Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2010 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is moreGood game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who would've thought, this game is actually good. Finally infinity ward tried to make the franchise better, I mean, not being a fanboy, but this game is really fresh, not mentioning the "same old" multiplayer.
    But the story, the gameplay was so interesting. I wasnt so hyped for this game, and I dont know why, because this is the best COD game since Black Ops.
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    6
    The campaign was rather fun, but the multiplayer is a buggy, rushed piece of trash. It has about 4 guns per category instead of the usual 6 orThe campaign was rather fun, but the multiplayer is a buggy, rushed piece of trash. It has about 4 guns per category instead of the usual 6 or 7, and is prone to skipping frames, especially when you are in a combat situation. To be brutally honest Infinity Ward should have stuck with making what they already are good at: Modern Warfare. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    2
    As a Cod player since cod1 im surprised to say that i dont like ghosts even when i had the sights on the guys head and fired he would turnAs a Cod player since cod1 im surprised to say that i dont like ghosts even when i had the sights on the guys head and fired he would turn fire a few rounds and i would be the one dead come on infinity ward pull ur fingers out ur arses and actually attempt something ground breaking dogs have been done before. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2013
    1
    Ive played cod since cod 1 this game had an OK but short Campaign but the Online is trash, u have quickscoping amiplify camerfriendlyIve played cod since cod 1 this game had an OK but short Campaign but the Online is trash, u have quickscoping amiplify camerfriendly maps just go UR SELF IW Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    iohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqldiohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqld
    hf;fsklfhksdfhdslfhsklfhs;dfhjdsfhjdskfhdsjkfhdsjfhdsjhfjshfjdshfdsfdsfdsfds

    Do not judge this game off of user scores even the positive ones.......
    any butt hurt player can make a account, write anything^, and rate a game zero out of ten...
    Just go off of the critic score. For every game in that matter because these PEOPLE do not matter
    Buy this game or don't
    But for the love of god.. do not think for a second that your well informed by the opinion these emotionally compromised nobodies.

    Alot of games are going under because of Metacritics User Score section and i'm against this list.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Same gimmick every single year, yet still they expect to make a lot of money, this year they have disappointed, call of duty was dead lastSame gimmick every single year, yet still they expect to make a lot of money, this year they have disappointed, call of duty was dead last year now they are just poking the dead corpse hoping it would give more! Expand

See all 744 User Reviews