User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2466 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2010
    2
    most overrated game of all time sold millions of copies because of the name on the box absolutely terrible campaign, highly overrated multiplayer with way to many bugs/glitches to exploit. This game could have been good but to be honest it wasn't it was poorly made there is evidence it was rushed to meet a deadline, the CoD series has never deserved its critical acclaim as once you get down to it they are all average shooters. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    With the sixth entry into the Call of Duty series Infinity Ward really had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to deliver, and while their effort is obvious, the results are not spectacular. Let me start by saying that the single-player campaign was wonderful. Amazing set-pieces and grind your teeth action made the 6 hour campaign an exciting experience. Sadly you read correctly, its only six hours. If you followed the story, the ending was pretty cool, and there was no huge cliff hanger that will make you throw your controller across the room in anger. Even though the campaign was short, there is still a lot more this game has to offer. Spec-Ops is the highlight of the package. Whenever my buddies come over and I don't want my multiplayer stats to be effected, Spec-Ops is always the way to go. The co-operative play is smooth and the variety of mission types is refreshing. The challenge is also very fair, and the sense of accomplishment when beating the harder missions on Veteran difficulty is unforgettable. Sure there are those moments when you are in the last section of a level and your partner just has to kill himself, but once you nail a tough level you truly feel like a gamer. Now finally comes the immensely frustrating multiplayer package. Most of the reviews you read only focus on the multiplayer and how frustrating it can be. While these reviews may be accurate the score they give the game is not. This is because their review is only for the multiplayer section of the game, and they don't take into account the exciting Spec-Ops and single player campaigns. The multiplayer for this game is extremely addicting. It is incredibly easy to hop into a game and have a blast with some friends, but there is seldom a time when your fun is ruined by players taking advantage of some of the games perks or other add-ons. Grenade launchers, commando knifing, and the spawning system are just a few of the inconveniences you may encounter. Many people stop playing the game due to the deaths they face at the hand of players who rely on tactics that do not require very much skill. If you do not take the game very seriously and just want to run around and have to fun run and gun action, it will be easy to enjoy the multiplayer. To those competitive hard-core gamers there will be much rage quitting ahead. With all parts of the package taken into account, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 delivers. The high production values are obvious, and the single and co-opertive campaigns are a blast. Sadly the multiplayer content is frustrating to say the least, and not enough effort was put in to ensure a fair and enjoyable experience. Get this game, mostly because everyone else has it, and there is always fun to be found, but sadly a lot of a frustration will come with it. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Collapse
  4. Sep 23, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game totally blows. I was really excited when it first came out, but it gets boring fast, probably because of the cheats, glitches, bugs and other stuff people found out, and because of its incredibly unbalanced weapon pallet. Save your money, this game is not worth it. Overall, 2/10 Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    The most awesome game in every single aspect on the CoD series . The gameplay is very smooth,the story is a little hard to follow but Epic , the multiplayer is addictive as coca-cola,the special ops is great for offline users not the best iteration but nice. The maps on the multiplayer are very well designed.
  6. Sep 29, 2010
    2
    a pile of crap is the best way to describe COD MW2 . the story mode sucks the enimy AI is rediculasly retarded they track you through walls when you try to sneak up on them and as soon as you peak around the corner they open fire before you can even get your sights up. your AI team is dumb as **** they run blindly out in the open and fire at enimys never hittin a damn thing as soon as you try to peak around the corner every enimy on screen that was shooting at your AI team turns on you. its complete bull **** . still no online Co op for the story mode . they canclled it at the last min . my guess why is the stupid enimy AI wouldnt know WTF to do if it had more then 1 player it had to auto lock onto behind a damn wall and just shoot them selves in the damn head. the online... i wouldnt touch it . i like COD4 online but thats the last of the COD games i wanted to play online . im glad i dont care any more for this game online any more because i heard from all my friends it was garbage , Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2011
    6
    We can all say the campaign wasnt fantastic but it had alot of HOLY CRAP moments. The graphics are some of the best iv seen in a long time. But the campain was laughably short. And now the multiplayer ohhhh nooo this is the main reason I dont play this anymore the hackers. I loved it when it first came out but then a couple months later it is a hacked mess. And i just want to say thank you to the people who hacked and made a game that could have been the greatest game of all time very bad. But it is also Infinity Wards fault for letting it get like this they could have built it better but they didnt im truly disappointed. Expand
  8. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    Very poor multiplayer. The game itself has a huge amount of design flaws in MP that make the game easier for the casual player, such as lack of recoil of assault rifles, deathstreaks, noob tubes, terrible spawns, an incredibly bad P2P server, etc. I really hope that in the future, we look upon this game as a complete failure. Because that's what it was (and is) to too many people who mistakenly bought the game, thinking it to be like COD4. Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    COD4 has been raped by the franchise's most overrated piece of **** sequel Modern Warfare 2. Words can't even describe how terrible this game is! The worst Campaign in Call of Duty in HISTORY! It's so retarded, confusing, and pointless, which took me an hour and a half to beat! Some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in video games. The characters are cliche as hell, and no character development so you don't care for them at all. The most unrealistic, contrived ending to any video game I've ever seen. The multiplayer is so god terrible, that I would rather watch Battlefield Earth! Yes Modern Warfare 2 is a prime example of how a video game should not be hyped. Overall, not as bad as World at War, but still one of my least favorite COD games. If you loved COD4, don't, you won't like this. Expand
  10. Sep 25, 2010
    4
    This game is just like the others for xbox 360. the graphics don't improve nor does the gameplay. Its just another call of duty game. the sniper is so annoying to use its like your character is drunk while sniping. In my opinion, its just another call of duty game
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Battlefield fanboys are the only people who rate this game downwards. The single player campaign is absolutely FANTASTIC, although it is unfortunately let down in some points by the multiplayer - these points being the unbalance of certain weapons in the game and perks.
  12. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 shatters the old standard of excellence and has raised the bar for what it means to be an epic shooter. With a mind-shattering campaign, superb co-op play, and the deepest multiplayer experience on Live, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest shooters in gaming history, and a must-own for fans of the genre.
  13. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better. Sure it's not completely balanced but if you get into a match without douchebags the game is probably the most fun you can have in gaming. Expand
  14. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  15. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    this game is good. the campaign was excellent with epic story and excellent plot twists and gameplay. as for the multiplayer, it is alot like the previous cod games, but with new killstreaks and perks, it keeps you hooked. There are still many bad things with this game like boosters, cheap perk combinations, stuff like that. but this is not game breaking as this is a truly excellent gmae.
  16. May 22, 2011
    9
    I think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and I realized that I just had to write my piece on this phenomenal shooter. Call me a COD nuthugger or whatnot, but when you discard your flaming nerd rage and begin to see clearly, you realize that this really is the top notch pinnacle of military shooters in modern gaming. And yes, it far exceeds Battlefield in almost every aspect. To start, the single player is most definitely and undeniably short, ranging in the neighborhood of about 3 hours or so. But those 3 hours are so remarkably jaw-dropping that it somehow forces you after completion to return to the first level and do it all over again. The voice-acting is tremendously well done, and the graphics, even by today's standards, are simply fantastic. The storyline is extremely believable and the campaign contains some of the most exciting set pieces and action sequences that I have ever witnessed in a shooter. From the very beginning stage, all the way up until the final firefight, I was completely mesmerized at the attention to detail the developers gave this game. The intense gunfights that take place on U.S. soil left me completely wowed, and never once was there a stale moment on the campaign. The Spec Ops co-op mode is a great addition to play through with a friend, providing a host of exciting short missions to blast through. Moving on to what really amazes me is the multiplayer. Every time that I enter another match, it reminds me that this really is the king of all first person shooters. The hit markers are near flawless, aiming is extremely smooth and tight, and the arsenal of weaponry is about as close to completely balanced as you can get. Most of the maps are fantastic, save for a few camper-oriented ones that I veto on sight. The sheer amount of perks, upgrades, weapon attachments, and challenges to unlock is almost overwhelming, and never ceases to be addicting. There is literally always something to keep playing towards to unlock. The newly added unlockable titles from the first game always has me working towards something new, and the emblems as well are a pure blast to unlock. The game keeps track of a huge array of statistics, ranging from obvious headshots of a gun, all the way to the number of times you killed someone with a direct flashbang impact. However, there are still some things that should be tweaked, such as the Danger Close perk and Commando perk, which are both noob-friendly and overpowered. I am a LEGIT level 70 tenth prestige, so I believe I have enough experience to voice my opinion on this. Also, the UMP45 could use a little toning down in terms of damage, accuracy, recoil, or anything else associated with it. The killstreaks are absolutely revolutionary, since you have wannabes such as Medal of Honor and Black Ops that straight up copied the majority of them. The amount of noob campers that are crying about how trashy this game is have absolutely no idea what they're talking about, and are simply there to hate because this game is so popular. And it's popular for good reason too: it's the best military shooter on the market without a doubt. Even though the game infuriates me to no end (at times), I just take a step back and tell myself that despite all of my irrational rage, it's still the best there is, and I know that I'll go back to playing it the next day. And since the game is at a much lower price at the present, you cannot go wrong with this purchase if you enjoy military shooters or shooters in general. Expand
  17. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    cod mw2 single player is ok but its xbox live is great, it has a good storyto it. but do yourself a favor and click yes at the beginning of the game to skip a mission many people find it very offensive
  18. Nov 9, 2010
    5
    The only good thing about this game was the campaign, which wasn't even that good to be honest. The mutli-player was terrible, it was always lagging for a lot of people, and incredibly unrealistic. The campaign was fairly good, but it was WAY too short, which was a big let down. Everything else on the game was mediocre.
  19. Dec 27, 2010
    3
    Oh how disappointing. I was really looking forward to this game, and for the first 2 weeks it was good, apart from the campaign that had a million plot holes eg. shepard said the world watched as his men died in cod 4, they didnt. The sas and USMC led a joint offensive against the men reposnsible and obliterated almost all of them, and thats just one plot-hole. Secondly, the multiplayer. Poorly done maps, loads of glitches, unblalnced perks and weapons... the reviewers were so obviously bribed or fell into the hype. Shame. Get COD 4 or Black Ops, they are MUCH better. Expand
  20. May 7, 2011
    5
    Infinity Ward in my opinion isn't as good as Treyarch at making Call of Duty games, I was hoping that this would change my opinion about that, and it let me down, let's start with the basics, the graphics are hit or miss during the first half of the game, but during the second half there breathtaking, the same goes for the sound, as a matter of a fact that's how the whole campaign is, the first half is just kinda lame and just feels like more COD 4: MW, but the second half is fantastic, with large set pieces, and shocking and amazing battles, trust me it's WAY better than COD 4: MW's disappointing campaign, but it's to short and the story is confusing up until the second half, however most people won't even bother with the campaign and just stick with the multiplayer, which now is filled with bugs, glitches, and hackers and is almost unplayable, the game also has Spec Ops missions, which can be played solo but are more fun with friends, but they aren't that great, and most are just reused levels from the campaign, all in all if you liked COD 4: MW you'll probably like this, as it's mostly more of the same, but others should avoid, I would recommend a rental at most. Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2011
