Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8717 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    lol i prefer black ops 2, this game is so bad. im so happy i can stop playing this and get on that new **** i hate this game so much the developers should be put to shame and lose their job.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    If I continually brought the same essay to school, my teacher would fail me. When Call of Duty releases the same game every year it is rewarded with 9/10 reviews and record sales numbers. If I changed the font it wouldn't make a difference, so I can't see why fans and reviewers are time and again fooled by new gun skins and tweaked gameplay mechanics.
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    1
    It's hard to find the right words to describe how much I dislike this game. Infinity Ward basically took a game that was already bad enough (MW2) and took out some of the bad stuff, but replaced all that bad stuff with new bad ideas. Death streaks and other problems just made the game unbearable for many. This was supposed to be the game that saved the franchise and it ended up making itIt's hard to find the right words to describe how much I dislike this game. Infinity Ward basically took a game that was already bad enough (MW2) and took out some of the bad stuff, but replaced all that bad stuff with new bad ideas. Death streaks and other problems just made the game unbearable for many. This was supposed to be the game that saved the franchise and it ended up making it even worse. After about two weeks of trying to enjoy this game, I put it down for the final time and haven't touched it in almost a year. Terrible, just terrible. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Lag, Camping, instant deaths, and Spawn killing, that's all I have to say about this game. Clearly, this game was rushed which explains how it could be so unballanced online. Not worth buying.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    This game is very bad I got bored after playing 1 hour of this game I do not know why infinity made a game that is worse than their others and I hope treat arch make a much better game than this
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    As a stand alone game, its multiplayer is a fun little shooter that causes just enough chaos to make everyone stand on their toes and spray bullets everywhere. The campaign's gameplay is not that notable besides the slightly interesting story, and is basically 8 hours of shooting wave after wave of Russians and terrorists, which can be fun at times, but is nothing special. HOWEVER, as aAs a stand alone game, its multiplayer is a fun little shooter that causes just enough chaos to make everyone stand on their toes and spray bullets everywhere. The campaign's gameplay is not that notable besides the slightly interesting story, and is basically 8 hours of shooting wave after wave of Russians and terrorists, which can be fun at times, but is nothing special. HOWEVER, as a sequel to the Call of Duty series, it is a piece of, for a lack of a better word, garbage. It is a rehashed modern warfare 2, with even the same graphics engine. Bringing basically nothing new to the table besides a few maps and gameplay types, the campaign is a boring trip of gruff voice acting and lots of explosions. The multiplayer is literally the same thing, you could even call it a DLC for Modern Warfare 2. This game was like a Michael Bay movie... Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    This is the same **** game as MW2 iw proves that they are repetitive **** the graphics are worse than mw2s also the multiplayer gets boring in the middle of 1st presteige
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    3
    washed over, dirty and dark colors and textures, horrible lag, poorly made maps and a terrible campaign (a bit exaggerated). This game is just poorly made and the only reason you can play it is because it is a bit addictive.
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    The game is pretty fun, obviously since it's an action movie on steroids, and the game is good, but of course it is. It was released twice, the biggest problem is it is a copy of number 2, if this wasn't the case it would have a higher rating. And when I rate I assume people are looking to see if they want to purchase the game, which is why the rating is low because it isn't worth your money.
  10. Jan 8, 2013
    3
    Another Call of Duty another clone from last year.The single player campaign is a joke lasting only 6-7 hours and having a very generic story. The friendly AI is extremely brain dead they might as well not exist as they don't do anything except get in your way.The enemy AI isn't any better, usually suicide charging you or not shooting at all.You have all the same vehicle sections from pastAnother Call of Duty another clone from last year.The single player campaign is a joke lasting only 6-7 hours and having a very generic story. The friendly AI is extremely brain dead they might as well not exist as they don't do anything except get in your way.The enemy AI isn't any better, usually suicide charging you or not shooting at all.You have all the same vehicle sections from past games in this one to ac-130,chopper,gun turret ect. The voice acting is average, there aren't really any characters in the game you'll like or care for as there all bland and uninteresting plus the game doesn't tell you anything about them anyway. Now onto the catastrophe that is multiplayer god where to start...oh i know just look at Modern Warfare 2 and there you go, it's the exact same broken multiplayer from that game.The matchmaking still joins you up with matches that are one second from finishing,the spawn system is still broken making you spawn in front of enemy players. The list goes on, Don't buy this game. Expand
  11. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    Arguably everything thats wrong with the series, MW3 came out when the opposition were crying out "same game every year", and what did we get as a defense....the same game as MW2 and CoD4.

