User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2565 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are manyIt's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Modern Warfare 2 is a very well-made game, but it's only as fun as the people you play with. Also, even though Spec Ops is fun for a little while, the campaign has its fair share of weak moments, and the story frequently doesn't make sense. Black Ops is probably better.
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Everything about it sucks pretty badly, but I wish I could submit a review for the story separate from the multiplayer because under the globs of crap that is this game is a grade A action story that Michael Bay would be upset over not getting to adapt to film. Sadly the multiplayer is unbearable and filled with cheap ten year olds that would rather stay at home and develop either someEverything about it sucks pretty badly, but I wish I could submit a review for the story separate from the multiplayer because under the globs of crap that is this game is a grade A action story that Michael Bay would be upset over not getting to adapt to film. Sadly the multiplayer is unbearable and filled with cheap ten year olds that would rather stay at home and develop either some form of dementia from sitting too close to the television or autism; I can't tell which.

    5 out of 10
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great bad-ass game that, even though it doesn't really innovate the series or the genre, but it is driven by a great and polemic, worst-case scenario plot. It also has a very short campaign and at times you get bored just shooting at Russians and makes you wonder what the level designers were doing or if they were doing anything at all. But I almost didn't notice because the writers did such a good job I just wanted to know what was gonna happen next. The controls are easy-flowing, the action is great, and the characters are awesome which is why I think this game is at the same level of the first game. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    MW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you thatMW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you that much of the setting is far more domestic then in the first game. Prepare for shock and awe as what you never thought could ever happen happens. The gameplay is virtually unchanged from that of the first game. There are some new abilities like tactical missiles, but that's about it. Multiplayer is much the same in this regard. There are some new variants and playlists, but not much that different to speak of. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and definitely recommend it to all shooter gamers. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    Wow, 131 Battlefield fan boys. The single player was pretty awesome. I great sequel to the first. Not as long as I wanted it, but it was very good and fun to play. They got rid of infinite spawning enemies. Spec Ops was pretty fun too. I had a blast playing with my friends, trying to beat the levels. Multiplayer, despite having many unbalancing things, was excellent. The gameplay and feelWow, 131 Battlefield fan boys. The single player was pretty awesome. I great sequel to the first. Not as long as I wanted it, but it was very good and fun to play. They got rid of infinite spawning enemies. Spec Ops was pretty fun too. I had a blast playing with my friends, trying to beat the levels. Multiplayer, despite having many unbalancing things, was excellent. The gameplay and feel of the controls were the best I've ever seen in a shooter. Pretty good graphics too. There are some pretty dumb perks that unbalance the game, as well as some killstreaks. A big problem is the stacking killstreaks. Thankfully they gave us a Barebones playlist, which strip killstreaks. Overall, this game was great, despite the annoying stuff. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    Campaign is breathlessly paced but it really is all about the spectacle. The lack of story and coherency hurts the experience. The Spec Ops are great fun with a friend and the wide variety of missions gives it plenty of lasting appeal. Multiplayer is too easy, however. I dislike how frequent players are rewarded with better guns and abilities, making it even harder for new players to standCampaign is breathlessly paced but it really is all about the spectacle. The lack of story and coherency hurts the experience. The Spec Ops are great fun with a friend and the wide variety of missions gives it plenty of lasting appeal. Multiplayer is too easy, however. I dislike how frequent players are rewarded with better guns and abilities, making it even harder for new players to stand a chance. This is a feature in many online FPS's but it is most prominent in MW2. Overall it's a good game. Expand
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has it's share of problems, but that does not make the game bad. The single player is great, although it is quite short. The spec ops mode is entertaining, but I wouldn't keep playing it (In my opinion, it gets boring quite fast.) The multiplayer is the biggest part of the game. It features a large player-base, and good customization. The online doesCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has it's share of problems, but that does not make the game bad. The single player is great, although it is quite short. The spec ops mode is entertaining, but I wouldn't keep playing it (In my opinion, it gets boring quite fast.) The multiplayer is the biggest part of the game. It features a large player-base, and good customization. The online does have it's problems, such as overpowered weapons, and lag. It is also quite unrealistic. Overall, the game is good, not great, but good. Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Modern Warfare 2 is a puzzling game. On the one hand, it has refreshing locations and a great multiplayer and co-op option. On the other hand, the campaign was hilariously ridiculous and the DLC support was extortionate. I had fun with MW2 multiplayer, the gun selection is fantastic and the new killstreaks are great, but it's nice to get away from them now and again in the Barebones lobby.Modern Warfare 2 is a puzzling game. On the one hand, it has refreshing locations and a great multiplayer and co-op option. On the other hand, the campaign was hilariously ridiculous and the DLC support was extortionate. I had fun with MW2 multiplayer, the gun selection is fantastic and the new killstreaks are great, but it's nice to get away from them now and again in the Barebones lobby. Spec-Ops is a nice little addition, but it's essentially just short missions to complete with one friend and in my opinion doesn't match the fun I got out of zombies on World at War. It is fun to use weapons being used in modern combat today, and the frenetic nature of the multiplayer is addictive, but sometimes frustrating. The campaign is borderline insane, in plot, but it is fun. It's on the short side and quite easy to beat even on Veteran, but some of the set-pieces are very memorable. My score is positive overall, 3/5, and I would recommend anyone who hasn't had a go yet pick it up cheap and dive in. Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    Said to be the World's most anticipated Entertainment of our time. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 is game from Infinity Ward with an updated fludity then Call of Duty 4. The campaign is very short and seems like the process is being rushed, in both good and bad ways. The multiplayer is one of the most addictive experience hands down but can severe alot due to imbalance issues. This is mostSaid to be the World's most anticipated Entertainment of our time. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 is game from Infinity Ward with an updated fludity then Call of Duty 4. The campaign is very short and seems like the process is being rushed, in both good and bad ways. The multiplayer is one of the most addictive experience hands down but can severe alot due to imbalance issues. This is most likely due to the reason that most guns kill in 2-3 shots. I give this game 7/10 but hope that they can learn from the dozens of mistake they have made and fix it in Modern Warfare 3. Expand
  11. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX 360 controller than this game. Shooting a gun is so fun it's unreal. pick any gun up in this game and you will have fun shooting it no matter what. The multiplayer is great and balanced but does need some fixing in some areas. Throughout your multiplayer expierience, you will see many different guns because all guns have some pros and cons. There are about 6 different attachments for each primary weapon and about 8 or more camos for each primary weapon. You can earn a TON of challenges that will take you 20 hours of gameplay to achieve all of them. Even after that, you can still have fun and prestige. This game has almost endless replay value. The single player is short but sweet. I got through it in 4 hours on Recruit, 5 hours on Regular, 6 hours on Hardened, and 8 hours on Veteran. Even after that, there is co-op in which you can play solo or with another player online or split-screen. That takes maybe 6 or 7 hours to complete on Regular, and 10 hours to earn all stars. The gameplay is a 10.0
    Presentation: The in-game music never gets old and I say that after playing this game for 2 years. The menu navigation is swift and convenient, and the color scheme is great but simple. Not much else to say, 10.0
    Graphics: This game has smooth visuals and amazing lighting effects. The multiplayer maps have been worked on for hours and it's evident because the visuals are top-notch even out of the map. Single player is even better and there are no bugs or gaps in the graphics at all. The graphics are a 10.0
    Expand
  12. DME
    Jun 9, 2011
    8
    It's shocking to see so many unfair, negative reviews. Most people seem to base their reviews only on the online multiplayer. While important, it isn't everything. Modern Warfare 2 delivered a pretty good campaign. It's a bit linear and the story is full of holes, but the action is non-stop and there is plenty of variety. The Special Ops mode is the sweetest part of the whole package.It's shocking to see so many unfair, negative reviews. Most people seem to base their reviews only on the online multiplayer. While important, it isn't everything. Modern Warfare 2 delivered a pretty good campaign. It's a bit linear and the story is full of holes, but the action is non-stop and there is plenty of variety. The Special Ops mode is the sweetest part of the whole package. While a bit dull by yourself, it's great fun with a friend or sibling. Then there's the online multiplayer. Everything you love about Call fo Duty is there: Prestiging, upgrades, attatchments, killstreaks, etc... But for some reason I hated MW2 multiplayer. The maps are designed decently well and graphics are very nice, but it's the balance and overall gameplay that seriously sunk my opinion towards it. So, the campaign gets 8/10. Special Ops gets a 9/10. Multiplayer gets a 6/10. Expand
  13. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    This is the worst **** I have ever played! Full of bugs, graphics in this game are like it was relased in 2004! Textures of weapons are like made by stupid yeti. Everyone compares it to Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Why, I am asking? If I would compare both of them, I'd say: Bad Company has the destruction, physics, maps are 10x bigger, you need to use brain when you are playing. I don'tThis is the worst **** I have ever played! Full of bugs, graphics in this game are like it was relased in 2004! Textures of weapons are like made by stupid yeti. Everyone compares it to Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Why, I am asking? If I would compare both of them, I'd say: Bad Company has the destruction, physics, maps are 10x bigger, you need to use brain when you are playing. I don't see any positive arguments to buy this game. You can just borrow it from your friend. And I don't know, why the reviewers gave 100 to this game! Oh, sorry! Not a game, a piece of **** Ok, so now I'm going to say good things about this game: when you kill a person in multiplayer, you feel badass, killstreaks are good point and weapon customization. Think about, before you buy this game... Expand
  14. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    This games campaign is too short. I mean that the levels on the campaign is good, but very short. And in the online there are too many glitches. It´s too overrated. So mine review is kinda negative.
  15. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0 you people and people like you are the reason why User Scores can't be taken with a grain of salt games should be reviewed by graphics, content, controls, and game play. Your review of this game and any other shouldn't even exist because of the sheer ignorance of the creator of them. All the Critics review are all positive so I'm wondering what's wrong you guys. Expand
  16. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    The gameplay IS fun, but it couldn't distract me from the all-too-expansive story. COD4's charm was in playing as an unknown operative on a small but crucial stealth/action mission. MW2's story expands to a global scale and is mostly heavy action that the player follows rather than controls. And the story is criminally short to boot, weighing in at a pathetic 6 hours of gameplay time.
  17. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Best Call of Duty game in the franchise!!! At least this is better than the stupid Call of Duty Black Ops . The fun thing about this game is the multiplayer and Spec Ops which is very addicting. The Campaign is really fun too 10/10.
  18. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game of the decade. The game's deep storyline, which captivates the very thought of the games capacity to generate fun which is in fact endless, is quite different to many other games. It is a mixture of emotions of anger, happiness, revenge and sadness. From the start where you put on a show for a few newcomers, to the end when you save Captain Price,Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game of the decade. The game's deep storyline, which captivates the very thought of the games capacity to generate fun which is in fact endless, is quite different to many other games. It is a mixture of emotions of anger, happiness, revenge and sadness. From the start where you put on a show for a few newcomers, to the end when you save Captain Price, the game is captivating. I believe that this game has the potential to wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition Every single second of campaign had me demanding for the next. The Multiplayer is just revolutionary. It brings a whole new meaning to the word 'multiplayer'. Modes such as Free-For-All and Team Death match, will leave you sitting in front of the television for hours together. Special Ops however was the downfall for the whole game. It to mix up both the multi-pIayer and campaign game modes but, inevitably failed. It still was fun though.

