Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2729 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    The Good:
    - Engaging gameplay
    - Great online multiplayer
    - Fun co-op mode

    The Bad:
    - Short campaign
    - Story is hard to believe

    The Ugly:
    - Expensive DLC
  2. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    So fun with friends. Late night games back in '09. Those were the days. After Modern Warfare 3 came out, I really appreciated MW2 and even Black OPS and how much better they are than the new game. This deserves a 10 for sucking a lot of my hours .
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 shatters the old standard of excellence and has raised the bar for what it means to be an epic shooter. With a mind-shattering campaign, superb co-op play, and the deepest multiplayer experience on Live, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest shooters in gaming history, and a must-own for fans of the genre.
  4. nickp
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    idk what some of you guys are smoking but this is one of the best fps of all time. after mw1 i was a little dissapointed with world at war, but this came and just blew me away. the graphics are just amazing, story mode yes is a little short but incredibly good, spec ops very fun, and to top it off the mulpyplayer is by far the best thing ever!
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    MW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and willMW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and will definately entertain. Overall, MW2 is a great game, it keeps the elements of MW 1 that made it so great but throws in its own elelments to make itself unique. Breakdown for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 9.7, Sound: 9.6, Playability: 9.5, Entertainment Value: 9.8. Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    MW2 is a great game! Campaign is actually really good, but not as good as BO. Spec ops is ok but isn't very fun. Multiplayer is awesome! Graphics are nice for the year it was made in. MW3 was better graphic wise but gameplay is 10x better in MW2. Really worth buying.
  7. May 7, 2013
    8
    I consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and canI consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and can tolerant anything happened in this game since I have no idea how online game should like.... Anyway, I think the game is perfect new gamers, easy to start, fun to play. Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    With the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its onlyWith the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its only six hours. If you followed the story, the ending was pretty cool, and there was no huge cliff hanger that will make you throw your controller across the room in anger. Even though the campaign was short, there is still a lot more this game has to offer. Spec-Ops is the highlight of the package. Whenever my buddies come over and I don't want my multiplayer stats to be effected, Spec-Ops is always the way to go. The co-operative play is smooth and the variety of mission types is refreshing. The challenge is also very fair, and the sense of accomplishment when beating the harder missions on Veteran difficulty is unforgettable. Sure there are those moments when you are in the last section of a level and your partner just has to kill himself, but once you nail a tough level you truly feel like a gamer. Now finally comes the immensely frustrating multiplayer package. Most of the reviews you read only focus on the multiplayer and how frustrating it can be. While these reviews may be accurate the score they give the game is not. This is because their review is only for the multiplayer section of the game, and they don't take into account the exciting Spec-Ops and single player campaigns. The multiplayer for this game is extremely addicting. It is incredibly easy to hop into a game and have a blast with some friends, but there is seldom a time when your fun is ruined by players taking advantage of some of the games perks or other add-ons. Grenade launchers, commando knifing, and the spawning system are just a few of the inconveniences you may encounter. Many people stop playing the game due to the deaths they face at the hand of players who rely on tactics that do not require very much skill. If you do not take the game very seriously and just want to run around and have to fun run and gun action, it will be easy to enjoy the multiplayer. To those competitive hard-core gamers there will be much rage quitting ahead. With all parts of the package taken into account, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 delivers. The high production values are obvious, and the single and co-opertive campaigns are a blast. Sadly the multiplayer content is frustrating to say the least, and not enough effort was put in to ensure a fair and enjoyable experience. Get this game, mostly because everyone else has it, and there is always fun to be found, but sadly a lot of a frustration will come with it. Expand
  9. HenkR
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very The Call of Duty experience is well known for its linearity and inability to push the envelope on innovative game design. But what Modern Warfare 2 lacks in innovation it more then makes up for in polish. It is one of the most exciting games to come out in years and it is definitely a must-buy for people looking for a great shooter experience. The single-player game is short but very engaging, and it is backed up by one of the best online shooter experiences to date. Expand
  10. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  11. DaveL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a friend. Not too fun single player. This is easily a 10 just based on the value that I will get out of this. Anyone giving lower than an 8 is just a fanboy of Halo, KZ2, UC2, etc. This is a great game that will keep me playing for months and months. Expand
  12. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    The most awesome game in every single aspect on the CoD series . The gameplay is very smooth,the story is a little hard to follow but Epic , the multiplayer is addictive as coca-cola,the special ops is great for offline users not the best iteration but nice. The maps on the multiplayer are very well designed.
  13. JohnL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Ignore the user rating...bunch of PC gamers mad that they took away dedicated servers. This game on the 360 or PS3 is just a beast. It's even better than all the hype.
