Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1896 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Call of Duty Ghosts was great fun but I think the Ghosts Hacks like these caused an issue with the game. If the new game isn't any better I'm not sure what I'll do. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    it ain't a good or bad game, it's mediocre, still the same thing as the others call of duty game series, well the history was the best part of the game, the multiplayer have just changed it's maps and guns.
    I really think that Call Of Duty need a renovation NEW ENGINE
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    i bout this game at midnight when it came out at first it felt really fun but after awhile it got really boring everyone camps and its no fun after a week just traded it back in for Need For Speed Rivals Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    1
    It just gets worse and worse. Black Ops 2 gave a refreshing take on the series, giving us a colorful, vibrant game with new twists on gameplay, albeit still feeling copy pasted, it was still alot better then all the drab, boring OORAH of the other COD games after Modern Warfare. This game has the shortest campaign in history (a total of 5 hours on Veteran, 3 on Normal) and a VERY RACIST premise, the game is basically about fighting evil Mexicans and Arabs, furthering the series trademark Xenophobia.

    Multiplayer wise, the game is still trying to hard to recapture the glory days of Modern Warfare and World at War, but failing just like the games before it.

    And then there's the new Operations mode. You fight aliens. That's about it. Taking away the awesome ability to do missions together like in WaW, the ability to do co-operative missions in MW2, the ability to survive countless waves of enemies like in MW3, and of course, Zombies.

    There's hardly anything new to look for in this game, with stale graphics, gameplay blatantly stolen from other titles and an engine that's 12 years old, this game belongs in a bargain bin, and is certainly not worth $30, let alone $60.
    Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    I am sorry but this game is horrible. The guns are overpowered, the maps are weird, camping is more annoying than ever, you die more easily, you cannot even run with the juggernaut, the games are so small, the graphics are absurd, and the destruction is ridiculous. This game is the worst game I have ever had the misfortune of playing. I wasted ten minutes of my life playing this piece of crap. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Absolutely horrible. The critics are obviously being payed to do there reviews. This game is the biggest pile of horrible crap you will ever play. Laggy multiplayer, Buggy dog (Oh the irony), broken NPCs and a HORRIBLE campaign. All they have done is added AI, a dog and 2 new guns. Call of Duty is a dead series now, and we can now prove that Activision is paying for reviews. Expand

See all 698 User Reviews