Call of Duty: Black Ops Xbox 360

Call of Duty: Black Ops Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty: Black Ops TV Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    100
    Treyarch's game is exhilarating and beautifully orchestrated, but it feels like a full-stop, it needs to be a full-stop, because toward the end of the campaign, bombardment fatigue begins to set in.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine
    Dec 10, 2010
    95
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Although Call of Duty: Black Ops may have a lot familiar to fans of the series, Treyarch has pushed a lot of the right buttons and has made the best Call of Duty game to date.
  4. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    87
    Black Ops is a solid addition to the Call of Duty franchise that really puts Treyarch on the map. You won't get anything original out of it, but if you liked what came before, then you will have a blast.
  6. Dec 10, 2010
    81
    Treyarch really brought their "A" game here with Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    There are games that deserve to be relegated to the bargain bin, or played when there's simply nothing else on the shelf. This is one of them. It's not broken, it's just bad.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated andThis is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated and praised for years to come. This is the BEST game ever. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    This for me was a game which I played for years and still do now. Even with all the new releases and other stuff going on. When Black OpsThis for me was a game which I played for years and still do now. Even with all the new releases and other stuff going on. When Black Ops first came out, It felt like a huge step up from the previous Call of Duty's - even Modern Warfare. The weapons and extremely deep and satisfying customisation options in multiplayer as well as the always solid gunplay made Black Ops such a good game. The campaign was to me one of the few good ones throughout Call of Duty history. This and its sequel. The story was good and the new cold war setting and equipment made this game memorable. It's co-op zombies mode was done very well and the two maps that came with the game (excluding DOA) were well thought out. When I think of Zombies, I think of Kino der Toten. To me, that defines zombies in Call of Duty. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    Single player has some rough parts, but overall is decent. The multiplayer is much better than MW2. Killstreaks not contributing from higherSingle player has some rough parts, but overall is decent. The multiplayer is much better than MW2. Killstreaks not contributing from higher tier killstreaks is nice, it keeps people from hitting a kill streak like a helicopter then hiding and waiting for it do to all the work for their next killstreak. And thank god for fixing QSing, I have no idea why anyone thinks it's skillful to put a dot on their TV screen and aim by using that. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2010
    7
    Copy/past from Call of Duty 6(((((There are not ANY brainf*ck moments(But it have story!!!And first in history i like fire and gameplay reallyCopy/past from Call of Duty 6(((((There are not ANY brainf*ck moments(But it have story!!!And first in history i like fire and gameplay really different Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    HONESTLY IT DOES HURT THE GAME INDUSTRY THAT THESE REDUNDANT COD GAMES SELL 30MIL COPPIES EACH. People buy 20-30mil copies of CoD and miss outHONESTLY IT DOES HURT THE GAME INDUSTRY THAT THESE REDUNDANT COD GAMES SELL 30MIL COPPIES EACH. People buy 20-30mil copies of CoD and miss out on truly unique games like metro 2033 or the darkness 2 and these are in the same genre they are FPS's and damn good too. How many people can say they truly bought call of duty black ops AND Metro 2033 Not many if any and at least metro is an FPS too. Can anyone say black op2 was actually pound for pound better than Deus Ex H.R.? Now i don't always agree with critics but even they thought deus ex was much better than black ops2 and look how deus ex sells maybe 2 million including pc and Call of doody black oops2 sells 10 times that on xbox alone. Even worse a great immersive FPS with ten times the heart and story Metro 2033 sells under 500,000 copies, yes it sold in the ball park of four hundred thousand copies...shameful that a quality game like that sells all together less than what CoD sells in one day. Is this because CoD blows ops2 is soooooo much better than metro....? NO, it is not but brain washed sheep buy the same game with the same engine in it with the same graphics every single year, they just change the name or put a creative (1),(2),or (3) next to it and the lambs come running to shell out 60$ instead of getting a truly unique experience and maybe having some taste or style or any uniqueness of your own. Even a mega hit multiplatform game that in my opinion might be the best of all time the vaunted "Fallout 3" pales in comparison with around 8mil sold while each CoD game more than triples those sales. Can even a CoD fan name any CoD game that even comes close to being as great as Fallout 3....wait i forgot to say that modernwarfare 2 doesn't count........just kidding that would be too cruel because that is what you were gonna say right CoD fanboy you original gamer you, and i bet you play CoD on your XBOX too how original and i bet you don't even play the 4hr campaign do you? All you 14yr olds and 40yr olds alike just grab a slim jim, take a swig of Monster if you are 14 and of course Budweiser if you are 40 and start on that CoD multiplayer with all that great story and non repetitive MP gameplay, of course you do this while waiting in anticipation for bungie's next sterile, super unique( i.e. halo 3 odst) game. Oh wait bungie is actually doing something good now (i.e. Destiny) so i guess 343 or whatever their name is will be copy and pasting a new label on the same old halo game, but at least halo doesnt come out twice a year. Good luck on not being as good as Battlefield 4 Call of Doody Ghosts (scary ghosts) but hey there are enough dumb people out there so you will outsell them even with last gen graphics and the same exact engine as model warfare. Greedy, Greedy Activision shoveling crap and calling it caviar when will you stop buying it. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2010
    5
    This game does not live up to any of the hype or reviews. Outdated graphics and the unrealistic feeling make the game a bore and make youThis game does not live up to any of the hype or reviews. Outdated graphics and the unrealistic feeling make the game a bore and make you feel as though you've played it before (its just like world at war). Do yourself a favor and grab reach or MoH if your looking for a good fps. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    I cannot believe many of these reviews for Black Ops. Treyarch must be paying you for putting up such B*&& S&^% for such a Lousy, yes LousyI cannot believe many of these reviews for Black Ops. Treyarch must be paying you for putting up such B*&& S&^% for such a Lousy, yes Lousy game. I was really looking forwards to this game coming out, what an unbelievable disappointment !! . I tried to like it but its so poorly made, so in the garbage it went. Modern Warfare 2 still tops this god awful piece of crap ten times over. If your a real first person shooter gamer, no more needs to be said. Save your money. â Expand

See all 501 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.