User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8593 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    kinda knew its a rehash after watching a friend play, seriousely the game is as copy and paste as it can be.....not going to even buy and the game not even worth pirating.....
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    60 Euros map pack? It's time to make a stand and say to being exploited by these damn huge gaming corporations that took the fun out of our games and make them into cash grabbing schemes. Most worthless game out there and it's pretty clear by this point that all media taking covering this game got payed big money to cover for it's HUGE flaws.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I've seen indie shooters for $20 better than this garbage...

    like most people pointed out there isnt much new to MW3 both in terms of single player and multiplayer. but I have found with this installment there are some "new" features clearly throwing the game out of balance. Black ops did a lot of things right as a "modern" Call of duty, and its absolutely foolish for
    I've seen indie shooters for $20 better than this garbage...

    like most people pointed out there isnt much new to MW3 both in terms of single player and multiplayer. but I have found with this installment there are some "new" features clearly throwing the game out of balance. Black ops did a lot of things right as a "modern" Call of duty, and its absolutely foolish for sledgehammer(SH) to not adapt some of their ideas such as being able to unlock any attachment you want instead of a dual level based system. Sledgehammer's dual leveling system and poor matchmaking system does nothing but hurt new players as now they have to not only accquire general levels but then level up the gun as well to get a mix attachments and what used to be or should still be attachments. starting off with not only "starter guns" but nerfed guns at that with no bare minimum attachments and features that should be default on guns like decent bullet penetration pretty much makes you a sitting duck against the multitude of players that are already above general level 35. This disparaging level gap can also be attributed to the Mt. Dew promotion going on, another poor business based decision, and is skewing game balance.

    As far as the maps, many of them are actually redone or partially recycled versions of MW2 maps and by redone I mean SH just added way too much ambient garbage or "cover" to the maps and many of them instead of being realistic feel like you are trying to manuver through someone's house on an episode of "Hoarders." The blown up cars that were once faithful defenders against bullets can too often become death traps as your player model gets stuck on them and cannot stand up to quickly escape the area. SH tried to make many of the maps challenging but with the beavy of blindside pathways and dropping you in the center of the map oftentimes, the maps seem like charactures of military scenarios rather than a somewhat believeable combat experience. Explosion blast radius is way too big especially for some of the tight CQB maps. Explosions sometimes kill your through thick concrete walls without anytype of animation cliping to show the explosion went through.

    new player perks like stalker are nearly useless if not a detriment to your playstyle.

    while kill confirmed is a fun new game mode along with the VIP like flag capture mode, SH has virtually removed any incentive to play these and the other long time COD gamemodes as they are intended, because of the Mt. Dew promotion and just weak XP from doing objectives every game mode just boils down into people playing team deathmatch.

    most of these still existing problems were back from MW2 and still have not been fixed on top of a lot of recent additions to unbalancing and annoying to say the least game modes. SH just wasnt ready for prime time even cutting and pasting IW code, but it might also be time for the hardcore gaming community to hang up the boots on this franchise. Despite SH not being able to fill IW shoes and this game being severely premature considering what happened at IW I'm most disappointed in the professional critics that praised this cookie cutter garbage in order to suckle at the green teat of Activision.
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    It's hard to explain how bad a game can get. If there was an option to vote negative, this would be the game I'd choose. I've been a gamer for so many years and it hurts to see what Activision does to the gaming industry.
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I am a big COD Fan but im sorry this is the worst COD of all times.They mess everything up about this game. this game should be name Mw2.5. Lets not for get that they did not even put back 3 person shooter.
  6. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Terrible Multiplayer, full of cheaters, a simple MW2 recicled. An drastic downgrade faced to Black Ops.
    No 3D, No dolph dive, No easy drop shot. Horrible perks division, no more wager matchs or CoD money.
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    If you want a multiplayer experience that consists of someone always shooting you first regardless if you saw them first because they have a better connection or always being shot from behind because there are no hold down spots, then this is for you. First let me say that COD has always suffered from not using dedicated servers. Someone gets picked as host who has the best connection andIf you want a multiplayer experience that consists of someone always shooting you first regardless if you saw them first because they have a better connection or always being shot from behind because there are no hold down spots, then this is for you. First let me say that COD has always suffered from not using dedicated servers. Someone gets picked as host who has the best connection and it's a guarantee that person and who ever connects well to that host will see you a good 1/2 sec before you see them, which for this game is instant death. BF3 uses dedicated servers and it shows. But here is the main problem with MW3, there are NO medium to long range maps...90% of the maps are small close quarter street and alley type layouts that have no areas to hold down or go after and really no buildings to go in. They all play the same, just super fast paced with the same perks and guns from before. Forget maps like Wasteland, Terminal, Estate, Derail, Afghan, Carnival, Trailer Park, Overgrown....maps with personality letting you go in planes/airports, C130s, trailer parks, train yards, open areas with long lines of sight, etc. Most maps are single level with a few stairs for multilevel but the line of sight is terrible. Forget sniping. It's useless. EVERY MAP IS LIKE FAVELA IN THE LAYOUT EXCEPT YOU CANNOT GO IN 99% OF THE BUILDINGS. This is a sad rehash of MW2 with HORRENDOUS map design. So for a game that is based off a host connection, all these stupid little street/alley maps will literally make you so mad because someone will kill you before you even have a chance to react. Oh so they added something new in weapon proficieny eh? What a load of junk, just a sneaky way to give you a 4th perk (as if 3 wasnt chaotic enough) except it applies specifically to your gun. 2 weapon attachments? Sounds like Bling perk. Increased bullet penetration? Sounds like Deep Impact. Focus? Who the heck will ever use that since you die immediately. This game is pure trash. Bobby Kotick needs to know what if feels like to be fed the same thing over and over. I wish i could feed him eggs for breakfast one day, then eggs over easy the next day. Then eggs benedict the next day. Then eggs sunny side up the next day. Then repeat that same process adding a little salt and pepper. Honestly I hate to make the comparison, but BF3 is a MUCH better game. It has its flaws too but it's so much more realistic and fun to play and is at least something different. People get owned if they just run around and the map design is much better. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    i remember when this game change my life but now i think This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 1, Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops, Modern Warfare 3...
    Always the same game since 5 years (same engine, same IA, same scripts...).
    Activision does not care about players.
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Modern warfare 3 is the same game as modern warfare 2. hell. it's even the same as call of duty 4. i see nothing new about this game. the only thing why people buy this is because it has "Call Of duty" in it. what a bunch of zombies they are
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Incredibly disappointing, feels like more of a disappointment than Modern Warfare 2. Sure, Modern Warfare 2 felt a bit like a rehash, but at least it brought in new ideas. This game has brought nothing in new. I've already returned it, I might as well just play Black Ops or MW2 online.

    Save your money and buy Battlefield 3 instead.
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Horrible feels just like CODMW1 and 2, p2p servers for ranked, paid DLC, a very short and less than impressive story. COD games have had their time its time to retire this franchise and try something new but that won't happen cause its a cash cow and nothing more. COD is not inovative,creative, or even fun anymore I feel like I have been playing the same game for over 6 years now.
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    THANK GOD I RENTED THIS GAME. A $60 map pack is all this is. A regurgitated mess is what this game, and entire franchise has become. Seven CoD game in a 6 year console cycle. Something is wrong here. I think the most possible thing wrong here are the people who buy this crap year after year. From the moment I started this game it was a been there done that a million times feel to it. TheTHANK GOD I RENTED THIS GAME. A $60 map pack is all this is. A regurgitated mess is what this game, and entire franchise has become. Seven CoD game in a 6 year console cycle. Something is wrong here. I think the most possible thing wrong here are the people who buy this crap year after year. From the moment I started this game it was a been there done that a million times feel to it. The menus look identical to pass CoD games. The multiplayer is stale, and dated. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing. Graphics are sub par. Online is nothing new. Maps suck. Single player story sucks. Survival only allows 2 player and is not that good. Spec ops is fun while it lasts (not very long). I hate activision so much for being greedy di**s and making millions off this milked franchise. MW2 had problems but it was still significantly different from COD4 which was a masterpiece.Very disappointing. Graphics are sub par. Online is nothing new. Maps suck. Single player story sucks. Survival only allows 2 player and is not that good. Spec ops is fun while it lasts (not very long). I hate activision so much for being greedy di**s and making millions off this milked franchise. MW2 had problems but it was still significantly different from COD4 which was a masterpiece. Overall, this game will never get to take its place in my xbox over skyrim. Expand
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    I am extremely unhappy with this game, a single player mode that is way to short, and an amazingly broken multiplayer. Where do I even really start with this, the re-spawn, is just impressive, the maps, uninteresting, and way to few of them. Game modes like my favorite from the older iterations of this game; Domination is no longer has any challenges associated with it, then they took outI am extremely unhappy with this game, a single player mode that is way to short, and an amazingly broken multiplayer. Where do I even really start with this, the re-spawn, is just impressive, the maps, uninteresting, and way to few of them. Game modes like my favorite from the older iterations of this game; Domination is no longer has any challenges associated with it, then they took out features, like telling players how many captures and defends they have in a map. The removing of equipment (claymores and jammers) and combining it with your grenades or tactical, is obnoxious. Switching the skins of the avatars so that they no longer represent the which perks you've chosen, but rather which weapons you decided to use, is infuriating. After all things are said and done one week and a half weeks into this crap fest, I find myself heading down to trade this game in. Which bums me out; I wanted to like it, but to much of it just makes me want to start smashing everything in my house.