    It stubbornly refused to change the multiplayer, keeping flaws from MW2 and not learning lessons from Black Ops. It kept the blandness of the repetition, without realising that fun can be in the
    Arguably everything thats wrong with the series, MW3 came out when the opposition were crying out "same game every year", and what did we get as a defense....the same game as MW2 and CoD4.

    It stubbornly refused to change the multiplayer, keeping flaws from MW2 and not learning lessons from Black Ops.

    It kept the blandness of the repetition, without realising that fun can be in the other games at times.

    Had the lawsuits never happened, this might have been a different story, of a game with changes akin from CoD4 to MW2, but well never know. Everyone suffered by getting this instead. MW4 may be different this year, but its got a tough act to follow now that Black Ops 2 actually did some change to the series
    Expand
  12. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    This game. This one game is the game that shows me that video games are dieing. There is nothing new in this game, its just an addon to mw 1 who was original. it annoys me a game could be so repetetive and loose sight of what should be the greatest game. The fact is this is little more than an expansion pack. Say what you want about the war Z and medal of honor warfighter. At least theyThis game. This one game is the game that shows me that video games are dieing. There is nothing new in this game, its just an addon to mw 1 who was original. it annoys me a game could be so repetetive and loose sight of what should be the greatest game. The fact is this is little more than an expansion pack. Say what you want about the war Z and medal of honor warfighter. At least they tried to change at least a single mechanic. There is nothing reddeeming about modern borfare 3 to me. Expand
  13. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    After playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and all the previous games in the franchise (Since 2007, as we generally do not care about the WW2- themed games before Call of Duty 4, said games having stopped being produced after the 90's), there are several concepts I am beginning to grasp. First, after playing the multiplayer for at most 2 hours per game, I am increasingly feeling thatAfter playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and all the previous games in the franchise (Since 2007, as we generally do not care about the WW2- themed games before Call of Duty 4, said games having stopped being produced after the 90's), there are several concepts I am beginning to grasp. First, after playing the multiplayer for at most 2 hours per game, I am increasingly feeling that they should rename the franchise: 'Camping Simulation: Modern Tent Erecting'. If you've played for more than an hour, you'll know what I mean. This is a distinct (but not the sole reason) why the multiplayer has gradually become a mind- numbing, boring, irritating experience which generally would put anybody with an ounce of sanity off the franchise completely. Second, both Infinity Ward, Treyarch and Sludgehammer games are becoming increasingly lazy- probably because they're too busy bathing in the money they get from all their previous games and the overpriced map packs they subject the online community to- and have descended into more or less not caring in the least about how good their content actually is; the story line for single player mode was anticlimatic considering where we left off with Modern Warfare 2, the multiplayer was unplayable and 'Spec Ops' was tedious as the day is long. Third, after looking at the reality-defying sales figures considering how much of an utter travesty the game was, it is clear to me that the title 'Call of Duty' is simply associated with popularity. Get 50 million dogs to in paper bags and slap an official 'Call of Duty' sticker onto each bag and sell them in game stores and by the end of the month you'll have made hundreds of millions of dollars. The only reason people aren't doing this to get rich quick is because of Copyright and Animal Cruelty laws, but neither apply to those actually responsible for the franchise and subjecting the world to it; watch out, they might try this tactic with Modern Warfare 4. Finally, after playing the game and looking at critic reviews, it appears that game critics are either under the control of Activision, have mental issues or enjoy heavily abusing amphetamines before they make a game review. How anybody could make it past the title screen without raging about how they wasted $60, let alone playing the game for a while and concluding that it's good is totally beyond me. Now for the only two positives, as we should always leave on a good feeling!