    I believe that this game can overpower any other game that will challenge it. it will wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition that they are in. After that, the other video game companies will stop releasing good-for-nothing games and start thinking of games that we actually want, not games that will just make them money. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has the potential to do so.
    Expand
  19. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Once you start playing this game online, its hard to play any other, you feel at home when you pick up the controller and barge into the familiar maps, using your custom made classes and skins on your guns, this trilogy has created millions of fan-boys like myself that find this game one of the most entertaining on the market, (except for portal 2)
  20. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After finishing this game, including a sad yet accomplished tenth prestige, I feel that I am in a position to properly review this game - much unlike most others who simply give a review of the multiplayer and ignore al other aspects of the game. One of the comments on the page that claims to discover large plot 'holes', however these are only holes in their intellect as they were unable to grasp the high octane storyline. The only hole - and a slight one at that is (Spoiler Alert) when the prisoner is broken out of the Gulag to use as bait for Makarov as he is the only one who will turn Makarov's head turns out to be Price. This is incorrect as Price did not kill Imran Zakhaev - Soap did in Modern Warfare one. Besides this small plot hole the single player is fun and enjoyable although is slightly short, but this is only if you play it on easy and run through the levels whilst not paying proper attention to the story. The special ops section of the game is a new feature to the series of games and is thoroughly enjoyable with a sense of achievement after completing them. However, I believe that the game comes into its own light during multiplayer. Despite clear faults the game was released early - Activision wanted it pushed through where Infinity Ward wanted more time to complete the game fully - and had plenty of bugs that players were able to exploit to get easy kills. The killsteaks are innovative and although there may well be other games that introduced this first but they are on a different level to other games. The tactical nuke - annoying for those who are simply not good at the game and fun for those who are tactical about their play or who work as a team - is a great feature that I enjoy trying to achieve. The perks online can also be frustrating - commando is a normally hated perk but if the player uses this I dont see a problem as they may find your perks as annoying as they are all beneficial to the individual. The spawning system may well be a pain but how is it you would like it to be changed? Being a programmer I understand the difficulty of creating such a system and no matter what way you create it, there will always be people complaining about it. Overall I would say that this is simply one of the best shooter games ever created and although many people find its flaws, look at the critic reviews, not all of them can be wrong can they? Expand
  21. Aug 21, 2011
    6
    single player has a few cool moments but for the most part it was just a shooting gallery, multiplayer was fun for like a year and a half and now its boring, this rating represents how well the game has withstood the test of time, like all classic games should.
  22. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    After 2 years this came out I'm still playing the online as I did 2 years ago. Glitches/bugs are in every game, in this one they are just a minunum part. I love this game.
  23. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! Expand
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    It's probably the best Call of Duty game yet, tops the first Modern Warfare in every way. Even though multiplayer seems to be where it's at for everyone, I however very much enjoyed its single player campaign the most. It's a highly entertaining epic war-field. Loved it.
  25. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    A bit late of a review, but I haven't exactly had it for ages and have been playing it I guess for the past year. So a lot of the bugs/glitches should have been gone but not everything is "Great" even with the patches. So let us begin with the single-player! If I had to say it's definitely linear but I actually really enjoyed it. Within the first few missions there are cinematic partsA bit late of a review, but I haven't exactly had it for ages and have been playing it I guess for the past year. So a lot of the bugs/glitches should have been gone but not everything is "Great" even with the patches. So let us begin with the single-player! If I had to say it's definitely linear but I actually really enjoyed it. Within the first few missions there are cinematic parts which are "Awesome", and the AI is al-right. The only downside to it is the linearities on where you can go (you can't really flank any of the enemies). Moving onto Co-op, i found that fantastic. Just playing that with a mate and trying to get all 69 stars (managed to get them all) was extremely challenging but that was the whole point on veteran. A lot of teamwork actually needed to get past certain parts of the co-op missions. Now the multi-player is the main area in this game though. Initially I'd have to say it's pretty much a great on-line experience but not without it's faults. One of the main gripes is actually trying to pick the right host. Many times it picked the worst host and you actually lagged out of the game. Also kill streak continuation is a pretty bad idea, as it often led to kill streak after kill streak after kill streak. Quick-scoping is also an immensely annoying part of the experience too. Sure it's not meant to be realistic but using a sniper as a shotgun or even a assault rifle (M1EBER or the last sniper you get with ACOG) is ridiculous. It's supposed to be used for long range not every single range! Apart from them minor hindrances the multi-player is actually a great experience! (Minus the Nuke!). So overall it gets a solid 8 from me, but there are a few problems which are still in the game for me and will probably never get solved with the inevitable release of Modern Warfare 3 in 2-3 weeks. Expand
  26. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Ah, Modern Warfare 2. Possibly the most controversial game of the century so far, at least among the gaming community. There is a lot of hate on this game, which is sad. The majority of hate is directed towards problems that developers Infinity Ward couldn't fix right away. The community expected more, which was unfair and now these reviews are clogged with haters. But I'll do my best toAh, Modern Warfare 2. Possibly the most controversial game of the century so far, at least among the gaming community. There is a lot of hate on this game, which is sad. The majority of hate is directed towards problems that developers Infinity Ward couldn't fix right away. The community expected more, which was unfair and now these reviews are clogged with haters. But I'll do my best to review fairly.

