User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1279 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Ha, I find it totally hilarious how people say that the reviews are bribed because they aren't good at the game. They do bad, get angry, and then smash the industry for giving the game good reviews. That's what the angry do these days, write bad reviews (such as ebay, this website, amazon, RT). Well guess what, I would probably give this game a 9, but that would be biased as I HAVE NOT FINISHED THE GAME YET!!! And I bet most people who did put reviews haven't finished it either. The people saying the video game industry is corrupt are basically talking about themselves. Expand
  2. DME
    Jul 22, 2011
    8
    The campain was nothing short of epic. It had a great story, interesting characters (Reznov was my favorite), and plenty of variety. Zombies is back and better than ever. But it has it's letdowns... No highscores for offline or private match play. So if I get to round 42 on Solo, nobody is gonna believe me unless I take a picture of the TV screen and show it to them in person. It also takes to long to find a match for Zombies. But Kino Der Toten is an instant classic and the dialogue (while repetetive) is hilarious. What's left? The heart and soul of Call of Duty... multiplayer. I am happy to say that Black Ops has the best multiplayer of any CoD game I've ever played. Everything (well, mostly everything) is balanced. Perks are well thought out. Weapon choices and attatchments are good. The sniper rifles are no longer over-powered. My only gripe is the FAMAS. The FAMAS is the most popular weapon because it is too accurate for the damage is does. Take away two bars of accuracy from the FAMAS and all weapons are balanced. Private Matches can be customized to a surprising extent. Maps are exceptionaly designed, but sometimes visualy-unappealing. And the 4 new Wager Match modes delivered even more fun. Killstreaks are better, but I wish there was more interactivity with some of them (eg. Attack Helicopters and Attack Dogs). I also wish we had the Predator Drone back. But the best thing about multiplayer is that Treyarch is keeping the place clean of hackers (yes, you may stumble upon one or two). The game is free of glitches (due to frequent updates), and has fast matchmaking. Overall, you can't go wrong with Black Ops. This really feels like a great end to the CoD series. But we all know Activison won't stop until they lose their customers. And after this, I don't think it will be happening soon. Expand
  3. Lrg
    Nov 20, 2010
    8
    I do happen to enjoy the Multiplayer a lot more than mw2. weapons and perks are more balanced and the maps are very diverse but the lag and TERRIBLE kniving make it somewhat frustrating at times . As for the campaign, I felt it was just playing any other Call of Duty game but in a different era. Although I do applaud the great voice acting and amazing framerate, not that the graphics are pushing any boundaries; but the gameplay and story didnt put me in a mode to where I just had to keep playing. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    It's a much better game than Modern Warfare 2, but it doesn't really feel as fresh as it probably should. The new additions Treyarch made don't really help the gameplay much, and seeing as most people have played MW2 to death, there's really no reason for anyone other than hardcore COD fans to buy Black Ops.
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    The weak and twitchy single-player - with many of the same old flaws - almost undermines all of the superb extra features and pretty much flawless multiplayer offering. Veterans and regular players still have the advantage over newcomers, but with Combat Training and the Zombie mode, there is plenty of fun to be had for even the most inexperienced players. Black Ops isn
  6. Nov 11, 2010
    8
    Ah, franchise annualization. Black Ops' campaign is just as satisfying as Modern Warfare 2's - you won't be doing as many interesting things, but it is longer, self-contained, and more cogent. There's a Zombie Mode and a top-down shooter thrown in for good measure, but neither are as fun as MW2's Spec Ops Mode. The multiplayer feels lacking - from levels 16 to 29 (6 hours of play-time) I didn't change a single loadout - so while I was unlocking items in MW2 for months, I had experienced 80% of the items in multiplayer within a few hours. The guns have much more recoil to boot, so mid- to long-range combat is more of a dice roll than with Infinity Ward's last game. Black Ops is a good game, but not as necessary a purchase as Modern Warfare 2 was. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Black Ops is thoroughly Call of Duty, and as such there are some truly thrilling and fun moments in the campaign. That being said there are some lingering issues that really hold this game back. 1. The A.I. is just terrible. I know COD has never been accused of having great A.I. but Black Ops really seems to make it worse. There are numerous times where your allies and enemies will simply ignore each other.. I've witnessed an A.I. teammate and enemy literally standing back to back firing in opposite directions, completely oblivious to the others presence. You'll see your teammates run right past enemies, I mean they'll pass each other on a narrow pathway without even a nod. It's just weird, and it happens frequently enough that you can't help but notice it and feel disappointed.

    2. Instant deaths... I don't know if the enemy headshot percentages were boosted or what but I found myself dying inexplicably a number of times during the campaign. As in other CODs once you start taking hits the screen starts turning red until you can't hardly see and then die. Generally you have a pretty good idea of how much punishment you can take before you die. But in Black Ops I found myself going from perfectly fine to dead instantly. And the game always tells you if you die from a grenade or exploding barrel or something like that, so I know that's not the issue. The only thing I can come up with is that I was hit in the head, but if that's the case then the enemies accuracy must have really been cranked up. Either way it becomes incredibly frustrating when you die out of nowhere, and it's not something that I've witnessed happening in any of the other CODs.

    3. The Story...it's not terrible, but it's not very original either. I was interested at first, there's an air of mystery, but once I realized where the story was going I just found myself going through the motions to finish the game. The game treats the big reveal like a shocking surprise, but really, you saw it coming a few levels back. That's not to say the last few levels are bad, they're actually very good, and the final level is great, it's just the story that accompanies it fizzles out by that point.

    Then there's the multiplayer....think of it as a huge map pack for Modern Warfare 2. If you didn't know the maps you'd have a hard time knowing which one was which if you were watching them side-by-side. I almost wish they'd gone back to WWII just for the multiplayer. At least then it would feel distinct. World at War had its own style that I really enjoyed, so I was a bit disappointed when I first saw Blacks Ops multiplayer in action. It's good. It has some great new modes and the wager matches are a fine idea. COD points are a nice touch for upgrading your equipment the way YOU want to instead of everyone at say level 35 having the same things unlocked. So overall I think it is an improvement over Modern Warfare 2 and I'll certainly spend many hours playing.

