User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2573 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinKo
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Some of you guys are total r-tards. sure the campaign is real suckish and you die a lot online, but that doesn't mean you have to give it a 1. They just patched up most of the glitches anyway
  2. JamesD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    It's difficult for me to score this game. On one hand it's the most media centric game I've ever played at is therefore extremely overated especially when up against GTA IV and he new sensation of Mass Effect and Bioshock. However there isn't any denying that this is gaming crack cocaine and an absolutely genre defining FPS. I came to my score based on the true facts It's difficult for me to score this game. On one hand it's the most media centric game I've ever played at is therefore extremely overated especially when up against GTA IV and he new sensation of Mass Effect and Bioshock. However there isn't any denying that this is gaming crack cocaine and an absolutely genre defining FPS. I came to my score based on the true facts of how addictive it really is, this isn't World At War overated, it earns most of its praise but those who are getting tired of this franchise like me should steer clear. It's intended for the fans so don't expect anything radically new that effects the gameplay, just know its better than the original. Expand
  3. AnonymousAnonymous
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    I don't see why there are so many people give games 0 score if its just a little bit bad or mediocre. People say MW2's campaign is less than 5 hours long, if you play on easy and do something like a speedrun. The campaign is really good, and not too short. Spec ops is fun with friends. Multiplayer is just awesome.
  4. DeadlyD
    Feb 18, 2010
    9
    this game is one of the best war games i played. graphics are awesome and the gameplay is really fun, even though i dont really care too much about campain mode, the reason i picked up this game was for the muiltiplayer. and for the muiltiplayer i must say it is fantastic. also, for a challenge they gave us special ops mode which is also very fun to play. special ops is basicly like a this game is one of the best war games i played. graphics are awesome and the gameplay is really fun, even though i dont really care too much about campain mode, the reason i picked up this game was for the muiltiplayer. and for the muiltiplayer i must say it is fantastic. also, for a challenge they gave us special ops mode which is also very fun to play. special ops is basicly like a survival mode ex: getting to a safe zone alive, defusing bombs etc. so if your looking for a fun modern war game, then i would get this one. Expand
  5. JonathanS.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    I have no idea what game the people voting against this game were playing, except for half of them never having played it and just hating on it because they're immature gamers who have to have THEIR favorite game be the best. Terrible graphics? Poor controls? Someone even said something about a "stupid first person view"? I'm sorry, I thought this was an FPS I was playing. I I have no idea what game the people voting against this game were playing, except for half of them never having played it and just hating on it because they're immature gamers who have to have THEIR favorite game be the best. Terrible graphics? Poor controls? Someone even said something about a "stupid first person view"? I'm sorry, I thought this was an FPS I was playing. I understand some people who don't have Xbox Live not enjoying the game, but I would think you can read the reviews ahead of time and realize that the campaign is short, thus not always worth $65. Playing on veteran stretched it out for me to about 8 hours of playtime, and definitely upped the intensity. I personally thought the cinematic presentation and set pieces were astounding, and the conclusion was possibly the best in recent gaming history, presentation-wise. Graphics were brilliant, the best I've seen on the 360 yet, with only the likes of Uncharted 2 possibly beating it, and controls couldn't have been any more perfect. Multiplayer is still more addictive than any other next-gen game currently in retail, and Spec Ops is a nice addition, and a lot more fun on Veteran with a friend. Overall, I thought the game was just as good as MW, and though not substantially different, the fact that it came out so quickly and is a DIRECT sequel--I wasn't expecting some major revamp, just a perfecting of something I already loved. And that's what I got. As for Halo fanboys and other childish gamers, don't judge a game without playing it yourself and without an unbiased opinion. (Plus, really? It's not like Halo or GTA changed that fundamentally sequel to sequel, so I don't understand those arguments to begin with.) Expand
  6. MehrajA
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    I'll be honest, at first I was doubting if infinity ward had done a good job with the SP campaign, the first mission was just more of the same, with the cliff hangar mission being an exception, then having a few sniper missions clearly stolen from cod4, nothing new there, it's when the plot twists came that I started to realise how deep the game gets. As soon as your given a I'll be honest, at first I was doubting if infinity ward had done a good job with the SP campaign, the first mission was just more of the same, with the cliff hangar mission being an exception, then having a few sniper missions clearly stolen from cod4, nothing new there, it's when the plot twists came that I started to realise how deep the game gets. As soon as your given a proper plot, you start to pay attention to detail, from the call outs from the AI to the detailed guns. The graphics are pretty much the same to cod4 iw's hyped streaming isn't all that. When compared to games such as Killzone 2 and Uncharted 2, (BTW i have an xbox360...only never had a ps3) it's not going to hold it's own. However as you get into the swing of things, you quickly realise that any noob can spray but it does actually take a bit of skill to pull of headshots and the such, the multiplayer is definately better than cod4, with new fixes and such but I reckon there are a few bugs in this one, Overall mw2 is more of the same but with a bigger bang. Worth 54 pounds? maybe not, however it is definately worth your time! Collapse
  7. JoeF
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    It really pisses me off that people give MW2 low ratings because either "It's not as good as Halo" or "It got too much hype." First of all, if you like Halo so much, play Halo and stop bringing down the CoD fans. They're two completely different games. Second, the game got a ton of hype because it deserved it. It made $130 million in the first 24 hours, which is the biggest It really pisses me off that people give MW2 low ratings because either "It's not as good as Halo" or "It got too much hype." First of all, if you like Halo so much, play Halo and stop bringing down the CoD fans. They're two completely different games. Second, the game got a ton of hype because it deserved it. It made $130 million in the first 24 hours, which is the biggest success in the history of media entertainment, better than Halo 3 and GTA IV and everything else. I like Halo and GTA too, but I don't compare completely different games to one another. The game is freakin awesome, and the only reason I don't give it a 10 is because CoD 4 had a better campaign in terms of raw emotion that really made me connect with the characters, and I was genuinely upset about their fate in the end. But other than that the multiplayer is fantastic and Spec Ops is a great co-op mode. And honestly, does it really matter if the graphics are pretty much the same from CoD 4? They're still good graphics. If you aren't a fan of the CoD franchise and don't have something meaningful to say other than this game isn't halo, then don't rate it. Expand
  8. SamR
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Wow, the negative ratings given by certain people on this website are slightly suspect, with some spent on criticizing aspects of the game that aren't a part of the Xbox 360 version... But on to the game itself. The single player was fantastic! Short of course, but there was enough quality in it that it kept me entertained the whole time, unlike what some other single player Wow, the negative ratings given by certain people on this website are slightly suspect, with some spent on criticizing aspects of the game that aren't a part of the Xbox 360 version... But on to the game itself. The single player was fantastic! Short of course, but there was enough quality in it that it kept me entertained the whole time, unlike what some other single player campaigns provide. The Multiplayer is top notch, with tons of new gadgets, awards, and other things to unlock. It's very balanced and is much more accessible than the last. The new co-op mode provides an interesting array of challenges for you to complete with a friend, although I would have liked to see more than two people for that mode. Remember that these anger spewing children don't properly represent the amount of quality and polish that went into Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2. I highly recommend this game to everyone. Well, as long as you aren't set to hate it before you try it at least. Expand
  9. Trevor
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    You're kidding me right? Are we even playing the same game? Yes, the short campaign mode definately warrants a score check on metacritic, but everything else about this game is above par. Intense story moments, great spec-ops mode, and (the only reason to pay the $60.00) a definitive multiplayer experience. Looking through previous posts, somebody gave it a 0 for poor sound... they You're kidding me right? Are we even playing the same game? Yes, the short campaign mode definately warrants a score check on metacritic, but everything else about this game is above par. Intense story moments, great spec-ops mode, and (the only reason to pay the $60.00) a definitive multiplayer experience. Looking through previous posts, somebody gave it a 0 for poor sound... they recorded all of the actual elements straight from the source, from the AC-130 to the weapons involved. Some people complained that the game didn't "add anything new to the gaming world," which is entirely true, but come on, every time you buy a box of pop tarts, do you want them to be a different flavor? And my personal favorite comment, "horrible, offensive, I never played the first one, heard the hype and gave it a go. For people whom aren't mindless idiots It may be good, the rest of us should avoid." So, let me get this straight... if I'm NOT a mindless idiot, it may be a good game?... works for me! You "mindless idiots" enjoy hating on a simply great game! Expand
  10. MarkA.
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, it took everything that made Call of duty 4 epic, and then it made it more epic. Though the single player is short, it made up for in quality, never have i played a game and felt so more into it. The ice level was so cool with the climbing up the mountain and when looking over the edge while edging along I felt scared that I was ging to fall. A new mode brought into This game is amazing, it took everything that made Call of duty 4 epic, and then it made it more epic. Though the single player is short, it made up for in quality, never have i played a game and felt so more into it. The ice level was so cool with the climbing up the mountain and when looking over the edge while edging along I felt scared that I was ging to fall. A new mode brought into the Call of Duty franchise is called Special Ops, and you can do this with on or two people cooperatively to do side missions based in the single player story, which I Thought was a great idea, and me and my friend had so much fun collecting all of the stars to achieve in the missons. And of course, the Multiplayer is what is there to say. The guys at Infinity Ward realised that they had something special with the previous game, so they kept everything the same, but added in very cool new features, such as customizable killstreaks, death streaks, 3rd person view if you want, and awesome guns. This game will be played for a very long time, iI can tell you that. Expand
  11. KarlW
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I was once addicted to WoW. Bought all the expansions, with excitement. I loved playing Halo multiplayer, I greatly enjoyed the next releases. But never before have I ever been so pumped by a game, for a game, than I am for Modern Warfare 2. I agree with some, the campaign is perhaps short, but the actual story, the plot, was much stronger. The action, more intense. Yes, you've I was once addicted to WoW. Bought all the expansions, with excitement. I loved playing Halo multiplayer, I greatly enjoyed the next releases. But never before have I ever been so pumped by a game, for a game, than I am for Modern Warfare 2. I agree with some, the campaign is perhaps short, but the actual story, the plot, was much stronger. The action, more intense. Yes, you've probably fired a minigun in a game before. For that matter, you've probably also fired a gun in a game before too. This is (keyword) MODERN warfare. Want new toys? Play a sci-fi future game. Want long heroic stories? Play an RPG, or read some Tolkein. This is all about adrenaline-pumping action set in a realistic world of today. And the multiplayer is incredible. Again, innovative it is not, but it stacks on the incredible success of the last game, with the great new killstreaks and wider secondary selection. Some will say as they will about over-powered players and campers, but teamwork still takes precedence, and in my experience the camping team is the losing team. Gripping single-player, addictive multiplayer, and I almost forgot those Spec Ops missions - Incredible fun for two players online or local. Nothing short of the best shooter I've played for the Xbox, maybe even more than that. Expand
  12. RowanF
