Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2677 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    The Good:
    - Engaging gameplay
    - Great online multiplayer
    - Fun co-op mode

    The Bad:
    - Short campaign
    - Story is hard to believe

    The Ugly:
    - Expensive DLC
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 shatters the old standard of excellence and has raised the bar for what it means to be an epic shooter. With a mind-shattering campaign, superb co-op play, and the deepest multiplayer experience on Live, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest shooters in gaming history, and a must-own for fans of the genre.
  3. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    So fun with friends. Late night games back in '09. Those were the days. After Modern Warfare 3 came out, I really appreciated MW2 and even Black OPS and how much better they are than the new game. This deserves a 10 for sucking a lot of my hours .
  4. nickp
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    idk what some of you guys are smoking but this is one of the best fps of all time. after mw1 i was a little dissapointed with world at war, but this came and just blew me away. the graphics are just amazing, story mode yes is a little short but incredibly good, spec ops very fun, and to top it off the mulpyplayer is by far the best thing ever!
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    MW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and willMW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and will definately entertain. Overall, MW2 is a great game, it keeps the elements of MW 1 that made it so great but throws in its own elelments to make itself unique. Breakdown for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 9.7, Sound: 9.6, Playability: 9.5, Entertainment Value: 9.8. Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    MW2 is a great game! Campaign is actually really good, but not as good as BO. Spec ops is ok but isn't very fun. Multiplayer is awesome! Graphics are nice for the year it was made in. MW3 was better graphic wise but gameplay is 10x better in MW2. Really worth buying.
  7. May 7, 2013
    8
    I consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and canI consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and can tolerant anything happened in this game since I have no idea how online game should like.... Anyway, I think the game is perfect new gamers, easy to start, fun to play. Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    With the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its onlyWith the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its only six hours. If you followed the story, the ending was pretty cool, and there was no huge cliff hanger that will make you throw your controller across the room in anger. Even though the campaign was short, there is still a lot more this game has to offer. Spec-Ops is the highlight of the package. Whenever my buddies come over and I don't want my multiplayer stats to be effected, Spec-Ops is always the way to go. The co-operative play is smooth and the variety of mission types is refreshing. The challenge is also very fair, and the sense of accomplishment when beating the harder missions on Veteran difficulty is unforgettable. Sure there are those moments when you are in the last section of a level and your partner just has to kill himself, but once you nail a tough level you truly feel like a gamer. Now finally comes the immensely frustrating multiplayer package. Most of the reviews you read only focus on the multiplayer and how frustrating it can be. While these reviews may be accurate the score they give the game is not. This is because their review is only for the multiplayer section of the game, and they don't take into account the exciting Spec-Ops and single player campaigns. The multiplayer for this game is extremely addicting. It is incredibly easy to hop into a game and have a blast with some friends, but there is seldom a time when your fun is ruined by players taking advantage of some of the games perks or other add-ons. Grenade launchers, commando knifing, and the spawning system are just a few of the inconveniences you may encounter. Many people stop playing the game due to the deaths they face at the hand of players who rely on tactics that do not require very much skill. If you do not take the game very seriously and just want to run around and have to fun run and gun action, it will be easy to enjoy the multiplayer. To those competitive hard-core gamers there will be much rage quitting ahead. With all parts of the package taken into account, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 delivers. The high production values are obvious, and the single and co-opertive campaigns are a blast. Sadly the multiplayer content is frustrating to say the least, and not enough effort was put in to ensure a fair and enjoyable experience. Get this game, mostly because everyone else has it, and there is always fun to be found, but sadly a lot of a frustration will come with it. Expand
  9. HenkR
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very engaging, and it is backed up by one of the best online shooter experiences to date. Expand
  10. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  11. DaveL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a friend. Not too fun single player. This is easily a 10 just based on the value that I will get out of this. Anyone giving lower than an 8 is just a fanboy of Halo, KZ2, UC2, etc. This is a great game that will keep me playing for months and months. Expand
  12. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    The most awesome game in every single aspect on the CoD series . The gameplay is very smooth,the story is a little hard to follow but Epic , the multiplayer is addictive as coca-cola,the special ops is great for offline users not the best iteration but nice. The maps on the multiplayer are very well designed.
  13. JohnL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Ignore the user rating...bunch of PC gamers mad that they took away dedicated servers. This game on the 360 or PS3 is just a beast. It's even better than all the hype.
  14. May 22, 2011
    9
    I think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and II think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and I realized that I just had to write my piece on this phenomenal shooter. Call me a COD nuthugger or whatnot, but when you discard your flaming nerd rage and begin to see clearly, you realize that this really is the top notch pinnacle of military shooters in modern gaming. And yes, it far exceeds Battlefield in almost every aspect. To start, the single player is most definitely and undeniably short, ranging in the neighborhood of about 3 hours or so. But those 3 hours are so remarkably jaw-dropping that it somehow forces you after completion to return to the first level and do it all over again. The voice-acting is tremendously well done, and the graphics, even by today's standards, are simply fantastic. The storyline is extremely believable and the campaign contains some of the most exciting set pieces and action sequences that I have ever witnessed in a shooter. From the very beginning stage, all the way up until the final firefight, I was completely mesmerized at the attention to detail the developers gave this game. The intense gunfights that take place on U.S. soil left me completely wowed, and never once was there a stale moment on the campaign. The Spec Ops co-op mode is a great addition to play through with a friend, providing a host of exciting short missions to blast through. Moving on to what really amazes me is the multiplayer. Every time that I enter another match, it reminds me that this really is the king of all first person shooters. The hit markers are near flawless, aiming is extremely smooth and tight, and the arsenal of weaponry is about as close to completely balanced as you can get. Most of the maps are fantastic, save for a few camper-oriented ones that I veto on sight. The sheer amount of perks, upgrades, weapon attachments, and challenges to unlock is almost overwhelming, and never ceases to be addicting. There is literally always something to keep playing towards to unlock. The newly added unlockable titles from the first game always has me working towards something new, and the emblems as well are a pure blast to unlock. The game keeps track of a huge array of statistics, ranging from obvious headshots of a gun, all the way to the number of times you killed someone with a direct flashbang impact. However, there are still some things that should be tweaked, such as the Danger Close perk and Commando perk, which are both noob-friendly and overpowered. I am a LEGIT level 70 tenth prestige, so I believe I have enough experience to voice my opinion on this. Also, the UMP45 could use a little toning down in terms of damage, accuracy, recoil, or anything else associated with it. The killstreaks are absolutely revolutionary, since you have wannabes such as Medal of Honor and Black Ops that straight up copied the majority of them. The amount of noob campers that are crying about how trashy this game is have absolutely no idea what they're talking about, and are simply there to hate because this game is so popular. And it's popular for good reason too: it's the best military shooter on the market without a doubt. Even though the game infuriates me to no end (at times), I just take a step back and tell myself that despite all of my irrational rage, it's still the best there is, and I know that I'll go back to playing it the next day. And since the game is at a much lower price at the present, you cannot go wrong with this purchase if you enjoy military shooters or shooters in general. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. TheMy friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Expand
  16. JimR
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a shame bitter PC players who are scared of change and unwilling to acknowledge progress (IW Net) are voting this game down. The story is short but every second of the campaign is filled with unique and intense action. To make up for this hundreds of hours can be spent in the extensive/amazing multiplayer mode and Spec-Ops.