    Black Ops is great package, and will certainly keep you occupied until the next COD lands, but for me, this is the first time I've played a COD game and thought, "I could've probably skipped this one and never really regretted it."
    Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    What did Treyarch do with all the Hardcore modes? Also, why do I have to wait until level 19 to play Hardcore? I know it's only 19 levels, but playing on Hardcore on previous CoD installments has made me accustomed to that style of play. So I play 19 levels (screaming "!#$@ Core!" countless times) and unlock Hardcore just to find out there are only 3 modes: S&D, Team Deathmatch and FFA. WTF? Where's HQ? No Ricochet modes in Hardcore at all? I give it a 7 because it's great fun (like most CoD games) and the soundtrack is awesome (reminds me of Dynasty Warriors). I also like the purchasing of attachments so you don't have to sift through a pile of **** just to get the one you want. All in all it's a great game so far I just hope to God they add more Hardcore modes. Expand
  9. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Let me just say,go back to 2007 call of duty 4 and play it.You will see a core of the same things there.There is still playing that game,thousands online after all this time and it is mid 2011 now.That is why COD 4 and COD 4 II won so many awards and are so good.I'm not going to be bias and knock it harshly on the review side over that but you can see my point.Black ops has an awesome campaign,great multiplayer,great graphics,ect..but for one I would rather put in COD MW 2 any time of the day and there is still up to 100,000 playing that game online and for being a 2009 game that is where you see some of the brilliance behind it.Black ops is a solid 8 but the two before it were perfect 10's so go figure. Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING GAME. This is what modern warfare 2 wanted to be, a great game all around. The single player is nothing short of heart stopping, the multiplayer is at least 10 times better than mw2 and i still have no idea how you people dont like this game!
  11. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    Call of duty black ops has a FANTASTIC campaign that will never bore you, an insanly fun zombies mode and on ok multiplayer. Let's start with the campaign, in my opinion it has one of the best campaigns in the series. It may not be the most realistic thing in the world but who gives a **** Personally i loved the story, i love the gameplay and i can honestly say the campaign competes with the campaign in cod4. Zombies is fun but only on 1 map maybe 2. Kino is by far the best zombie map in the game and then theres five and i mean five is ok but you can't get past round 15 without all 4 players in the lobby having ray guns and heavy duty upgraded machine guns ex. rpk, hk21 etc, or glitching on top of something. the other map accension is just bad. Now what trey arch did with the multiplayer is they took all the complaints from MW2 and "fixed them". They didn't want any of the guns over powered so they pretty much made every gun have the same damage. They didn't really add anything new to the cod expierience which is a shame because of all the hype about black ops. They didn't really have any original kill streaks besides the RC-XD and the black bird other wise all the other kill streaks have been done either in a cod game or a different shooter. THE VERDICT: If you are interested in an insane campaign or a survival game i suggest picking this up. How ever if you wanted something new with the multiplayer your probably better off with MW2, but if you are a cod loving fan atic and you are going to play the multiplayer if your good at it or not you will probably be satisfied with the game! Expand
  12. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    This doesn't surprise me, since I saw it coming for a long time. Long story short: Black Ops is practically the same thing as MW2. I hated MW2. So, why should I be surprised?
  13. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Bottom line, if you've 10th prestiged in MW2, chances are you love that game, and are not gonna like Black Ops. Black Ops is a perfect game. So much options in multiplayer, so many different game modes, so much to unlock. It plays awesomely. I keep hearing :"they've copied MW2." Isn't that what happened from MW1 to MW2? W/e. You can't please anyone. Change it, people get mad, keep it the same, people get mad. Hey everyone, spoiler here......it plays like a Call of Duty game should......nuff said. Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2010
    6
    I hope everyone enjoys broke ass servers, laughable spawning, and a cliche campaign. If so your in the right place. If not you'll probably stop playing the campaign at Khe Sahn. When you quit to multiplayer you'll try to connect with your pals but oh no we can't all get in a game together. Next you'll be by yourself in a game. Maybe I'll snipe you'll say. Nope, says treyarch we nerfed sniping cause nuke boosters along with other **** **** about it. How about a shotgun, Oh please! Pros: map balance, emblem customization, rc car killstreak, crossbow, prison break mission, and dead ops arcade. Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Great and deep, well put together and unique, on the other hand it is more COD and not much is to different. So dont expect a new revelation as apposed to a build on a great pre exsisting franchise. The single player is a little hyper active, almost to the point of stressful. At one point I drove a motorcycle through a prison camp shooting people wiht a shot gun then hijacked a truck only to dive from said truck onto a moving train! Yeah a little much... But online definately worth the money. Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This game is AMAZING. Graphics, Music, Gameplay, Voice Acting - all perfect. The multiplayer is as challenging and rewarding as ever, though it may seem a bit jarring considering certain changes (to perks for example). The story mode is a rush, with barely any break in the action. The constantly changing set pieces keep a fast pace while jumping between classic Vietnam to slightly more modern scenery. Its unfortunate that Call of Duty haters are too stubborn to pick up a copy of Black Ops and embrace it for what it is. 10/10 Expand
  17. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Call of duty black ops is a great game, after ordering it from amazon it arrived just before i had to go to work but as soon as i got home I played it a lot the multiplayer is great as always the single player is not great but not bad either and it is worth playing the campaign but the multiplayer is the best part.
  18. Mar 23, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty Black Ops doesn't do much to advance the series or change up the 'winning formula' that Call of Duty 4 established. Developed by Treyarch, they have once again made only refinements to the multi-player experience. The removal of juggernaut and stopping power perks is a good idea, as well as toning the kill-streaks down. But there's still some questionable decisions. RC-XD and second chance being the main negatives of the multi-player experience. Luckily, there are lobbies to avoid the nuisance of the aforementioned perks. The ability to go split-screen online is a massive bonus, and the 2 zombie maps included are good for a few hours. The campaign was poor and although slightly longer than Modern Warfare 2, it was boring and generic **** and with no ability to play the game any differently to the millions who have likely played it. Nonetheless, the content including multi-player and zombies, including the top-down Dead Ops, are all decent but fail to break any new ground for the series. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    This is definitely a great game. i am espescially surprised at how well Treyarch did with the campaign. it was one og the funnest that i have played in years. and multiplayer as always, is amazing. i also like the new zombie mode.
  20. Jan 27, 2011
    3
    Oh my... I'll write in short and simple lines what i think. This game is ugly and sucks. The campaign is the wrost of all, weapons as well, Multiplayer is simple Camper wars. The only thing cool here is zombies coop.
  21. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    This is a great game, i did not like World at War, but treyarch has definetly cleaned up. the campain is amazing the multiplayer is just as good, zombies are back and its the best looking call of duty to date, the reason i i dont give it a 10 though is because its just missing that chemistry between character and story line or somthing that i cant very well put my finger on, but that the Modern warfares possess that make you wanna say "OH SH*T:D" isnt here but, by golly its a darn good game Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2010
    7
    The solo campaign is short but well made but its the multiplayer and zombies that people really buy this game for. Sure it's alot like MW2 but thats no bad thing in my opinion. Its an improvement on an excellent game.
  23. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    This is a review coming from someone that has beaten the entire game and has played about 20+ hours of the multi-player as well.
    When I first started playing Black Opts, I wasn't sure if I even liked it or not. I bought it mainly to play with a friend online that lives out of town. I also knew that the hype surrounding the game was so large, that I had to take everything with a grain of
    salt.
    Well, I must say, after beating the single player campaign and starting to play the online modes including zombies, I must say that this game is well worth the money spent on it. The level of custimization in this game is great and if you don't jump to any conclusions and adapt to the gameplay in multi-player you will have lots of fun. This is definately a game that you will have to work hard at multi-plauer in, as this game keeps the momentum moving forward and doesn't allow for much camping and stagnant fights. There will be blood. So, after getting a little better at the game, I was having even more fun and enjoing unlocking all the features and cusomizing my player tag. I usually always try to make sure I have played a game a good deal and beaten it before I have reviewed it. So here you have it from someone that has actually put a good amount of hours into it. If you do not like online multi-player however, I would say that is where all the value is in this game. Games like MW2 definately had better campaigns.
    Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Easily my favorite Call of Duty, definitely after the lack of depth in MW2, the graphics are a bit of a step back I think from MW2, but in no way interfere with the game.
  25. Jan 19, 2011
    5
    Campaign: Very short around 3.5-4 hours but that's to be expected with the COD series. The storyline itself was alright but nothing groundbreaking. The game play was meh nothing you haven't seen in previous COD titles.

    Graphics: Are not up to par. That's as nice as I can put it. There were times when some objects took a while to render (for me anyway). Multiplayer: More of the same with a
    few added features. Nothing really new here.

    Zombie mode: Good addition. Everybody loves killing some zombies.