  14. May 22, 2011
    9
    I think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and II think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and I realized that I just had to write my piece on this phenomenal shooter. Call me a COD nuthugger or whatnot, but when you discard your flaming nerd rage and begin to see clearly, you realize that this really is the top notch pinnacle of military shooters in modern gaming. And yes, it far exceeds Battlefield in almost every aspect. To start, the single player is most definitely and undeniably short, ranging in the neighborhood of about 3 hours or so. But those 3 hours are so remarkably jaw-dropping that it somehow forces you after completion to return to the first level and do it all over again. The voice-acting is tremendously well done, and the graphics, even by today's standards, are simply fantastic. The storyline is extremely believable and the campaign contains some of the most exciting set pieces and action sequences that I have ever witnessed in a shooter. From the very beginning stage, all the way up until the final firefight, I was completely mesmerized at the attention to detail the developers gave this game. The intense gunfights that take place on U.S. soil left me completely wowed, and never once was there a stale moment on the campaign. The Spec Ops co-op mode is a great addition to play through with a friend, providing a host of exciting short missions to blast through. Moving on to what really amazes me is the multiplayer. Every time that I enter another match, it reminds me that this really is the king of all first person shooters. The hit markers are near flawless, aiming is extremely smooth and tight, and the arsenal of weaponry is about as close to completely balanced as you can get. Most of the maps are fantastic, save for a few camper-oriented ones that I veto on sight. The sheer amount of perks, upgrades, weapon attachments, and challenges to unlock is almost overwhelming, and never ceases to be addicting. There is literally always something to keep playing towards to unlock. The newly added unlockable titles from the first game always has me working towards something new, and the emblems as well are a pure blast to unlock. The game keeps track of a huge array of statistics, ranging from obvious headshots of a gun, all the way to the number of times you killed someone with a direct flashbang impact. However, there are still some things that should be tweaked, such as the Danger Close perk and Commando perk, which are both noob-friendly and overpowered. I am a LEGIT level 70 tenth prestige, so I believe I have enough experience to voice my opinion on this. Also, the UMP45 could use a little toning down in terms of damage, accuracy, recoil, or anything else associated with it. The killstreaks are absolutely revolutionary, since you have wannabes such as Medal of Honor and Black Ops that straight up copied the majority of them. The amount of noob campers that are crying about how trashy this game is have absolutely no idea what they're talking about, and are simply there to hate because this game is so popular. And it's popular for good reason too: it's the best military shooter on the market without a doubt. Even though the game infuriates me to no end (at times), I just take a step back and tell myself that despite all of my irrational rage, it's still the best there is, and I know that I'll go back to playing it the next day. And since the game is at a much lower price at the present, you cannot go wrong with this purchase if you enjoy military shooters or shooters in general. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. TheMy friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Collapse
  16. JimR
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a shame bitter PC players who are scared of change and unwilling to acknowledge progress (IW Net) are voting this game down. The story is short but every second of the campaign is filled with unique and intense action. To make up for this hundreds of hours can be spent in the extensive/amazing multiplayer mode and Spec-Ops.
  17. AaronR
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Great multiplayer options, but somehow it only feels marginally improved over the stellar Call of Duty 4. I like the updated perks system, but let me make one thing clear: this game's multiplayer is NOT newbie-friendly in the least. You better find a friend or two who are willing to help you out, should you find yourself new to the Call of Duty franchise. The single-player campaign, Great multiplayer options, but somehow it only feels marginally improved over the stellar Call of Duty 4. I like the updated perks system, but let me make one thing clear: this game's multiplayer is NOT newbie-friendly in the least. You better find a friend or two who are willing to help you out, should you find yourself new to the Call of Duty franchise. The single-player campaign, though intense and chock-full of OMG moments, should still be considered worthless. Most people buying this game are buying it for the multiplayer only, and many of those people will most likely end up beating the single player campaign in around 5 hours. That is simply pathetic for a game which has so much hype and praise waiting to be delivered unto it. Expand
  18. SteveM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a veteran, this has been the most thrilling and accurate representation of military action to date. Granted, the story was filled with over-the-top Hollywood excitement, I found the lingo, sound and graphics filled with such amazing details that I was having immersive flash-backs in the first five minutes.
