User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2565 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    So fun with friends. Late night games back in '09. Those were the days. After Modern Warfare 3 came out, I really appreciated MW2 and even Black OPS and how much better they are than the new game. This deserves a 10 for sucking a lot of my hours .
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 shatters the old standard of excellence and has raised the bar for what it means to be an epic shooter. With a mind-shattering campaign, superb co-op play, and the deepest multiplayer experience on Live, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest shooters in gaming history, and a must-own for fans of the genre.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    MW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and willMW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and will definately entertain. Overall, MW2 is a great game, it keeps the elements of MW 1 that made it so great but throws in its own elelments to make itself unique. Breakdown for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 9.7, Sound: 9.6, Playability: 9.5, Entertainment Value: 9.8. Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    The most awesome game in every single aspect on the CoD series . The gameplay is very smooth,the story is a little hard to follow but Epic , the multiplayer is addictive as coca-cola,the special ops is great for offline users not the best iteration but nice. The maps on the multiplayer are very well designed.
  6. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  7. May 22, 2011
    9
    I think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and II think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and I realized that I just had to write my piece on this phenomenal shooter. Call me a COD nuthugger or whatnot, but when you discard your flaming nerd rage and begin to see clearly, you realize that this really is the top notch pinnacle of military shooters in modern gaming. And yes, it far exceeds Battlefield in almost every aspect. To start, the single player is most definitely and undeniably short, ranging in the neighborhood of about 3 hours or so. But those 3 hours are so remarkably jaw-dropping that it somehow forces you after completion to return to the first level and do it all over again. The voice-acting is tremendously well done, and the graphics, even by today's standards, are simply fantastic. The storyline is extremely believable and the campaign contains some of the most exciting set pieces and action sequences that I have ever witnessed in a shooter. From the very beginning stage, all the way up until the final firefight, I was completely mesmerized at the attention to detail the developers gave this game. The intense gunfights that take place on U.S. soil left me completely wowed, and never once was there a stale moment on the campaign. The Spec Ops co-op mode is a great addition to play through with a friend, providing a host of exciting short missions to blast through. Moving on to what really amazes me is the multiplayer. Every time that I enter another match, it reminds me that this really is the king of all first person shooters. The hit markers are near flawless, aiming is extremely smooth and tight, and the arsenal of weaponry is about as close to completely balanced as you can get. Most of the maps are fantastic, save for a few camper-oriented ones that I veto on sight. The sheer amount of perks, upgrades, weapon attachments, and challenges to unlock is almost overwhelming, and never ceases to be addicting. There is literally always something to keep playing towards to unlock. The newly added unlockable titles from the first game always has me working towards something new, and the emblems as well are a pure blast to unlock. The game keeps track of a huge array of statistics, ranging from obvious headshots of a gun, all the way to the number of times you killed someone with a direct flashbang impact. However, there are still some things that should be tweaked, such as the Danger Close perk and Commando perk, which are both noob-friendly and overpowered. I am a LEGIT level 70 tenth prestige, so I believe I have enough experience to voice my opinion on this. Also, the UMP45 could use a little toning down in terms of damage, accuracy, recoil, or anything else associated with it. The killstreaks are absolutely revolutionary, since you have wannabes such as Medal of Honor and Black Ops that straight up copied the majority of them. The amount of noob campers that are crying about how trashy this game is have absolutely no idea what they're talking about, and are simply there to hate because this game is so popular. And it's popular for good reason too: it's the best military shooter on the market without a doubt. Even though the game infuriates me to no end (at times), I just take a step back and tell myself that despite all of my irrational rage, it's still the best there is, and I know that I'll go back to playing it the next day. And since the game is at a much lower price at the present, you cannot go wrong with this purchase if you enjoy military shooters or shooters in general. Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. TheMy friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Expand
  9. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  10. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Time and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it ModernTime and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    this game is good. the campaign was excellent with epic story and excellent plot twists and gameplay. as for the multiplayer, it is alot like the previous cod games, but with new killstreaks and perks, it keeps you hooked. There are still many bad things with this game like boosters, cheap perk combinations, stuff like that. but this is not game breaking as this is a truly excellent gmae.