    I gave it a 1, because the game does load
    Expand
  16. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    The game blows same **** every year. Online is full of little kids elite doesnt work. Save your money for something worthwhile or kill yourself than play this garbage
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    The hype for this game was that a more centered game play would be introduced,but what has appeared is the same tired kill streak domination,small maps,less than original art work, a decidedly obvious lack of creativity on the part of designers,and an appalling lack of respect for the players who built the franchise.Toe to toe, Battlefield 3 is a better product and I will only purchace MW#The hype for this game was that a more centered game play would be introduced,but what has appeared is the same tired kill streak domination,small maps,less than original art work, a decidedly obvious lack of creativity on the part of designers,and an appalling lack of respect for the players who built the franchise.Toe to toe, Battlefield 3 is a better product and I will only purchace MW# on the "Gray Market", as I refuse to pay the full price.Thank you Red Box. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Same old, same old. You can't expect that by adding 4 million new things to multiplayer it will be improved in any way. It's just a way of saying oh look at me, look how complex and multi-faceted I am. And asking people to vote one here because the user score was looking low? That's not good... not good at all...
  19. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    The only way a game can get a 0 and make sense is for it not to exist. Every game deserves at least a 1. Im not a fan of Call Of Duty, I haven't even played this new one. But I can tell you right now that it does not deserve any less than a 5. Becuase no matter what way you look at it, it is a well produced game, copy or not. The controls have always handled well. And its always been aThe only way a game can get a 0 and make sense is for it not to exist. Every game deserves at least a 1. Im not a fan of Call Of Duty, I haven't even played this new one. But I can tell you right now that it does not deserve any less than a 5. Becuase no matter what way you look at it, it is a well produced game, copy or not. The controls have always handled well. And its always been a little bit of fun to play. Single player has always been fun and I doubt this is any different. I hate user reviews on metacritic. If you are going to review a game people do it right. Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    omg xD diss gaem is soooooo baaaddd!!!! i cae'nt beeleave how mach too many diss gaem cost xP. aneone woo buy diss gaem is st00pid! XDXDXDXD srsly aall thse gaems aar the safme!! n00bs! XD :3
  21. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    The funny thing is that the game critics always criticize every new sequel that doesn't bring any originality or any innovation, i.e. something new to the table, but for some reason COD is always excluded from the category.

    And the fact that they went on twitter and begged people to rate the game good so it would show a good score on meta-critic, is just pathetic. PATHETIC I SAY!
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    This is not a game, it's a business plan. No innovation at all, it's just the same copy and paste game as ever before. At least games like BF3 have some new features, but the only thing that changes in COD are the perks and slightly different guns, it's all the same.
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    1
    A mediocre expansion pack being sold as a new game.....its the same game as MW2 and the campain is only 5 hours long......do not belive gaming sites FPS are overated rigth now
  24. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    I get to 25-5 on FFA then start rubber banding and the framerate drops so bad that the screen freezes for 2-5 seconds at a time. This game does not work online, level 56 and its being traded in for something else. Shame on the games magazines and websites who gave MW3 any more than 50 out of 100. Ive played COD on PS2, PSP & PS2 and have never hated a title from the 1st MP match, MW3 isI get to 25-5 on FFA then start rubber banding and the framerate drops so bad that the screen freezes for 2-5 seconds at a time. This game does not work online, level 56 and its being traded in for something else. Shame on the games magazines and websites who gave MW3 any more than 50 out of 100. Ive played COD on PS2, PSP & PS2 and have never hated a title from the 1st MP match, MW3 is breaking all the record. Expand
  25. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    STOP DEFENDING THIS GAME! I see this one everywhere.People are calling it "so overrated it's underrated." Well i still hate it. I'm sorry, but the story was cheesy, the ending sucked, the multiplayer was far too glitchy, the mission objectives were stupid, and REALLY Activision?!! Survival mode to replace zombies?! Yet people still talk about this game like it's freaking MGS.
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Not exactly a review but it shows how little game critics know about games, 43 green 1 yellow critics against 300 green 50 yellow 1200 RED loool.

    Oh mw3 is trash.
  27. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Activision, what is your problem? I thought Modern Warfare was revolutionary and I thought it would continue with Modern Warfare 2 and 3 but both were a disappointment. I bought Modern Warfare 3 because I had a tiny bit of hope that it would actually be good but guess what consumers, it's MW 2 with different maps! Activision, you greedy little pricks should be ashamed. Why not just keepActivision, what is your problem? I thought Modern Warfare was revolutionary and I thought it would continue with Modern Warfare 2 and 3 but both were a disappointment. I bought Modern Warfare 3 because I had a tiny bit of hope that it would actually be good but guess what consumers, it's MW 2 with different maps! Activision, you greedy little pricks should be ashamed. Why not just keep releasing DLC for Modern Warfare 1 or 2? You wouldn't be having all these low scores if you played smart and actually thought about the consumer and the sire economic state we're in! Expand
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This game is nothing but a rehash! The guys who made call of duty 4 and modern warfare 2 were fired! The infinty ward you speak of is a new team of devs under the same name all they did was take The orginal infinty ward formula and cashed in on it thats why I dont like them, Treyarch also cashed in on their formula too. So BF3 is winning cuz they are more innovative......Winning go copyThis game is nothing but a rehash! The guys who made call of duty 4 and modern warfare 2 were fired! The infinty ward you speak of is a new team of devs under the same name all they did was take The orginal infinty ward formula and cashed in on it thats why I dont like them, Treyarch also cashed in on their formula too. So BF3 is winning cuz they are more innovative......Winning go copy your homework Bam! Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Ive been a fan of COD since COD 4 and have owned every title since then. I think the the single player campaign was decent but hey, everyone buys COD for its multiplayer right? The thing is, I cant even play multiplayer cause of the STUPID NAT TYPE and yes I've tried forwarding my ports, turning the router on and off, enabling upnp, giving my ps3 a static IP, changed the nat type from 3 -Ive been a fan of COD since COD 4 and have owned every title since then. I think the the single player campaign was decent but hey, everyone buys COD for its multiplayer right? The thing is, I cant even play multiplayer cause of the STUPID NAT TYPE and yes I've tried forwarding my ports, turning the router on and off, enabling upnp, giving my ps3 a static IP, changed the nat type from 3 - 2 but it still doesnt work! and dont give me this crap that its my router, i've played mw1, mw2 and black ops on the same router theres no reason why this should happen. ACTIVISION FIX THESE PROBLEMS AND MAYBE YOU'LL GET A BETTER RATING - TAKE A PAGE OFF BF3, THEY CATER TO THEIR FANS IN MODERATION, YOU GUYS JUST LOOK AT US AS DOLLAR SIGNS. PICK YOUR ACT UP. You should be happy I didn't give you guys a zero. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This is exactly what we should be paying DLC for. Extra weapons maps and tweaks. Sure this title went beyond what one would expect since the norm these days for DLC is garbage but I hope 20 years down the road this is what we are paying $20 or however many microsoft points for. I miss Infinity Ward. =( Its not bad guys but come on. Elite AAAAAAND this and this is all we get? IThis is exactly what we should be paying DLC for. Extra weapons maps and tweaks. Sure this title went beyond what one would expect since the norm these days for DLC is garbage but I hope 20 years down the road this is what we are paying $20 or however many microsoft points for. I miss Infinity Ward. =( Its not bad guys but come on. Elite AAAAAAND this and this is all we get? I dunno. I'm paying for an online tracking system that EA and Bungie have done for us for free? Great I get maps later on that you already had built before the game launched? I mean its COD don't get me wrong. Just seems like without that main crew from IW we can pretty much gurantee same old same old for years to come. Expand
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Un reprise, de reprise, de reprise, de reprise... Un conseil, restez au bon vieux Call Of Duty Modern warfare.. et Gardez vos Tunes pour ASSASSIN'S CREED : REVELATION!!!!!