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Buy this game. It's all I can say realy. Don't just buy it cos everyone else is, buy it cos it is actualy a good game. Seriously. The story and setting are magnificent and engaging, this is the first game who's story I've truly been inspired by since Halo: Combat Evolved. Finaly a present day shooter that finds something interesting, epic, and awsome to be based Buy this game. It's all I can say realy. Don't just buy it cos everyone else is, buy it cos it is actualy a good game. Seriously. The story and setting are magnificent and engaging, this is the first game who's story I've truly been inspired by since Halo: Combat Evolved. Finaly a present day shooter that finds something interesting, epic, and awsome to be based around. The gameplay is solid and again enjoyable, but it really doesn't add anything to the series, let alone the Gaming Industry as a whole. My only complaints about the campaign are that sometimes it can feel a bit too much like you're watching a film than playing a game, and sometimes the imaginative action packed stunts do border on being a little silly, and of course i'm going to have to raise the issue of the length of the campaign: It's not that short, but neither is it long, and given the development time, the funding they've got, and the hefty price tag, I'd say it definately should have been longer. Oh yeah, and one more thing, WTF happened to Veteran??? Why is it now so insultingly easy? I always look forward to the brutal challenge of Veteran on COD games, that awsome sense of victory when you do a level on Veteran, made even sweeter by 25G. But now it just feels like 'easy' G, i've managed to do numerous levels without dying, there were only two midly challenging ones in the game! Anyway, Multiplayer is more of the same as COD 4, but better, with more satisfying unlocks and great new features. Perhaps the best bit of the game for me, though, is spec ops, the main reason you should buy this game, not rent. Don't get me wrong, I love halo, but Firefight can go shove itself, cos Spec Ops is what I'm going to be playing with my freinds for the next few months : ) Expand
  13. RaphaelR
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    Ok so first...this game is absolutely good and the whiners who gave it under a 6 need to play the game (exept if theyre pathetic wii owners who are just jealous that the game didn't make it to that console.),aight ? anywayz what can i say of this game...well i gotta say that i'm most satisfied with this game and that it beats the previous game on all fronts. Special Ops is a Ok so first...this game is absolutely good and the whiners who gave it under a 6 need to play the game (exept if theyre pathetic wii owners who are just jealous that the game didn't make it to that console.),aight ? anywayz what can i say of this game...well i gotta say that i'm most satisfied with this game and that it beats the previous game on all fronts. Special Ops is a welcome feature to the franchise wich i really enjoyed and hated on the same time, sometimes its to hard but that whats make the game great.so its just a good feature nothing more further we have the campaingn wich was just 1 of the epicest plots ever forged in the game industry, i enjoyed every second of it (yes even on veteran). and last the Multiplayer online mode:i don't think i need to explain how good it is but just in case for all the whiners here.... its as Epic as ever before and with the future features with playing maps of part 4 and 5 this game will just beat all the games of the franchise, and now my only negative comment on it i think the weapon arsenal were to easy to master and with some of the equiqement released playing trough online makes it a little hard for new gamers coming along with the veteran players in our gaming comunity,this game is worth a solid gold award. but well i'm more for WW2 but that dosent give me any reason to critisize this masterpiece any further. Expand
  14. AaronM
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    If there was a 9.5 score, I would have chosen it instead. This game is BY NO MEANS PERFECT. However, it is the most varied, and interesting multiplayer and singleplayer experience on the market this year, featuring real weapons systems that are currently in use or in development. Truly there is a polarizing factor to the multiplayer, people who don't give Call of Duty a chance to If there was a 9.5 score, I would have chosen it instead. This game is BY NO MEANS PERFECT. However, it is the most varied, and interesting multiplayer and singleplayer experience on the market this year, featuring real weapons systems that are currently in use or in development. Truly there is a polarizing factor to the multiplayer, people who don't give Call of Duty a chance to shine, will in fact be highly disappointed, but I think we all remember how excited we were when we got that first AC130. Sour Sallys will always be there to bring down the score of such an epic title, due to a negative online multiplayer experience or gripes over a "short" six hour campaign. What Infinity Ward brings to the table is amazing visuals, realism, and a very competitive multiplayer experience, and they bring it harder than anyone else. Expand
  15. JimB
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    GREAT GAME, but when you look at someone running in multiplayer it looks they are going 20mph with all their gear.
  16. zhengy
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    This game improves on it grahpic and visuals.New Gameplay tactic and a rewarding multiplayer.
  17. BrendanH
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    For all the people who complain that the campaign is too short, you're missing the point. CODMW2 was not made for people who are planning on playing single player all the time. Yes, I know that this game has it's faults, but don't all games do.
  18. nicholasn
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    This was a great game with only one small problem, the continuing campaign was great except that the whole get back capn price and get all better didnt make sense...ummmm he kinda died in the the first game and if he didnt why would he be in the jail of a russian government...he did save the US from a nuke! also it was way to short
  19. JaredS
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. Don't pay attention to the morons who score this below a 5. There is nothing about this game that deserves that harsh of a score. Just a bunch of whiney morons who suck at the game, like this guy below me. They don't understand how rating systems are supposed to work.
  20. EazayC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    I rate 10 for overall experience. The campaign alone, though action-packed and filled with many memorable moments, but you could honestly finish it in 4 and a half hours on the recruit or regular difficulty settings, and around 6 hours on hardened and veteran. The story isn't that well told, good but not great, and does not live up to the standard in CoD games. The main attraction I rate 10 for overall experience. The campaign alone, though action-packed and filled with many memorable moments, but you could honestly finish it in 4 and a half hours on the recruit or regular difficulty settings, and around 6 hours on hardened and veteran. The story isn't that well told, good but not great, and does not live up to the standard in CoD games. The main attraction here is the sublime MP, and MW 2 improves on its predecessors in every way possible: Better maps, perks(no more martydom,luckily!), guns, and a more even experience overall. There is also a Spec-Ops mode, which you can do alone or in Co-Op with a friend. This is a set of challenges given to you, and you have to try and get all 69 stars in these challenges. This is a very good idea, brilliantly executed, with many missions having specific tasks for each player. For example there is a mission in it when you have to man an AC-130 machine gun on a helicopter, and control the speed of it, while your co-op partner has to hold off waves of enemies on ground until you arrive. Overall, the game is a brilliant package, and well worth the money, even if it has a slightly higher price tag than other games. I would not reccommend it to someone who focuses on the campaign when buying games, it is just far too short (but very sweet!). A definite contender for GoTY 2009. And do NOT listen to PC players who are dissapointed about the lack of dedicated servers and start whining about the game Expand
  21. WesB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game was absolutely amazing. I must admit that the campain was short but it was amazing. I've played a lot of compains, and this one was by far my favourite. It had so many points that made me go "OMG WHAT JUST HAPPENED!?" that I just couldn't get to sleep. The new Spec-Ops is extremely fun and I can't wait to finish it with a friend this weekend. Single player is This game was absolutely amazing. I must admit that the campain was short but it was amazing. I've played a lot of compains, and this one was by far my favourite. It had so many points that made me go "OMG WHAT JUST HAPPENED!?" that I just couldn't get to sleep. The new Spec-Ops is extremely fun and I can't wait to finish it with a friend this weekend. Single player is overall short, but it's extremely fun and for me it is replayable. But the majority of people buying this will be for multiplayer, so that's ok. Multiplayer is extremely fun. There are a ton of new weapons, the maps are nicer looking and more balanced and fun. The new equipment, weapon attachments, perks and killstreaks definitely made this game twice as fun as the original CoD4. I can see myself getting to level 70 and enjoying it the entire way through. People are complaining about the lack of dedicated servers for the PC but I think that's stupid. The current form is better in my opinion. I have yet to lag in any of my games, and I can still play with my friends if I choose. What is there to hate so much about? Anyways i'm not rating 10 just to try and up the overall rating, this game is worth a 10 and i'm happy that I spent every cent on this game. I hate the people downrating to try to bring the overall down, and it seems the people who hate this game the most are the halo players... ha. Expand
  22. CoreyS
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    This game's campaign was by far the best in the Call of Duty franchise. The single player alone makes this worthy of a purchase, but if multiplayer is more of your taste than an thrill ride of singleplayer this game doesn't let you down. The multiplayer has definitely been revamped since Modern Warfare 1 and has twice the fun to boot. Tons of new maps and weapons and attachments This game's campaign was by far the best in the Call of Duty franchise. The single player alone makes this worthy of a purchase, but if multiplayer is more of your taste than an thrill ride of singleplayer this game doesn't let you down. The multiplayer has definitely been revamped since Modern Warfare 1 and has twice the fun to boot. Tons of new maps and weapons and attachments the list can go on forever. With this game selling around 4.5 million copies on launch day you shouldn't have a problem finding someone to play with. The Spec Ops mode is a nice piece too. You and a friend (2-player only) can tackle some of the most difficult missions. This mode is completely separate from the singleplayer campaign and feels more like an Arcade game than anything else. Overall it does have some minor flaws, like the allied A.I. being a bit dull at times and not shooting enemies directly in front of them, while 10 feet away. The difficulty on Veteran I won't complain about, it's made to be tough and it lived up to that. All in all this game is amazing. Expand
  23. AustinF
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Ok look, I highly doubt anyone is going to decide on buying this game based on reviews, espessially of no one important, but Im so sick of these people voting it down, It is an amazing game, very very good, the people voting it down are just stupid and wrong, for example The guy named Jeff D., he gave it a 0 one of his reasons is short campaign, a very valid argument, except he said he Ok look, I highly doubt anyone is going to decide on buying this game based on reviews, espessially of no one important, but Im so sick of these people voting it down, It is an amazing game, very very good, the people voting it down are just stupid and wrong, for example The guy named Jeff D., he gave it a 0 one of his reasons is short campaign, a very valid argument, except he said he likes Halo, I'd like to point out that Halo ODST had an even shorter campaign, this person obviously doesnt know what he is talking about, For Shane F. his main argument for giving it an undeserved 3 is its the same, it really isnt. I played the first and was blown away from the distinct differences from the two, It is a major improvement with major differences that will keep the multiplayer fun to play for a long time. I mostly agree with Alex M. except when he says there was not so many OMG moments, I think there is PLENTY, the campaign blew me away too, where i agree with him most is where he pointed out the part about gamers without online, you should just rent the game if you do not have online, the campaign is great, but yes its short and you will feel alittle bummed if you buy a $60 game for only 5-8 hours of play. I hope this review convinces someone to purchase this outstanding game. Expand
  24. JakeS
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    First of all, yes Modern Warfare 2 has its flaws. However, they are all mostly just cosmetic and don't detract from the game itself. One of the biggest complains seems to be that the campaign is too short, but I personally thought it wasn't quite so short and it's one of the most innovative campaigns I have ever experienced in my life. The wide spect of roles and positions First of all, yes Modern Warfare 2 has its flaws. However, they are all mostly just cosmetic and don't detract from the game itself. One of the biggest complains seems to be that the campaign is too short, but I personally thought it wasn't quite so short and it's one of the most innovative campaigns I have ever experienced in my life. The wide spect of roles and positions they put you in in that space of time is astounding and kept me interested, much unlike Call of Duty: World at War was just another bland WWII campaign experience. You could say that the game lost some of its previous luster, but I think the fact that it brought the battle closer to home was very unprecedented in this manner. Also, the multiplayer has added a load of new guns, attachments, and has completely reformulated the perks, changing it almost completely. The first few hours I played this game I was sick, tired, and ready to take it back, but if you give it another chance you will be hooked and realize that infinity ward still put their heart and soul into it, beneath all of the glamour that publisher Activision was lavishing on it. (And, to all of the PC spammers on here giving this game a 0 just because they didn't cater to your every need, keep it in your PC area, this is giving the 360 game a bad name just because you are whiners and want to throw your problems on us. We have dealt with 9v9, player hosting, and lack of mods since creation, and we have an incredible amount of fun nonetheless.) Expand