    My conclusion is that this game does not have enough new substance and what substance it does have does not warrant a $65 purchase. Please save your money! I'm thankful I got it for a Christmas gift.
    Expand
  26. Jun 29, 2011
    1
    The game has not changed at all since the last release, and is unlikely to change in the next. The areas are bland and boring, the textures and graphics look outdated and the maps are uninspired. The storyline may as well not exist, but it's even more insulting that it thinks it is good. If you buy this game, you buy it for the multiplayer, and even that isn't great. Regenerating health still makes me hate this entire franchise. The one redeemable thing about this game is the zombies mode, which multiplayer is actually quite fun; however, it's very limited and doesn't have much lasting appeal. Expand
  27. Mar 26, 2011
    6
    I'm a little disappointed that the Call of Duty franchise has hit a point in the series' history where any subpar developer can slap the words "Call of Duty" on the front cover and it will become the most successful selling game of all time. Yes, Black Ops is still an excellent game, but I'm giving it a 6 because the game had a ridiculous amount of hype and yet, it delivered absolutely nothing new or inspiring to the table. As another user critic said, the game is doing nothing except receive a piggy back ride from Modern Warfare 2. If Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2 switched release dates, MW2 would be the best selling game of all time. You could not tell the difference between which game was released first. The only reason that Black Ops is as successful as it is, is because of one reason: it is more new. I am not exaggerating this when I say it. It is not superior in any way, but rather actually a degrade in many aspects. To start, the graphics are literally the exact same. And in some cases, it somehow manages to be worse. I have absolutely no idea how, and I still have don't have an answer to this day, other than the engine is worse the MW2's. On the topic, since the engine is different, the entire feel of the game isn't as smooth as MW2 feels. I can't describe it too well, it just feels clunkier, and the hit detection is worse. The single player is very good, despite having another extremely short campaign. You can complete the campaign on Normal difficulty in probably 3 hours tops, so if you don't have online, I highly urge you to not buy this game. The storyline of the campaign is very original in my opinion, and the ending was very well-written. Despite this, it was a little anti-climatic, as I'm used to a pulsating thrill-ride the last ten minutes of a standard Call of Duty campaign. Voice-acting was extremely well-done, and there's some recognizable names behind the acting such as Ice Cube that really deliver an astounding performance. Some of the missions are a little cliche, a mere, "Been there, done that" feeling that you have already experienced this in other installments. Moving on to multiplayer, this is where I feel that I was disappointed the most. Sure, Black Ops has their original Nazi Zombies, but let's be honest, would you really pay $60 for just that? It's fun for awhile, but not enough to warrant a purchase alone. The multiplayer maps online are merely a host of mediocre maps that are nothing memorable. They involve a lot of camping spots and chokepoints that enemy players are constantly hovering around. Also, because so many of them are not as largescale as MW2's maps, sniping essentially goes out the window. On the topic of snipers, they themselves are worthless weapons in comparison to any assault rifle, and it is not uncommon to be called a noob for using one. The weapons are unbalanced, and everyone uses either the FAMAS or the AK74u, which is to be expected, since both of these guns are far superior to the others. The sound quality has actually become worse than on MW2, and the killstreaks available to you are boring or borrowed from MW2. One example is the Chopper Gunner; sound familiar? Amidst this darkness are some great new addions, however, such as the ability to customize your own personal emblem. Also, the addition of contracts is a rather cool idea, and some new game modes such as One in the Chamber are a blast to play. Overall, there are some great additions to Black Ops, but they don't add up to much. And they certainly don't add up to an entire purchase of a brand new game that feels, looks, and plays like MW2. If you have your copy of MW2 stlll, it would be best if you stuck with that. If not, I guess Black Ops would be a worthy purchase since that's what everyone else plays. Expand
  28. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    We all know what we're getting when we buy a COD game cos there's been one released every year in this gen of consoles so I came to this game expecting a lackluster story and an awesome multiplayer but what I got was an incredible story that is easily the best I've played in a COD game followed by a very flat and unexciting multiplayer that felt far to similar to previous instalments. All in all I think the whole call of duty expariance is starting to stagnate and as good as this game is a can't score it more than a seven it's not a bad game it just feels to much like I've played this game before. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2010
    1
    I'm gettin tired of these contrived, senseless, and empty, new Call of Duty games since 2008. Black Ops is a lot worse than MW2. The game is just as unbalanced as ever, no character development, trying to put the JFK conspiracy. I don't have much to say on this this because the game is so small its not funny. It offers nothing new to shooters and this game just comes to show that Kotic will just eventually kill this once good franchise into dog **** Black Ops is so just... It's better World at War, but that's not sayin much. Call of Duty is just done. Long live a good franchise that once existed. My guess, we'll never see it ever again thanks to games such as Call of Duty: Black Ops. Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    A fair BO review. peppered with a little rant...
    The game is a great installment in the series well placed title. The shooting seems to be a lot better then in MW2, while there are still Ntubes they don't seem to carry the same power as they did in Mw2. The maps were well designed, i found myself saying this map needs either more people or less places to hide but it didn't feel as large
    as Fuel did. I have to make note of the fact i do not like hearing Ice Cubes voice in BO, it threw me off and it just doesn't sit right. Nothing against Ice Cube but really why him.
    Single player campaign is nice very fluid it doesn't feel like a patched story like Halo reach. That really is the only fair comparison to Halo (not that i liked/disliked the game) but they are two very different style of shooters and should not be compared on any other merits but story. It would have been nice to see zip-lines in the multi-player campaign (yes i know hindsight and all that, and give em an inch a mile and what not). I will admit i am a little biased as i thought MW2 was a great game. As for lag i did notice a number of people skipping around which was disappointing, the map chooser seemed to favor the same maps in the game lobby i was in. I do like the new voting system(which reminded me of Halo reach) another honest moment i don't like that there are pieced of this game which reminded me of Halo. I also like the system of purchasing items and upgrades very innovative feature.

    RANT: i think the worst thing about this game is the lame community you still have the same whiners who cry in your ear about every little thing. People voicing their ill content with being shot or dieing a certain way. As an original gamer i don't really care if you like how you died keep it to yourself. And the arguing over VC is often what makes me quit playing a game like this its a first person shooter play the game taunt whatever but if i wanted to hear crying i would wake my kids up. I would love for this game to have a higher rating just to keep the babies out. CONCLUSION: if you liked MW2 you'll love this game its all the fun of MW2 with new maps, new avatar look and features, new ways to murder the guy/girl ( to be fair) who keeps whining in your ear about how good he/she but how everyone else is cheating and thats why he/she keeps dieing. I'm giving it a 9 because its only a game it will not meet my HIGH expectations but it has come closer then any other game on the market and out of all the ones i have tried of late its the best ( i have tried a lot).
    Expand
  31. Nov 12, 2010
    2
    I've never been a CoD fan. I wanted to try this one out, and compare it to the 'bEsT gAmE eVaR' Modern Warfare 2. Multiplayer plays exactly like it, but sadly worse. I could never find a match with my friends, I had to search myself and it still took minutes to find a match. Maps are fine, still a wonderful camping site. Zombies is still fun, but gets old VERY fast. Don't make us unlock the last few maps, thats just stupid. So what I'm trying to say here is that it is just a rehash of MW2, but with zombies. Collapse
  32. Dec 18, 2010
    7
    I'll separate this into categories, then rate each of them independently. Then I'll average the scores; some have different weights though.

