you are free to look around. The campain has it's high points and low points. The story follows 3 characters and their BO missions and there is even more intel to explore, but the new addition "Dolphin Dive" is pretty pointless unless your the kind of person that likes to run, jump, and dive out of windows 30ft off the ground.
    The Multi-player is extremely fun. With all new killstreaks, weapons, and the new "special weapon". The maps are even better than Modern Warfare and the gameplay has been taken to a whole new level. All the same, domination, team deathmatch, sabotage but ten times better. There is an other addition called combat training where you can play with your friends killing computer operated friends, and the ranks are pretty impressive. In this game there are only 50 ranks in a prestige but there are 15 prestige levels. The titles have changed so you can move all of the details, buy your own pics, layers and colours. I think that this game is a brilliant effort by Treyarch, but before I finish I must mention Nazi Zombies. It's new maps and weapons have never made killing undead Nazis so much fun. There are three maps. A theater, "Five" which is a room in the pentagon and 2 working elevators (it's so much fun leaving a friend on the top floor with 50+ zombies). You can use the lift as much as you want as long as you have 250 points and you must complete the campain to unlock this map. I can't tell you what the third map is because it's hidden. You must find out how to unlock it yourself. All else I can say is that the controls are basically the same, great game and have fun gaming, Chay96
    Expand
  45. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Yes this game is similar to the last one but which games aren't?? This game has BETTER movie clips, graphics and story lines. Some think that because it is a video game it shouldn't have these clips in it but it is a war game that has a story line and if you don't know the story then it all makes no sense. That's what i think they were trying to achieve. The games levels are harder andYes this game is similar to the last one but which games aren't?? This game has BETTER movie clips, graphics and story lines. Some think that because it is a video game it shouldn't have these clips in it but it is a war game that has a story line and if you don't know the story then it all makes no sense. That's what i think they were trying to achieve. The games levels are harder and they still keep it interesting. Expand
  46. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it is one of the best games of the series, if not the best, good graphics and good sound to what I am a great game.
    Is the best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    Expand
  47. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    My current favorite. Not as nice as MW2 but it sure beats anything else out right now. The graphics are alright and I like the new gameplay features. A very good spend of my money and time.
  48. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Best game to date. The campaign never ends while the multiplayer takes the Call of Duty that we know and love to a whole new level. Things that were unfair in MW2, like quickscoping, have been removed to make the experience more fun. Killstreaks are more interactive and rewarding. Wager matches allow for winning to feel that much more good. Overall, I could play non stop
  49. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    This game is by far the best game Iâ
  50. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I have played this game lots and I think itâ
  51. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    The online multi-player game is not the best. Modern Warfare II is a lot better because you have to earn your attachments rather than buying them as in Black Ops. I rate Black Ops a high eight out of ten compared to Modern Warfare II that I rate a solid nine out of ten. Don't be fooled by the exciting campaign mode and the graphics. If I had created Black Ops, I would have kept theThe online multi-player game is not the best. Modern Warfare II is a lot better because you have to earn your attachments rather than buying them as in Black Ops. I rate Black Ops a high eight out of ten compared to Modern Warfare II that I rate a solid nine out of ten. Don't be fooled by the exciting campaign mode and the graphics. If I had created Black Ops, I would have kept the concept of having to earn your attachments. If there is one thing that I like about Black Ops, it's that the Famas is not a three-round burst and that the game has pretty good maps. If they make another Call of Duty, I hope they change the attachments back to having to be earned and make a decent two to four player map. Expand
  52. Dec 6, 2010
    6
    Another entry in the Call of Duty franchise, if that's your thing, and you like the way the series has changed over the years, you know what you are getting into.

    While not "bad", the game is simply average. The single player mode seems to contain one scripted scene after another, to the point that it feels like you are playing a movie. A very exciting and action packed movie granted,
    Another entry in the Call of Duty franchise, if that's your thing, and you like the way the series has changed over the years, you know what you are getting into.

    While not "bad", the game is simply average. The single player mode seems to contain one scripted scene after another, to the point that it feels like you are playing a movie. A very exciting and action packed movie granted, but a movie all the same.