  25. RaymondS.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    the campaign is both fun and well-written, the spec ops is original and challenging, the online is new and creative by being able to upgrade everything, perks, weapons and killstreaks
  26. MartinS.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best call of duty game of ALL TIME! The campaign is EPIC, multiplayer is addicting, spec-ops is outstanding! This is game of the year right here!
  27. TheIconGuy
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    The single-player campaign might not engage you enough to want to play through the entire game multiple times, but multiplayer and Spec Ops will both keep you busy until next year when Treyarch releases their next Call Of Duty game.
  28. Robert
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    I played Call of Duty 4 and Call of Duty 5. I hate it when people think they should be great at this game because they are good at some other game. Then they bitch about not being able to do well. I don't glitch and I hate people that do but that shouldn't have anything to do with the game. They actually just released a patch fixing some glitches and the game has only been out I played Call of Duty 4 and Call of Duty 5. I hate it when people think they should be great at this game because they are good at some other game. Then they bitch about not being able to do well. I don't glitch and I hate people that do but that shouldn't have anything to do with the game. They actually just released a patch fixing some glitches and the game has only been out for about a month. As for the multiplayer not being that great i disagree. What should the multiplayer be like? You want something like gears of war play third person team tactical. If you want better guns earn them the level 70s did and once you prestige you lose them. I like how they added titles and emblems to the game. It allows you to show off your accomplishments and look the way you want. The tactical nuke is an interesting addition but there are people who "nuke boost" and it makes the game not so fun. The graphics are great but they could improve the match making so it does not kick you when your party joins a game or lobby. I lost track of how many games I had to go back to get someone or was left behind.The ability to select your killstreak is a nice addition. I wish the game had a nazi zombie type mode. Well maybe they can add it as an add on or something. Overall I like this game the best out of all my games including GoW2 and Halo 3. Expand
  29. JBell
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a hate it or love it game; there is no middle ground. Some gamers complain about the presentation of the game, but the game overall has amazing visuals. Sure, I'll admit that the environments could have used a bit more colour, the foliage look average, and the underwater graphics in "The Only Easy Day... Was Yesterday" are below-average. However, I feel that the Modern Warfare 2 is a hate it or love it game; there is no middle ground. Some gamers complain about the presentation of the game, but the game overall has amazing visuals. Sure, I'll admit that the environments could have used a bit more colour, the foliage look average, and the underwater graphics in "The Only Easy Day... Was Yesterday" are below-average. However, I feel that the developers put in a lot of effort on the character models and the weapon details. Plus, the explosions look amazing. The single player component plays distinctively different on different levels; some levels are set in sun-drenched open landscapes, some during snowstorms in the sub-Artic, some during the middle of the night. Each different level requires a different strategy because of the weather patterns, and it all looks stunningly detailed. The single-player part of the game is definitely short-lived, but is full of memorable moments and is generally a hell of a lot of fun to play. As I stated above, each level is memorable in its own way and requires a different strategy, making the campaign interesting and diverse. There is no doubt that it is dreadfully short, but it's one wild ride which can be fun to replay on a harder difficulty setting. Spec Ops is also a lot of fun to play, especially in cooperative play. It can get pretty dull to play through unless you have a friend to play with, but there is a diverse selection of Spec Ops missions, most of which are just fun to play. The multiplayer component of Modern Warfare 2 is flawed perfection. It is usually fun to play, but it is also plagued with quite a few issues. If you're new to CoD and you play online, you're basically going to get raped for the first fifty matches that you play. The progression system is devastating for when low-ranking players are pitted against high-rankers, as you unlock better weaponry and equipment as you level up. This is obviously a problem, and some of the best guns in the game aren't available until you reach the higher levels. The Model 1887 is just plain ridiculous when dual-weld; you have a 10% chance of living through an encounter with a player who has this weapon equipped. There are plenty of other weapons, such as the AK-47, the M14 EBR, the Desert Eagle and the Javelin, which are only available to high ranking players and are ridiculously over-powered. Another issue in multiplayer is that most of the maps are much to big, considering most of the game modes support up to 6 vs 6 matches. Thus, camping, while requiring minimal skill, is the best way to rack up kills in matches, which defeats the purpose of the game being a first-person shooter. Also, the respawn system is completely out of whack, as you commonly spawn near enemies leaving you not much chance to brace yourself for combat. Although you may feel deterred from the multiplayer part of the game, it is a big chunk of the game overall and is generally fun to play. So long as you don't get into laggy servers. Modern Warfare 2 is pretty good, but the major flaw is that the multiplayer is ridiculously unfair for "noobs" who have had little experience in the CoD franchise. Killstreak rewards, excluding the Tactical Nuke, are awesome and the Accolades system is well thought out. The campaign is short but fun and Spec Ops has a lot of replay value. Overally, Modern Warfare 2 is amazing but not exactly perfect. Expand
  30. AndrewH
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    Man, some people have to lay off the drugs... And some people have to realize a great game when they play one. MW2 is a fantastic sequel to COD 4. The single player is alright, and the spec ops is fun with a friend. But people stay for the amazing multiplayer that will have you playing for months and probably years. And on top of that, the graphics are amazing. What more can you ask for? Man, some people have to lay off the drugs... And some people have to realize a great game when they play one. MW2 is a fantastic sequel to COD 4. The single player is alright, and the spec ops is fun with a friend. But people stay for the amazing multiplayer that will have you playing for months and probably years. And on top of that, the graphics are amazing. What more can you ask for? This game is a perfect 10. Expand
  31. brady
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    im a big fan of cod but cod 6 is class its beter than cod 2,3,4 and 5.i go on it on the xbox 360 on xbox live if u whant 2 add me just vote it and my xbox live name is frusedborobrad
  32. AlexanderS
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    Granted, the game is short if you are a single player gamer. Despite how short it is, the story feels rather epic, some say they added a few too many "wow" moments, but I would have to disagree. The learning curve is intense, as the last couple missions are brutal. On the multiplayer aspect though, it shines even brighter. Some people complain about boosters, but those can be ignored for Granted, the game is short if you are a single player gamer. Despite how short it is, the story feels rather epic, some say they added a few too many "wow" moments, but I would have to disagree. The learning curve is intense, as the last couple missions are brutal. On the multiplayer aspect though, it shines even brighter. Some people complain about boosters, but those can be ignored for the most part, as they do not really affect anyone else. The maps are (generally) amazing and varied, and the guns are mostly balanced with the exception to the Knife and the Model 1887s. For a multiplayer gamer, this is a must buy. Expand
  33. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    A whole lot of content to be seen here, from the guns and the perks this game has great gameplay plus great lasting appeal. I also like it cause my dad plays it sometimes and I love watching him get his butt kicked online.
  34. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    MW2 continues the great story telling experience of CoD4, but greatly expands the multiplayer landscape, making Modern Warfare 2 perhaps the best FPS experience of its time. Levels are a bit bigger, more playlists are available, tons of cool killstreaks are available and the level designs are some of the best & most interesting to launch with a game. It's hard to imagine how good thisMW2 continues the great story telling experience of CoD4, but greatly expands the multiplayer landscape, making Modern Warfare 2 perhaps the best FPS experience of its time. Levels are a bit bigger, more playlists are available, tons of cool killstreaks are available and the level designs are some of the best & most interesting to launch with a game. It's hard to imagine how good this game would be if it were "perfect", but the good news is it doesn't have to be. I could warrant a "10" on this game if it carried dedicated servers and could push the graphics envelope a bit more, but in the end these would only push the experience a bit further. Sans dedicated servers, this game plays well online almost all of the time, and I can only think of Halo 2 when considering a game I've put this much online time in, ever. Like CoD4, MW2 is a must-play for fans of the series and fans of the FPS genre as a whole. Expand
  35. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are manyIt's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  36. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great bad-ass game that, even though it doesn't really innovate the series or the genre, but it is driven by a great and polemic, worst-case scenario plot. It also has a very short campaign and at times you get bored just shooting at Russians and makes you wonder what the level designers were doing or if they were doing anything at all. But I almost didn't notice because the writers did such a good job I just wanted to know what was gonna happen next. The controls are easy-flowing, the action is great, and the characters are awesome which is why I think this game is at the same level of the first game. Expand
  37. cfh
    Jun 28, 2012
    9
    I don't know why people are so down on this game. I mean, when the Call of Duty series first got popular when MW2 came out. I think it's a great game. Really good Campaign that was very suspenseful. The Spec Op Mission are great to, they have modified missions from the Campaign and other missions, too. Xbox Live is fun, with a variety of guns, maps, killstreaks, and modes. At the end ofI don't know why people are so down on this game. I mean, when the Call of Duty series first got popular when MW2 came out. I think it's a great game. Really good Campaign that was very suspenseful. The Spec Op Mission are great to, they have modified missions from the Campaign and other missions, too. Xbox Live is fun, with a variety of guns, maps, killstreaks, and modes. At the end of the Campaign they have a level called 'Museum' where there are a bunch of guns in glass cases and key levels from the campaign on display. If you push the button on the desk that says 'do not press' the figures will come alive and kill you. You can play co-op on Spec Ops and split screen where you kill the other person you are playing with. The co-op is not as good as Black Ops or MW3 but it is still fun. If you are thinking of buying MW3 and don't have MW2; buy MW2 first so you kind of know the storyline. I just think MW2 is a great game. Expand
  38. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    MW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you thatMW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you that much of the setting is far more domestic then in the first game. Prepare for shock and awe as what you never thought could ever happen happens. The gameplay is virtually unchanged from that of the first game. There are some new abilities like tactical missiles, but that's about it. Multiplayer is much the same in this regard. There are some new variants and playlists, but not much that different to speak of. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and definitely recommend it to all shooter gamers. Expand
  39. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Admittedly very little has changed since the first Modern Warfare but at the time the Call of Duty formula still remained fresh. For me the heavily scripted campaign is not quite a match for the original but to this day I would argue that it contains the best selection of multiplayer maps of any game in the series. Add in an excellent selection of co-op missions and you have an excellentAdmittedly very little has changed since the first Modern Warfare but at the time the Call of Duty formula still remained fresh. For me the heavily scripted campaign is not quite a match for the original but to this day I would argue that it contains the best selection of multiplayer maps of any game in the series. Add in an excellent selection of co-op missions and you have an excellent overall package.