    The MW2 campaign is stunning. It was the first time in my gaming life that I have been open mouthed. I was blown away by the graphics and by the scope of the story, which went further than any previous CoD game before it. Sure, the graphics are no longer top dog now that games such as Uncharted 3 and Battlefield 3 are on the doorstep. But I always say that graphics don't make a game great, the game makes the game great. The story does suffer from cliche (Russians are the bad guys in every shooter these days) and yet does some new things that really impress you. There are moments too good to spoil here that Infinity Ward did excellently. The plot manages to be focused on the characters and the wider story, which many games have crumbled under. In short, the single player for this game is stunning. 10/10, no questions asked.

    But the multiplayer disappoints. It has become infested with glitches, hackers and mods that have decimated the loyalty of the community and have seen CoD's popularity become sliced in half. Many weapons and abilities in the game are heavily overpowered and overused such as grenade launchers and various killstreaks. Infinity Ward appear to have become the victims of their own success, bringing forth too many new ideas thinking that the community will love them all. The multiplayer is difficult to withstand and brings this game down to a 7/10.
    Expand
  27. Nov 1, 2011
    4
    The singleplayer is the star in this game because the multiplayer is absolute garbage. Which blows because you can see that the single player takes back seat to the abortion that really could have been a fun thing.
  28. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    *UPDATED REVIEW* Though it may be better than its predecessor (Modern Warfare) and provide more exciting and impressive action sequences. It is ruined by it's poor narrative stills and repetitive gameplay.
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Campaign was intense and very epic even if it was a bit short. Multiplayer was a mind-blowing experience.Spec Ops was awesome, The variety of missions from stealth missions to time trials are absolutely amazing. The graphics are very realistic and very awesome Amazing Game
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    In a few ways this game advances the series, but in other areas it feels like a step back. The story mode is disjointed at times and the multiplayer mode suffers from some immense balance issues. Overall a great game despite lacking the charm that the previous installment had.
  31. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    huh oops i'm sorry, i thought this was mw3, my apologies...same yearly infested piece of **** with no oblivious changes to it all, you do your thing activision :).
  32. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    Call of Duty is one of the most successful franchises in all media. It isn't as good as its fanboys say it is, nor is it as bad as it's haters say it is. Modern Warfare 2 is the 3rd most hyped game of all time after Modern Warfare 3 and Black Ops and for good reason. It is a fast paced, fun shooter... at least when it comes to the multiplayer. Ever since 2007's Modern Warfare multiplayerCall of Duty is one of the most successful franchises in all media. It isn't as good as its fanboys say it is, nor is it as bad as it's haters say it is. Modern Warfare 2 is the 3rd most hyped game of all time after Modern Warfare 3 and Black Ops and for good reason. It is a fast paced, fun shooter... at least when it comes to the multiplayer. Ever since 2007's Modern Warfare multiplayer has been the focus of the COD franchise with story and the campaign in general taking a back seat to the addictive online multiplayer. MW2 is no different . The story is nonsensical and generally doesn't make much sense but the campaign is still fun and has plenty of good setpieces. The spec ops mode is also fairly good and offers some really good, but short, co-op missions. The multiplayer is where it's at in MW2 though. It's highly addictive and has some really good maps. The prestige feature adds some longevity to the multiplayer as you can reset your unlocks after reaching the level cap of 70. The multiplayer has some obvious balancing issues as some guns are clearly more powerful then others but all is forgiven as no one plays it anymore no that MW3 is out. Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Overated piece of crap. Aracdy as hell and not even fun. Buy only if you are a series cod fanboy. Idk what else to say................................................................................
  34. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a step up from the original in every way, and given MW1 was a sexy fps beast, that really is saying something. The graphics have become much sleeker and maintain a certain sheen absent from previous Call of Duty games, gameplay has become a much smoother experience, and the new maps, weapons and slightly re-worked perks in multiplayer give the game a heightened sense ofModern Warfare 2 is a step up from the original in every way, and given MW1 was a sexy fps beast, that really is saying something. The graphics have become much sleeker and maintain a certain sheen absent from previous Call of Duty games, gameplay has become a much smoother experience, and the new maps, weapons and slightly re-worked perks in multiplayer give the game a heightened sense of balance. The campaign is hard to put up compared to MW1, but aside from that, the best in the series, with several F^CK YEAH! moments and more than enough heart-tugging, emotional surprises, a reunion with a lost friend and the death of two others, plot-wise, still brilliant, Infinity Ward's writing is really coming into its own. Special Ops is fiendishly difficult, but in a challenging way, rather than in a "Mega Man" way (you don't feel like blowing your brains out after a half-hour of play) and will keep you and a friend coming back for months and months until you've collected all 69 (lol) stars. The Multiplayer is also an improvement, more maps, more weapons, more perks (and pro perks) and a vast array of tactics to choose from, all of which award the player in accordance with their difficulty, a Call of Duty game topped only by its sequel Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is one of my favourite multiplayer games. It love it. I had huge amounts of fun playing with my friends and what not. Did you know that I hate Call of Duty? I love Halo. But MW2 was one of my favourite games. You should also know that I gave MW3 a 0. It is nothing like MW2.
  36. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    It doesn't matter how much controversy revolves around MW2, it's still an awesome game. The short, but awesome campaign, and the really good multiplayer. Even though it has a very short singleplayer and a spec ops that fails to impress, it's still great. Such a shame it was copied and pasted two years later in what became Modern Warfare 3
  37. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    Serves us with a great story that gives a good continue on CoD4. Gives us what we missed out in WaW. personally I didn't like the quick paced multiplayer. But it still were enjoyable.
  38. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    The final true Call of Duty game. Major downsides to this software were the hacked leaderboards and countless cheaters/hackers that played. For some reason IW continues for the most part to ignore these glaring issues. Otherwise a fantastic and addictive game.
  39. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    In short, this game is an insult to the first person shooter genre of games A piss poor campaign with 2D characters, nothing really interesting or gripping about them. The campaign is also short. The multiplayer is broken and imbalanced.This is hands down, one of the worst multiplayer games I've ever played. Horribly imbalanced guns, rampant noobtubing, camping, and not to mention theIn short, this game is an insult to the first person shooter genre of games A piss poor campaign with 2D characters, nothing really interesting or gripping about them. The campaign is also short. The multiplayer is broken and imbalanced.This is hands down, one of the worst multiplayer games I've ever played. Horribly imbalanced guns, rampant noobtubing, camping, and not to mention the ridiculous knifing range, quickscoping, and the inane amount of hacking. All in all, avoid this game, unless you like going through one controller a week because of the sh*tty, piss poor gameplay. Expand
  40. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This can be interpreted as good or bad, but I finished the short but sweet campaign in nearly one day (not a continous day, I just played for around five hours that day). The multiplayer tries to bring new things but ultimately it becomes unbalanced, but theres no doubt that its a lot of fun. Highly recommended, but treat it like a Bond film, think about it and you won't like it (why doesThis can be interpreted as good or bad, but I finished the short but sweet campaign in nearly one day (not a continous day, I just played for around five hours that day). The multiplayer tries to bring new things but ultimately it becomes unbalanced, but theres no doubt that its a lot of fun. Highly recommended, but treat it like a Bond film, think about it and you won't like it (why does every faction have an arsenal of nuclear missiles?...).
    Just a word of advice however, avoid the PC version. If you have an Xbox 360/PS3 and a high-end PC, and MW2 is $100 on the Xbox 360/PS3 but $2 on the PC, I would still recommend you get the console version over the PC version.
    Expand
  41. Jan 5, 2012
    1
    i think this is the worst of the series first of all the campaign is way to short the multiplayer is decent but not great they good make it better by making it longer of a campaign
  42. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    This is mixed because The single player and spec ops were great but The Multiplayer was very very unbalanced. Grenade launchers aren't as real life grenade launchers, they are noobtubes and they are very overpowered.Theres this perk where you can knife very far and it's called commando and much more.