    5
    The release of Modern Warfare 2 was incredibly hyped. I remember the buzz around everyone on the day of release, and the excitement that day made it probably one of the most fun times on the Xbox 360 that I've ever had. I started with single player and, as expected, it was over-the-top fast-paced action and that's what made it good. The campaign was short, but it was incredibly exciting despite some of the questionable plot choices. Notable missions include the one with the snowmobiles and the final level. Although they were obvious gimmicks they were extremely enjoyable; so all in all the campaign was quite good in my opinion. The Spec Ops mode offered a nice change from the zombies mode of World at War and was good fun, although I was disappointed to see a lack of support for it - but I'll come to the later. Then we come to the multiplayer mode. At first it was very exciting with awesome new guns and attachments and of course the addition of a multitude of killstreak rewards that you can pick and choose rather than being given the standard 3-5-7 seen in Modern Warfare 1 and World at War. Later on the inevitable and infamous "Cod rage" took hold and although this was to be expected with a Call of Duty game, Modern Warfare 2 took it above and beyond. It soon became apparent that the game had been made extremely "noob-friendly" with very luck-based gameplay, extremely easy-to-use combinations and clearly overpowered weapons, perks, attachments and killstreak rewards. Furthermore, once the insane power of the killstreak rewards was realised, the game revolved around it and this simply caused camping as players would play Domination (for example) purely so it's a longer match and they can therefore get their nuke with their generic 7-11-25 killstreak set-up. I could go on about multiplayer's flaws but I won't. Support for the game seemed to be a big issue for Infinity Ward. Each new map pack charged us ridiculous prices for a few of new maps and one or two old ones. 1,200 points is far too much for a map pack in my opinion, especially since, in spite of this, Spec Ops saw absolutely nothing new. As well as this, multiplayer was not otherwise changed very often at all to balance the game. The only updates on the game game were when particularly glaring flaws (such as the care package glitches or the Model 1887 issues). Overall, for me the multiplayer simply became more of a stress than fun and it was Infinity Ward's lack of listening to gamers that caused them to do nothing about it, but rather milk the cow with each new overpriced map pack. But that's not to say the multiplayer was entirely bad - private matches and playing with friends could often still be fun, but overall I found the experience lack lustre. Expand
  22. May 4, 2011
    8
    While it is still a great game, it feels like MW 1.5. Infinity Ward is known for it's cutting edge, but seemed a bit lazy while making this game. The single player gets really interesting about halfway through, but does not compare to the campaign of MW1. IW focused more on over the top moments as opposed to good storytelling. While a co-op campaign would have been better, the Spec-Ops is a nice addition, albeit hard if you're trying to beat them all on veteran. The MP is the MP, you will love it if you enjoyed MW1's MP, or you will hate it. I enjoyed it, but never got to the level cap after two years, while it only took me a couple of months in MW1. If you liked the first, you'll like the second, but it isn't groundbreaking. Expand
  23. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But the overall 'game' of MW2 is a mixed bag and fails to be something really special, not just a 'fun' or 'popular' game. The single player story is a bad joke, the themes and meanings the story portrays are a contradictory muddled mess. The special Op missions do offer some well designed gameplay but why the story mode is not intertwined is confusing, I would have preferred the entire story dropped for more Special Ops. The multiplayer can be fun for short periods of time but does lack depth which is why it has not resonated as a competitive Esport title. I do recommend MW2 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    look the first modernwarfare game was innovative and an excellent game but modernwarfare 2 was a dissipointing. The campaign was ok, nothing was bad about it but it had been all done before. The new perks were a small positive which was blown out of proportion by fanboys as only stealth perks can be used and if you didn't snipe you were an 3p1cn00b... oh god why? Noscoping quickscoping JUST STOP IT. Montage after montage on quickscoping aargh. The fact that is has call of duty slapped infront of its title brought it huge revenue and drew players from other games. these players then when they had had their 19th game in a row where they were 0-19 and raging at everybody for using assault rifles and small machine guns, they would then migrate to another game and spread the 'snipe or you los' cancer. Look the game is an alrounder alright game. To sum it up the campaign was nothign new but didn't suck and the multiplayer was barable. Im happy to take up any argument you have with my comment, my xbox live is boxylyric oh and i think i have an unpositive kill death ratio but its not like the mw2 community cares about the type of thing right? Expand
  25. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    years of experience and tons of call of duty games have taught the creators of the call of duty series how to make a satisfying action game. the details are amazing. the plot wasn't as good as modern warfare 1, but i liked it nonetheless. looking out to modern warfare 3!
  26. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed some levels in this game, generally I thought the action was too chaotic on most levels with too big a team to be enjoyable. Many times the game felt more frustrating than joyful. Graphics wise not much of a improvement over MW1. Story was plain, but this is a war shooter... Liked it? - It was OK.
  27. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    Great commerials and great marketing from Activision, and great anticipation for the greatness of Infinity Ward brought to us in cod4, but the greatness stops there. The game itself is poor for a call of duty. Its story is confusing and genereic. An invasion f America is unemotional and Shephard's betrayal is hard to understand. The game itself is like a Michael Bay film. Sure it looks good and has some exciting cinematic moments, but the story is told in a horrible way, and the characters are uninteresting. The multiplayer is a downgrade from 4 and waw. It puts in place two many over powerred kill streaks and makes the focus from getting kills to win the game to getting a chopper gunner ac130 or tacnuke. The secondary shotguns are completely unbalanced and the multiplayer grows more and more frustrating the more you play. One of the worst cods. A not so glorios end to infinity ward Expand
  28. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the new Call of Duty is only a few months away; I have decided to do a review on one of the biggest games of 2009. Already the makers of the game have tried to make it into an epic game by having a excellent plot. The story begins at the end of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare with the Ultra-nationalists taking over Russia and making the villian of the first Modern Warfare game (Imran Zakhaev) a hero of Russia. The gamer starts of as Private First Class Allen who helps the Rangers kill some insurgents in Afghanistan were he later finds out that he will join an elite special force who are already on a mission behind enemy lines in Kazahkstan,. The problem I have with this is that he is only a private and that they should of given the role to a more suitable role. Also with the Russians already being in Kazahkstan (I'm guessing through invasion) that the other nations of the world (especially USA) would have declared war. Anyway back to the plot, instead of playing "Soap", the gamer now plays as "Roach" who is taken under the wing of "Soap". The gamer then switches back to play as Private Allen who is sent on an undercover mission to follow Makarov and learn what he is up to. Allen has to do this by helping Makarov slaughter the innocent on Russian land. However, Makarov somehow knew that Allen was not a Russian but an American so he shoots him there and then. This then leads to the Russians blaming the Americans for the deaths of hundreds and decides to go to war against the US. Going back to playing as "Roach", the special forces find out that Makarov was behind the attack so the team head to Brazil to find out more info on the whereabouts of Makarov. They do this by interrogating Makarov's weapon dealer who tells them that Makarov's worst enemy is being held captive in a Russian Gulag under the name of Prisoner 627. This then leads to the Americans and the special forces assaulting the Gulag to then find out that Prisoner 627 was in actual fact Captain Price. The special forces then go take on a Russian Naval Base and then Captain Price activates a nuclear warhead in a Russian Sub. During this time, the gamer becomes Private Ramirez who takes part in many spectacular battles in the game; such as the Battle for the White House in Washington D.C. At this point, the US Rangers who you play as are under heavy fire and looks like all is lost until the nuclear warhead that Captain Price fired blows up in space (killing an innocent Astronaut). "Roach" and "Ghost" then go to gather data on Makarov at his safe house which leads to there sad deaths at the hand of your ally Sheperd. The gamer then plays as Soap and tries to take down Sheperd with the help of Captain Price. The gamer finds out that Sheperd did this due to the amount of soldiers who died in the nuclear explosion in the 1st modern warfare game. At the end of the game, Sheperd is killed and the remainders of the special forces go on the hunt for Makarov. Positives The story was done very well Spec Ops was a different option for the gamers to play
    I like how it gives the gamer an option to play the Russian Massacre mission Negatives The online needs fixing as the good gamers will easily destroy the average or weaker gamers Rating Overall, I would have to give Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 the rating of 8 out of 10 -- Mr Hannigan
    Expand
  29. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Time and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  30. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  31. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    MW2 is a great game! Campaign is actually really good, but not as good as BO. Spec ops is ok but isn't very fun. Multiplayer is awesome! Graphics are nice for the year it was made in. MW3 was better graphic wise but gameplay is 10x better in MW2. Really worth buying.
  32. May 7, 2013
    8
    I consider myself a new gamer since I started playing video game not until 2010. this game is my first call of duty game, hell yeah, even my first online FPS game. So, as my first cod game I just love it unconditionally, I remembered how I wanted to improve my KDR and started to noobtubing for days, until I am pretty good at shooting...I like that phase, when I was a total noob and can tolerant anything happened in this game since I have no idea how online game should like.... Anyway, I think the game is perfect new gamers, easy to start, fun to play. Expand
  33. Sep 20, 2013
    4
    So much wrong went with this game. The campaign is good, the spec ops mode is useless, and the MP was good at launch but then after a few months turned into a train wreck with tons of boosting in FFA, people using unlimited noob tubes, spamming the whole god damn match with killstreaks. terrible.
  34. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Worst Call of duty to date. No rewardable material/content. Infinity Ward always made the worst CoD games, and this game is a major example of that.
  35. DME
    Jun 9, 2011
    8
    It's shocking to see so many unfair, negative reviews. Most people seem to base their reviews only on the online multiplayer. While important, it isn't everything. Modern Warfare 2 delivered a pretty good campaign. It's a bit linear and the story is full of holes, but the action is non-stop and there is plenty of variety. The Special Ops mode is the sweetest part of the whole package. While a bit dull by yourself, it's great fun with a friend or sibling. Then there's the online multiplayer. Everything you love about Call fo Duty is there: Prestiging, upgrades, attatchments, killstreaks, etc... But for some reason I hated MW2 multiplayer. The maps are designed decently well and graphics are very nice, but it's the balance and overall gameplay that seriously sunk my opinion towards it. So, the campaign gets 8/10. Special Ops gets a 9/10. Multiplayer gets a 6/10. Expand
  36. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Modern Warfare 2 is a very well-made game, but it's only as fun as the people you play with. Also, even though Spec Ops is fun for a little while, the campaign has its fair share of weak moments, and the story frequently doesn't make sense. Black Ops is probably better.
  37. Oct 3, 2010
    3
    Old graphics already, controls feel weird, bad sound effects compared to Battlefield Bad Company 2 . Sinlge player is too short and it feels too scripted, bots have bad AI, bad story line, nothing interesting which would make it special compared to any other fps single player. Does multiplayer have anything better? No! Weapons are too powerful, knifes can hit even if you don't actually hit enemy. Still bad spawning system, still curving bullets, sniper rifles can kill you with one bullet even if it doesn't hit to your head. Bad level design. The worst thing about the multiplayer is the killstreaks. When your oppornent gets chopper gunner, you will get killed again, again, again, again and again! Killstreaks are just too annoying and powerful. Those should only give you a kill or two, not ten! In short, single player is a low-core, multiplayer is one of the worst of its kind, because of the design. Avoid this game at all cost! Single player is a little worth playing, but because it's really short (2 - 4 hours), this game is not worth buying. Expand
  38. Aug 22, 2010
    1
    My lowest review to date, not because of the quality of the game, which is about a 5/10, but because of how far short of my expectations this sequel fell. The first MW had a far better plot, characters that drew you in, and a solid selection of jaw dropping moments. This sequel went overboard trying to stun people with jaw droppers, and I ended up feeling like I was watching a straight-to-DVD action flick. Characters were boring, the plot and villain were absurd, and not in a good way, and the game added little, too little, for a good sequel.

