Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2670 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. isaacj.
    Apr 16, 2010
    6
    This game has been hyped like no other, i have a feeling that many of the reviewers were paid off by activision to not notice the glaring flaws. Now i can understand why this game draws many in, stunning graphics, good controls, and many weapons are some of the perks that this game has, but there are some glaring flaws that need to be adressed. First lets start with the campaign, any This game has been hyped like no other, i have a feeling that many of the reviewers were paid off by activision to not notice the glaring flaws. Now i can understand why this game draws many in, stunning graphics, good controls, and many weapons are some of the perks that this game has, but there are some glaring flaws that need to be adressed. First lets start with the campaign, any sense or feeling that this is a war game has been completely stripped off, it plays like an action shooter, most of the levels involve running through corridors mowing countless people down, just like older shooters. The story line is not muhc more than Red Dawn directed by Michael Bay in the 21st century, the plot twists are so unbelievably stupid and full of holes. Lets start with the 'no russian' mission. SPOILER ALERT Why would the CIA be stupid enough to send an american soldier who has been with them for 2 days into a terrorist cell, let alone a mission that involves killing thousands of innocent people, which in turn could cause an outrage among other nations? most likely they would have hired a russian mercenary or just cut and run to cover their tracks. Thats not even the biggest plot hole, when your character dies and is left in the airport the russians immediatly turn to war, no negotiations, no questions, just war, because all russians are brutish savages right?? right??? oh yeah, and despite the fact that Makarov, a well known terrorist, was caught on CAMERA doing the act, they could not recognize his face and immedietly see it was a terrorist job? yeah fucking right? the game makes no attempt to explain any of these things, but instead ships you right off to brazil to track down the man who sold the weapons to Makarov. This is the way the plot works, you jump from one place to another with barely any background info, and the dumbest plot twist of all 9spoler alert) the General of the Army Betraying the SAS, HAHAHA! and his big 'plan' was to avenge his fallen soldiers by starting another nuclear war? makes perfect sense. ANd of course the two heroes decide to take him on alone, they dont call the help of the SAS or anything. Plot holes aside, the campaign did have some fun moments, like riding down a hill on a snowmobile taking people out with a Glock, and the Washington DC level, but unfortunatly the campaign seems to serve more to tell the story which is in itself, extremely flawed. Multiplayer is a different story, it can be a blast at times, the game offers a multitude of new weapons and customizations to give the player incentive to play well. However, Perks are now a much larger part of gameplay, some of these perks give the player faster running speed, more melee distance, more health, faster reloading and better aiming, in otherwords, unfair advantages, this goes back to me saying that it has lost the feel of a war game, the multiplayer feels like a high speed arcade shooter, in which those who exploit the perks, get the most kills. The maps are designed in a way that there is no safe place to hide, as someone is always bound to sneak up on you and knife you, you are never safe and always must be on the move with no time to plan out your actions, while it is a fun ride, its a very frustrating one as well. SPec ops is the one shining light in the package, as it is the one mode that focuses on teamwork to complete objectives, Completing these objectives leads to acheivements. While Modern Warfare 2 features some great things and stunning graphics, its glaring flaws make it a step down from the last modern warfare, not a step up. I traded this game for Bad Company 2, which i like much better. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2010
    2
    most overrated game of all time sold millions of copies because of the name on the box absolutely terrible campaign, highly overrated multiplayer with way to many bugs/glitches to exploit. This game could have been good but to be honest it wasn't it was poorly made there is evidence it was rushed to meet a deadline, the CoD series has never deserved its critical acclaim as once you getmost overrated game of all time sold millions of copies because of the name on the box absolutely terrible campaign, highly overrated multiplayer with way to many bugs/glitches to exploit. This game could have been good but to be honest it wasn't it was poorly made there is evidence it was rushed to meet a deadline, the CoD series has never deserved its critical acclaim as once you get down to it they are all average shooters. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 shatters the old standard of excellence and has raised the bar for what it means to be an epic shooter. With a mind-shattering campaign, superb co-op play, and the deepest multiplayer experience on Live, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest shooters in gaming history, and a must-own for fans of the genre.
  4. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    So fun with friends. Late night games back in '09. Those were the days. After Modern Warfare 3 came out, I really appreciated MW2 and even Black OPS and how much better they are than the new game. This deserves a 10 for sucking a lot of my hours .
  5. nickp
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    idk what some of you guys are smoking but this is one of the best fps of all time. after mw1 i was a little dissapointed with world at war, but this came and just blew me away. the graphics are just amazing, story mode yes is a little short but incredibly good, spec ops very fun, and to top it off the mulpyplayer is by far the best thing ever!
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    The Good:
    - Engaging gameplay
    - Great online multiplayer
    - Fun co-op mode

    The Bad:
    - Short campaign
    - Story is hard to believe

    The Ugly:
    - Expensive DLC
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    MW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and willMW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and will definately entertain. Overall, MW2 is a great game, it keeps the elements of MW 1 that made it so great but throws in its own elelments to make itself unique. Breakdown for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 9.7, Sound: 9.6, Playability: 9.5, Entertainment Value: 9.8. Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    MW2 is a great game! Campaign is actually really good, but not as good as BO. Spec ops is ok but isn't very fun. Multiplayer is awesome! Graphics are nice for the year it was made in. MW3 was better graphic wise but gameplay is 10x better in MW2. Really worth buying.
  9. May 7, 2013
    8
    I consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and canI consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and can tolerant anything happened in this game since I have no idea how online game should like.... Anyway, I think the game is perfect new gamers, easy to start, fun to play. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    With the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its onlyWith the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its only six hours. If you followed the story, the ending was pretty cool, and there was no huge cliff hanger that will make you throw your controller across the room in anger. Even though the campaign was short, there is still a lot more this game has to offer. Spec-Ops is the highlight of the package. Whenever my buddies come over and I don't want my multiplayer stats to be effected, Spec-Ops is always the way to go. The co-operative play is smooth and the variety of mission types is refreshing. The challenge is also very fair, and the sense of accomplishment when beating the harder missions on Veteran difficulty is unforgettable. Sure there are those moments when you are in the last section of a level and your partner just has to kill himself, but once you nail a tough level you truly feel like a gamer. Now finally comes the immensely frustrating multiplayer package. Most of the reviews you read only focus on the multiplayer and how frustrating it can be. While these reviews may be accurate the score they give the game is not. This is because their review is only for the multiplayer section of the game, and they don't take into account the exciting Spec-Ops and single player campaigns. The multiplayer for this game is extremely addicting. It is incredibly easy to hop into a game and have a blast with some friends, but there is seldom a time when your fun is ruined by players taking advantage of some of the games perks or other add-ons. Grenade launchers, commando knifing, and the spawning system are just a few of the inconveniences you may encounter. Many people stop playing the game due to the deaths they face at the hand of players who rely on tactics that do not require very much skill. If you do not take the game very seriously and just want to run around and have to fun run and gun action, it will be easy to enjoy the multiplayer. To those competitive hard-core gamers there will be much rage quitting ahead. With all parts of the package taken into account, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 delivers. The high production values are obvious, and the single and co-opertive campaigns are a blast. Sadly the multiplayer content is frustrating to say the least, and not enough effort was put in to ensure a fair and enjoyable experience. Get this game, mostly because everyone else has it, and there is always fun to be found, but sadly a lot of a frustration will come with it. Expand
  11. HenkR
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very engaging, and it is backed up by one of the best online shooter experiences to date. Expand
  12. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  13. DaveL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a friend. Not too fun single player. This is easily a 10 just based on the value that I will get out of this. Anyone giving lower than an 8 is just a fanboy of Halo, KZ2, UC2, etc. This is a great game that will keep me playing for months and months. Expand
  14. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    The most awesome game in every single aspect on the CoD series . The gameplay is very smooth,the story is a little hard to follow but Epic , the multiplayer is addictive as coca-cola,the special ops is great for offline users not the best iteration but nice. The maps on the multiplayer are very well designed.