  12. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better.I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better. Sure it's not completely balanced but if you get into a match without douchebags the game is probably the most fun you can have in gaming. Expand
  13. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed CODMW2. It has got great graphics and a nice gameplay. The shooting mechanics are awesome. it feels like you are totally immersed in the game and wished it had some more hours of fun, unfortunately, the game is quite short. All in all, it's a great game you'll probably enjoy
  14. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Un juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se comanUn juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se coman una mierda. Expand
  15. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I expected this game to get a lot of negative user reviews. It's an amazing game. The problem is that Modern Warfare 2 is cleverly designed to be an addicting experience. It's like amphetamines. People try it, love it, but as they keep playing it they need more and more to satisfy themselves. People played an obscene amount of it. It's amazing that people played it so much before getting tired of it. The problem is that the people are too stupid to realize that they are just tired of it, and start turning hostile towards the game. If it weren't such an addicting experience, people would get tired of it faster and eventually come back to it and get tired of it again in a comfortable cycle. Instead, they have played it madly every free second of their lives for months on end until they absolutely hate it. Yet they still play it. With that said, I would like to say that it's only logical to acknowledge that the game is extremely well crafted. You can't really go wrong when you have two developers constantly improving and building on such an extensive series. The multiplayer is very fun, although gets a little too hectic and dynamic at times. A lot of things are packed together, jets and helicopters and bombers simultaneously at work. I still find this game to be one of the two best multiplayer experiences one can find in an fps game. As for the campaign, it was awesome. It was a little less believable and a little more hollywoodish than the previous games, but in that actually draws more emotion from the player. It's happy ending brings a certain fact to attention: This game is less a work of art and more a carefully crafted machine picking all the most efficient routes to please the gamer. It wouldn't take the chance of having a less happy ending, it answered to many demands from the cod4 players, and overall seems to be a more superficial game than others. Expand
  16. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    awesome one of the best games ever the story is great but a little bit short i got to admit that i found cod 4 kind of bad but this is just awesome everything is perfect except by online which has some hackers but that is what makes it fun now that is one of the most addicting games of all time if you dislike this game you either a halo ,bad company or half life lover
  17. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i think that this is great and should at least give it a go. 10/10
  18. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Game that actually has had a huge impact on me for once!! This game would be a ten if it didn't have it's noticable flaws, but nonetheless this game is one of the best games of all-time and one that I still play!!
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops,By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops, this is enjoyable when you do even slightly well. But when you join a laggy game and there's people with SPAS-12 and chopper gunner spawn trapping you on Scrapyard, feel free to dashboard and break the disc. As an experience this game beats all other shooters. But the enjoyment is short-lived. The only thing that kept me playing for 14 days online is playing with people I know rather than on my own. When you're in a team, it's fine. Otherwise it's just frustrating. The same goes for Spec Ops. While it is very well done, the experience is greatly enhanced when played co-operatively. The campaign is good but not one of my favourites. Spec Ops is a better rendition of the campaign. Overall, this is an extremely fun and immersive shooter, but it's not the one I'd happy to spend playing much on my own. Expand
  20. May 14, 2012
    10
    Just simple awesome the campaign is so so so so so good
  21. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    There is something perfectly special when it comes to the Multiplayer of Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. The Singleplayer ist good though.
  22. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in theModern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in the Modern Warfare series. Spec Ops was a whole different issue... The producers apparently didn't know that two US Army Rangers cannot take down the whole Russian SWAT Force. (Me and friends laughed for days over their stupidity.) Most of the missions were overrated, but more than that: all of the missions were edited from the main story line and then put in like they were gonna be speechlessly better, a BIG fail on the producers part.