    The only two things good about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, in my opinion, are:
    1. It made Black Ops actually look playable, which I didn't think was possible before I played Modern Warfare 3.
    2. It helped me to decide whether I should buy Black Ops 2 or Assassin's Creed 3 the next year. Having an actual functioning brain, I of course chose Assassin's Creed 3. And guess what. It was actually a pretty decent game.
    Expand
  14. Mar 2, 2013
    1
    COD MW3 was the worst thing in FPS history. The dialogue in the game makes absolutly no sense at all, the single-player will be completed in two days even on Veteran difficulty, MW3 is supposed to be set in WWIII so WWIII was only two days, I mean WWI lasted for 4 years, WWII lasted even longer for 6 years, but WWIII is only two days? WTF. Oh yeah the pointless shooting in this game isCOD MW3 was the worst thing in FPS history. The dialogue in the game makes absolutly no sense at all, the single-player will be completed in two days even on Veteran difficulty, MW3 is supposed to be set in WWIII so WWIII was only two days, I mean WWI lasted for 4 years, WWII lasted even longer for 6 years, but WWIII is only two days? WTF. Oh yeah the pointless shooting in this game is absurd, like in the first mission in NYC when you're playing as Frost, once you get out of that chopper, Im serious the exact second you come out, GODMODE is on, you're just some Terminator shooting the out off everybody, hopefully this is the last MW game. 1/10 Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    This is seriously not what I had expected from Infinity Ward. Out of all of their games I'm sorry to say this is their worst. Its not bad but when you compare it to the previous Call of Duties you can see that they were more than what was expected at the time. COD fans from all around the world expected something special from MW3 thinking it would be a new start for Call of Duty but itThis is seriously not what I had expected from Infinity Ward. Out of all of their games I'm sorry to say this is their worst. Its not bad but when you compare it to the previous Call of Duties you can see that they were more than what was expected at the time. COD fans from all around the world expected something special from MW3 thinking it would be a new start for Call of Duty but it was just another small stepping stone. The entire game didn't even seem like a COD game. The maps were dull I mean just look at the ones in Black Ops (1). MW3 took the fun out of COD. Expand
  16. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    I've only played like 4 Call of Duty games and this one is just far by the worst one. All the campaign levels and multiplayer maps have the same blend of color and background usage of either sand, snow or swamp, a unoriginal feeling. The story wasn't as exciting and really felt boring after the first two levels of the game, which were pretty much the only good ones. Spec ops is reallyI've only played like 4 Call of Duty games and this one is just far by the worst one. All the campaign levels and multiplayer maps have the same blend of color and background usage of either sand, snow or swamp, a unoriginal feeling. The story wasn't as exciting and really felt boring after the first two levels of the game, which were pretty much the only good ones. Spec ops is really nothing special compared to the storyline, just extra missions to make you have different perspectives on the game. I had fun playing online with my friends and all but something about this game doesn't feel right compared to all the others. Expand
  17. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    This game is a monumental piece of crap. Everything is pasted from previous games. I hope Activision goes Broke. THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP
  18. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    What a Horrible game, this game, blops 1, and blops 2 RUINED the COD series and could never be the same. This can show that a company cant even spice it up a bit, with Mw2 and 3.. they both have graphics and engines. They both suck. Dont BUY.
  19. Mar 29, 2013
    2