    Then there is multi-player. A crap-fest of noob-tubes and akimbo shotguns that drown out any attempt at skill or tactic. There are also a host of odd glitches, such as the rare but fun infinite grenade launcher glitch or the hyper speed glitch. Sadly, the game fell short, a point emphasized by the somewhat better Battlefield that came on its heels, and had just as bad a plot, but a much, much better multiplayer, and interesting characters.
    Then there is mu
    Expand
  39. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    There is one word that ruins this game. Balance. Or rather, the lack thereof. Why bother with a sniper rifle, when your ACR will do a much better job? I know fanboys will decry everything I say, baecuse it's not praising their game, but boo-hoo. I liked the single-player campaign, but I'm sorry, I tried the online play, and what do I get? M203 grenade launchers, M203 grenade launchers and GP-25 grenade launchers (functionally identical). I can't enjoy the game anymore, I wish there was some semblance of balance, and I can see how this had record first-day sales, since everyone bought it before the realised how **** it was. Expand
  40. Aug 21, 2010
    2
    When I started to play this game it was brilliant, but after I finished the decent typical anti-Russian campaign, I went on multiplayer and I got bored in a few hours and there are few differences from the previous games. The multiplayer is spoilt by people who think they are the best, the game is also spoilt by hackers.
  41. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    MW2 is an extremely overrated game with many problems. First of all, this game has more multiplayer flaws than any other video game released on Xbox 360. So if you're looking for a good multiplayer game, this is not it. And if you're looking for a good single player or co-op game this is not it. Let's start with single player. The plot is extremely bad and poorly told. Also, the twist is completely nonsensical and dumb. Did I mention the campaign takes 4 hours to complete? Special Ops has nothing special about it, it's just recycled levels from the campaign with boring mission objectives. Does not come close to matching the co-op of Gears of War or Halo.

