Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    The multiplayer is hands-down the best it has ever been, with more features, more modes and a ton of new levels and ways to interact via Call of Duty Elite. The singleplayer campaign and Spec Ops mode add value to the overall package, creating something that may not be perfect, but is too damn addicting to pass up.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    85
    This is an exciting and rewarding game, but the series' signature thrills have lost some of their luster. Modern Warfare 3 iterates rather than innovates, so the fun you have is familiar. Fortunately, it's also utterly engrossing and immensely satisfying, giving fans another reason to rejoice in this busy shooter season.
  3. 88
    Largely feels like an iterative title...This isn't to say that Modern Warfare 3 is at all a bad game-it's an attractive and polished effort with tight controls, addictive multiplayer, and the sense that one is truly on a battlefield, rather than carrying on a miniature war behind the scenes.
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 meets expectations. The core elements of multiplayer and the campaign remain fundamentally unchanged, but the game serves as a great example of how many subtle tweaks can add up to an improved overall product.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Feels like a complete package from the start; the three gameplay areas - solo, co-op and multiplayer - all feeling like parts of a cohesive whole, driven by a clear and honed declaration of intent.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    It will be yet another go-round on the same rollercoaster. And this time, to enjoy it fully, you won't have to measure up at a sign that says "you must be this obsessed with multiplayer to ride this ride."
  7. Nov 18, 2011
    95
    Looking back over this generation, it can be argued that Modern Warfare reinvented the way we play shooters, and now, Modern Warfare 3 may have come as close as we'll ever get to perfecting it. What few complaints we do have feel negligible in comparison to everything the game does right, and both the campaign and multiplayer components deliver on all fronts. If you've always been hesitant to try Call of Duty, this might be the time to jump in. It honestly doesn't get much better than this.
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    83
    The focus is clearly on the multiplayer here, and I doubt you're going to get a better FPS multiplayer experience from any other game this year.
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    75
    Other than the Strike Packages, MW3 really is nothing we haven't already seen. This does not say you won't get your first-person shooter fix. As a standalone game, it's worth every penny and will undoubtedly keep players occupied until the next installment, but as a sequel, it's disappointing.
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    91
    I'm glad to say the multiplayer remains addicting and is more balanced than ever.
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    92
    Modern Warfare 3 is what the fans expected - fast paced multiplayer action with some new twists and game modes that are a definitely a fresh breeze. But there are also a great campaign and the usual challenging Spec Ops.
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    93
    Big, brash, ballsy, bombastic, barmy and bloody. And of course, better than Black Ops. [Christmas 2011, p.55]
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    100
    It's hard to believe Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 has finally arrived let alone lived up to all the hype surrounding it.
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    If you're looking for a new kind of shooter, look elsewhere. Modern Warfare 3 succeeds by doing more – much, much, much more – of what's always worked spectacularly for the series. We still can't get enough.
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Everything fans may expect. A frantic and incredibly fun multiplayer with tons of options, game modes and unlockables, and also very well polished, and an intense campaign that concludes a story which started with Modern Warfare four years ago. The formula is aging - although it works as well as ever, its visuals are stagnating, but this is still a must-have for those looking for direct action.
  16. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    91
    The biggest problem with Modern Warfare 3 is that it doesn't surprise, aside from the fact that there's more for the solo player to do than you might expect. It feels very safe, which is understandable given the budget and its sales expectations-as well as the rabid fan base that doesn't necessarily want innovation.
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    A refinement of the series that further evidences why, year after year, Activision puts it on a pedestal. If you enjoy shooters, you owe it to yourself to at least give Modern Warfare a chance. If you've been on the fence because of the die-hards, this is the year to dip your toe in the water.
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    An emphatic, feature-packed and sometimes stunning final act.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    It's a Call Of Duty that feels incredibly focused despite a period in its development of massive uncertainty. Its campaign still toes the line between being smart and being stupid, but for Saturday night, popcorn entertainment, Modern Warfare 3 has the competition beat.