  19. SmilingAssassin
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Let me start by saying WOW! That applies to the multiplayer modes in the game. It's early but this my be the best game at it yet(although counterstrike is as addictive as crack still). The campaign my be one of the worst things I've ever seen. An incredible dissapointment after the last Modern Warfare which I though might have been the best campaign I have ever played. Truth be Let me start by saying WOW! That applies to the multiplayer modes in the game. It's early but this my be the best game at it yet(although counterstrike is as addictive as crack still). The campaign my be one of the worst things I've ever seen. An incredible dissapointment after the last Modern Warfare which I though might have been the best campaign I have ever played. Truth be told most people don't spend a lot of time replaying the campaign and the multiplayer is absolutely outstanding. It's strange because I never cared for the last games mp but was a huge fan of the campaign. Still I don't think for the $60 you could buy anything better right now. Expand
  20. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  21. NoahS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this game. It is epic all out war and the funnest multiplayer experience I have ever had, the only reason it has such a low score is because the non-haters are still playing CoD online
  22. JonathanA
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    First off, as of now, with 185 user votes, the game only has a 5.4... What in the heck is up with that? Have you even played the game? It's incredible! No fan boy from me. Multiplayer is just amazing and the campaign, though short, is stunning. Spec Ops is more fun then any other co-op game I've ever played. Better then horde, L4D, Firefight, etc... Best FPS ever maybe.
  23. IMac
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I dont understand all of the negative ratings. Although the came is extremely similar to COD4, it still expands on the formula perfectly. I think that if the game was any different, it would be worse. It is the perfect shooter.
  24. MichealS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Other than learning the maps the entire experience is unreal. I played the multiplayer and some of the campaign and I could not put it down and will not unless I risk losing my job.
  25. RedB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game's spectacular. Picked it up last night. The production value especially makes the game worth buying, but the controls and gameplay are solid. I can't wait to jump into the multiplayer.
  26. SamG
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game and very enjoyable developing upon the great areas of the call of duty 4. The only disappointment for me is the length of single player, it took little over 6hours to complete which i don't feel is good enough for a game that charges an extra £10 over normal games rrp.
  27. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  28. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    cod mw2 single player is ok but its xbox live is great, it has a good storyto it. but do yourself a favor and click yes at the beginning of the game to skip a mission many people find it very offensive
  29. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    years of experience and tons of call of duty games have taught the creators of the call of duty series how to make a satisfying action game. the details are amazing. the plot wasn't as good as modern warfare 1, but i liked it nonetheless. looking out to modern warfare 3!
  30. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the new Call of Duty is only a few months away; I have decided to do a review on one of the biggest games of 2009. Already the makers of the game have tried to make it into an epic game by having a excellent plot. The story begins at the end of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare with the Ultra-nationalists taking over Russia and making the villian of the first Modern Warfare game (Imran Zakhaev) a hero of Russia. The gamer starts of as Private First Class Allen who helps the Rangers kill some insurgents in Afghanistan were he later finds out that he will join an elite special force who are already on a mission behind enemy lines in Kazahkstan,. The problem I have with this is that he is only a private and that they should of given the role to a more suitable role. Also with the Russians already being in Kazahkstan (I'm guessing through invasion) that the other nations of the world (especially USA) would have declared war. Anyway back to the plot, instead of playing "Soap", the gamer now plays as "Roach" who is taken under the wing of "Soap". The gamer then switches back to play as Private Allen who is sent on an undercover mission to follow Makarov and learn what he is up to. Allen has to do this by helping Makarov slaughter the innocent on Russian land. However, Makarov somehow knew that Allen was not a Russian but an American so he shoots him there and then. This then leads to the Russians blaming the Americans for the deaths of hundreds and decides to go to war against the US. Going back to playing as "Roach", the special forces find out that Makarov was behind the attack so the team head to Brazil to find out more info on the whereabouts of Makarov. They do this by interrogating Makarov's weapon dealer who tells them that Makarov's worst enemy is being held captive in a Russian Gulag under the name of Prisoner 627. This then leads to the Americans and the special forces assaulting the Gulag to then find out that Prisoner 627 was in actual fact Captain Price. The special forces then go take on a Russian Naval Base and then Captain Price activates a nuclear warhead in a Russian Sub. During this time, the gamer becomes Private Ramirez who takes part in many spectacular battles in the game; such as the Battle for the White House in Washington D.C. At this point, the US Rangers who you play as are under heavy fire and looks like all is lost until the nuclear warhead that Captain Price fired blows up in space (killing an innocent Astronaut). "Roach" and "Ghost" then go to gather data on Makarov at his safe house which leads to there sad deaths at the hand of your ally Sheperd. The gamer then plays as Soap and tries to take down Sheperd with the help of Captain Price. The gamer finds out that Sheperd did this due to the amount of soldiers who died in the nuclear explosion in the 1st modern warfare game. At the end of the game, Sheperd is killed and the remainders of the special forces go on the hunt for Makarov. Positives The story was done very well Spec Ops was a different option for the gamers to play
    I like how it gives the gamer an option to play the Russian Massacre mission Negatives The online needs fixing as the good gamers will easily destroy the average or weaker gamers Rating Overall, I would have to give Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 the rating of 8 out of 10 -- Mr Hannigan
    Expand
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. TheMy friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.