    Multiplayer has many glitches and balance issues. Most guns have extremely low recoil, allowing you to snipe across the map without a sniper. On top of the overpowered kill streak rewards to encourage camping, this makes MW2 the easiest multiplayer game to play online. There is a lot of auto aim, so the kills practically come to you. If you're really bad at FPS games and don't mind being frustrated by all the game's problems, you might like this game. Lastly, Infinity Ward has horrible customer support. I could list over 20 problems with multiplayer easily, and the sad thing is not one of those will get fixed. CoD is a horrible franchise now. Activision is milking the most they can out of MW2, and have released 2 overpriced map packs so far. Each map pack is $15 for 3 new maps, which is beyond ridiculous, even for Activision.

    In conclusion, MW2 is a terrible game that should have never happened. Do not trust the review sites, they are terrible at video games and only published their first impressions. There are very few redeeming factors to MW2. One of the worst games I've ever played.
    Expand
  42. Aug 22, 2010
    8
    Modern warfare 2 is the sequel to modern warfare. This game has great campaign, it may not be long but i've played it at least 5 times. It has a great story that continues from the original modern warfare. How ever the multiplayer is fun but it does have some problems. Guns are over powered, kill streaks are cool but still over powered, some perks are annoying including commando where you can knife a guy 10 feet infront of you and scavenger where an annoying noob toober never runs out of ammo. Because the guns are so over powered there are a lot of campers in this game. Still over all it is a fun multiplayer. If you don't care about multiplayer then this is your kind of game, but if you do i would go with halo or battlefield. Still this game is incredibly fun i give it an 8.5 out of 10 Expand
  43. Sep 2, 2010
    6
    Well to be honest this game is quite overrated. I was just looking through halo 3 and mass effect 2 reviews and was shocked to see people saying halo was a bad version of cod and mass effect needed to be more like it! Cod is just daft! The story is pretty unbelievable and nowhere near as good as the previos mw - not waw (that was terrible). The multiplayer is very good though until you get some lifeless cod obsessed idiot who knows nothing about good games, probably has a nodded controller and was tenth prestige the week it came out killing you over and over again! Then there's the fools who run around with an unbelievably long range knife using a "perk" that makes you run very fast who kill you in one slice! It's ridiculous! Listen to my advice and get this game but please don't waste your time that could be spent on something brilliant like fallout 3s or red dead redemptions amazing storylines. Or gears of wars amazing battles getting to be ridiculously good at multiplayer for this massively overrated AVERAGE game. Oh yeah and infinity ward beat treyarch Expand
  44. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed CODMW2. It has got great graphics and a nice gameplay. The shooting mechanics are awesome. it feels like you are totally immersed in the game and wished it had some more hours of fun, unfortunately, the game is quite short. All in all, it's a great game you'll probably enjoy
  45. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    MW2 is a really good game if you look at the statistics (which are probably hacked lol) but although the campaign is legendary and the graphics are good and standard fps gameplay in the works, you can't help but hate the game when it comes to multiplayer as the community sucks as des all the hacks and glitches not to mention that the game modes could be so much better as you play this more and more you will realise that it doesn't feel smooth as their servers are the worst and once you prestige once you will also notice that prestiging is a cheap gimmick to make people play it longer but what's the point i ask you when a little kid can hack it in less than a minute and what do IW do nothing. The only thing that makes this game decent is its campaign and the fact that everyone in te world plays it for some reason Expand
  46. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Modern Warfare 2 is a puzzling game. On the one hand, it has refreshing locations and a great multiplayer and co-op option. On the other hand, the campaign was hilariously ridiculous and the DLC support was extortionate. I had fun with MW2 multiplayer, the gun selection is fantastic and the new killstreaks are great, but it's nice to get away from them now and again in the Barebones lobby. Spec-Ops is a nice little addition, but it's essentially just short missions to complete with one friend and in my opinion doesn't match the fun I got out of zombies on World at War. It is fun to use weapons being used in modern combat today, and the frenetic nature of the multiplayer is addictive, but sometimes frustrating. The campaign is borderline insane, in plot, but it is fun. It's on the short side and quite easy to beat even on Veteran, but some of the set-pieces are very memorable. My score is positive overall, 3/5, and I would recommend anyone who hasn't had a go yet pick it up cheap and dive in. Expand
  47. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I expected this game to get a lot of negative user reviews. It's an amazing game. The problem is that Modern Warfare 2 is cleverly designed to be an addicting experience. It's like amphetamines. People try it, love it, but as they keep playing it they need more and more to satisfy themselves. People played an obscene amount of it. It's amazing that people played it so much before getting tired of it. The problem is that the people are too stupid to realize that they are just tired of it, and start turning hostile towards the game. If it weren't such an addicting experience, people would get tired of it faster and eventually come back to it and get tired of it again in a comfortable cycle. Instead, they have played it madly every free second of their lives for months on end until they absolutely hate it. Yet they still play it. With that said, I would like to say that it's only logical to acknowledge that the game is extremely well crafted. You can't really go wrong when you have two developers constantly improving and building on such an extensive series. The multiplayer is very fun, although gets a little too hectic and dynamic at times. A lot of things are packed together, jets and helicopters and bombers simultaneously at work. I still find this game to be one of the two best multiplayer experiences one can find in an fps game. As for the campaign, it was awesome. It was a little less believable and a little more hollywoodish than the previous games, but in that actually draws more emotion from the player. It's happy ending brings a certain fact to attention: This game is less a work of art and more a carefully crafted machine picking all the most efficient routes to please the gamer. It wouldn't take the chance of having a less happy ending, it answered to many demands from the cod4 players, and overall seems to be a more superficial game than others. Expand
  48. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Un juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se coman una mierda. Expand
  49. Sep 12, 2010
    3
    A fun game for the first 2 months, but after the incredibly short kill times, imbalance, generic story (Russians! oh noez!), poor AI, and lack of small details get annoying, the game just becomes a pathetic flogging of a dead horse. Save your money for Black Ops, Gears, Bad company, or Halo, not on this rubbish.
  50. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    A whole lot of content to be seen here, from the guns and the perks this game has great gameplay plus great lasting appeal. I also like it cause my dad plays it sometimes and I love watching him get his butt kicked online.
  51. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    good, but all to much VERY noob friendly. Very fun, nice guns and perks, good graphics. love it. only problem is that there are a lot of campers and noobtubes, not to forget boosters
  52. Sep 16, 2010
    1
    game, not worth it, just hype, not 0 ....because multiplayer somewhat fun....untill it was ruined then the game sucked...yeah...campaign..bad story. the opps mode is boring..can't see why anyone would play it
  53. Sep 17, 2010
    5
    More like Call of Duty 1.5 . The campaign was such a let down compared to MW1 (wich was friggin awesome), and the multiplayer seems exactly the same. I'm looking for positives or innovations, and just not seeing them.
  54. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Best game of the decade don't get ahead of yourself.
    i played this game for probably going on 2 days completing the campaign and spec ops missions on veteran (got 1000 gamerscore)played multiplayer for a day. check gamertag Akiba22 i had owned call of duty 3 and modern warfare 1 before buying this COD3 was a good game with probably the atmosphere and large fights being its best draw, but
    mw blew it away in terms of gameplay.