    Really Infinity Ward? You'd think that after Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops 2, things were changing on the Call of Duty franchise, so many things were being added and improved, it was going good, but this has to be the absolute laziest, if not worst, Call of Duty game in history. The game engine was -Literally- recycled from Modern Warfare 2 and 0% improved what-so-ever, the campaign, asReally Infinity Ward? You'd think that after Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops 2, things were changing on the Call of Duty franchise, so many things were being added and improved, it was going good, but this has to be the absolute laziest, if not worst, Call of Duty game in history. The game engine was -Literally- recycled from Modern Warfare 2 and 0% improved what-so-ever, the campaign, as ever, is the most standard and generic you can get apart from the Price missions. Russians invading America. Jeez, originality is something it is missing in every part. How about multiplayer? Imagine taking the MP from MW2, add a few useless additional game modes, and there you go. Summed up. Weapons are as overpowered and unbalanced as always and I think I've said enough. I'm trying to think of any redeeming factors about this that distinguish it from MW2, but I can't get any from the top of my head, not any significant ones. Also: There's a weapon which kills with a SINGLE BULLET. NOT KIDDING. Expand
  20. Mar 30, 2013
    4
    The one thing that bothered me about this game was the blatant lack of creativity and innovation. While the general structure of the game held its own, and the the story fit the plot line of the previous two games, with a new playable character and the usual blockbuster set pieces, I felt as though the weapons were either reused or designed differently, (with little variation in regard toThe one thing that bothered me about this game was the blatant lack of creativity and innovation. While the general structure of the game held its own, and the the story fit the plot line of the previous two games, with a new playable character and the usual blockbuster set pieces, I felt as though the weapons were either reused or designed differently, (with little variation in regard to new weapons,) the graphics were actually sub-par to that of modern warfare 2, if you can even believe that, and every time I started a new mission it felt just like playing a call of duty 4/ modern warfare 2 mission, with only a new shell around it to disguise the feeling of redundancy. I felt as though the title of this game would've been better named "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.5." This low quality and low entertainment of this game, (in my personal opinion) was heavily influenced by the firings of Vince Zampella and Jason West, who were the heads of the developer company infinity ward before being fired for supposed "insubordination." As West and Zampella left, 38 infinity ward members left as well, leaving an insufficient amount of untalented developers and programmers at the head of MW3. As a longtime COD fan, (specifically the modern warfare series,) I found it thoroughly disappointing that this game did not meet the usual gusto and new found excitement that the other two games upheld, which is why I rated this game 4/10. Expand
  21. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is not a game that's worth getting. Modern Warfare 2 is a much better COD game. BLOPS 1, BLOPS 2, and even Modern Warfare 1 are way better than this game. MW3 didn't offer anything new. The maps were horrible and the guns weren't much different from MW2 if different at all. The only thing that I found fun was Survival. Although zombies is more classic and wayCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is not a game that's worth getting. Modern Warfare 2 is a much better COD game. BLOPS 1, BLOPS 2, and even Modern Warfare 1 are way better than this game. MW3 didn't offer anything new. The maps were horrible and the guns weren't much different from MW2 if different at all. The only thing that I found fun was Survival. Although zombies is more classic and way more fun. Expand
  22. Apr 5, 2013
    3
    I honestly just don't see how people are giving the game more than a five, the game completely falls entirely off the mark of just being too bland and being a blatant copy and paste of the previous Call of Dutys, the campaign is ok and just finishes off the "story", multiplayer is the same as every other call of duty game so now it's just grown tiresome and spec ops is nothing like zombies
  23. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    Yet another poor result from the Activision's yearly critically acclaimed cash grabber. You know what to expect, basic, linear, repetitive, easy gameplay hiding behind flashy graphics and an overhyped ad campaign. The story writing is terrible, the campaign explains little apart from you are a generic soldier, with a generic motivation, fighting in an overall generic plot. I didn't expectYet another poor result from the Activision's yearly critically acclaimed cash grabber. You know what to expect, basic, linear, repetitive, easy gameplay hiding behind flashy graphics and an overhyped ad campaign. The story writing is terrible, the campaign explains little apart from you are a generic soldier, with a generic motivation, fighting in an overall generic plot. I didn't expect much, a poor excuse for "innovation". I genuinely don't understand why such a mediocre franchise is so popular. Expand