  17. AaronR
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Great multiplayer options, but somehow it only feels marginally improved over the stellar Call of Duty 4. I like the updated perks system, but let me make one thing clear: this game's multiplayer is NOT newbie-friendly in the least. You better find a friend or two who are willing to help you out, should you find yourself new to the Call of Duty franchise. The single-player campaign, Great multiplayer options, but somehow it only feels marginally improved over the stellar Call of Duty 4. I like the updated perks system, but let me make one thing clear: this game's multiplayer is NOT newbie-friendly in the least. You better find a friend or two who are willing to help you out, should you find yourself new to the Call of Duty franchise. The single-player campaign, though intense and chock-full of OMG moments, should still be considered worthless. Most people buying this game are buying it for the multiplayer only, and many of those people will most likely end up beating the single player campaign in around 5 hours. That is simply pathetic for a game which has so much hype and praise waiting to be delivered unto it. Expand
  18. SteveM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a veteran, this has been the most thrilling and accurate representation of military action to date. Granted, the story was filled with over-the-top Hollywood excitement, I found the lingo, sound and graphics filled with such amazing details that I was having immersive flash-backs in the first five minutes.
  19. SmilingAssassin
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Let me start by saying WOW! That applies to the multiplayer modes in the game. It's early but this my be the best game at it yet(although counterstrike is as addictive as crack still). The campaign my be one of the worst things I've ever seen. An incredible dissapointment after the last Modern Warfare which I though might have been the best campaign I have ever played. Truth be Let me start by saying WOW! That applies to the multiplayer modes in the game. It's early but this my be the best game at it yet(although counterstrike is as addictive as crack still). The campaign my be one of the worst things I've ever seen. An incredible dissapointment after the last Modern Warfare which I though might have been the best campaign I have ever played. Truth be told most people don't spend a lot of time replaying the campaign and the multiplayer is absolutely outstanding. It's strange because I never cared for the last games mp but was a huge fan of the campaign. Still I don't think for the $60 you could buy anything better right now. Expand
  20. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  21. NoahS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this game. It is epic all out war and the funnest multiplayer experience I have ever had, the only reason it has such a low score is because the non-haters are still playing CoD online
  22. JonathanA
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    First off, as of now, with 185 user votes, the game only has a 5.4... What in the heck is up with that? Have you even played the game? It's incredible! No fan boy from me. Multiplayer is just amazing and the campaign, though short, is stunning. Spec Ops is more fun then any other co-op game I've ever played. Better then horde, L4D, Firefight, etc... Best FPS ever maybe.
  23. IMac
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I dont understand all of the negative ratings. Although the came is extremely similar to COD4, it still expands on the formula perfectly. I think that if the game was any different, it would be worse. It is the perfect shooter.
  24. MichealS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Other than learning the maps the entire experience is unreal. I played the multiplayer and some of the campaign and I could not put it down and will not unless I risk losing my job.
  25. RedB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game's spectacular. Picked it up last night. The production value especially makes the game worth buying, but the controls and gameplay are solid. I can't wait to jump into the multiplayer.
  26. SamG
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game and very enjoyable developing upon the great areas of the call of duty 4. The only disappointment for me is the length of single player, it took little over 6hours to complete which i don't feel is good enough for a game that charges an extra £10 over normal games rrp.
  27. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  28. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    cod mw2 single player is ok but its xbox live is great, it has a good storyto it. but do yourself a favor and click yes at the beginning of the game to skip a mission many people find it very offensive
  29. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    years of experience and tons of call of duty games have taught the creators of the call of duty series how to make a satisfying action game. the details are amazing. the plot wasn't as good as modern warfare 1, but i liked it nonetheless. looking out to modern warfare 3!
  30. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the new Call of Duty is only a few months away; I have decided to do a review on one of the biggest games of 2009. Already the makers of the game have tried to make it into an epic game by having a excellent plot. The story begins at the end of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare with the Ultra-nationalists taking over Russia and making the villian of the first Modern Warfare game (Imran Zakhaev) a hero of Russia. The gamer starts of as Private First Class Allen who helps the Rangers kill some insurgents in Afghanistan were he later finds out that he will join an elite special force who are already on a mission behind enemy lines in Kazahkstan,. The problem I have with this is that he is only a private and that they should of given the role to a more suitable role. Also with the Russians already being in Kazahkstan (I'm guessing through invasion) that the other nations of the world (especially USA) would have declared war. Anyway back to the plot, instead of playing "Soap", the gamer now plays as "Roach" who is taken under the wing of "Soap". The gamer then switches back to play as Private Allen who is sent on an undercover mission to follow Makarov and learn what he is up to. Allen has to do this by helping Makarov slaughter the innocent on Russian land. However, Makarov somehow knew that Allen was not a Russian but an American so he shoots him there and then. This then leads to the Russians blaming the Americans for the deaths of hundreds and decides to go to war against the US. Going back to playing as "Roach", the special forces find out that Makarov was behind the attack so the team head to Brazil to find out more info on the whereabouts of Makarov. They do this by interrogating Makarov's weapon dealer who tells them that Makarov's worst enemy is being held captive in a Russian Gulag under the name of Prisoner 627. This then leads to the Americans and the special forces assaulting the Gulag to then find out that Prisoner 627 was in actual fact Captain Price. The special forces then go take on a Russian Naval Base and then Captain Price activates a nuclear warhead in a Russian Sub. During this time, the gamer becomes Private Ramirez who takes part in many spectacular battles in the game; such as the Battle for the White House in Washington D.C. At this point, the US Rangers who you play as are under heavy fire and looks like all is lost until the nuclear warhead that Captain Price fired blows up in space (killing an innocent Astronaut). "Roach" and "Ghost" then go to gather data on Makarov at his safe house which leads to there sad deaths at the hand of your ally Sheperd. The gamer then plays as Soap and tries to take down Sheperd with the help of Captain Price. The gamer finds out that Sheperd did this due to the amount of soldiers who died in the nuclear explosion in the 1st modern warfare game. At the end of the game, Sheperd is killed and the remainders of the special forces go on the hunt for Makarov. Positives The story was done very well Spec Ops was a different option for the gamers to play
    I like how it gives the gamer an option to play the Russian Massacre mission Negatives The online needs fixing as the good gamers will easily destroy the average or weaker gamers Rating Overall, I would have to give Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 the rating of 8 out of 10 -- Mr Hannigan
    Expand
  31. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Time and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it ModernTime and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  32. FrankieT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is great. I have been playing for 2 and a half hours and I haven't found a flaw yet. They really took the flaws of CoD4 and worked mad hard on them. They also added a ton of new features and weapons. Now this is a flawless game (so far) I haven't played much of the campaign but it seemed pretty interesting from the beginning. Highly recommended.
