Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2050 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is moreGood game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Collapse
  2. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Let me start by saying Ghosts is my least favourite Call of Duty. Yes I still am giving it an 8 and as I have mentioned in previous reviews, ILet me start by saying Ghosts is my least favourite Call of Duty. Yes I still am giving it an 8 and as I have mentioned in previous reviews, I am not a fanboy for COD or Battlefield. I like both series and simply believe that while Ghosts is not the most innovative entry in the series, it still provides plenty of fun and it certainly shows the strength of this series when my least favourite entry gets a high score. The real reason that Ghosts doesn't impress me as much as other entries- it is the first COD to come to new gen systems and it completely messes up this opportunity. Rather than bringing revolutionary new innovation to the new platforms like the original MW did, we get the same old multiplayer, the same old campaign and the same old co-op modes. But that doesn't mean it sucks...

    As per usual, I will start with the most important part of the game- the multiplayer. It retains the scorestreak systems of BLOPSII which is great, but the lack of the excellent Pick 10 system feels like a step back. That said, the Create A Class options are greatly expanded and now you can have multiple characters with each one having up to 6 loadouts. While it will take a lot of time to unlock all of these options, the progression has now been enhanced so that a new Squad Points system rewards you per game and per achievements. With the points you can unlock plenty of gear which is similar to the BLOPSII points system, but it all feels more accessible. Back to the customization and now you can finally pick the uniforms for your characters, their names, their tags and best of all... their genre. I had a great time creating my dream soldier and while the options still have room for improvement, the amount of content on display is even more enriching than per usual. What else is new? A companion app gives you even more options when it comes to creating and customizing your clan and the online features encourage eSports greatly. The maps are probably the most advanced part of the MP with the new dynamic events ranging from cool to gimmicky. There are plenty of good maps, but I am yet to find an instant classic after playing every one of them. The new modes are fun, but will hardly affect the great amount of TDM, FFA and CTF matches. Blitz and Cranked are fun, fast paced modes that take advantage of the mortality of the player, but I still prefer the standard modes. Along with this, Field Orders are now a part of the game and these challenges show up after the first kill. Obtain the blue, floating briefcase, complete the feat (headshots, 3 consecutive kills etc.) and you'll earn a care package. I like the idea of this, but it isn't a game changer. In the end, Ghosts is the same old COD MP and that is alright because it is some of the best multiplayer on the market, but it certainly leaves you feeling like the series is in need of a rethink... that's why we have Advanced Warfare I suppose, but anyway back to Ghosts and the mixed results of the campaign...

    In the previews for it, this game seemed to display something COD rarely achieves- a good campaign. Apparently you would play as the same character for the whole game (not true), the dog Riley would be a big part of it (uh-uh) and the story would be a family drive drama (I'm gonna laugh at that!). Ghosts doesn't try to be something it's not, but I'm not sure if I support that. I would have liked to see a bit of depth in the characters, even if it did feel forced, but the hollow shell of a protagonist and the cliched story makes this feel like a compilation of every average shooter campaign across the course of the last five years. The locations and set pieces are still inspired and I like the idea of a crack military team called the "Ghosts", but the weak story and repetitive design make this a campaign that won't stand out as a COD favourite.

    There are four modes in Ghosts instead of three, with the ambitious Squads a mix between multiplayer and co-op. I still don't get the entire premise. Basically you and your clan build a squad and spare spots are left to the AI. You take your squad online to fight others after that and level up. It's a nice premise but it isn't fleshed out enough to be a worthy diversion from MP. However, it is your gateway to playing the returning Survival mode which is always a great option.

    The final mode is called Extinction and its a campaign that sees you fighting off waves of weird aliens to defend a drill that completes your objectives. It's a little Left 4 Dead, a little COD: Zombies and its can be fun with three other friends, but it isn't as accessible as the Zombies mode and the lack of a feeling progress when you die is annoying. Best of all however, you can rank up, unlock weapons and gadgets and also purchase skills for your select class. Nice!

    Ghosts is fun. However, the lack of innovation and fleshed out ideas in every mode shows why this series was in desperate need of change before Advanced Warfare...
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    6
    The campaign was rather fun, but the multiplayer is a buggy, rushed piece of trash. It has about 4 guns per category instead of the usual 6 orThe campaign was rather fun, but the multiplayer is a buggy, rushed piece of trash. It has about 4 guns per category instead of the usual 6 or 7, and is prone to skipping frames, especially when you are in a combat situation. To be brutally honest Infinity Ward should have stuck with making what they already are good at: Modern Warfare. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2014
    2
    I remember when COD was good. I remember pulling those all nighters playing MW2 and COD4. I miss those times. I just wish they could makeI remember when COD was good. I remember pulling those all nighters playing MW2 and COD4. I miss those times. I just wish they could make something new, improved, and actually not so damn repetitive. The only fun thing in this game, which MW3 has it better, is infected. I guess really that's the only thing decent. I used to love COD. I have every single game and this... This just made me sad. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    1
    Muito decepcionado, COD Ghosts não só o mais fraco jogo da franquia como simplesmente chato, os diálogos são fracos, os personagens nãoMuito decepcionado, COD Ghosts não só o mais fraco jogo da franquia como simplesmente chato, os diálogos são fracos, os personagens não decolam e os armamentos são fracos, zerar o jogo uma questão de horas e não os muitos dias que se espera, a inteligência no modo single uma das piores da franquia, parece que desta vez se preocuparam mais com o marketing do que com o jogo, uma pena. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    iohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqldiohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqld
    hf;fsklfhksdfhdslfhsklfhs;dfhjdsfhjdskfhdsjkfhdsjfhdsjhfjshfjdshfdsfdsfdsfds

    Do not judge this game off of user scores even the positive ones.......
    any butt hurt player can make a account, write anything^, and rate a game zero out of ten...
    Just go off of the critic score. For every game in that matter because these PEOPLE do not matter
    Buy this game or don't
    But for the love of god.. do not think for a second that your well informed by the opinion these emotionally compromised nobodies.

    Alot of games are going under because of Metacritics User Score section and i'm against this list.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Terrible! I've played call of duty since the start and this has to be the worst! It's honestly a joke. I can't even finish this review due toTerrible! I've played call of duty since the start and this has to be the worst! It's honestly a joke. I can't even finish this review due to the badness of it. Expand

See all 754 User Reviews