  43. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    this is where the series of call of duty starts to fall the campaign in this was fun but no where near as epic as call of duty 4 this also the time where the started adding unfair perks to the series because you can literally sit in a corner after you get a certain number killstreak and the game will kill things for you while you sit in the corner thinking you are good this game had badthis is where the series of call of duty starts to fall the campaign in this was fun but no where near as epic as call of duty 4 this also the time where the started adding unfair perks to the series because you can literally sit in a corner after you get a certain number killstreak and the game will kill things for you while you sit in the corner thinking you are good this game had bad maps the graphics feel worse then cod4 and the blood looks like red rain when it hits the screen (thats not a good thing) the spec ops mode is cool though they added in a mode where you have to go threw series of challenge levels but all in all this game is adequat at best Expand
  44. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played with a explosive single player and addictive multiplayer. You may hear that this game is all hype but there is a reason why it is so popular. After investing more time than I would like to mention into it and buying other shooters such as Battlefield 3 and Gears of War 3. I would still highly recommend this game.
  45. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    AWESOME game love everything that its about the story is great and the online like wow but it take long to lvl but its cool and i love quick scope and no scope when i was playing game but know Ive moved to BF3 its soooooo much better and funny and offers a lot more then any of the MW s
  46. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    The campaign and special ops were both passing decent, but the multi-player was a painfully large step back from the brilliance of the original Modern Warfare. The guns were poorly balanced, the spawning system was horribly flawed, and snipers can carry shotguns. Snipers. Can carry. Shotguns.
  47. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game and i also love quick scoping. If you play PS3 or xbox add me on PS3 I am woodley423 and on xbox i am going to be also woodley423 some time in march 2012so see you when i get it. i will also post a comment saying that i have live.
  48. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    COD 4 was terrible, and this squeal is just as bad. Sure it looks nice, but beyond that, it is one of the worst game I have ever player. There is no part of this game that is fun. Total waste of money.
  49. cfh
    Jun 28, 2012
    9
    I don't know why people are so down on this game. I mean, when the Call of Duty series first got popular when MW2 came out. I think it's a great game. Really good Campaign that was very suspenseful. The Spec Op Mission are great to, they have modified missions from the Campaign and other missions, too. Xbox Live is fun, with a variety of guns, maps, killstreaks, and modes. At the end ofI don't know why people are so down on this game. I mean, when the Call of Duty series first got popular when MW2 came out. I think it's a great game. Really good Campaign that was very suspenseful. The Spec Op Mission are great to, they have modified missions from the Campaign and other missions, too. Xbox Live is fun, with a variety of guns, maps, killstreaks, and modes. At the end of the Campaign they have a level called 'Museum' where there are a bunch of guns in glass cases and key levels from the campaign on display. If you push the button on the desk that says 'do not press' the figures will come alive and kill you. You can play co-op on Spec Ops and split screen where you kill the other person you are playing with. The co-op is not as good as Black Ops or MW3 but it is still fun. If you are thinking of buying MW3 and don't have MW2; buy MW2 first so you kind of know the storyline. I just think MW2 is a great game. Expand
  50. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    I liked the single player, it carried on well from Call of duty 4, the multiplayer felt great at first, everyone was discovering perks and good map locations, and it definitely was a great game to play, but later on, people started using the overpowered 'Grenade launchers' as primary weapons and people found out the best guns, and how to beat anyone that uses anything else, not to mentionI liked the single player, it carried on well from Call of duty 4, the multiplayer felt great at first, everyone was discovering perks and good map locations, and it definitely was a great game to play, but later on, people started using the overpowered 'Grenade launchers' as primary weapons and people found out the best guns, and how to beat anyone that uses anything else, not to mention the people who hacked the game to get to max level prestige and whatnot. Even that being said, it gave a great adrenaline rush when playing solo, or with friends, was worth the purchase. Expand
  51. Aug 18, 2012
    0
    Man they just keep coming every year with new boring maps. Same freaking game, graphics, gameplay.. **** feels the same every year. They are just milking away the franchise, Modern Warfare was the best COD they have come up with.
  52. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and DangerThis was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and Danger Close. While the game can really make you rage like no other, this was still a highly addictive multiplayer that kept me engrossed and hooked into for more than a full year. Even though it signalled the downfall of CoD, it was still a great game in itself. Expand
  53. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Pretty decent game when it came out. Overall its still better than Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. I hate how comanys make something new and then make a Triplet called Mw3 with the same Engine and Graphic as Mw2 and we call it 2.5 not 3. I hate how they make this game Mw2, a awesome game and ruin it 2 years later.
  54. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This was the first COD game I played.At first it was really fun,but then all the hackers and noobtubers have ruined the multiplayer.The campaign is the best in the COD series,the spec ops is great and the multiplayer used to be fun.
  55. May 22, 2013
    10
    This game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with theThis game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with the most straightforward and effective killstreak system in the series. The only thing that mars it from perfection is the ridiculously overpowered Danger Close perk, but that isn't as big of a problem with the community that is still playing the game. This one's in my top 10 games of all time (the only other COD in there is the original Modern Warfare). Expand
  56. May 29, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 has a fantastic campaign and added to it's replay value (without needing an internet connection) by adding Special Ops, or challenge missions that offer new levels of difficulty and entertainment. When it comes to the multiplayer it turns into a rocket fest as everyone uses grenade launchers and RPG's and blow your brains out your ass. I can't recommend thisCall of Duty Modern Warfare 2 has a fantastic campaign and added to it's replay value (without needing an internet connection) by adding Special Ops, or challenge missions that offer new levels of difficulty and entertainment. When it comes to the multiplayer it turns into a rocket fest as everyone uses grenade launchers and RPG's and blow your brains out your ass. I can't recommend this game for its multiplayer, but I will recommend it for its very fun campaign and Spec Ops. Expand
  57. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to beThis game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to be the best COD ever escpecially the b2 airstrike i rembember getting on and holy it was awesome even if it doesn't kill anyone its still sick Expand
  58. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    At first I hated this game with a passion. Like I literally only played it because my friends wouldn't shut up, but then I played the campaign. It was actually shocking on how decent it was. The multiplayer really irritated me at first, but then when I got the maps down and my load outs set, I was fine. I still play it occasionally. Not the best, but probably the 3rd best Call of Duty yet.At first I hated this game with a passion. Like I literally only played it because my friends wouldn't shut up, but then I played the campaign. It was actually shocking on how decent it was. The multiplayer really irritated me at first, but then when I got the maps down and my load outs set, I was fine. I still play it occasionally. Not the best, but probably the 3rd best Call of Duty yet. Thing that made me mad was that Ghost died, and I was forever upset. I was hoping to kill that betraying bastard Sheppard, and I was so pumped when I got to painfully take out that knife and throw it at the bastard. Throwing knife FTW! The more guns in multiplayer was a plus for me especially the ACR and the UMP45 love those two guns. The maps were good, some were iffy, but they weren't terrible. Good game as it is Expand
  59. Jun 5, 2013
    3
    The Singleplayer is unlogic and boring. Special Ops is only funny if you play with a good friend. And the Multiplayer is full of quickscoper, camper, noobtuber, rusher The extras like predators unbalance the multiplayer.
    The most overrated FPS I've ever seen!
    You can't told me that this "game" is a 10/10 game.
  60. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Admittedly very little has changed since the first Modern Warfare but at the time the Call of Duty formula still remained fresh. For me the heavily scripted campaign is not quite a match for the original but to this day I would argue that it contains the best selection of multiplayer maps of any game in the series. Add in an excellent selection of co-op missions and you have an excellentAdmittedly very little has changed since the first Modern Warfare but at the time the Call of Duty formula still remained fresh. For me the heavily scripted campaign is not quite a match for the original but to this day I would argue that it contains the best selection of multiplayer maps of any game in the series. Add in an excellent selection of co-op missions and you have an excellent overall package.

