Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8519 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Nothing new at all, exact same as Modern Warfare 2 with new maps and guns. its basically 60 dollar DLC. which is extremely disappointing. game play is exactly the same as Modern Warfare 2 and it doesn't even try to improve on anything.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Before i start, i havent even finished the game yet.
    i cannot be anything else then sarcastic about this game:
    Wait.. was that a building from the CoD4 Pipeline map? Wait.. were that cod4 sounds? I remember this place.... This place remembers me of something I think the biggest issue here is the fact that the franchise aged over its fanbase. All the 14/15 year olds who are now grown
    Before i start, i havent even finished the game yet.
    i cannot be anything else then sarcastic about this game:
    Wait.. was that a building from the CoD4 Pipeline map?
    Wait.. were that cod4 sounds?
    I remember this place.... This place remembers me of something
    I think the biggest issue here is the fact that the franchise aged over its fanbase.
    All the 14/15 year olds who are now grown to 19/20 year olds have in these 5 years realized how this game/franchise or however u wanna call it is getting run into the ground by releasing a, boring repetitive, copy/paste game every year.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    I was disappointed with the multiplayer and connection problems. I wish they would have had a beta to figure out the glitches (head glitch...omg), and that's just one. Spawns are completely random and a pain in the ass. It's too bad that Activision had those legal problems, maybe they would have developed a better game if they didn't. The campaign is exciting and fun, but short. PlayI was disappointed with the multiplayer and connection problems. I wish they would have had a beta to figure out the glitches (head glitch...omg), and that's just one. Spawns are completely random and a pain in the ass. It's too bad that Activision had those legal problems, maybe they would have developed a better game if they didn't. The campaign is exciting and fun, but short. Play it on veteran to extend the fun, and frustration. Overall this game isn't really worth the time and money. It plays and feels just like the previous MW2. They added a revamped killstreak/pointstreak system, but that alone is NOT worth buying this game. Save your money and buy BF3 (that's where Activisions 2 founders went...[EA]) All I can say is that I hope they patch the game with the fixes VERY soon. Not to mention all the hype surrounding Call of Duty Elite only to have it completely fail upon launch. Weak. Unprepared. Frustrating. Unoriginal. Disappointing. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    this game is weak,, same recycled B.S. ,, battelfield 3 is way better as in teamwork, graphics, vehicles you can actually drive, MW3 is just run, and gun, with arcade kill streaks.. still,.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    I was really looking forward to MW3, especially after being massively disappointed with how corny battlefield 3 was. In the beginning things looked promising, but as you play the multiplayer you realize a few things. On the positive side:

    1. I do like how they have dealt with killstreaks this time. you can do support or assault. either way you'll probably be able to call in some sort of
    I was really looking forward to MW3, especially after being massively disappointed with how corny battlefield 3 was. In the beginning things looked promising, but as you play the multiplayer you realize a few things. On the positive side:

    1. I do like how they have dealt with killstreaks this time. you can do support or assault. either way you'll probably be able to call in some sort of reward and it keeps that part of the game fun. And the killstreak rewards are the most fun yet. they are hilarious - the robot from short-circuit buzzin around shooting guys is so funny.

    2. Some new guns are fun. And I like the new perk system.



    On the negative side

    1. The spawn points are ridiculous. Either you spawn behind someone and shoot them in the back, they spawn behind you and shoot you on the back, maybe you'll spawn off in the middle of nowhere, if you're lucky you are put with your team in a location where you can choose how to get back into the fight but that's rare. I just finished a match where I spawned behind a guy, shot him in the back, a guy spawned behind me and shot me in the back and he spawned in front of one of my team and was immediately shot in the back. ALL on ONE killcam. So lame.

    2. these maps are garbage. just chaotic garbage. no flow, rarely any strategic positions, no battleground. **** just hits the fan everywhere. and they are all SO small. 3. There is no flow. Because of the spawn locations and the cluttered map design the matches are too chaotic. There is rarely an actual battle ground you expect to be fighting over it's just totally random. 3. I understand the desire to cool it on the camping, but with scavenger you can't even re-up on flash grenades. 4. seriously what is with this quick scoping business? I understand it takes practice to get it down but like guys are cruising through hallways with their sniper rifles as shotguns. that's so stupid. It's a glitch which is being exploited. sure it's hard to do it's just goofy.