  15. JohnL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Ignore the user rating...bunch of PC gamers mad that they took away dedicated servers. This game on the 360 or PS3 is just a beast. It's even better than all the hype.
  16. May 22, 2011
    9
    I think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and II think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and I realized that I just had to write my piece on this phenomenal shooter. Call me a COD nuthugger or whatnot, but when you discard your flaming nerd rage and begin to see clearly, you realize that this really is the top notch pinnacle of military shooters in modern gaming. And yes, it far exceeds Battlefield in almost every aspect. To start, the single player is most definitely and undeniably short, ranging in the neighborhood of about 3 hours or so. But those 3 hours are so remarkably jaw-dropping that it somehow forces you after completion to return to the first level and do it all over again. The voice-acting is tremendously well done, and the graphics, even by today's standards, are simply fantastic. The storyline is extremely believable and the campaign contains some of the most exciting set pieces and action sequences that I have ever witnessed in a shooter. From the very beginning stage, all the way up until the final firefight, I was completely mesmerized at the attention to detail the developers gave this game. The intense gunfights that take place on U.S. soil left me completely wowed, and never once was there a stale moment on the campaign. The Spec Ops co-op mode is a great addition to play through with a friend, providing a host of exciting short missions to blast through. Moving on to what really amazes me is the multiplayer. Every time that I enter another match, it reminds me that this really is the king of all first person shooters. The hit markers are near flawless, aiming is extremely smooth and tight, and the arsenal of weaponry is about as close to completely balanced as you can get. Most of the maps are fantastic, save for a few camper-oriented ones that I veto on sight. The sheer amount of perks, upgrades, weapon attachments, and challenges to unlock is almost overwhelming, and never ceases to be addicting. There is literally always something to keep playing towards to unlock. The newly added unlockable titles from the first game always has me working towards something new, and the emblems as well are a pure blast to unlock. The game keeps track of a huge array of statistics, ranging from obvious headshots of a gun, all the way to the number of times you killed someone with a direct flashbang impact. However, there are still some things that should be tweaked, such as the Danger Close perk and Commando perk, which are both noob-friendly and overpowered. I am a LEGIT level 70 tenth prestige, so I believe I have enough experience to voice my opinion on this. Also, the UMP45 could use a little toning down in terms of damage, accuracy, recoil, or anything else associated with it. The killstreaks are absolutely revolutionary, since you have wannabes such as Medal of Honor and Black Ops that straight up copied the majority of them. The amount of noob campers that are crying about how trashy this game is have absolutely no idea what they're talking about, and are simply there to hate because this game is so popular. And it's popular for good reason too: it's the best military shooter on the market without a doubt. Even though the game infuriates me to no end (at times), I just take a step back and tell myself that despite all of my irrational rage, it's still the best there is, and I know that I'll go back to playing it the next day. And since the game is at a much lower price at the present, you cannot go wrong with this purchase if you enjoy military shooters or shooters in general. Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. TheMy friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Expand
  18. JimR
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a shame bitter PC players who are scared of change and unwilling to acknowledge progress (IW Net) are voting this game down. The story is short but every second of the campaign is filled with unique and intense action. To make up for this hundreds of hours can be spent in the extensive/amazing multiplayer mode and Spec-Ops.
  19. AaronR
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Great multiplayer options, but somehow it only feels marginally improved over the stellar Call of Duty 4. I like the updated perks system, but let me make one thing clear: this game's multiplayer is NOT newbie-friendly in the least. You better find a friend or two who are willing to help you out, should you find yourself new to the Call of Duty franchise. The single-player campaign, Great multiplayer options, but somehow it only feels marginally improved over the stellar Call of Duty 4. I like the updated perks system, but let me make one thing clear: this game's multiplayer is NOT newbie-friendly in the least. You better find a friend or two who are willing to help you out, should you find yourself new to the Call of Duty franchise. The single-player campaign, though intense and chock-full of OMG moments, should still be considered worthless. Most people buying this game are buying it for the multiplayer only, and many of those people will most likely end up beating the single player campaign in around 5 hours. That is simply pathetic for a game which has so much hype and praise waiting to be delivered unto it. Expand
  20. SteveM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a veteran, this has been the most thrilling and accurate representation of military action to date. Granted, the story was filled with over-the-top Hollywood excitement, I found the lingo, sound and graphics filled with such amazing details that I was having immersive flash-backs in the first five minutes.
  21. Apr 14, 2011
    6
    We can all say the campaign wasnt fantastic but it had alot of HOLY CRAP moments. The graphics are some of the best iv seen in a long time. But the campain was laughably short. And now the multiplayer ohhhh nooo this is the main reason I dont play this anymore the hackers. I loved it when it first came out but then a couple months later it is a hacked mess. And i just want to say thank youWe can all say the campaign wasnt fantastic but it had alot of HOLY CRAP moments. The graphics are some of the best iv seen in a long time. But the campain was laughably short. And now the multiplayer ohhhh nooo this is the main reason I dont play this anymore the hackers. I loved it when it first came out but then a couple months later it is a hacked mess. And i just want to say thank you to the people who hacked and made a game that could have been the greatest game of all time very bad. But it is also Infinity Wards fault for letting it get like this they could have built it better but they didnt im truly disappointed. Expand
  22. SmilingAssassin
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Let me start by saying WOW! That applies to the multiplayer modes in the game. It's early but this my be the best game at it yet(although counterstrike is as addictive as crack still). The campaign my be one of the worst things I've ever seen. An incredible dissapointment after the last Modern Warfare which I though might have been the best campaign I have ever played. Truth be Let me start by saying WOW! That applies to the multiplayer modes in the game. It's early but this my be the best game at it yet(although counterstrike is as addictive as crack still). The campaign my be one of the worst things I've ever seen. An incredible dissapointment after the last Modern Warfare which I though might have been the best campaign I have ever played. Truth be told most people don't spend a lot of time replaying the campaign and the multiplayer is absolutely outstanding. It's strange because I never cared for the last games mp but was a huge fan of the campaign. Still I don't think for the $60 you could buy anything better right now. Expand
  23. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  24. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Battlefield fanboys are the only people who rate this game downwards. The single player campaign is absolutely FANTASTIC, although it is unfortunately let down in some points by the multiplayer - these points being the unbalance of certain weapons in the game and perks.
