Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2714 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DickS
    Jan 10, 2010
    7
    Single player isn't as good as the first and shorter with far less realism. Multilayer has several new features that would melt into a great multilayer if they had beta tested the thing so every single game isnt ruined by someone care package glitching. The high kill streaks put a burden on the game also because people camp so badly It took me until there was four minutes left in the Single player isn't as good as the first and shorter with far less realism. Multilayer has several new features that would melt into a great multilayer if they had beta tested the thing so every single game isnt ruined by someone care package glitching. The high kill streaks put a burden on the game also because people camp so badly It took me until there was four minutes left in the game to find one guy that sniped me in the back of the head. And I have no idea what they were thinking when they added duel weapons and commando pro. Expand
  2. FrankyF
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Haters playing on PC get out of here please, this is the X360 version stop lowering the score!
  3. chriso
    Jan 19, 2010
    1
    Honestly, this was the worst game I have played all year. SP is nothing short of a Micheal Bay film, sure it has lots of explosions, and action, but thats it. Nothing more, no story, or plot, or even memorable characters. It seems like they were just trying to go for the shock value this time. MP is even worse, and I dont even know where to start. Spawns are atrocious, maps just cater to Honestly, this was the worst game I have played all year. SP is nothing short of a Micheal Bay film, sure it has lots of explosions, and action, but thats it. Nothing more, no story, or plot, or even memorable characters. It seems like they were just trying to go for the shock value this time. MP is even worse, and I dont even know where to start. Spawns are atrocious, maps just cater to campers, objective gamemodes turn into who can get the nuke first, perks and pro perks make the game unbalanced, and the OP KSRs make it even more so. Ranking is tedious, and gets boring very fast, cant take 2 steps in this game without unlocking something or be rewarded for doing something, its like it was made for the people who get bored no unlocking something for 30 seconds. The MP is also a glitchfest, they release a patch, but more glitches and hacks are found within a day. Matchmaking and server connection issues are the worst of any game, seriously theres not this many problems with EA servers. As said, maps not only cater to campers, but seemed like they just tried cramming as much crap as possible into one and saying "Good enough". All balance is thrown right out the window with this game. Overall, there are better games out there, and there are better games coming out. MW 2 is just a waste of $60 Only saving grace is the Spec Ops, which also get boring after a while Expand
  4. RezaV.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    Campaign was great. It did have those frustrating moments of fighting huge numbers of enemies, but it wasn't as bad as COD 4. The action is intense, my only question is: Where do they go from here? I mean, you blew up DC, blew up the space station, and insinuated the full scale invasion of Russia. Spec Ops is great, and I hope for a "Foxtrot" pack for DLC, but if not that's Campaign was great. It did have those frustrating moments of fighting huge numbers of enemies, but it wasn't as bad as COD 4. The action is intense, my only question is: Where do they go from here? I mean, you blew up DC, blew up the space station, and insinuated the full scale invasion of Russia. Spec Ops is great, and I hope for a "Foxtrot" pack for DLC, but if not that's fine. Now comes the multiplayer, and for me the let down area. It's not a big let down. The action is great, perks leveling and weapons go well, and the maps are fun. However too much of the same old annoying mechanics. You know what I'm talking about: Dual shotguns, quick aim snipers, Javelins, and maps that facilitate camping. Generally, MW2 is praised for being realistic. I challenge anyone to find a realistic soldier who could lug around two shotguns, aim them akimbo, get no recoil, and reload that fast. Not even likely. The first month is great, and then you start seeing the people running around knifing, or using javelins and scavenger. Eventually it just becomes a camp off. This mostly effects Deathmatch and the like, but it gets frustrating eventually. I understand face-paced action, but this is pretty bad. And really, there is still no incentive to prestige. If this were MW1, I'd give it a 9.5, but IW had one game to learn from their mistakes. Campaign is the same, Spec Ops is fun, and Multiplayer is barely passing as "new and great." I give it a 7. Expand
  5. BryanH
    Mar 17, 2010
    3
    A let down for most gamers, I would rate the multiplayer (1/10) the worst part of the game the lag was unbearable and the weapons were unfair, i rated 3 out of 10 is because the story was only part that was half decent. the overall game is overrated, in my opinion the first modern warfare completely dominated the new one.
  6. CraigJ
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and extremely addictive. As most players have experienced in games there are a few glitches and the maps need to be a little more random, im sick of the same map 2-3 times in row but hey nothings perfect. Expand
  7. AlexG
    Mar 2, 2010
    8
    This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far beyond call of duty's little enclosed unimaginative and quite boring maps. That said I still think call of duty deserves an 8 because it does have one of the most polished multiplayer expiriences ever. Expand
  8. AidanG.
    Apr 18, 2010
    4
    I'm going to give an honest to god review from a REAL TENTH PRESTIGE. I started with Single Player. It was pretty good but a little short, but Ghost was a lovable character, I suppose. Ok so we're at a 9 with this. Spec Ops is incredible fun with a buddy and the missions are great. At this point, a 10. Now multiplayer. I expected it to be great fun just like Single Player and I'm going to give an honest to god review from a REAL TENTH PRESTIGE. I started with Single Player. It was pretty good but a little short, but Ghost was a lovable character, I suppose. Ok so we're at a 9 with this. Spec Ops is incredible fun with a buddy and the missions are great. At this point, a 10. Now multiplayer. I expected it to be great fun just like Single Player and Spec-Ops was; boy was I wrong! I kept playing now for a couple months and have gotten tenth prestige. I honestly hate multiplayer, but yet it is so addicting, I can't get away from it badness. Expand
  9. DustinH
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    Modern warfare 2 is easily one of the best games of the year great story, epic gameplay, great customization, everything you could and would expect from a call of duty game is in modern warfare 2,my only probem is that the campaign is a bit on the short side but I could play hours on end in the multiplayer, stimulus package is awesome, well done Infinity Ward!!!!
  10. nathant
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I instantly thought what a great game. then came the glitches and lag. i read about it onine and apparantly this was only on the 360 version of the game. without sounding like a fanboy (im really not) i traded in for the ps3 version. despite the extra cost it was well worth it and now works fine and works on its reputation in making it the perfect game. i hope they will patch the 360 I instantly thought what a great game. then came the glitches and lag. i read about it onine and apparantly this was only on the 360 version of the game. without sounding like a fanboy (im really not) i traded in for the ps3 version. despite the extra cost it was well worth it and now works fine and works on its reputation in making it the perfect game. i hope they will patch the 360 version within the coming months as it is horrid. Expand
  11. JimR
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a shame bitter PC players who are scared of change and unwilling to acknowledge progress (IW Net) are voting this game down. The story is short but every second of the campaign is filled with unique and intense action. To make up for this hundreds of hours can be spent in the extensive/amazing multiplayer mode and Spec-Ops.
  12. FrankieT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is great. I have been playing for 2 and a half hours and I haven't found a flaw yet. They really took the flaws of CoD4 and worked mad hard on them. They also added a ton of new features and weapons. Now this is a flawless game (so far) I haven't played much of the campaign but it seemed pretty interesting from the beginning. Highly recommended.
  13. Heath
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Im sick of everyone Sucking this games D!%K. It is not the game of the century and it is not ground breaking. Yes It is a good game but with Average graphics and a 6 hr campain I think there is more to be desired here. WAY OVERRATED!!!
  14. RenisH
    Jan 1, 2010
    5
    The real problem that made me give this game such a low score is mainly because this game was heavily hyped and i was expecting this game to be a fantastic game and while i can see that they put in a lot of work to the games graphics and they added a few new things like specs ops and multi kill medals i felt that there just wasn't enough new addition to this game to warrant a full The real problem that made me give this game such a low score is mainly because this game was heavily hyped and i was expecting this game to be a fantastic game and while i can see that they put in a lot of work to the games graphics and they added a few new things like specs ops and multi kill medals i felt that there just wasn't enough new addition to this game to warrant a full price purchase and this is especially annoying because if you have the 360 version there is now modders that are using hacks online and this basically made the online matches virtually unplayable and the single player is only 8 hours long making this game not the best idea to get yourself off of CoD 4 and if i were you i would probably wait for the next big FPS to be released and give this one a miss. Expand
  15. DanielB
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part all the people were complaining about how if you cant see a person your ****ed, this is called flanking... which ads stratagy to the game...the sound is pretty amazing.. all the guns sound super realistic. overall a pretty good game. good gamplay.. allthough a lack of plot really drags the game game from a 9 to an 8.. Expand
  16. JanneN
    Jan 16, 2010
    6
    Counted seconds to this game coming out for 2 months and it ended up being a disappointment in so many ways. I have not yet bought this game and probably wont.