  24. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    The most surprising thing about this game to me was that on metacritic people like it. Remember when call of duty was original, because apparently there was a time.
  25. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    Very weak game. If this game isn't showing signs that Call of Duty is misses a step then I don't know what is. It adds absolutely nothing new. This is no exaggeration. I would rather play Pong or E.T for Atari than this garbage! Only thing good about it was the survival mode. For that I give it a 1. Not worth $60.00 ever!
  26. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    I have played all of the Modern Warfare games. Obviously the first one is the best. MW2 was pretty good. But making this your sequel1?!?!?!? The graphics are bad and look like they are from Call of Duty 2. The multiplayer is the same except...hacking is allowed!!!! Maps suck. Same emblems and call signs from MW2. Although the campaign is pretty good. Great ending to the series. But II have played all of the Modern Warfare games. Obviously the first one is the best. MW2 was pretty good. But making this your sequel1?!?!?!? The graphics are bad and look like they are from Call of Duty 2. The multiplayer is the same except...hacking is allowed!!!! Maps suck. Same emblems and call signs from MW2. Although the campaign is pretty good. Great ending to the series. But I didn't enjoy playing as Yuri. Playing as Soap, Price and all the other characters were way better. What I don't like about Yuri is that they just bring him in saying he is ex-Spetsnaz that is the only back story on him. Spec ops missions are not that great they were better in MW2. Survival mode is pretty boring IW should've taken a hint from Treyarch's awesome zombies mode. In general this game is a 3 out of ten a bad. It has its goods the Campaign mainly. And its bads multiplayer, spec ops, survival. In general a very bad game Expand
  27. May 1, 2013
    3
    I was all hyped for this game because modern warfare 2 was so addicting even with it's flaws and i was expecting the same addiction that i had before but was disappointed and after 3 prestige's called it quits and couldn't handle the crappyness anymore and sold it at gamestop
  28. May 10, 2013
    1
    So what can i saw about modern warfare 3. It sucks all around. the only things that save this steaming pile of is the new kill streak system and the survival mode. The story mode was lacking everything. I feel that my dog taking a piss is a 1000000 times more entertaining than the story. as far as online well do i really need to say anything? Full of glitches, lag and texture issues iSo what can i saw about modern warfare 3. It sucks all around. the only things that save this steaming pile of is the new kill streak system and the survival mode. The story mode was lacking everything. I feel that my dog taking a piss is a 1000000 times more entertaining than the story. as far as online well do i really need to say anything? Full of glitches, lag and texture issues i feel that i could probably make a better game while on horse tranquilizers. as a fan of call of duty this game made me want to have my nuts stomped by a 500 pound man with cleats on. so for this fact i give it a 1 which is being kind Expand
  29. May 27, 2013
    0
    Save your money and buy a better CoD. This is just a repeat of MW2. If you want a good and engaging call of duty, get MW1. Things have gone downhill with this franchise everytime they release a game. But of course the game has a huge following of younger children who love the game because it has explosions and blood.
  30. Jun 11, 2013
    1
    This one of the worst games ever the game is laggy and the only players are 3 year old kids and the game is boring as hell in short don't buy this pice of game or don't buy any other COD because they are all terrible the only good COD game is COD world at war which is a great game but we are not reviewing that game we are reviewing MW3 which is terrible so in short don't buy it sucks
  31. Jun 19, 2013
    1
    This game was a waste of 60 dollars in my opinion. I did not enjoy my time with this game. They got rid of all that made MW2 good and kept all the crap. It might as well have been called Modern 2.5. Plain ans simple I did not enjoy my time with this game, it just got me frustrated that's it.
  32. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    Meh...