  25. NoahS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this game. It is epic all out war and the funnest multiplayer experience I have ever had, the only reason it has such a low score is because the non-haters are still playing CoD online
  26. JonathanA
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    First off, as of now, with 185 user votes, the game only has a 5.4... What in the heck is up with that? Have you even played the game? It's incredible! No fan boy from me. Multiplayer is just amazing and the campaign, though short, is stunning. Spec Ops is more fun then any other co-op game I've ever played. Better then horde, L4D, Firefight, etc... Best FPS ever maybe.
  27. IMac
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I dont understand all of the negative ratings. Although the came is extremely similar to COD4, it still expands on the formula perfectly. I think that if the game was any different, it would be worse. It is the perfect shooter.
  28. MichealS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Other than learning the maps the entire experience is unreal. I played the multiplayer and some of the campaign and I could not put it down and will not unless I risk losing my job.
  29. RedB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game's spectacular. Picked it up last night. The production value especially makes the game worth buying, but the controls and gameplay are solid. I can't wait to jump into the multiplayer.
  30. SamG
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game and very enjoyable developing upon the great areas of the call of duty 4. The only disappointment for me is the length of single player, it took little over 6hours to complete which i don't feel is good enough for a game that charges an extra £10 over normal games rrp.
  31. Doozer
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Terrible game, terrible even more so for what crap like this is doing to the games industry. The devs are get so high and mighty in their ivory towers, kinda like governments.. think everything they do/say MUST be right and MUST be the best for all. Wrong, this is a disgrace to all gamers on all formats. It *IS* slightly better on the consoles than the PC (and I have a PS3 and a fast PC) Terrible game, terrible even more so for what crap like this is doing to the games industry. The devs are get so high and mighty in their ivory towers, kinda like governments.. think everything they do/say MUST be right and MUST be the best for all. Wrong, this is a disgrace to all gamers on all formats. It *IS* slightly better on the consoles than the PC (and I have a PS3 and a fast PC) other than the fact I personaly always prefer FPS games with a mouse on PC. Even so, all the lies and PC/Trophy issues aside - the game underneath is still a very bad game masked by loud bangs and 'hollywood esque' derivitive action that does nothing for gaming but everything for critics of gaming. Avoid, Return to store, or just hang your head in shame if you buy this... vote with your wallets and buy a game that is WORTHY of your support not the one that gets the 'biggest advertising budget'. As for the professional reviews, well it's been obvious that gaming sites/mags have been taking backhanders for many years now, or are so linked to their sponsors/advertisers that they dare not speak evil of them (esp the massive titles that 'save' the industry each year with a giant cash influx from the brain washed masses).. games like NFS, COD, Madden etc. Please stop buying that crap and think about all our futures as gamers and how you can help change by using your brains and standing up for what you want and ignoring/not buying this kind of thing just because they have adverts everywhere saying 'the most anticipated game of the decade' - that shows such arrogance that I knew the moment I saw that this would be a re-hash of an already not that great COD4 original. Expand
  32. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  33. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    cod mw2 single player is ok but its xbox live is great, it has a good storyto it. but do yourself a favor and click yes at the beginning of the game to skip a mission many people find it very offensive
  34. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    years of experience and tons of call of duty games have taught the creators of the call of duty series how to make a satisfying action game. the details are amazing. the plot wasn't as good as modern warfare 1, but i liked it nonetheless. looking out to modern warfare 3!
  35. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed some levels in this game, generally I thought the action was too chaotic on most levels with too big a team to be enjoyable. Many times the game felt more frustrating than joyful. Graphics wise not much of a improvement over MW1. Story was plain, but this is a war shooter... Liked it? - It was OK.
  36. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    Great commerials and great marketing from Activision, and great anticipation for the greatness of Infinity Ward brought to us in cod4, but the greatness stops there. The game itself is poor for a call of duty. Its story is confusing and genereic. An invasion f America is unemotional and Shephard's betrayal is hard to understand. The game itself is like a Michael Bay film. Sure it looksGreat commerials and great marketing from Activision, and great anticipation for the greatness of Infinity Ward brought to us in cod4, but the greatness stops there. The game itself is poor for a call of duty. Its story is confusing and genereic. An invasion f America is unemotional and Shephard's betrayal is hard to understand. The game itself is like a Michael Bay film. Sure it looks good and has some exciting cinematic moments, but the story is told in a horrible way, and the characters are uninteresting. The multiplayer is a downgrade from 4 and waw. It puts in place two many over powerred kill streaks and makes the focus from getting kills to win the game to getting a chopper gunner ac130 or tacnuke. The secondary shotguns are completely unbalanced and the multiplayer grows more and more frustrating the more you play. One of the worst cods. A not so glorios end to infinity ward Expand
  37. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the new Call of Duty is only a few months away; I have decided to do a review on one of the biggest games of 2009. Already the makers of the game have tried to make it into an epic game by having a excellent plot. The story begins at the end of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare with the Ultra-nationalists taking over Russia and making the villian of the first Modern Warfare game (Imran Zakhaev) a hero of Russia. The gamer starts of as Private First Class Allen who helps the Rangers kill some insurgents in Afghanistan were he later finds out that he will join an elite special force who are already on a mission behind enemy lines in Kazahkstan,. The problem I have with this is that he is only a private and that they should of given the role to a more suitable role. Also with the Russians already being in Kazahkstan (I'm guessing through invasion) that the other nations of the world (especially USA) would have declared war. Anyway back to the plot, instead of playing "Soap", the gamer now plays as "Roach" who is taken under the wing of "Soap". The gamer then switches back to play as Private Allen who is sent on an undercover mission to follow Makarov and learn what he is up to. Allen has to do this by helping Makarov slaughter the innocent on Russian land. However, Makarov somehow knew that Allen was not a Russian but an American so he shoots him there and then. This then leads to the Russians blaming the Americans for the deaths of hundreds and decides to go to war against the US. Going back to playing as "Roach", the special forces find out that Makarov was behind the attack so the team head to Brazil to find out more info on the whereabouts of Makarov. They do this by interrogating Makarov's weapon dealer who tells them that Makarov's worst enemy is being held captive in a Russian Gulag under the name of Prisoner 627. This then leads to the Americans and the special forces assaulting the Gulag to then find out that Prisoner 627 was in actual fact Captain Price. The special forces then go take on a Russian Naval Base and then Captain Price activates a nuclear warhead in a Russian Sub. During this time, the gamer becomes Private Ramirez who takes part in many spectacular battles in the game; such as the Battle for the White House in Washington D.C. At this point, the US Rangers who you play as are under heavy fire and looks like all is lost until the nuclear warhead that Captain Price fired blows up in space (killing an innocent Astronaut). "Roach" and "Ghost" then go to gather data on Makarov at his safe house which leads to there sad deaths at the hand of your ally Sheperd. The gamer then plays as Soap and tries to take down Sheperd with the help of Captain Price. The gamer finds out that Sheperd did this due to the amount of soldiers who died in the nuclear explosion in the 1st modern warfare game. At the end of the game, Sheperd is killed and the remainders of the special forces go on the hunt for Makarov. Positives The story was done very well Spec Ops was a different option for the gamers to play
    I like how it gives the gamer an option to play the Russian Massacre mission Negatives The online needs fixing as the good gamers will easily destroy the average or weaker gamers Rating Overall, I would have to give Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 the rating of 8 out of 10 -- Mr Hannigan
    Expand
  38. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Time and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it ModernTime and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  39. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Worst Call of duty to date. No rewardable material/content. Infinity Ward always made the worst CoD games, and this game is a major example of that.