    The series has come it for a lot of (somewhat justified) criticism but there is a reason it has become so popular.
    Expand
  61. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is one of the worst games I`ve ever played. Don`t buy it!
    Singleplayer: The story isn`t good.
    Multiplayer: One Map was blocked so you only can play it on a hacked server. That`s the second problem, in this game are many hacker and hacked lobby`s/server.. The weapons are not balanced just like the match-making-system. You have to play mean to get bonus experience so many players are
    This is one of the worst games I`ve ever played. Don`t buy it!
    Singleplayer: The story isn`t good.
    Multiplayer: One Map was blocked so you only can play it on a hacked server. That`s the second problem, in this game are many hacker and hacked lobby`s/server.. The weapons are not balanced just like the match-making-system. You have to play mean to get bonus experience so many players are camping, noob-tubing or rush with overpowered weapons. In this game are some mean kill-streak-rewards like the AC-130. The enemy players dies non-stop so you get no kills too. That means no one is happy (only the player with the AC-130).
    Sometimes it`s very funny but the bad and aggressive making moments are so much more...
    The developers stopped the support so the game will not get updates.

    If I could I would give minus points for this game. Please IW update this game or don`t do mistakes like this again.
    Expand
  62. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    The most important of aspect of a COD game is the gameplay. The gameplay in Modern Warfare 2 was a refinement of the original Modern Warfare's excellent system. The guns feel great, each varied and easy to customize. The shooting mechanics are spot on with no apparent issues.
    Admittedly, the story can be a little bland and the multiplayer can get annoying, however the best part of this
    The most important of aspect of a COD game is the gameplay. The gameplay in Modern Warfare 2 was a refinement of the original Modern Warfare's excellent system. The guns feel great, each varied and easy to customize. The shooting mechanics are spot on with no apparent issues.
    Admittedly, the story can be a little bland and the multiplayer can get annoying, however the best part of this game is neither of those. It's the Spec Ops mode. Spec Ops is awesome, plain and simple. I'd spend Saturday afternoons with my cousins just playing Breach and Clear over and over again, trying to lower our times. It's a blast.