    Gameplay Solo: 8 - Solo is fun and intriguing in the beginning, but you can easily figure out what is actually happening about halfway through, and the story isn't that engaging.
    Gameplay Online: 7 - Same old CoD style online since CoD4: MW. Nothing
    has really changed, and it feels more like a modern shooter in the Vietnam era because of all the modern age gadgetry. This also goes for the campaign.
    Graphics: 9 - Same modified CoD4 engine, so graphics are pretty spectacular. They lack some of the polish that MW2 had, but overall very nice.
    Playability: 10 - Very smooth control scheme, everything functions properly.
    Sounds: 7 - Guns sound odd at times, everything is overly loud instead of finely tuned. Character voices are nice, but the action sounds too fake (Many guns sound like hitting pots and pans with spoons).
    Replayability: 7 - If you aren't tired of a 4th CoD4 style online shooter, I guess it is pretty fun. 15 prestiges and 50 levels a piece will keep you busy. If you are like me and have been sick of this type of gameplay since WaW, don't bother buying the game.
    Verdict: 7.3 - Since most people only purchase this game for the online, that and the replayability weigh heavily on it's total score. A new CoD it might be, but nothing new is inside, so I don't see how it is a very good game. It is basically another reskin of CoD4. It doesn't FEEL like you're in Vietnam because you are using future tech for most of the time, some of the tech being in MW2, and the story is similarly high tech and awkward.

    Even though I dislike the online, I still think I graded this game fairly according to an unbiased perspective. It brings almost nothing new to the table, so I don't see how it can have amazing scores around the board.
    Expand
  33. Mar 1, 2011
    5
    What can you say, really? Call of Duty 4 started a trend of ridiculous popularity, and every CoD game since has followed it step-by-step. There's nothing substantially different between this game and CoD4, aside from some balancing and newer "features". The problem with this game is not that it's another typical CoD game with frustratingly tedious multiplayer (we already know to expect that), but that it's actually WORSE in almost every respect to the game that came before it. It should have come of no surprise that Treyarch is the inferior of the two CoD companies, but it's amazing just much they ruined a franchise that was already so bland. Black Ops suffers from worse balancing, worse visuals, worse maps, worse EVERYTHING when compared to MW2. The only saving graces are insignificant pieces like a theater mode taken straight from Halo, some gun customization, and a couple zombies levels that are sure to excite you for maybe an entire week! Of course, people will buy it, as CoD is the milk that feeds that mainstream non-gamer's hunger for a game where you can literally lie down and wait and still be considered great. So, if you like a game riddled with campers, cheap little "killstreaks", a host of connection issues and bugs, and all that other fun stuff, look no further! For those who are actually willing to earn their wins and work for their glory, try looking at a Halo or Battlefield game. Actually, strike that, even if you love the gameplay I explained earlier, go with MW2, which is better than this game is almost every regard.! Expand
  34. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    Call of Duty only really grabbed my attention once it became Modern Warfare, the second world war just didn't appeal to me as a period for interactive entertainment, the setting of Black Ops in the cold war and Vietnam was an interesting idea, one that Hollywood has been more than willing to explore so the games industry taking a look seemed long overdue (no doubt its not the first, but new to me) while the weapons might not be up to the modern whiz bang standards of the recent Modern Warfare / Medal Of Honor games they are not too far off and don't slow things down at all.
    The story is a little hard to follow as its mostly seen from your character's memory and the setting of the present in an interrogation suite disrupts the flow a little, everything makes sense but you actually have to concentrate a little which is more than most FPS's would have you do.
    Quite a few parts of the game are "on rails" and that gets annoying, gameplay gets very frustrating at times as there is just SO much going on that at times you just end up wondering what the hell you are actually supposed to be doing.
    Overall its a decent FPS, not quite as engaging as the previous couple of CODs due to its repeated flashbacks but its definitely enjoyable. 7/10, just missed the 8 due to the frequent overly confusing moments.
    Expand
  35. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty Black Ops has a rich and fun campaign. It is a step in the right direction from the prior COD series. Most of the low scores for this game result from multiplayer. The multiplayer is actually excellent and more difficult than the line up my kill streaks and nuke way. It is actually more frustrating for good COD players but better for novice and intermediate players since you will not get hammered with Pavelows and Tactical Nukes and Stopping Power Perks. Nazi Zombies is unbelievable and is very fun to play in multiplayer mode. Give this game a fair chance and you will love it! Expand
  36. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Black Ops is amazing! The campaign story is meh, but with zombie mode, and extremely great graphics, im surprised with these users! Go Black Ops!! :-)
  37. Dec 19, 2010
    7
    The single player offers a great story, but the game never calms the f*ck down. All the high-octane action sequences that occupy every second of the game lose any trace of realism. Fans of the COD multiplayer formula won't be disappointed, but I feel that it's more about reflexes than actual strategy. Zombies is fun though.
  38. Nov 11, 2010
    5
    First off id like to say i have great high speed internet and never ever lag in any games. Except for this, lagged out of my second online game. This game has terrible servers, almost always making u lag no matter how much you pay for the internet per month. Everytime i turn this game on it makes me want to go back to medal of honor. That game never lags and was seriously underrated. MOH is the most realistic shooter, and so far from what ive seen it blows Black Ops out of the water. Rent MOH and tell me im wrong Expand
  39. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    I seriously don't understand some people? While Modern Warfare one and especially two were unoriginal neo-con wet dreams, some enjoyed it because as one put it on COD website: 'We get to nuke Arabs'! Pathetic simple minds, yet sadly common on xbox live. Treyarch for me are extremely under-rated as WAW and Black Ops are better more compelling games, yet because of mind-less fan boys they get smashed. This is the best game in the series without doubt, the longest yet best story mode, excellent and IMPROVED multiplayer, and comical (in a good sense) Zombie mode. Though yes it doesn't really stray from Modern Warfare template too often, so if gamers have any sense they would stop buying the yearly update and buy it every two years, as hopefully that's how long I'll be playing this for. Expand
  40. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    When compared to MW2, the campaign mode in Black Ops chews MW2's up and spits it out. Graphics are similar to MW2's graphics, there is not much difference. Black Ops adds nice new weapons such as RC Detonators and Flamethrowers to mix up the action, and multiplayer maps are very interesting, albeit some are extremely small. that you often find you are on a kill streak, or a death streak, considering how the game often will respawn you in a spot that can get you immediately picked off without warning. Another major issue with multiplayer are the servers, which disconnect very frequently and disrupt gameplay. And frequently is about maybe once per every other game or so. This was written after only a single day live, so that issue may change in due time. For now though, the game gets an 8, server problems holding it back from any higher. Expand
  41. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why so many people are complaining about this game. The multilayer is more balanced than in any installment in call of duty. They got rid of stopping power, martyrdom, danger close, and juggernaut. For that reason alone this title is better than MW2.
  42. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    It's all right I guess. There is more hype than fun with this game. I seriously do not see what's so fantastic about this game. It's a C at best. The campaign is boring. I didn't finish it. The multiplayer's probably the best thing about it
  43. Nov 15, 2010
    5
    the best call of duty game to date. treyarch made a great game, keep it up guys. for me this lived up to all the hype. and the wager games are incredible.
  44. May 25, 2011
    6
    I really enjoyed the Modern Warfare games, but this game is a step back for the series if you ask me. The graphics are hideous to look at, which isn't surprising considering the age of the engine now, it all looks very smudged and washed out. MW2 on the other hand was very crisp and clean. The gameplay is probably the only solid thing about the game, however I've (along with; I'm sure half the planet) played enough Call of Duty for several lifetimes to find the same thing exciting. The series needs a reboot now, along with a new engine and some new game mechanics, or we will be seeing a great series dying a horrible death. Expand
  45. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I can't put my controller down, the awesomeness got a hold of me. Single player and multiplayer is just the best i've seen of any fps nuff said; good job IF!!
  46. Nov 28, 2010
    0
    I played this game for a couple of hours........incedible letdown.....same old same old......graphics are actually WORSE than MW2......rinse repeat.....UGH!....Battlefield Bad Company 2 craps all over this......
  47. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Not sure what people are talking about. This game is amazing. Been a COD fan forever, and this game is by far the best Multiplayer experience I have had with the COD series. Buy it. You won't be dissappointed.
  48. Nov 12, 2010
    8
    Some of the scores given here by fellow gamers are stupid.Black Ops isn`t the best in the series as that goes to Modern Warfare 2,but this is a decent effort.The campaign has a good story although it is very short.The mutliplayer is decent,but for me not a patch on MW2 as some of the maps seem more camper friendly than ever and the respawn system can be a pain in the backside.Some of the weapons feel a little odd and i feel like they lack abit of punch,and they feel kinda light to me,but they are the only failings to me.People putting scores of 1 are just stupid in my honest opinion.Black Ops isn`t groundbreaking,but it's a decent effort by Treyarch.Although Infinity Ward still have the edge on the development side of the COD franchise.If you want a mix of Modern warfare 1 and World At War then this is for you,if not then don't bother. Expand
  49. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic addition to the Call of Duty Franchise, The Story is Excellent, Multi-player is addictive, and Zombies is awesome! BUT I must warn you, this game can be so frustrating. So if you have a short temper, or a good throwing arm, I'd be careful playing on a expensive TV...
  50. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    I hold a completely different view then ColdSpike(not saying he's wrong he's entitled to his own opinion) you can't just rate the game for its campaign qualities you most certainly need xbox live. i think the campaign is the best in the call of duty series yet. Its as if your in a movie due to some stunning gameplay cinematics and an exellent plot line. This is probrably the only call of duty game i was actually bothered about what happened in the campaign. The online is also a high standard with alot more features. Since there is an awful lot to describe its probrably best you watch some gameplay footage. The zombies mode is also very fun with a whole new dead ops mode in which you shoot using the analog stick. To summarize