  40. Jorge
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    This game is just BS. It is obvious Activision shelled out the big bucks to those a$$ wipe reviewers. Unbelievable that something so serious as giving a professional opinion has come some low that seems prostitution. Really, get this game at your own risk!!!
  41. SadMan
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Its Modern Warfare 1 with new perks and guns. Nothing new to offer the gaming world except a copy of its predecessor, with an old graphics engine, unblanced and small multiplayer, and a 3 hour single player. Save your money, not worth it.
  42. FrankieT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is great. I have been playing for 2 and a half hours and I haven't found a flaw yet. They really took the flaws of CoD4 and worked mad hard on them. They also added a ton of new features and weapons. Now this is a flawless game (so far) I haven't played much of the campaign but it seemed pretty interesting from the beginning. Highly recommended.
  43. daniels.
    Mar 1, 2010
    0
    This game deserves nothing. if it wasnt for all the hyper and over rated coverage id give it a one, the singleplayer is crap and lasts for 5 minutes, the mutliplayer is boring and you'll want to cheat just to get your $ worth. dont buy this game unless you enjoy disappointment, however.. bad company 2 BETA was more fun.. try you're luck there with a user rating of 9.
  44. JeffD.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    ThE CRAppiest game ever. this SUCKED. I want my money back. I would rather watch barney and friends! Short campaign, stupid first person camera... If ur wondering what games I do like, Halo.
  45. BenR
    Apr 17, 2010
    0
    I am sorely disseminated by this game. After all the fun and glory of Call of Duty 4 i was hoping that this would be as fun but to no avail. The plot could be spread on the already growing pile of anti-russia games. Multiplayer rewards players for crouching in the corner.
  46. Sep 23, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game totally blows. I was really excited when it first came out, but it gets boring fast, probably because of the cheats, glitches, bugs and other stuff people found out, and because of its incredibly unbalanced weapon pallet. Save your money, this game is not worth it. Overall, 2/10 Expand
  47. AidanG.
    Apr 18, 2010
    4
    I'm going to give an honest to god review from a REAL TENTH PRESTIGE. I started with Single Player. It was pretty good but a little short, but Ghost was a lovable character, I suppose. Ok so we're at a 9 with this. Spec Ops is incredible fun with a buddy and the missions are great. At this point, a 10. Now multiplayer. I expected it to be great fun just like Single Player and I'm going to give an honest to god review from a REAL TENTH PRESTIGE. I started with Single Player. It was pretty good but a little short, but Ghost was a lovable character, I suppose. Ok so we're at a 9 with this. Spec Ops is incredible fun with a buddy and the missions are great. At this point, a 10. Now multiplayer. I expected it to be great fun just like Single Player and Spec-Ops was; boy was I wrong! I kept playing now for a couple months and have gotten tenth prestige. I honestly hate multiplayer, but yet it is so addicting, I can't get away from it badness. Expand
  48. MichaelAn
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    As a PC player I was truly disappointed with this game. I made the mistake of pre-ordering it before reading about its massively stripped features. I'm now stuck with a game not worth anywhere near the price I paid for it, and one I have no interest in playing again once I play through the single player in after 4 hours. Great.
  49. Sep 29, 2010
    2
    a pile of crap is the best way to describe COD MW2 . the story mode sucks the enimy AI is rediculasly retarded they track you through walls when you try to sneak up on them and as soon as you peak around the corner they open fire before you can even get your sights up. your AI team is dumb as **** they run blindly out in the open and fire at enimys never hittin a damn thing as soon as youa pile of crap is the best way to describe COD MW2 . the story mode sucks the enimy AI is rediculasly retarded they track you through walls when you try to sneak up on them and as soon as you peak around the corner they open fire before you can even get your sights up. your AI team is dumb as **** they run blindly out in the open and fire at enimys never hittin a damn thing as soon as you try to peak around the corner every enimy on screen that was shooting at your AI team turns on you. its complete bull **** . still no online Co op for the story mode . they canclled it at the last min . my guess why is the stupid enimy AI wouldnt know WTF to do if it had more then 1 player it had to auto lock onto behind a damn wall and just shoot them selves in the damn head. the online... i wouldnt touch it . i like COD4 online but thats the last of the COD games i wanted to play online . im glad i dont care any more for this game online any more because i heard from all my friends it was garbage , Expand
  50. KevinM
    Jan 4, 2010
    1
    Probably the worst game ever created. If you want to get the same experience without paying $60 then consider hitting yourself in the head with a hammer.
  51. NathanielD
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    An extreme dissapointment, where CoD4 brought great change and new features, This just improves it slightly. With the asking price so high, the 7 hour campaign is utterly insulting. Multiplayer is of course great, if you somehow figure out how to filter out the idoits.
