User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2758 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrankyF
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Haters playing on PC get out of here please, this is the X360 version stop lowering the score!
  2. CraigJ
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and extremely addictive. As most players have experienced in games there are a few glitches and the maps need to be a little more random, im sick of the same map 2-3 times in row but hey nothings perfect. Expand
  3. AlexG
    Mar 2, 2010
    8
    This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far beyond call of duty's little enclosed unimaginative and quite boring maps. That said I still think call of duty deserves an 8 because it does have one of the most polished multiplayer expiriences ever. Expand
  4. DustinH
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    Modern warfare 2 is easily one of the best games of the year great story, epic gameplay, great customization, everything you could and would expect from a call of duty game is in modern warfare 2,my only probem is that the campaign is a bit on the short side but I could play hours on end in the multiplayer, stimulus package is awesome, well done Infinity Ward!!!!
  5. JimR
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a shame bitter PC players who are scared of change and unwilling to acknowledge progress (IW Net) are voting this game down. The story is short but every second of the campaign is filled with unique and intense action. To make up for this hundreds of hours can be spent in the extensive/amazing multiplayer mode and Spec-Ops.
  6. FrankieT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is great. I have been playing for 2 and a half hours and I haven't found a flaw yet. They really took the flaws of CoD4 and worked mad hard on them. They also added a ton of new features and weapons. Now this is a flawless game (so far) I haven't played much of the campaign but it seemed pretty interesting from the beginning. Highly recommended.
  7. DanielB
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part all the people were complaining about how if you cant see a person your ****ed, this is called flanking... which ads stratagy to the game...the sound is pretty amazing.. all the guns sound super realistic. overall a pretty good game. good gamplay.. allthough a lack of plot really drags the game game from a 9 to an 8.. Expand
  8. CurtB
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    Look I understand that people are upset about the length of the campaign but that is not the whole game between replay value, spec ops which is amazing and the addicting multiplayer which they managed to make even better. People are giving the game a zero for the single player which is only a third of the game and no matter how short and rediculous it is still fun. Every moment is Look I understand that people are upset about the length of the campaign but that is not the whole game between replay value, spec ops which is amazing and the addicting multiplayer which they managed to make even better. People are giving the game a zero for the single player which is only a third of the game and no matter how short and rediculous it is still fun. Every moment is non-stop holy s*** moments and innovative new ways to spice up gameplay. If it was any longer than my time would be wasted on wandering through another small russian town or a wartorn middle eastern city and than you would be complaining about that. Now spec-ops which everyone seems to be overlooking is awesome bits of purified gameplay that you can beat in five minutes and are great to tackle with a friend and work on for hours trying to get that last star on veteran. The multiplayer will be played for years to come and has been innovated enough to make it seem fresh yet warmly familiar. When this game was announced I couldn't think of any ways they could possibly innovate the multiplayer and even though you will probably stick with the same three kill streaks once you find a winning combination through all of your prestiges thay are still a fun change of pace after two years of repetedly hearing UAV is online. There are still some balancing issues bet the ones from the first game have for the most part been fixed you will still find yourself rage quitting after your almost nuke 24 kill streak is ended by a predator missle or spam grenade. That dosn't stop this game from being incredibally awesome. Buy it. There will always be someone online to play with and you are missing out if you listen to the 0 scores. Expand
  9. MarkF
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    At launch I would have given it a 6. Short campaign, Spec Op is fun, but gets hard fast. Multiplayer was full of glitches, and people who exploit said glitches. Finally Microsoft and IF have starting fixing things, by banning people who glitch and fixed some unbalanced weapons, perks, etc. People should stop complaining about mutiplayer, and just ignore them. It's fun, if you At launch I would have given it a 6. Short campaign, Spec Op is fun, but gets hard fast. Multiplayer was full of glitches, and people who exploit said glitches. Finally Microsoft and IF have starting fixing things, by banning people who glitch and fixed some unbalanced weapons, perks, etc. People should stop complaining about mutiplayer, and just ignore them. It's fun, if you don't like it leave, or return the game. Expand
  10. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Just had to give this a score of 10. Why? Simply to make up for the unfair lower scores that biased individual gives.
  11. BillC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect. Those who love it have a right to. Those who don't can't even spell words correctly in their hate comments against the game. Props to Infinity Ward for creating the best game I own.
  12. RiFfD
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Story-10 SpecialOps-10 Multiplayer-10. Looks like its an easy choice for me.