    The Single player in this game was o.k lets face it no one really cares about the single player on this game all that much look ithe millions of peoples gamercards who haven't even completed the first level that lasts 5 minutes. But it was one of the easiest to date due to no more infinite respawns for the enemies YAY. But don't get the impression its an easy game,you will get frustrated quickly and frequently but thats not really the games problem. its really short however (about 5 hours) and even though theres some very big battles, mainly when playing the american army campaign sections it never really feels that way. I also didn't notice much music going on. The AI is pretty good on this game it has the odd moments where it turns clairvoyent but its human enough and no more endless waves of frag grenades THANK CHRIST. Your allies AI however they have there moments well they'll save your ass but then theres moments when you swear they're taking a piss while your fighting for your life you never notice them.The voice acting is very good they actually sound like there under fire rather than in a recording booth. The graphics though aren't very good and theres no impressive scenery like in other games which makes you stop and say "jesus look at that"

    The spec op missions are fun but they're pretty easy i complete all of them except 5 by myself and the categories they're listed in difficulty aren't right as one mission in charlie class??? not sure requires you to survive waves enemy easily the hardest mission.(what a short summary)

    Multiplayer
    Probably the most full featured game in history in terms of customising yourself and your loadouts and in general really impressive, extremely addictive and enjoyable but is it perfect? no way. A number of parts of this game should be changer mainly to do with certain weapons.YOU KNOW WHICH GUNS. Dual rangers that right, you can DUAL WIELD TWO GODDAMN SHOTGUNS who thought in the offices when making this game "this is a great idea not cheap, unrealistic and extremly annoying at all" Also the AA shotgun what a cheap piece of **** anybody who use these guns is a **** The order you obtain these guns is also pretty poorly thought out. Case in point the barrett 50 cal rifle. A one hit kill gun (If used on the upper body) thats supposed to be used on jeeps they seriously don't give every soldier in the American army a **** 50 cal rifle. Smgs can snipe from across the map and put a grip on an lmg and it turns into a 300 round sniper rifle.
    Another thing thats pretty cheap is the knife, goddamn the hit detection is off, the game thinks the knife has the length of a samurai sword.
    The maps in general are great except one of them, Rust (I'm speechless to how bad that map is)
    the kill streaks are really good and choosing the right ones is often the difference beetween getting 10 kills or 20 .

    This was a great game i personally thought they went to over the top with a few stupid additions (some listed above but i can only put in 5000 characters)which made me prefer the first one. Though a great game its not the best shooting game of the decade neithers halo 3. (for me gears of war 1 or perfect dark on the n64, maybe halo 2)its not an amazing game but its definelty pretty good.its another reason of how overhyping can make people disbelieve.
    Expand
  55. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    MW2 continues the great story telling experience of CoD4, but greatly expands the multiplayer landscape, making Modern Warfare 2 perhaps the best FPS experience of its time. Levels are a bit bigger, more playlists are available, tons of cool killstreaks are available and the level designs are some of the best & most interesting to launch with a game. It's hard to imagine how good this game would be if it were "perfect", but the good news is it doesn't have to be. I could warrant a "10" on this game if it carried dedicated servers and could push the graphics envelope a bit more, but in the end these would only push the experience a bit further. Sans dedicated servers, this game plays well online almost all of the time, and I can only think of Halo 2 when considering a game I've put this much online time in, ever. Like CoD4, MW2 is a must-play for fans of the series and fans of the FPS genre as a whole. Expand
  56. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  57. Oct 5, 2010
    1
    This game is very overrated. I do not understand the logic behind the hype. Sure it has great graphics, but thats kind of all it has.The story is full of plot holes, short and just feels like a corridor shooter, and the multiplayer side is even worse. The most annoying this about the multiplayer is, however, the campers. Thats entirely the games fault. The short kill times, combined with the prospect of unlocking new and better guns drive lots of people to camp in a corner, get a high streak, call in a killstreak, win the match. After that they have even better guns to do that. Another thing is the unbalanced perks and weapons. They give player an unfair advantage as higher ranking players who played the game more have better guns and perks and dominate the new players. Its incredibly frustrating. Those are my main reasons for why i give it a 1, and i have not even begun to talk about the plot holes in the campaign, the repetitive spec ops mode and other problems in Multiplayer. Expand
  58. Oct 5, 2010
    0
    This Game Is Complete **** Trash.
    Single Player: Wtf Man, When There are **** Nuclear Explosions Every 10 seconds, It kinda Loses The 'Shock' in "Shock and Awe"
    Multiplayer: I joined one game and got 360 Headshotted by a Scar-H Noob Toob, And promptly Shoved my foot through the disk, And played Plants VS Zombies.
    Spec Ops: You know i don't Hate This... Yeah.
  59. Oct 9, 2010
    6
    this game is a really good fps and the campaign was very good indeed with a variety of mission and levels. the multi player on the other hand was awsome to start with but after a few months of playing it had to happen didnt it ....... yes im talking about the no scopers and the quick scopers which absoloutly ruined the game for me :(
  60. Oct 13, 2010
    0
    awful that is all i can say. campaign=short and boring multiplayer= fake and over hypes. killstreaks and perks get very old very fast and annoying very fast and hackers=i bet about 25-50% of the players. nearly every game you get in i bet you will have a hacker. it is just a terrible game and i highly recommend not wasting your money.
  61. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  62. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great bad-ass game that, even though it doesn't really innovate the series or the genre, but it is driven by a great and polemic, worst-case scenario plot. It also has a very short campaign and at times you get bored just shooting at Russians and makes you wonder what the level designers were doing or if they were doing anything at all. But I almost didn't notice because the writers did such a good job I just wanted to know what was gonna happen next. The controls are easy-flowing, the action is great, and the characters are awesome which is why I think this game is at the same level of the first game. Expand
  63. Oct 21, 2010
    3
    Although I am naturally more inclined toward Battlefield, I played this with some friends and gave it an honest chance. I figured maybe I would get hooked in like so many others, and could enjoy the massive fanbase to play multiplayer with.

    What I found was a joke. The hype surrounding it did come through in a couple of places, especially in a particular mission which was much spoken of
    regarding its content. But when it came to multiplayer, it became ridiculous.

    First off, even with having a ton of people packed in one room playing whatever game mode, modern gaming platforms are capable of much better graphical detail. I watched as someone blew up a Jeep (shame you can't get vehicles, oh well), and instead of having what looked like a good explosion and physics it went like this:

    Frame 1: Jeep is sitting there, beginnings of explosion happening.
    Frame 2: Jeep is turning over, explosion getting bigger.
    Frame 3: Jeep is on its side.

    Are you kidding? It flops like a Hotwheels car would if someone just flicked it. Also, there is just not enough fine detail in the mix to say this looks GREAT. Good, MAYBE, but not great.

    The class-based system allows complete customization, letting you tailor your soldier to your playstyle. Good yes, that customization is allowed, but bad too, since people can build powerhouses that take no getting used to, rather than being put in a place where you deal with the cards you're handed and get good at them. The array of weapons and gadgets is wonderful, but also over-the-top. I don't expect to be seeing our military running around with dual sawed-off shotguns, it's just ludicrous. And of course, I'd like to mention the Nuke. Everyone knows the Nuke, and many people by now have garnered the grin of setting it off. However, it is equally ludicrous. Now, you are allowed to build a no-skills-required soldier, and with enough of a kill streak, a normal ground unit is allowed the power of a nuclear warhead? I could see something cool yes, since it is quite an achievement. Maybe pinpoint strikes on all the enemies, where everyone has to respawn, I would even accept that. But instant win?