    Tellement Monotone....
  32. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    My thoughts on MW3. It's a great game. It's fun. It just annoys me that I have to pay 60$ for what is essentially a MW2 Expansion. I didn't notice it at first, but there are literally sections of the game that are CTRL+C, CTRL+V from MW2. This is not acceptable. Will I play this one? Yes. Will I have fun? Yes. Will I buy MW4, no. This game embodies everything that is wrong with gameMy thoughts on MW3. It's a great game. It's fun. It just annoys me that I have to pay 60$ for what is essentially a MW2 Expansion. I didn't notice it at first, but there are literally sections of the game that are CTRL+C, CTRL+V from MW2. This is not acceptable. Will I play this one? Yes. Will I have fun? Yes. Will I buy MW4, no. This game embodies everything that is wrong with game des...igners today. Poor graphics, Old Engine, Poor Map Design, and literally phoned in copy/paste sections from an old game lets me know that this company doesn't care about the consumer. They are only out to make as much as they can on the COD name, without focusing on the quality of the product. Expand
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Completely average game tbh. Nothing different than MW2 except for like 5 guns or something. They could have sold this as a 20$ map pack and not a full retail game. Seriously!
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    the biggest scam of the game video.
    Jason West and Vince Zampella where are you!!?? HELP
    strongly the next game video Respawn Entertainment because we care about us
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    They should have called this game MW2 Redux instead of MW3. Hell, MW2 played better than this game!
    To me they just done a copy and paste but this time with crappy controls and a crappy story!!! I'm just mad at myself for spending $100 for this crap...
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I played the console versions too, but I give an even lower note to the PC version because the COD saga started in PC, and COD MW3 doesn't respect the PC platform. Battlefield 3 isn't the visual masterpiece we expected, but at least DICE tried to do something different. COD MW3 PC version is a big insult for the PC gamer.
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Nothing new. That's why I give this a failing mark. I don't feel like spending my hard earned money on something that should be a small expansion pack for Modern Warfare 2. Very disappointing. The multiplayer gets boring very quickly. Just run and gun and crazy fast knifing kills. Not very fun or rewarding. The single player is way too short and I really don't like how endless armies poorNothing new. That's why I give this a failing mark. I don't feel like spending my hard earned money on something that should be a small expansion pack for Modern Warfare 2. Very disappointing. The multiplayer gets boring very quickly. Just run and gun and crazy fast knifing kills. Not very fun or rewarding. The single player is way too short and I really don't like how endless armies poor out of doors to get mowed down until you pass a certain point they stop. I rather know that a building has a certain amount of men in it and if I clear them all out none will just magically spawn in the building. It would be cool if there was more strategy involved and more thinking. Expand
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Boring! Really disappointed in this game. I thought this game would step up to the next level over Black Ops. I was very wrong. The graphics are much worse then Black Ops, the maps have that "rat in a maze" feel reminiscent of very old shooters, and it is EXTREMELY unrealistic. This is a $20 game at best. This game really missed the mark, especially when your trying to compete with BF3.Boring! Really disappointed in this game. I thought this game would step up to the next level over Black Ops. I was very wrong. The graphics are much worse then Black Ops, the maps have that "rat in a maze" feel reminiscent of very old shooters, and it is EXTREMELY unrealistic. This is a $20 game at best. This game really missed the mark, especially when your trying to compete with BF3. If you love the CoD series I would wait on this one till the price drops, you already have this game!(mw2) Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is good but its the same, yeah they added a handful of thing but it took they 2 years to develop really? when i first looked at it i thought it was just $60 map pack
    They should of took a page out of 343 studios book n found out if u remake the same game it shouldn't cost the full retail cost
    Probably the most un innovative call of duty yet, can't wait till the next ;) At least
    This game is good but its the same, yeah they added a handful of thing but it took they 2 years to develop really? when i first looked at it i thought it was just $60 map pack
    They should of took a page out of 343 studios book n found out if u remake the same game it shouldn't cost the full retail cost
    Probably the most un innovative call of duty yet, can't wait till the next ;) At least there was enough things and innovations to call black ops a "new game"
    Expand
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Black ops was awesome. They just dropped the ball with this one. I'm so dissatisfied with this game that it hurts. No Sprint to dive, running out of gadgets. Next game will feature a baby monitor killstreak reward. Mediocre graphics. Horrible movement. I bought a hardened edition, I'm not just slamming this game for fun. The devs should be embarrassed, they all sat around in theirBlack ops was awesome. They just dropped the ball with this one. I'm so dissatisfied with this game that it hurts. No Sprint to dive, running out of gadgets. Next game will feature a baby monitor killstreak reward. Mediocre graphics. Horrible movement. I bought a hardened edition, I'm not just slamming this game for fun. The devs should be embarrassed, they all sat around in their cubicles **** and passing the buck instead of utilizing their time to make an enjoyable, worthy sequel. Don't forget to go buy a ton of mountain dew if you plan on getting this. Oh and maps are completely lacking everything. Variety, flare, accessability.. you name it. Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is just the same old Modern Warfare with new maps and some extra guns. Nothing special at all. This series used to be good but that all stopped at MW2. Game is buggy, single player is lackluster, multiplayer is the same. Activision/IW needs to stop milking this and make an actual good CoD game again.
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Remember when CoD4:MW came out? I do. It was incredible and set many standards for today's FPS. Skip ahead to MW2 (treyarch doesn't make real AAA games), the nuke was cool the first couple times you got it, but then there wasn't much new outside of broken Perks and gun combos, and then the SP got out of control story wise and online had quality issues. Now jump back to today (I'mRemember when CoD4:MW came out? I do. It was incredible and set many standards for today's FPS. Skip ahead to MW2 (treyarch doesn't make real AAA games), the nuke was cool the first couple times you got it, but then there wasn't much new outside of broken Perks and gun combos, and then the SP got out of control story wise and online had quality issues. Now jump back to today (I'm skipping Blops because Treyarch is a terrible developer for various reasons), 4 hours, 4 hours to complete the SP at my casual pace, what a JOKE, just like it's quality. It wasn't "heart racing" or any catch phrase like that, it was a mess, no direction, and flat out boring. MP is a hot mess right now. So many bugs and glitches. So many disconnects, "host migrating", and lag. So much lag it can make the ridiculously large hitboxes and autoaim seem even more absurd. Infinity Ward and company took Stalin's philosophy on here with the maps: "Quantity has a quality of it's very own". Yes, there's a great number of maps, but considering how small and poorly laid out they are, of course they can put so many maps in there when each were probably designed during a sandwich break on a napkin. The perk system is once again a mess and we all know what everyone will be complaining about already. The one and single shiny stone to be found in MP is "Kill Confirmed", and it would be incredible to play if the game wasn't having so many issues along with the poor map design. And of course, the horrible legally retarded respawn system is back.

    Graphically, the game is something I'd expect not from an AAA title, but a B-class. The Quake engine is laughably dated now, and they've already put lipstick, blush, eyeliner, and eye shadow on that pig. It doesn't hold 60fps on consoles steady, seemingly halving itself at times even on the 360, and it runs at sub-HD resolutions. "Well just get the PC version". You want me to go there? Ok. Anyone who bought this game for PC is going to be walking funny for a week or two. NO FoV, muddy textures, "boxy effects", mouse aiming issues, and the worst slap in the face is coming, "Dedicated Servers". Yay I thought. Nope, Chuck Testa. They're only available in non-ranked play. The PC version of this game is a literal SLAP in the face of PC gamers.

    Battlefield 3 has it's fair share of issues, but you can tell there's love to be found in that game, even by DICE's own usual sub-quality support efforts of the past. The SP is insulting to play in both, but at least BF3's MP has a quality to it in nearly every regard. Can't say the same here for MW3.

    MW3 PROVES without a shadow of a doubt how corrupt "gaming journalists/critics" are. This game is a solid 5 or 6 at best. Take into consideration how much money this series makes, where does it go for the end user? No where, it goes into the pockets of the suits at Activision. There's no excuse for an AAA-title like this to be in the 5-6 range, and thus I'm docking points because I feel Activision is insulting it's userbase here by not putting that money back in to work for their FPS cash-cow. And finally, I'm docking points for how horrible the PC version is, as it's disgusting how they treated that userbase.

    This game was in a whole a shining example of what is wrong with Activision, the developers, and the media. If the videogame market crashes again, this title will be the poster child of what's wrong in the industry.
    Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you want to pay for a $60 map pack with really **** new features and really bad physics buy this game. If you're a big boy and want to save your money or buy a game worth while then don't. This game is absolute garbage.
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    hey !! who are you playing on !! .. just forget it !! i hate you from now on !! >> ...

    its a COPY from MW2 !! Mw3 = Mw2 !! = Its just a DLC !! ... why do i pay 59$ for a DLC !! ????? hey .. we are not kids .. we are 18+ we could realize between hard work .. and baby's work !! and guess what .. a 20 DLC is coming in 9 months !!! WTF !!!!!! how about to give you my Month's salary ...
    hey !! who are you playing on !! .. just forget it !! i hate you from now on !! >> ...

    its a COPY from MW2 !!