    This was nearly identical to MW2. Literally, I think they copied some of each level layout. Not only that, but the game is an awful port. We're locked at a console FOV, with poor optimization on high-end hardware. There are no dedicated servers, cheaters and lag abounds, and if my sticky reticule pops to one more enemy automatically I think I'm going to ceremoniously burn this
    Meh...

    This was nearly identical to MW2. Literally, I think they copied some of each level layout.

    Not only that, but the game is an awful port. We're locked at a console FOV, with poor optimization on high-end hardware. There are no dedicated servers, cheaters and lag abounds, and if my sticky reticule pops to one more enemy automatically I think I'm going to ceremoniously burn this game. There is no reason on the PC to make the game aim for the player.

    Multiplayer has literally not advanced at all. Graphics are poor, the engine is out of date. There's nothing but lag, cheaters, and kids whining and screaming over their microphones every time they die. There are no new modes, and no unique guns. You get to choose between slightly different re-skins of the same gun, pretty much, because they're all equally bland and stiff to use.

    There are no advanced physics to enhance dynamic gameplay, still no vehicles, and the killstreaks are more cheap than fun at this point. Who likes to join a match where half your team is just getting insta-killed by a helicopter above the map? Roll the dice. You might not randomly die, between the latency, the aim assist, and the 20 foot knives.

    That's pretty much all this game is. Random death. Grenade spam, camping, quickscope abuse, and lag all contribute to one pathetic package of random death.

    It gets 2 instead of 0 because it's a functional game, and not a pile of slag that nukes your HDD.
    Expand
  33. Jun 29, 2013
    1
    The game engine is out of date in 1999. boring, dull, is base. The sound in the game is terrible, the weakest game in the series. Battlefild 3 compared with that as a gold ingot.
  34. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    MW3 made COD look like!@#$#$%$%$#$#%#***&^^$!!@#$%^&*. Today its not skill its camping. But no matter how many of us good players see this happening, it will only get worse. Hopefully Ghosts will change that (i doubt it). But we can only hope for better.
  35. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now before you think i hate this game because it is essentially modern warfare 2.5 well your wrong I hate it because its a terrible game on its own
    pros: Gameplay is still pretty fun, Makarov's death is just so satisfying when it happens, graphics are done well, sound design is flawless it sounds like what a war game should
    cons: the intro movie is awful, new players will be confused and would probably need to play modern warfare 2 (which i recommend you would get that instead of this) bullets flying through cover, the game is too easy I got hit by an RPG and lived ON VETERAN DIFFICULTY, Yuri's death feels like a cheap excuse to kill a russian at the last minute rather then a sacrifice to save Price. Enemy Ai is either the worst i have ever seen or the best I have ever seen (and not in a good way its like they have a supercomputer that comes up with 1000 ways to effectively defeat you) as for the bad AI lets just say enemy's have had guns in my face and just stared until i get bored waiting for them to shoot and just killed them. Soaps death doesn't have the impact it should and it felt to sterotypical. it is so linear, horde mode instead of zombies
    So there you go a bunch of reasons not to buy mw3 if you really need to know the ending just watch it on youtube. If you ever buy a COD game you would be better off with black ops, black ops 2 modern warfare 2 or even wait and see if Cod ghosts brings some cool new features along with dogs and fish. for all the fanboys probably raging at me you should know I dont hate call of duty just this
    Expand
  36. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    this game is a piece of crap it sucks and the storyline is boring the only thing that made me not give it a zero is its ok multiplayer gameplay this skrewed up the call of duty series and black ops put it back on track
    my least favorite call of duty games are

    call of duty MW3
    call of duty
    call of duty world at war
  37. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I generally don't like too join the enormous and immature people that hate Call of Duty. But MW3 is seemingly the worst Call of Duty too date. Why? You have an overblown, short, scripted event filled, linear, mind numbing-Micheal bay action style campaign. The plot makes absolutely so sense at all. Then you have MP, which was promised to return to the CoD4 style of games. They said theyI generally don't like too join the enormous and immature people that hate Call of Duty. But MW3 is seemingly the worst Call of Duty too date. Why? You have an overblown, short, scripted event filled, linear, mind numbing-Micheal bay action style campaign. The plot makes absolutely so sense at all. Then you have MP, which was promised to return to the CoD4 style of games. They said they were taking out the many nuisances from MW2 and CoD 4 for a polished game. In reality, you get a Modern Warfare 2 expansion pack, expect with more restrictions (invisible walls galore). That isn't an exaggeration. This game is pretty much the same exact game. But this time around, it's boring. Bad maps, bad guns, bad perks and the new killstreak system just doesn't work.