    5. speaking of shotguns they are primary weapons again. the secondary weapons are so lame. like you got an assault rifle good for 30 yards + up and then some wack machine pistol good if you can sneak up on ONE guy to empty the whole clip and then get smoked by their team while you reload. I basically have to use my primary weapon as some catch-all supergun.

    6. it's SO dark.

    7. aimbots? come on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fj3B3NQNyPY

    8. I'm going back and playing mw2
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Copy and Paste is not a good way to develop a game!

    This game felt like the left over hack-designers at Infinity Ward/Activison raided the pixel pantry left behind by Jason West, Vince Zampella, and the most talented designers who followed these visionary leaders out the door. We want gameplay NOT cinematics! This current installment is so obviously developed by designers who have no
    Copy and Paste is not a good way to develop a game!

    This game felt like the left over hack-designers at Infinity Ward/Activison raided the pixel pantry left behind by Jason West, Vince Zampella, and the most talented designers who followed these visionary leaders out the door. We want gameplay NOT cinematics!

    This current installment is so obviously developed by designers who have no capacity to understand what makes the COD games so fun - diverse gameplay, excellent physics, climbable/strategic architecture, and multiplayer experience. It feels as though you are playing in an old -style FPS like Marathon or DOOM where you glide around in an environment that is so rudimentary and crude that you quickly bore of the repetitive gameplay.

    I warn anyone thinking of buying this game to heed the overwhelmingly bad user reviews of this game and stick to Treyarch titles in the COD franchise or, like me, just pick up a copy of BF3 and never look back. Especially now that there are team and squad death-match game modes! Infinitely more entertaining!
    Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    The words of a good developer (not the developer to call off duty)!

    Valve quote: Our success is that we ensure that the interests of our customers and partners they can trust us not to exploit this relationship we have them. ""We generally consider focusing on the customer and not focused on the product: most of our decisions are based on the opportunities - very changeable - to better
    The words of a good developer (not the developer to call off duty)!