    Mw3 = Mw2 !! = Its just a DLC !! ... why do i pay 59$ for a DLC !! ?????

    hey .. we are not kids .. we are 18+

    we could realize between hard work .. and baby's work !!

    and guess what .. a 20 DLC is coming in 9 months !!! WTF !!!!!! how about to give you my Month's salary ... ???

    ohh please ... !! just GO TO H**L !! -_-"
    Expand
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's just a rehash of MW2. The only difference in the gameplay is the guns. The campaign is alright, but I wouldn't buy FPS game just for the campaign. If you have the desire to play an original game, don't get MW3.
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you have played MW, or MW2, then you don't need this game. It is the same game with a few different textures. Picture it as an expansion pack to MW2, at full retail price.
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    In two words? -Completely rubbish. Nothing to see here folks. Save your money for something that didn't take 45 mins to develop. If you want to experience the multi-player pick up MW1,MW2, CoD;WaW or Black op's second hand, they're all the same really.
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Worst Call of Duty game to date. It is almost like they repainted MW2 and then dangled a couple of wrinkled carrots in front of our noises that were supposed to be improvements. Overall very disappointed,
  49. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I created an account just to show my displeasure with this game. Did they think of anything new? Do they really spend all that time and money just recreating the same things over? I am not saying BF3 is perfect but at least they tried new things, made great improvements to their engine etc.. I feel like I just loaded a mod of one of the old COD games, I am happy this was given to me andI created an account just to show my displeasure with this game. Did they think of anything new? Do they really spend all that time and money just recreating the same things over? I am not saying BF3 is perfect but at least they tried new things, made great improvements to their engine etc.. I feel like I just loaded a mod of one of the old COD games, I am happy this was given to me and I didn't spend 60 dollars on it because I would be demanding a refund. I know they put time and effort into the game and I give them props for their hard work but was it towards anything new? I don't feel like it, I think it was just a waste of time when it comes to moving forward. Expand
  50. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    From a multiplayer point of view, the maps are weak. I feel like I'm trapped where ever I go. Sniper usage is none existent unless you plan on run and gun no scoping. Just seems like endless corridors/hallways resulting in nothing but close quarters encounters. The map size themselves are exactly the same with pointless obstacles and wreckage strewn about as a filler. I'm a die hard CODFrom a multiplayer point of view, the maps are weak. I feel like I'm trapped where ever I go. Sniper usage is none existent unless you plan on run and gun no scoping. Just seems like endless corridors/hallways resulting in nothing but close quarters encounters. The map size themselves are exactly the same with pointless obstacles and wreckage strewn about as a filler. I'm a die hard COD fan and BF3 took the cake this year. Sad thing is, majority of people are disappointed in the game even though sales were great. Though it was expected being Infinityward had a hand in the game, people will buy their next effort in hopes of a better game next time around. Expand
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I don't understand why people are making excuses for Activision thinking their customers are stupid (unless most of them are). They put new colors on the same game from 2001 and then hyped as the greatest thing since sliced bread, sliced bread being invented the previous summer. They pretty much made a $60 Map/weapons pack. Demand more for your money, don't accept whatever rehashedI don't understand why people are making excuses for Activision thinking their customers are stupid (unless most of them are). They put new colors on the same game from 2001 and then hyped as the greatest thing since sliced bread, sliced bread being invented the previous summer. They pretty much made a $60 Map/weapons pack. Demand more for your money, don't accept whatever rehashed garbage the serve you. There is proof they copied over entire buildings from Black Ops and yet people still make excuses. Activision/IW have plenty of money to design a new game and yet they decided you they would just steal your money and re-paint the last game. Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Very old engine, same gameplay mechanism for the last 5 games of the franchise. The game suffers from lack of innovation, as if the developers are too afraid to change anything that could receive a negative reaction. Well, if you donâ
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    MW3 it's a copy paste from CoD 4 and MW2. The survivors mode it's similar to the Training Room of Black Ops. And MW3 publicity has been really bad. I remember the Launch video of MW2 with "Till i collapse Remix" . If you no has played MW3, don't worry... you don't lost nothing.
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    do not but this game. i told everyone this game was going to be poor but no one listened i was force to buy thi sgame by friends at work and i will be taking back today. out of date gameplay and very poor graphics . get battlefield 3 the graphics are out of this world. i will never by another call of duty again. not sure way it was even release the graphics on black ops look better, if youdo not but this game. i told everyone this game was going to be poor but no one listened i was force to buy thi sgame by friends at work and i will be taking back today. out of date gameplay and very poor graphics . get battlefield 3 the graphics are out of this world. i will never by another call of duty again. not sure way it was even release the graphics on black ops look better, if you look the pacakging as well you wil see the game has recieved no awards or good reviews where as rage and battlefield have won a few already. please do not waste your time on this game. whey other wedsites are giving it 10 i really dont know they must of paid for the good review Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Maybe its me, maybe I built it up too much, however I can't help but feel disappointed. I agree with all the points below about it being MW 2.5 with slightly different maps (albeit more maps than I was expecting) although they do all feel the same. I understand when it ain't broke don't fix it but when you play it safe and don't innovate Infinity Ward you risk losing your legion of loyalMaybe its me, maybe I built it up too much, however I can't help but feel disappointed. I agree with all the points below about it being MW 2.5 with slightly different maps (albeit more maps than I was expecting) although they do all feel the same. I understand when it ain't broke don't fix it but when you play it safe and don't innovate Infinity Ward you risk losing your legion of loyal fans. Plus I paid for elite and feel that you knew I wasn't going to buy the map packs so you tricked me into getting them in advance. Very poor, I feel betrayed, hurt and upset - please show some respect with the next title otherwise it may just be your last IW. Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    What this really is just a MOD for MW2. Not really anything new. Apart from Kill Confirmed mode nothing really stands out. SP is boring and feels like a chore...MP is alright but more like a FIX of MW2 with maps by treyarch...if you played BLOPS you will know what I just wrote. Never again I will buy a CoD game at launch at full price.
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Another iteration of the call of duty series appears with the same outdated game engine from 2007. With only minor improvements to multiplayer gameplay and yet another forgettable campaign the series is held back once again. I sincerely hope that Battlefield 3's shining will create some competition between the two so that they continually cause one another to up the ante, but for now, skipAnother iteration of the call of duty series appears with the same outdated game engine from 2007. With only minor improvements to multiplayer gameplay and yet another forgettable campaign the series is held back once again. I sincerely hope that Battlefield 3's shining will create some competition between the two so that they continually cause one another to up the ante, but for now, skip this title. Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Really disappointed. I bought this for the multiplayer and I haven't had any fun with it yet. Zero fun. Every map except 1 or 2 looks like the set of Sanford and Son, minus the quaint decor. I keep getting snagged on random pieces of garbage...it's so cluttered! When I do happen upon a stranger looking for a headache he just pops out of nowhere, and the killcam always shows me a differentReally disappointed. I bought this for the multiplayer and I haven't had any fun with it yet. Zero fun. Every map except 1 or 2 looks like the set of Sanford and Son, minus the quaint decor. I keep getting snagged on random pieces of garbage...it's so cluttered! When I do happen upon a stranger looking for a headache he just pops out of nowhere, and the killcam always shows me a different picture than what I saw. Not sure if it's lag, but I've never seen it so bad in a FPS before where I can unload a clip in a guy and he can teleport right in front of me for the stab. Oh and quick scoping is back. Like I needed another reason to light my face on fire. In all honesty, I really wanted this game to pan out because I'm not a huge Battlefield fan but it's just the same game as MW2 only worse. Kill confirmed. Expand
  59. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This game does have some new things added: a new, more in-depth leveling system, new maps, new weapons, new perks. Um that's about it in the 'new' department. The gameplay is exactly the same. How many times can this franchise do this? Who knows. So by offering nothing new/innovative in the gameplay department this game feels like a 65 dollar map pack. It's fun at 1st but gets redundantThis game does have some new things added: a new, more in-depth leveling system, new maps, new weapons, new perks. Um that's about it in the 'new' department. The gameplay is exactly the same. How many times can this franchise do this? Who knows. So by offering nothing new/innovative in the gameplay department this game feels like a 65 dollar map pack. It's fun at 1st but gets redundant really quickly. Expand
  60. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    It's really disappointing to see the game take a step back, it doesn't justify the £40 price tag when I have three copies of the exact same game, COD4, MW2 and Black Ops. All feel the exact same so I'm not spending my cash on this game as a long term fan of the series playing 70 days+ on the previous three games except WAW which was also disappointing.
  61. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I have been a call of duty fan my whole life until now. I couldnt believe how dissapointed I was with mw3. I thought it would be a great game instead it turns out to be a stupid map pack that they could have just offered gamers of mw2 to download. Now I will be trading this game in for Uncharted 3, a game that developers actually took there time to make and made a great game by adding newI have been a call of duty fan my whole life until now. I couldnt believe how dissapointed I was with mw3. I thought it would be a great game instead it turns out to be a stupid map pack that they could have just offered gamers of mw2 to download. Now I will be trading this game in for Uncharted 3, a game that developers actually took there time to make and made a great game by adding new feautres. Activision did nothing but take peoples money away for a garbage identical game. Expand
  62. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This game is just bad. The graphics are dated, the textures are horrendously blurry and ugly, and why the hell is everything an ugly tan or gray color? I also find the multiplayer maps to be terrible. Not a single one of them is good. All of them are just a bunch of confined corridors and hallways. There are no open areas or vantage points at all. Single-player is completely forgettable asThis game is just bad. The graphics are dated, the textures are horrendously blurry and ugly, and why the hell is everything an ugly tan or gray color? I also find the multiplayer maps to be terrible. Not a single one of them is good. All of them are just a bunch of confined corridors and hallways. There are no open areas or vantage points at all. Single-player is completely forgettable as well. The story felt so forced. Spec Ops Survival is a terrible new mode because you can't play with 3 other friends, only 1. Black Ops looked just so much more polished. MW2.5 smh... Expand
  63. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Its amazing people can give this piece of trash a 10. The story mode has to be the worst story mode in a game I have ever played. It is so bad I was laughing throughout the story and couldnt even finish it because I was so bored. All you do in story mdoe is continues shooting building going down, falling off cliffs. I killed 9 guys in a minute with just my knife. WTF is that, how is thatIts amazing people can give this piece of trash a 10. The story mode has to be the worst story mode in a game I have ever played. It is so bad I was laughing throughout the story and couldnt even finish it because I was so bored. All you do in story mdoe is continues shooting building going down, falling off cliffs. I killed 9 guys in a minute with just my knife. WTF is that, how is that even possible. Expand
  64. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This Call of Duty MW3 is a shame. This is the same game than MW2, a two years old game, with new maps. The most expansive DLC ever. Always the same graphs years after years, always the same things again and again. Many lags and bugs, servers always bad, host migrations, disconnected in a middle of the match. Boring ! The solo campaign is very very short and too easy. No zombie mode ! AndThis Call of Duty MW3 is a shame. This is the same game than MW2, a two years old game, with new maps. The most expansive DLC ever. Always the same graphs years after years, always the same things again and again. Many lags and bugs, servers always bad, host migrations, disconnected in a middle of the match. Boring ! The solo campaign is very very short and too easy. No zombie mode ! And like all the others COD, Activision will make out a lot of DLC very expansive with old maps. This game is a joke, don't buy it and keep playin COD MW2, this is the same game without the bad servers Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Treyach's black ops is so much better than this. This requires no strategy. Just keep on running and shooting. Plus the menu is much more complex. Black Ops is so much simpler. What not keep a consistent stats? Even the columns for Kills, Death and Assist is diff between Black Ops and MW3. This is not worth the price.
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    It's been said many times and I'll repeat it, MW3 is the same as the last one. This game has almost no innovation and is part of the problem with modern video games and the video game industry as a whole. This was nothing but a cash grab and it does not even deserve a rental, giving this game a 3 is generous on my part.
  67. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This game didn't do nearly enough for me and my bros. It didn't deliver cold brews to my house, didn't help me get any hot chicks, and overall just feels like more of the same game. All bros who wish to avoid a total brolocaust need to avoid this broriffic game for bros. Bro.
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    I was really expecting this game to be at the very least better than Black Ops. It's not. In every aspect of the gameplay it isn't even close to COD4 or MW2. COD4 set the bar extremely high and maybe people tend to expect something as gamebreaking and epic as that. And though MW2 has it's share of mods/hacks, etc, IMO there is no better multi-player interface than MW2. The sound,I was really expecting this game to be at the very least better than Black Ops. It's not. In every aspect of the gameplay it isn't even close to COD4 or MW2. COD4 set the bar extremely high and maybe people tend to expect something as gamebreaking and epic as that. And though MW2 has it's share of mods/hacks, etc, IMO there is no better multi-player interface than MW2. The sound, realism and the maps are very diverse. As far as the MW3 campaign, it lacks depth and innovation and tells a story that is similar to the previous titles in the series. Step outside the box. Look at Batman: Arkham City. Now THAT is how your follow up one of the best games for the 360 with a sequel. As far as the multiplayer.....I logged in over 10k team deaths in MW2 and had a k/d over 2.00, played maybe 100 or so in black ops because it really seemed like an Atari interface. This multiplayer has the same feel as black ops, so if you liked that MP then you'll like this. It's very micky mouse in a way. Seems more like a kids game then an epic online MP. There is really no "tactic" per say in this multiplayer. Everyone seems to use a rush loadout. The maps are very linear. I'm finding that I unload almost a full clip into someone and he shoots me once and I'm dead. WTF? Or, the guy sees me and I'm instantly dead with no chance to react. I realize that lag or connection speed can be an issue but thought that dedicated servers would solve the problem. Sledgehammer did a horrible job IMO with the whole MP interface, maps, visuals and sound. Where is the "old guard" at IW.......ohhh yeah it's Respawn. Really can't wait for their first shooter and maybe this franchise will be a thing of the past. I hope I'm wrong because I've really enjoyed it over the years. I just won't buy another COD game unless the reviews are clearly a newly created renaissance that brings us back to the glory days of this series.