    All in all, there was just too much bull in here for me to swallow. 3/10
    Expand
  64. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Call of duty games should really be reviewed in two parts, online and singleplayer. The online mutiplayer is one of the smoothest and most addictive online experiences out there. On the other hand the single player is a big load of balls, it lacks any of the class from the previous outing and for me had absolutely no replay value at all. If it weren't for the excellent multiplayer this game would have been long forgotten about. Expand
  65. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    The Good:
    - Engaging gameplay
    - Great online multiplayer
    - Fun co-op mode

    The Bad:
    - Short campaign
    - Story is hard to believe

    The Ugly:
    - Expensive DLC
  66. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    The game offers a compelling yet perplexing campaign and a multiplayer bound to draw in the millions with ease. With all this said, we don't think this game's online will have the same awesome power which Modern Warfare brought to the the FPS category nor does it have the war desperation, cruelty and horror which World at War's campaign brought to the category. All in all a very solid performing game, however we don't feel it was quite up to the high quality Infinity Ward standards we had come to expect after the release of both Call of Duty 2 and Modern warfare. Expand
  67. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Game that actually has had a huge impact on me for once!! This game would be a ten if it didn't have it's noticable flaws, but nonetheless this game is one of the best games of all-time and one that I still play!!
  68. Nov 7, 2010
    0
    Possibly the worst first person shooter ever. I was a huge fan of call of duty. I played all the games non stop i loved them. I pre-ordered this game 6 months before it's release and was super excited for it. Then the first day i got it i was playing the campaign and i thought it was ok. Then i got to te multiplayer, it was fun... for a month when all the glitchers and hackers appeared. It's obvious that IW should have had a beta for this game to keep it from sucking so much. Over powered weapons (shotguns can be duelweilded and used as a secondary weapon. what were they thinking?), horrible perks (commando, marathon, dangerclose, cold blooded, just about all of them), things that encourage camping (heartbeat sensors, customizable kill streaks [wtf] and so on) this game just cannot be any worse. Thanks IW i want my $60 back aswell as those 80+ hours i spent. what a waste of life Expand
  69. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    I played the first game in the series so much that all I did was drool and dream about the features the MW2 would have. In theory, all the new additions to customization and killstreaks would make this the best multiplayer shooter ever. However, after spending so much time with this game, I felt like the experience had been cheapened by diluting the game with a million different features that took away from the skill and enjoyment of the first. I liked the Spec Ops feature to play with friends, though I rarely used it. The single player had some awesome set pieces, but the game only lasted around 4 hours and the plot made no sense. But the multiplayer is still enjoyable... it just has too much going on for its own good and I don't feel like it's a strong game because of that. Expand
  70. cfh
    Jun 28, 2012
    9
    I don't know why people are so down on this game. I mean, when the Call of Duty series first got popular when MW2 came out. I think it's a great game. Really good Campaign that was very suspenseful. The Spec Op Mission are great to, they have modified missions from the Campaign and other missions, too. Xbox Live is fun, with a variety of guns, maps, killstreaks, and modes. At the end of the Campaign they have a level called 'Museum' where there are a bunch of guns in glass cases and key levels from the campaign on display. If you push the button on the desk that says 'do not press' the figures will come alive and kill you. You can play co-op on Spec Ops and split screen where you kill the other person you are playing with. The co-op is not as good as Black Ops or MW3 but it is still fun. If you are thinking of buying MW3 and don't have MW2; buy MW2 first so you kind of know the storyline. I just think MW2 is a great game. Expand
  71. Dec 20, 2010
    6
    I honestly didn't give a damn about the lack of dedicated servers (it's something we console gamers have gone without for a long time so allow me to say to PC gamers 'suck it up and quit complaining').

    Anyway, back to MW2, to be frank it's one of those 'alright' games that you can play for a while...but it's not going to change your life majorly.

    The single player is ok while it lasts
    (although the plot suffers from what I like to call 'Silent Hill syndrome' where you have to play through the game a few times and look it up on forums just to understand what the hell happened and why) and the co-op is actually very fun (when played with a friend, hopefully one who won't aim for you and only you in the AC1-30 level) and the multiplayer...it's like Halo in that it's one of those games you'll only really have fun with if you play it with friends (it helps deal with how annoying and infuriating players online can be).

    Lots of people have complained about lots of weapons and playstyles being unbalanced and overpowered so let me settle all discussions and arguments over this once and for all: EVERYTHING IN THIS GAME IS UNBALANCED AND OVERPOWERED, most times you will be forced to take Stopping Power as a perk not because you want to, but because everyone else will so not taking it will result in you being unable to match their firepower. Quickscoping is almost endemic (I once bumped into a game where everyone was pulling out Interventions, apparently those things are so common they're given away with breakfast cereals now) along with it's ugly cousin, boosting.

    With all that bashing out of the way allow me to be clear on my overall message, MW2 is still a fun and good game but it's so easy to abuse that you'll find most other players doing everything in their power to ruin your game.
    Expand
  72. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Everything about it sucks pretty badly, but I wish I could submit a review for the story separate from the multiplayer because under the globs of crap that is this game is a grade A action story that Michael Bay would be upset over not getting to adapt to film. Sadly the multiplayer is unbearable and filled with cheap ten year olds that would rather stay at home and develop either some form of dementia from sitting too close to the television or autism; I can't tell which.

    5 out of 10
    Expand
  73. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    This game is fun for about 30 minutes, if you're smart. Dumbasses play this game. You have to be pretty stupid to think this is a great game with all its plot holes, unbalanced perks, rehashed multiplayer, and almost never ending stream of DLC. Not only does this **** company try to nickle and dime you almost everywhere, but the company considered charging a monthly fee to fix the glitches that shouldn't have even existed. I won't spout them here, read online about the dozen or so glitches in the multiplayer. When the game isn't glitchy, it's unbalanced. The multiplayer behaves more like a first person Ninja Gaiden then a "tactical" shooter. You can literally set up a ninja class. It would seem fun, but it's not. Isn't this game supposed to be realistic? Controls are good, but classes are way to unbalanced. Shotguns as a secondary were a bad idea. As for the plot, that sucks too. It has as much action as Transformers 2, but with a worse story. Let me think, I'm in an elevator with the world's most dangerous man. His back is turned. I have a fully loaded LMG. There is no bigger current threat to world peace. "What should I do Mr. GeneralBackStabbyForNoReason?" "Kill 150 civilians" "Ok," says I. THAT MAKES SO MUCH SENSE! What morons thought that up!? If I read a review about Modern Warfare 3 that even says the word "plothole" I will not buy the game. Expand
  74. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    MW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you that much of the setting is far more domestic then in the first game. Prepare for shock and awe as what you never thought could ever happen happens. The gameplay is virtually unchanged from that of the first game. There are some new abilities like tactical missiles, but that's about it. Multiplayer is much the same in this regard. There are some new variants and playlists, but not much that different to speak of. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and definitely recommend it to all shooter gamers. Expand
  75. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    Wow, 131 Battlefield fan boys. The single player was pretty awesome. I great sequel to the first. Not as long as I wanted it, but it was very good and fun to play. They got rid of infinite spawning enemies. Spec Ops was pretty fun too. I had a blast playing with my friends, trying to beat the levels. Multiplayer, despite having many unbalancing things, was excellent. The gameplay and feel of the controls were the best I've ever seen in a shooter. Pretty good graphics too. There are some pretty dumb perks that unbalance the game, as well as some killstreaks. A big problem is the stacking killstreaks. Thankfully they gave us a Barebones playlist, which strip killstreaks. Overall, this game was great, despite the annoying stuff. Expand
  76. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    Campaign is breathlessly paced but it really is all about the spectacle. The lack of story and coherency hurts the experience. The Spec Ops are great fun with a friend and the wide variety of missions gives it plenty of lasting appeal. Multiplayer is too easy, however. I dislike how frequent players are rewarded with better guns and abilities, making it even harder for new players to stand a chance. This is a feature in many online FPS's but it is most prominent in MW2. Overall it's a good game. Expand
  77. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    awesome one of the best games ever the story is great but a little bit short i got to admit that i found cod 4 kind of bad but this is just awesome everything is perfect except by online which has some hackers but that is what makes it fun now that is one of the most addicting games of all time if you dislike this game you either a halo ,bad company or half life lover
  78. Mar 27, 2011
    2
    Total, complete, utter let down. Probably the most over-hyped game ever made. Fair enough, I've got a copy, and I've played it a lot, but I till can't justify the money I paid for it. The single player was completed twice, on both normal, and then staright after on Veteran, in a single sitting, on the launch day. The multiplayer is badly programmed and entirely unbalanced for weapon usage and physical ability. Being able to wield two shotguns like they were water pistols, the awful over-powering of some of the MGs, maps that allow players to jump through walls and it still doesn't get a patch is unbelievable. As always there are redeeming features. Map layouts and sizes are good, adding the extra storey to buildings to give a new dynamic to the play. But the perks are alright however the killstreak perks aren't at all balanced. And the amount of cheating is unbearable. Expand
  79. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    I will start by saying This is 'Technically' a good game.Graphics are pretty good,& Good Gunplay.but thats it.Thats all thats good about it.This has to me the most overhyped & overated game of ALL time! which seems to have gotten alot of critics over excited with their scores!.. As i've said,sure,its a competent game,but it fails in so many other ways.First of all,The Campaign.First of all,its EXTREMELY short.Secondly,the story itself is ludicrus(as they seem to increasingly getting now with CoD,Black Ops for example).The Plot is more James Bond,than serious military storyline.CoD will be having Moonraker style space station fights before long at this rate.. Thirdly,No Campaign Co-Op.The ommission of this is inexcusible! especially when Tryarch managed it in World at War! though where was Co-Op in Black Ops though Treyarch? Tut Tut.. Co-Op really should be catered for in most games now,like multiplayer is(which doesnt interest me a great deal).& not rubbish 'Side Modes' like Spec Ops,or Onslaught Mode in Bad Company 2.When will developers learn,we dont want that,we want CAMPAIGN Co-Op. & fourthly,Re-Spawning enemies?! Come On!,this is not the retro era,we should be past this by now.. The multiplayer is pretty good though,& can see why alot of people like it.Though both the Single player & Multiplayer in CoD are both looking really tired now(Black Ops included),& the series needs a boot up the backside.In fact,in future,if i'm to buy any more CoD's,Campaign Co-Op is a minimum requirement.If it doesnt,NO sale,from me anyway.The far superior singleplayer & multiplayer experience can be found in Battlefield-Bad Company 2.That game too,sadly lacks Co-Op,but is still the superior game by far. Expand
  80. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i think that this is great and should at least give it a go. 10/10
  81. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has it's share of problems, but that does not make the game bad. The single player is great, although it is quite short. The spec ops mode is entertaining, but I wouldn't keep playing it (In my opinion, it gets boring quite fast.) The multiplayer is the biggest part of the game. It features a large player-base, and good customization. The online does have it's problems, such as overpowered weapons, and lag. It is also quite unrealistic. Overall, the game is good, not great, but good. Expand
  82. Apr 24, 2011
    4
    Although at the release of this game, the same with black ops, I enjoyed it extremely much - I now find myself playing Call of Duty 4 a lot more. This game is really plain after awhile and nothing ever gets exciting. You can't really find yourself having a new and exciting time every time you play. Call of Duty started to go downhill after this one. But on the other hand, the story mode is better. Although short - Good. As for the multiplayer ... pretty plain. Expand
  83. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Admittedly very little has changed since the first Modern Warfare but at the time the Call of Duty formula still remained fresh. For me the heavily scripted campaign is not quite a match for the original but to this day I would argue that it contains the best selection of multiplayer maps of any game in the series. Add in an excellent selection of co-op missions and you have an excellent overall package.