    Valve quote: Our success is that we ensure that the interests of our customers and partners they can trust us not to exploit this relationship we have them. ""We generally consider focusing on the customer and not focused on the product: most of our decisions are based on the opportunities - very changeable - to better serve our customers and not on the optimizations that would make us a better distributor
    Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    This fame is more of the same awful gameplay. It's glitchy, frustrating, graphically bad (it's technically alright, but the art direction is the same dull, bland feel) and it does NOTHING NEW. It's also horribly overrated and is a magnet for 12 year old kids to bunk off school.
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely atrocious.Period. I've had MW3 since the first release date and the more I play it, the more I hate everything the game stands for and is. Between the terrible maps, hit detection, and horrendous spawns, it's WORSE! than MW2..and I thought that was impossible! It seriously is MW2.5 but with even more negatives to go along with it. This just proves to me thatThis game is absolutely atrocious.Period. I've had MW3 since the first release date and the more I play it, the more I hate everything the game stands for and is. Between the terrible maps, hit detection, and horrendous spawns, it's WORSE! than MW2..and I thought that was impossible! It seriously is MW2.5 but with even more negatives to go along with it. This just proves to me that Infinity Ward puts absolutely no effort into making games better for the consumers.I'm selling MW3 ASAP and becoming a Treyarch only fan-boy.At least they listen to the customers and comply! Expand
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    1
    If this game did anything that was truly new, or worthy of a sequel instead of an expansion pack, I would probably rate it 8 or 9, but it doesn't . The gameplay ( while obviously you don't want to change what makes it popular ) is exactly the same, but fine. The game modes are pretty much the same except for a few new ones which honestly don't provide much variation, and get bored prettyIf this game did anything that was truly new, or worthy of a sequel instead of an expansion pack, I would probably rate it 8 or 9, but it doesn't . The gameplay ( while obviously you don't want to change what makes it popular ) is exactly the same, but fine. The game modes are pretty much the same except for a few new ones which honestly don't provide much variation, and get bored pretty quickly. The level design/ Character design / Weapon design is pretty much recycled ! ? ! there are new meshes, but a tooonnnnn have just been copy pasted, wtf guys ? Not even a slight try for change ? The singleplayer, while nicely delivered, is the same quick experience as every time, And the graphics are just horribly outdated =/ .. In a normal world, if this was one of the first releases provided by a developer, I'd give it a 7. But people need to take a stand when they are being RIPPED OFF by a company. Paying for elite, Paying a ridiculously high store price, paying a retarded-ly high price for all map packs ! ( how about throwing a bone to your customers ? no you just jack them some more ). SCRAPPING Elite for the PC when you never mentioned this before ( this is probably reason for filing a lawsuit, as you just took out part of the game, not that I personally would want it, but pretty sure some PC buyers would ) And releasing the same recycled version every year, just to suck it dry like you did with guitar hero. big fat 1. Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    Until patches start to roll out (hopefully) this game is sub bar. It has unbalanced perks/guns, lag issues, map glitching, horrible matchmaking system and awful maps. Add CoD elite not working 95% of the time to that mix, and you got one big mess in your hands. Only good part in the game is Survival mode in spec ops. Even single player is this time dull and boring.
  12. Nov 18, 2011
    1
    The game has little to offer. The the franchise has gotten repetitive and boring. When they introduce a new game system and how the game work it will be fun again, that is if they get it right. That's what made COD 4 so successful, when they introduced the perks system and all the new stuff. It was so different from the previous cods that;s what they need to do again but I don't think theyThe game has little to offer. The the franchise has gotten repetitive and boring. When they introduce a new game system and how the game work it will be fun again, that is if they get it right. That's what made COD 4 so successful, when they introduced the perks system and all the new stuff. It was so different from the previous cods that;s what they need to do again but I don't think they got what it take to do It. IMO the franchise needs to die out and some other company step it up. Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2011
    1
    This game sucks, the maps are terrible, what a bunch of crap, too much spots for people to sit in. The weapons are stupid as well. Guns are broken and people take way to much shots before they die. This game is a fail, Buy Battlefield 3 instead people.
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    4
    THIS REVIEW IS STRICTLY BASED ON THE MULTI-PLAYER ASPECT: Outside of new maps and a few new perks and guns this game is pretty much like all the others. Some big key points is like Black Ops they lack proper servers. Their ability to balance is lacking bad. They went from grenades, claymores, and rockets of all forms from being over powered to being less than effective. AllTHIS REVIEW IS STRICTLY BASED ON THE MULTI-PLAYER ASPECT: Outside of new maps and a few new perks and guns this game is pretty much like all the others. Some big key points is like Black Ops they lack proper servers. Their ability to balance is lacking bad. They went from grenades, claymores, and rockets of all forms from being over powered to being less than effective. All they had to do was take away the extra explosive damage perks and it would have been fine. Certain perks and heartbeat sensors and knifing still beats a gun add an unrealistic feel to the game. If they wanted to take this game to the next level they should have teamed up with Bungie and added the vehicle element to the game on multi-player. The knifing mechanic should be like battlefield where you have to sneek up on them and knife them in the back. Seriously how would a person getting drilled with bullets while running at them still have the force to knife someone. You might as well add the halo sword into the game. Expand
  15. Nov 18, 2011
    2