    The standard multiplayer mode is here for people to play and think they enjoy it (but they really don't, they just like the satisfaction that leveling brings) and while it feels different from Modern Warfare 2, in a good way, I couldn't pick out any real improvements.
    Expand
  53. Dec 8, 2010
    8
    Ok for all those people that think mod warfare 2 was a good game get over your selves it was mediocre at best. this game gets the best qualities from modwarfare 2 like gameplay which let's face it is the only thing a game needs to be good and i'll agree the graphics are shocking but that doesn't make a game bad as a result so to all you people raging out there about how bad this game is inOk for all those people that think mod warfare 2 was a good game get over your selves it was mediocre at best. this game gets the best qualities from modwarfare 2 like gameplay which let's face it is the only thing a game needs to be good and i'll agree the graphics are shocking but that doesn't make a game bad as a result so to all you people raging out there about how bad this game is in comparison why don't you go marry the developers of infinity ward games and hey maybe they'll love you for who you are not who you are in comparison with someone else and if you think the game isn't good because of a glitch, it worked for several million other people so stop blaming the game and get an xbox without the red ring. Expand
  54. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    Treyarch has done a fantastic job with the game. Although the singleplayer experience left something to be desired, it was diverting at the very least. Multiplayer is where Black Ops shines. The hardcore fanboys are pissed that a sniper rifle is no longer the best close range weapon in the game and that you can no longer pull off kills with a semi-auto shotgun at sixty yards, but are theseTreyarch has done a fantastic job with the game. Although the singleplayer experience left something to be desired, it was diverting at the very least. Multiplayer is where Black Ops shines. The hardcore fanboys are pissed that a sniper rifle is no longer the best close range weapon in the game and that you can no longer pull off kills with a semi-auto shotgun at sixty yards, but are these things really problems. The fact is that Treyarch actually took the time to go through the game and remove all the janky crap that Infinity Ward decided to put in Modern Warfare 2. If you're looking for a game in which you can run around cleaning out entire rooms with sniper rifle at close range, you should probably stick with old, broken MW2. If you're looking for a more balanced and refined shooter, I would recommend taking a look at Black Ops. Expand
  55. Dec 10, 2010
    7
    Zombies is amazing (and comical). Story is great, although semi-fabricated (I can live with that). Multiplayer is douche-ish, as to be expected. A fine game. I love them level designs as well. Overall, this is the best Call Of Duty game out right now.
  56. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    I don't care what the **** other people say about CoD:BO, it's awesome! Single-player: Complex characters, and an excellent storyline, but it was short, as I beat it in 4 hours. Multi-player: Great character customization and experience system, excellent maps, however the size, and, or course, zombies! The occasional server switching or kicking is annoying, but its only a smallI don't care what the **** other people say about CoD:BO, it's awesome! Single-player: Complex characters, and an excellent storyline, but it was short, as I beat it in 4 hours. Multi-player: Great character customization and experience system, excellent maps, however the size, and, or course, zombies! The occasional server switching or kicking is annoying, but its only a small nuisance. Graphics: Nothing new, but still good. Price: Expensive at $60, but should go down eventually. Overall: One great game. Expand
  57. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    The action is still awesome, as the previous installments, but the story is very shallow and lame, and they replaced the special ops (from MW2) with boring zombie survival missions. Bad move.
  58. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    I've red some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is theI've red some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is the same, but some has been added to it. CP. With XP, you unlock weapons, attachments, emblems, layers (talk about that later) and lots of other things. With CP you buy it. This new system gives some variation in the Call of Duty series. Also there are wager matches. You wage your CP. If you become the first till the third player, your CP will increase. You lose, you'll lose all your CP. Also Combat Training has been added. It's a training with bots fighting against you, you can adjust the difficulty of the bots. And the emblem you have in the multi player, is custom. You choose layers, give them a colour, adjust size and make an emblem. cool isn't it? Zombie mode is also included with Black Ops. Long story short, a lot of new stuff. But now, the downside of this beautiful wonderland. Again, in this game (just as in MW2) there are some overpowered weapons + attachments. The flamethrower for example (yes you can use a flamethrower as attachment) is way too strong. Just one second on fire and you die. not fun. The killcam, as smooth as it was in MW2, now lags as **** Whatever you do, how amazing your computer is, the killcam will always lag. Just at the end, when the kill is being made, you only see three frames of a weapon firing and then the killcam's over. not satisfying if you made the final kill. It only works in combat training. There isn't really a graphic improvement, but that's not really a problem. It's about the game, right? Overall, this game is good if you have some sort of super computer (which i have). But with a regular computer, you're FPS will always stay under 15. Until Treyarch comes with a patch, this game is only fun for the people with a really good computer. My suggestion: buy this game when it has been patched, unless you think you're computer can take it. The score i give this game is based on the experience i had without having lag. With lag, my score would be around a 4.0, since the single player still makes up a lot. Expand
  59. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    This review is mainly based off the multiplayer. I really enjoy the multiplayer a lot more than MW's. So much so, that I can no longet even play MW2. Why? The game is much more balanced. That includes, guns, perks, and killstreaks. It's a lot more fun to play and it never feels unfair.
  60. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    Multilayer only As I believe that the COD series have been a little over hyped lately Treyarch has stuck to the basic formula (kill for xp unlock from xp rinse and repeat) with adding one large exception more customization as more is good it seems as though they had the idea but didn't go as far as they could it is in the middle. All and all it is a fine game if your tired of MW2.
  61. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Despite what other people have said this game is extremely enjoyable. Weather youre doing more scripted over-the-top action sequences in the campaign. Shooting the crap out of endless zombies in zombies mode, or decimating the other team in multi player. This game is a lot of fun. While other people may say its a recycled version of MW2 I say any thing that can keep you entertained for 2Despite what other people have said this game is extremely enjoyable. Weather youre doing more scripted over-the-top action sequences in the campaign. Shooting the crap out of endless zombies in zombies mode, or decimating the other team in multi player. This game is a lot of fun. While other people may say its a recycled version of MW2 I say any thing that can keep you entertained for 2 Whole days!!! is pretty good in my book. Expand