  33. DanJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Best game I have played this year. I haven't been this addicted to any game since gears of war 2. The Spec Ops mode is amazing, the most fun I have had playing coop on the Xbox360. The multiplayer has been updated and works great. You get rewards for everything, and there are a ton of unlocks. It really feels fair and balanced this time around. The campaign is great, although short. Best game I have played this year. I haven't been this addicted to any game since gears of war 2. The Spec Ops mode is amazing, the most fun I have had playing coop on the Xbox360. The multiplayer has been updated and works great. You get rewards for everything, and there are a ton of unlocks. It really feels fair and balanced this time around. The campaign is great, although short. I have never had so much adrenaline pumping throughout the entirety the game until I played this one. If you own a 360, then you need to buy this game or sell your system to somebody that will buy this game. Collapse
  34. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    this game is good. the campaign was excellent with epic story and excellent plot twists and gameplay. as for the multiplayer, it is alot like the previous cod games, but with new killstreaks and perks, it keeps you hooked. There are still many bad things with this game like boosters, cheap perk combinations, stuff like that. but this is not game breaking as this is a truly excellent gmae.
  35. May 4, 2011
    8
    While it is still a great game, it feels like MW 1.5. Infinity Ward is known for it's cutting edge, but seemed a bit lazy while making this game. The single player gets really interesting about halfway through, but does not compare to the campaign of MW1. IW focused more on over the top moments as opposed to good storytelling. While a co-op campaign would have been better, the Spec-Ops isWhile it is still a great game, it feels like MW 1.5. Infinity Ward is known for it's cutting edge, but seemed a bit lazy while making this game. The single player gets really interesting about halfway through, but does not compare to the campaign of MW1. IW focused more on over the top moments as opposed to good storytelling. While a co-op campaign would have been better, the Spec-Ops is a nice addition, albeit hard if you're trying to beat them all on veteran. The MP is the MP, you will love it if you enjoyed MW1's MP, or you will hate it. I enjoyed it, but never got to the level cap after two years, while it only took me a couple of months in MW1. If you liked the first, you'll like the second, but it isn't groundbreaking. Expand
  36. JamesT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could ever hope for. This game is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  37. NickH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I really hate when critics no one's ever heard of bring down the score of a game. This is the case with idiots like Boomtown. The campaign is somewhat short, but the conclusion is brilliant. Think of Spec Ops as a co-op campaign and you add at least a couple of hours on to the play time, and as COD4's multiplayer has shown, there's endless replayability. In truth, this I really hate when critics no one's ever heard of bring down the score of a game. This is the case with idiots like Boomtown. The campaign is somewhat short, but the conclusion is brilliant. Think of Spec Ops as a co-op campaign and you add at least a couple of hours on to the play time, and as COD4's multiplayer has shown, there's endless replayability. In truth, this could not only be the game of the year, but the game of the DECADE, in the amount of content this extremely polished game has to offer. Expand
  38. RyanF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing game! One of the best games of all time and I'm only talking about the multiplayer! Can't wait to start the campaign. U need to pick this up right now!
  39. DamienW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is terrible. The graphics are terrible and the gameplay is dull. If I would recommend a FPS I would defo. buy Halo 3. Or for an evan cheaper price I would buy GRAW 2. Nooby Game
  40. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better.I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better. Sure it's not completely balanced but if you get into a match without douchebags the game is probably the most fun you can have in gaming. Expand
  41. DustinH
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    Modern warfare 2 is easily one of the best games of the year great story, epic gameplay, great customization, everything you could and would expect from a call of duty game is in modern warfare 2,my only probem is that the campaign is a bit on the short side but I could play hours on end in the multiplayer, stimulus package is awesome, well done Infinity Ward!!!!
  42. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Just had to give this a score of 10. Why? Simply to make up for the unfair lower scores that biased individual gives.
  43. BillC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect. Those who love it have a right to. Those who don't can't even spell words correctly in their hate comments against the game. Props to Infinity Ward for creating the best game I own.
  44. JakeP
    Mar 12, 2010
    9
    *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being upgradeable, I now use a variety of perk combinations on all my classes. In earlier CoD games, My perks were always stopping power and deep impact. Some negatives are the way that some of the maps cater to the campers, you can't walk anywhere without being blasted by some noob that just sits in a corner and wait. The only other complaint I have are the Patched 1887's. Really, who would complain that a gun has too much range and power, especially a gun that is unlocked at level 67? that's right, 67! So we have to work hard and play for a very long time to unlock a gun that is noiw one of the most useless. May as well put it in the default class and make the spas-12 be unlocked at 67. The spas is much better now. Anyway, other than that, this game was well thought out and is one of the must-buys of the year. Expand
  45. LuckyDutch
    Mar 19, 2010
    8
    I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back to this. There are however some elements that really let it down. I don't like the new killstreak system at all. While cool in concept it promotes excessive camping to get killstreaks. UAV Jammer and EMP are good additions but the other stupid ones outshine them and sadly make them largely redundant. Secondly, knifing. Needless to say having people run around faster than Usain Bolt and lunging across rooms faster than a bullet is unreallistic and a bad decision. The knife animation is too fast aswell, you cant kill someone instantly with a wild swing. BC2 got this right. Lastly, map design. Most buildings have way too many enterances. With all the jack the rippers on speed running about having so many ways in makes a slow tactical playstyle very difficult. You can either camp or rush, no smart play here i'm afraid. Despite all this MW2 is the best online game out right now. The crazy-high sales of this game were justified but IW could have done better. COD 4 is still the benchmark. Expand
  46. JustinS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Basically it takes the highly-acclaimed and great game of Call of Duty 4 and vastly improves every aspect of it. Also adds Spec Ops mode, which adds a lot more value to the game. Fans of FPS' shouldn't pass this one up.
  47. SamS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I haven't been able to stop playing. It is great, mutliplayer and single player are phenomenal. The only reason I am not playing right now is because my power went out. Hooray for the Blackberry.
  48. Kyleg
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody wankers. Anyway, although the campaign is short (which FPS campaign isn't these days?), it's far more involved than MW 1's. Larger environments, fully rendered 3d backdrops, TONS of enemies, and more awe-inspiring moments than MW 1. That's right, alex m., MORE, not less. The airport level was pretty enjoyable and disturbing. I like shooting unarmed virtual civilians. They aren't real, you thin-skinned whiners. Crazy events are thrown at the player left and right, but they all fit in with the story. You'd be hard-pressed to find a more intense and challenging FPS campaign. Multiplayer is just amazing. There are a lot more options when it comes to customizing your classes. The maps are interesting, and some are huge. More kill streak perks and the addition of death streak perks add even MORE fun. Thankfully, the death streak perks are nothing too big to be completely annoying. I was afraid they may be, but IW didn't do anything stupid. Great game, worth the price. Expand
  49. CW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont be surprised to have the hairs on the back of your neck standing on many occasions. The campaign is much more varied this time through with the story taking place all over the world. The major gripe for me with the campaign is the AWFUL AI still hasnt been sorted since COD2. The enemy will only try and kill you, the second you emerge from cover almost every enemy in the area will instantly turn on you and your almost killed instantly on the harder difficulties. The other problem is the enemy always know where you are even if you've done nothing to blow your cover. Hide in a building away from your team and expect grenade spam galore through the window. This is and the length of the campaign are the only faults that come to mind and it is definately very enjoyable. The main attraction for most is the multiplayer. Think of it as MW1 only much more polished. You have so much to unlock such as awards, killstreaks, weapons, perks etc that is does get very addicting. The only negative that comes to mind is the fact there are more lame ways to be killed. Aswell as airstrikes and choppers there as missiles, stealth bombers and even a nuke. This is a good thing yeah, but it does become being killed AGAIN by a stealth bomber. Aswell the competetive multiplayer theres a special ops which you can do alone or with a friend. This is definately an excellent game, not the "B3ST G4M3 3V4!!!" but one definately worth a purchase if you have Xbox Live. Those without just rent it. Expand
  50. BradP
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did when you played COD4. Expand
  51. StephanE.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I don't know why this game only has a user rating of 5.5... All I know is that this game is awesome and a must buy for every shooter fan out there. I didn't give it a 10 because when playing multiplayer, you cannot use the Xbox Live Chat and must be in game chat, otherwise you cannot play online. I don't think this was neccesary. I believe the game could have done without.