    They also have a new Survival mode. Meant to compete with Treyarch's Zombies. It's fun for awhile but get's old really fast.

    On the surface, it is a polished game, but there just isn't any thing noteworthy or exciting. It just feels routine at this point.
    Expand
  38. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    If you have bought ANY other Call of Duty games, you wont find anything new here, do your self a favor and NEVER buy another Call of Duty game ever. Same Different year
  39. May 4, 2014
    0
    The absolute, garbage, pathetic, excuse for a video game that is Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 made me so infuriatingly angry that I have no choice but to give it a 0. Out of 10^10000000. I can't think of anything good from this game.
  40. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    Este juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEsteEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la Expand
  41. Aug 7, 2013
    2
    This sucked. Can't even compare to Cod 4 or MW2. Multiplayer sucked, campaign alright, and words can't describe how terrible survival was. Survival was an attempt to replace zombies but it absolutely sucked. Stick to Treyarch, Infinity Ward sucks now.
  42. Aug 10, 2013
    1
    el mw3 es simplemente un juego MUY similar a los anteriores anteriores mw los gráficos,,, no cambian mucho las armas se sientes exactamente igual ¿no que no habria segunda oportunidad? me sorprende lo malo que es el multijugador es muy injusto y las armas están desproporcionadas al final si te fijas bien de varios rifles de asalto la gente solo usa unos 3
    Esas rachas de muerte son muy
    el mw3 es simplemente un juego MUY similar a los anteriores anteriores mw los gráficos,,, no cambian mucho las armas se sientes exactamente igual ¿no que no habria segunda oportunidad? me sorprende lo malo que es el multijugador es muy injusto y las armas están desproporcionadas al final si te fijas bien de varios rifles de asalto la gente solo usa unos 3
    Esas rachas de muerte son muy injustas creo que hay muchas cosas en este juego que salen sobrando en mi opinión esta mejor el multiplicador de mw, obviamente los críticos están vendidos comparen las calificaciones de los críticos a las de los usuarios