  62. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty: Black Ops definitely contains the most intricate story in the Call of Duty franchise. In addition, stunning graphics and intense game play add to the quality of this game. Unfortunately, the game costs a whopping $60, which is not a reasonable price whatsoever and is not as detailed as Modern Warfare II. Regardless, this game will provide you with a substantial amount ofCall of Duty: Black Ops definitely contains the most intricate story in the Call of Duty franchise. In addition, stunning graphics and intense game play add to the quality of this game. Unfortunately, the game costs a whopping $60, which is not a reasonable price whatsoever and is not as detailed as Modern Warfare II. Regardless, this game will provide you with a substantial amount of entertainment, however, I would advise you wait for the price to decrease before purchasing it. Expand
  63. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    This game is OK. I bought it listening to those little voices in my head saying "This will be the best game of they year!" I get home and well, its not as good as i would of thought. The campaign is amazing! But its just the multi-player that caught my attention. It was almost exactly like MW2. Really close to it. Not enough new guns, and the "customization" sucked. They made it look soThis game is OK. I bought it listening to those little voices in my head saying "This will be the best game of they year!" I get home and well, its not as good as i would of thought. The campaign is amazing! But its just the multi-player that caught my attention. It was almost exactly like MW2. Really close to it. Not enough new guns, and the "customization" sucked. They made it look so good on the trailer, but all you can do is change your guys entire outfit and face paint (witch looked really stupid anyway). I definitely wouldn't of bought this game, but its good for those kind of people that are happy with a game thats almost exactly like they're predecessor. Expand
  64. Dec 23, 2010
    7
    It's alright, the single player is nothing really to get excited about but the multi player AND Zombies rescues it a little bit. It's not worth the money right now but might be worth it when reduced to just above £10, your choice!
  65. Dec 25, 2010
    5
    Overly anticipated let down of the year. Campaign is the only thing keeping me from giving this a zero......The online play was overly ambitious with the interesting wager matches and nice weapon customization, but that certainly doesn't cover up the bland gameplay, graphics, maps, guns, and killstreaks. The game is below mediocre and is popular because it has the "honor" of being brandedOverly anticipated let down of the year. Campaign is the only thing keeping me from giving this a zero......The online play was overly ambitious with the interesting wager matches and nice weapon customization, but that certainly doesn't cover up the bland gameplay, graphics, maps, guns, and killstreaks. The game is below mediocre and is popular because it has the "honor" of being branded as a Call Of Duty game. Expand
  66. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    Wow. One of the most epic games ive ever played. I liked that the environment was always changing, giving each level a different feel. But it still doesn't have the same feel as the origínal modern warfare. Very good story line though, probably the best ive seen since halo 3. Its just the ending i didn't like, it wasn't the sort of ending i was hoping for. Both modern warfare'sWow. One of the most epic games ive ever played. I liked that the environment was always changing, giving each level a different feel. But it still doesn't have the same feel as the origínal modern warfare. Very good story line though, probably the best ive seen since halo 3. Its just the ending i didn't like, it wasn't the sort of ending i was hoping for. Both modern warfare's had a good ending, but black ops really dropped the ball. But the zombie mode is awesome, could play it for days on end. Expand
  67. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    Black Ops is a fine game. It seems a bit recycled from the previous MW2 title. "Customization" feature is meh at best. Although the purchase of perks, weapons and such through experience points is a nice touch. BO is good but not as good as MW2.
  68. Dec 31, 2010
    7
    I was first introduced to the Call of Duty series when I played the first Modern Warfare, and I have played every one of the games released since, so I've had a couple tastes of the works of Infinity Ward and Treyarch. I was hesitant in buying Black Ops because of the horrific multiplayer experience that was offered in World at War (Treyarch's previous game). I began by playing the singleI was first introduced to the Call of Duty series when I played the first Modern Warfare, and I have played every one of the games released since, so I've had a couple tastes of the works of Infinity Ward and Treyarch. I was hesitant in buying Black Ops because of the horrific multiplayer experience that was offered in World at War (Treyarch's previous game). I began by playing the single played which I think was very decent. It is nothing compared to the experience offered in many of the other games available right now, but it is entertaining and has the best plot of the series. After that, I played zombies for a little while which I find extremely fun, as I did in World at War. Zombies can be a bit difficult and confusing to new players, but once you get the feel for it then it is surprising how fun it can be, especially when you're playing with some friends. The only real problem is the connection. It is difficult to find two more players when you have a friend or two in your lobby already, since when it connects you it usually fails in an attempt to migrate the host. When you do get it to work, it is very fun. However zombies does get boring after a point, and that is when I headed into multiplayer. Now, coming into Black Ops multiplayer, I was really only hoping for the fixes to the two problems which had ruined Modern Warfare 2 for me: grenade launchers (and other explosives), and commando. I was pleased to see that they had removed commando and significantly reduced the potency of grenade launchers. Making the killstreaks not build on each other was a much needed change as well, as it makes it much more likely that everyone will be having fun on some level, instead of one person stealing it all. But now I must move on to the topic of fun. With Modern Warfare 2, I really wanted it to be a fun and great game, and it was for a while. But there were some huge issues that arose and ruined it for a ton of people, including me. It just stopped being fun and what's the point in playing a game if you're not having fun? So as I mentioned before, I was very pleased to notice that they had effectively removed the two things that had really ruined the previous game. However, I soon noticed a problem: Black Ops Multiplayer is too similar to Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer (for me anyway). Sure all of the cool customization options are available, and there are lots of new killstreaks, but the gameplay just feels repetitive in some way. It's really as if they took Modern Warfare 2, changed around the guns and maps a bit, added some more customization and the CoDPoints system, and took out the major flaws from before (except for Last Stand/Second chance. They also took out quickscoping which I think is a good thing because it results in less people running their mouths and thinking they're amazing for getting a few lucky shots, but that's just my opinion). What I'm trying to say is, I'm not getting very much fun out of this game now. I feel like Black Ops is the icing that has been added onto the cake of the previous games; it's just becoming too similar.