    It's a good game. However when compared to other FPS games, Modern Warfare 2 just doesn't stand out.
    Expand
  63. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This game has all the ingredients that a shooter-gamer wants. The single-player campaign is an experience which any gamer will enjoy, even though they're not fans of games like this. When campaign finish (and this will happen very soon) you can choose to play alone, with a friend or online the special ops and you will spent a lot of your time in this, I can promise. After this, however,This game has all the ingredients that a shooter-gamer wants. The single-player campaign is an experience which any gamer will enjoy, even though they're not fans of games like this. When campaign finish (and this will happen very soon) you can choose to play alone, with a friend or online the special ops and you will spent a lot of your time in this, I can promise. After this, however, the most interesting part of the game comes with a playing-time that overtake the one of campaign and special ops together and this is the multi-player. I hope that you can play online because this is the special reason that Call Of Duty is famous. Great graphics, sound and gameplay for you to enjoy and a beautiful way for new shooter gamers to love more games like this. Expand
  64. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Activision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on fromActivision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on from its predecessor.
    The campaign is, again, improved from Modern Warfare. It looks great, and some missions even attempt an open-world-esque aesthetic with large open environments that force you to traverse from building to building, defending objectives from enemies that attack from land and air. Again, the campaign has great visual and sound design, and gameplay is varied enough to keep the player entertained. Story is told fairly well, with the most intense climax of any military shooter to date.
    Special Ops, Infinity Ward's answer to the Zombie mode of Word at War, is a standard mission mode. It can only be played with 2 people, something that prevents it from being as silly and "rompy" as zombies. This mode is enjoyable, but nothing more,
    Expand
  65. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The singleplayer campaign is just a bit too over the top to be fully enjoyable and definitely belongs to the worse in the series. The multiplayer is of course fun, the maps are varied and well designed and the new killstreaks, perks and weapons are a major improvement over CoD4 (although its much less competitive now). However the multiplayer feels a bit unbalanced (Harrier strike, G18The singleplayer campaign is just a bit too over the top to be fully enjoyable and definitely belongs to the worse in the series. The multiplayer is of course fun, the maps are varied and well designed and the new killstreaks, perks and weapons are a major improvement over CoD4 (although its much less competitive now). However the multiplayer feels a bit unbalanced (Harrier strike, G18 akimbo, and that damage increasing perk in particular) which is odd considering the game is almost 4 years old now. Spec Ops missions are a nice distractions but are very repetitive and not exactly enjoyable. In my opinion, this is the worst that has ever come out of Infinity Ward (yes, including MW3) but for the price it bears today, its a recommended purchase people still play this a lot. Expand
  66. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the other people and the crazy times you had.
    Expand
  67. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I know a lot of people hate this series. However, this was back when this series was actually enjoyable. Despite the hackers, annoying prepubescents, trolls, etc you will always have moments that you will always remember. This game wasn't made for the story it was made for the multiplayer experience. In fact, this is the only game in the entire series where I actually got to the max levelI know a lot of people hate this series. However, this was back when this series was actually enjoyable. Despite the hackers, annoying prepubescents, trolls, etc you will always have moments that you will always remember. This game wasn't made for the story it was made for the multiplayer experience. In fact, this is the only game in the entire series where I actually got to the max level without asking my sneaky friend to help me out a bit (hehehehe). Anyhow, go try it out and forget the new Call of Duty's. Expand
  68. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    Expectations:
    In only a few words I have no expectations for 'Call Of Duty' games.
    Scores: Graphics: 5/10 Campaign: 1/10 Sound: 2/10 Gameplay: 7/10 Multiplayer: 0/10 Final Score: 3/10 Final Verdict: The graphics put simply are average, the campaign is essentially what battlefield 3 would have been like if it was directed by Michael Bay. The sounds of guns and explosions in
    Expectations:
    In only a few words I have no expectations for 'Call Of Duty' games.

    Scores:
    Graphics: 5/10
    Campaign: 1/10
    Sound: 2/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Multiplayer: 0/10
    Final Score: 3/10

    Final Verdict:
    The graphics put simply are average, the campaign is essentially what battlefield 3 would have been like if it was directed by Michael Bay. The sounds of guns and explosions in this game are awful, the gameplay is just above average because of the fast paced nature of it. Multiplayer in this game is terrible it requires no skill as all you have to do is choose the right weapon, attachments and perks, after that you're a near un-killable tank.
    Expand
  69. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    [8.2] Modern Warfare 2 is the last good game in a series that quickly ran out of ideas. Modern Warfare 2 might be nothing special to some, but it has everything a good shooter needs. It's campaign is wonderfully well-written, and while it may be linear, there are plenty of ways to entertain yourself, whether it be playing on veteran (a very enjoyable challenge), searching for collectibles,[8.2] Modern Warfare 2 is the last good game in a series that quickly ran out of ideas. Modern Warfare 2 might be nothing special to some, but it has everything a good shooter needs. It's campaign is wonderfully well-written, and while it may be linear, there are plenty of ways to entertain yourself, whether it be playing on veteran (a very enjoyable challenge), searching for collectibles, playing through speed runs, and even satisfying your sick blood lust in an airport massacre. The multiplayer is generally less impressive, but offers plenty of fun as well. The maps are clearly well laid out, the action is intense (and constant, which can prove annoying to those who demand variety), and although the community in the game isn't generally friendly, it can be quite fun to interact with them. Lastly, the Special Operations missions are an endlessly fun challenge. Just with one friend, it isn't hard to play for hours against waves of enemies that make you angry in the most rewarding way. As much as you might not like to say, the game really makes you think unlike its successors. While in retrospect all of that might not seem like much, four years ago, before Call of Duty had repeated itself several times, Modern Warfare 2 garnered appropriate, well-deserved respect. Expand
  70. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    My review for the last good call of duty game.

    SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. carries on from COD 4, great moments with a lot of twists and turns. but it is short GRAPHICS: 8.5/10. improved graphics from COD 4, but no significant differences. still not bad looking, though SOUND: 8/10. good quality, but nothing outstanding MULTIPLAYER: 9.25/10. take COD 4, and improve it in every way.
    My review for the last good call of duty game.

    SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. carries on from COD 4, great moments with a lot of twists and turns. but it is short
    GRAPHICS: 8.5/10. improved graphics from COD 4, but no significant differences. still not bad looking, though
    SOUND: 8/10. good quality, but nothing outstanding
    MULTIPLAYER: 9.25/10. take COD 4, and improve it in every way. brilliant. didn't work so well for MW2-3
    GAMEPLAY: 9/10. 60 FPS, tight controls, few glitches, and good maps. what else could you ask for?
    FUN FACTOR: 8.75/10. fun game, but won't change haters minds
    TOTAL: 9/10
    Expand
  71. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Almost as good as cod 4. The campaign was amazing and this was by far the best multiplayer. The maps were great and guns were great. No complaints about this game whatsoever. Idfk what this 6.1 bs is about
  72. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    The standard by which all other FPS games should be judged. Infinity Ward nails it as compared to the awful Treyarch COD games. The single player campaign is a little brief, but it's very, very good. The multi-player is awesome. Great maps, great weapons, great graphics, great shot recognition, etc... Awesome!
  73. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    My personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when itsMy personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when its played as it should there will never be an experience as fun or action packed as this. Highly doubt that Ghosts will surpass the game Expand
  74. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This game is simply world class. In my opinion it's the best call of duty game ever. The campaign may be short but is still great and the multiplayer is also fantastic, simply the best.
  75. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    I simply have too many fond memories of this game to give it anything lower than an 8.4, even though the quality of the game is significantly lower than that.