    The series has come it for a lot of (somewhat justified) criticism but there is a reason it has become so popular.
    Expand
  40. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX 360 controller than this game. Shooting a gun is so fun it's unreal. pick any gun up in this game and you will have fun shooting it no matter what. The multiplayer is great and balanced but does need some fixing in some areas. Throughout your multiplayer expierience, you will see many different guns because all guns have some pros and cons. There are about 6 different attachments for each primary weapon and about 8 or more camos for each primary weapon. You can earn a TON of challenges that will take you 20 hours of gameplay to achieve all of them. Even after that, you can still have fun and prestige. This game has almost endless replay value. The single player is short but sweet. I got through it in 4 hours on Recruit, 5 hours on Regular, 6 hours on Hardened, and 8 hours on Veteran. Even after that, there is co-op in which you can play solo or with another player online or split-screen. That takes maybe 6 or 7 hours to complete on Regular, and 10 hours to earn all stars. The gameplay is a 10.0
    Presentation: The in-game music never gets old and I say that after playing this game for 2 years. The menu navigation is swift and convenient, and the color scheme is great but simple. Not much else to say, 10.0
    Graphics: This game has smooth visuals and amazing lighting effects. The multiplayer maps have been worked on for hours and it's evident because the visuals are top-notch even out of the map. Single player is even better and there are no bugs or gaps in the graphics at all. The graphics are a 10.0
    Expand
  41. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0 you people and people like you are the reason why User Scores can't be taken with a grain of salt games should be reviewed by graphics, content, controls, and game play. Your review of this game and any other shouldn't even exist because of the sheer ignorance of the creator of them. All the Critics review are all positive so I'm wondering what's wrong you guys. Expand
  42. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Best Call of Duty game in the franchise!!! At least this is better than the stupid Call of Duty Black Ops . The fun thing about this game is the multiplayer and Spec Ops which is very addicting. The Campaign is really fun too 10/10.
  43. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game of the decade. The game's deep storyline, which captivates the very thought of the games capacity to generate fun which is in fact endless, is quite different to many other games. It is a mixture of emotions of anger, happiness, revenge and sadness. From the start where you put on a show for a few newcomers, to the end when you save Captain Price,Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game of the decade. The game's deep storyline, which captivates the very thought of the games capacity to generate fun which is in fact endless, is quite different to many other games. It is a mixture of emotions of anger, happiness, revenge and sadness. From the start where you put on a show for a few newcomers, to the end when you save Captain Price, the game is captivating. I believe that this game has the potential to wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition Every single second of campaign had me demanding for the next. The Multiplayer is just revolutionary. It brings a whole new meaning to the word 'multiplayer'. Modes such as Free-For-All and Team Death match, will leave you sitting in front of the television for hours together. Special Ops however was the downfall for the whole game. It to mix up both the multi-pIayer and campaign game modes but, inevitably failed. It still was fun though.