  17. CurtB
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    Look I understand that people are upset about the length of the campaign but that is not the whole game between replay value, spec ops which is amazing and the addicting multiplayer which they managed to make even better. People are giving the game a zero for the single player which is only a third of the game and no matter how short and rediculous it is still fun. Every moment is Look I understand that people are upset about the length of the campaign but that is not the whole game between replay value, spec ops which is amazing and the addicting multiplayer which they managed to make even better. People are giving the game a zero for the single player which is only a third of the game and no matter how short and rediculous it is still fun. Every moment is non-stop holy s*** moments and innovative new ways to spice up gameplay. If it was any longer than my time would be wasted on wandering through another small russian town or a wartorn middle eastern city and than you would be complaining about that. Now spec-ops which everyone seems to be overlooking is awesome bits of purified gameplay that you can beat in five minutes and are great to tackle with a friend and work on for hours trying to get that last star on veteran. The multiplayer will be played for years to come and has been innovated enough to make it seem fresh yet warmly familiar. When this game was announced I couldn't think of any ways they could possibly innovate the multiplayer and even though you will probably stick with the same three kill streaks once you find a winning combination through all of your prestiges thay are still a fun change of pace after two years of repetedly hearing UAV is online. There are still some balancing issues bet the ones from the first game have for the most part been fixed you will still find yourself rage quitting after your almost nuke 24 kill streak is ended by a predator missle or spam grenade. That dosn't stop this game from being incredibally awesome. Buy it. There will always be someone online to play with and you are missing out if you listen to the 0 scores. Expand
  18. MarkF
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    At launch I would have given it a 6. Short campaign, Spec Op is fun, but gets hard fast. Multiplayer was full of glitches, and people who exploit said glitches. Finally Microsoft and IF have starting fixing things, by banning people who glitch and fixed some unbalanced weapons, perks, etc. People should stop complaining about mutiplayer, and just ignore them. It's fun, if you At launch I would have given it a 6. Short campaign, Spec Op is fun, but gets hard fast. Multiplayer was full of glitches, and people who exploit said glitches. Finally Microsoft and IF have starting fixing things, by banning people who glitch and fixed some unbalanced weapons, perks, etc. People should stop complaining about mutiplayer, and just ignore them. It's fun, if you don't like it leave, or return the game. Expand
  19. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Just had to give this a score of 10. Why? Simply to make up for the unfair lower scores that biased individual gives.
  20. JacobM
    Jan 24, 2010
    3
    This game was only fun for the first two weeks that I played it. After that, glitches and modding overran the MP, which is essentially the whole game. The campaign can easily be beaten under 5 hours and the SpecOps isn't even entertaining because some of the mission seem as if they never end. The only improvement they made in this game was the new perk system. They removed some of This game was only fun for the first two weeks that I played it. After that, glitches and modding overran the MP, which is essentially the whole game. The campaign can easily be beaten under 5 hours and the SpecOps isn't even entertaining because some of the mission seem as if they never end. The only improvement they made in this game was the new perk system. They removed some of the best guns that were in CoD4 (M40A3, regular MP5) and the sniper rifles in this one are horrible, except the Barrett, and make sniping nearly impossible. No scoping and quick scoping, while not key components of the game, are nonexistent as well. The servers take far too long to get you in a game even though millions of people are playing. There is just so many things wrong with this game and it should easily go down as the biggest disappointment in gaming history, yet it won't because people love cool visual effects and loud explosions... Expand
  21. BillC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect. Those who love it have a right to. Those who don't can't even spell words correctly in their hate comments against the game. Props to Infinity Ward for creating the best game I own.
  22. BenC
    Jan 28, 2010
    5
    This game was a major letdown. The Single Player was the best part in my opinion, except that it switched from a somewhat believable story to one of the most absurd action stories ever. Spec Ops was okay, but if you pay attention, a lot of the missions are things you did in the previous call of duty game or in the Single player. And then there was the atrocious multiplayer. It is This game was a major letdown. The Single Player was the best part in my opinion, except that it switched from a somewhat believable story to one of the most absurd action stories ever. Spec Ops was okay, but if you pay attention, a lot of the missions are things you did in the previous call of duty game or in the Single player. And then there was the atrocious multiplayer. It is completely unbalanced and is full of glitches. I don't recommend this game if you have high expectations for it. Expand
  23. KevinM
    Jan 4, 2010
    1
    Probably the worst game ever created. If you want to get the same experience without paying $60 then consider hitting yourself in the head with a hammer.
  24. KyleT
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    This games Campaign is terrible and overall not fun. Hardened and Regular are easy for me while Veteran is the most outrageous thing ever. I love the multiplayer although and I am very good at it. I am going to point out some flaws the AI and decision system is very bad online. Say you look at the harrier and aim or aim at the other teams player. Most times the Harrier will kill you that This games Campaign is terrible and overall not fun. Hardened and Regular are easy for me while Veteran is the most outrageous thing ever. I love the multiplayer although and I am very good at it. I am going to point out some flaws the AI and decision system is very bad online. Say you look at the harrier and aim or aim at the other teams player. Most times the Harrier will kill you that moment. Sometimes the perks don't work like commando. Then your gun never kills anyone after a lot of shots. That is cleared up by hardcore mode. But I just think this game is way to short and the multiplayer isn't perfect. Way way way overrated. Special Ops is not near as fun as Zombies. Expand
  25. RiFfD
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Story-10 SpecialOps-10 Multiplayer-10. Looks like its an easy choice for me.
  26. TylerW
    Jan 7, 2010
    0
    single player is crap boring dull and no improvement what so ever,multi player is the glitchiest most atrocious excuse for an overhyped vomit fest of a game ever. javelin glitch,private xp glitch,10th prestige mod ammo mod auto aim mod,and the list goes on it is horrible they obviously rushed this game they need to stop coming out with a cod game every year.instead of worrying about the single player is crap boring dull and no improvement what so ever,multi player is the glitchiest most atrocious excuse for an overhyped vomit fest of a game ever. javelin glitch,private xp glitch,10th prestige mod ammo mod auto aim mod,and the list goes on it is horrible they obviously rushed this game they need to stop coming out with a cod game every year.instead of worrying about the money start worrying about the piece of crap your about to make. Expand
  27. JamesB
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    This game is beyond an embarassment to gaming. Its violent, looks pathetic and is such a waste of money. I urge everyone to ignore this and buy the much better Operation Flashpoint.
  28. sanderl
    Feb 10, 2010
    4
    Alright, most people were pretty hyped for this game, including me. this game was the most played game on PS3/Xbox360/PC as it was released...which is really odd considering this game has nothing new AT ALL to offer coming from Call of Duty 4. except maybe the new killstreak rewards which are also incredibly dumb and not balanced at all. perhaps the only good/decent thing in this game was Alright, most people were pretty hyped for this game, including me. this game was the most played game on PS3/Xbox360/PC as it was released...which is really odd considering this game has nothing new AT ALL to offer coming from Call of Duty 4. except maybe the new killstreak rewards which are also incredibly dumb and not balanced at all. perhaps the only good/decent thing in this game was the intense single player campaign, I've never WOW'd so much in a game's campaign. (there was also "adrenaline" going trough my body when playing it) either way, if you liked Call of Duty 4 and don't care if it's the same old sh*t, buy it. otherwise stick to CoD4 because it is by far a better game. Expand
  29. TonyP
    Feb 12, 2010
    5
    This is the most over hyped game of all-time, and unfortunately it doesn't live up to it. Playing through the campaign felt like playing Where in the World is Carmen San Diego? Your bouncing around all over the place, the story is lacking heavily, I don't know how everyone thinks the story is phenomenal, far from that. Plus it's extremely short, finished it over 4 hours, This is the most over hyped game of all-time, and unfortunately it doesn't live up to it. Playing through the campaign felt like playing Where in the World is Carmen San Diego? Your bouncing around all over the place, the story is lacking heavily, I don't know how everyone thinks the story is phenomenal, far from that. Plus it's extremely short, finished it over 4 hours, and no it wasn't a speed run. The multiplayer is what you'd expect, same repetitive feeling with terrible map design and a TON of glitches that haven't even been patched yet. Killstreaks and Perks ruin the game making it feel even more like an arcade shooter. Everyone praises Infinity Ward, but deep down you all know Treyarch makes the better game. Once Battlefield comes out I hope everyone realizes how bad this game and makes the switch as we all know that game is going to be epic in every way. Expand
  30. SamuelB
    Feb 16, 2010
    2
    I seriously have no clue why so many other people hail this as one of the greatest games around. If you peel back the many layers of fatty polish on this game, all you have is a limp, tried-and-trite gameplay formula the Call of Duty franchise had sucked dry years ago. "Shoot, duck, wait for all the blood to disappear off your screen, shoot some more, blow up an objective in an elaborate I seriously have no clue why so many other people hail this as one of the greatest games around. If you peel back the many layers of fatty polish on this game, all you have is a limp, tried-and-trite gameplay formula the Call of Duty franchise had sucked dry years ago. "Shoot, duck, wait for all the blood to disappear off your screen, shoot some more, blow up an objective in an elaborate manner" . If you've played one level, you've virtually played them all. I'm done here. The multiplayer is even worse. It consists solely of fighting the enemy team in an unorganized ramble of spawning right in the enemy's face, killstreak orgies that ultimately take the fun away from anyone who DIDN'T launch a nuclear missile that ends the whole game, and guns that are all so generic that they all instantly kill you at roughly the same pace: instantaneous . Although still obviously better then the object of comparison, the Call of Duty games are basically the video game equivalent of the Twilight Books. Nobody can figure out why it's so popular and critically acclaimed, but you'll be swept off your feet by an angry horde of screeching fans if you dare speak out against it. Expand