    To be honest......I'm going back to COD4 and MW2 MP. The last two games make me feel as if this franchise hit its peak long ago. One thing is for sure.........we are the consumers have been sucked into the series and the only people are benefiting from it are the pub's and dev's in record sales, meanwhile we're stuck with a nice door stop of a game.
    Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    No innovation at all, this is definitely the easiest, shortest and most lacklustre COD game I have ever played. Activision need the help of their twitter users to try and inflate MW3's terrible user score; i think that says it all.
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    The Single Player is completely worthless..The Franchise doesn't give a damn about the single player campaign and bases all its popularity on online gameplay..There is almost no innovation in gameplay and am pretty sure if they would just introduce downloadable map packs with newer weapons it would be a better model for the consumers. It is obvious that they are just into trying to makeThe Single Player is completely worthless..The Franchise doesn't give a damn about the single player campaign and bases all its popularity on online gameplay..There is almost no innovation in gameplay and am pretty sure if they would just introduce downloadable map packs with newer weapons it would be a better model for the consumers. It is obvious that they are just into trying to make more and more money by selling repackaged trash.
    If you were to join the single player campaigns of all three MW games then maybe you would have value for money, If they are just selling a damn updated multiplayer experience (which isn't innovative) its clearly a scam. The last great COD game was COD4 and the last good single player was the campaign in World at War..I cared about Dmitri and was happy when the flag was planted on the Reichstag..
    Do not buy this crap and save the $60 on better games.
    Expand
  71. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    Top 5 Reasons Why I Dislike MW3: Multiplayer

    1. Spawning: In core, it seems as if you can't get more than three kills without somebody on the other team spawning around the corner from you. I have repeatedly watched myself kill another player, they spawn, and then they kill me, all in the time allotted in a kill-cam. The spawn-delay should be incorporate into all core game modes or
    Top 5 Reasons Why I Dislike MW3: Multiplayer

    1. Spawning: In core, it seems as if you can't get more than three kills without somebody on the other team spawning around the corner from you. I have repeatedly watched myself kill another player, they spawn, and then they kill me, all in the time allotted in a kill-cam. The spawn-delay should be incorporate into all core game modes or completely revamp the spawning system like Brink or Battlefield 3.

    2. Inconsistency: You can kill somebody with 4 shots or less to the chest or waistline with almost any weapon, sometimes. I constantly get hit-markers over and over again and then my opponent pops back up and shoots me twice and I'm dead, and spawning around the corner. The stopping power perk allowed a variety of weapon use. I could sacrifice my original power for accuracy or double up on power. Now its just the stronger weapon wins, no matter how accurate you are. 3. Maps/Camping: These new maps look amazing, but that's all they are; something nice to look at. In multiplayer these maps are breeding grounds for camping players. Its so cluttered that people can hide behind almost anything and get there accolade, emblem, and title for being in the same spot the longest. On some maps, if the team puts up a semi adequate defense, it is impossible to flank them, Outpost and Arkaden are perfect examples. Hardcore was my sanctuary from this but its the worst now.