  52. DanJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Best game I have played this year. I haven't been this addicted to any game since gears of war 2. The Spec Ops mode is amazing, the most fun I have had playing coop on the Xbox360. The multiplayer has been updated and works great. You get rewards for everything, and there are a ton of unlocks. It really feels fair and balanced this time around. The campaign is great, although short. Best game I have played this year. I haven't been this addicted to any game since gears of war 2. The Spec Ops mode is amazing, the most fun I have had playing coop on the Xbox360. The multiplayer has been updated and works great. You get rewards for everything, and there are a ton of unlocks. It really feels fair and balanced this time around. The campaign is great, although short. I have never had so much adrenaline pumping throughout the entirety the game until I played this one. If you own a 360, then you need to buy this game or sell your system to somebody that will buy this game. Expand
  53. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    this game is good. the campaign was excellent with epic story and excellent plot twists and gameplay. as for the multiplayer, it is alot like the previous cod games, but with new killstreaks and perks, it keeps you hooked. There are still many bad things with this game like boosters, cheap perk combinations, stuff like that. but this is not game breaking as this is a truly excellent gmae.
  54. May 4, 2011
    8
    While it is still a great game, it feels like MW 1.5. Infinity Ward is known for it's cutting edge, but seemed a bit lazy while making this game. The single player gets really interesting about halfway through, but does not compare to the campaign of MW1. IW focused more on over the top moments as opposed to good storytelling. While a co-op campaign would have been better, the Spec-Ops isWhile it is still a great game, it feels like MW 1.5. Infinity Ward is known for it's cutting edge, but seemed a bit lazy while making this game. The single player gets really interesting about halfway through, but does not compare to the campaign of MW1. IW focused more on over the top moments as opposed to good storytelling. While a co-op campaign would have been better, the Spec-Ops is a nice addition, albeit hard if you're trying to beat them all on veteran. The MP is the MP, you will love it if you enjoyed MW1's MP, or you will hate it. I enjoyed it, but never got to the level cap after two years, while it only took me a couple of months in MW1. If you liked the first, you'll like the second, but it isn't groundbreaking. Expand
  55. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But theThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But the overall 'game' of MW2 is a mixed bag and fails to be something really special, not just a 'fun' or 'popular' game. The single player story is a bad joke, the themes and meanings the story portrays are a contradictory muddled mess. The special Op missions do offer some well designed gameplay but why the story mode is not intertwined is confusing, I would have preferred the entire story dropped for more Special Ops. The multiplayer can be fun for short periods of time but does lack depth which is why it has not resonated as a competitive Esport title. I do recommend MW2 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  56. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    look the first modernwarfare game was innovative and an excellent game but modernwarfare 2 was a dissipointing. The campaign was ok, nothing was bad about it but it had been all done before. The new perks were a small positive which was blown out of proportion by fanboys as only stealth perks can be used and if you didn't snipe you were an 3p1cn00b... oh god why? Noscoping quickscopinglook the first modernwarfare game was innovative and an excellent game but modernwarfare 2 was a dissipointing. The campaign was ok, nothing was bad about it but it had been all done before. The new perks were a small positive which was blown out of proportion by fanboys as only stealth perks can be used and if you didn't snipe you were an 3p1cn00b... oh god why? Noscoping quickscoping JUST STOP IT. Montage after montage on quickscoping aargh. The fact that is has call of duty slapped infront of its title brought it huge revenue and drew players from other games. these players then when they had had their 19th game in a row where they were 0-19 and raging at everybody for using assault rifles and small machine guns, they would then migrate to another game and spread the 'snipe or you los' cancer. Look the game is an alrounder alright game. To sum it up the campaign was nothign new but didn't suck and the multiplayer was barable. Im happy to take up any argument you have with my comment, my xbox live is boxylyric oh and i think i have an unpositive kill death ratio but its not like the mw2 community cares about the type of thing right? Expand
  57. MaxS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    This game held a lot of promise and the SP was not half bad. Unfortunately the MP is where it's at - and this game is a major disappointing. To list the number of features which are not missing or the things which are now impossible as compared to cod4 would be too exhaustive. Sufficed to say, many things are missing, things which many PC gamers including myself expect to be standard This game held a lot of promise and the SP was not half bad. Unfortunately the MP is where it's at - and this game is a major disappointing. To list the number of features which are not missing or the things which are now impossible as compared to cod4 would be too exhaustive. Sufficed to say, many things are missing, things which many PC gamers including myself expect to be standard as part of any good game. Personally, the biggest problems with the new multiplayer system are the very low maximum number of players, 0 ping advantage for host, lag spikes, copycat perk (what's the point of leveling up?), and in general IW seems to take a lot of control / customisation away from us - which ultimately serves to worsen the experience. I sincerely hope there will be a patch to add dedicated servers, modding and lean. Lean is another great thing missing from this game. All in all, not worth the money it is selling for. Expand
  58. MikeH
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The PC release of this game is flawed beyond all expectations. Not only do the people who bought it on Steam have to wait 2 extra days to play, us Europeans have been screwed even further by IW refusing dedicated server support. Ping to IWNET servers is horrible, and 9x9 on PCs is a joke. The 360 version is no better. Unstable, the story is cliche and having a Russian antagonist is just silly.
  59. RantC
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I love the new features like mouse and keyboard control on a PC! So amazing! And it doesn't take long at all to adjust to shooting 5 feet from where your target is standing to be able to register a hit on them because of latency! I'm happy to spend more money than normal on a PC title for less features than in the previous version. Game of the year all years!
  60. CheezB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I honestly see no reason to buy a game that gives such a kick in the balls to PC gamers. I can not see why they would remove so many elements that have become assumed features of a PC game. It is a shame that so much work has been put into making such a great looking game with apparently great gameplay, but ruined in this way.
  61. montyq
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Good graphics, but activision didnt need to charge so much for it, i know its all about making money at the end of the day but they didnt have to rip us off, activision knew it would sell anyway so why!. anyway ive seen it but ill leave this for the screaming school kids that seem to dominate the online xbox community. Teenage Kids, I hate them as they know how to ruin a perfectly good Good graphics, but activision didnt need to charge so much for it, i know its all about making money at the end of the day but they didnt have to rip us off, activision knew it would sell anyway so why!. anyway ive seen it but ill leave this for the screaming school kids that seem to dominate the online xbox community. Teenage Kids, I hate them as they know how to ruin a perfectly good online game. Expand
  62. AbrahamM
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Trash. Gameplay is weak and unimaginative. Revolting graphics and terrible sound. Multiplayer is ridiculously similar (in a bad way) to the previous two installments. Nothing new. Just rinsing and repeating for Activison and sadly gamers are loving it.
  63. JohnK
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The gameplay is tired and repetative, and it gennerally lacks innovation seeing as this is the third in the series to use the exact same multiplayer format. I expected better from infinity ward.
  64. ScottM
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    They PC port plays like a console game. No adjustments to the FOV and no dedicated server makes this a game to pass on if you are a PC Gamer. Purchase it on the console if you can leave with the dated graphics since this is what the game was built for. To bad Infinity Ward ignored the PC gamers. Pass on this one, try again next year.