  31. RobertH.
    Feb 17, 2010
    2
    Probably the biggest let down of the decade (bar Halo 2), overzealous review scores have really pumped this into something much bigger than it actually is. The first problem - the price. Given that, unless you want spend all your time on a broken, glitchy set of enclosed spaces online, the single player will take roughly 6 hours. I cannot believe the audacity of Activision and Infinity Probably the biggest let down of the decade (bar Halo 2), overzealous review scores have really pumped this into something much bigger than it actually is. The first problem - the price. Given that, unless you want spend all your time on a broken, glitchy set of enclosed spaces online, the single player will take roughly 6 hours. I cannot believe the audacity of Activision and Infinity Ward to say that the game will merit the £55 price tag. Given you can pick up some games with around 500+ hours of gameplay for less than £20, it represents no value for money whatsoever. This game is much like a Michael Bay film. No plot, no soul, no refunds. Expand
  32. DerrikT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    Most of the reviews of this game piss me off. They're either about people complaining about the multiplayer or campaign, or sounding like Infinity Ward has the finger of God or something and calling it the best FPS of all time. I have two words and I suppose a number for you. System Shock 2. In my opinion, it's a good game. Sure the story is a little far-fetched, but it's Most of the reviews of this game piss me off. They're either about people complaining about the multiplayer or campaign, or sounding like Infinity Ward has the finger of God or something and calling it the best FPS of all time. I have two words and I suppose a number for you. System Shock 2. In my opinion, it's a good game. Sure the story is a little far-fetched, but it's better to have a game with good gameplay and a crappy story than vice versa. Spec Ops is probably the best part of the game. It's fun with a friend, and the whole re-hashed missions thing doesn't bother me. Do you seriously expect them to make all new missions and maps just for Spec Ops? Might as well make a new game then. I'm indifferent about the multiplayer. Some elements about it I like, such as customizable killstreaks and new weapon attachments. But the fact that the maps are made for camping and that Marathon, Lightweight, and Commando make it so easy for people to just run around and knife is a little depressing. CoD4 kept you moving all the time. Stopping occasionally behind cover to see what's going on. If you try that in MW2, someone runs up behind you and knifes you or you get hit by a Predator missile. Overall the game is good. It's not the best, but it's a lot better than most of the stuff on the market today. Expand
  33. JimTheClownkilla
    Feb 5, 2010
    4
    I have to give this game a 5 because the single player was absolutely amazing and with spec ops I think it adds to the game length which doesn't make the game short at all. On the other hand the multiplayer is completely flawed. For one the spawn system is absolutely not good. Matchmaking is terrible, I'm lvl 70 prestiged 3 times and most of the time Im going against complete I have to give this game a 5 because the single player was absolutely amazing and with spec ops I think it adds to the game length which doesn't make the game short at all. On the other hand the multiplayer is completely flawed. For one the spawn system is absolutely not good. Matchmaking is terrible, I'm lvl 70 prestiged 3 times and most of the time Im going against complete noobs at lvl 20 which is no fun at all. I liked mw1 because it was a somewhat realistic which this game lacks. Just the other day a guy was shooting at me so I ran around a steel barrier nonetheless he killed me I watched the killcam he had a vector. Waiting for March the 2nd I'm taking this game back and getting Battlefield 2. Expand
  34. MikeyJ.
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    This game is very fun, but it still has problems. The overall gameplay/controls, sound, graphics, and presentation (and so on) but Infinity Ward left alot of holes in the final product (that you'd think they would have the resources to fix after cod4 alone sold 12 million copies roughly). The Campaign is good, but far too short, and can be done in roughly 5-8 hours the first time This game is very fun, but it still has problems. The overall gameplay/controls, sound, graphics, and presentation (and so on) but Infinity Ward left alot of holes in the final product (that you'd think they would have the resources to fix after cod4 alone sold 12 million copies roughly). The Campaign is good, but far too short, and can be done in roughly 5-8 hours the first time through, and much less in further attempts, and seeing how the game puts the player on a very fixed path: the game's single player replay value takes a hit. the storyline is also confusing, although someone who is willing to pay close attention to it or theorize their way through some of the plot holes can make sense of it, it falls below the standards of other popular titles. the spec-ops mode however, which can be done in co-op as well as in single player, is a massive extension on the game's replayability, and works very well, throwing you in various mini missions of diverse tasks, enviroments, and difficulties (my personal favorite mode). then theres the multiplayer, although heavily praised, its in reality very, very unbalanced. weapons are either useless or overpowered in many cases, the M1887 shotguns being a prime example of overpowered, just ask anyone who's played the game, and as soon as somone gets a killstreak they're given masses of high powered equipment/helicopters/airstrikes/drones/etc that can make life very difficult for those who have not been fortunate to get a killstreak first. alot of the game's smaller issues get to me too: how are weapons like the FAMAS, FAL and F2000 (among many others) that are used by european armies in the hands of russian soldiers when the russians use exclusively russian manufactured weapons for their military? why is the vector which uses .45 ammunition one of the weakest SMGs when in fact it should be among the most powerful? why did the game not feature co-op with up to 4 players in it's campaign mode when its predecessor, cod5, did (and why only 2 for special ops)? as mentioned at the beginning of the review, this game has problems, but it is still quite fun to play, however, it does not keep up with the standards set by MW1, and that has me a little dissapointed in IW. Expand
  35. KyleD
    Mar 1, 2010
    4
    I have to admit, the single player is great, I understood the story, really epic scenes, but when it gets to the multiplayer, I then realised my £45 was wasted, it's an exact copy of CoD4. It's like they couldn't be arsed making a new multiplayer, so just took the CoD4 multiplayer and threw the new engine over it. It's the exact same! And yet, all of my friend I have to admit, the single player is great, I understood the story, really epic scenes, but when it gets to the multiplayer, I then realised my £45 was wasted, it's an exact copy of CoD4. It's like they couldn't be arsed making a new multiplayer, so just took the CoD4 multiplayer and threw the new engine over it. It's the exact same! And yet, all of my friend won't shut up about the multiplayer! It's not that good people! Get over it! It puts other good games like Halo or Battlefield Bad company all the way down. Everybody is playing CoDMW2! Even my friend who loved halo and wouldn't stop playing it, once he got a copy of codmw2, he totally abandoned his love for halo, now it's all Throwing knives and the new guns he has. It's not the good people, get over it! Expand
  36. RyanK
    Mar 1, 2010
    5
    When you first get this game, your head will be stuck in the hype of "most anticipated game ever" and "best game to date" but soon, you'll realize that it's not all what it lived up to be. The missions are pathetic, killing off everyone you play as, walking through airports killing innocent people, and how much the ending completely copied the first MW. Soon, you come to realize When you first get this game, your head will be stuck in the hype of "most anticipated game ever" and "best game to date" but soon, you'll realize that it's not all what it lived up to be. The missions are pathetic, killing off everyone you play as, walking through airports killing innocent people, and how much the ending completely copied the first MW. Soon, you come to realize that the multiplayer is garbage, the ubelivably unbalanced perks, kill streaks, all the guns stopping power, the non existent recoil (except on the F2000 and you guessed it, no one uses it!)!!!!!! You'll find yourself wanting to throw your controller into the screen and breaking the CD in half when you pump 15+ rounds into a player with painkiller and then they trun around and shank you from 25 feet away with the commando pro perk. Another thing that is stupid is Deathstreaks, "oh this player sucks", therefore we should give him 5000 health!!!!! Finally, the killstreaks, overpowered and just plain frustrating, you'll find two players on seperate teams sitting in the back of the map with a tatical insertion (a good idea that failed) racking up a 25 kill streak so that they can get a nuke. The community is horrible, the second that one of the "older mature kids" heres the voice of some one younger, then you have and argument about gay fags, and stupid "effers". There is ABSOLUTELY no team work whatsoever. Overall, this game is aimed at younger kids, where it take no skill at all, the super high aim assist, the kill streaks and, the amount of bullets to kill, the non-existent recoil make this game the worst "most anticipated game ever." Expand
  37. JakeP
    Mar 12, 2010
    9
    *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being upgradeable, I now use a variety of perk combinations on all my classes. In earlier CoD games, My perks were always stopping power and deep impact. Some negatives are the way that some of the maps cater to the campers, you can't walk anywhere without being blasted by some noob that just sits in a corner and wait. The only other complaint I have are the Patched 1887's. Really, who would complain that a gun has too much range and power, especially a gun that is unlocked at level 67? that's right, 67! So we have to work hard and play for a very long time to unlock a gun that is noiw one of the most useless. May as well put it in the default class and make the spas-12 be unlocked at 67. The spas is much better now. Anyway, other than that, this game was well thought out and is one of the must-buys of the year. Expand
  38. LuckyDutch
    Mar 19, 2010
    8
    I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back to this. There are however some elements that really let it down. I don't like the new killstreak system at all. While cool in concept it promotes excessive camping to get killstreaks. UAV Jammer and EMP are good additions but the other stupid ones outshine them and sadly make them largely redundant. Secondly, knifing. Needless to say having people run around faster than Usain Bolt and lunging across rooms faster than a bullet is unreallistic and a bad decision. The knife animation is too fast aswell, you cant kill someone instantly with a wild swing. BC2 got this right. Lastly, map design. Most buildings have way too many enterances. With all the jack the rippers on speed running about having so many ways in makes a slow tactical playstyle very difficult. You can either camp or rush, no smart play here i'm afraid. Despite all this MW2 is the best online game out right now. The crazy-high sales of this game were justified but IW could have done better. COD 4 is still the benchmark. Expand