    So as someone who has been following the series for a few years now, I think I may just be burnt out on the gameplay that is seeming to repeat itself from title to title. And it's a shame that if there is a Modern Warfare 3, it will most likely be horrific, seeing as it will be made by the newer employees at Infinity Ward, and not the originals who made the series as large as it is (they all either left or were fired earlier this year).
    Expand
  69. Jan 1, 2011
    6
    Black Ops is an okay game, in my opinion. I played campaign, it was pretty short, and some things reminded me of MW2. But I didn't play multiplayer, by the looks of what was happening to my brother. The multiplayer looks like crap. He said the guns bounce like crazy, which gets annoying. The hit markers don't help, since you don't know when you're shot too well. Guns are the same as in theBlack Ops is an okay game, in my opinion. I played campaign, it was pretty short, and some things reminded me of MW2. But I didn't play multiplayer, by the looks of what was happening to my brother. The multiplayer looks like crap. He said the guns bounce like crazy, which gets annoying. The hit markers don't help, since you don't know when you're shot too well. Guns are the same as in the others, and some don't even look like real guns, like the G11. Some maps do have cool things with them, like the RC-XD tunnels. But the maps are kind of boring. I think it's safe to say that Black Ops wasn't the best game, since I've played all of them, from Call of Duty 2 to Black Ops. I'm not gonna discriminate on opinion, though. It's an opinion, and that doesn't matter. Unless they take it too far. Expand
  70. Jan 5, 2011
    7
    Well, Treyarch have finally equalled Infinity Ward. The same on-rails Hollywood BS, the same Keystone Cops animations, the same abysmal AI (cool new enemy forward-roll into the MIDDLE of a corridor I'm shooting along?), and the same blah-de-bloody-blah story. The multiplayer (enhanced by 'borrowing' Ideas from such sources as the vastly-superior Halo series), and Zombies modes manage toWell, Treyarch have finally equalled Infinity Ward. The same on-rails Hollywood BS, the same Keystone Cops animations, the same abysmal AI (cool new enemy forward-roll into the MIDDLE of a corridor I'm shooting along?), and the same blah-de-bloody-blah story. The multiplayer (enhanced by 'borrowing' Ideas from such sources as the vastly-superior Halo series), and Zombies modes manage to drag the score up to 7, as the Assassins Creed-a-like, wafer-thin, story mode fails to excite. Next-year's game should definitely just steal the AI from F.E.A.R. and Halo, hand-draw the animations, scrap respawning enemies, and use a game engine that doesn't revert to super-lo-res-patchwork-quilt-mode as soon as you get within 10 feet of an object. Expand
  71. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    A fantastic game. Campaign could be a little better, but the multiplayer is groundbreaking, like all the Call of Duty games. I love how you can buy the guns you want, and all attachments are already available. And you don't have to wait around and do the annoying headshot challenges to get a camo for a certain gun. I own it for PS3, and I will be honest when saying, it is EXTREMELY laggy.A fantastic game. Campaign could be a little better, but the multiplayer is groundbreaking, like all the Call of Duty games. I love how you can buy the guns you want, and all attachments are already available. And you don't have to wait around and do the annoying headshot challenges to get a camo for a certain gun. I own it for PS3, and I will be honest when saying, it is EXTREMELY laggy. It could use an update, but other than that I LOVE this game. I also like the "Dead Ops Arcade" mode in Zombies! Expand
  72. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    Well I just finished the story of Black ops and I must say great job on the story Treyarch.the only reason I didn't give Black ops a 9 or 10 is because the multi player is just a copy of MW 1 and 2,very fun though...
  73. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    The single player campaign was the best that I have played in a CoD game to date! It is short like the other CoD games but very entertaining and had a great setting! The multiplayer has improved a lot with no more spamming nube toobs with scavenger or 80 foot knife lunges. Although the game has fixed many of the flaws from Modern Warfare 2, it has come with a few new ones. It isThe single player campaign was the best that I have played in a CoD game to date! It is short like the other CoD games but very entertaining and had a great setting! The multiplayer has improved a lot with no more spamming nube toobs with scavenger or 80 foot knife lunges. Although the game has fixed many of the flaws from Modern Warfare 2, it has come with a few new ones. It is Treyarch we are talking about, so that means that there are going to be a little more spawn kills than in the Infinity Ward games. Even though the knifing has been fixed with no knife lunges... the knifing in Black Ops is the most broken part of multiplayer. Don't be surprised if you try to knife somebody and it doesn't register and then get blasted 2 seconds later with a shotgun when you are recovering from the stab/ slash, or when you are running around the corner and then somebody slashes when you are 10 feet past them and it registers as a kill. Aside from the minor knife flaws in Multiplayer the game is pretty fun to play... until it's time to trade in when pre-orders come around for the next one! Expand
  74. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    Obviously one of the finest games of the year. Most reviewers or players who aren't capable of stringing together consistently good online stats are going to be frustrated of course. Don't let upset gamers' scores fool you out of buying a strong addition to the Call of Duty series. Although it could use more singleplayer features.
  75. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Great game. The story is good, and the multiplayer is even better. A lot of people complain about having to earn weapons and points, but I love it. It gives you something to look forward to and work towards.
  76. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the worst call of duty and heres why. The multiplayer is soooo boring. i play for 2 minutes and put in mw2. not only that but the story mode sucks theres nothing special about it. zombies is same as waw.
  77. Oct 9, 2011
    1
    A stain on the Call of Duty franchise. A campaign that is short, forgettable and completely ridiculous, and multiplayer that to this day is still plagued with game breaking issues and lacking any kind of spark. Outdated graphics that look years old, and a most empty and hollow experience that left me bored after one week. The only redeeming quality, and the 1 point score of this review, isA stain on the Call of Duty franchise. A campaign that is short, forgettable and completely ridiculous, and multiplayer that to this day is still plagued with game breaking issues and lacking any kind of spark. Outdated graphics that look years old, and a most empty and hollow experience that left me bored after one week. The only redeeming quality, and the 1 point score of this review, is the Zombie mode, which is beginning to lose the originality and unique feel of World at War, and becoming victim to the money hungry Activision, where they believe quantity over quality everyday. The sooner this game is forgotten, the better off the gaming world will be. Expand
  78. Jan 28, 2011
    5
    Wait... Isn't this just the same as all the other call of duty's? The campaign is not worth playing, unless you wan't to be dissapointed. Multi Player is Multi Player which is just as poop as MW2. Zombies is the only thing that saves this game, but does not make worth 50 dollars. Why not pick up AC: Brotherhood, Halo:Reach, or an older title, such as Bioshock or Modern Warfare(the mostWait... Isn't this just the same as all the other call of duty's? The campaign is not worth playing, unless you wan't to be dissapointed. Multi Player is Multi Player which is just as poop as MW2. Zombies is the only thing that saves this game, but does not make worth 50 dollars. Why not pick up AC: Brotherhood, Halo:Reach, or an older title, such as Bioshock or Modern Warfare(the most respectible CoD), or even Fallout 3 game of the year addition. In other words, wait till this is on the clearence rack. Expand
  79. Jan 30, 2011
    6
    There is nothing particularly unique about Black Ops. If you played Modern Warfare 2 or any of CoD's previous installments, you get the idea. Multiplayer is the main selling point, and where you will get the most mileage out of Black Ops, but doesnt do anything much different from previous installments. The maps seem a little more balanced and thought out, campers are much less of aThere is nothing particularly unique about Black Ops. If you played Modern Warfare 2 or any of CoD's previous installments, you get the idea. Multiplayer is the main selling point, and where you will get the most mileage out of Black Ops, but doesnt do anything much different from previous installments. The maps seem a little more balanced and thought out, campers are much less of a problem. As is usual, there are certain weapons and killstreaks you will encounter more than others. Fortunately the developers paid attention to player complaints on the last few games, so no more resupplying claymores, and kills earned through killstreak rewards nolonger count toward unlocking your next killstreak. Other than a little more balancing, multiplayer isnt all that much different from other installments