    I believe that this game can overpower any other game that will challenge it. it will wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition that they are in. After that, the other video game companies will stop releasing good-for-nothing games and start thinking of games that we actually want, not games that will just make them money. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has the potential to do so.
    Expand
  44. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a step up from the original in every way, and given MW1 was a sexy fps beast, that really is saying something. The graphics have become much sleeker and maintain a certain sheen absent from previous Call of Duty games, gameplay has become a much smoother experience, and the new maps, weapons and slightly re-worked perks in multiplayer give the game a heightened sense ofModern Warfare 2 is a step up from the original in every way, and given MW1 was a sexy fps beast, that really is saying something. The graphics have become much sleeker and maintain a certain sheen absent from previous Call of Duty games, gameplay has become a much smoother experience, and the new maps, weapons and slightly re-worked perks in multiplayer give the game a heightened sense of balance. The campaign is hard to put up compared to MW1, but aside from that, the best in the series, with several F^CK YEAH! moments and more than enough heart-tugging, emotional surprises, a reunion with a lost friend and the death of two others, plot-wise, still brilliant, Infinity Ward's writing is really coming into its own. Special Ops is fiendishly difficult, but in a challenging way, rather than in a "Mega Man" way (you don't feel like blowing your brains out after a half-hour of play) and will keep you and a friend coming back for months and months until you've collected all 69 (lol) stars. The Multiplayer is also an improvement, more maps, more weapons, more perks (and pro perks) and a vast array of tactics to choose from, all of which award the player in accordance with their difficulty, a Call of Duty game topped only by its sequel Expand
  45. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Once you start playing this game online, its hard to play any other, you feel at home when you pick up the controller and barge into the familiar maps, using your custom made classes and skins on your guns, this trilogy has created millions of fan-boys like myself that find this game one of the most entertaining on the market, (except for portal 2)
  46. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This can be interpreted as good or bad, but I finished the short but sweet campaign in nearly one day (not a continous day, I just played for around five hours that day). The multiplayer tries to bring new things but ultimately it becomes unbalanced, but theres no doubt that its a lot of fun. Highly recommended, but treat it like a Bond film, think about it and you won't like it (why doesThis can be interpreted as good or bad, but I finished the short but sweet campaign in nearly one day (not a continous day, I just played for around five hours that day). The multiplayer tries to bring new things but ultimately it becomes unbalanced, but theres no doubt that its a lot of fun. Highly recommended, but treat it like a Bond film, think about it and you won't like it (why does every faction have an arsenal of nuclear missiles?...).
    Just a word of advice however, avoid the PC version. If you have an Xbox 360/PS3 and a high-end PC, and MW2 is $100 on the Xbox 360/PS3 but $2 on the PC, I would still recommend you get the console version over the PC version.
    Expand
  47. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After finishing this game, including a sad yet accomplished tenth prestige, I feel that I am in a position to properly review this game - much unlike most others who simply give a review of the multiplayer and ignore al other aspects of the game. One of the comments on the page that claims to discover large plot 'holes', however these are only holes in their intellect as they were unable to grasp the high octane storyline. The only hole - and a slight one at that is (Spoiler Alert) when the prisoner is broken out of the Gulag to use as bait for Makarov as he is the only one who will turn Makarov's head turns out to be Price. This is incorrect as Price did not kill Imran Zakhaev - Soap did in Modern Warfare one. Besides this small plot hole the single player is fun and enjoyable although is slightly short, but this is only if you play it on easy and run through the levels whilst not paying proper attention to the story. The special ops section of the game is a new feature to the series of games and is thoroughly enjoyable with a sense of achievement after completing them. However, I believe that the game comes into its own light during multiplayer. Despite clear faults the game was released early - Activision wanted it pushed through where Infinity Ward wanted more time to complete the game fully - and had plenty of bugs that players were able to exploit to get easy kills. The killsteaks are innovative and although there may well be other games that introduced this first but they are on a different level to other games. The tactical nuke - annoying for those who are simply not good at the game and fun for those who are tactical about their play or who work as a team - is a great feature that I enjoy trying to achieve. The perks online can also be frustrating - commando is a normally hated perk but if the player uses this I dont see a problem as they may find your perks as annoying as they are all beneficial to the individual. The spawning system may well be a pain but how is it you would like it to be changed? Being a programmer I understand the difficulty of creating such a system and no matter what way you create it, there will always be people complaining about it. Overall I would say that this is simply one of the best shooter games ever created and although many people find its flaws, look at the critic reviews, not all of them can be wrong can they? Expand
  48. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    It's probably the best Call of Duty game yet, tops the first Modern Warfare in every way. Even though multiplayer seems to be where it's at for everyone, I however very much enjoyed its single player campaign the most. It's a highly entertaining epic war-field. Loved it.
  49. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    After 2 years this came out I'm still playing the online as I did 2 years ago. Glitches/bugs are in every game, in this one they are just a minunum part. I love this game.
  50. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Campaign was intense and very epic even if it was a bit short. Multiplayer was a mind-blowing experience.Spec Ops was awesome, The variety of missions from stealth missions to time trials are absolutely amazing. The graphics are very realistic and very awesome Amazing Game
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is one of my favourite multiplayer games. It love it. I had huge amounts of fun playing with my friends and what not. Did you know that I hate Call of Duty? I love Halo. But MW2 was one of my favourite games. You should also know that I gave MW3 a 0. It is nothing like MW2.
  53. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    It doesn't matter how much controversy revolves around MW2, it's still an awesome game. The short, but awesome campaign, and the really good multiplayer. Even though it has a very short singleplayer and a spec ops that fails to impress, it's still great. Such a shame it was copied and pasted two years later in what became Modern Warfare 3
  54. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    The final true Call of Duty game. Major downsides to this software were the hacked leaderboards and countless cheaters/hackers that played. For some reason IW continues for the most part to ignore these glaring issues. Otherwise a fantastic and addictive game.
  55. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played with a explosive single player and addictive multiplayer. You may hear that this game is all hype but there is a reason why it is so popular. After investing more time than I would like to mention into it and buying other shooters such as Battlefield 3 and Gears of War 3. I would still highly recommend this game.
  56. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    AWESOME game love everything that its about the story is great and the online like wow but it take long to lvl but its cool and i love quick scope and no scope when i was playing game but know Ive moved to BF3 its soooooo much better and funny and offers a lot more then any of the MW s
  57. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game and i also love quick scoping. If you play PS3 or xbox add me on PS3 I am woodley423 and on xbox i am going to be also woodley423 some time in march 2012so see you when i get it. i will also post a comment saying that i have live.
  58. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and DangerThis was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and Danger Close. While the game can really make you rage like no other, this was still a highly addictive multiplayer that kept me engrossed and hooked into for more than a full year. Even though it signalled the downfall of CoD, it was still a great game in itself. Expand
  59. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Looking back, this was most likely the most well thought out COD to date. It successfully built on an already great game, while expanding the series to its full potential. As it only the second of its kind, it's hard to categorize it as the "same old annual COD" that the franchise has become today.