    CAMPAIGN --------- 92/100
    ONLINE----------84/100
    ZOMBIES---------87/100

    OVERALL -------- 88/100
    Expand
  51. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best video game I have ever played. the campaign's story line is engaging and new. It feels like you are in a movie, which is a good thing. This is done while maintaining the action that we're all expecting from a Call of Duty game. Online game play has also improved. The new weapons, maps, and game modes are awesome. I highly recommend this game.
  52. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This review section shows what happens when a piece of entertainment gets popular. Whether it's Call of Duty, The Dark Knight, Avatar, or LOST, there are always haters. These people hate things that get popular and want their voices to be heard so that they can influence other people to hate it. They will come back and literally give an unhelpful vote to every review that doesn't agree with them. Whether this userscore is 0.0 or 10.0, this game will sell despite your opinion. I'm sure Treyarch is very concerned with Metacritic's user score. If this game was never hyped it's userscore would be much higher. As you can see, Cod 4 has a very high user score because it wasn't hyped much, but as time goes on more haters join. Another explanation is the inferior Battlefield fans, who always try to make it clear that everyone is missing out, except for Battlefield players. I also love all of the "These reviewers must get paid by Activision" statements. Yeah, maybe Activision is paying reviewers but do you know what is more likely? Maybe the Cod games are just good games, did you ever think of that? I would bet at least half of the Cod nation has never even looked at a review for these games. Cod games are known for their great graphics, sound, and gun mechanics. For these 3 alone a single score should never be under a 6.0. Um, I'm going to go play Black Ops now... Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Here you go, a bit of a read, but please expand and read or skim. CoD: Black Ops is a very good game, not the greatest of all games, but a very good game all the same. Think about it, any one of you who went out and bought it right when it came out bought the game to play, right? If you wanted to see what it was like, why not wait and buy it a day after? Your friend(s) could have bought it, and in the new version, did you know that a player can bring a guest in, who can keep their score, items, etc., with an Xbox Live Gold account, and play it losing their winnings, without? You can also create many types of weapons, clan tags, uniforms and so much more, all by yourself, with points equaling game money earned by playing? Wager your "money" for more against other players, plus? It's hard to "camp" in the new game, you can play against AI NPCs to get used to the newer multiplayer game (with or without friends)? Treyarch has their own anti-hackers and servers to do their best to keep out hackers, you have an even more even playing field for those who are not as "quick on the draw;" new and neater wins for kill streaks (attack choppers you can control, the radio controlled car, the Blackbird, and more)? Phenomenal! I do believe that Treyarch, who really could have blown away all of the other CoD games, set the release date too soon (due to Activision), actually did us a favor. How? The company now will have competition by Infinity Ward, who is creating Cod:MW3? At least hopefully there will be good competition. It has some problems, like the never present footstep sounds from behind, at times the game has glitches, and some other problems, and so on - but it's new! So, did you buy the game to complain about it, or did you buy the game to have fun with? Oh yeah, anyone with major problems about the game, I have a good friend who wants to buy a used copy. Really! So, please turn around and trade it in for another game if you don't like it so that he can buy it. Thanks. Expand
  54. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Black Ops is a great game, of that there is no doubt. But it's a real shame that many of the problems from Modern Warfare 2 have been carried over into Treyarch's iteration of this series. These problems aren't of hackers, or glitchers, or really anything of that sort. The two games suffer from what I like to call, "Michael Bay-ism," where the games focus more on the action than trying to develop a real storyline. Now this is not entirely true- Black Ops has crafted a story that you will probably care about much more than you did with Modern Warfare 2, and this time you will understand why you are piloting an attack helicopter and blowing the living $^@& out of everything instead of just hanging on for the ride. And the masterfully-crafted multi-player from MW2 has returned, giving any normal player a reason to keep going back to this game even after you've played it for hours and hours on end. And the multi-player has a new couple of twists- for one, practically every weapon is available early on, but you have to spend points you earn from playing matches to buy them. You also must buy your perks, attachments, and kill-streaks. Plus, the best kill-streaks only send out a pack of dogs or give you control of a gunship, scrapping the extremely overpowered Nuke from the last game. Also new were the Wage Matches, a type of game-mode where you could bet your hard-earned points and play in one of four match types. If you place in the top 3 spots at the end of the game, you earn your money back and some more. Honestly, this game isn't perfect. Hell, it could do with some work. But what it is is an unforgettable experience that must be played. Expand
  55. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    Let me preface this by saying that I was not a fan of COD:MW2. I felt that perks in that game stole the show. However COD:BO has pushed away my frustrations and welcomed me back with open arms into a legitimately good game. The multiplayer is the prime selling point of the title, and the system of purchases is fairly well fleshed out. It's a slight disappointment that they decided to mix in rank AND credits for weapon customization, but ultimately it forces you as a player to make a smart decision about the direction you want to go. The king of the maps is most certainly Nuketown with its great vintage feel and tight map. The standee bodies only add to the effect. My primary concern with multiplayer is bullet penetration. It feels as though practically every surface can be easily penetrated to the point that cover can feel relatively useless. Camping remains an issue, but the maps themselves don't tend to lend to a horrific amount of easy spots to hole up, and this results in a great shift away from said issue. It's difficult to discuss the campaign without spoiling, but suffice it to say that it is an enjoyable romp and the best of the COD franchise. Zombie mode is every bit as tight and crazy as you remember and will create all the whooping and hollering you'd anticipate. While the game has flaws in its hitbox detection and penetration, there's nothing gamebreaking. But alas the game itself does not necessarily break new ground, it only polishes the floor to a nice sheen. That's good enough for me. 8.5/10 Expand
  56. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Wow, Ngoing must have a cut down fetish, he's downed every version of Black Ops ps3/360/pc. I doubt he bought all three as he rated them each 0 and rated kane and lynch higher!!!! LMAO! This is a great buy and will definetly hold you until next years big hit. Sounds like some of the Medal of Honor crybabies didn't get what they wanted and are trying to bring down the COD franchise's ratings. Treyarch gives you more for this year and leaves you wanting more for the years to come. Thanks for thinking of the fans guys and keep on truckin'! Expand
  57. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    I detect battlefield fanboys in these reviews. a 0 without any reasoning to back it up? Disregard these reviews, I think it's best to go with the critics in these ones.