    I specifically created a metacritic account just so I could let other people know the dissapointment that is modern warfare 3. First off I think it is incredibly tacky and absurb that someone from their company had the nerve to beg people to give it better reviews on metacritic, there is a reason your game is getting so many bad reviews, its a horrible game. The campaign was interestingI specifically created a metacritic account just so I could let other people know the dissapointment that is modern warfare 3. First off I think it is incredibly tacky and absurb that someone from their company had the nerve to beg people to give it better reviews on metacritic, there is a reason your game is getting so many bad reviews, its a horrible game. The campaign was interesting and entertaining, but I beat it on hard and found all the intel within 12 hours. Spec ops is actually the best part of the game. Again, all the missions I have beaten withing 12 hours and now I am working on the survival mode. There is a decent amount of replay value at the survival, but in no way will you be able to play as long as a zombies match, and personally i find zombies to be more entertaining. This leads me to the multiplayer, wnich is the reason I bought the game, and where I expect to get my value for the game. I cannot stand to play the multiplayer. They have taken steps back from mw2 and black ops. Every map is extremely similar. Quick scoping is back, 2-3 bullets gets a kill with any gun. The assault killstreaks barely can get kills since everything is indoors. And the support killstreak has a stealth bomber which is overpowered and will end anyone who is using the assault packages streak. Its not enjoyable, I bought the hardened thinking i was going to log countless hours, and after less than 20 i cant stand to even play more than 1 game. Save your money. They tricked me but hopefully someone else will save themselves from buying a terrible game. Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    This game really feels like a expansion map, the old graphics are back, the same gameplay is back, almost everything is back.
    What you can do now is save all your stats and so you can show it to your friends. Really? This call of dutys are getting worse for every year that is going, not wonder, they keep releasing a new call of duty every year. REMEMBER GUITAR HERO? this is
    This game really feels like a expansion map, the old graphics are back, the same gameplay is back, almost everything is back.
    What you can do now is save all your stats and so you can show it to your friends. Really? This call of dutys are getting worse for every year that is going, not wonder, they keep releasing a new call of duty every year. REMEMBER GUITAR HERO? this is what their company is making with call of duty. no thanks.
    Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    If you can not afford MW3 DONT WORRY you actually might of owned an early copy of it! its called MW2!!! What a huge failure! The huge problems that were in the MW2 were not changed at all and with the graphics not even being any better DONT waste your money.This Game sucked! The single player, multi player, and anything else is the same. They couldn't even change the split screen mode.If you can not afford MW3 DONT WORRY you actually might of owned an early copy of it! its called MW2!!! What a huge failure! The huge problems that were in the MW2 were not changed at all and with the graphics not even being any better DONT waste your money.This Game sucked! The single player, multi player, and anything else is the same. They couldn't even change the split screen mode. Right now when you play survivor mode the split screen does not cover up the screen but a portion of it in order to display the maps .... dumb
    4 player split screen (One of the most fun features) was still dumbed down and nothing added to it. People want to be able to play with there friends on the couch and what better way to do that then 4 player split screen. Well MW3 has that but nothing that keeps us playing. Survivor mode was stupid, only 2 player split-screen? really? IF YOU ARE GOING TO CONTINUE TO SH!T OUT GAMES THEN ATLEAST MAKE THEM FUN!
    Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Terrible. Used to love COD. They have actually made a worse game than Black OPs. MW2 is a better game in EVERY respect. Put some effort in next time please developers...
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    I give this game a 0 because it is doing absolutely nothing for the gaming industry. You have remarkable games out there like skyward sword, skyrim, battlefield 3, and dark souls that all put a tremendous amount of original content and then you have this game that is effectively the same game as mw2. You want this game? get one of the earlier CoD games because this game is nothing new.
  20. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    The multiplayer was really poor and disappointing. With what the technology out there today i expected alot better graphics and a better character enhancements. Playing the game it feels rushed it felt this was more about making money rather then making a great game. The layouts are so retro and horrible to look at, with black ops you could create how you want your emblem or title it wasThe multiplayer was really poor and disappointing. With what the technology out there today i expected alot better graphics and a better character enhancements. Playing the game it feels rushed it felt this was more about making money rather then making a great game. The layouts are so retro and horrible to look at, with black ops you could create how you want your emblem or title it was down to your imagination what you created. The elite service aint even working yet with on week 3 of release still cant access a service we paid extra for. MW3 has got more campers then before more nubetubbers and more overpowered guns which spoils the experience. The guns themselves are so big and chunky i feel is this really necessary just to kill someone. Luckily for myself there has been other big titles released so i have put mw3 down and not had that desire to play it anymore. Role on next years release Expand
  21. Nov 21, 2011
    1
    GtmPhantom Nov 21, 201110 I've been playing since COD4 and like many others i considered myself a fan. However Black-ops was almost unplayable based on the connection problems it was clear Host would win then as many others felt Mw3 would revive the series it feel short. Mw2 offered freedom in the maps, i see a box, I jump on it. Mw3 takes away your freedom of the maps and throws you intoGtmPhantom Nov 21, 201110 I've been playing since COD4 and like many others i considered myself a fan. However Black-ops was almost unplayable based on the connection problems it was clear Host would win then as many others felt Mw3 would revive the series it feel short. Mw2 offered freedom in the maps, i see a box, I jump on it. Mw3 takes away your freedom of the maps and throws you into a race track like setting with invisible force fields around seemingly accesible places. I even feel like the Co-op was very lazy and it all seems very half ass... The maps have way to much going on to really do anything in it, it's all very cramped and crowded and overall it feels like a poorer version of Mw2 ... As always with Cod their are a few very over powered guns that should have never made it past testing ( Obviously not.. Mw2: 1manarmy noobtubes/ mw3: Type95 and really any Sniper rifle ... ) I've learned that Activisions attempt to claim their more like COD 4 was trying to say less is more and in this case their was less and it was not more. This fan is done with COD Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    SUXXXX......Stop making the same game every year! It's the same crap every time........! How long can Infinity Ward reproduce the same plot with the same character with the same multiplayer. It's absolute robbery if you ask me!!
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    In all honesty I approached this game with some skepticism. I loved Modern Warfare, but absolutely loathed Modern Warfare 2. A friend convinced me to buy the game, however, and after a couple weeks with the game my impressions are as follows:

