Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 is a solid FPS. If you didn't like the previous chapters, you won't change your mind, since the game doesn't change its formula. Scripted, spectacular and short, the single player campaign is just an appetizer, leading you to taste the savory multiplayer and the amazing Spec-Ops missions.
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    100
    Like a divorced parent trying to win the affection of an only child, the game dishes out rewards with every breath.
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Effective, but it is a recipe that begins to show serious limitations.
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  5. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  6. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.
  7. Dec 7, 2011
    83
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a suitable end to the Modern Warfare series, assuming this is as far as Infinity Ward takes the storyline. Every piece of the formula that has been used in the past game is here and accounted for and has been refined to a "T". As long as you don't expect anything more than what you are used to, you should be more than happy with the game.
  8. Nov 28, 2011
    85
    Nothing new under the sun – that's spot-on. CoD: MW3 is a great game with no innovation. The graphics are outstanding, the sound effects amazing and the multiplayer as good as ever. The short campaign, the poor soundtrack, indestructible background objects and the shallow story, told in a confusing way, are disappointing though. Still, the game is very intense and well done. A must buy for all the fans.
  9. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    Modern Warfare 3 is a good game, and Call of Duty fans will be happy. Those who are getting tired of Call of Duty will even be able to appreciate the changes in level progression and unlocks. At the end of the day, Modern Warfare 3 sticks to the safe formula that has worked for years, it's just that it is starting to get old.
  10. Nov 18, 2011
    85
    The singleplayer of Modern Warfare 3 closes the trilogy on a high note, the Spec Ops-mode has been improved both quality- and quantity-wise and the multiplayer has been rebalanced. But there isn't any surprise to be found in the game. It's time that the series reinvents itself before its too late, but this is still an extremely solid conclusion.
  11. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is exactly what we expected, and depending on your stance on the series that's either good or bad.
  12. Nov 18, 2011
    95
    Looking back over this generation, it can be argued that Modern Warfare reinvented the way we play shooters, and now, Modern Warfare 3 may have come as close as we'll ever get to perfecting it. What few complaints we do have feel negligible in comparison to everything the game does right, and both the campaign and multiplayer components deliver on all fronts. If you've always been hesitant to try Call of Duty, this might be the time to jump in. It honestly doesn't get much better than this.
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    A refinement of the series that further evidences why, year after year, Activision puts it on a pedestal. If you enjoy shooters, you owe it to yourself to at least give Modern Warfare a chance. If you've been on the fence because of the die-hards, this is the year to dip your toe in the water.
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    It delivers everything that you expect from a Call of Duty release, and it does that very well. The campaign strikes a perfect chord and there's not a single dull mission in the bunch, every minute filled with bravado and bravery as it steadily rises toward a thoroughly satisfying conclusion.
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    91
    The biggest problem with Modern Warfare 3 is that it doesn't surprise, aside from the fact that there's more for the solo player to do than you might expect. It feels very safe, which is understandable given the budget and its sales expectations-as well as the rabid fan base that doesn't necessarily want innovation.
  16. Nov 16, 2011
    85
    This time the single player campaign has definitely taken a backseat as it doesn't manage to offer the thrills of the previous installments. On the other hand, its excellent multiplayer will undoubtedly maintain the interest of the fans until the next installment.
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    80
    While it is abundantly clear that this game doesn't strive for innovation, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 gives players an overall entertaining game and delivers exactly what fans of the series want..
  18. 85
    A well produced title that will give you another slice of entertainment, whether you choose to go it alone or head online to kick ass and take some names. It's nothing new though, and single-player feels especially lightweight this time around, so there is still room for improvement. More of the same next year then – which is both great news and a bit disappointing really.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    83
    The focus is clearly on the multiplayer here, and I doubt you're going to get a better FPS multiplayer experience from any other game this year.
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    75
    Other than the Strike Packages, MW3 really is nothing we haven't already seen. This does not say you won't get your first-person shooter fix. As a standalone game, it's worth every penny and will undoubtedly keep players occupied until the next installment, but as a sequel, it's disappointing.
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    It's not often that a game franchise can be this good on such a consistent basis, but the Modern Warfare series continues to impress thanks in large part to its stellar story and highly-replayable multiplayer components.
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Much like its predecessors in many ways, but bigger and more varied. The multiplayer mode got new kill streaks, new objectives and an extreme number of unlockable content. Add a solid (but almost to intensive) campaign, a survival mode and the spec ops missions and you got a seriously great game.
  23. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    Put that aside and enjoy Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 for what it is: a brutal and rewarding game that knows what players expect, and delivers it with well-earned confidence.
  24. Nov 13, 2011
    85
    This game plays well but there's a big lack of innovation. The multiplayer has shown some improvements but furthermore the game is exactly like you would expect.
  25. Nov 13, 2011
    86
    In the end of it all Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 delivers the goods, though one wonders if even the ravenous fan base will be pleased for much longer unless we see a bit more revitalization in the franchise.
  26. Nov 12, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 is the best package of it's kind on consoles and instead of going stale it continues to impress.
  27. Nov 12, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 is a great FPS and a satisfying ending to Infinity's trilogy. With an adrenalinic and spectacular campaign and very entertaining multiplayer modes, fans of the series won't be disappointed – though we would have liked if the developers pushed it more on the technical side.
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    90
    Much like its predecessors: a bombastic but brief single player campaign coupled with laser-focused multiplayer.
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    95
    The multiplayer is the strongest it has ever been, and the coop mode has been expanded from an addition to a full-fledged mode. Modern Warfare 3 won't blow away anyone looking for anything new, but it will deliver enough thrills and quality to keep players engaged and coming back for more.
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    90
    This is probably the best Modern Warfare ever published. The campaign is not as fresh as we hoped, but every new touch in the multiplayer is indisputable.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8483 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game.

    Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else , maybe buy an indi game. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. The game is simply a cash in , pure and simple.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing. I have played about 1h of multiplayer and I am totally sick of it! More campers than ever with a lot of 12 year old kids, way too easy to spawn kill, overpowered weapons etc. I could go on for a whole essay if I would have the energy to. There are a lot of glitches also, of course the game was just released but these are simple, easy glitches that should have been noticed instantly during the beta tests. The maps are all recycled with the same looks as earlier maps, nothing new. I am really disappointed mostly because I waited out in the cold rain for almost 12 hours with my friends and we really were expecting a good game. That this is not. Save your time, go play something else because this is not worth it. At least I can still sell this on eBay for 90% of the money. Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Honestly, I don't know how the critics hold this game in such high esteem. It should be sold at half the retail price as it is essentially an expansion to MW2. As a COD fan, I am disappointed that Infinity Ward didn't do more with this. It's almost like they know that we will buy their games and just ignore the fact that it's like we are buying a second copy of MW2. I'm sorry Infinity Ward but I think Dice weren't wrong when they said that Battlefield 3 was made to rival the COD franchise, as it certainly brings more to the table than MW3. Full Review »