    This game provided countless hours of enjoyment, and since the series was far from its
    Looking back, this was most likely the most well thought out COD to date. It successfully built on an already great game, while expanding the series to its full potential. As it only the second of its kind, it's hard to categorize it as the "same old annual COD" that the franchise has become today.

    This game provided countless hours of enjoyment, and since the series was far from its current popularity, it benefited from a lack of immature children and a-holes, at least during the earlier half of its life. As such, I am also reviewing this game by its audience at the time; it wouldn't matter if a better Call of Duty was released in this generation, as the infuriating, disrespectful and childish audience of today would strongly deteriorate the enjoyment for the old dogs (I mean OLD dogs, as in COD2 & COD3 old). A game is only as good as the experience it delivers, and if this means that a 10/10 games is thrown to the wolves due to the unpleasant experience delivered by whining, excessively aggressive and confrontational players, then that is the rating it will receive.

    Frankly, the end of this game's life cycle marked the beginning of the end for COD in the eyes of many players, despite its gaining popularity, which mostly came from the younger generation.

    The campaign was a masterpiece, this coming from a gamer who has quite honestly despised every COD installment following WaW. The addition of Hans Zimmer for the soundtrack brought the game up many notches, and the Hollywood-style cinematics was somewhat of a first for video games (one which has, at this point, worn out its welcome).