  65. MichaelL
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers. Host Advantage. 100ms+ ping. No leaning. 9v9 max multiplayer. No modding or custom maps. No ability to kick/ban hackers. All this AND an increased price? Worst. Game. Ever.
  66. dannio
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    This game is great. I have been playing for 2 and a half hours and I haven't found a flaw yet. They really took the flaws of CoD4 and worked mad hard on them. They also added a ton of new features and weapons. Now this is a flawless game (so far) I haven't played much of the campaign but it seemed pretty interesting from the beginning. Not recommended.
  67. DionD
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Horrible, offensive, I never played the first one, heard the hype and gave it a go. For people whom aren't mindless idiots It may be good, the rest of us should avoid.
  68. JosephS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Short single player campaign No dedicated servers Peer to peer hosting 100ms as standard Host has the latency advantage ~10 second pause when the host disconnects No custom content like maps, mods Forced DLC with a price tag 9v9 max 65 FoV No console No recording No lean 'Tactical' nuke All of this for just $60. Although it does have some great features such as mouse support, Short single player campaign No dedicated servers Peer to peer hosting 100ms as standard Host has the latency advantage ~10 second pause when the host disconnects No custom content like maps, mods Forced DLC with a price tag 9v9 max 65 FoV No console No recording No lean 'Tactical' nuke All of this for just $60. Although it does have some great features such as mouse support, in-game text and graphics options. Expand
  69. EzdarothThegreat
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The main reason for this rating, is that some random laptop with 1mbit upload bandwidth doesn't quite compare to game server provider's rack server with 100mbit upload. Any PC-gamer that doesn't like latency shouldn't even take a look at the multiplayer, just for the sake of Infinity Ward using much worse system in order to avoid extra work on the PC-version. When The main reason for this rating, is that some random laptop with 1mbit upload bandwidth doesn't quite compare to game server provider's rack server with 100mbit upload. Any PC-gamer that doesn't like latency shouldn't even take a look at the multiplayer, just for the sake of Infinity Ward using much worse system in order to avoid extra work on the PC-version. When Infinity Ward gave us the news they won't support the PC-community, few other companies hinted the same way. This way they are hurting the whole PC-gaming community, since the core features of PC-gaming are being taken off. The server system would be enough for 0 rating alone, but the fact that many other aspects of the game have been ruined makes me want to rate it negative. Killing the mod community and not even having a command console is something you can't accept on PC. Expand
  70. RomanH
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    As a PC user I am upset and ashamed that IW has betrayed the same fans that supported them when they broke off from the MOHAA team and started their own studio. I'm sure everyone's well aware of the chart that's been floating around, which proves that IW not only didn't add anything new to MW2, but in fact they removed MANY key features. In fact, almost all the As a PC user I am upset and ashamed that IW has betrayed the same fans that supported them when they broke off from the MOHAA team and started their own studio. I'm sure everyone's well aware of the chart that's been floating around, which proves that IW not only didn't add anything new to MW2, but in fact they removed MANY key features. In fact, almost all the features that made CoD4 great have been removed. I feel that my rating of this game as a 3 isn't as much as a penalty, but a favor to IW because they deserve much less with this abomination. Expand
  71. Sep 25, 2010
    4
    This game is just like the others for xbox 360. the graphics don't improve nor does the gameplay. Its just another call of duty game. the sniper is so annoying to use its like your character is drunk while sniping. In my opinion, its just another call of duty game
  72. RachaelB
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    Considering the hype for this game, the fact that Infinity Ward/Activision issued a patch to disable trophies means I can't play the single player. Add to that the friend invite system is broken and you can only play in random online matches means I was sold a bill of goods that doesn't live up to its claims.
  73. JamesT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could ever hope for. This game is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  74. ZachS
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    This game is very bad. I have had it for a week, and I must say that this is THE worst first person shooter of all time hands down. Haze? Perfect Dark? They don't even compare to the level of poor graphics and gameplay contained within the game. I give this a 4.0 for poor effort.
  75. AdamK.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Unplayable. Homogenizing the PC version down to the console level sets a dangerous precedent that should not be accepted. The amount of good features sacrificed so that users can one-click join games is beyond unreasonable.
  76. MattT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Poor show. The tasteless airport level and a generally childish approach to conflict negate any excitement that may have been had. A real shame given what a triumph COD4 was. There's a lot of noise and a lot of shouting. But sadly, not a lot of fun.
  77. VdekD
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    Single Player is alright, but way too short, $60 for a 5 hour single player game is not right... Multiplayer is horrible, well I should say it's horrible for anyone that isn't me since I usually end up being chosen host for games. While other players are pushing 100-200 pings I have a ping of 0, it's not even fair. Like shooting fish in a barrel.
  78. MattM
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    Like others, I was eager for this game. It's way too short though. I finished the single player in just over 6 hours on normal difficulty. Given the ridiculous price of this game, the SP is pathetic. If you want to shout at people playing MP, then this is for you. As for me...well the game goes back to the shop as there is zero replay value. So it's basically like the original Like others, I was eager for this game. It's way too short though. I finished the single player in just over 6 hours on normal difficulty. Given the ridiculous price of this game, the SP is pathetic. If you want to shout at people playing MP, then this is for you. As for me...well the game goes back to the shop as there is zero replay value. So it's basically like the original MW, but overpriced. Expand
  79. davidm
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Decent game but doesn't improve on much from Cod4, graphics are nice but the game still doesnt run at even 720p, frame-rate is really good though, controlls are still good, but like i said this game feels more like CoD4.5 than ModernWarfare 2.
  80. NickH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I really hate when critics no one's ever heard of bring down the score of a game. This is the case with idiots like Boomtown. The campaign is somewhat short, but the conclusion is brilliant. Think of Spec Ops as a co-op campaign and you add at least a couple of hours on to the play time, and as COD4's multiplayer has shown, there's endless replayability. In truth, this I really hate when critics no one's ever heard of bring down the score of a game. This is the case with idiots like Boomtown. The campaign is somewhat short, but the conclusion is brilliant. Think of Spec Ops as a co-op campaign and you add at least a couple of hours on to the play time, and as COD4's multiplayer has shown, there's endless replayability. In truth, this could not only be the game of the year, but the game of the DECADE, in the amount of content this extremely polished game has to offer. Expand
  81. RyanF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing game! One of the best games of all time and I'm only talking about the multiplayer! Can't wait to start the campaign. U need to pick this up right now!