    Campaign: Like Modern Warfare 2, it is pretty short. I beat it on hard (not veteran) in about 5 hours.The story is a bit more coherent this time
    In all honesty I approached this game with some skepticism. I loved Modern Warfare, but absolutely loathed Modern Warfare 2. A friend convinced me to buy the game, however, and after a couple weeks with the game my impressions are as follows:

    Campaign: Like Modern Warfare 2, it is pretty short. I beat it on hard (not veteran) in about 5 hours.The story is a bit more coherent this time around, but I still feel nothing for and could care less about any of the characters. The scenery makes you feel like you're showing up after something totally awesome just happened, while the game guides you down a series of rails on turret guns half the time. "Meh" is really the only word to describe the experience. At best, the campaign is serviceable.

    Competitive MP: What a **** I thought MW2 was bad. This... this is something terrible. There is no shortage of frustrating WTF moments when watching kill cams. Perks ruin any semblance of balance. Killstreak rewards leave out any hint of fair competition (juggernaut suit, seriously?). The MP feels like I'm playing tag at an elementary school. Every map is a circle that has a pathway cutting through the middle; it just has a different coat of paint. Speaking of paint, the color scheme in the MP is awful. Each map picks a color and focuses on it which leaves everything just sort of blending together incoherently at medium to long distances. I know that it doesn't seem worth griping about, but stare at the screen long enough and it gets annoying. If people wanted evidence of copying and pasting, look no further than the MP. The dialog and voices are taken straight out of MW2. The sound files are literally pulled out of MW2. The MP constantly rewards you with trinkets to make you feel like you're progressing. I don't like that so much. If I'm doing bad, let me know. Don't tell me I was the best at falling from high places and surviving or spending the most time aiming through my scope. Tell me what I did that caused my team to lose. Don't try and make me feel good about things that don't matter.

    Co-op MP: The new survival mode is fun enough, but it doesn't do anything better than other games that offer similar modes. I can see myself going back to that mode for some fun with a friend, but why is it limited to two players when every other game out there offers a minimum of four? The same with spec ops. The spec ops mode is the same as MW2. It's fun for one play through, but there really isn't much point after that in my opinion. And the two-player limit is disappointing. I was hoping for bigger ops with more players. But it didn't deliver in that regard.

    Overall: People say the game is solid. This is true. A shooter that runs at 60 FPS consistently is hard to come by on a console these days. But, I would happily take a hit in FPS for more visual spice--some aspects actually look graphically worse than its predecessor--and improved animations (which are awful, by the way). The game engine is showing its age. I have a 1996 Subaru with 200,000 miles on it. It works. It gets me where I'm going. I fix it up and keep it working. But eventually it's going to die, and I wouldn't pay premium price for it. The same with this game. For that reason it's taking an additional hit on the overall score I would give it. This game is not a $60 game plain and simple. It's an expansion pack. While I do consider games art, I also factor in value. Modern Warfare 3 doesn't deliver on either front.