    To wrap things up, this is one Call of Duty that certainly deserves higher than the 6.1 user rating, at least for its time. The 9/10 rating I give it is only contextual to the 2007-2008 time period, and if I were to review it as a new game today (one which follows the crank-out-another-every-year formula) it would snag closer to a 4/10.
    Expand
  60. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    My personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when itsMy personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when its played as it should there will never be an experience as fun or action packed as this. Highly doubt that Ghosts will surpass the game Expand
  61. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    A lot of people gave this a bad score, but they, ohh boy those people need to turn there Xbox back on and play it again. I know it wasn't futuristic but the gamplay was amazing (by far the best call of duty ever). I know most of these guys that hated on it were literally COD haters but still an amazing game. The newer call of duties look like absolute crap. Especially the new upcomingA lot of people gave this a bad score, but they, ohh boy those people need to turn there Xbox back on and play it again. I know it wasn't futuristic but the gamplay was amazing (by far the best call of duty ever). I know most of these guys that hated on it were literally COD haters but still an amazing game. The newer call of duties look like absolute crap. Especially the new upcoming advanced warfare. But MW2 was something special. Expand
  62. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Pretty decent game when it came out. Overall its still better than Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. I hate how comanys make something new and then make a Triplet called Mw3 with the same Engine and Graphic as Mw2 and we call it 2.5 not 3. I hate how they make this game Mw2, a awesome game and ruin it 2 years later.
  63. May 22, 2013
    10
    This game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with theThis game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with the most straightforward and effective killstreak system in the series. The only thing that mars it from perfection is the ridiculously overpowered Danger Close perk, but that isn't as big of a problem with the community that is still playing the game. This one's in my top 10 games of all time (the only other COD in there is the original Modern Warfare). Expand
  64. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to beThis game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to be the best COD ever escpecially the b2 airstrike i rembember getting on and holy it was awesome even if it doesn't kill anyone its still sick Expand
  65. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Nothing short of an FPS Wonder, MW2 Truely delivers a unique sense that only its predecessor (Modern Warfare) can match. With heart stopping, adrenaline pumping single player, A new and unique Co-Op Spec Ops mode, and an online mode fit for the king of modern FPS, with a wealth of ranks, unlockables and experiences. MW2 is a wonder of video games, and is sure to sit there for a long time.
  66. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I know a lot of people hate this series. However, this was back when this series was actually enjoyable. Despite the hackers, annoying prepubescents, trolls, etc you will always have moments that you will always remember. This game wasn't made for the story it was made for the multiplayer experience. In fact, this is the only game in the entire series where I actually got to the max levelI know a lot of people hate this series. However, this was back when this series was actually enjoyable. Despite the hackers, annoying prepubescents, trolls, etc you will always have moments that you will always remember. This game wasn't made for the story it was made for the multiplayer experience. In fact, this is the only game in the entire series where I actually got to the max level without asking my sneaky friend to help me out a bit (hehehehe). Anyhow, go try it out and forget the new Call of Duty's. Expand
  67. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This game has all the ingredients that a shooter-gamer wants. The single-player campaign is an experience which any gamer will enjoy, even though they're not fans of games like this. When campaign finish (and this will happen very soon) you can choose to play alone, with a friend or online the special ops and you will spent a lot of your time in this, I can promise. After this, however,This game has all the ingredients that a shooter-gamer wants. The single-player campaign is an experience which any gamer will enjoy, even though they're not fans of games like this. When campaign finish (and this will happen very soon) you can choose to play alone, with a friend or online the special ops and you will spent a lot of your time in this, I can promise. After this, however, the most interesting part of the game comes with a playing-time that overtake the one of campaign and special ops together and this is the multi-player. I hope that you can play online because this is the special reason that Call Of Duty is famous. Great graphics, sound and gameplay for you to enjoy and a beautiful way for new shooter gamers to love more games like this. Expand
  68. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Activision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on fromActivision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on from its predecessor.
    The campaign is, again, improved from Modern Warfare. It looks great, and some missions even attempt an open-world-esque aesthetic with large open environments that force you to traverse from building to building, defending objectives from enemies that attack from land and air. Again, the campaign has great visual and sound design, and gameplay is varied enough to keep the player entertained. Story is told fairly well, with the most intense climax of any military shooter to date.
    Special Ops, Infinity Ward's answer to the Zombie mode of Word at War, is a standard mission mode. It can only be played with 2 people, something that prevents it from being as silly and "rompy" as zombies. This mode is enjoyable, but nothing more,
    Expand
  69. May 30, 2014
    10
    This is the last great Call of Duty before the game which nearly destroyed CoD, Black Ops, The campaign is actually fun, with some amazing missions and spec ops (which would've been nice if it was Online instead of friends only), it will keep you entertained for a while, then there is the multiplayer, i actually enjoyed it, it had reasonable sized maps and unique map designs.

    Overall =
    This is the last great Call of Duty before the game which nearly destroyed CoD, Black Ops, The campaign is actually fun, with some amazing missions and spec ops (which would've been nice if it was Online instead of friends only), it will keep you entertained for a while, then there is the multiplayer, i actually enjoyed it, it had reasonable sized maps and unique map designs.

    Overall = 9.6/10, it has a solid campaign, a superb Multiplayer and a great Spec Ops mode which would've been nice if it had Online for everyone, this stands as the strongest CoD ever.
    Expand
  70. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This game is simply world class. In my opinion it's the best call of duty game ever. The campaign may be short but is still great and the multiplayer is also fantastic, simply the best.
  71. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the other people and the crazy times you had.
    Expand
  72. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    My review for the last good call of duty game.

    SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. carries on from COD 4, great moments with a lot of twists and turns. but it is short GRAPHICS: 8.5/10. improved graphics from COD 4, but no significant differences. still not bad looking, though SOUND: 8/10. good quality, but nothing outstanding MULTIPLAYER: 9.25/10. take COD 4, and improve it in every way.
    My review for the last good call of duty game.

    SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. carries on from COD 4, great moments with a lot of twists and turns. but it is short
    GRAPHICS: 8.5/10. improved graphics from COD 4, but no significant differences. still not bad looking, though
    SOUND: 8/10. good quality, but nothing outstanding
    MULTIPLAYER: 9.25/10. take COD 4, and improve it in every way. brilliant. didn't work so well for MW2-3
    GAMEPLAY: 9/10. 60 FPS, tight controls, few glitches, and good maps. what else could you ask for?
    FUN FACTOR: 8.75/10. fun game, but won't change haters minds
    TOTAL: 9/10
    Expand
  73. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Almost as good as cod 4. The campaign was amazing and this was by far the best multiplayer. The maps were great and guns were great. No complaints about this game whatsoever. Idfk what this 6.1 bs is about
  74. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    While some people may say that this game was overrated and mostly used by children, this game is still my favorite.

    This improved off of CoD4, and made gamers across the world fall in love.