    Even the ones that do provide explanation don't seem to understand how a rating system works... mediocre=/=0
  58. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    This is without a doubt just a game to get money, hardly any changes apart from time from previous games, same engine, same graphics, same gameplay and its absoloute rubbish!
  59. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Haters are gonna hate. This game might not be the best call of duty game, but in my opinion it has so many things in it that keep me entertained that it's definetley worth the $60 price tag.
  60. Nov 11, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty Black Ops is a good overall package, however it does have some issues. The campaign has a good Hollywood story taken from the minds of conspirators everywhere. The campaign has a lot of great moments but don't expect a true to life story like Medal of Honor delivers. I found some technical problems with the campaign such as poor hit detection and crappy AI. One of the biggest problems with the campaign is they didn't add the 4 player coop that was in World at War which is really too bad. The zombie mode is great as long as you have the secret code to get the two other maps. Also I was hoping they would let you win zombie mode this time like halo reach added with firefight but they didn't. Its still a great mode, however it will get old fast. That brings us to multiplayer this is the bread and butter of the call of duty series and it does deliver a solid call of duty experience. Just like modern warfare 2 there are a ton of lag issues and I also have found some hit detection problems as well. It doesn't make sense why the biggest multiplayer game on the market doesn't fix there network problems. The multiplayer has some great new modes which change up the experience such as wager matches and gun game which are both fun if you have a good host. The new customization is a great addition but would of been better if you could customize your character on what you want and not what perk you choose. The way you unlock weapons and attachments is fun but I liked the modern warfare 2 system better overall. Overall its a solid FPS would good multiplayer and a decent campaign. Expand
  61. Feb 15, 2011
    6
    Every year their is Call of Duty game, and now its beginning to show. Im bored of the same gameplay and graphics engine, I want something new. It was new in Call of Duty 4. Fair enough the single player cinematic but again its only 6 hours long, as seen in the past 6 games. The multiplayer is just not as good as World at War or Modern Warfare 2, its not compelling. I think a Call of Duty game every year is too much. A Expand
  62. Nov 17, 2010
    3
    This game sucks. Seriously. I returned it within 2 days. NOT FUN. Back to medal of honor, or Halo reach for me. This is a big step back for the franchise. DUMB!
  63. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    The game met the expectations, the story filled with trivia and lots of action, adapting all the good things and improve his predecessor, have cost it a multi-player addictive.
  64. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty black ops its one of my favourite games that I play nearly at all the time with my friends. The first time I played it my felling was this is the best game in the world and thereâ
  65. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    Hoorah! This game is gonna sell like gangbusters due to a great marketing campaign and franchise recognition. Sad, as this is just about the only positive thing I can say about this game. First off, it is not half the game "Medal of Honor" is, especially the single player. True, the plot might be intriguing, but the execution is laughable. Just by virtue of being a Treyarch game that doesn't completely suck, this somehow translates into being on par with the best in the genre? Right...

    Going on, the color palette in "Black Ops" is horrendous, the graphics are generally bland and the scripting just as present as in every other title out there. However, this game gets away easy in reviews when it comes to this. Why? It's "Call of Duty".

    Aside from the visuals, the sound design is also mediocre. Listen to this next to "Medal of Honor" on a sound system (or heck; just your TV) and tell me which has the better sound mix. Hint: It is not "Black Ops". In fact, "Medal of Honor" has the best sound mix I have ever heard in a game. It is truly an acoustic marvel, and deserves to be heard.
    Adding insult to injury, a set of spastic, drugged-out-of-their-minds and pathetically acted scenes is what we get to tie everything together. "Black" did this in a much better way in 2006. On the Xbox and PS2, nonetheless.

    Also, many have made a point out of the ethical dilemma one faces when setting a FPS to a real world war. How the situation demands respect and thought. In this regard, in whatever way "Medal of Honor" failed to do so in regards to the current war in Afghanistan absolutely pales in comparison to the travesty Treyarch gives us here. JFK as a zombie-killer side-by-side with Castro? Now there is respect and historical accuracy for you! The Infinity Ward games, while being ridiculous at times, at least knew where to draw the line. Not so here. "Black Ops" is a dumb game by design and proud of it.

    In short:
    I will return "Black Ops" to my game retailer and get a title worth playing instead. "This years Biggest Disappointment"? Achievement unlocked.
    Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2010
    6
    the new call of duty is worst of the last one in this various things:
    1) graphics is less accurate (see explosion or car... they are very bad)
    2) weapons and accessories

    but is better in 1) customization of your character
    2) big maps multiplayer
  67. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Based on the multiplayer only, this game is a no-brainer for fans of FPS games. Why are you even reading this? You know it's good. And, I hate to say it, Infinity Ward fanboys, but Treyarch makes better maps. My only gripe is that the matchmaking system still suffers from the same problems as before. Why is it still so hard to get into a game when I play with more than three friends? Getting kicked back to the menu repeatedly is not what I'd call fun! Expand
  68. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best COD that has been released. The new COD points available is an excellent upgrade to the series
  69. Mar 4, 2011
    2
    Hands down, the worst X360 game I've played, to date. The campaign is ok but, I found it to be repetitive. Ah yes, now the multiplayer. It sucks, I only found only that...uh, I forgot the name but it's a little "town" with models of people in it. Avoid please. Don't be suckered in. So much hype all for nothing.
  70. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game. The single player was ok, but it is the multiplayer where the game really shines. I know people are hating on this game, but the sales numbers don't lie. With 5 million sold copies, it is obviously a success. Also look at how many people are playing on any given night compared to Halo Reach or Homefront. The numbers speak for themselves.
  71. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    PROS--Intense and Involving Campaign, with a well-done story; little details on guns are cool; new setting for campaign(not WWII or MW) CONS--Graphics are worse than MW2; not much new multiplayer stuff (more of the same); maps are not well done; Zombies has not changed at all; lack of support for offline play; Lags and bugs online; level system AND CoD points dont go well together. OVERALL: If you want more of the same, then buy it. Otherwise, you should buy it when it is 30 bucks, cause that's how much it is worth. Expand
  72. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This game is everything I'd hoped 4. They have taken everything great about this series and taken it up[ 2 a whole new leval. It just makes one wonder where the next one will go to top it but I'll look forward to finding out. Its pretty interesting the range of user reviews here to btw. It seems to vary between people who actually played the game and appreciated it for what it is and the rest seem to be just lookn 4 something 2 hate on and mostly sound childish and resentful. Especially the ones who go out of their way 2 give this a 1 rating and then say how inferior it is 2 MW2 and nobody should buy it. I suspect theres alot of kids who cant afford 2 get this yet & hate that the MW2 community that they've investd so much $$ in is gonna be a virtual ghost town now. Get over it, theres a new king in town !! Expand
  73. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the full Call of Duty: Black Op's review and more gaming reviews visit us at www.projectstashman.net