    The series has come it for a lot of (somewhat justified) criticism but there is a reason it has become so popular.
    Expand
  84. May 9, 2011
    0
    I never though a game could be so terribly over hyped. This proved me wrong. Starting with the Campaign, it was much too short, not nearly as epic as Call of Duty 4's, and was overall disappointing. The only part I really enjoyed was the airport level, it was funny (I didn't take it seriously since it was, you know, a video game). Even the ending was cliche and disappointing, not to mention all the plot holes pointed out by Games Radar. Next up came Spec-Ops mode. Some of the missions in this were kinda fun, others were boring, and some were just stupid (I'm talking about you, mission to kill 15 juggernauts with explosives only). The only reason I spent the time to complete it was for the achievements, and it almost wasn't worth it. Finally, the multiplayer: DISGUSTING. The perks are based on 3 play styles: Run and Knife, Quick scoping, and Camping. No matter what you say, quickly going into your scope and killing someone is NOT skill, learn to use legit aim and not let bullet magnetism/auto assist get your kills. One Man Army just led the way for super noob-tube (Grenade Launcher) campers, and commando+lightweight+marathon=Knifing which I find also to have no skill since you just sneak up on people and run to fast to get killed. Overall, I turned this game in when I finished it, and absolutely regret ever buying it. Overall, if you prominently use any of the above mentioned play styles, please get this and stay on this game. If not, get any Battlefield game, or wait for new shooters, as this was a TOTAL LETDOWN. Expand
  85. May 21, 2011
    3
    While the campaign and spe ops modes were time passing and fun, the multiplayer, which is the primary use of Call of Duty, seemed mediocre and lack luster at best. It was the cause of numerous holes in walls and countless sore throats. In the end, many people simply broke the disk. never wanting anyone to play it again.
  86. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    Said to be the World's most anticipated Entertainment of our time. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 is game from Infinity Ward with an updated fludity then Call of Duty 4. The campaign is very short and seems like the process is being rushed, in both good and bad ways. The multiplayer is one of the most addictive experience hands down but can severe alot due to imbalance issues. This is most likely due to the reason that most guns kill in 2-3 shots. I give this game 7/10 but hope that they can learn from the dozens of mistake they have made and fix it in Modern Warfare 3. Expand
  87. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX
    360 controller than this game. Shooting a gun is so fun it's unreal. pick any gun up in this game and you will have fun shooting it no matter what. The multiplayer is great and balanced but does need some fixing in some areas. Throughout your multiplayer expierience, you will see many different guns because all guns have some pros and cons. There are about 6 different attachments for each primary weapon and about 8 or more camos for each primary weapon. You can earn a TON of challenges that will take you 20 hours of gameplay to achieve all of them. Even after that, you can still have fun and prestige. This game has almost endless replay value. The single player is short but sweet. I got through it in 4 hours on Recruit, 5 hours on Regular, 6 hours on Hardened, and 8 hours on Veteran. Even after that, there is co-op in which you can play solo or with another player online or split-screen. That takes maybe 6 or 7 hours to complete on Regular, and 10 hours to earn all stars. The gameplay is a 10.0
    Presentation: The in-game music never gets old and I say that after playing this game for 2 years. The menu navigation is swift and convenient, and the color scheme is great but simple. Not much else to say, 10.0
    Graphics: This game has smooth visuals and amazing lighting effects. The multiplayer maps have been worked on for hours and it's evident because the visuals are top-notch even out of the map. Single player is even better and there are no bugs or gaps in the graphics at all. The graphics are a 10.0
    Expand
  88. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    The gameplay IS fun, but it couldn't distract me from the all-too-expansive story. COD4's charm was in playing as an unknown operative on a small but crucial stealth/action mission. MW2's story expands to a global scale and is mostly heavy action that the player follows rather than controls. And the story is criminally short to boot, weighing in at a pathetic 6 hours of gameplay time.
  89. Sep 28, 2011
    1
    Let me come out first and say how much I loved Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, It was the only game to break me from Halo 3, I loved the graphics, the game play, the weapon customization, and even the single player.

    Now let me tell you how much of a disappointment this game was, the campaign felt like Red Dawn on crack and when i finished it I really didn't feel satisfied, what did I just
    accomplish? What is this series going to do next? Do I even care? Nope.

    Now on to the bread and butter, I don't actually mind the singeplayer being bad, because after all I buy Call of Duty games to play online games with my friends and dookie on the opposing team. I was kind of psyched to find out that Juggernaut and martyrdom had been removed, the only two things I really hated with a fiery passion from Modern Warfare 1. I quickly found out that it had been replaced with something far sinister, Painkiller and deathstreaks inc. The game literally rewards you for being bad, it goes against every gaming sensibility out there. There is a very high chance in every match if you start getting a good kill lead on the other team that they will start spawning with 3x-4x their normal health. Great Idea, lets penalize the other team for being good.

