Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2556 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player storyModern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player story campaign. Special Ops pits players into a gauntlet of time-trial and objective-based missions. Rank-up as players unlock new Special Ops missions, each more difficult. Missions include highlights from the single player campaign, fan favorites from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and all new, exclusive missions. Setting a new bar for online multiplayer, Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer delivers new capabilities, customization, gamestates and modes, including: Create-a-Class Evolved. Secondary Weapons - Machine Pistols, Shotguns, Handguns, Launchers. Riot Shields. Equipment - Throwing Knives, Blast Shield, Tactical Insertion. Perk Upgrades. Bling (Dual Attachments). Customizable Killstreaks - AC130, Sentry Gun, Predator Missile, Counter-UAV, Care Package. Accolades (Post match reports). [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. What impresses me so much about this game is not only that it has a tremendous amount of hype surrounding it which it does, but that it delivers even through all of that.
  3. Multiplayer is fast, frantic and as exciting as ever.
  4. 94
    This game has so many standout moments of such immersive power, there really is no other experience out there to touch Modern Warfare 2’s controlled and entertaining pandemonium. Infinty Ward has skill, panache and big, hanging balls that clang as loud as Big Ben, so much so a the bar has been raised with Modern Warfare 2.
  5. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.
  6. Modern Warfare 2 ticks all of the right boxes: varied gameplay, immersive story, engaging gunplay, superb multiplayer, and the list goes on... If we're being really nitpicky, then we might suggest that there aren't many innovative features in the game. However, MW2's Spec Ops mode is fresh enough to ensure that the overall package isn't a stale one, while the long-term appeal of adversarial multiplayer will stretch out until the next Infinity Ward release with ease.
  7. The single player stages are much too linear, the co-op missions are reused from the single player campaign, and the main multiplayer deathmatch style modes are very unbalanced, especially for new players. But like Uncharted 2, MW2 is like an insane action packed movie that you can participate in… too bad the game’s heavy use of scripted events make the player feel like they have do not have any control regarding the out come of the final experience.

See all 100 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. DaveL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a friend. Not too fun single player. This is easily a 10 just based on the value that I will get out of this. Anyone giving lower than an 8 is just a fanboy of Halo, KZ2, UC2, etc. This is a great game that will keep me playing for months and months. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality ofIt's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. The last game made by the old IW, before they were fired. Truly an excellent game. The best Call of Duty, bar none, and the lastAmazing game. The last game made by the old IW, before they were fired. Truly an excellent game. The best Call of Duty, bar none, and the last truly amazing game. Rediculous fun can be had. Noobtubes can be a problem, but they don't damper the experience enough. If it was released for next gen, I'd by it in a heartbeat. Expand
  4. BradP
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did when you played COD4. Expand
  5. BearD
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Its a great fun single player game but if you thought Halo odst was short this shorter and that alone kills the game. Sound is not as good as Its a great fun single player game but if you thought Halo odst was short this shorter and that alone kills the game. Sound is not as good as Bad company nor are the graphics. Graphics are very much the same and old and that also knocks the game. Some levels like the snow level look great but some others are just plain, like a cracker. If you dont care for graphics you will love the game. aftre playing game like Battle field: bad company, far cry 2 graphics just lack on mw 2 and many reviewers have not even mentioned this. This single player mode feels like DLC but if you love multiplayer, this is it. Its been overrated but has much replay value on certain levels. mw2 fans were ripped off for the length of the single campaign and yet co-op is not even there for single player mode only mini games. The weapons are fantastic and the action is very god but for 2 years in the making its very short and that in my view is very sad and unlike a lot of reviewers im being honest..its fun and you will play through the game very quickly and love the story but you will feel ripped off and ponder thought....."2 years and only 4hours game play? the DLC for GTA 4 is even 10hours. very unprofessional. In manys ways MW 1 is better than 2 for its levels and story that is more connected. Expand
  6. BrekR.
    Dec 11, 2009
    4
    Its rather immature that people seem to feel the need to call out others opinions and deem them wrong because they dont like this game, and Its rather immature that people seem to feel the need to call out others opinions and deem them wrong because they dont like this game, and saying the reason is because they suck at playing it. Grow up 5 year olds. This game is as medicore and over the top as they come. Because you like it, does not mean end of story, its amazing. Your opinion, whatever. Play some other games, get a life, and you'll realize that this is nothing what it could have been, purely marketed to look better and offer something thats non-exsistant in the game... so many other titles have done a better job and offered a hell of a lot more. Sure, the single player is alright, completly pointless as it may be and micheal bay inspired (i wonder how many of you complained about transformers 2, yet are praising this? hmmm. hypocritcs.), but it gets old. Its a basic run and gun with absolutly zero thought involved, other than point and shoot until you complete it 4.5hrs later with as many explosions happening at one time. Characer models look good, but environments are flat, boring, almost 2D stills at times. No decision making, no cover mechanics, a total lack of reaslim in; recoil, physics, body damage, and gore. This could have been rated T, but they didnt because it would have turned away older gents. An on rails, linear ride that was ok while it lasted, but you'll never go on it again. Spec ops is rather useless, you may play it once, but never feel any need to go back to it. Again, COD is stuck with a low amount of total players at 2 in spec ops. Thats rather pathetic. A minimum of 4 should have been allowed. Multiplayer gets old, its a useless grind to lvl 70, to see who can have the least life and play the most to unlock guns and perks that make the game completely unbalanced or fair to anyone a lower lvl than you, or somebody who has a life and doesnt play 10hrs a day like most 13 year olds rating this a 10. I've no problem getting a good score in this game, all you have to do is camp. This game has taken everything bad about mw1 and multiplyed it by 12 in mw2. Spawn system is hilarious, glitches run rampant, as do hackers. Still 6v6, with 1 game mode you can do 9v9 on, rather stupid, they can allow more players and they know it. All in all, a rather redundant tool in the gaming world that has offered nothing new, only copied and pasted its predecessor. I feel like I woke up in, when did MW1 come out, 07? Total let down, I doubt I will ever purchase another Activison game. I'm selling this asap. Its rather sad that developers who try new ideas, new ips, or push the envelope with games are going out of business or barely breaking even to continue game creating, while this piece of crap is thriving, or did at least at launch, i see alot of people arent happy. Its the new Madden. Now you all can buy your 2 or 3 maps for $10, and then buy COD7 in a few months. Waste of money... never again. Expand
  7. AndrewT.
    Nov 19, 2009
    0
    It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could have made it a little better. The online multiplayer is extremely enjoyable. There's so many unlockables and the maps are fun to play. Expand

See all 477 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.