  52. MikeL
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    COD:MW2 takes the Call of Duty franchise to a whole different level of the FPS experience. The graphics are spectacular. The sound will blow your mind, especially if you are using headphones or have surround sound. The most outstanding aspect of the game is the Multiplayer mode which welcomes a wide variety of FPS gamer personalities due to its in-depth weapon class perks and weapon COD:MW2 takes the Call of Duty franchise to a whole different level of the FPS experience. The graphics are spectacular. The sound will blow your mind, especially if you are using headphones or have surround sound. The most outstanding aspect of the game is the Multiplayer mode which welcomes a wide variety of FPS gamer personalities due to its in-depth weapon class perks and weapon customizations. May it be the quick and quiet silenced weapon stalker, the "invisible" knife expert, the stationary deadly sniper, or the well rounded assault and cover rifleman, any game-style can be represented with relative balance. In contrast to the one level, "arena" feel of the COD4 multiplayer maps; MW2 maps have a gritty, dimensional style with multiple flanking options and more story levels in buildings, above and below. Action is more fast pace and more intense then any previous Call of Duty title, or any FPS in general. The Achilles heal of the game is the single player modes, which is what prevents this reviewer from giving the game a 10. While entertaining, some aspects seemed boring and cliche'. If you enjoyed the COD4 campaign, you will enjoy this one, but don't expect to want to play it again, I was satisfied with one play-through. The Spec-Opps section of the game adds a little vinegar and flair to single player, maybe adding another hour of interest or two. All in all, If online FPS gaming is your passion, definitely buy this game; the BEST FPS out right now hands down. If you don't have internet or don't like playing games online, rent it. Expand
  53. MayorOfMantown
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    I can't believe all the people who are so butthurt over this game! It's more ridiculous than the people who hate Halo because it's popular. The fact is that this is an excellent game that deserves all the critical acclaim it's been getting. The single player is short, but the story is extremely compelling. However, the added Spec Ops (with the Co-op feature) easily I can't believe all the people who are so butthurt over this game! It's more ridiculous than the people who hate Halo because it's popular. The fact is that this is an excellent game that deserves all the critical acclaim it's been getting. The single player is short, but the story is extremely compelling. However, the added Spec Ops (with the Co-op feature) easily adds 15 hours to the single player experience. I found this to be just as fun as any co-op game I've played (including Gears of War, Halo, Left 4 Dead, and Borderlands). The online multiplayer, though, is where this game really shines. It's essentially the same as the original Modern Warfare with a TON of variety added. You can now customize virtually every aspect of the gameplay to suit your needs. This is one of the few games that allows you to be competitive, but still play using the style that you find to be the most fun. The only reason I give this game a 9 rather than a 10 is that if you are not connected to XBox Live or Playstation Network, then the gameplay is essentially cut in half. It's still a great game to enjoy on by yourself, but it's just not quite as much of a must buy for the single player alone. Expand
  54. JonathanE.
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    Maybe you guys should try reviewing the game next time, instead of writing entire reviews about the price tag or the length. Just a suggestion. Anyways, the game is great. The setpieces are mindblowing, the multiplayer is ecstasy and Spec Ops? Well, it's certainly not 'jus a divershun' unlike some kids down there. Sven Co-op has the quick exciting setpieces of single player Maybe you guys should try reviewing the game next time, instead of writing entire reviews about the price tag or the length. Just a suggestion. Anyways, the game is great. The setpieces are mindblowing, the multiplayer is ecstasy and Spec Ops? Well, it's certainly not 'jus a divershun' unlike some kids down there. Sven Co-op has the quick exciting setpieces of single player all tucked into one mini mission you can play with a friend. All kinds of levels to choose: Stealth, Rampage, Defense, and even Vehicle Rampage. Obviously it's not a 10 out of 10, but I guess you could say I did it to piss of the fanboys here :). Go ahead, be LEET and counter it. Just knowing that I pissed you off will be good enough for me! Expand
  55. ModernW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game was amazing, the graphics, multiplayer, and single player are all just amazing. The single player could have been longer, but still is superb.
  56. JacobH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Wauw just wauw, have only played the single player.... but MAN that was amazing, think its even better then Modern warfare.... This is a must for anyone who loves first person shooter.
  57. TommyC.
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    I would have to say that this disappointed me even though I'm giving it a high score. My main disappointment was with the lack of a strong campaign with it throwing big events at you in a unrealistic way which departs from the semi-realistic story from the last game and goes for the action movie feel. The story itself is good but at around 5 hours on a average play through you can I would have to say that this disappointed me even though I'm giving it a high score. My main disappointment was with the lack of a strong campaign with it throwing big events at you in a unrealistic way which departs from the semi-realistic story from the last game and goes for the action movie feel. The story itself is good but at around 5 hours on a average play through you can see that this game isn't for those after a strong, long and I guess good story. The multi-player is what 95% of people will be buying this game for and i have to say this disappointed me as well. With minor changes to the overall experience this is a game that will have big fans screaming at the screen with joy at the fact they can shoot down UAV's and it will have the players that only played cod4 a bit (those that had lives) saying "This is Cod4 with new maps". This will especially be happening when most people see the graphics they are good but that Expand
  58. EimaanM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    By far the best FPS released this year. An engaging and action-packed first person campaign; a tactical adventurous special-ops game mode; and one of the best multiplayer modes in all of gaming. The definitive FPS across all gaming counsels. A must-have!
  59. TomL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant, I have spent five hours online so far, and love it. Customizable killstreaks and a MUCH better perks system; I would probably given it 9 had juggernaut remained in there. The only slight drawback is not being able to be in party chat for most game modes and having to change to game chat channel.
  60. RobM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Firstly, I can't understand for a second how anyone can give this a mark lower then... 8, lets say. It's fair to say that these people don't really know what they're on about. That comment may sting a little to some people, but it's the cold, hard truth. Anyway, about the game. Modern Warfare 2 is a masterpiece! Visually it's beautiful and full of rich Firstly, I can't understand for a second how anyone can give this a mark lower then... 8, lets say. It's fair to say that these people don't really know what they're on about. That comment may sting a little to some people, but it's the cold, hard truth. Anyway, about the game. Modern Warfare 2 is a masterpiece! Visually it's beautiful and full of rich detail. The single player campaign is the true meaning of "short but sweet". Besides, if your able to take the game online, the campaign is just a thing on the side. For me, personally, it's all about the multiplayer. And MW2's multiplayer has taken Halo 3's title as the best online multiplayer game around today. The maps (on the whole) are much better than Call of Duty 4's, the gun's also seem to be better. The M4A1 is an absolute beast! The new perks and killstreaks are amazing, the AC130 is seriously satisfying to use. This deserves the title for "Game of the Year 2009". Infact, it dosen't just deserve it, it's gunna get it! Buy this... buy this NOW! Expand
  61. AndrewT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could have made it a little better. The online multiplayer is extremely enjoyable. There's so many unlockables and the maps are fun to play.