    Ativicion, famosa por sacar la expansiones mas caras y llamarlas nuevos juegos
    Expand
  43. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    games for babies, not a real game.
    CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS.
    games for babies, not a real game.
    CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS.
    Expand
  44. Sep 15, 2013
    2
    I sure hope activision make an actually new game sometime, the old formula from 2007 is dull. I can't believe they can make so much money re-releasing the same with the same assets, textures, and gameplay year after year. I can forgive sports games but this is a joke.
  45. Oct 11, 2013
    2
    I love how people will talk about how bad the new Pokemon or GTA game is because of how it's "too similar to other games in the series" but Call of Duty always seems to get a free pass. But I'm not here to talk about how critics seem to kiss this particular franchises butt just because it's another Call of Duty game, I'm here to explain why this is just a bad game in general. What do mostI love how people will talk about how bad the new Pokemon or GTA game is because of how it's "too similar to other games in the series" but Call of Duty always seems to get a free pass. But I'm not here to talk about how critics seem to kiss this particular franchises butt just because it's another Call of Duty game, I'm here to explain why this is just a bad game in general. What do most players of Call of Duty games do? They go straight to the multiplayer of course. However this games multiplayer is terrible, all the maps are boring and poorly designed and the colors used in the maps are dull. Guns are distributed where a high level CoD MW3 player will destroy another player with a lower level because the gun the high level player has is overpowered to the point of being unfair. Should i also mention that the servers in this game are less than fantastic leading to unfair deaths do to lag, and no i'm not a 4 year old complaining that he died cause his internet sucks I'm sincerely stating that MW3's servers are unreliable. The game adds in this survivor mode to try and replace the zombies mode in Call of Duty Black Ops, and while its an o.k game mode it doesn't come close to being as fun as the Black Ops zombies mode. The only redeemable thing about MW3 is the campaign. It's nothing to write home about but it is decent and well-done enough and completes the Modern Warfare story line in a satisfying fashion. I get it o.k? Call of Duty games are supposed to be similar to each other, that's just the way the series works. It supposed to be a game that gets upgraded graphics, new guns, and a couple new kill streaks so you and you're friends can enjoy some multiplayer. However MW3 is simply not fun, its muddy graphics and unfair gun layout make this game, for lack of a better word, bad. Get you're CoD on with some Black Ops, modern warfare 2, hey even world at war works! But stay far away from Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3. Expand
  46. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game is the exact same as Modern Warfare 2. It adds nothing in terms of game play or fun. It's the same repetitive garbage that has murdered the FPS genre's credibility.
  47. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    I played this with my friend, who is a CoD fan, and I got to say I was very unimpressed. It seems to be recycling the same garbage over and over again, to the point where people are just so confused onto the way that games are made.
  48. Nov 28, 2013
    4
    seriously what is the problem in innovate a little in the why they always do this with us,i hated this game,it is almosta copy of modern warfare 2,most disapointing game of the year.
  49. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    A disappointing sequel to MW2. short and boring story, boring multiplayer, and a really boring survival mode. It's all repetitive of MW2 and very unoriginal. The graphics are the same exact as the previous and the story is way too predictable. Not worth your time or your money.
  50. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    Another lazy-effort money grab spit out by the CoD team. I'm probably about to peeve a lot of fan-boys, or as they're more formally known: 12-year-old boys who want aggression do to their frustration of puberty.
    PROS:
    +The multiplayer is enjoyable if you're looking for action. CONS: -The story is wooden, stiff, stupid, and boring! Only a person with an extra chromosome could say it is
    Another lazy-effort money grab spit out by the CoD team. I'm probably about to peeve a lot of fan-boys, or as they're more formally known: 12-year-old boys who want aggression do to their frustration of puberty.
    PROS:
    +The multiplayer is enjoyable if you're looking for action.
    CONS:
    -The story is wooden, stiff, stupid, and boring! Only a person with an extra chromosome could say it is even kind-of interesting.
    -The singleplayer guns are crooked and unbalanced in the campaign, as always.
    -The community of prepubescent brats who need their mouths cleaned with soap. Really, no one is going to take your stupid game seriously if you have this community, so how about you remove voice chat - you'll probably decrease the suicide rate around the world.
    -If you're playing on PC, it is a god awful port, like all CoD games!
    -It is the same game! Why do people by this garbage! Play Black Ops, or MW2, or the best one - CoD 4, you wanna why? Because they're nearly the same team!
    I wouldn't touch this game with a 10ft poll if you don't have it. Crap like this shouldn't exist...
    Expand
  51. May 28, 2014
    0
    All the COD games are the same: "Here, Have a gun and kill these guys, They're the bad guys because we say they are!". Terrible plot, Same as the old COD games, The company is just milking the franchise for more money.
  52. Jun 21, 2014
    2
    Okay... after completing Modern Warfare 2, I was eager to find out what would happen next in this franchise. But when i played the game, i felt rather offended, especially the train derailment scene in London. The combat has not changed for the past three installments, the AI is semi decent, the weapons look nice but the gameplay is way too repetitive and relies heavily on explosions andOkay... after completing Modern Warfare 2, I was eager to find out what would happen next in this franchise. But when i played the game, i felt rather offended, especially the train derailment scene in London. The combat has not changed for the past three installments, the AI is semi decent, the weapons look nice but the gameplay is way too repetitive and relies heavily on explosions and the collapse of landmarks as the secondary source of action. The story is bland and tasteless and every mission is just "get here and kill these people" with no real objective. This were they needed to stop... 2/10. Expand
  53. Aug 23, 2014
    3
    Just like all the other call of duty games: exact copies of each other and they're all given great reviews by 90% of critics because critics are corrupt dogs who get paid extra to give things good reviews. Just look at the critic reviews compared to the use reviews if you don't believe me.
  54. Jul 1, 2015
    2
    O Design da Infinity ward deve ter falado com a equipe - " Vamos progamar um lixo " , ai assim que surgiu o MW3 , Modern W 1 & 2 , são bons mais isso não deu vei
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.