    The multiplayer was straight up standard FPS which was quite fun to play with friends, and I have fueled a ridiculous amount of hours into it. The single player also had a nice story, and the spec ops missions were a lot of fun to
    I simply have too many fond memories of this game to give it anything lower than an 8.4, even though the quality of the game is significantly lower than that.

    The multiplayer was straight up standard FPS which was quite fun to play with friends, and I have fueled a ridiculous amount of hours into it. The single player also had a nice story, and the spec ops missions were a lot of fun to do with a friend. Overall, the multiplayer aspect of this game is what makes it good, but over the years, I have grown tired of its standard, strict FPS feel. As my friends got bored of it, I ran out of things to do and I eventually shelved it.
    Expand
  76. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    Second best title in the franchise, and the last true CoD to date. I understand the complaints of most reviewers, they thing the game is a copy of CoD 4. Yes, the game looks outdated as it's the copy of MW1, but even some of these critics notice, that despite the game's flaws, it's incredibly addicting. The campaign was in original MW's best traditions: bad russians, sripts and everythingSecond best title in the franchise, and the last true CoD to date. I understand the complaints of most reviewers, they thing the game is a copy of CoD 4. Yes, the game looks outdated as it's the copy of MW1, but even some of these critics notice, that despite the game's flaws, it's incredibly addicting. The campaign was in original MW's best traditions: bad russians, sripts and everything else. And I didn't expect much from it. But the missions still looked diversified, there are some good scripted scenes, and the Zimmer's soundtrack is just a masterpiece. Spec Ops introduced some good and challenging missions for you and your friend. Multiplayer introduced even more variety in every way, but the mechanics (back then) worked great. Best way to discribe this game: it smells like CoD 4, but the MW1's expiration date was in the future (back then, again). And, unlike the old CoD, it's still playable and there are some good games on all the platforms. More than Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Don't know how this game could get a 6.1 but Modern warfare 2 is easily the best call of duty game of all time. Til this day I still prefer playing MW2 than any other CoD game. CoD Ghosts has nothing on MW2. Infinity should have kept west and zampella. Titanfall will be CoD's downfall.
  78. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Looking back, this was most likely the most well thought out COD to date. It successfully built on an already great game, while expanding the series to its full potential. As it only the second of its kind, it's hard to categorize it as the "same old annual COD" that the franchise has become today.

    This game provided countless hours of enjoyment, and since the series was far from its
    Looking back, this was most likely the most well thought out COD to date. It successfully built on an already great game, while expanding the series to its full potential. As it only the second of its kind, it's hard to categorize it as the "same old annual COD" that the franchise has become today.

    This game provided countless hours of enjoyment, and since the series was far from its current popularity, it benefited from a lack of immature children and a-holes, at least during the earlier half of its life. As such, I am also reviewing this game by its audience at the time; it wouldn't matter if a better Call of Duty was released in this generation, as the infuriating, disrespectful and childish audience of today would strongly deteriorate the enjoyment for the old dogs (I mean OLD dogs, as in COD2 & COD3 old). A game is only as good as the experience it delivers, and if this means that a 10/10 games is thrown to the wolves due to the unpleasant experience delivered by whining, excessively aggressive and confrontational players, then that is the rating it will receive.

    Frankly, the end of this game's life cycle marked the beginning of the end for COD in the eyes of many players, despite its gaining popularity, which mostly came from the younger generation.

    The campaign was a masterpiece, this coming from a gamer who has quite honestly despised every COD installment following WaW. The addition of Hans Zimmer for the soundtrack brought the game up many notches, and the Hollywood-style cinematics was somewhat of a first for video games (one which has, at this point, worn out its welcome).

    To wrap things up, this is one Call of Duty that certainly deserves higher than the 6.1 user rating, at least for its time. The 9/10 rating I give it is only contextual to the 2007-2008 time period, and if I were to review it as a new game today (one which follows the crank-out-another-every-year formula) it would snag closer to a 4/10.
    Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    COD designers have said they think a lot of players didn't like the choke points of the map and it made it hard for players to adapt to the style of play they gave, however unlike previous installments of the series the maps followed a formula of choke points on most (not all) maps. The major downfall of the online experience was initially boosting where players boost their stats or forCOD designers have said they think a lot of players didn't like the choke points of the map and it made it hard for players to adapt to the style of play they gave, however unlike previous installments of the series the maps followed a formula of choke points on most (not all) maps. The major downfall of the online experience was initially boosting where players boost their stats or for titles, and not everyone was able to catch on to common hiding spots. However, the multiplayer experience gave players a wide range of unique ways to play the game through its perks and weapons. Campaign was on the edge of good but is still mediocre. The main focus of this game is its online play, the ability to have kill streaks count toward another and level up and complete challenges that gave you tags and boards that showed publicly between games in lobbies was fun. From a personal standpoint playing search and destroy on a map with choke points was very fun because you had to strategize with your team on how to capture/defend the objectives. This in combination with choosing different styles of playing the game (yes.. including noobtubes w/ D close) forced players to have to use a competitive mind set to be aware of their position while occasionally rewarded skilled players who could beat the enemy to the trigger made for hours of fresh play. Expand
  80. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    this was the first call of duty that i have played,it is a good game but there is just a little difference between it and the first modern warfare,but after all it's good.
  81. Dec 3, 2013
    5
    MW2 is one of the most overrated games of all time. Campaign is short and cliche, multiplayer is nothing but campers, overpowered killstreaks, unbalanced perks, and awful maps. Spec Ops is fun, but it doesn't make up for the rest of MW2's shortcomings. The fact that this turd is being hailed as the best COD ever is absurd, when in fact MW2 is one of the worst. MW2 is a mediocre shooter at best.
  82. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    MW2 continues the great story telling experience of CoD4, but greatly expands the multiplayer landscape, making Modern Warfare 2 perhaps the best FPS experience of its time. Levels are a bit bigger, more playlists are available, tons of cool killstreaks are available and the level designs are some of the best & most interesting to launch with a game. It's hard to imagine how good thisMW2 continues the great story telling experience of CoD4, but greatly expands the multiplayer landscape, making Modern Warfare 2 perhaps the best FPS experience of its time. Levels are a bit bigger, more playlists are available, tons of cool killstreaks are available and the level designs are some of the best & most interesting to launch with a game. It's hard to imagine how good this game would be if it were "perfect", but the good news is it doesn't have to be. I could warrant a "10" on this game if it carried dedicated servers and could push the graphics envelope a bit more, but in the end these would only push the experience a bit further. Sans dedicated servers, this game plays well online almost all of the time, and I can only think of Halo 2 when considering a game I've put this much online time in, ever. Like CoD4, MW2 is a must-play for fans of the series and fans of the FPS genre as a whole. Expand
  83. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Cannot criticise this game at all, completely enjoy all the game modes and guns. Really easy to understand how to customise classes and I enjoyed the campaign even though it was a bit short. The multiplayer is absolutely outstanding and I bloody love it. Best Call of Duty game so far!
  84. Jan 19, 2014
    1
    This was the moment that this generation became obsessed with brown cover based shooting and it was a sad day, this game sold millions but did manage to separate casual gamers from real gamers with one question, do you play COD? Overall this is just a poor run of the mill generic title straight off the 360 conveyor belt of ****
  85. Jan 20, 2014
    6
    This was the last CoD worth playing in my opinion. The multiplayer was truly well done. Honestly, I can't even remember the campaign. Probably proving it sucked. Whatever. This was good back in it's time. No use going back to it now though.
  86. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good single player. A bit short but good. Despite the airport massacre mission. Spec Ops has lots of nice missions. Graphics are very good for 2009 but acceptable as of today. Multiplayer is as addictive as other games. Forget about the negative reviews and Ghosts! Go and buy this! Expand
  87. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Nothing short of an FPS Wonder, MW2 Truely delivers a unique sense that only its predecessor (Modern Warfare) can match. With heart stopping, adrenaline pumping single player, A new and unique Co-Op Spec Ops mode, and an online mode fit for the king of modern FPS, with a wealth of ranks, unlockables and experiences. MW2 is a wonder of video games, and is sure to sit there for a long time.
  88. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    This game had the potential of being the best cod ever, except for one crucial flaw; the balance in the game is HORRENDOUS. The ump45 can get a 3 shot kill from any range, stopping power makes some of the guns far too powerful, death streaks are unfair, shotguns should not be secondaries, quick scoping is rampant, and very annoying. Kill streaks should not stack one another. You can SNIPEThis game had the potential of being the best cod ever, except for one crucial flaw; the balance in the game is HORRENDOUS. The ump45 can get a 3 shot kill from any range, stopping power makes some of the guns far too powerful, death streaks are unfair, shotguns should not be secondaries, quick scoping is rampant, and very annoying. Kill streaks should not stack one another. You can SNIPE WITH A SHOTGUN. The model 1887 akimbo has unlimited range. And who could forget one man army NOOBTUBES.
    Aside from this though, the game really is one of the best titles in the cod franchise.
    Expand
  89. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    I just got this game and I will admit I am VERY impressed. but there are some bad things if you are a semi good gamer like me you should not play online the players there are EXCELLENT. unless you are an awesome gamer do not play Xbox live. But campaign is fantastic: snowmobile chases, ice climbing. turret manning. sniper missions. It will never get old I think MW 2 is the best COD gameI just got this game and I will admit I am VERY impressed. but there are some bad things if you are a semi good gamer like me you should not play online the players there are EXCELLENT. unless you are an awesome gamer do not play Xbox live. But campaign is fantastic: snowmobile chases, ice climbing. turret manning. sniper missions. It will never get old I think MW 2 is the best COD game ever beside BO2 Expand
  90. May 29, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.5 Sound: 9.2 Gameplay: 9.2 Fun/Story: 9.1