  62. GetOverIt
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I'm so tired of people voting this game down because it was hyped before it came out. COD4 was a damn good game and this game took everything that was good about it and made it better and everything poor about COD4 and either threw it out or fixed it. Did it get a ton of hype? Yes. Has it shown it deserved it? Yes. People did it to Halo, people did it to GTA, and now CoD has proved I'm so tired of people voting this game down because it was hyped before it came out. COD4 was a damn good game and this game took everything that was good about it and made it better and everything poor about COD4 and either threw it out or fixed it. Did it get a ton of hype? Yes. Has it shown it deserved it? Yes. People did it to Halo, people did it to GTA, and now CoD has proved itself, and people are trying to hurt it. A AAA deserves a AAA rating. If you don't like that then too bad. Sure there are better games out there and yes there are games that broke far more ground than the entire CoD franchise could dream of, but that doesn't make it a bad game. If it did then we might as well ignore any video game that isn't a completely new IP. Expand
  63. JevJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a PC gamer, i was sceptical about the quality of the experiance of Modern Warfare 2. These fears were mainly based on endless lists of PC users elaborating on the damage that all the changed features would do to the multiplayer component of the game, and how short the single player campaign would be. However, after giving in to my curiousity, and buying it, i can confidently say that As a PC gamer, i was sceptical about the quality of the experiance of Modern Warfare 2. These fears were mainly based on endless lists of PC users elaborating on the damage that all the changed features would do to the multiplayer component of the game, and how short the single player campaign would be. However, after giving in to my curiousity, and buying it, i can confidently say that NONE of the issues being trumpeted as the death of this game, and multiplayer in particular is true. The peer-to-peer multiplayer actually works a treat (and i live in australia, yes i have played 9v9, its really not a problem) the server browsing is fast, and every game i join was very resposive/lag free. What i found hard to believe is how increably FAST multiplayer feels, even with the reduced player count. All of the new multiplayer features, like the brilliant new killstreaks, the removal of grenade spamming (tubes and frag grenades) and martyrdom / last stand annoyances, the little name tags, match accolades, SO many weapon attachments.....there is just too much to see here, and its all fantastic. As for the single player experiance, the games feeling is increadable, especially once you get a few missions in. I dont want to ruin everything but the mission that they demoed (the ice-base level) is even more fun to play, and the missions after that continue to wow me (this is a bit vauge, but i dont want to spoil ANYTHING). I must mention i have not played the co-op mode as origincally intended, so no comment there. Overall, i was pretty much immediatly happy with the game, after a short stint in MP (belive me the speed has been upped, and not in the way that you got with too 32v32 on shipment). I have played the original Call of duty 4: Modern Warfare to death in multiplayer, and i cannot see myself doing anything different this time around. Fanstastic game, 10/10. Expand
  64. DavidB
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    All I want to ask some of these blathering idiots how complain about the price tag being $60, is wtf is wrong with you. Its a fucking next gen game and not to mention its a mainstream game unlike a crappy Disney game. Oh and don't forget many of the people who rated this game as a 0, which is just down right slander, play nothing but Halo, and suck at this type of realistic game All I want to ask some of these blathering idiots how complain about the price tag being $60, is wtf is wrong with you. Its a fucking next gen game and not to mention its a mainstream game unlike a crappy Disney game. Oh and don't forget many of the people who rated this game as a 0, which is just down right slander, play nothing but Halo, and suck at this type of realistic game where you cant run in the middle of 10 blazing guns and kill at least 4 of those firing those guns. Don't get me wrong, Halo is a good game series but people need to rate these games honestly and on their content and its ease of play. Now onto the actual game: though the campaign was short, it was 'complete', and by that i mean it contained a good storyline that picked up where it left off and didn't just blow off the old fanboys from the other cod game. Multiplayer: People need to quit complaining about it not having dedicated servers, because unless you have a crappy internet service, there's no need to bitch. Not to mention that L4D has taught us that dedicated servers aren't always the best thing for a game, an example of this is when you join a game (by yourself) and you have a horrible connection to the server that's supposed to be dedicated to YOU AND ONLY YOU at that time. So quit you annoying crying and rate the game honestly you spineless fools!!!!!!!!! Expand
  65. nickr
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The games multiplayer is amazing and has a huge amount of depth.,absolutely awesome. The campaign os short but the time you have with it is action packed and satisfying. The game looks, sounds and feels great and it is a massive improvement to its predecessor call 4. Overall this game is AMAZING BUY IT NOW!
  66. DanL
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    With one or two minor tweaks, this could have been the best FPS ever made. Why was there a random space view-only section, for example, when we could have been thrown into some crazy AC130-like satellite targeting level? Also, why was there no explanation to the background behind some of the plot twists involving characters in the game? This game could have been my personal favorite game With one or two minor tweaks, this could have been the best FPS ever made. Why was there a random space view-only section, for example, when we could have been thrown into some crazy AC130-like satellite targeting level? Also, why was there no explanation to the background behind some of the plot twists involving characters in the game? This game could have been my personal favorite game of all time had it offered a little deeper plot and an extra 3-4 hours on the campaign mode to include some other levels that we just begging to be made. It is an amazing game and left me astounded at regular intervals throughout it - but once I finished it, it did not give me that "Wow, I just need to stare at the wall for 30 minutes now to think about what just happened!" moment you get after finishing a truly epic book or film. Infinity Ward has raised the bar in terms of game content - now let's have a true thriller of a story to go with it! Expand
  67. DavidC
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Not too much new here. Same old FPS stuff. Definitely lots of action and over the top set pieces, but nothing that stands out as the mother of all games, as the hype was making it out to be. Can't wait for Assassins Creed 2 is all I have to say!!
  68. IanW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, took all thats crap out of 4 looked at world at war and said nah, just did the airport level and wow, how was that...multiplayer is brilliant so far, no flaws, and those maps how big are they? the only gripe is in the snow levels...no footprints but hey I'm just picking...brilliant, stuff treyarch.
  69. DieuweB
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    just can't stop playing! wonderfull game. but there is one very annoying flaw, and that is the matchmaking system. I have to wait about an eternety to find a good game, and my NAT is open, verry annoying! The only way for me to join a game is to join session in progress...
  70. HumrajS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    They enhanced graphics, took the the story to another level, and tweaked the multiplayer. In my opinion, abandon ODST and get Modern Warfare 2 along with Uncharted 2 (if you have a PS3). The best game of the decade!