  82. May 7, 2011
    5
    Infinity Ward in my opinion isn't as good as Treyarch at making Call of Duty games, I was hoping that this would change my opinion about that, and it let me down, let's start with the basics, the graphics are hit or miss during the first half of the game, but during the second half there breathtaking, the same goes for the sound, as a matter of a fact that's how the whole campaign is, theInfinity Ward in my opinion isn't as good as Treyarch at making Call of Duty games, I was hoping that this would change my opinion about that, and it let me down, let's start with the basics, the graphics are hit or miss during the first half of the game, but during the second half there breathtaking, the same goes for the sound, as a matter of a fact that's how the whole campaign is, the first half is just kinda lame and just feels like more COD 4: MW, but the second half is fantastic, with large set pieces, and shocking and amazing battles, trust me it's WAY better than COD 4: MW's disappointing campaign, but it's to short and the story is confusing up until the second half, however most people won't even bother with the campaign and just stick with the multiplayer, which now is filled with bugs, glitches, and hackers and is almost unplayable, the game also has Spec Ops missions, which can be played solo but are more fun with friends, but they aren't that great, and most are just reused levels from the campaign, all in all if you liked COD 4: MW you'll probably like this, as it's mostly more of the same, but others should avoid, I would recommend a rental at most. Expand
  83. Jan 9, 2011
    5
    The release of Modern Warfare 2 was incredibly hyped. I remember the buzz around everyone on the day of release, and the excitement that day made it probably one of the most fun times on the Xbox 360 that I've ever had. I started with single player and, as expected, it was over-the-top fast-paced action and that's what made it good. The campaign was short, but it was incredibly excitingThe release of Modern Warfare 2 was incredibly hyped. I remember the buzz around everyone on the day of release, and the excitement that day made it probably one of the most fun times on the Xbox 360 that I've ever had. I started with single player and, as expected, it was over-the-top fast-paced action and that's what made it good. The campaign was short, but it was incredibly exciting despite some of the questionable plot choices. Notable missions include the one with the snowmobiles and the final level. Although they were obvious gimmicks they were extremely enjoyable; so all in all the campaign was quite good in my opinion. The Spec Ops mode offered a nice change from the zombies mode of World at War and was good fun, although I was disappointed to see a lack of support for it - but I'll come to the later. Then we come to the multiplayer mode. At first it was very exciting with awesome new guns and attachments and of course the addition of a multitude of killstreak rewards that you can pick and choose rather than being given the standard 3-5-7 seen in Modern Warfare 1 and World at War. Later on the inevitable and infamous "Cod rage" took hold and although this was to be expected with a Call of Duty game, Modern Warfare 2 took it above and beyond. It soon became apparent that the game had been made extremely "noob-friendly" with very luck-based gameplay, extremely easy-to-use combinations and clearly overpowered weapons, perks, attachments and killstreak rewards. Furthermore, once the insane power of the killstreak rewards was realised, the game revolved around it and this simply caused camping as players would play Domination (for example) purely so it's a longer match and they can therefore get their nuke with their generic 7-11-25 killstreak set-up. I could go on about multiplayer's flaws but I won't. Support for the game seemed to be a big issue for Infinity Ward. Each new map pack charged us ridiculous prices for a few of new maps and one or two old ones. 1,200 points is far too much for a map pack in my opinion, especially since, in spite of this, Spec Ops saw absolutely nothing new. As well as this, multiplayer was not otherwise changed very often at all to balance the game. The only updates on the game game were when particularly glaring flaws (such as the care package glitches or the Model 1887 issues). Overall, for me the multiplayer simply became more of a stress than fun and it was Infinity Ward's lack of listening to gamers that caused them to do nothing about it, but rather milk the cow with each new overpriced map pack. But that's not to say the multiplayer was entirely bad - private matches and playing with friends could often still be fun, but overall I found the experience lack lustre. Expand
  84. COD
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I take issue that the graphics of this game is no better then COD4 yet they ask $60 for this game. The story line is no better then the COD4. And, it's no longer then COD4. The SP aspect of this game offers nothing interesting that suggests why they are asking for a higher price. The one thing that I really disliked is that many online matches are up to12 players only (6v6) and a few I take issue that the graphics of this game is no better then COD4 yet they ask $60 for this game. The story line is no better then the COD4. And, it's no longer then COD4. The SP aspect of this game offers nothing interesting that suggests why they are asking for a higher price. The one thing that I really disliked is that many online matches are up to12 players only (6v6) and a few that are lower then that. I never read that the online player count would offer lower then 18 (9v9)! The maps that are 6v6 are IMO to large for such a low player count and you will find yourself walking around and checking the scoreboard just to make sure your not the only person playing the game. This is why I gave it a 0 rating. I do not see any real creativity in the SP and MP that warrants it's current price. Expand
  85. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    Very poor multiplayer. The game itself has a huge amount of design flaws in MP that make the game easier for the casual player, such as lack of recoil of assault rifles, deathstreaks, noob tubes, terrible spawns, an incredibly bad P2P server, etc. I really hope that in the future, we look upon this game as a complete failure. Because that's what it was (and is) to too many people whoVery poor multiplayer. The game itself has a huge amount of design flaws in MP that make the game easier for the casual player, such as lack of recoil of assault rifles, deathstreaks, noob tubes, terrible spawns, an incredibly bad P2P server, etc. I really hope that in the future, we look upon this game as a complete failure. Because that's what it was (and is) to too many people who mistakenly bought the game, thinking it to be like COD4. Expand
  86. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    COD4 has been raped by the franchise's most overrated piece of **** sequel Modern Warfare 2. Words can't even describe how terrible this game is! The worst Campaign in Call of Duty in HISTORY! It's so retarded, confusing, and pointless, which took me an hour and a half to beat! Some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in video games. The characters are cliche as hell, and no characterCOD4 has been raped by the franchise's most overrated piece of **** sequel Modern Warfare 2. Words can't even describe how terrible this game is! The worst Campaign in Call of Duty in HISTORY! It's so retarded, confusing, and pointless, which took me an hour and a half to beat! Some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in video games. The characters are cliche as hell, and no character development so you don't care for them at all. The most unrealistic, contrived ending to any video game I've ever seen. The multiplayer is so god terrible, that I would rather watch Battlefield Earth! Yes Modern Warfare 2 is a prime example of how a video game should not be hyped. Overall, not as bad as World at War, but still one of my least favorite COD games. If you loved COD4, don't, you won't like this. Expand
  87. DamienW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is terrible. The graphics are terrible and the gameplay is dull. If I would recommend a FPS I would defo. buy Halo 3. Or for an evan cheaper price I would buy GRAW 2. Nooby Game
  88. CraigB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    IW missed the mark on this game. Should have been in the bag. Cannot fathom how you screw this series up so badly. Avoid like the plague.