    A awesome FPS, it´s good, fast, pretty and funny. I really enjoyed to play it through the end without stopping.
  91. May 30, 2014
    10
    This is the last great Call of Duty before the game which nearly destroyed CoD, Black Ops, The campaign is actually fun, with some amazing missions and spec ops (which would've been nice if it was Online instead of friends only), it will keep you entertained for a while, then there is the multiplayer, i actually enjoyed it, it had reasonable sized maps and unique map designs.

    Overall =
    This is the last great Call of Duty before the game which nearly destroyed CoD, Black Ops, The campaign is actually fun, with some amazing missions and spec ops (which would've been nice if it was Online instead of friends only), it will keep you entertained for a while, then there is the multiplayer, i actually enjoyed it, it had reasonable sized maps and unique map designs.

    Overall = 9.6/10, it has a solid campaign, a superb Multiplayer and a great Spec Ops mode which would've been nice if it had Online for everyone, this stands as the strongest CoD ever.
    Expand
  92. Jun 8, 2014
    2
    With bland multiplayer, and a rather dull gameplay engine, Modern Warfare 2 is not only boring and unfun, but downright stupid. The story to it has got to be one of the worst I have very had the displeasure of viewing, but is so tasteless I cannot bear to type this anymore. This game is overrated and awful. What keeps this at a two is that it at least works. What is funny is that in a gameWith bland multiplayer, and a rather dull gameplay engine, Modern Warfare 2 is not only boring and unfun, but downright stupid. The story to it has got to be one of the worst I have very had the displeasure of viewing, but is so tasteless I cannot bear to type this anymore. This game is overrated and awful. What keeps this at a two is that it at least works. What is funny is that in a game about shooting generic foreign bad guy after generic foreign bad guy is that the guns feel lousy and the shooting is unfun. Expand
  93. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    A lot of people gave this a bad score, but they, ohh boy those people need to turn there Xbox back on and play it again. I know it wasn't futuristic but the gamplay was amazing (by far the best call of duty ever). I know most of these guys that hated on it were literally COD haters but still an amazing game. The newer call of duties look like absolute crap. Especially the new upcomingA lot of people gave this a bad score, but they, ohh boy those people need to turn there Xbox back on and play it again. I know it wasn't futuristic but the gamplay was amazing (by far the best call of duty ever). I know most of these guys that hated on it were literally COD haters but still an amazing game. The newer call of duties look like absolute crap. Especially the new upcoming advanced warfare. But MW2 was something special. Expand
  94. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Suspense, action, nukes and EMPs. A recipe for complete chaos, and chaos plus FPS is amazing. Sometimes chaos cannot be controlled (much like the controls), and that's were the game falls; the ending... The lousy ending to a fantastic game. 8/10
  95. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    This game is actually good compared to the cods that are out today. Maybe not as good as Cod4 or WAW but definitely in my top 3.. Quicking scoping was the best in this game, way better than BO and MW3, killstreaks where OP and lots of 12 yr old nuke boosters but still, if you think about it now it is better than BO2 and Ghosts which SUCK ASS
  96. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    Mw2 is better but not as good as the first mw. I liked the campaign alot better in the first mw. The multiplayer in mw2 is decent but I still loved the first one better. Spec Ops is a great addition to the game for it would keep players hooked on it.
  97. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    THIS GAME IS EPIC AS BALLS I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!! The ONLY downside is its a short game... BUT BUY NOW BECAUSE THIS GAME IS THE REASON I PLAY SHOOTERS BUY NOWWWWWWWWW
  98. Sep 4, 2014
    3
    The Campaign is good as always, but it has the worst Multiplayer ever. Tactical Nukes, a ton of hackers (on every platform) and tons of tryhards ruined this game.
  99. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    A great single player campaign as well a great sequel to the modern warfare storyline. MW2's multiplayer has the most bulls**t of any CoD I've played. The most prominent problem I've with this game is the noobtubing that just makes me angry. Despite the flaws in this game, it's still a fun and great experience in multiplayer. The spec ops mode is dull and doesn't have much replay value.
  100. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    Great story, relatable characters, incredible voice acting feels like you are actually there it like cod 4 but with everything done better visually and smoother movement
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.