  21. 95
    One startlingly huge, polished, and downright entertaining shooter experience. Sure, we can come up with a list of things we'd love to see from the series - whether it's a revamped campaign approach or a revitalized game engine and aesthetic - but when everything here is this well-executed and offers so many enduring thrills, it's hard to knock it too much. MW3 absolutely delivers.
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    86
    A great first person shooter, but at the same time a formula that starts to feel dated with this iteration. Modern Warfare 3 is an off-line spectacle and another splendid multiplayer game.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't do anything new, but it also doesn't do anything wrong. For better or worse, this is a slick and well-metered trio of modes that make an entertaining package, but Sledgehammer Games and Infinity Ward are simply looking to augment previous games rather than expand the series into pastures new.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    91
    Following in its predecessors footsteps, MW3 once again offers a great piece of entertainment. The campaign is short as usual, yet well-crafted, especially for the urban environments. Spec Ops, both Missions and Survivals, are a lot of fun, but the true heart of it all is in the competitive multiplayer. New modes and rebalanced perks and streaks add some teamwork-oriented action, and the overall experience is rich and entertaining as usual. It lacks in innovation, but it's still the best shooter on HD consoles.
  25. Dec 7, 2011
    83
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a suitable end to the Modern Warfare series, assuming this is as far as Infinity Ward takes the storyline. Every piece of the formula that has been used in the past game is here and accounted for and has been refined to a "T". As long as you don't expect anything more than what you are used to, you should be more than happy with the game.
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    95
    Modern Warfare 3 treads familiar ground and focuses on tweaking rather than reinventing, and that's just fine. While there are no major revelations or surprises, this is still a gorgeously produced package that gives military shooter fans exactly what they want. There's a reason why Call of Duty is the most powerful videogame franchise of the modern era, and Modern Warfare 3 serves as a reminder -- it's just that damn good at what it does.
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    92
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a completely crazy tour-de-force that carries you through trenches all around the world, as well as giving a great refresh to the multiplayer mode that has all but defined Activision in the console market.
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 is a solid FPS. If you didn't like the previous chapters, you won't change your mind, since the game doesn't change its formula. Scripted, spectacular and short, the single player campaign is just an appetizer, leading you to taste the savory multiplayer and the amazing Spec-Ops missions.
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    94
    Modern Warfare 3 is the elite of the elite shooters.
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    88
    Modern Warfare 3 is a solid entry into the series. The singleplayer campaign offers non-stop action to the point of excess, while the multiplayer offers the usual hooks and unlockables that will keep you busy for weeks to come. [Nov 2011]
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8593 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality ofI remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game.

    Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else , maybe buy an indi game. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. The game is simply a cash in , pure and simple.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change inI have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing. I have played about 1h of multiplayer and I am totally sick of it! More campers than ever with a lot of 12 year old kids, way too easy to spawn kill, overpowered weapons etc. I could go on for a whole essay if I would have the energy to. There are a lot of glitches also, of course the game was just released but these are simple, easy glitches that should have been noticed instantly during the beta tests. The maps are all recycled with the same looks as earlier maps, nothing new. I am really disappointed mostly because I waited out in the cold rain for almost 12 hours with my friends and we really were expecting a good game. That this is not. Save your time, go play something else because this is not worth it. At least I can still sell this on eBay for 90% of the money. Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Honestly, I don't know how the critics hold this game in such high esteem. It should be sold at half the retail price as it is essentially anHonestly, I don't know how the critics hold this game in such high esteem. It should be sold at half the retail price as it is essentially an expansion to MW2. As a COD fan, I am disappointed that Infinity Ward didn't do more with this. It's almost like they know that we will buy their games and just ignore the fact that it's like we are buying a second copy of MW2. I'm sorry Infinity Ward but I think Dice weren't wrong when they said that Battlefield 3 was made to rival the COD franchise, as it certainly brings more to the table than MW3. Full Review »