Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1901 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Let's be honest, this is not the best Call of Duty, but it is better than most people will say it is. The campaign is good, the multiplayer is good, extinction is good, but not many things are truly great about ghosts.

    In multiplayer the guns kill fast simply because the hit detection is nearly perfect, something that was not existent in other games in this franchise. The maps are bigger, which was a risk that didn't necessarily work. There are also lots of flank routes. Another risk that is helpful and yet annoying at the same time. Cranked is a fun anti camp tdm variant and blitz is a ctf variant, each of these bring a new element to the previous game modes. The DLC has some re-skinned maps, which is fine with me. There are plenty of gun camos that you can buy and some are worth the money. There are new voice packs, new customizable player models, new game modes and smooth online matches with little lag. The multiplayer is up to par in this game.

    Extinction is not my favorite, just a zombies spin of, but it can be fun to play on occasion.

    The campaign is one to play through that you will enjoy, but it is not worth replaying.

    Squads is something I personally love. Yes, playing bots is boring, but there is one game mode hidden away in the squads menu I will recommend to anyone. This is safeguard. There have been survival modes in cod before, but something about this one is better. Putting it in words will not do safeguard justice, just play the mode with three or friends and you will see how fun it can be.

    Ghosts is a under rated game, but some of the hate it gets is for good reason. Some textures are below average, extinction is below expectations, but the multiplayer modes are definitely good enough to last until the next game of this franchise
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    There is not much new on the table. This game feels like leftovers with some dessert thrown in. It has a good story with it, but not everyone likes hooks at the end. They keep the same proven mutiplyaer with some goodies thrown in, but not enough to satisfy some fans. It is a decent game, but there is just not enough new or enough improvements for this to be a great Call Of Duty. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    2
    The much anticipated Call of Duty Ghosts is a complete bust in my opinion. The first thing I noticed is how cheap the graphics are when playing multiplayer. At first I thought it was just something I had to get used to, because it was just so new, but upon a weeks worth of playing the game never got any better. The maps seem dull and it feels like you are playing a game from the early 2000's. I'm not sure how you can go from Black Ops 2 being so great and realistic looking to Ghosts being so cheesy looking. I also noticed in multiplayer that everything blends in way too much. The graphics are so dull that half the time you have to have superman vision to even see the enemy. The maps are way too big and unfortunately the developers have turned this game into a "campers" paradise. The first few times I played the game I felt like I was playing "The Legend of Zelda" wondering around aimlessly for 10 minutes trying to find the enemy only to be shot 400 yds away by a camping sniper. If you love the sniper rifle and sitting in one place for hours on end then this is definitely the game for you. They need smaller maps to induce more action. So, in conclusion I ejected the game and put Black Ops 2 back in since there still seems to be enough people playing that version. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    A very frustrating game. I quickly returned to black ops 2, wow what a relieve. Ghost has to big maps, very hard to distinquish opponents, and you got shot all the time in the back. I hate the game, it was a waste of money. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    Im going with 0 on every plataform Activision.InfinityWard/Treyarch make this games winning BILLIONS!!!(No other company do this every year) every year changing almost nothing and adding almost nothing new things sincerely i wish not to cod die i wish to see more and more games like gtaV destroying Cod every year... i want to see cod (Worst Franchise ever) winning millions no billions fu ck ing thieves Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Listen, I'm not some BF4 or CoD fan girl. This review is my truly honest opinion... This game is absolute garbage, and if it didn't have the Call of Duty title, the critics (and more of the community) would've agreed.

    I usually look forward to Infinity Ward's games because MW and MW2 offered so much in terms of advancement and progression in the series (and in gaming at large). I think many can agree that while MW3 was a reasonable game, it was just a MW2 reshell...and I fear that while Ghosts is essentially a MW3 rehash...the things they DID change completely ruined the game.

    - Campaign was only 4-5 hours long, and it was boring...honestly, I can't even remember the names of the characters. Campaign mode is supposed to be a great story that compels you to care about the characters and to hope to GOSH that they survive (Soap!?!?!). But alas, I couldn't have cared less.

    - Multiplayer essentially encourages camping even more than previous CoDs, but increases the map size. Now IF you manage to find someone you're lucky. I just LOVE having to check every single effin' corner for a surprise.

    - Lag issues.. We were promised dedicated servers AT LAUNCH which would greatly reduce the lag. They lied. They can't even tell us the expected date which means I doubt they'll happen. False advertising much?

    - Spawns. Okay, I know it's a big difficult to not have players occasionally spawn near each other...causing one to inevitably curse. However, I thought the huge map size was to compensate for this especially in TDM, FFA, and KC? Wrong. Apparently the spawns are still non-sensical and I end up spawning directly in front of a camping little biyatch.

    -Glitches... They happen, I understand...but I don't want to fall THROUGH the map into the black abyss.

    -Graphics. Now I'm not sure how it'll look on the next gen (from what I hear they focused on those versions)...HOWEVER, on the 360 I feel like I'm playing MW2 which was released in 2009. I mean, seriously? Play Assassin's Creed or Bioshock at Infinity Ward, see how it's done. Freaking BEAUTIFUL games.

    -Leveling up: Okay, I know it's not the most important feature...but I like to feel like I'm making progress when I'm putting 6,7,8,9...hours into the game. I'm a decent player and it took FOREVER to break level 20! Dafuq is with the leveling system, eh? Making me take longer to level isn't going to increase my desire to play this game.

    -Squad points.... Eh. 500 Squad Points for a Squad Member? WTF do I need that squad member for exactly? Is this what you spent millions on? =)

    I'm completely disappointed and in fact a bit angry that Infinity Ward has decided to trick us into shelling out the cash. They promised big and provided nothing but broken promises. Honestly, next time I will be waiting for the reviews from GAMERS, NOT the big names like IGN who give out 9s and 10s to piece of crap games like this.

    I hope this honest review gives you some insight on whether to buy this game
    Expand

See all 702 User Reviews