    Call of Duty Black Opâ
    Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before the release.i thought Black ops could never top Modern Warfare 2.. boy was i wrong.
    Although campaign is a tad short.it has more diversity then Modern warfare 2 had and its just a little bit more appealing. although the lack of Campaign co-op is disapointing,the addition of zombie mode co-op makes up for it. but enough about that,lets talk about the multiplayer!,there are the old modes like capture the flag and such. but the new game modes in the wager modes is where its at. with games like sticks and stones,Gun game & one in the chamber among others,especially sticks and stones came across as one of the more fun modes,in sticks and stones you only have a crossbow with exploding tipped arrows,a hatchet and a ballistic knife to use in battle. and this can lead to various situations you can hardly get anywhere else. the game is just so much better then any of the predecessor already and then i havent talked about other things like Dead ops or theater mode. COD:Black ops has enough content to satisfy the shooter needs for awhile IMO.
    Expand
  75. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    By Far the best Call of Duty Game I've ever played. The Campaign is Excellent, The Multiplayer is Outstanding and any game that lets me play a JFK killing zombies is just freaking Epic ! And if its not enough you get lots of secrets giving you more solid extras for a $59.99. It might not be a MW2 but when it comes to to a SAW-scenes, Hours killing people around the world and dead politics killing for some reason Nazis dead people you can't ask for more. Expand
  76. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Simply put, Call of Duty: Black Ops is a thrilling and phenomenal ride. This may be the best of the franchise. The single player experience (like it's predecessor) is sharp, immersing, and thrilling. Each cut scene makes the prospect of taking a break near impossible. As for multiplayer, fans of the franchise will blown away. Prepare to spend hours of your life on the hunt. If you are a fan of gaming this is an experience you must have. I'm sure all of the fans that waited in hour long lines for the 12:01am release of this game on Nov. 9th played well into the early morning. A masterpiece that you must add to your collection!â Expand
  77. Nov 16, 2010
    7
    It's hilarious how many people give this game a zero. Really? C'mon. If you want to find where the whiners throwing temper tantrums are located, check the user reviews on any Call of Duty game. A zero represents an absolutely unplayable game in which the disk would be best used as a coaster. This game in now way resembles an uncompleted game. Despite it being more of the same, this is a game you won't want to miss. Expand
  78. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    So far so good! The graphics aren't as good as Modern Warfare but the gameplay is definitely fun and very customizable!!! Wish Treyarch and Infinity ward would Co-op a game and share eachothers secrets.
  79. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Treyarch, the second favourites, the underdogs, the second best. Some of the names you hear as the company's name gets bashed around. Although they have never been able to out do the brilliant work of Infinity ward, they have always delivered a game which could bear the Call of Duty Brand safely enough without the series getting ruined. Of course, feel free to disagree... World at War was overall a solid game with some stunning campaign moments and awesome characters played by some of the best actors around. Giving them that and Treyarch something to improve on, they have done splendidly! Overall Black Ops still has these awesome convincing actors, a multiplayer experience bound to draw in the millions and a campaign which is very fun throughout due to its unique time periods and settings. Yet, the plot has a typical COD twist. This game is going to cause lots of polarising views, you have to try the game for yourself and then decide for yourself. Expand
  80. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty: Black Ops has a magnificent campaign that is quite in depth and theatrical in nature. Though, as with the COD series the graphics are not top notch; this is nice for the multiplayer though as it keeps the fps high. The addition of new game types (gun game, 1 bullet in the chamber etc.) adds a great deal to the online experience. Overall the online is fun, kills hours for each of my roommates and myself and it should be stated again the campaign is really well done. Expand
  81. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    I am a big fan of the franchise and have played all the games. Its just seems all the good work done by Infinity Ward making the best shooters ever in the Modern Warfare games, are undone each year by Treyarch and their 'attempts'. World at War was disapointting and so is Black Ops. The campaign has decent action, but is so linear and the same throughout. I would love a different pacing in missions instead of the same old routine in killing enemy after enemy running towards you between an objective down a corridor. Zombies is just the same as in World at War, nothing new. Multiplayer can be fun, but also make you feel suicidal. LAG LAG LAG. Its a good job they put wager matches in because this is the only mode thats keeps me playing, they are a lot of fun. My advice, stick to Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  82. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    This game has a monster **** It's by far one of the best of its kinds. It's only a shame that medal of honor couldnt have been this good. If you havnt already got it do so.
  83. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Solo Player is Great! Zombie mode / multilayer is ever better. There are a few hiccups graphically from time to time; and on PSN the network drops randomly. Hopefully they can update the very and then the score will be up to a ten.
  84. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    It seems to be the cool thing to hate the newest Call of Duty nowadays. I can tell you, if you have ever enjoyed a Call of Duty game, you will have a blast with Black Ops. The multiplayer is balanced, there doesn't seem to be any weapon or perk that really stands out as overpowered. The customization is amazing, the emblems, weapons, and character can all be customized as you see fit. However, I have a few gripes. The framerate tends to drop during intense moments or particularly in the map Jungle, and there are a few bugs, like the infinite care package glitch (which I imagine will be fixed). It's not as "solid" a game as Infinity Ward's previous titles. And Treyarch is still not as good at creating maps as Infinity Ward's, but it's by no means bad.

    The story is a bit short but really cinematic and intense, it's very similar to Modern Warfare 2's, as you might expect. Also, zombies is always a welcome return. Point being, if you're a Call of Duty fan, you'll love it.
    Expand
  85. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    Half-way through the story I was thinking this game is SO repetitive but then at the end I couldn't beleive it. The story line was amazing and it all came together at the end so well. I am not a fan of zombies but I still think that havning a few friends round playing it and blaming them for what went wrong is hilarious. The Dead Ops arcade was fun for a while too.

    The multiplayer at
    the start I didnt like the maps but when I got used to the guns, maps and perks I realy started to enjoy the game. There is some overpowered and overused weapons and getting pro perks can be VERY annoying. E.G Sharing Care Packages with people to get Hardline Pro. Noob Tubers are basically away except a few C4 Spammers but every game I think needs some controversy. Still alot of campers but after all it is a Call Of Duty game.

    Overall I think It is a great game and people just don't like it because it says Treyarch on the packaging. IMO if it said Infinity Ward people would love it!
    Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    Hey let's face it, a lot of people have an axe to grind against either Treyarch or the Call of Duty franchise for reasons nobody can explain. I found this to be a fun first person shooter. Was it as ground breaking as the first Modern Warfare? Not in the least. Is it buggy and the worst game ever? Not even close. They've revamped the multiplayer mode, increased the zombies and actually created a campaign mode that doesn't stink. That alone is an accomplishment. It doesn't deserve a 9 or 10, but it's a solid 8. If you're a COD fan you won't be disappointed. If you're looking for a videogame that's going to transcend the genre and become art, look elsewhere, like at a book maybe. Expand
  87. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This game is over hated! This has the best campaign over any other call of duty game even though it still is quite short. It is interesting ot see many historical people such as Fidel Castro and John F Kennedy. The voice acting is impressive Sam Worthington (Avatar) being the main character Alex Mason. However there are plenty of other game modes to keep you busy. Combat training is extremely addictive and it helps you get better at the game. The online multiplayer is very fun. The maps are nice but personally I prefer the maps on modern warfare 2. Zombie mode is alot of fun. Black ops has more modes than any of the games in the series which is why recomend you buy it. Expand
  88. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    From a guy who has played every Cod game from Modern Warfare to now (except Wii versions or classic) and this game had a lot of moments that really amazed me, it might no amaze veterans who stuck with it from begging to end, but it still has a satisfying story. The multiplayer feels a lot better with the currency system, but waiting for that one gun to unlock to bu it is still the same as waiting through levels to get the gun. The gameplay feels solid and good, the secret guns are awesome, and Zombie Mode is a excellent addition. All in all, this is a must buy for new Cod players, and one veterans should try out. Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2010
    1
    Quick look at the review: Conclusion: Wish i had not purchased this, it certainly shouldn't cost $60 and it was a big let down Pro: Story line was engaging Cons: A quick summary if you dont want to read below: Graphics are the same but run worse (ya i don't get it either, go figure) Shorter than the first, took me 4 hours 20 minutes to beat on Hardened collecting all but 2 pieces of intel.
    Multiplayer is buggy and laggy, constant kicks, crashes, disconnects make it close to unplayable.
    for $60 you get a poorly made expansion that will let you down.