    I was extremely disappointed with the campaign. I usually take my time with campaigns, not rushing through, and still managed to beat the entire campaign in MAYBE 6 hours with little to no reason (or desire for that matter) to replay the campaign. I imagine the shorter campaign is due to the developers correctly reasoning a majority of players buy the game for multiplayer. I would go as far as to say a lot of people dont bother playing or finishing the campaign. If you liked the previous games, you will like this one. If you were one of the handful of people that didnt like MW2, dont waste your time as it is essentially more of the same.
    Expand
  80. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Story is great; perhaps the best Call of Duty stor.. oh wait MW3 came out. Still pretty good but the graphics are beyond horrendous on a count of the older version of an already dated engine. Multiplayer still does and always will be the worst.

    5 out of 10
  81. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    I've got to say, this is exactly what MW2 wasn't. There is much less gay stuff in multiplayer (why carry a gun in MW2?), noob tubes have been toned down, and perks are fewer and much more balanced. I like the money system and how I can buy any perk I want and any gun attachment, while still having to level up to unlock guns. Graphics haven't changed, but that's ok with me because I preferI've got to say, this is exactly what MW2 wasn't. There is much less gay stuff in multiplayer (why carry a gun in MW2?), noob tubes have been toned down, and perks are fewer and much more balanced. I like the money system and how I can buy any perk I want and any gun attachment, while still having to level up to unlock guns. Graphics haven't changed, but that's ok with me because I prefer a high framerate to textures. As for campaign, some may call it farfetched, but it made more sense than the one in MW2. At least they explain everything, but it is short. I also like how it rewards those who played WAW. No complaints other than the short campaign. Expand
  82. Feb 8, 2011
    8
    Visually very refreshing experience. Good weapon responses.
    No proper co-op mode; Only objective is to survive the zombies. Wave-defence; If and when the objective fails; Wave 1 with the same **** room all over again. One point off.
    Really good improvement from MW2 to the campaing. While at it. Campaing was very colorful, a lot more details and improvements in areas. Still, found it too
    Visually very refreshing experience. Good weapon responses.
    No proper co-op mode; Only objective is to survive the zombies. Wave-defence; If and when the objective fails; Wave 1 with the same **** room all over again. One point off.
    Really good improvement from MW2 to the campaing. While at it. Campaing was very colorful, a lot more details and improvements in areas. Still, found it too short, if a game can be played through in one night, its too short. One point off.

    Score (8.0)
    Expand
  83. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    'Allright then,who am I?'
    'American spec-ops?Check'
    'Who am I killing today?Zombies,Commies,Terrorists or Nazi's?'
    'Terrorists again?Ok,damn. I wanted Aliens this time,I'd show them who's boss'
    'Didn't i do this last year?I did?'
    Meh.
    Almost single handedly destroying the FPS.
  84. Nov 14, 2012
    3
    If you or your kid have been diagnosed with ADHD (Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder) or Kalnienk vision disorder this game is designed especially for YOU ! This is not the Black Ops game you were hoping for... This is Super Turbo Edition ! Treyarch came to the conclusion medium size maps are boring and not engaging enough.Play area has been shrinked significantly (on most of theIf you or your kid have been diagnosed with ADHD (Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder) or Kalnienk vision disorder this game is designed especially for YOU ! This is not the Black Ops game you were hoping for... This is Super Turbo Edition ! Treyarch came to the conclusion medium size maps are boring and not engaging enough.Play area has been shrinked significantly (on most of the maps) to accommodate extremely engaging close quarters play-stile of spawn chuck a grenade and then either kill something or get killed by whatever flew out of opposite side. Every map has been build around simple principle of tiny area and 3 corridors to flow the gameplay in the middle left and right side. I dont care about single player or will be talking about it but I assure you its Michael Bay style showcase from killing Vietcong soldiers, wing-suit flying all the way to some idiotic command and conquer RTS style mini-missions 0_o why ? I don't know... and YES ! There is dubstep, because every game in 2012 needs some of that wub wub. The only redeeming factor could be zombies, but why would you be willing to pay full price for it when there are more engaging brain eating themed games available for a lot less (L4D series) So far I've spend 5 hours in online battles and had no fun at all ! I'll try to sell this game by the end of the week or trade with somebody for something else. Meantime I'm going back to battlefield, maybe I won't have shiny 60 frames per second but at least game is not forcing me to have fun doing escapades inside rat maze size of a shoe box ! Expand
  85. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    Call of Duty Black Ops was one of my most wanted FPS games ever, until I bought the game, the whole game is absolutely rubbish.