    4. Knifing: On my full green bar connection screen, I'm witnessing myself have the upper hand lunging to get my stab, but no, epic fail on my part. A quick side step and a few bullets or a knife in my back and I'm on the floor. Once again knifing is useless unless your enemy's back is turned. If you run into somebody you might get lucky and get them with the swiping motion of turning and hitting the knifing button at the same time we all love. Personally, I think the game would be better off without the knife in multiplayer or adopt the Halo way of close combat with a little changes of course.

    5. Audio Effects: You can't turn off the game music for some odd reason. The music deafens and drowns out all aspects of the game when something important happens. The sound of the weapons are disappointing, the sound effects in MW2 sounded much more realistic.

    I think I'll be switching to Battlefield 3 while my hours of waiting in line, anticipation, and excitement collect dust in its case.
    Expand
  72. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's start off by saying a few things. This game was incredibly hyped, and both high and low expectations for this game arose. This review outlines my final opinion on this pile of mediocre **** so let's begin.

    1. A Modern Warfare 2 Clone
    It's almost the exact same game as Modern Warfare 2. Just look at eveything (title screen, the gameplay, weapons, levels ect.). Previous installments in the franchise at least had more variety and differences between each game; this pile of **** is a downright disgusting and blatantly inexcusable clone.

    2. The game is further proof of Activision tiresome efforts to milk the series.
    The series is getting milked raw, and so far, the milk is curdling up into a rancid pile of moldy **** A new installment every year? Don't be ridiculous, Activision. 3. The Survival Mode reeks of ass.
    Survival Mode is yet another ****ty addition to the franchise, and is inferior in almost every way to Nazi Zombies.

    4. The Campain mode should be cut out of the game (the series even) altogether.
    The Campaign Mode is yet again the same linear garbage, with barely any variety or enjoyment to be had. The same can be said for almost every modern COD game. Nuff said.

    5. COD: Elite: a useless addition to the series, that shouldn't exist in the first place.
    COD: Elite itself is a clone of other services, and the fact you have to pay for such a useless and gimmicky addition to the game, is more irrefutable proof that Activision is milking those **** raw. Not to mention, the service not being included as part of the game, made an already lackluster clone even more similar to it's predecessor. The integration with Facebook further proves that Activision is tageting the series towards casual gamers.

    6. Little retarded fraghead kids. Just look at your typical modern-day COD gamer. A nooblet, casual gamer fraghead kid, that loves shouting out retarded insult in the mic, and thinks that he's such a man at the game, when in reality he fails hard (noob), and has been fooled by the amount of awards this game spews out.

    7. Campers When it comes to the modern warfare franchise, people had been complaining about camping since day one, and meanwhile the problem still remains in the game (as it is a clone of MW2, what did you expect -_-). A ****ty spawning system, and cheap ways to get kills, not to mention the ease at obtaining killstreaks, just futher encourages camping.

    Conclusion:
    Stay away from this game if your a real gamer, and not some dimwitted **** All the points above are reasons significant enough to end one's decision in purchasing such a tremendously overhyped and ****ty game.

    The game is extremely mediocre and average, and I would have given it a 5/10, but from all the negatives I listed above, it just further drags the score down to...
    *drumroll*
    Final Score: 3 / 10
    Expand
  73. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    After hours of the previous games in the series, I was expecting a well worked campaign mode and useful changes to the multiplayer. This provided neither. Major improvements needed, I actually traded in after 3 days!!!
  74. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Poor excuse for a squeal, just one very expensive map pack really. Its incredibly unfair on consumers to charge such excessive prices for such little content.
  75. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    The quick scoping campfest is back YAY!!!!! the maps have more corners for the heartbeat scanner lovers to sit in. Dont get me wrong i actually enjoyed mw2 and black ops was pleasurable but this little outing has caused me to call most of the world population a word that cannot be repeated here but like the campers it does begin with a C and why oh why can you put an ACOG on a sniperThe quick scoping campfest is back YAY!!!!! the maps have more corners for the heartbeat scanner lovers to sit in. Dont get me wrong i actually enjoyed mw2 and black ops was pleasurable but this little outing has caused me to call most of the world population a word that cannot be repeated here but like the campers it does begin with a C and why oh why can you put an ACOG on a sniper rifle god only knows.
    its not all doom and gloom the story is yes the same old but the set peices are clever and it was more enjoyable then BF3 but lets face it its the multiplayer we buy these games for and im sorry i get no joy so i shall be handing my copy back to the shop for skyrim.
    Expand
  76. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    Story line is dated. Graphics is dated (Clearly using the same MW2 graphics engine) and whats worse is that it is quite visibly less vibrant and washed out ; (Would it have hurt to actually put some work into not making the user name icons and profiles look like they are all they same color or have the same tint? Added to that. The introduction picture to quite a few maps look way tooStory line is dated. Graphics is dated (Clearly using the same MW2 graphics engine) and whats worse is that it is quite visibly less vibrant and washed out ; (Would it have hurt to actually put some work into not making the user name icons and profiles look like they are all they same color or have the same tint? Added to that. The introduction picture to quite a few maps look way too similar. Which gives the impression that some maps are designed way too close to each other in terms of major elements and not enough unique and differentiating factors were used.

    The multiplayer maps and engine are an abomination. Lets start with the maps. No general flow for movement. No central areas. Way too many open lines, hidden side doors and passageways that realistically makes absolutely no sense and also there's too much crap lying around which obstructs simple general movement and makes making a quick getaway almost impossible if your in close quarters and being shot at. Whats even more annoying is that in a lot of instances you recover (Reload/Wait for damage to wear off) from a firefight only to be shot in the back by the opposing team who just spawns conveniently just a few feet away.
    At the end of the experience pretty much your either too scared to move out of fear for being shot in the side or back or you sit there and have someone spawn behind you and get you from a side door.
    I am acutely aware camping is frowned upon but for more deliberate assault rifle players like myself who like to slowly move around the map using the stick and move approach and not running with a smg within a pack of 3 to 4 people this game is a non starter. If you cannot be allowed time to retreat to somewhat safe spots on the map for a few seconds to lick your wounds and reload then i think your maps need some work done to it. Additionally, the icing on the cake is the fact that there is no immunity when you spawn. Probably there was never any spawn immunity in the previous cod's i dont know but i have never been spawn killed in previous cods as much i have been in this game. It appears to be a regular thing to be able to spawn kill at will while in Black ops the only time i can remember being ever spawn killed was on its smallest map (Nuketown) and tactical insertions were involved.
    I have no problems with Black Ops and MW2 but for MW3 I think you guys missed the mark by a longshot.
    Expand
  77. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    First of all, I am (was) a massive Modern Warfare fan and hate, HATE Battlefield, although the recent campaign in BF3 was pretty fun (I borrowed it), I've always thought the multiplayer sucked. The positive, I really enjoyed the campaign, it felt epic, plenty of twists and turns along the way and at the end of the rollercoaster, I felt satisfied, I won't say anymore as I don't want to giveFirst of all, I am (was) a massive Modern Warfare fan and hate, HATE Battlefield, although the recent campaign in BF3 was pretty fun (I borrowed it), I've always thought the multiplayer sucked. The positive, I really enjoyed the campaign, it felt epic, plenty of twists and turns along the way and at the end of the rollercoaster, I felt satisfied, I won't say anymore as I don't want to give anything away. But then again the campaign was worked on by Infinity Ward.

    Now, the negative. Infinity Ward, people buy your games for the multiplayer, why then did you entrust it's development to a third party? Sledgehammer have dropped the ball completely on this one. Why does it feel as though I am moving in a tar pit in this game, it's SO sluggish, traversing the maps feels like a chore, I've tried everything to combat it, extreme conditioning, changing the sensitivity, nothings worked. Secondly, to make the Assault Rifles/SMG's range more "muted" for realism purposes yet allow quickscoping is a nonsensical double standard. There is a certain trade off to be had with sniper rifles, power and accuracy at range but not good within CQC, people should not be able to use snipers as shotguns, by not removing quickscoping you have allowed this imbalance to continue within your games. The weapons handle horribly and feel much like Black Ops, (which I hated), wherein kills are less about precision and more about rattling of shot after shot towards the target hoping to see a hit marker, gaining proficiencies does little good. Some of the maps work ok (Resistance, Village), others are horribly designed and impossible to traverse about 10 feet without getting shot from one of the myriad unseen spots or by the guy that has just inexplicably spawned right behind your back (Interchange, Bootleg). I read an interview with one of the developers who said it was "too easy" to get killed in MW2, really? So it's easy to avoid being shot in the back by a terrible spawning algorithm in MW3? Ha. I turned off my Xbox last night after "running" half way across the map Seatown, only to see a sniper, and start shooting with my G36C, red dot and "stability" proficiency on, I was 15 feet away from him, the gun hopelessly rattles bullets anywhere but at him, I got two hit markers with this "muted" weapon and bang he'd quickscoped me, two seconds later I spawn right in front of him as he's running towards our team and he quickscopes me again before I'd even seen him. Any weapon in this game that is not a sniper is terrible at range but then again the sniper can be use in in mid and close range combat as well. Sums it up really. I'll be trading it in for Skyrim.

