Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1993 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is moreGood game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Let's be honest, this is not the best Call of Duty, but it is better than most people will say it is. The campaign is good, the multiplayer isLet's be honest, this is not the best Call of Duty, but it is better than most people will say it is. The campaign is good, the multiplayer is good, extinction is good, but not many things are truly great about ghosts.

    In multiplayer the guns kill fast simply because the hit detection is nearly perfect, something that was not existent in other games in this franchise. The maps are bigger, which was a risk that didn't necessarily work. There are also lots of flank routes. Another risk that is helpful and yet annoying at the same time. Cranked is a fun anti camp tdm variant and blitz is a ctf variant, each of these bring a new element to the previous game modes. The DLC has some re-skinned maps, which is fine with me. There are plenty of gun camos that you can buy and some are worth the money. There are new voice packs, new customizable player models, new game modes and smooth online matches with little lag. The multiplayer is up to par in this game.

    Extinction is not my favorite, just a zombies spin of, but it can be fun to play on occasion.

    The campaign is one to play through that you will enjoy, but it is not worth replaying.

    Squads is something I personally love. Yes, playing bots is boring, but there is one game mode hidden away in the squads menu I will recommend to anyone. This is safeguard. There have been survival modes in cod before, but something about this one is better. Putting it in words will not do safeguard justice, just play the mode with three or friends and you will see how fun it can be.

    Ghosts is a under rated game, but some of the hate it gets is for good reason. Some textures are below average, extinction is below expectations, but the multiplayer modes are definitely good enough to last until the next game of this franchise
    Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty: Ghosts was very disappointing. It in no way lives up to its expectations, but as long as it can keep the drooling 9 year old'sCall of Duty: Ghosts was very disappointing. It in no way lives up to its expectations, but as long as it can keep the drooling 9 year old's happy, it is good enough. There's still some substance to the multiplayer, and obviously the campaign is so short theres not much point it even being there. Extinction is the closest to fun in Call Of Duty that I've had since MW2. Expect this game to sell a ton, and to start a cult that WILL BRING THE WORLD DOWN, DEVELOPER BY DEVELOPER MWHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!! Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    2
    This game is the worst cod game ever. I've been playing since call of duty 3. The game went from world war to modern that was good. Ops wasThis game is the worst cod game ever. I've been playing since call of duty 3. The game went from world war to modern that was good. Ops was okey. But ghosts is worthless. Dice's frostbite 4 put ghosts to shame. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    1
    Once upon a time Call of Duty required skill and tactics. Now? Multiplayer should be called "Call of the SatCom" there are way to many ways toOnce upon a time Call of Duty required skill and tactics. Now? Multiplayer should be called "Call of the SatCom" there are way to many ways to know everyone's locations. It is just a bunch of chickens with their heads cut off running around like 5 year olds. The Campaign? Should really have been called a short story with no deviation ability. Boring. Waste of time and money. Hey! CoD designers I'd like my money and wasted time back you hacks! Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    The reviews for this game make me wonder whether popular gaming magazines are bought and paid for. The spawn points are terrible, the maps areThe reviews for this game make me wonder whether popular gaming magazines are bought and paid for. The spawn points are terrible, the maps are overly large and cluttered, promoting camping. It's a less fun version of modern warfare 3, which was a less entertaining version of modern warfare. I regret I bought this game. Thankfully I was drunk so I can blame it on that Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    did they bribe the critics or something?
    this game is terrible!
    words cannot express how bad the pc version is! why do sites like steam
    did they bribe the critics or something?
    this game is terrible!
    words cannot express how bad the pc version is!
    why do sites like steam even allow this.... garbage?!
    and the worst part is the lag! it's optimization is so bad!

    well at least on the console it isn't as bad, but it's still far from good
    Expand

See all 737 User Reviews