  39. AdamW
    Mar 20, 2010
    4
    I was looking forward to this game ever since I first played the online component in CoD4. IW got way over there heads with this. The campaign is fine, while it is to short and there's a lot of plot holes, it's still very fun, while still being challenging on Veteran difficulty. The online, on the other hand, is horrid. It felt like CoD4 at first, but then it turned to some I was looking forward to this game ever since I first played the online component in CoD4. IW got way over there heads with this. The campaign is fine, while it is to short and there's a lot of plot holes, it's still very fun, while still being challenging on Veteran difficulty. The online, on the other hand, is horrid. It felt like CoD4 at first, but then it turned to some camp-fest full of idiots going around with the same gun, getting nukes. (Nukes, really, IW?) I tried playing like I do in CoD4, but it just didn't work. Teamwork is almost nonexistent unless you have friends and everything seems so unbalanced. Unlike CoD4, there are way to many overpowered guns, and then there's a perk to carry around two of them at once! I could keep ranting, but I'll let you decide if you should buy this or not. Buy CoD4. It's cheaper, more intelligent and IW actually put some love into it. Expand
  40. JamalH
    Mar 21, 2010
    1
    This game has to be the biggest let down in gaming history. Infinity Ward has destroyed the Call Of Duty franchise and I don't know if it will ever come back. The multiplayer consists of sitting in a corner waiting for someone to pass you and grenade launching. I am not sure how this game has a better rating than Battlefield Bad Company 2 which is in my opinion the greatest First This game has to be the biggest let down in gaming history. Infinity Ward has destroyed the Call Of Duty franchise and I don't know if it will ever come back. The multiplayer consists of sitting in a corner waiting for someone to pass you and grenade launching. I am not sure how this game has a better rating than Battlefield Bad Company 2 which is in my opinion the greatest First Person Shooter since Call of Duty 4. I do not recommend buying this game. At most you could rent it for the mediocre campaign. The multiplayer will just frustrate you more than entertain you. I recommend you pick up Battlefield Bad Company 2 for an entertaining gaming session or even Call of Duty 4. Expand
  41. JulianF
    Mar 29, 2010
    1
    Complete trash! This game is a huge waste of money and time. Being a huge fan of the COD series since COD2, I can say that this is one of the worst multiplayer experiences I have had to date. The game is a huge letdown. It definitely does not live up to its huge hype and reputation. Anyone who rated this game above a 5 must have a lot of patience and be relatively new to the COD series. Complete trash! This game is a huge waste of money and time. Being a huge fan of the COD series since COD2, I can say that this is one of the worst multiplayer experiences I have had to date. The game is a huge letdown. It definitely does not live up to its huge hype and reputation. Anyone who rated this game above a 5 must have a lot of patience and be relatively new to the COD series. The single player is decent, but very short. It makes me laugh when people say, "Don't play it on easy and it won't be short!" I finished the game on veteran difficulty in 6 hours with ease and completed spec ops mode on veteran by myself (without the help of friends) in a very short amount of time. Multiplayer is a complete joke. The game is catered to the new and casual gamers for FPS games and requires no gaming skill what so ever. A retarded monkey could play and succeed online. The assult rifles are completely overpowered and unbalanced making every other gun in the game obsolete. The knife in the game is complete BS. You can teleport 20 feet and stab someone while being invincible during the lunge. Custom killstreaks ruin this game. 90% of the players camp to obtain killstreaks and do not play the game the way it was intended. Cheating and glitching is destroying this game. Infinity Ward will patch a glitch weeks after it was discovered, then 10 minutes after the patch, someone finds another way to do the same glitch and exploits it. Basically, they fix 1 problem and create another or more. Boosting for ranks/unlocks, glitched ranked lobbies, hacked classes (have 3 main guns instead of 1 and a secondary, 4 perks instead of 3, automatic weapons which shouldn't be automatic), game-ending nukes in care packages from hackers, thermal vision without the thermal scope, unlimited UAV's, aimbots (which have now come to the consoles), unlimited grenade launchers with ridiculous explosion damage, LAG, LAG, and more LAG, a 1200 MS point map pack, and a spawn system that is atrocious. The game has been out for almost 5 months and it is still plagued with these frustrating and irratating problems that are going to be the downfall of this game and could possibly destroy the series for many hardcore fans. Don't believe me, search on youtube for "MW2 terrible spawn system" or "MW2 online mods." If you would like to raise your blood pressure, curse uncontrollably at your tv, and make your blood boil, then Modern Garbagefare 2 is for you. If you want a fun and enjoyable game to play online, stick with COD4, Halo 3, or the new Battlefield: Bad Company 2! Expand
  42. MichaelV
    Mar 5, 2010
    4
    Most overrated game of all time!!!!!! *Spoiler alert* The story is crap. They don't even explain that the soldiers you're killing at the end are part of a private army the General controls. I had to look that up on one of Infinity Wards formers where they explained it. The Airport scene where you go through and kill innocent people is almost completely pointless. This could have Most overrated game of all time!!!!!! *Spoiler alert* The story is crap. They don't even explain that the soldiers you're killing at the end are part of a private army the General controls. I had to look that up on one of Infinity Wards formers where they explained it. The Airport scene where you go through and kill innocent people is almost completely pointless. This could have easily been shown in a cut scene. And if you don't do it the game completely skips over the end of that area which is the ground work for why all hell breaks loose. Plus, this scene of the game is suppose to have a lot of shock value to it. Making you hate the terrorists even more for what they've done. And then at the end you're not rewarded with going after the bad guy, not you go after this general to get revenge, because your team got set up for starting this war between Russia and the US. So, the terrorists go free at the end. Lame. The campaign only took me a little over 5 hours to complete the first time through and just under 4.5 the second. Thats sad. What the heck. What happened to making campaigns a complete experience? I was so pissed off at the end, because there I was thinking sweet, now we're going after the real bad guys. Nope, just ends. Infinity Ward was completely lazy about the campaign. I'm glad they didn't win Game of the year. They don't deserve it for this one. The only reason I didn't give this a lower score is because the online is great. It's literally the only reason to play this game. So if you aren't into multiplayer, do yourself a favor and skip this one. Not worth the full price. Wait for it drop down to 20-30 bucks. Then consider it. Expand
  43. DerrickM
    Mar 5, 2010
    5
    It's not the best game ever. It's not utter trash. It's just another cookie-cutter FPS game. For the value, the campaign is way too short, and doesn't live up to the expectations of even its predecessor. It's obvious that MW2 was designed around multiplayer, with the majority of features just being the unlockables. While the game itself looks and sounds great, the It's not the best game ever. It's not utter trash. It's just another cookie-cutter FPS game. For the value, the campaign is way too short, and doesn't live up to the expectations of even its predecessor. It's obvious that MW2 was designed around multiplayer, with the majority of features just being the unlockables. While the game itself looks and sounds great, the novelty quickly wears off and, unless you strive to grind out levels and perks online, will be shelved within a week. Expand
  44. LiamF
    Mar 6, 2010
    4
    This game is very over-hyped by magazine reviewers for what it is. The story is good, although very short, the multiplayer at first appears to be good.. until you start playing it properly. The multiplayer is unbalanced, ruined and frustrating. No other multiplayer game makes me want to smash the Xbox up like this one. Akimbo Shotguns with stupid ranges, n00b tubing, ridiculous perks and This game is very over-hyped by magazine reviewers for what it is. The story is good, although very short, the multiplayer at first appears to be good.. until you start playing it properly. The multiplayer is unbalanced, ruined and frustrating. No other multiplayer game makes me want to smash the Xbox up like this one. Akimbo Shotguns with stupid ranges, n00b tubing, ridiculous perks and stupid kill streaks ruin this as a multiplayer FPS. COD4 was fun, simple, and alot more fun than this, COD6 is just a paradise for dirty players having a field day. I shall be trading my copy for Bad Company 2 very soon. Expand
  45. McjaggerS
    Apr 12, 2010
    2
    Campaign is better than i hoped. spec opps is incredibly annoying because they had to make some of them harder than others by a mile. the multiplayer is something i want to talk about. do people that review this game actually play the MP. i mean really lets compare its mp to other big MP games like halo 3 and bad company 2. i went through the leaderboards and i went through of about Campaign is better than i hoped. spec opps is incredibly annoying because they had to make some of them harder than others by a mile. the multiplayer is something i want to talk about. do people that review this game actually play the MP. i mean really lets compare its mp to other big MP games like halo 3 and bad company 2. i went through the leaderboards and i went through of about 100-200 pages of hackers and 10th prestige lobbiers. try this also sit down one day and play cod for a whole day if u dont get frustrated ur on something. because people have an attitude to self-satisfaction and dont think its a team game. it took Infinaty ward 2 games to figure out that people use cage match for boosting. and they dont punish people that hack or do 10th prestige lobbiers. seeing how this game is mostly MP and thats the worst when the SP is so much better. if u disagree ur most likely one of those people that nube tube, spam grenades, use the famas, or some other stupid thing. at sometimes u have fun until u die because of a nube when ur killstreak was 23. ugh people that support this game to much. Expand