    The story isn't great (not surprisingly), I won't spoil anything for any new comers to Black Ops or the Franchise but I will say you will be disappointed or if you don't care about the story then you shouldn't have any problem. (This game is nominated in BAFTA
    Call of Duty Black Ops was one of my most wanted FPS games ever, until I bought the game, the whole game is absolutely rubbish.

    The story isn't great (not surprisingly), I won't spoil anything for any new comers to Black Ops or the Franchise but I will say you will be disappointed or if you don't care about the story then you shouldn't have any problem. (This game is nominated in BAFTA VGA for best story, how!?)
    The gameplay is mostly the same as the other past games but with a few tweaks to the gameplay which is very Minor.
    This game is also very intense, Lot's of explosions, grenades going off, your allies shouting. This isn't one of the best in the Series.

    The online mode is what really shines the most. The online is decent, new weapons, killstreaks, equipment and minor gameplay tweaks. But even the online play is not good, I feel it's just getting old and boring. But the best part of the game is zombies, a return from World at war, but it has a lack of maps to play on but with the New first strike adds an extra map but it's not enough.

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is kind of decent to play, I regret buying it but I do go back to play it and it may get better when more map packs are released. Not a must buy for new comers or even fans but try it.
    Expand
  86. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Both the multiplayer maps and the campaign of Black Ops are weaker than its predecessor, even if its plot is slightly more interesting. Graphics are also slightly worse this time around. However, the inclusion of zombie modes and dead ops arcade mean that this is a game bursting with content. The Call of Duty formula remains enjoyable but this is not a must buy.
  87. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game all in all. Much like others in the COD series, and actually addressed some of the more prominent complaints about MW2, like seemingly unlimited tubing, quickscoping, boosting, and glitching. I give Treyarch a lot of credit for staying on top of the game as it has developed in the marketplace, patching where they see the need develop, and having in game bans for those whoNot a bad game all in all. Much like others in the COD series, and actually addressed some of the more prominent complaints about MW2, like seemingly unlimited tubing, quickscoping, boosting, and glitching. I give Treyarch a lot of credit for staying on top of the game as it has developed in the marketplace, patching where they see the need develop, and having in game bans for those who have been reported for boosting. I've traded my copy in after 4 months however, as the game has become stale. Where this game falls short is in its lack of complexity. However flawed, MW2 was pretty complex and difficult, and prestiging for non-cheaters took quite a bit of effort. Black Ops came with maps that were small and linear (even in the First Strike pack - aside from Discovery), and presitging was quite easy. Hit marking was seriously flawed as well.
    Anyhow; I enjoyed Black Ops while I had it. It was a solid game, but even running different patterns on small, linear maps gets old pretty quickly.
    Expand
  88. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Well its good and i'll give it that, it ties everything the call of duty franchise has with a pretty bow and has chucked in what every call of duty fan wanted. I would say though before i rant about how good it is, do not get it if you havent got xbox live gold it is a waste of money. So back to the rant, zombies is a robust package and a blast with people you know and dont. I have madeWell its good and i'll give it that, it ties everything the call of duty franchise has with a pretty bow and has chucked in what every call of duty fan wanted. I would say though before i rant about how good it is, do not get it if you havent got xbox live gold it is a waste of money. So back to the rant, zombies is a robust package and a blast with people you know and dont. I have made around twenty friends just playing zombies and my aspiration is to reach number one on ascension but i do have to say at round thirty when it last half an hour to get to round thirty-one you do get bored so i admire you glitchers for your patience. That then of course brings me onto the glitches, oh so many! each zombie map has one and even a few multiplayer ones but i wont spread them around. I must say the campaign story is a pile of **** at only seven hours or six for me, the only reason i finished it was for the bonus zombie map because i hate cheating. The multiplayer is where it stands out though, everything MW2 had and more, the sounds with my turtle beaches are awesome and the graphics are stunning in 1080p, this has to be the best COD ever for me, i hope then next carries everything this has onto it. Expand
  89. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Call of Duty Black Ops, is another great game in the Call of Duty series, although some things could be changed.

    The campaign was great, you met up with some old friends, you got some new tech and weapons, and you even got to use some other cool gadgets inside the campaign. The campaign even had a twist to it which made the story line even more greater and made you think. The multiplayer
    Call of Duty Black Ops, is another great game in the Call of Duty series, although some things could be changed.

    The campaign was great, you met up with some old friends, you got some new tech and weapons, and you even got to use some other cool gadgets inside the campaign. The campaign even had a twist to it which made the story line even more greater and made you think.