  71. DanR.
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    First off, I gotta say that this game is really damn good. I've been hooked since the moment I put it in my xbox. Campaign - I'm not completely done with the campaign, but so far I thin it's really good. It is short for the more experienced players, but it has some great cinematics. All in all, the campaign is pretty good. Spec Ops - Now this mode really rocks. It's First off, I gotta say that this game is really damn good. I've been hooked since the moment I put it in my xbox. Campaign - I'm not completely done with the campaign, but so far I thin it's really good. It is short for the more experienced players, but it has some great cinematics. All in all, the campaign is pretty good. Spec Ops - Now this mode really rocks. It's way better than the campaign. There isn't much to say besides this mode really being one of the bigger and better selling points of the game. Multiplayer - This is the part of the game everyone wants to play. If you though single player was fun, multiplayer is even better, because most games are more fun with friends around. I haven't had any issues yet like many others have been having, so my online experience has been great! The new maps are are pretty fun, Favela being my favorite. All in all I give the game a 9/10 because it's not perfect, but it's got me hooked. Also, as a note to other reviewers, you need to stop. I see people posting bad reviews for the PS3 and PC versions of the game, but they have their own sections. Give the other versions of the game bad user scores, but don't do it here. This is the page for the xbox version of the game, so quit being little babies about the game here. Or haw about just not commenting at all? It's really pissing me off that so many internet users have to be pussies and whine about the fucking game all day. Really, it needs to stop. It's just getting way to ridiculous. Expand
  72. alexm
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Here goes my honest opinion..who am i?...nobody important, but i think i speak for alot of gamers out there. I personally finished the single player campaign in under 5 hours...YES it was amazing. Not that many OMG moments as the first, but still amazing. I did however find the dialogue to be a little low during cutscenes,,,i dont know if thats bcuz of my audio setup, but it was kind of Here goes my honest opinion..who am i?...nobody important, but i think i speak for alot of gamers out there. I personally finished the single player campaign in under 5 hours...YES it was amazing. Not that many OMG moments as the first, but still amazing. I did however find the dialogue to be a little low during cutscenes,,,i dont know if thats bcuz of my audio setup, but it was kind of hard hearing all the dialogue. Now, i do have to rate the different parts of the game differently and not as a whole due to the campaign length. A 60$ title should be more than 5 hours long. YES, the multiplayer is 60$ by itself, but if u dont have online access, RENT THE GAME...do not purchase. IT will be over in 1 night. single player= 8- due to length multiplayer = 10. Expand
  73. AdamN
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Yes this game was one of the most hyped games of the year and because of this even though i was looking forward to it i didn't expect too much. Let me now tell you that even with the hype this game deserves every bit of it and more. Each level is epic and absolutely fun and the story could compete with any big budget Hollywood blockbuster (and yes it is a little far fetched like so Yes this game was one of the most hyped games of the year and because of this even though i was looking forward to it i didn't expect too much. Let me now tell you that even with the hype this game deserves every bit of it and more. Each level is epic and absolutely fun and the story could compete with any big budget Hollywood blockbuster (and yes it is a little far fetched like so many Hollywood movies but then that's what makes it so fun). The graphics are about as good as the last game but i found that there seemed to be a lot more enemies on the screen at once and the A.I. also seemed to be better (not that they were bad in the last game) which in my book is a good thing. My only issue that i had and which i had with the last game was that the single player is just too short. I completed it in just over 7 hours which i felt was way to short especially as i was having so much fun. Thankfully they haven't completely abondened single players as we now have the Spec-Ops missions which are basically short-goal-based campains where the gamer has to complete each missions goals to gain a star and as the gain more stars they can open up further Spec-Op missions. This is a great idea and is really fun - i've spent almost as much time in the Spec-Ops missions as i have in the main mission so far. All in all Modern Warfare 2 deserves all the hype (luckilly for them) as its a fantastic and epic game with each and every level being hugely fun. I haven't tried multiplayer yet but i'm sure it will be great as the first MW was extremely fun online. A game every body should own and something other developers of games should look at - this is what we want something epic, with a grerat story line that is not watered down and with gameply that is so fun you never want it to end. Hopefully they keep on adding more single player missions and different campains (and a longer single player story please). This is a must buy game. Expand
  74. Aug 22, 2010
    8
    Modern warfare 2 is the sequel to modern warfare. This game has great campaign, it may not be long but i've played it at least 5 times. It has a great story that continues from the original modern warfare. How ever the multiplayer is fun but it does have some problems. Guns are over powered, kill streaks are cool but still over powered, some perks are annoying including commando where youModern warfare 2 is the sequel to modern warfare. This game has great campaign, it may not be long but i've played it at least 5 times. It has a great story that continues from the original modern warfare. How ever the multiplayer is fun but it does have some problems. Guns are over powered, kill streaks are cool but still over powered, some perks are annoying including commando where you can knife a guy 10 feet infront of you and scavenger where an annoying noob toober never runs out of ammo. Because the guns are so over powered there are a lot of campers in this game. Still over all it is a fun multiplayer. If you don't care about multiplayer then this is your kind of game, but if you do i would go with halo or battlefield. Still this game is incredibly fun i give it an 8.5 out of 10 Expand
  75. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed CODMW2. It has got great graphics and a nice gameplay. The shooting mechanics are awesome. it feels like you are totally immersed in the game and wished it had some more hours of fun, unfortunately, the game is quite short. All in all, it's a great game you'll probably enjoy
  76. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    MW2 is a really good game if you look at the statistics (which are probably hacked lol) but although the campaign is legendary and the graphics are good and standard fps gameplay in the works, you can't help but hate the game when it comes to multiplayer as the community sucks as des all the hacks and glitches not to mention that the game modes could be so much better as you play this moreMW2 is a really good game if you look at the statistics (which are probably hacked lol) but although the campaign is legendary and the graphics are good and standard fps gameplay in the works, you can't help but hate the game when it comes to multiplayer as the community sucks as des all the hacks and glitches not to mention that the game modes could be so much better as you play this more and more you will realise that it doesn't feel smooth as their servers are the worst and once you prestige once you will also notice that prestiging is a cheap gimmick to make people play it longer but what's the point i ask you when a little kid can hack it in less than a minute and what do IW do nothing. The only thing that makes this game decent is its campaign and the fact that everyone in te world plays it for some reason Expand
  77. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I expected this game to get a lot of negative user reviews. It's an amazing game. The problem is that Modern Warfare 2 is cleverly designed to be an addicting experience. It's like amphetamines. People try it, love it, but as they keep playing it they need more and more to satisfy themselves. People played an obscene amount of it. It's amazing that people played it so much before getting tired of it. The problem is that the people are too stupid to realize that they are just tired of it, and start turning hostile towards the game. If it weren't such an addicting experience, people would get tired of it faster and eventually come back to it and get tired of it again in a comfortable cycle. Instead, they have played it madly every free second of their lives for months on end until they absolutely hate it. Yet they still play it. With that said, I would like to say that it's only logical to acknowledge that the game is extremely well crafted. You can't really go wrong when you have two developers constantly improving and building on such an extensive series. The multiplayer is very fun, although gets a little too hectic and dynamic at times. A lot of things are packed together, jets and helicopters and bombers simultaneously at work. I still find this game to be one of the two best multiplayer experiences one can find in an fps game. As for the campaign, it was awesome. It was a little less believable and a little more hollywoodish than the previous games, but in that actually draws more emotion from the player. It's happy ending brings a certain fact to attention: This game is less a work of art and more a carefully crafted machine picking all the most efficient routes to please the gamer. It wouldn't take the chance of having a less happy ending, it answered to many demands from the cod4 players, and overall seems to be a more superficial game than others. Expand
  78. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Un juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se comanUn juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se coman una mierda. Expand
  79. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Best game of the decade don't get ahead of yourself.
    i played this game for probably going on 2 days completing the campaign and spec ops missions on veteran (got 1000 gamerscore)played multiplayer for a day. check gamertag Akiba22 i had owned call of duty 3 and modern warfare 1 before buying this COD3 was a good game with probably the atmosphere and large fights being its best draw, but
    Best game of the decade don't get ahead of yourself.
    i played this game for probably going on 2 days completing the campaign and spec ops missions on veteran (got 1000 gamerscore)played multiplayer for a day. check gamertag Akiba22 i had owned call of duty 3 and modern warfare 1 before buying this COD3 was a good game with probably the atmosphere and large fights being its best draw, but mw blew it away in terms of gameplay.