  46. LeeH.
    Apr 12, 2010
    1
    A huge letdown in every department. What on Earth has happened to this once-glorious franchise? Single-player - Pathetically inept plot, full of holes. Russia invade the USA purely because they find one dead body of an undercover American agent responsible for a terrorist attack carried out by 5 men with Russian accents? Come on!! That makes Armageddon's plot look good! My REAL issue A huge letdown in every department. What on Earth has happened to this once-glorious franchise? Single-player - Pathetically inept plot, full of holes. Russia invade the USA purely because they find one dead body of an undercover American agent responsible for a terrorist attack carried out by 5 men with Russian accents? Come on!! That makes Armageddon's plot look good! My REAL issue with single player is the challenge. Or lack of. Had I paid the £54.99 asking price, I would be absolutely insulted. I am not particularly good at FPS games, but finishing the game on Veteran on my first playthrough in 7 hours is simply unacceptable. The game is ridiculously easy, whereas World At War took me 3 months to earn those achievements and made me feel like I EARNED them. Day two, Spec-Ops. Hmmmmm. It was okay. I guess. Again, me and my friend who played them together online did them all on Veteran in one evening, and neither of us are all that good. The only tough one was the Echo mission in the Favela of Juggernauts, which did take us 8 or 9 attempts. Otherwise, it was a very poor comparison to the Zombie mode on World At War. Day 3 - multiplayer. Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. Rewarding you for dying? FAIL. Having multiple gunships / choppers in the sky at once which makes venturing outside impossible? FAIL. Customisable kill streak rewards where everyone tries to do the same thing? FAIL. Lack of party chat support in Team Deathmatch so you have to listen to children under the age of 12 abusing each other from the safety of their microphone? EPIC FAIL. Level design which encourages people to stay in one place? FAIL. Guns which have virtually no difference between them? FAIL. When you have a multiplayer model as succesful as Modern Warfare and World At War, is there really a need to try and overhaul it to an almost unrecognisable level? Personally, I think no. I find it baffling that no beta testing was conducted on the multiplayer - as surely so many of the glitches and issues could have been identified and rectified prior to release. Day four - traded in at GAME, got the purchase price in trade-in value and bought Uncharted on PS3. Infinity Ward and Activision have really damaged themselves with this effort, and I actually find it very refreshing to see that on my first visit to this website, there are a great many people who agree with my own view on this game. It's not the worst game in the world, by any means. But for all the hype, all the history and all the promise, it gets a 1 purely because it fails to deliver in the most spectacular fashion I think I have ever witnessed. Epic FAIL. Expand
  47. MattJ.
    Apr 16, 2010
    1
    All right I'm mad this game has content that could all be added to COD 4 and wouldn't split up one of the best communities ever! What was added to MW2 to justify a new game with a $60 price tag? Spec-ops mode, which is a co-op mode that could have easily been added to COD 4 for free! Multi-player that only adds two things, killstreak rewards and new maps that's it folks! All right I'm mad this game has content that could all be added to COD 4 and wouldn't split up one of the best communities ever! What was added to MW2 to justify a new game with a $60 price tag? Spec-ops mode, which is a co-op mode that could have easily been added to COD 4 for free! Multi-player that only adds two things, killstreak rewards and new maps that's it folks! All of that could have easily been added to COD 4 for free. So what your left with is the single-player missions which are far inferior than COD 4. Nuff said the gaming industry has officially become a disgrace! Expand
  48. RachaelB
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    Considering the hype for this game, the fact that Infinity Ward/Activision issued a patch to disable trophies means I can't play the single player. Add to that the friend invite system is broken and you can only play in random online matches means I was sold a bill of goods that doesn't live up to its claims.
  49. KBeat
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    I guess I'm among the few that purchased the game primarily for the single player experience. As such, I'm disappointed. It's far too short and way over the top. There isn't any single moment that stuns you like the nuke in Modern Warfare 1, because there are too many over-the-top events to make any one stand out. It's a good game, but a let down from the first.
  50. JustinS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Basically it takes the highly-acclaimed and great game of Call of Duty 4 and vastly improves every aspect of it. Also adds Spec Ops mode, which adds a lot more value to the game. Fans of FPS' shouldn't pass this one up.
  51. SamS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I haven't been able to stop playing. It is great, mutliplayer and single player are phenomenal. The only reason I am not playing right now is because my power went out. Hooray for the Blackberry.
  52. JamesT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could ever hope for. This game is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  53. ZachS
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    This game is very bad. I have had it for a week, and I must say that this is THE worst first person shooter of all time hands down. Haze? Perfect Dark? They don't even compare to the level of poor graphics and gameplay contained within the game. I give this a 4.0 for poor effort.
  54. Kyleg
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody wankers. Anyway, although the campaign is short (which FPS campaign isn't these days?), it's far more involved than MW 1's. Larger environments, fully rendered 3d backdrops, TONS of enemies, and more awe-inspiring moments than MW 1. That's right, alex m., MORE, not less. The airport level was pretty enjoyable and disturbing. I like shooting unarmed virtual civilians. They aren't real, you thin-skinned whiners. Crazy events are thrown at the player left and right, but they all fit in with the story. You'd be hard-pressed to find a more intense and challenging FPS campaign. Multiplayer is just amazing. There are a lot more options when it comes to customizing your classes. The maps are interesting, and some are huge. More kill streak perks and the addition of death streak perks add even MORE fun. Thankfully, the death streak perks are nothing too big to be completely annoying. I was afraid they may be, but IW didn't do anything stupid. Great game, worth the price. Expand
  55. SamJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I hate to jump on the bandwagon, but a single player campaign that doesn't even break the 5 hour mark is a little ridiculous. I.W. may think that the length doesn't matter, but all the feedback proves otherwise don't it? Seriously the length (or lack of) really ruined this game for me, althougt admittedly i still did enjoy it while it lasted.
  56. MaxS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    This game held a lot of promise and the SP was not half bad. Unfortunately the MP is where it's at - and this game is a major disappointing. To list the number of features which are not missing or the things which are now impossible as compared to cod4 would be too exhaustive. Sufficed to say, many things are missing, things which many PC gamers including myself expect to be standard This game held a lot of promise and the SP was not half bad. Unfortunately the MP is where it's at - and this game is a major disappointing. To list the number of features which are not missing or the things which are now impossible as compared to cod4 would be too exhaustive. Sufficed to say, many things are missing, things which many PC gamers including myself expect to be standard as part of any good game. Personally, the biggest problems with the new multiplayer system are the very low maximum number of players, 0 ping advantage for host, lag spikes, copycat perk (what's the point of leveling up?), and in general IW seems to take a lot of control / customisation away from us - which ultimately serves to worsen the experience. I sincerely hope there will be a patch to add dedicated servers, modding and lean. Lean is another great thing missing from this game. All in all, not worth the money it is selling for. Expand
  57. MikeH
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The PC release of this game is flawed beyond all expectations. Not only do the people who bought it on Steam have to wait 2 extra days to play, us Europeans have been screwed even further by IW refusing dedicated server support. Ping to IWNET servers is horrible, and 9x9 on PCs is a joke. The 360 version is no better. Unstable, the story is cliche and having a Russian antagonist is just silly.