    The multiplayer was alright, but it could be better. It felt like almost all the other Multiplayers on other Call of Duty games but with different weapons, different maps, and different kill streaks. But it did add some new cool features including the Dolphin dive, or the prone dive. It even added more customization into the playercard, the player models, and the guns, but the multiplayer did feel the same and a little old.
    Expand
  90. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    Entertaining multiplayer and certainly the best yet, but shocking single player has let this game down as a whole, no where near as entertaining as previous outings.
  91. Mar 23, 2011
    5
    Frankly the singleplayer is just crap. Despite the several slightly different environments you get to play in everything looks and feels about the same because of gameplay that never evolves and a totally boring color palette that also never changes. I could care less if it's longer since it's just more time to not be having any fun at all. The multiplayer is good - in theory. What thatFrankly the singleplayer is just crap. Despite the several slightly different environments you get to play in everything looks and feels about the same because of gameplay that never evolves and a totally boring color palette that also never changes. I could care less if it's longer since it's just more time to not be having any fun at all. The multiplayer is good - in theory. What that theory doesn't include is HOST ADVANTAGE which I absolutely guarantee will haunt every match you ever play with instantaneous deaths, invulnerable enemies, and spawn camping - camping -camping. Camper friendly perks, guns, maps, everything. Balance? No one who honestly plays this game could possibly find it balanced. Zombies is a slightly redeeming quality if there were more than 2 maps and 1 that you have to burn and unnecessary $15 to get as DLC (not including the dead ops arcade which is fun but super limited). At this point you have to face the truth, which is that Activision is publishing CoD for money, not the buyer. If it wasn't for wasting money on so many of their games I wouldn't have known how this was possible, but here's the answer. Activision uses the following to get buyers - promising to deliver on past greatness (CoD 4) - Promising to fix problems - Establishing a forum for people to communicate to the developers But none of these things matter because - Activision refuses to release a new game for fear that they could alter what they view to be the golden formula - Actually building the game with problems so they can claim to have something to fix when it's time for another sequel - Activision's money lust has proven that they don't give a rat's ass about the community so have fun banging your head against a wall in the forums
    here's the fact, if you want Activision to start caring about their community, then you have the power to do so, it's called a boycott.
    when the next CoD comes out, you simply don't buy it because Activision is not delivering the goods promised. When Activision finally gets beat over the head by a lack of sales, then they'll get their ape-like brains to build a connection between profit and respecting the community. On the other hand, if you DO purchase the next CoD and it turns out the same way, then you're rewarding their behavior of **** the CoD franchise for profit. I want to see CoD return to it's former glory but that's just not happening under the lordship of the Activision pig.
    Expand
  92. Mar 27, 2011
    5
    when I first heard about the premise behind this COD installment, I was very, VERY interested. I'm one for the cool conspiracy theory storyline. The undercover and subterfugal feeling that I got throughout playing was awesome, and I genuinely did enjoy the story, even though it was terribly short. Then I went online. Utter garbage. To this day, there always seems to be more of an onus onwhen I first heard about the premise behind this COD installment, I was very, VERY interested. I'm one for the cool conspiracy theory storyline. The undercover and subterfugal feeling that I got throughout playing was awesome, and I genuinely did enjoy the story, even though it was terribly short. Then I went online. Utter garbage. To this day, there always seems to be more of an onus on the multiplayer element, and still nothing has beaten COD4 for the fun and style, in my opinion. I have been attempting to play on veteran mode, having done the previous titles with some effort, but this one takes the mickey. I agree @ColdSpike, it is a shocking display for upping the difficulty of a game by simply throwing a thousand enemies at you, all of which are throwing grenades, and then changing the points where the game hits a checkpoint so they are too few and far between to bother with playing. The only thing saving this title is the actual storyline, which still could have done with more development...oh and zombies. Just for a laugh. Expand
  93. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the best outings in the famed cod franchise. Whilst opinion has seemed to divide the community on this game, I think that any fan of this series would be missing out if they don't give the game a fair go. In regards to the single player campaign, you will be drawn into the action from the opening moments- and the pacing throughout the game that never let's upThis game is by far one of the best outings in the famed cod franchise. Whilst opinion has seemed to divide the community on this game, I think that any fan of this series would be missing out if they don't give the game a fair go. In regards to the single player campaign, you will be drawn into the action from the opening moments- and the pacing throughout the game that never let's up from this point. Whilst the single player campaign makes no major innovations, you will know what you are in for as it is COD as it is known and loved by so many!

    Multiplayer is where the meat is at for most gamers these days, and for myself- at 12 days played, it has been the most Addictive and fun filled online ride since COD4! as a gamer, we all want value for money, and this mode is testament to the amount of entertainment value one can get out of a game with such high production values. Innovations in this area includes much greater customization options over previous COD titles, as well as a greater freedom in how you unlock these customisatins. A form of online currency has also been introduced as a means to purchase equipment etc, as well as to wager on matches with other players

    Last but not least the extensive Zombies mode returns!

    Highly addictive, huge replayability and great value for money
    Expand
  94. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 8/10 Sound: 4/10 (Toy Guns) Graphics: 7/10 (outdated engine)
    Campaign: 5/10 (cheap non-stop action)
    Multiplayer: 7/10 (level up system and perks raise unstable online experiences score slightly) overall interesting game, fun for an arcade shooter, easy to "pick up n' play" but nothing that can sustain me for more than 2 hours at a time. Clear host advantage when
    Gameplay: 8/10 Sound: 4/10 (Toy Guns) Graphics: 7/10 (outdated engine)
    Campaign: 5/10 (cheap non-stop action)
    Multiplayer: 7/10 (level up system and perks raise unstable online experiences score slightly)