    Also, this isn't about BF3 vs. MW3. Modern Warfare 3 is bad REGARDLESS of Battlefield 3. Not because of it. It's just a game that falls on the higher side of poor.
    Expand
  24. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    Well I am a fan of both the Battlefield series and the CoD franchise, but I have to admit that this was a sad money grab on the part of Activision. I prefer both series in their Second World War settings, but I understand how the modern world lends to unpredictable story outcomes. This was insulting though. Black Ops repackaged and dressed up with the MW2 stories. Just look at some timingWell I am a fan of both the Battlefield series and the CoD franchise, but I have to admit that this was a sad money grab on the part of Activision. I prefer both series in their Second World War settings, but I understand how the modern world lends to unpredictable story outcomes. This was insulting though. Black Ops repackaged and dressed up with the MW2 stories. Just look at some timing between MW2 and MW3, then look at BF2 and BF3. Even if you space between the franchises most recent titles (Black Ops and Bad Company 2) Dice clearly has the advantage of rational development pace. Both MW3 and BF3 have their own faults and strengths, both had horribly cliche ridden single-player that could have been left out for the sake of polished multi-player. Sales for both games assure us a bright future of recycled, unimaginative, laugh-at-the-consumer titles. Those of you who keep buying these half-assed products will only make it worse. Send a message; stop buying these games. Expand
  25. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    Well, were should I start at . Lets see, um the single-player was better than MW2, It had some good moments IMO; Survival was OK, at least it was better than the zombie crap that Treyarch milked the hell out of with the retarded map packs every few months or so; And well,.............. F**K it. I HATE THIS GAME; First, the SP is better than MW2 but I still hate it, but on a positive noteWell, were should I start at . Lets see, um the single-player was better than MW2, It had some good moments IMO; Survival was OK, at least it was better than the zombie crap that Treyarch milked the hell out of with the retarded map packs every few months or so; And well,.............. F**K it. I HATE THIS GAME; First, the SP is better than MW2 but I still hate it, but on a positive note it was funner than BF3 SP, effing quick time events, oh were was I; Second, Spec-Ops Survival is OK, but the missions my god are F**king Terrible, when playing them on Vet. they are the frustrating thing to do in the world, you die once you have to start a 5min mission all over again, even on Co-Op they still suck; And finally the Multi-Player, FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKK, WHAT THE HELL, YOU GUYS SAID THAT THIS WOULD BE A LOT THAN MW 2, BUT GUESS WHAT, THEY LIED. NO CAMPERS, THEY RIGHT; THERE WILL BE NO OP GUNS, LIES, PP90, TYPE 95, UMP, SCAR-L, AND THE ACR, THE ACR; THE MAPS WILL NOT BE CAMPER FRIENDLY, LIES LIES LIES; FFA WILL FAST PASED AGAIN, MOTHER OF ALL LIES; NO NUKES THIS TIME, M.O.A.B. MOAR LIEK M.O.A.L.,..................................................................... sorry about that, it just that I get really angry when talking about mw3 MP, so overall don't and don't get this game, I got it the hard way by playing $100 for it, yes $100, don't give activision more of your money, use it on something else like food, gas, water, etc. Expand
  26. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    This game should have been called Recycled Warfare 3, or Copy Pasta 3. Campaign of this game is copy paste buildings of COD4. Multiplayer is a copy paste of COD4+MW2. Spawns are ridiculous, and Spec Ops isnt even fun. The HUD, weapons and sounds are copy paste of MW2. If you want to copy paste your money on this ridiculous game, go for it. Otherwise get COD4, the only COD game which isThis game should have been called Recycled Warfare 3, or Copy Pasta 3. Campaign of this game is copy paste buildings of COD4. Multiplayer is a copy paste of COD4+MW2. Spawns are ridiculous, and Spec Ops isnt even fun. The HUD, weapons and sounds are copy paste of MW2. If you want to copy paste your money on this ridiculous game, go for it. Otherwise get COD4, the only COD game which is worth playing. To the millions of people buying and supporting this game, congratulations, you guys are the ones that make these devs get millions of dollars while they just copy paste. And I guess you want more, right? Expand
  27. Jan 21, 2012
    0
    I have given longer reviews before, but for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare "3", it can be very accurately summed up with a few words. Carbon copy of its predecessors. This is Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 1 and/or 2 with a "different", with somehow more bland game play and story and with less originality than ever... Wish I could score into the negatives for this game, the Call of Duty seriesI have given longer reviews before, but for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare "3", it can be very accurately summed up with a few words. Carbon copy of its predecessors. This is Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 1 and/or 2 with a "different", with somehow more bland game play and story and with less originality than ever... Wish I could score into the negatives for this game, the Call of Duty series had so much potential.... Expand
  28. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    I cannot see much changes in this and MW2. Graphics: The same. Storyline: Shoot shoot kill, in other words, The Same. Multiplayer: The same. This is literally a DLC, or an expansion pack or something for MW2.
  29. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    ooooooooooooh I just "can't wait for the next modern warfare", I bet they'll add another sniper rifle!!! That's how retarded this **** game is. The only real CODs (other than the originals) are MW1, WAW and Black Ops, BO being by far the best. Don't get this $60 dlc pack. Thank you metacritic for allowing 0 star ratings :)
  30. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Flat game...
    What i think about new Call of duty? Customer service sucks, game bugs - still not fixed, is there any patches to this game? This not game, this is mod for call of duty mw 2, we need more innovation, better innovation.
  31. May 28, 2012
    3
    I put a good amount of time into the campaign, and enjoyed it, but once I tried the multiplayer it just felt like IW just made this game as a sad attempt to make more money. The graphics were a step down from Black Ops and MW2, the guns all felt the same and sounded like they were being shot out of a toilet, the maps all made me feel like puking, and the game types all seem the same.
  32. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    I've never been so disappointed over a game in my life. I expected a lot from this best-selling shooter and I was regretting the purchase after fifteen minutes of online gaming. I thought Modern Warfare 2 was a step down from Call of Duty 4, but not as bad as Modern Warfare 3.
  33. Mar 9, 2012
    2
    First of all lets get it straight that when I rate games I rate them OUT OF 10 so 5 is average 7 is good , 3 is below average etc. As a call of duty fan since the first modern warfare game is the best IMO, I had enjoyed the multiplayer of the past few titles even if they were a little imbalanced as they were immersing, fast paced games which I always had fun playing even in MW2, as itFirst of all lets get it straight that when I rate games I rate them OUT OF 10 so 5 is average 7 is good , 3 is below average etc. As a call of duty fan since the first modern warfare game is the best IMO, I had enjoyed the multiplayer of the past few titles even if they were a little imbalanced as they were immersing, fast paced games which I always had fun playing even in MW2, as it always included me in the game even when I was getting my ass kicked I could always still pull off a cool kill or save my team's ass by taking down a heli. This game was a huge let down compared. The first reason I say this is because, even though the guns have never really had any "weight" behind them, I still felt I was shooting a gun and thought this was specifically well done in WAW however in MW3 especially with some of the guns it just feels as though you are clicking a button to kill someone completely killing the immersion and enjoyment out of a kill.