    I'm not saying I wouldn't buy another Modern Warfare title but I'll be renting it the next time before dropping 40 quid on it, if I like after renting, I'll buy it.

    I didn't expect innovation or a million new features but I also didn't expect a lot of the things that made this a successful franchise to be removed or disappear, so in summary, thanks for the awful spawning system, sluggish movement, imbalanced weapons and poor maps. A note to Mr Glen Schofield, the scores aren't "suspiciously low", a lot of people really did play the game and hate it, take responsibility and look at how you can fix it instead of blaming it on Battlefield fanboys, most of them are busy playing BF3 a game which seems to have lived up to it's fans/users expectations, something you failed to achieve.
    Expand
  78. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    This is Call of Duty: Black Ops. This is also Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Treyarch found a winning formula way back when, realized it, and have been milking this cash cow ever since. What was a relatively creative game and a solid step forward 5 years ago, hasn't changed in the slightest. The engine it runs on is 10 years old, and it shows. The flashes of yellow "100+"s and theThis is Call of Duty: Black Ops. This is also Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Treyarch found a winning formula way back when, realized it, and have been milking this cash cow ever since. What was a relatively creative game and a solid step forward 5 years ago, hasn't changed in the slightest. The engine it runs on is 10 years old, and it shows. The flashes of yellow "100+"s and the constant unlocks keep the dopamine rushing as fanboys continue to fork over their parents' money to get the exact same game every year, and this is no different. The good news? Once you reach level 80, you can opt to destroy all of your progress and start the entire unlocking progress all over again, all for a single "prestige" level. Makes sense, right? Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    Sierra class submarine in epicenter of battle?? Seriously??? Sailing through the mines in the water? Jesus Christ this bull**t is even greater then bull**t about Chev Chelios who survived after falling from the helicopter. But if "Crank: High Voltage" is the new, real crazy and funny story about Chev, "MW3" is absolutely the same game as the "MW2". No progress, no fun, no innovations inSierra class submarine in epicenter of battle?? Seriously??? Sailing through the mines in the water? Jesus Christ this bull**t is even greater then bull**t about Chev Chelios who survived after falling from the helicopter. But if "Crank: High Voltage" is the new, real crazy and funny story about Chev, "MW3" is absolutely the same game as the "MW2". No progress, no fun, no innovations in the game experience. Just maybe stupidest and predictable story about WW 3. Expand
  80. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    As a huge fan of MW2 and Block Ops I am very disappointed with MW3, specifically the multi-player. The campaign is what it is, another chapter in a great story. But the true value of the COD series is the online multi-player. Black Ops took a step forward from MW2, but MW3 takes two steps back.

    The menus are unnecessarily cumbersome. I find setting up my custom classes gets pretty
    As a huge fan of MW2 and Block Ops I am very disappointed with MW3, specifically the multi-player. The campaign is what it is, another chapter in a great story. But the true value of the COD series is the online multi-player. Black Ops took a step forward from MW2, but MW3 takes two steps back.

    The menus are unnecessarily cumbersome. I find setting up my custom classes gets pretty annoying. I'm not sure why these changes were made. Still, I could get used to this if I were to keep the game long enough, which I probably will not.

    The multi-player issue can be described in three words: Poorly Designed Maps.