    overall interesting game, fun for an arcade shooter, easy to "pick up n' play" but nothing that can sustain me for more than 2 hours at a time. Clear host advantage when online and poor team balancing (looks at immediate score rather than user kdr). worth picking up only if your a devout COD fan
    Expand
  95. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    Black Ops is not necessarily a horrible game, in fact it can be really fun sometimes, but there are some issues that are too bit to let this game be better. The first issue is the campaign, which clearly takes the idea of 'constant extreme action' from MW2 way too far. Every mission has slow motion that is so over the top it seems stupid, and they all have unbelievable events such asBlack Ops is not necessarily a horrible game, in fact it can be really fun sometimes, but there are some issues that are too bit to let this game be better. The first issue is the campaign, which clearly takes the idea of 'constant extreme action' from MW2 way too far. Every mission has slow motion that is so over the top it seems stupid, and they all have unbelievable events such as riding a motorcycle out of a building and then jumping onto a moving train at 100 mph, and while they look cool, they will make you say "Really Treyarch?" The story is confusing, but it is fairly good, especially by the end of the story where everything comes together, and it should be interesting to see how the MW series will link to this series, but one issue i have is with Reznov. The hardened and old WW2 character from World at War is back somehow, and his return simply screams that they only had him return as a stupid, cheesy story arch. However his story is still quite good, and also quite good for a shooters story. However the campaign gameplay suffers heavily, in the way that it simply is not fun. In this, even more so then the previous Call of Duty games, it is simply going around the next corner and shooting the same enemies, often with the same guns. It feels as if every mission is exactly the same, and it seems Treyarch thought they could bring in variety by adding 'explosions' and 'slow motion' almost everywhere, but it doesn't work. And of course, the horrible length of the game is simply too small to almost even call it a full campaign. Perhaps if they didn't have activision up their ass to make it an annual release, they would not have such issues and they would be able to actually work on a quality release. The multiplayer side is a different story however. It has issues of course, some very bad actually, but for the most part the new things that Treyarch brought were good. The wager matches are great fun, with games such as Gun Game and One in the Chamber, they are unique and even technically have a meaning. Their called Wager matches because you wage money, if you get onto the top 3 you get a new thing called 'CoD Points', which are important because their now used to buy almost everything equipment-wise after you unlock it. However the biggest issue, as it was in MW2, is the Multiplayer simply has too many balancing and camping issues. Its obvious that the maps support campers by having many little nooks and crannies where someone can hide and kill, and the balancing issues are, at this point, too severe. There are simply too many guns that are clearly better than all the other guns, and the fact that higher level characters get the guns first makes the game hard and unfair to the lower levels. The guns are all supposed to be equal, however they seemed to abandon that theory with Black Ops, and made guns such as the Famas and Commando so overpowered that they seem unstoppable. Also, the Killstreaks are ridiculous and beyond just overpowered. The guy with the highest amounts of kills can get things such as a radar map which shows the direction enemies are facing, or they can go into a Gatling gun which can kill everyone on the map twice, and even a nuke at 25 kills which ends the game, meaning the person with the most kills simply gets MORE kills because he has so many kills. Its all very disappointing from the series which produced Call of Duty 4, and its even more disturbing that even after MW2 had very similar issues, Treyarch did not listen. The graphics, for lack of a better word, need to be a bit redone. They do look good, and at some points fantastic, but there has been literally nothing done since MW2, and the things they could do now that far more graphically superior games have been coming out such as Crysis 2 and Witcher 2, are endless. Overall i give the game a 5, the campaign has a good story with a few faults, but quite bad gameplay, and the multiplayer is fun, but unfair, unbalanced, and ridiculous. Expand
  96. Jun 4, 2011
    1
    boring, terrible gameplay. hope MW3 is better.
  97. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Yet again Treyarch tries to compete with Infinity Ward as the best developer of the Call of Duty franchise. Black Ops is obviously much better then their previous game, World at War but like the latter, Black Ops just contrasts too much with the original Modern Warfare series we all play and love. The balance in Black Ops is much better then Modern Warfare 2 but the addictiveness severelyYet again Treyarch tries to compete with Infinity Ward as the best developer of the Call of Duty franchise. Black Ops is obviously much better then their previous game, World at War but like the latter, Black Ops just contrasts too much with the original Modern Warfare series we all play and love. The balance in Black Ops is much better then Modern Warfare 2 but the addictiveness severely lacks. For many players the only reason they haven't lost the Black Ops disc is probably due to Nazi Zombies. Nazi Zombies alone I give this game an overall score of 8/10. Without it I would give it a 6.5/10 Expand
  98. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    I must not be the only one that thinks this is getting old. More Call of Duty = More of the same. Not much has changed since Modern Warfare. Black ops is a solid game and I spent quite of bit of time playing it, but they need to show me something special before I pick up Modern Warfare 3. The graphics haven't improved much neither. Crysis 2 and Battlefield Bad Company 2 looks a lotI must not be the only one that thinks this is getting old. More Call of Duty = More of the same. Not much has changed since Modern Warfare. Black ops is a solid game and I spent quite of bit of time playing it, but they need to show me something special before I pick up Modern Warfare 3. The graphics haven't improved much neither. Crysis 2 and Battlefield Bad Company 2 looks a lot better. When are buildings in Call of Duty going to become destructible, or the maps become more fleshed out and more interactive. Windows break and thats about it. The effects from explosions and gunfire aren't very impressive. This game is recycled bits and pieces from World at War and Modern Warfare. Which really isn't a bad thing, I'm just trying to find out what is new besides the maps. Zombies don't do anything for me and if I wanted to kill zombies I would play Left 4 Dead or Resident Evil or something similar. Paying $15 for 3 maps and a zombie map is ridiculous. Call of Duty needs to be remodeled, reinvented, renewed, it needs more than a face lift by November. We want innovation from the best selling shooter of this gen. Maybe the developers that are making the next Call of Duty will take some risks and surprise us. I hope so for the gamers sake. Expand
  99. Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Overrated guns are terrible, Online is terrible. You die too easily. People are dumbasses calling it "Best Call of Duty game" It's second to worst after World at War.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A short campaign which is never spectacular and never very clever, but always solid enough. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    By dint of obstinacy, Treyarch delivers probably its best with Black Ops Call of Duty to date - but probably not the best in the saga.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!