    Now I'll explain it a bit more for those who want to know my reasoning

    The graphics of the game are the same as the first, It looks the same, nothing new, if anything i almost feel like they pushed the bar even less. Really no moments that are visually stunning. Given that somehow they've managed to make it run less efficiently. During my setup for single player graphics i experienced instense lag, my screen would flash yellow and i had to lower the settings down on AA AASA. At this point the game still had moments of extreme choppiness though i could play with the settings further because of the poorly done menu. Every mutliplayer game i've joined has people lagging out or crashing because of graphical issues. I run a Nvidia 480GTX, Quad-core Intel, 8GB of ram and I STILL get lag in this game (yes i have the latest drivers). The game play is the roughly the same as the first but it feels less fluid, the AI does nothing but get in the way the entire time, you basically feel like your just running through a movie and only you down know the script. You end up having to kill everything you see as your AI squad members really dont do anything except follow their scripts. In this game they've simply reused what they had and spent even less time on making it feel "epic" and even less time on the menu system of the game which at this point its so PC unfriendly that it makes me want to cry.

    The list of complaints tends to drag on but over all the fact that this was a $59.99 for an even shorter game than the first, using the same engine, same everything is really just criminal. I regret spending my $60 for something that should have been in the $30 price range as an expansion.

    To the Critic's that have reviewed this. Did you even play Modern Warfare 2? How can people even suggest that this "tops" that? You had to crawl through a trench under heavy machine gun fire in front of the WHITE HOUSE in the first one, nuclear war, defending the homeland they managed to hit every button to get people to connect with their game. The story of this game is a giant flash back, that has nothing to do with us, and lets just say the ending was a joke.
    Expand
  90. Nov 11, 2010
    6
    Same old, same old. A real snore-fest. I know! lets stopping buying this old dog and get some new, fresh innovative games on to the market! Seriously this IP has fully run its course at this point. The same old gameplay and mechanics. Its just so bloomin boring now. How about an open world CoD type game, or one that got some RPG elements in the single player. Anything just to move away from this oh so very tired old formula. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2010
    2
    This game is pathetic. I'd say it was a let down but I didn't expect much. The only reason I play COD is because it's ally m friends play for weeks after it comes out. I hate that the COD franchise is the flagship of gaming. It' such a disgrace and i miss the days when good games were what brought people to gaming. Not this junk that gets spit out in front of it that is always the same game with new skin and a new title. I mean look at halo. In every sinlge one of their new games, they made leaps and bounds and pushed their limits. Even someone who doesn't like halo has to admit that the games are very different from one another and the graphics are at least always upgraded from the previous installment, unlike this game. Don't waste your money. I don'tlike anything in the cod franchise other than number 2, but if you really want a copy of black ops, just take a sharpy, write black ops on the cover of your modern warfare 2 case, and scratch the disc a little so it doesn't run as smooth. And bam, you just got your very own copy of black ops for free.

    Whole franchise is whack as hell.
    Expand
  92. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    Newb tubes still exist and are at least as powerful as in MW2 if not more. If you played the game Time Shift you have played Black Ops. They are the same game at the core. BO add the usual MW2 to stuff like awards etc. It really seem like reheated left overs. Okay the shooting is much better. It seems we have wall hackers already. I got shoot by two different players who came around a maze of walls with just too much certainty to take me out. The only explanation is they were wall hacking. Well i like the game but i was really surprised to see that it is very similar to Time Shift. BO even has the cross bow that was in time shift. One of the best parts of the game is the structure in which you can buy attachments with earned money in the game. The awards system has always been Call of Duty's strong point and adding money to this just takes it to another level. So you decide if you'll get it or not. I think i'll keep until the hackers become unbearable. The other very important point is that the games does not seem to lag at all. The choice of game engine they used was a good one although we do sacrifice some eye candy. It is at least as good looking as MW2 but even more cartoonish. I'll take it just as long as it does not lag like in MW2. BO still sends the server out where someone in the game has to be host. Which is okay just as long as the game does not lag. Man what is up with the Critics reviews? Did they all get paid off? Also i can guarantee you they are not experienced gamers just paid political pundits. Sincerely, Expand
  93. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  94. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    With a much improved campaign, expansive zombie mode and a deeply enriched multiplayer, Call of Duty: Black Ops not only delivers as an excellent addition to the series, but maybe the best among the other CoD games.
  95. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    A cross between cod4 and waw online, dont expect a mw2 game, graphics are not as smooth as mw2, gameplay is very good, i think some of the features in here should of been in mw2. This is a treyarc game and i hated them for world at war which in my opinion was pants so i have always stuck by infinity ward but sadly that original team is no more due to greedy CEO's. Not played single player yet, as someone else has stated it'll be the more you play the better your upgrades Expand
  96. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    While the single player campaign is as short as you would expect from a COD game, there is almost too much else on the disc that simply shadows it. For example, zombies have returned for some fun with friends but the MP experience as a whole is spot on with new and tweaked perks, kill streaks, and weapon selections. Removing One Man Army and Stopping Power were probably some of the smartest moves that Treyarch did for this release. The option to buy the upgrades you want allow the casual gamer to enjoy all that the game has to offer. With all the content, getting the game for $60 is the best bargain since The Orange Box. While it likely won't win the fans of Halo that have dedicated their lives to getting the perfect armor set-up in Reach, this will grab the attention of anyone who has the skill to play a game that polishes and nearly perfects the game play type that millions love. One can also expect some health DLC down the road since this title has so much attention. This one is a must for the library. Expand
  97. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated and praised for years to come. This is the BEST game ever.
  98. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    If you enjoyed Modern Warfare 2, you WILL enjoy this game. I defy anyone that had fun with MW2 MP, to not like this. They have fixed numerous "problems" that existed in MW2, like boosting (no tactical insertion in FFA), no Quickscoping, and no Commando perk to get stabbed from 25 feet away.
  99. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Game is fantastic. You will not be disappointed as a call of duty fan. Both the single player and the multiplayer have fixed everything we have complained about in the previous instillation. Though the graphics sometimes are not up to par to the previous game, the over the top game play, new additions to multiplayer, and fantastic new modes deliver a game we have been dying for.
  100. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Metacritic....excellent site but when it comes to gaming ,just throw the users reviews out the window!

    Typical spoilers who only post zero to bring the score down....get a life,you morons.

    Have the decency to score accordingly like the movies user reviews.

    Stop ruining it for everyone else !!!
  101. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    I've never been a CoD fan. I wanted to try this one out, and compare it to the 'bEsT gAmE eVaR' Modern Warfare 2. Multiplayer plays exactly like it, but sadly worse. I could never find a match with my friends, I had to search myself and it still took minutes to find a match. Maps are fine, still a wonderful camping site. Zombies is still fun, but gets old VERY fast. Don't make us unlock the last few maps, thats just stupid. So what I'm trying to say here is that it is just a rehash of MW2, but with zombies. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A short campaign which is never spectacular and never very clever, but always solid enough. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    By dint of obstinacy, Treyarch delivers probably its best with Black Ops Call of Duty to date - but probably not the best in the saga.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!