    The Single player in this game was o.k lets face it no one really cares about the single player on this game all that much look ithe millions of peoples gamercards who haven't even completed the first level that lasts 5 minutes. But it was one of the easiest to date due to no more infinite respawns for the enemies YAY. But don't get the impression its an easy game,you will get frustrated quickly and frequently but thats not really the games problem. its really short however (about 5 hours) and even though theres some very big battles, mainly when playing the american army campaign sections it never really feels that way. I also didn't notice much music going on. The AI is pretty good on this game it has the odd moments where it turns clairvoyent but its human enough and no more endless waves of frag grenades THANK CHRIST. Your allies AI however they have there moments well they'll save your ass but then theres moments when you swear they're taking a piss while your fighting for your life you never notice them.The voice acting is very good they actually sound like there under fire rather than in a recording booth. The graphics though aren't very good and theres no impressive scenery like in other games which makes you stop and say "jesus look at that"

    The spec op missions are fun but they're pretty easy i complete all of them except 5 by myself and the categories they're listed in difficulty aren't right as one mission in charlie class??? not sure requires you to survive waves enemy easily the hardest mission.(what a short summary)

    Multiplayer
    Probably the most full featured game in history in terms of customising yourself and your loadouts and in general really impressive, extremely addictive and enjoyable but is it perfect? no way. A number of parts of this game should be changer mainly to do with certain weapons.YOU KNOW WHICH GUNS. Dual rangers that right, you can DUAL WIELD TWO GODDAMN SHOTGUNS who thought in the offices when making this game "this is a great idea not cheap, unrealistic and extremly annoying at all" Also the AA shotgun what a cheap piece of **** anybody who use these guns is a **** The order you obtain these guns is also pretty poorly thought out. Case in point the barrett 50 cal rifle. A one hit kill gun (If used on the upper body) thats supposed to be used on jeeps they seriously don't give every soldier in the American army a **** 50 cal rifle. Smgs can snipe from across the map and put a grip on an lmg and it turns into a 300 round sniper rifle.
    Another thing thats pretty cheap is the knife, goddamn the hit detection is off, the game thinks the knife has the length of a samurai sword.
    The maps in general are great except one of them, Rust (I'm speechless to how bad that map is)
    the kill streaks are really good and choosing the right ones is often the difference beetween getting 10 kills or 20 .

    This was a great game i personally thought they went to over the top with a few stupid additions (some listed above but i can only put in 5000 characters)which made me prefer the first one. Though a great game its not the best shooting game of the decade neithers halo 3. (for me gears of war 1 or perfect dark on the n64, maybe halo 2)its not an amazing game but its definelty pretty good.its another reason of how overhyping can make people disbelieve.
    Expand
  80. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Game that actually has had a huge impact on me for once!! This game would be a ten if it didn't have it's noticable flaws, but nonetheless this game is one of the best games of all-time and one that I still play!!
  81. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    awesome one of the best games ever the story is great but a little bit short i got to admit that i found cod 4 kind of bad but this is just awesome everything is perfect except by online which has some hackers but that is what makes it fun now that is one of the most addicting games of all time if you dislike this game you either a halo ,bad company or half life lover
  82. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i think that this is great and should at least give it a go. 10/10
  83. May 14, 2012
    10
    Just simple awesome the campaign is so so so so so good
  84. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops,By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops, this is enjoyable when you do even slightly well. But when you join a laggy game and there's people with SPAS-12 and chopper gunner spawn trapping you on Scrapyard, feel free to dashboard and break the disc. As an experience this game beats all other shooters. But the enjoyment is short-lived. The only thing that kept me playing for 14 days online is playing with people I know rather than on my own. When you're in a team, it's fine. Otherwise it's just frustrating. The same goes for Spec Ops. While it is very well done, the experience is greatly enhanced when played co-operatively. The campaign is good but not one of my favourites. Spec Ops is a better rendition of the campaign. Overall, this is an extremely fun and immersive shooter, but it's not the one I'd happy to spend playing much on my own. Expand
  85. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    There is something perfectly special when it comes to the Multiplayer of Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. The Singleplayer ist good though.
  86. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in theModern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in the Modern Warfare series. Spec Ops was a whole different issue... The producers apparently didn't know that two US Army Rangers cannot take down the whole Russian SWAT Force. (Me and friends laughed for days over their stupidity.) Most of the missions were overrated, but more than that: all of the missions were edited from the main story line and then put in like they were gonna be speechlessly better, a BIG fail on the producers part.

    Another reason I got this game was for the multiplayer. I tried to have fun with it, but when you find out just how bad the anti-cheat system is for Xbox LIVE you will go nuts. A casual, everyday multiplayer match goes as the following: Spawn, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, sprint, knife, knife, throw a grenade through a random window, knife, and so on. Activision didn't focus on making the multiplayer combat realistic, it's too fast, too confusing, and overall just plain annoying. Quick-scoping, no-scoping, random "noob-tubes" were very annoying, and didn't keep the multiplayer action enjoyable for me.

    Overall, I think Activision got themselves a hobby of making sloppy games, only suitable for retards who want to cuss each other out on Xbox live day in and day out. (Not to mention all of the **** who like it too. LOL)
    Expand
  87. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    While it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it justWhile it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it just wasn't suppoted after release the glitches and the hackers Expand
  88. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with in my opinion the best Call of Duty villain in the whole series to be found in Vladimir Makarov. Also I like the way the ending of COD 4 causes severe problems for the protagonists in this game. Whilst the setpieces can get a little too IN YOUR FACE!!! it doesn't get as bad as later instalments. Also there are some great twists which I didn't see coming. This game also has a lot of commentary on wars and opposing philosophies as well as showing what effects the loss of soldiers can have of commanders. It's also a shame that the sequel really doesn't have much payoff for the ending of this game (But that's another review). However a couple of things don't really make sense in this game's campaign but I can suspend my disbelief.
    Finally multiplayer is really fun and balanced and Spec Ops adds an interesting couple of missions in.
    In conclusion whilst not reaching the perfection of COD 4 this game is still really good and definitely gets a recommendation.
    Expand
  89. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    Game is more visually gratifying than it's predecessor with special ops inclusion being a real plus, I am playing the game almost 5 years after release and still managed to rustle up multiplayer games with ease.
    I found the campaign more compelling than the first game probably simply for the fact that the story-line progresses on from there in a much more interesting and less cliche way
    Game is more visually gratifying than it's predecessor with special ops inclusion being a real plus, I am playing the game almost 5 years after release and still managed to rustle up multiplayer games with ease.