    The weapon balance is horrific, every class can literally use a SPAS or a machine pistol, so snipers can just bust out a shotgun if they get rushed. Dual wielding should have NEVER been added to the COD series, and its as broken as hell, the 1887's had to be nerfed because people were getting dropped from 20-30 yards away by dual wield shotguns...Yes...dual wielded shotguns. Plus some of the assault rifles are just too easy to use like the ACR, I mean you literally can't miss a bullet, opposed to COD4, where you practically had to burst fire the M4 or AK for them to work effectively at range.

    The perk system is terrible, the rate at which you unlock great perks takes too long and not only that, they encourage a very low cowardly form of play, Marathon/Commando/Lightweight setups, Army of One noob tube setups. These setups are used by badkids galore and they even the playing field because theres literally no counter for them.

    The killstreak system is extremely broken. I realize that the airstrike in COD4 gave you kills towards your chopper, but it ended at that. That system in this game is absurdly broken, because you can literally rack up 30+ kills in a minute and a half, it's just way too damn easy for one person to get out of control. Predator missle->double kill->harrier bomb kills+gun kills+your kills->chopper gunner, I used this setup and many others used it as well because it was just effective and easy obtain.

    The above mentioned killstreaks breaking into my gameplay segment. EVERYONE and their mother camps on this game for their own killstreaks, don't even try playing a public objective game, people will refuse to leave 5 yards away from where they spawn, it literally breaks down the game into a stalemate of campy badness.

    In conclusion I think I've been pretty fair with my issues on this game, and the only reason I'm giving it a ONE, is because they came out with barebones mode which doesn't allow killstreaks, only then was I able to see, well at least without the killstreaks muddying up the gameplay, it plays as a very competetive shooter when people are actually trying to win and do the objectives on the map.
    Expand
  90. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    This is the worst **** I have ever played! Full of bugs, graphics in this game are like it was relased in 2004! Textures of weapons are like made by stupid yeti. Everyone compares it to Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Why, I am asking? If I would compare both of them, I'd say: Bad Company has the destruction, physics, maps are 10x bigger, you need to use brain when you are playing. I don't see any positive arguments to buy this game. You can just borrow it from your friend. And I don't know, why the reviewers gave 100 to this game! Oh, sorry! Not a game, a piece of **** Ok, so now I'm going to say good things about this game: when you kill a person in multiplayer, you feel badass, killstreaks are good point and weapon customization. Think about, before you buy this game... Expand
  91. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    This games campaign is too short. I mean that the levels on the campaign is good, but very short. And in the online there are too many glitches. It´s too overrated. So mine review is kinda negative.
  92. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0 you people and people like you are the reason why User Scores can't be taken with a grain of salt games should be reviewed by graphics, content, controls, and game play. Your review of this game and any other shouldn't even exist because of the sheer ignorance of the creator of them. All the Critics review are all positive so I'm wondering what's wrong you guys. Expand
  93. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    In my opinion, Modern warfare 2 is not even close to being as good as the first modern warfare. I feel like the multiplayer in this game is not that good, along with the maps that come along. The campaign is OK, but jumps from place to place to much. I do think the spec ops mode is good though. Overall this call of duty is good, but not as good as the past ones.
  94. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Best Call of Duty game in the franchise!!! At least this is better than the stupid Call of Duty Black Ops . The fun thing about this game is the multiplayer and Spec Ops which is very addicting. The Campaign is really fun too 10/10.
  95. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game of the decade. The game's deep storyline, which captivates the very thought of the games capacity to generate fun which is in fact endless, is quite different to many other games. It is a mixture of emotions of anger, happiness, revenge and sadness. From the start where you put on a show for a few newcomers, to the end when you save Captain Price, the game is captivating. I believe that this game has the potential to wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition Every single second of campaign had me demanding for the next. The Multiplayer is just revolutionary. It brings a whole new meaning to the word 'multiplayer'. Modes such as Free-For-All and Team Death match, will leave you sitting in front of the television for hours together. Special Ops however was the downfall for the whole game. It to mix up both the multi-pIayer and campaign game modes but, inevitably failed. It still was fun though.

    I believe that this game can overpower any other game that will challenge it. it will wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition that they are in. After that, the other video game companies will stop releasing good-for-nothing games and start thinking of games that we actually want, not games that will just make them money. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has the potential to do so.
    Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a step up from the original in every way, and given MW1 was a sexy fps beast, that really is saying something. The graphics have become much sleeker and maintain a certain sheen absent from previous Call of Duty games, gameplay has become a much smoother experience, and the new maps, weapons and slightly re-worked perks in multiplayer give the game a heightened sense of balance. The campaign is hard to put up compared to MW1, but aside from that, the best in the series, with several F^CK YEAH! moments and more than enough heart-tugging, emotional surprises, a reunion with a lost friend and the death of two others, plot-wise, still brilliant, Infinity Ward's writing is really coming into its own. Special Ops is fiendishly difficult, but in a challenging way, rather than in a "Mega Man" way (you don't feel like blowing your brains out after a half-hour of play) and will keep you and a friend coming back for months and months until you've collected all 69 (lol) stars. The Multiplayer is also an improvement, more maps, more weapons, more perks (and pro perks) and a vast array of tactics to choose from, all of which award the player in accordance with their difficulty, a Call of Duty game topped only by its sequel Expand
  97. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Once you start playing this game online, its hard to play any other, you feel at home when you pick up the controller and barge into the familiar maps, using your custom made classes and skins on your guns, this trilogy has created millions of fan-boys like myself that find this game one of the most entertaining on the market, (except for portal 2)
  98. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This can be interpreted as good or bad, but I finished the short but sweet campaign in nearly one day (not a continous day, I just played for around five hours that day). The multiplayer tries to bring new things but ultimately it becomes unbalanced, but theres no doubt that its a lot of fun. Highly recommended, but treat it like a Bond film, think about it and you won't like it (why does every faction have an arsenal of nuclear missiles?...).
    Just a word of advice however, avoid the PC version. If you have an Xbox 360/PS3 and a high-end PC, and MW2 is $100 on the Xbox 360/PS3 but $2 on the PC, I would still recommend you get the console version over the PC version.
    Expand
  99. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After finishing this game, including a sad yet accomplished tenth prestige, I feel that I am in a position to properly review this game - much unlike most others who simply give a review of the multiplayer and ignore al other aspects of the game. One of the comments on the page that claims to discover large plot 'holes', however these are only holes in their intellect as they were unable to grasp the high octane storyline. The only hole - and a slight one at that is (Spoiler Alert) when the prisoner is broken out of the Gulag to use as bait for Makarov as he is the only one who will turn Makarov's head turns out to be Price. This is incorrect as Price did not kill Imran Zakhaev - Soap did in Modern Warfare one. Besides this small plot hole the single player is fun and enjoyable although is slightly short, but this is only if you play it on easy and run through the levels whilst not paying proper attention to the story. The special ops section of the game is a new feature to the series of games and is thoroughly enjoyable with a sense of achievement after completing them. However, I believe that the game comes into its own light during multiplayer. Despite clear faults the game was released early - Activision wanted it pushed through where Infinity Ward wanted more time to complete the game fully - and had plenty of bugs that players were able to exploit to get easy kills. The killsteaks are innovative and although there may well be other games that introduced this first but they are on a different level to other games. The tactical nuke - annoying for those who are simply not good at the game and fun for those who are tactical about their play or who work as a team - is a great feature that I enjoy trying to achieve. The perks online can also be frustrating - commando is a normally hated perk but if the player uses this I dont see a problem as they may find your perks as annoying as they are all beneficial to the individual. The spawning system may well be a pain but how is it you would like it to be changed? Being a programmer I understand the difficulty of creating such a system and no matter what way you create it, there will always be people complaining about it. Overall I would say that this is simply one of the best shooter games ever created and although many people find its flaws, look at the critic reviews, not all of them can be wrong can they? Expand
  100. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    It's probably the best Call of Duty game yet, tops the first Modern Warfare in every way. Even though multiplayer seems to be where it's at for everyone, I however very much enjoyed its single player campaign the most. It's a highly entertaining epic war-field. Loved it.
  101. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.