  13. DerrikT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    Most of the reviews of this game piss me off. They're either about people complaining about the multiplayer or campaign, or sounding like Infinity Ward has the finger of God or something and calling it the best FPS of all time. I have two words and I suppose a number for you. System Shock 2. In my opinion, it's a good game. Sure the story is a little far-fetched, but it's Most of the reviews of this game piss me off. They're either about people complaining about the multiplayer or campaign, or sounding like Infinity Ward has the finger of God or something and calling it the best FPS of all time. I have two words and I suppose a number for you. System Shock 2. In my opinion, it's a good game. Sure the story is a little far-fetched, but it's better to have a game with good gameplay and a crappy story than vice versa. Spec Ops is probably the best part of the game. It's fun with a friend, and the whole re-hashed missions thing doesn't bother me. Do you seriously expect them to make all new missions and maps just for Spec Ops? Might as well make a new game then. I'm indifferent about the multiplayer. Some elements about it I like, such as customizable killstreaks and new weapon attachments. But the fact that the maps are made for camping and that Marathon, Lightweight, and Commando make it so easy for people to just run around and knife is a little depressing. CoD4 kept you moving all the time. Stopping occasionally behind cover to see what's going on. If you try that in MW2, someone runs up behind you and knifes you or you get hit by a Predator missile. Overall the game is good. It's not the best, but it's a lot better than most of the stuff on the market today. Expand
  14. MikeyJ.
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    This game is very fun, but it still has problems. The overall gameplay/controls, sound, graphics, and presentation (and so on) but Infinity Ward left alot of holes in the final product (that you'd think they would have the resources to fix after cod4 alone sold 12 million copies roughly). The Campaign is good, but far too short, and can be done in roughly 5-8 hours the first time This game is very fun, but it still has problems. The overall gameplay/controls, sound, graphics, and presentation (and so on) but Infinity Ward left alot of holes in the final product (that you'd think they would have the resources to fix after cod4 alone sold 12 million copies roughly). The Campaign is good, but far too short, and can be done in roughly 5-8 hours the first time through, and much less in further attempts, and seeing how the game puts the player on a very fixed path: the game's single player replay value takes a hit. the storyline is also confusing, although someone who is willing to pay close attention to it or theorize their way through some of the plot holes can make sense of it, it falls below the standards of other popular titles. the spec-ops mode however, which can be done in co-op as well as in single player, is a massive extension on the game's replayability, and works very well, throwing you in various mini missions of diverse tasks, enviroments, and difficulties (my personal favorite mode). then theres the multiplayer, although heavily praised, its in reality very, very unbalanced. weapons are either useless or overpowered in many cases, the M1887 shotguns being a prime example of overpowered, just ask anyone who's played the game, and as soon as somone gets a killstreak they're given masses of high powered equipment/helicopters/airstrikes/drones/etc that can make life very difficult for those who have not been fortunate to get a killstreak first. alot of the game's smaller issues get to me too: how are weapons like the FAMAS, FAL and F2000 (among many others) that are used by european armies in the hands of russian soldiers when the russians use exclusively russian manufactured weapons for their military? why is the vector which uses .45 ammunition one of the weakest SMGs when in fact it should be among the most powerful? why did the game not feature co-op with up to 4 players in it's campaign mode when its predecessor, cod5, did (and why only 2 for special ops)? as mentioned at the beginning of the review, this game has problems, but it is still quite fun to play, however, it does not keep up with the standards set by MW1, and that has me a little dissapointed in IW. Expand
  15. JakeP
    Mar 12, 2010
    9
    *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being upgradeable, I now use a variety of perk combinations on all my classes. In earlier CoD games, My perks were always stopping power and deep impact. Some negatives are the way that some of the maps cater to the campers, you can't walk anywhere without being blasted by some noob that just sits in a corner and wait. The only other complaint I have are the Patched 1887's. Really, who would complain that a gun has too much range and power, especially a gun that is unlocked at level 67? that's right, 67! So we have to work hard and play for a very long time to unlock a gun that is noiw one of the most useless. May as well put it in the default class and make the spas-12 be unlocked at 67. The spas is much better now. Anyway, other than that, this game was well thought out and is one of the must-buys of the year. Expand
  16. LuckyDutch
    Mar 19, 2010
    8
    I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back to this. There are however some elements that really let it down. I don't like the new killstreak system at all. While cool in concept it promotes excessive camping to get killstreaks. UAV Jammer and EMP are good additions but the other stupid ones outshine them and sadly make them largely redundant. Secondly, knifing. Needless to say having people run around faster than Usain Bolt and lunging across rooms faster than a bullet is unreallistic and a bad decision. The knife animation is too fast aswell, you cant kill someone instantly with a wild swing. BC2 got this right. Lastly, map design. Most buildings have way too many enterances. With all the jack the rippers on speed running about having so many ways in makes a slow tactical playstyle very difficult. You can either camp or rush, no smart play here i'm afraid. Despite all this MW2 is the best online game out right now. The crazy-high sales of this game were justified but IW could have done better. COD 4 is still the benchmark. Expand
  17. JustinS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Basically it takes the highly-acclaimed and great game of Call of Duty 4 and vastly improves every aspect of it. Also adds Spec Ops mode, which adds a lot more value to the game. Fans of FPS' shouldn't pass this one up.