    9.8/10
  75. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    The standard by which all other FPS games should be judged. Infinity Ward nails it as compared to the awful Treyarch COD games. The single player campaign is a little brief, but it's very, very good. The multi-player is awesome. Great maps, great weapons, great graphics, great shot recognition, etc... Awesome!
  76. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Don't know how this game could get a 6.1 but Modern warfare 2 is easily the best call of duty game of all time. Til this day I still prefer playing MW2 than any other CoD game. CoD Ghosts has nothing on MW2. Infinity should have kept west and zampella. Titanfall will be CoD's downfall.
  77. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    COD designers have said they think a lot of players didn't like the choke points of the map and it made it hard for players to adapt to the style of play they gave, however unlike previous installments of the series the maps followed a formula of choke points on most (not all) maps. The major downfall of the online experience was initially boosting where players boost their stats or forCOD designers have said they think a lot of players didn't like the choke points of the map and it made it hard for players to adapt to the style of play they gave, however unlike previous installments of the series the maps followed a formula of choke points on most (not all) maps. The major downfall of the online experience was initially boosting where players boost their stats or for titles, and not everyone was able to catch on to common hiding spots. However, the multiplayer experience gave players a wide range of unique ways to play the game through its perks and weapons. Campaign was on the edge of good but is still mediocre. The main focus of this game is its online play, the ability to have kill streaks count toward another and level up and complete challenges that gave you tags and boards that showed publicly between games in lobbies was fun. From a personal standpoint playing search and destroy on a map with choke points was very fun because you had to strategize with your team on how to capture/defend the objectives. This in combination with choosing different styles of playing the game (yes.. including noobtubes w/ D close) forced players to have to use a competitive mind set to be aware of their position while occasionally rewarded skilled players who could beat the enemy to the trigger made for hours of fresh play. Expand
  78. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This is - in my opinion - where the franchise peaked. The campaign was pretty solid, and although it may not have been as good as MW1 it was still executed well. I didn't even mind the ending was a QTE pretty much, it did what it needed to and it was satisfying. Then, we go to multiplayer. Oh wow. One of the best multiplayer experiences i've ever had. I enjoyed so many of these maps, thereThis is - in my opinion - where the franchise peaked. The campaign was pretty solid, and although it may not have been as good as MW1 it was still executed well. I didn't even mind the ending was a QTE pretty much, it did what it needed to and it was satisfying. Then, we go to multiplayer. Oh wow. One of the best multiplayer experiences i've ever had. I enjoyed so many of these maps, there were so many brilliant maps to play on, a few of my favourite being; Karachi, Favela, Rust, Underpass, afghan, skidrow, quarry, highrise, invasion, estate, scrapyard, sub base, terminal and fuel. Now how many games have the majority of their maps being brilliant. And to those who complain about the multiplayer beinf overpowered with its weapons and killstreaks, you guys speak so much rubbish. The multiplayer was addictively fun, the funnest multiplayer experience i've ever had. It didn't have to be balanced, it just had to be fun, that's what video games are made for. Then additionally there was spec ops which was a bit of extra fun but not too much could be said about that. Overall, easily one of the best fps's ever. It just beats MW1 (not story wise) due to it's extremely addictinf multiplayer that i lost months in playing. I wish cod could come back to making games like this. Every game after this i have not enjoyed. However, i have found advanced warfare going in the right direction, being a little bit more fresh. Great game this. Expand
  79. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good single player. A bit short but good. Despite the airport massacre mission. Spec Ops has lots of nice missions. Graphics are very good for 2009 but acceptable as of today. Multiplayer is as addictive as other games. Forget about the negative reviews and Ghosts! Go and buy this! Expand
  80. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Cannot criticise this game at all, completely enjoy all the game modes and guns. Really easy to understand how to customise classes and I enjoyed the campaign even though it was a bit short. The multiplayer is absolutely outstanding and I bloody love it. Best Call of Duty game so far!
  81. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    I just got this game and I will admit I am VERY impressed. but there are some bad things if you are a semi good gamer like me you should not play online the players there are EXCELLENT. unless you are an awesome gamer do not play Xbox live. But campaign is fantastic: snowmobile chases, ice climbing. turret manning. sniper missions. It will never get old I think MW 2 is the best COD gameI just got this game and I will admit I am VERY impressed. but there are some bad things if you are a semi good gamer like me you should not play online the players there are EXCELLENT. unless you are an awesome gamer do not play Xbox live. But campaign is fantastic: snowmobile chases, ice climbing. turret manning. sniper missions. It will never get old I think MW 2 is the best COD game ever beside BO2 Expand
  82. May 29, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.5 Sound: 9.2 Gameplay: 9.2 Fun/Story: 9.1

    A awesome FPS, it´s good, fast, pretty and funny. I really enjoyed to play it through the end without stopping.
  83. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    Great story, relatable characters, incredible voice acting feels like you are actually there it like cod 4 but with everything done better visually and smoother movement
  84. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    9.5 out of 10 (rounded up to 10).

    When did Call of Duty become the ultimate cash cow franchise? Many claim it was with the original Modern Warfare, but the dud that came in the next year, World At War, proved that the series may have just been a one hit wonder. Then came MW2. This series wasn't going to hold back just because it hadn't made it as big on one entry. Modern Warfare 2 is
    9.5 out of 10 (rounded up to 10).

    When did Call of Duty become the ultimate cash cow franchise? Many claim it was with the original Modern Warfare, but the dud that came in the next year, World At War, proved that the series may have just been a one hit wonder. Then came MW2. This series wasn't going to hold back just because it hadn't made it as big on one entry. Modern Warfare 2 is the ideal sequel. It has better graphics, a better story, better set pieces, better gunplay and of course, better multiplayer. While it isn't a massive step forward for the series and is content to rest on its laurels in some spots, this is simply because it was so far ahead of any competition at the time.

    The thing that makes Call of Duty so popular is its accessibility. At almost any time, you can just pick up a controller and start playing. The gunplay is easy to get the hang of, but incredibly difficult to master. No two guns feel the same and no matter if you're hip firing or looking through a sight, it just reacts quickly and plays smoothly. The movement handles in the right way and while there isn't a sticky cover system like in Gears of War, crouching and returning fire is just as satisfying. Melee an enemy and while the impact is unrealistic, the quick stab is perfect if you want to end things quickly. COD may be lacklustre nowadays, but its gameplay is still as smooth and polished as possible.

    But while we can talk all we want about the controls and the shooting, what about the actual content? The campaign itself is no longer than that of the original and while it may not have the complexity or originality of the first game, it certainly ratchets up the tension with shocking twists, crazy set pieces and cool new characters. It continues directly on from the original game, except now a new enemy has arisen. Makarov is undoubtedly one of the scariest villains in all of gaming and the lengths he will go to to attain what he wants makes this as much a thriller as it is a shooter. One oof the first few levels in this game firmly makes that point stick in your mind, as you are forced to watch hundreds of innocent civilians get mowed down. The infamous "No Russian" level still holds up and is still difficult to get through. While you may have played GTA, that series is based around the point of going out and killing plenty of people in crazy ways. The realistic terrorism themes at the heart of COD make this more controversial than it needs to be. That level aside, the game is truly amazing and the story is blistering and action-packed. While no level may ever reach the heights of "All Ghillied Up", a certain few come close here and the set pieces range from an attack on the white house, to a stealth level in the snow to a final showdown on jet skis. This is action at its absolute best and not many series do explosions and shootouts better than Call of Duty.

    There is certainly a large amount of replayability to the game, what with the multiple collectibles, the many difficulty levels and the Epilogue level in a Call of Duty museum, but one mode takes replayability to its extremes. Spec Ops consists of a series of mini objectives that have a score and ranking system. Every challenge can be completed in co-op and a select few make teaming up with a buddy essential. There are even a few Spec Ops missions that recall the original game's sniper level and this is even better when played with a buddy. You can easily put as much, if not more time, into this mode as you do in the single player campaign. It's a bonus that most of these are really fun and endlessly enjoyable.

    But I can't put it off any longer- it's time to talk about multiplayer. The best part of COD gets even better in MW2, with a range of new modes, unlockables and maps, including some instant classics such as the rather large "Terminal". In all, the new features aren't a massive step forward, but the Create A Class system is a large enhancement and the range of perks and scorestreaks is impressive. Sniping is one of the strengths online and learning how to handle a scoped rifle may be key to your success. However, you really do have multiple options when it comes to fighting. You can run and gun, pick off enemies at long range or (if you're a really annoying player) camp. The options open are vast and while you may run into some fairly rage worthy situations, the game is consistently entertaining. The RPG like levelling system is still well handles and the offline levelling means that you can enjoy your split screen even more.

    Modern Warfare 2 is fantastic and is easily the second best COD. It could be said that the series fell into a monotonous rut here, but back in 2009 it was incredibly impressive. In all fairness, it still is and deserves a large amount of recognition.
    Expand
  85. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    THIS GAME IS EPIC AS BALLS I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!! The ONLY downside is its a short game... BUT BUY NOW BECAUSE THIS GAME IS THE REASON I PLAY SHOOTERS BUY NOWWWWWWWWW
  86. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    Call of duty: Modern warfare 2 is actually one my favorite Call of duty games. The singleplayer campaign has some of the funnest missions in any Call of duty game, maybe not as fun as Call of duty 4: Modern warfare but still worth playing. The story continued very well from the last Modern warfare game. The multiplayer is the most addictive and fun out of the whole series, you will spendCall of duty: Modern warfare 2 is actually one my favorite Call of duty games. The singleplayer campaign has some of the funnest missions in any Call of duty game, maybe not as fun as Call of duty 4: Modern warfare but still worth playing. The story continued very well from the last Modern warfare game. The multiplayer is the most addictive and fun out of the whole series, you will spend hours playing this. The spec ops mode has some very fun missions you will play with your friends over and over trying to get the best score. If you are a fan of Call of duty, then buy this. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.