  58. COD
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I take issue that the graphics of this game is no better then COD4 yet they ask $60 for this game. The story line is no better then the COD4. And, it's no longer then COD4. The SP aspect of this game offers nothing interesting that suggests why they are asking for a higher price. The one thing that I really disliked is that many online matches are up to12 players only (6v6) and a few I take issue that the graphics of this game is no better then COD4 yet they ask $60 for this game. The story line is no better then the COD4. And, it's no longer then COD4. The SP aspect of this game offers nothing interesting that suggests why they are asking for a higher price. The one thing that I really disliked is that many online matches are up to12 players only (6v6) and a few that are lower then that. I never read that the online player count would offer lower then 18 (9v9)! The maps that are 6v6 are IMO to large for such a low player count and you will find yourself walking around and checking the scoreboard just to make sure your not the only person playing the game. This is why I gave it a 0 rating. I do not see any real creativity in the SP and MP that warrants it's current price. Expand
  59. HenkR
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very engaging, and it is backed up by one of the best online shooter experiences to date. Expand
  60. MichaelAn
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    As a PC player I was truly disappointed with this game. I made the mistake of pre-ordering it before reading about its massively stripped features. I'm now stuck with a game not worth anywhere near the price I paid for it, and one I have no interest in playing again once I play through the single player in after 4 hours. Great.
  61. Jorge
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    This game is just BS. It is obvious Activision shelled out the big bucks to those a$$ wipe reviewers. Unbelievable that something so serious as giving a professional opinion has come some low that seems prostitution. Really, get this game at your own risk!!!
  62. JosephS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Short single player campaign No dedicated servers Peer to peer hosting 100ms as standard Host has the latency advantage ~10 second pause when the host disconnects No custom content like maps, mods Forced DLC with a price tag 9v9 max 65 FoV No console No recording No lean 'Tactical' nuke All of this for just $60. Although it does have some great features such as mouse support, Short single player campaign No dedicated servers Peer to peer hosting 100ms as standard Host has the latency advantage ~10 second pause when the host disconnects No custom content like maps, mods Forced DLC with a price tag 9v9 max 65 FoV No console No recording No lean 'Tactical' nuke All of this for just $60. Although it does have some great features such as mouse support, in-game text and graphics options. Expand
  63. CheezB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I honestly see no reason to buy a game that gives such a kick in the balls to PC gamers. I can not see why they would remove so many elements that have become assumed features of a PC game. It is a shame that so much work has been put into making such a great looking game with apparently great gameplay, but ruined in this way.
  64. EzdarothThegreat
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The main reason for this rating, is that some random laptop with 1mbit upload bandwidth doesn't quite compare to game server provider's rack server with 100mbit upload. Any PC-gamer that doesn't like latency shouldn't even take a look at the multiplayer, just for the sake of Infinity Ward using much worse system in order to avoid extra work on the PC-version. When The main reason for this rating, is that some random laptop with 1mbit upload bandwidth doesn't quite compare to game server provider's rack server with 100mbit upload. Any PC-gamer that doesn't like latency shouldn't even take a look at the multiplayer, just for the sake of Infinity Ward using much worse system in order to avoid extra work on the PC-version. When Infinity Ward gave us the news they won't support the PC-community, few other companies hinted the same way. This way they are hurting the whole PC-gaming community, since the core features of PC-gaming are being taken off. The server system would be enough for 0 rating alone, but the fact that many other aspects of the game have been ruined makes me want to rate it negative. Killing the mod community and not even having a command console is something you can't accept on PC. Expand
  65. montyq
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Good graphics, but activision didnt need to charge so much for it, i know its all about making money at the end of the day but they didnt have to rip us off, activision knew it would sell anyway so why!. anyway ive seen it but ill leave this for the screaming school kids that seem to dominate the online xbox community. Teenage Kids, I hate them as they know how to ruin a perfectly good Good graphics, but activision didnt need to charge so much for it, i know its all about making money at the end of the day but they didnt have to rip us off, activision knew it would sell anyway so why!. anyway ive seen it but ill leave this for the screaming school kids that seem to dominate the online xbox community. Teenage Kids, I hate them as they know how to ruin a perfectly good online game. Expand
  66. RomanH
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    As a PC user I am upset and ashamed that IW has betrayed the same fans that supported them when they broke off from the MOHAA team and started their own studio. I'm sure everyone's well aware of the chart that's been floating around, which proves that IW not only didn't add anything new to MW2, but in fact they removed MANY key features. In fact, almost all the As a PC user I am upset and ashamed that IW has betrayed the same fans that supported them when they broke off from the MOHAA team and started their own studio. I'm sure everyone's well aware of the chart that's been floating around, which proves that IW not only didn't add anything new to MW2, but in fact they removed MANY key features. In fact, almost all the features that made CoD4 great have been removed. I feel that my rating of this game as a 3 isn't as much as a penalty, but a favor to IW because they deserve much less with this abomination. Expand
  67. AbrahamM
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Trash. Gameplay is weak and unimaginative. Revolting graphics and terrible sound. Multiplayer is ridiculously similar (in a bad way) to the previous two installments. Nothing new. Just rinsing and repeating for Activison and sadly gamers are loving it.
  68. JohnK
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The gameplay is tired and repetative, and it gennerally lacks innovation seeing as this is the third in the series to use the exact same multiplayer format. I expected better from infinity ward.
  69. CW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont be surprised to have the hairs on the back of your neck standing on many occasions. The campaign is much more varied this time through with the story taking place all over the world. The major gripe for me with the campaign is the AWFUL AI still hasnt been sorted since COD2. The enemy will only try and kill you, the second you emerge from cover almost every enemy in the area will instantly turn on you and your almost killed instantly on the harder difficulties. The other problem is the enemy always know where you are even if you've done nothing to blow your cover. Hide in a building away from your team and expect grenade spam galore through the window. This is and the length of the campaign are the only faults that come to mind and it is definately very enjoyable. The main attraction for most is the multiplayer. Think of it as MW1 only much more polished. You have so much to unlock such as awards, killstreaks, weapons, perks etc that is does get very addicting. The only negative that comes to mind is the fact there are more lame ways to be killed. Aswell as airstrikes and choppers there as missiles, stealth bombers and even a nuke. This is a good thing yeah, but it does become being killed AGAIN by a stealth bomber. Aswell the competetive multiplayer theres a special ops which you can do alone or with a friend. This is definately an excellent game, not the "B3ST G4M3 3V4!!!" but one definately worth a purchase if you have Xbox Live. Those without just rent it. Expand
  70. ScottM
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    They PC port plays like a console game. No adjustments to the FOV and no dedicated server makes this a game to pass on if you are a PC Gamer. Purchase it on the console if you can leave with the dated graphics since this is what the game was built for. To bad Infinity Ward ignored the PC gamers. Pass on this one, try again next year.
  71. BradP
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did when you played COD4. Expand
  72. NoahS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this game. It is epic all out war and the funnest multiplayer experience I have ever had, the only reason it has such a low score is because the non-haters are still playing CoD online
  73. JonathanA
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    First off, as of now, with 185 user votes, the game only has a 5.4... What in the heck is up with that? Have you even played the game? It's incredible! No fan boy from me. Multiplayer is just amazing and the campaign, though short, is stunning. Spec Ops is more fun then any other co-op game I've ever played. Better then horde, L4D, Firefight, etc... Best FPS ever maybe.
  74. AdamK.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Unplayable. Homogenizing the PC version down to the console level sets a dangerous precedent that should not be accepted. The amount of good features sacrificed so that users can one-click join games is beyond unreasonable.
  75. MattT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Poor show. The tasteless airport level and a generally childish approach to conflict negate any excitement that may have been had. A real shame given what a triumph COD4 was. There's a lot of noise and a lot of shouting. But sadly, not a lot of fun.
  76. VdekD
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    Single Player is alright, but way too short, $60 for a 5 hour single player game is not right... Multiplayer is horrible, well I should say it's horrible for anyone that isn't me since I usually end up being chosen host for games. While other players are pushing 100-200 pings I have a ping of 0, it's not even fair. Like shooting fish in a barrel.
  77. IMac
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I dont understand all of the negative ratings. Although the came is extremely similar to COD4, it still expands on the formula perfectly. I think that if the game was any different, it would be worse. It is the perfect shooter.
  78. StephanE.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I don't know why this game only has a user rating of 5.5... All I know is that this game is awesome and a must buy for every shooter fan out there. I didn't give it a 10 because when playing multiplayer, you cannot use the Xbox Live Chat and must be in game chat, otherwise you cannot play online. I don't think this was neccesary. I believe the game could have done without.
  79. NathanielD
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    An extreme dissapointment, where CoD4 brought great change and new features, This just improves it slightly. With the asking price so high, the 7 hour campaign is utterly insulting. Multiplayer is of course great, if you somehow figure out how to filter out the idoits.