    Every map is basically the same. Regardless of size, the surroundings force tight game play. Each battle takes on the same result. Whether its blown up cars, walls, hills, ruins, etc., players are forced through choke points. Very few maps offer any areas of visibility. This leads to games that feel like walking through an amusement park haunted house, around each bend another player jumps out on you. This gets old pretty quickly. Camping in corners and shadows, or in windows or darkened doors, is the norm. Overall, this just has the feel of being a cheap COD knock off rather than a true COD game. I played MW2 until Black Ops came out, and played that until this was released. Looks like I will have to find another game to fill my usual gaming time as this just isn't cutting it.
    Expand
  81. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    If you've played MW2, prepare for more of the same. Nothing groundbreaking or ambitious from this game, already traded it in, huge letdown. Perhaps if people bought games for their quality and not just because it's 'cod' the developers would be forced to put some effort into creating a fresh, engaging game. Sadly, they simply phoned this one in. As for the skippable offensive content,If you've played MW2, prepare for more of the same. Nothing groundbreaking or ambitious from this game, already traded it in, huge letdown. Perhaps if people bought games for their quality and not just because it's 'cod' the developers would be forced to put some effort into creating a fresh, engaging game. Sadly, they simply phoned this one in. As for the skippable offensive content, unnecessary and screams that they are desperate for publicity. Save your money and rent it if u need to play it. Expand
  82. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    Activision need to stop their annual releases of the COD franchise. If they have nothing new or innovative to offer at the year anniversary of a titles release, offer a larger map pack with some small add-ins like camo or weapons. Iâ
  83. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    I am not the greatest gamer, not do I claim to be any good at first person shooters. However I do enjoy a good multi-player game no matter how horrible I do. So this will be an opinion of an average gamer who has no particular loyalty to a particular series. The campaign is the standard 6-8 hours that all FPS games seem to suffer from. The story picks up right after MW2. And from there weI am not the greatest gamer, not do I claim to be any good at first person shooters. However I do enjoy a good multi-player game no matter how horrible I do. So this will be an opinion of an average gamer who has no particular loyalty to a particular series. The campaign is the standard 6-8 hours that all FPS games seem to suffer from. The story picks up right after MW2. And from there we as the player take control of different people and move from one goal to the next, and in the end we kill the bad guys and all is well in the world. Pretty standard stuff here. I usually start off on easy, but not this time, I had to bump it up to normal for a little more of a challenge. It is a sad state when a gamer as me who plays on easy has to turn it up a notch. At this point I am considering attempting it on veteran to see how hard it is supposed to be. Overall the campaign is a simple go here, protect that, capture him fanfare. Not that people purchase this series for single player experiences.
    The multi-player on the other hand is what everyone wants to play. When I picked up MW2 it was fairly straight forward and easy to pick up and play, And so is this, because it looks, plays, and feels just like it's predecessor. Yes, they did change some perks, and kill streaks. But overall it is the same as before. Along with the same game play you also get the stereo typical players that are with it. Nothing makes me want to play a game more than a prepubescent kid telling me to leave and stop playing the game because I did not do as well as they did. Given all online games have these types of player, but it seems that most flock to CoD. Overall it is a good game, just more of the same. Most players will enjoy the game both online and off, but I cannot say that I am impressed with it as much as I was with the 4th installment of the series. It is as if the developer decided to put forth as little effort as possible and do what they did before. This holiday season I will be trading this title in and seeking a different title to invest my time on.
    Expand
  84. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Oh look, a 60 dollar map pack!
    Seriously though, it is more of the same, no real innovation it is the same game that Modern Warfare 2 was, which was the exact same as the original Modern Warfare.
  85. Nov 14, 2011
    3
    This game flat out sucks. What a disappointment. Literally no changes were made, they find a formula that makes money and just rolls with it. The creators of this game should feel ashamed hyping this to be some amazing shooter and once we get it same old same. Just everything about this game will eventually make you angry and what is the point of playing a game when you are annoyed. GunsThis game flat out sucks. What a disappointment. Literally no changes were made, they find a formula that makes money and just rolls with it. The creators of this game should feel ashamed hyping this to be some amazing shooter and once we get it same old same. Just everything about this game will eventually make you angry and what is the point of playing a game when you are annoyed. Guns are overpowered, campers, the maps have no continuity, one new game mode in 4 years? That just makes me so angry to have wasted 60 dollars. I will never purchase another activation game, once they make money its all the same.. tony hawk, guitar hero, call of duty. Thanks but no thanks. Expand
  86. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    The campaign is decent but only about 4 hours long. The multiplayer sucks, like everyone else says its just mw2 with nothing but broken promises of changes and updates. The elite service is also a joke, just a 60 dollar payment for another lame social network with no real use except the promise of maps in the future, question is will anyone play that long. To those of you that claim theseThe campaign is decent but only about 4 hours long. The multiplayer sucks, like everyone else says its just mw2 with nothing but broken promises of changes and updates. The elite service is also a joke, just a 60 dollar payment for another lame social network with no real use except the promise of maps in the future, question is will anyone play that long. To those of you that claim these low ratings are just from haters, then why are there so many of them? This game was a disappointment to many. Save your money. Expand
  87. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Really the worst of the call of dutys yet,,,,, were they drunk when they made this ?? Reboxed MW2 ?? I mean come on, I spent â
  88. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I have a hard time giving this game a high score based on the fact that it is the same as the previous games just done better. Yes, the graphics are smoothed out and add a lot to the mood of the maps. Yes, it has a more in depth perk/upgrade/leveling system. Yes, the weapons feel more real with scope sway, more recoil and less shots to kill your enemy. Yes, they took the best from allI have a hard time giving this game a high score based on the fact that it is the same as the previous games just done better. Yes, the graphics are smoothed out and add a lot to the mood of the maps. Yes, it has a more in depth perk/upgrade/leveling system. Yes, the weapons feel more real with scope sway, more recoil and less shots to kill your enemy. Yes, they took the best from all the MW games and combined it into one, but it is exactly that, the Voltron of MW games. If you like the MW games and looking for something a drastically new, then your looking in the wrong place. If you are looking for something that is the same just better then you are looking for this game. I can't give it a high score because of it being more of the same, but I can say you will enjoy this if you like the other games and you weren't looking for anything ground breaking. Expand
  89. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    wow. i wish i would have bought 60 dollars of food and wasted 55 dollars of it. at least i would have enjoyed a little bit. the campaign is predictable and the multiplayer is old and seems to be getting worse as they release the same game every year
  90. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This game is just horrible. Completely filled with Hackers and Cheaters. IW must really like kids that arent even old enough to buy the game. Quickscoping? C'mon, they only kept that in the game to sell more copies. Riot Shields? Again? Should I say more? If they haven't gotten it by now they will never get it. This game is garbage. If anyone is reading this prior to buying the game, IThis game is just horrible. Completely filled with Hackers and Cheaters. IW must really like kids that arent even old enough to buy the game. Quickscoping? C'mon, they only kept that in the game to sell more copies. Riot Shields? Again? Should I say more? If they haven't gotten it by now they will never get it. This game is garbage. If anyone is reading this prior to buying the game, I suggest not wasting your money. If you are interested in playing the campaign i suggest buying the game used and once completing the game take it back and exchange it for a refund. Expand
  91. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Very disappointed with this game. I loved MW2 and couldn't wait for the release. This was not at all what I expected and feel ripped off. Black ops was a horrible game and I was willing to let it slide but this is the last Call of Duty game I will ever buy. The game play and feel of the guns is better in MW2. The maps in multiplayer are the worst part of this game. Every room has at leastVery disappointed with this game. I loved MW2 and couldn't wait for the release. This was not at all what I expected and feel ripped off. Black ops was a horrible game and I was willing to let it slide but this is the last Call of Duty game I will ever buy. The game play and feel of the guns is better in MW2. The maps in multiplayer are the worst part of this game. Every room has at least 2 or three doors which is not realistic at all. The whole game is built around speeding up the action instead of giving a realistic gaming experience.
    Do not waste your money on this game. I used to be a loyal fan but will now look for another game to fill the void. To the team that made this game...YOU SUCK!!! Enjoy my 59.99 while you can.
    Expand
  92. 1er
    Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I played this game last year and the year before. Stop milking the cash cow for whatever its worth. If you keep doing this you are going to be left with nothing Activision.
  93. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Just not what I expected at all... All I feel that was new to this game were the different strike packages you can use which most people use support... Specialist is just a waste in my opinion and assault is just if you want to play mw2 again... I agree with everyone when calling this game mw2.5
  94. Nov 14, 2011
    3
    This game should be called Modern Warfare 2.5. This is the first Call of Duty game that I have been truly disappointed by. Nothing feels original in this game. The graphics look worse than the previous games, the menus are the exact same as MW2's, and the game-play feels dated, probably because we have been playing the same game now for 5 years. Either something has to change with thisThis game should be called Modern Warfare 2.5. This is the first Call of Duty game that I have been truly disappointed by. Nothing feels original in this game. The graphics look worse than the previous games, the menus are the exact same as MW2's, and the game-play feels dated, probably because we have been playing the same game now for 5 years. Either something has to change with this franchise next year or it looks like Call of Duty has run its course. Expand
  95. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    As intriguing as I thought it would be I found that the multiplayer is now made to where tactics are worthless and it leaves me wanting to return to much simpler online multiplayer with more realism days like rainbow six: Black Arrow. I even think the reward system that black ops had was better... It seems like if your new people destroy you until your level 40.... there is no hand off. ItAs intriguing as I thought it would be I found that the multiplayer is now made to where tactics are worthless and it leaves me wanting to return to much simpler online multiplayer with more realism days like rainbow six: Black Arrow. I even think the reward system that black ops had was better... It seems like if your new people destroy you until your level 40.... there is no hand off. It reminds me of the world at war I hated that game. Expand
  96. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    Horrible. No innovation at all. This is basically Modern Warfare 2.25. This old have been put into a $15 map pack. The changes to the killsteaks are silly, and the graphics look like Cod4. Maps are nothing special, and games get old fast when you keep spawning 5 feet from the enemy. I can't believe all the aspects of this game that are the SAME. I am sure they are laughing all the theHorrible. No innovation at all. This is basically Modern Warfare 2.25. This old have been put into a $15 map pack. The changes to the killsteaks are silly, and the graphics look like Cod4. Maps are nothing special, and games get old fast when you keep spawning 5 feet from the enemy. I can't believe all the aspects of this game that are the SAME. I am sure they are laughing all the the way to the bank, and are having a party in Vegas right now.I wish I could get back the $100 I wasted on this.....which includes the $50 Elite that still doesnt even work! Expand
  97. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    I own every cod title and go back to them every now and then, i think this will be the first time a cod title will sit on my shelf to gather dust, the only reason im giving it 2 is due to the story.

    The lag is worse than black ops by a large margin, putting 20+ bullets into someone with a lmg and rapid fire only to instantly die the second he opens fire is extremely frustrating especially
    I own every cod title and go back to them every now and then, i think this will be the first time a cod title will sit on my shelf to gather dust, the only reason im giving it 2 is due to the story.

    The lag is worse than black ops by a large margin, putting 20+ bullets into someone with a lmg and rapid fire only to instantly die the second he opens fire is extremely frustrating especially when on the kill cam you dont let off a single round.

    Theres also nothing new or groundbreaking in mp killstreaks are still killstreaks no matter how you twist it, same goes for leveling weapons, they might aswell have kept the cash system from black ops.

    This will be the last cod game i buy from infinity ward without playing first.

    Ps. Dont get me started on map design and all the recycling.
    Expand
  98. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    no im not helping to give this game a better score than it is...sure the game may get great reviews from other sites and critics, you have to have a Score category that singles out the INNOVATION for Vid games.

    COD has Zero innovation. how about a decent story? COD games give me a hollow feeling every time I play them,why even bother to make an effort on the Campaign if its not going to
    no im not helping to give this game a better score than it is...sure the game may get great reviews from other sites and critics, you have to have a Score category that singles out the INNOVATION for Vid games.

    COD has Zero innovation. how about a decent story? COD games give me a hollow feeling every time I play them,why even bother to make an effort on the Campaign if its not going to be longer than 4 hrs long? this games feels like nothing more than DLC - or an expansion pack at best..

    I have little sympathy for games that call them selves sequels yet do NOTHING to heighten the experience from before- are game companies not wanting to take any more risks? there is the usual abundance of titles rallying for that almighty Game of the Year, forking down 60 bucks annually for the exact game as before just seems wrong.

    Activison sells truckloads of copies every year.... why the hell are you worried about the user score for?
    Expand
  99. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    After playing this game, it's clear to me that Activision doesn't care about its fans. This game is more like a patch than it is a new game. Other than a lousy singleplayer story with lazy and frustratingly stupid respawning enemies. You get the same multiplayer as MW2 with a couple new perks and some poorly designed maps. Nothing new here to offer. Just don't bother with it. Doesn't evenAfter playing this game, it's clear to me that Activision doesn't care about its fans. This game is more like a patch than it is a new game. Other than a lousy singleplayer story with lazy and frustratingly stupid respawning enemies. You get the same multiplayer as MW2 with a couple new perks and some poorly designed maps. Nothing new here to offer. Just don't bother with it. Doesn't even have a new engine, uses the same assets as Modern Warfare 2. I give this game a 1 because its basically just a patch. Expand
  100. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    What a bunch of monkey spunk..............

    A complete and utter let down, the game has made no games it physics, AI, game play, weoponry, maps anything. My god of all sequels this has got to be up there with the ones that blows the most. I loved.....and i do say loved the COD MW series, and now they have completely turned me off as they produced this crap that did nothing for the
    What a bunch of monkey spunk..............

    A complete and utter let down, the game has made no games it physics, AI, game play, weoponry, maps anything.

    My god of all sequels this has got to be up there with the ones that blows the most.

    I loved.....and i do say loved the COD MW series, and now they have completely turned me off as they produced this crap that did nothing for the genre of games in general.

    Infinity ward just another money grabbing bunch of stokers, hmmmm they have become another EA sports.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.