  18. SamS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I haven't been able to stop playing. It is great, mutliplayer and single player are phenomenal. The only reason I am not playing right now is because my power went out. Hooray for the Blackberry.
  19. JamesT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could ever hope for. This game is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  20. Kyleg
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody wankers. Anyway, although the campaign is short (which FPS campaign isn't these days?), it's far more involved than MW 1's. Larger environments, fully rendered 3d backdrops, TONS of enemies, and more awe-inspiring moments than MW 1. That's right, alex m., MORE, not less. The airport level was pretty enjoyable and disturbing. I like shooting unarmed virtual civilians. They aren't real, you thin-skinned whiners. Crazy events are thrown at the player left and right, but they all fit in with the story. You'd be hard-pressed to find a more intense and challenging FPS campaign. Multiplayer is just amazing. There are a lot more options when it comes to customizing your classes. The maps are interesting, and some are huge. More kill streak perks and the addition of death streak perks add even MORE fun. Thankfully, the death streak perks are nothing too big to be completely annoying. I was afraid they may be, but IW didn't do anything stupid. Great game, worth the price. Expand
  21. HenkR
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very engaging, and it is backed up by one of the best online shooter experiences to date. Expand
  22. CW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont be surprised to have the hairs on the back of your neck standing on many occasions. The campaign is much more varied this time through with the story taking place all over the world. The major gripe for me with the campaign is the AWFUL AI still hasnt been sorted since COD2. The enemy will only try and kill you, the second you emerge from cover almost every enemy in the area will instantly turn on you and your almost killed instantly on the harder difficulties. The other problem is the enemy always know where you are even if you've done nothing to blow your cover. Hide in a building away from your team and expect grenade spam galore through the window. This is and the length of the campaign are the only faults that come to mind and it is definately very enjoyable. The main attraction for most is the multiplayer. Think of it as MW1 only much more polished. You have so much to unlock such as awards, killstreaks, weapons, perks etc that is does get very addicting. The only negative that comes to mind is the fact there are more lame ways to be killed. Aswell as airstrikes and choppers there as missiles, stealth bombers and even a nuke. This is a good thing yeah, but it does become being killed AGAIN by a stealth bomber. Aswell the competetive multiplayer theres a special ops which you can do alone or with a friend. This is definately an excellent game, not the "B3ST G4M3 3V4!!!" but one definately worth a purchase if you have Xbox Live. Those without just rent it. Expand
  23. BradP
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did when you played COD4. Expand
  24. NoahS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this game. It is epic all out war and the funnest multiplayer experience I have ever had, the only reason it has such a low score is because the non-haters are still playing CoD online
  25. JonathanA
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    First off, as of now, with 185 user votes, the game only has a 5.4... What in the heck is up with that? Have you even played the game? It's incredible! No fan boy from me. Multiplayer is just amazing and the campaign, though short, is stunning. Spec Ops is more fun then any other co-op game I've ever played. Better then horde, L4D, Firefight, etc... Best FPS ever maybe.
  26. IMac
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I dont understand all of the negative ratings. Although the came is extremely similar to COD4, it still expands on the formula perfectly. I think that if the game was any different, it would be worse. It is the perfect shooter.
  27. StephanE.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I don't know why this game only has a user rating of 5.5... All I know is that this game is awesome and a must buy for every shooter fan out there. I didn't give it a 10 because when playing multiplayer, you cannot use the Xbox Live Chat and must be in game chat, otherwise you cannot play online. I don't think this was neccesary. I believe the game could have done without.
  28. DerkM
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only real problems with this game are the lagging (which will be a problem with in online multiplayer game so it doesn't bother me), and the fact that the campaign is short, which only sets up for more games. This is pretty much as close to perfect as you can get!!! Expand
  29. TonyM.
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    I dont know what you people have, this is a great game, i love the multiplayer part. If u dont like it, go play your BF:Bad company or Operation Flashpoint. Just dont be jealous cause these failgames dont have such a great and BIG multiplayer community, gameplay etc.
  30. DaveB
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    it's an amazing game, the only thing that keeps it from getting a 10 is the glitches in MP, Special OPS is a kool addition, and SP is action packed.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.