  80. BillD
    Dec 8, 2009
    3
    This should have been a multiplayer only game. The story is the worst I have played this year. Half the time you're like "what the hell is going on now?" It is obvious that IW just wanted to make a bunch of random maps for the multiplayer and then tried to link them with a story. The character development is literally non-existant, and from the story jumping all over the place This should have been a multiplayer only game. The story is the worst I have played this year. Half the time you're like "what the hell is going on now?" It is obvious that IW just wanted to make a bunch of random maps for the multiplayer and then tried to link them with a story. The character development is literally non-existant, and from the story jumping all over the place sometimes you're unsure who you are. The visuals aren't very good and the sound is absolutely aweful (especially when it comes to the soundtrack). What we have here is another company selling DLC at full price; think ODST but for COD. This game is completely over-hyped almost as much as GTA:IV but at least GTA had some major improvements from the previous one. If you have COD4 don't bother with this one unless you need some new maps. I can't believe the VGA's nominated this for game of the year it should have been up for DLC of the year. The multiplayer is pathetic,too. Like how about adding more players. Oh yeah then they would need dedicated servers. Also adding some realism to the game like guns with realistic recoil instead of making it even more Noob friendly. Expand
  81. ZackH
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    The multiplayer is another boring imitation of the first one in that, you reach lvl 70, prestige, and repeat. The gameplay is catered alot to casual players in which when they do something good they get stupid messages filling up their screen that they killed someone. Aside from the poor physics, spawning mechanics, and map design, the overall objective based games are relatively The multiplayer is another boring imitation of the first one in that, you reach lvl 70, prestige, and repeat. The gameplay is catered alot to casual players in which when they do something good they get stupid messages filling up their screen that they killed someone. Aside from the poor physics, spawning mechanics, and map design, the overall objective based games are relatively pointless now since everything can be ended with a Nuke. If your a casual gamer and want to buy, be my guest, but for competitive and clanning players would want to stay far away from this. Expand
  82. DerkM
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only real problems with this game are the lagging (which will be a problem with in online multiplayer game so it doesn't bother me), and the fact that the campaign is short, which only sets up for more games. This is pretty much as close to perfect as you can get!!! Expand
  83. NickW
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    Ok the game still has a somewhat addictive online play, but it lacks any decent offline experience and certainly doesnt innovate. Offline features a very average story and on veteran can be polished off in 3-4 hours. The co-op is a nice addition but has been done better elsewhere (L4D), but more importantly the multiplayer just isnt up to scratch with recycled game engine / graphics and Ok the game still has a somewhat addictive online play, but it lacks any decent offline experience and certainly doesnt innovate. Offline features a very average story and on veteran can be polished off in 3-4 hours. The co-op is a nice addition but has been done better elsewhere (L4D), but more importantly the multiplayer just isnt up to scratch with recycled game engine / graphics and horrendously designed maps that are far too open, far too campable with sitting/camping being the 'best' tactic as it gets you most K/D ratio. Its like this game punishes you for moving and is really more a stealth/sitting/reaction game than a fps. The killstreak perks although nice to use are annoying especially on HC S&D when you want to get into the game and you forget cold-blooded is the only perk you may have in 2nd slot as a missile/plane/bomb/something falls out the sky to annoy you(and those stupid grenade launchers). Riot shields were added so yet the noobs who this game caters too are given something new to annoy everybody with. Overall the game is catered for rubbish players with ultra easy aiming and all the noob weapons/perks you could want and this isnt a rant cause I cant win, ive got 3.5+ k/d ratio and 1.4+ w/l ratio attributed from claymore > one man army > claymore > sit > kill. Oh, and the lag at start of some games coupled with the host advantage when I get given host is something new to this installment (P2P is dated technology on consoles now, Dedicated Servers should be a must). Expand
  84. JimH
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    An embarassment to what should be a good game. Last time I checked, great games had both amazing mutliplayer AND single player. Unfortunately, MW2 lacks in the single player department in every way, and the multiplayer feels more like an expansion. Sad.
  85. NickT.
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    Ok, I admit it. I was eagerly waiting for this game to come out. I soon find out, however, that Modern Warfare 2 is just that: Modern Warfare with a 2 on it. In one sentence, it is a recycled piece of garbage that Activision shoved out into public so that they can get mo' munnies. Campaign: Short, Actiony, and NO STORY. Nevertheless, the multiplayer is still exhilarating. This game Ok, I admit it. I was eagerly waiting for this game to come out. I soon find out, however, that Modern Warfare 2 is just that: Modern Warfare with a 2 on it. In one sentence, it is a recycled piece of garbage that Activision shoved out into public so that they can get mo' munnies. Campaign: Short, Actiony, and NO STORY. Nevertheless, the multiplayer is still exhilarating. This game also lowered my expectations for Activision entirely. What's Modern Warfare 3 going to be? More Soap McTaverish and new weapons shit? No. I will not have it. Expand
  86. LeahR
    Jan 15, 2010
    0
    Short, ridiculous, over-scripted single-player campaign with a gimmicky "controversial" scene that seems designed to create buzz and move sales. Awful multiplayer without dedicated servers, and consequently riddled with hackers and cheaters. Abysmal experience all around. And to top it off, the curiously overwhelmingly positive "professional critic" reviews are surrounded by rumors of Short, ridiculous, over-scripted single-player campaign with a gimmicky "controversial" scene that seems designed to create buzz and move sales. Awful multiplayer without dedicated servers, and consequently riddled with hackers and cheaters. Abysmal experience all around. And to top it off, the curiously overwhelmingly positive "professional critic" reviews are surrounded by rumors of being bought off. MW2 is a clusterfuck, a sad symbol of the current state of triple-A, big-budget gaming and the Hollywood-like stupidity and corruption that is destroying it. Expand
  87. TonyM.
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    I dont know what you people have, this is a great game, i love the multiplayer part. If u dont like it, go play your BF:Bad company or Operation Flashpoint. Just dont be jealous cause these failgames dont have such a great and BIG multiplayer community, gameplay etc.
  88. SimonD
    Jan 17, 2010
    2
    The campaing is stupid and disjointed. No "nobody makes the first jump" moments hwere. The oil rig is dull and slowcompared to the ship. No location is as good as the East Europe levels. You can't LAN in Spec Ops. Multiplayer is the most stupid set of glitch-fests you have ever seen, it's a game where campers manage killstreaks. HALO has unsurpassed multiplayer, but if The campaing is stupid and disjointed. No "nobody makes the first jump" moments hwere. The oil rig is dull and slowcompared to the ship. No location is as good as the East Europe levels. You can't LAN in Spec Ops. Multiplayer is the most stupid set of glitch-fests you have ever seen, it's a game where campers manage killstreaks. HALO has unsurpassed multiplayer, but if you're looking for something else, try Bad Company. Modern Warfare was a stand-out, landmark game. This is more like a badly-made expansion pack - an insult to a once-mighty series. Expand
  89. DaveB
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    it's an amazing game, the only thing that keeps it from getting a 10 is the glitches in MP, Special OPS is a kool addition, and SP is action packed.
  90. MatthewB
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    Yes, this game is spectacular looking, and the gameplay is fluid and fun. But the single player campaign is CRAZY short...even shorter than the first game. My only knock of the first Modern Warfare was that the single player campaign was way too short. Rather than fixing that one flaw in an otherwise excellent game and giving buyers their money's worth, they went the opposite Yes, this game is spectacular looking, and the gameplay is fluid and fun. But the single player campaign is CRAZY short...even shorter than the first game. My only knock of the first Modern Warfare was that the single player campaign was way too short. Rather than fixing that one flaw in an otherwise excellent game and giving buyers their money's worth, they went the opposite direction, focusing almost entirely on multiplayer and leaving those of us who only play single player or have connection/lag problems out in the cold. What's there is fun, but just not worth the money. Not sure why everyone makes such a big deal about this game, when there are better alternatives like Bad Company and the Rainbow Six Vegas series out there. Expand
  91. KylerN
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    The plot was pretty transparent but IW is definitely bringing new content to the table. I wasn't happy about the short campaign and the uninspiring plot which lacked the impressive moments in the first one. I would applaud IW for the second level of the game, pushing the envelope on what games can show and represent. Halfway through, I think the story was lost in translation. The The plot was pretty transparent but IW is definitely bringing new content to the table. I wasn't happy about the short campaign and the uninspiring plot which lacked the impressive moments in the first one. I would applaud IW for the second level of the game, pushing the envelope on what games can show and represent. Halfway through, I think the story was lost in translation. The special ops missions are a delight, although most are recycled from the the first mw and this campaigns. Many events were over-the-top excitement but the periods of intense events and suddenly (and constantly) losing consciousness and changing to another plot element was unevenly paced. Overall it's an amazing game and on bar with the first one, if only the plot was as polished as the rest of the game. Expand
  92. christ
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Best game i have played nice that you can go up in level more games like this for the people!!!
  93. BrandonJ
    Jan 6, 2010
    6
    yea its got good graphics, large multiplayer community, but half life 2 was released five years ago, and has just as good graphics and plenty more extras. My biggest concern about the COD games is the health system, get shot a few times, heal to full health, repeat 500 times and you are still alive. NOT very realistic when that is what they were trying to do. I do give it credit for yea its got good graphics, large multiplayer community, but half life 2 was released five years ago, and has just as good graphics and plenty more extras. My biggest concern about the COD games is the health system, get shot a few times, heal to full health, repeat 500 times and you are still alive. NOT very realistic when that is what they were trying to do. I do give it credit for gaining all of the hype, only to disappoint fans. Expand
  94. AM
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    Online multi-player is alright, though it's a bit overwhelming for us old folk. Spec Ops is kinda cool with two people. The campaign was obviously not well planned out. It's just a series of situations - no real story. CoD 4 was a much much stronger campaign.