    I found the campaign more compelling than the first game probably simply for the fact that the story-line progresses on from there in a much more interesting and less cliche way blurring the lines between the heroes and the villains. Thoroughly enjoyed this game.
    Expand
  90. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. The last game made by the old IW, before they were fired. Truly an excellent game. The best Call of Duty, bar none, and the last truly amazing game. Rediculous fun can be had. Noobtubes can be a problem, but they don't damper the experience enough. If it was released for next gen, I'd by it in a heartbeat.
  91. FrankyF
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Haters playing on PC get out of here please, this is the X360 version stop lowering the score!
  92. CraigJ
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and extremely addictive. As most players have experienced in games there are a few glitches and the maps need to be a little more random, im sick of the same map 2-3 times in row but hey nothings perfect. Expand
  93. AlexG
    Mar 2, 2010
    8
    This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far beyond call of duty's little enclosed unimaginative and quite boring maps. That said I still think call of duty deserves an 8 because it does have one of the most polished multiplayer expiriences ever. Expand
  94. DanielB
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part all the people were complaining about how if you cant see a person your ****ed, this is called flanking... which ads stratagy to the game...the sound is pretty amazing.. all the guns sound super realistic. overall a pretty good game. good gamplay.. allthough a lack of plot really drags the game game from a 9 to an 8.. Expand
  95. CurtB
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    Look I understand that people are upset about the length of the campaign but that is not the whole game between replay value, spec ops which is amazing and the addicting multiplayer which they managed to make even better. People are giving the game a zero for the single player which is only a third of the game and no matter how short and rediculous it is still fun. Every moment is Look I understand that people are upset about the length of the campaign but that is not the whole game between replay value, spec ops which is amazing and the addicting multiplayer which they managed to make even better. People are giving the game a zero for the single player which is only a third of the game and no matter how short and rediculous it is still fun. Every moment is non-stop holy s*** moments and innovative new ways to spice up gameplay. If it was any longer than my time would be wasted on wandering through another small russian town or a wartorn middle eastern city and than you would be complaining about that. Now spec-ops which everyone seems to be overlooking is awesome bits of purified gameplay that you can beat in five minutes and are great to tackle with a friend and work on for hours trying to get that last star on veteran. The multiplayer will be played for years to come and has been innovated enough to make it seem fresh yet warmly familiar. When this game was announced I couldn't think of any ways they could possibly innovate the multiplayer and even though you will probably stick with the same three kill streaks once you find a winning combination through all of your prestiges thay are still a fun change of pace after two years of repetedly hearing UAV is online. There are still some balancing issues bet the ones from the first game have for the most part been fixed you will still find yourself rage quitting after your almost nuke 24 kill streak is ended by a predator missle or spam grenade. That dosn't stop this game from being incredibally awesome. Buy it. There will always be someone online to play with and you are missing out if you listen to the 0 scores. Expand
  96. MarkF
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    At launch I would have given it a 6. Short campaign, Spec Op is fun, but gets hard fast. Multiplayer was full of glitches, and people who exploit said glitches. Finally Microsoft and IF have starting fixing things, by banning people who glitch and fixed some unbalanced weapons, perks, etc. People should stop complaining about mutiplayer, and just ignore them. It's fun, if you At launch I would have given it a 6. Short campaign, Spec Op is fun, but gets hard fast. Multiplayer was full of glitches, and people who exploit said glitches. Finally Microsoft and IF have starting fixing things, by banning people who glitch and fixed some unbalanced weapons, perks, etc. People should stop complaining about mutiplayer, and just ignore them. It's fun, if you don't like it leave, or return the game. Expand
  97. RiFfD
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Story-10 SpecialOps-10 Multiplayer-10. Looks like its an easy choice for me.
  98. DerrikT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    Most of the reviews of this game piss me off. They're either about people complaining about the multiplayer or campaign, or sounding like Infinity Ward has the finger of God or something and calling it the best FPS of all time. I have two words and I suppose a number for you. System Shock 2. In my opinion, it's a good game. Sure the story is a little far-fetched, but it's Most of the reviews of this game piss me off. They're either about people complaining about the multiplayer or campaign, or sounding like Infinity Ward has the finger of God or something and calling it the best FPS of all time. I have two words and I suppose a number for you. System Shock 2. In my opinion, it's a good game. Sure the story is a little far-fetched, but it's better to have a game with good gameplay and a crappy story than vice versa. Spec Ops is probably the best part of the game. It's fun with a friend, and the whole re-hashed missions thing doesn't bother me. Do you seriously expect them to make all new missions and maps just for Spec Ops? Might as well make a new game then. I'm indifferent about the multiplayer. Some elements about it I like, such as customizable killstreaks and new weapon attachments. But the fact that the maps are made for camping and that Marathon, Lightweight, and Commando make it so easy for people to just run around and knife is a little depressing. CoD4 kept you moving all the time. Stopping occasionally behind cover to see what's going on. If you try that in MW2, someone runs up behind you and knifes you or you get hit by a Predator missile. Overall the game is good. It's not the best, but it's a lot better than most of the stuff on the market today. Expand
  99. MikeyJ.
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    This game is very fun, but it still has problems. The overall gameplay/controls, sound, graphics, and presentation (and so on) but Infinity Ward left alot of holes in the final product (that you'd think they would have the resources to fix after cod4 alone sold 12 million copies roughly). The Campaign is good, but far too short, and can be done in roughly 5-8 hours the first time This game is very fun, but it still has problems. The overall gameplay/controls, sound, graphics, and presentation (and so on) but Infinity Ward left alot of holes in the final product (that you'd think they would have the resources to fix after cod4 alone sold 12 million copies roughly). The Campaign is good, but far too short, and can be done in roughly 5-8 hours the first time through, and much less in further attempts, and seeing how the game puts the player on a very fixed path: the game's single player replay value takes a hit. the storyline is also confusing, although someone who is willing to pay close attention to it or theorize their way through some of the plot holes can make sense of it, it falls below the standards of other popular titles. the spec-ops mode however, which can be done in co-op as well as in single player, is a massive extension on the game's replayability, and works very well, throwing you in various mini missions of diverse tasks, enviroments, and difficulties (my personal favorite mode). then theres the multiplayer, although heavily praised, its in reality very, very unbalanced. weapons are either useless or overpowered in many cases, the M1887 shotguns being a prime example of overpowered, just ask anyone who's played the game, and as soon as somone gets a killstreak they're given masses of high powered equipment/helicopters/airstrikes/drones/etc that can make life very difficult for those who have not been fortunate to get a killstreak first. alot of the game's smaller issues get to me too: how are weapons like the FAMAS, FAL and F2000 (among many others) that are used by european armies in the hands of russian soldiers when the russians use exclusively russian manufactured weapons for their military? why is the vector which uses .45 ammunition one of the weakest SMGs when in fact it should be among the most powerful? why did the game not feature co-op with up to 4 players in it's campaign mode when its predecessor, cod5, did (and why only 2 for special ops)? as mentioned at the beginning of the review, this game has problems, but it is still quite fun to play, however, it does not keep up with the standards set by MW1, and that has me a little dissapointed in IW. Expand
  100. DerkM
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only real problems with this game are the lagging (which will be a problem with in online multiplayer game so it doesn't bother me), and the fact that the campaign is short, which only sets up for more games. This is pretty much as close to perfect as you can get!!! Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.