    Another reason I got this game was for the multiplayer. I tried to have fun with it, but when you find out just how bad the anti-cheat system is for Xbox LIVE you will go nuts. A casual, everyday multiplayer match goes as the following: Spawn, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, sprint, knife, knife, throw a grenade through a random window, knife, and so on. Activision didn't focus on making the multiplayer combat realistic, it's too fast, too confusing, and overall just plain annoying. Quick-scoping, no-scoping, random "noob-tubes" were very annoying, and didn't keep the multiplayer action enjoyable for me.

    Overall, I think Activision got themselves a hobby of making sloppy games, only suitable for retards who want to cuss each other out on Xbox live day in and day out. (Not to mention all of the **** who like it too. LOL)
    Expand
  23. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with in my opinion the best Call of Duty villain in the whole series to be found in Vladimir Makarov. Also I like the way the ending of COD 4 causes severe problems for the protagonists in this game. Whilst the setpieces can get a little too IN YOUR FACE!!! it doesn't get as bad as later instalments. Also there are some great twists which I didn't see coming. This game also has a lot of commentary on wars and opposing philosophies as well as showing what effects the loss of soldiers can have of commanders. It's also a shame that the sequel really doesn't have much payoff for the ending of this game (But that's another review). However a couple of things don't really make sense in this game's campaign but I can suspend my disbelief.
    Finally multiplayer is really fun and balanced and Spec Ops adds an interesting couple of missions in.
    In conclusion whilst not reaching the perfection of COD 4 this game is still really good and definitely gets a recommendation.
    Expand
  24. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    While it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it justWhile it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it just wasn't suppoted after release the glitches and the hackers Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. The last game made by the old IW, before they were fired. Truly an excellent game. The best Call of Duty, bar none, and the last truly amazing game. Rediculous fun can be had. Noobtubes can be a problem, but they don't damper the experience enough. If it was released for next gen, I'd by it in a heartbeat.
  26. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    A whole lot of content to be seen here, from the guns and the perks this game has great gameplay plus great lasting appeal. I also like it cause my dad plays it sometimes and I love watching him get his butt kicked online.
  27. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are manyIt's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  28. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great bad-ass game that, even though it doesn't really innovate the series or the genre, but it is driven by a great and polemic, worst-case scenario plot. It also has a very short campaign and at times you get bored just shooting at Russians and makes you wonder what the level designers were doing or if they were doing anything at all. But I almost didn't notice because the writers did such a good job I just wanted to know what was gonna happen next. The controls are easy-flowing, the action is great, and the characters are awesome which is why I think this game is at the same level of the first game. Expand
  29. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    MW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you thatMW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you that much of the setting is far more domestic then in the first game. Prepare for shock and awe as what you never thought could ever happen happens. The gameplay is virtually unchanged from that of the first game. There are some new abilities like tactical missiles, but that's about it. Multiplayer is much the same in this regard. There are some new variants and playlists, but not much that different to speak of. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and definitely recommend it to all shooter gamers. Expand
  30. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX 360 controller than this game. Shooting a gun is so fun it's unreal. pick any gun up in this game and you will have fun shooting it no matter what. The multiplayer is great and balanced but does need some fixing in some areas. Throughout your multiplayer expierience, you will see many different guns because all guns have some pros and cons. There are about 6 different attachments for each primary weapon and about 8 or more camos for each primary weapon. You can earn a TON of challenges that will take you 20 hours of gameplay to achieve all of them. Even after that, you can still have fun and prestige. This game has almost endless replay value. The single player is short but sweet. I got through it in 4 hours on Recruit, 5 hours on Regular, 6 hours on Hardened, and 8 hours on Veteran. Even after that, there is co-op in which you can play solo or with another player online or split-screen. That takes maybe 6 or 7 hours to complete on Regular, and 10 hours to earn all stars. The gameplay is a 10.0
    Presentation: The in-game music never gets old and I say that after playing this game for 2 years. The menu navigation is swift and convenient, and the color scheme is great but simple. Not much else to say, 10.0
    Graphics: This game has smooth visuals and amazing lighting effects. The multiplayer maps have been worked on for hours and it's evident because the visuals are top-notch even out of the map. Single player is even better and there are no bugs or gaps in the graphics at all. The graphics are a 10.0
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.