  95. Michaelc
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    Very short but very enjoyable campaign in a quick summary. The plot is pretty bland and the playable characters poor. You feel you don't really give a damn about what happens to them during the story except Price and MacTabish and it's only really because of CoD4 that you like them anyway. The multiplayer is amazing although the maps are less impressive than CoD4's maps. Very short but very enjoyable campaign in a quick summary. The plot is pretty bland and the playable characters poor. You feel you don't really give a damn about what happens to them during the story except Price and MacTabish and it's only really because of CoD4 that you like them anyway. The multiplayer is amazing although the maps are less impressive than CoD4's maps. There are too many gimmicks in the classes now... I mean shotguns as a secondary makes the game really noobish at points and the increases melee distance is also infuriating. Other than that the multiplayer is flawless. Expand
  96. TimothyT
    Feb 16, 2010
    6
    The campaign isn't that good, the story doesn't make much sense, the gameplay is very linear, and it doesn't last very long. That said, there are some dramatic set pieces and great moments to be had. The multiplayer is very heavy on content, but very light on balance, that's pretty much all there is to it. Spec Ops is an absolute blast when played with a friend, and The campaign isn't that good, the story doesn't make much sense, the gameplay is very linear, and it doesn't last very long. That said, there are some dramatic set pieces and great moments to be had. The multiplayer is very heavy on content, but very light on balance, that's pretty much all there is to it. Spec Ops is an absolute blast when played with a friend, and provides a good, albeit sometimes frustrating challenge. Expand
  97. Slimdwiz
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    The graphics are very well detailed with enviorments and soldiers looking very life-like.The music is very well put together for each level making you feel apart of the action.With the voice acting also begining very much acceptable.The gameplay has a much more tighter feel than the original Modern Warfare,but the short single-player campaign mode could have been a little The graphics are very well detailed with enviorments and soldiers looking very life-like.The music is very well put together for each level making you feel apart of the action.With the voice acting also begining very much acceptable.The gameplay has a much more tighter feel than the original Modern Warfare,but the short single-player campaign mode could have been a little longer.Multiplayer is where the game really shines.You get to level up,and perks,just like the original,but this time you have the ability to call in air strikes,from Stealth Bombers,AC-130's,and even Tactical Nuke,and much more.Even get care packages after a certain amount of kills.This game has a lot of replay value with one of the best multiplayer systems and a co-op spec ops mode that's separate from the main campaign. Expand
  98. BIGWILL
    Feb 19, 2010
    9
    Ok this game is still the bomb all you kids out there with all the complaints about no long story mode go play fucking mass affect cod is a multyplayer game its called xbox live if you dont have it quit being poor get a job and work two weeks and get a 12 month card quit being cheap the single player isnt the game its just a piece of the creame pie multyplater is where its at sure theres Ok this game is still the bomb all you kids out there with all the complaints about no long story mode go play fucking mass affect cod is a multyplayer game its called xbox live if you dont have it quit being poor get a job and work two weeks and get a 12 month card quit being cheap the single player isnt the game its just a piece of the creame pie multyplater is where its at sure theres glitches and mods but they will be fixed till then take advantage of it to rank up cause it sure aint easy on this game the reason i gave it a 9 is because i wont some team tatical cause i play for competively on gamebattles so being able to practice without the non mlg varient maps and big teams would be nice other than that they will make it even better with the DLC cant wait. Expand
  99. DylanE.
    Feb 19, 2010
    8
    The Call of Duty franchise has become notorious for in-depth campaign design and intense multiplayer action, giving other shooter such as Halo and Gears of War a run for their money. With a reputation like this, Modern Warefare 2 has obviously recieved very high expectations and, for the most part, meets then with ease. The already incredible competitive and customizible multiplayer The Call of Duty franchise has become notorious for in-depth campaign design and intense multiplayer action, giving other shooter such as Halo and Gears of War a run for their money. With a reputation like this, Modern Warefare 2 has obviously recieved very high expectations and, for the most part, meets then with ease. The already incredible competitive and customizible multiplayer component has been further improved with new innovative perks that can truely make a difference when combined with certain types of classes or weapons. The camopaign feels like a summer blockbuster film with no cut scenes giving you a unique feeling that you are in control of what happens like only a series like Call of Duty can do. From scaling icy cliffs, to driving trucks and snow mobiles, and a rewarding near death experiance at the end of the final mission with rewarding results. I wouldn't want to spoil it if you haven't played through the campaign yet. Yes, there are many scripted sequences that limit control to some extent, but this isn't a sandbox style game. It's a solid fps all the way through. The Spec Ops missions finally allow a cooperative experiance that was lacking in the first Modern Warefare. The missions are based on missions from both the Modern Warefare 2 campaign, and the Call of Duty 4 campaign. There is still no cooperative play in the campaign put Spec Ops more than makes up for that in my opinion. With all that I have said good about the game, you may be wondering why I have rated it with a 8. Sadly, this is because of the multiplayer. Yes, the overall expeirience is outstanding and perfect for fans of Counter-Stike and other tactical shooters, but in many areas, the over confidence and ignorance if Infinity Ward shows greatly. First off, there was no open beta prior to realease on any platform, not even PC (which needed it the most). The affects of this poor decision on Infinity Ward's behalf showed up almost intantly after launch. The PC version has no-dedicated servers and does not support custom content. Glitches are used constantly by annoying cheaters and a patch for these problems is yet to be released. Server connection interuptions occur frequently and lags plauge almost evey server (these are all Infinity Ward servers not dedicated servers by the way). Also, some of the perks and weapon upgrades feel very unbalanced at times. Quick scoping snipers, instant-kill shot FAMAS and M16 classes, noob-tubers dual-weilded shotguns (one shot equals one kill when both guns are fired at once), and possibly the most annoying, the "witch" class. This custom made class consists off the following perks: marathon, lightweight, and commando. Put this unstopable conbination together with a handgun equiped with the tactical knife attatchment and you've got yourself an obnoxious class that runs around getting knife streaks and annoying the living crap out everyone in the game, even his own teamates in some casses. These conbinations are not just annoying, they also take away from the realistic approach that the series has been aiming at for years now. It's a shame that a feature that was originally created for creativity and innovation has become overly abused the way it has been in this game. This being said, the multiplayer component lives up to what most fans have been waiting for, but Infinity Ward still has some issues that hopefully will be worked out the next time around. I recommend X-Box 360 and PS3 owners to buy this game if they are fans of the series or genre. However, for PC fans, your money is better spent on the upcoming Battlefield Bad Company 2. Expand
  100. Brandon
    Feb 19, 2010
    4
    What to say about Modern Warfare 2. Over hyped? Soulless? Scripted? Any of these comments and more fit in to this awful excuse for a "sequel" (I do use the term loosely) Campaign is fun , but overall short experience, and definitely needs work on the story. Special-Ops can be great when played with a close friend, but can be extremely frustrating, especially on higher difficulties. And What to say about Modern Warfare 2. Over hyped? Soulless? Scripted? Any of these comments and more fit in to this awful excuse for a "sequel" (I do use the term loosely) Campaign is fun , but overall short experience, and definitely needs work on the story. Special-Ops can be great when played with a close friend, but can be extremely frustrating, especially on higher difficulties. And then there's multiplayer. I'm sorry but, what? this is fun, balanced combat? I apologize for my directness, but modern warfare 2 has THE WORST multiplayer I've ever experienced in my entire life. I'm sure you've read the other negative reviews, and you may feel that these are the same reasons, but I'll state them anyway. Extreme latency issues cause many battles to become teleporting spray and pray battles, which is not fun. Perks are ridiculous, usually I spend all my time spawning into the liquifying orgy that is killstreaks. When the other team is winning, chances are they'll have ac130's and such along with harriers and chopper gunners making the match unplayable and unfair for the losing team. Also, balance has been removed completely. I end up on incredibly unbalanced teams and usually can't walk 2 steps after spawning without being insta-killed by an extremely overpowered weapon. I'm not going to talk about akimbo models and commando etc. because I would need an entire blog spot about that. IW was obviously more focused on creating content than fine tuning it. The maps are catered to campers, which pisses me and my friends off. Now, I'm sure many of you are have probably writ this off as a pathetic non-FPS fan's attempt to make the game look bad, but I have always loved FPS's, and have given this game a fair shot. In fact I'm level 55 (no prestige, but nonetheless). The people who write negative review's opinions matter too. Just because you believe the game is UBER AMAZING!!11! doesn't mean it is. In short, waste of $60, get it or don't, it's your decision. Don't say you weren't warned though. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.