Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1933 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Expand
  2. May 7, 2014
    8
    COD: Ghosts is a fun and involving game, in this installment they just try to throw you into the action from start to bottom without changing the mood, though it maybe means excellent but the quality of the story sometimes lacks and sometimes seems childish, Overall game is good enough Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    There is not much new on the table. This game feels like leftovers with some dessert thrown in. It has a good story with it, but not everyone likes hooks at the end. They keep the same proven mutiplyaer with some goodies thrown in, but not enough to satisfy some fans. It is a decent game, but there is just not enough new or enough improvements for this to be a great Call Of Duty. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    2
    Complete trash. The single player campaign is dry and sporadic. I never felt engaged and was often just mindlessly shooting drones. The Multiplayer is by far the worst COD experience I've ever had. The maps are too big and are just confusing mazes. 90% of my kills/deaths are just coming from behind. I've owned MWF 1/2/3 and BO 2 and this is by far the worst COD experience I've ever encountered. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    I thought COD Black Ops 2 was a very enjoyable game. COD "Ghosts" is reprehensibly bad! I really wish I could get my money back. The characters are flat, the campaign dull, and the graphics simply unremarkable. Nothing special about this at all. If you are really bored and have no other game to play, then this game might serve as a temporary distraction until you can get your hands on an actually good game! Do not waste your hard-earned money on this sack of scheisse. Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    This is the worse call of duty I have ever played. Online is terrible and I hope they never make another call of duty again. Battlefield 4 all over call of duty ghosts, ghosts was a waste of my money Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Listen, I'm not some BF4 or CoD fan girl. This review is my truly honest opinion... This game is absolute garbage, and if it didn't have the Call of Duty title, the critics (and more of the community) would've agreed.

    I usually look forward to Infinity Ward's games because MW and MW2 offered so much in terms of advancement and progression in the series (and in gaming at large). I think many can agree that while MW3 was a reasonable game, it was just a MW2 reshell...and I fear that while Ghosts is essentially a MW3 rehash...the things they DID change completely ruined the game.

    - Campaign was only 4-5 hours long, and it was boring...honestly, I can't even remember the names of the characters. Campaign mode is supposed to be a great story that compels you to care about the characters and to hope to GOSH that they survive (Soap!?!?!). But alas, I couldn't have cared less.

    - Multiplayer essentially encourages camping even more than previous CoDs, but increases the map size. Now IF you manage to find someone you're lucky. I just LOVE having to check every single effin' corner for a surprise.

    - Lag issues.. We were promised dedicated servers AT LAUNCH which would greatly reduce the lag. They lied. They can't even tell us the expected date which means I doubt they'll happen. False advertising much?

    - Spawns. Okay, I know it's a big difficult to not have players occasionally spawn near each other...causing one to inevitably curse. However, I thought the huge map size was to compensate for this especially in TDM, FFA, and KC? Wrong. Apparently the spawns are still non-sensical and I end up spawning directly in front of a camping little biyatch.

    -Glitches... They happen, I understand...but I don't want to fall THROUGH the map into the black abyss.

    -Graphics. Now I'm not sure how it'll look on the next gen (from what I hear they focused on those versions)...HOWEVER, on the 360 I feel like I'm playing MW2 which was released in 2009. I mean, seriously? Play Assassin's Creed or Bioshock at Infinity Ward, see how it's done. Freaking BEAUTIFUL games.

    -Leveling up: Okay, I know it's not the most important feature...but I like to feel like I'm making progress when I'm putting 6,7,8,9...hours into the game. I'm a decent player and it took FOREVER to break level 20! Dafuq is with the leveling system, eh? Making me take longer to level isn't going to increase my desire to play this game.

    -Squad points.... Eh. 500 Squad Points for a Squad Member? WTF do I need that squad member for exactly? Is this what you spent millions on? =)

    I'm completely disappointed and in fact a bit angry that Infinity Ward has decided to trick us into shelling out the cash. They promised big and provided nothing but broken promises. Honestly, next time I will be waiting for the reviews from GAMERS, NOT the big names like IGN who give out 9s and 10s to piece of crap games like this.

    I hope this honest review gives you some insight on whether to buy this game
    Expand

See all 711 User Reviews