  89. PeterM
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    A 6 hour single player with no replay value and inferior (compared to it's predecesor) multiplayer really makes buying this game a bad idea. Rent it only if you're really bored.
  90. GuillaumeP
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    This well polished game not only represents mindless killing but disregard what made video gaming great: The PC platform. Please don't give your money to Activision! We don't want this to become the future of VG.
  91. dddd
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Mediocre. More of the same, and the first game was horrible. The campaign is short, and although some set pieces are impressive, the storytelling is awkward. Multiplayer is as boring as ever.
  92. JesterB
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    As a wii/PS3/Steam gamer, this is not the game of the ages. Normally I would give a game like this about a 6, but all the crap activision has done lately.... Well let me use a quote. "If you take a @#$% on the side of the cake, it spoils the whole thing for me." -Adam Sessler, G4 Although I don't see Xplay as being a creditable place, that was a smart analogy on Adam's part. As a wii/PS3/Steam gamer, this is not the game of the ages. Normally I would give a game like this about a 6, but all the crap activision has done lately.... Well let me use a quote. "If you take a @#$% on the side of the cake, it spoils the whole thing for me." -Adam Sessler, G4 Although I don't see Xplay as being a creditable place, that was a smart analogy on Adam's part. I'm sick of reviewers treating this like it's the second coming. This game hardly improve from COD4. Sure, there are minor updates and it's polished, but that's about it. There are much better games people could be playing like Killzone 2, Uncharted 2, MGO, Resistence 2, Halo 3, Gears of War (PC), TF2 (PC), STALKER and much more, even COD4MW. Lack of support for PC gamers, and the lack of innovation for console gamers. Many games like killzone 2 use dedicated servers and a PC like layout, which makes it better for console gamers. We don't need the industry standard to be polishing games once a year and adding a 1 or 2 features while you take away the more important ones. Take Ratchet and Clank future: ACIT It got a quiet a few bad ratings and it's adds MUCH MUCH MUCH more with out taking anything the whole game revolves around.... away. The single play campaign was decent, storywise but it was short and you still put up with the same grenade spamming crap from the original hard difficulties. All though and though, if people didn't treat this the like it's the holy grail of video games, and if activision/infinity ward didn't treat gamers/ homosexuals/ it's staff/PC gamers and more like crap.. and if they added something to the game and fixed the difficulty problems, I probably would have rated this a 7 or an 8. Expand
  93. RobS
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    Becuase of the lack of dedicated servers. the fact you have to have Steam installed. And the fact the RRP for PS3 and Xbox 360 is £54.99, and the fact Tesco are selling it for £25, undercutting local game shops. I give 3/10 just to put its rating down. FAIR? Prob not. BUT WHAT YA GONNA DO. Do not use caps. Hope I have not broke this rule I am just getting my point across better.
  94. ShaneF
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    The game is terrible. It's exactly the same as the original, visually and gameplay wise. Yes, there are new guns. Yes, there are new maps. But they all essentially look the same. The engine used to run the game is outdated, and is really starting to show its age. I wouldn't recommend this game to any self respecting gamer.
  95. nathant
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I instantly thought what a great game. then came the glitches and lag. i read about it onine and apparantly this was only on the 360 version of the game. without sounding like a fanboy (im really not) i traded in for the ps3 version. despite the extra cost it was well worth it and now works fine and works on its reputation in making it the perfect game. i hope they will patch the 360 I instantly thought what a great game. then came the glitches and lag. i read about it onine and apparantly this was only on the 360 version of the game. without sounding like a fanboy (im really not) i traded in for the ps3 version. despite the extra cost it was well worth it and now works fine and works on its reputation in making it the perfect game. i hope they will patch the 360 version within the coming months as it is horrid. Expand
  96. SamJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I hate to jump on the bandwagon, but a single player campaign that doesn't even break the 5 hour mark is a little ridiculous. I.W. may think that the length doesn't matter, but all the feedback proves otherwise don't it? Seriously the length (or lack of) really ruined this game for me, althougt admittedly i still did enjoy it while it lasted.
  97. Nov 9, 2010
    5
    The only good thing about this game was the campaign, which wasn't even that good to be honest. The mutli-player was terrible, it was always lagging for a lot of people, and incredibly unrealistic. The campaign was fairly good, but it was WAY too short, which was a big let down. Everything else on the game was mediocre.
  98. Dec 27, 2010
    3
    Oh how disappointing. I was really looking forward to this game, and for the first 2 weeks it was good, apart from the campaign that had a million plot holes eg. shepard said the world watched as his men died in cod 4, they didnt. The sas and USMC led a joint offensive against the men reposnsible and obliterated almost all of them, and thats just one plot-hole. Secondly, the multiplayer.Oh how disappointing. I was really looking forward to this game, and for the first 2 weeks it was good, apart from the campaign that had a million plot holes eg. shepard said the world watched as his men died in cod 4, they didnt. The sas and USMC led a joint offensive against the men reposnsible and obliterated almost all of them, and thats just one plot-hole. Secondly, the multiplayer. Poorly done maps, loads of glitches, unblalnced perks and weapons... the reviewers were so obviously bribed or fell into the hype. Shame. Get COD 4 or Black Ops, they are MUCH better. Expand
  99. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better.I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better. Sure it's not completely balanced but if you get into a match without douchebags the game is probably the most fun you can have in gaming. Expand
  100. chriso
    Jan 19, 2010
    1
    Honestly, this was the worst game I have played all year. SP is nothing short of a Micheal Bay film, sure it has lots of explosions, and action, but thats it. Nothing more, no story, or plot, or even memorable characters. It seems like they were just trying to go for the shock value this time. MP is even worse, and I dont even know where to start. Spawns are atrocious, maps just cater to Honestly, this was the worst game I have played all year. SP is nothing short of a Micheal Bay film, sure it has lots of explosions, and action, but thats it. Nothing more, no story, or plot, or even memorable characters. It seems like they were just trying to go for the shock value this time. MP is even worse, and I dont even know where to start. Spawns are atrocious, maps just cater to campers, objective gamemodes turn into who can get the nuke first, perks and pro perks make the game unbalanced, and the OP KSRs make it even more so. Ranking is tedious, and gets boring very fast, cant take 2 steps in this game without unlocking something or be rewarded for doing something, its like it was made for the people who get bored no unlocking something for 30 seconds. The MP is also a glitchfest, they release a patch, but more glitches and hacks are found within a day. Matchmaking and server connection issues are the worst of any game, seriously theres not this many problems with EA servers. As said, maps not only cater to campers, but seemed like they just tried cramming as much crap as possible into one and saying "Good enough". All balance is thrown right out the window with this game. Overall, there are better games out there, and there are better games coming out. MW 2 is just a waste of $60 Only saving grace is the Spec Ops, which also get boring after a while Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.