    Also every single year the cod franchise tries to add new things to spice up the same formula much like pop music instead of tinkering with the core gameplay itself being afraid they'll mess it up. This time they added gun proficiencies and altered the perks and a few other minor things. Now its almost like there are too many variables for the developers to be able to alter so leads the game to be unbalanced as there are so many combinations. This makes for a frustrating multiplayer for serious players and casuals alike. Third of all the games are quicker online, you die more quickly kills are racked up faster. Im fine with that concept but not how it has been introduced. Firstly when Im playing I feel way more sluggish, Im guessing this is to compensate for millitary realism but in all honesty you don't play cod to feel like a guy in afghanistahn you play because you want to feel like a bad ass soldier out of an action movie shooting guys in the face. I feel so slow and so much less smooth compared to mw2 its like im being left out of the game and I feel that Im just a bystander to the game itself.

    The maps are awful generic pieces of crap in all honesty. They have become smaller and smaller throughout the call of dutys due to design laziness and to create combat realistic situations which once again we don't care about if the game isn't fair or fun. There is no safe way to get from one of a map to the other even though they are so small as they are ridiculously open leading to camping being the tactic low level players use as they find it impossible to beat higher level players.

    The gameplay and the shooting itself hasn't changed, quickscoping which I enjoyed and thought did take some skill (IMO) has been altered however Im on the fence of whether this is a bad thing or a good thing as snipers were OP in MW2.

    The campaign is a hollow corridor shooter which puts you in the same situation in every mission with a different cinematic and new textures. The only way you can use the environment is explosive barrels and you are breadcrumb lead through the missions by your commanding officer whoever that may be. Overall this game is a big lousy corporate sell out which should of been much more innovative and brave in its design. Greed has gotten the better of the franchise to a point where it provokes no feeling when playing the game, its literally like standing in my house doing nothing to me.

    2/10 - a ruined franchise for no good reason.
    Expand
  34. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    MW2: Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V, what do you get? MW3

    Really, when will Infinity Ward learn? This "game" is a joke. Singleplayer is horrible (especially the cheesy story), Spec Ops is just a copy of other game modes from other games, and multiplayer is average as usual. Even the little improvements and innovation that Black Ops had (Wager matches, Currency system, Diving, etc.) are all thrown out
    MW2: Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V, what do you get? MW3

    Really, when will Infinity Ward learn? This "game" is a joke. Singleplayer is horrible (especially the cheesy story), Spec Ops is just a copy of other game modes from other games, and multiplayer is average as usual. Even the little improvements and innovation that Black Ops had (Wager matches, Currency system, Diving, etc.) are all thrown out of the window.

    Rent this game if you're interested in Spec Ops, but that's it.
    Expand
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This is basically the same game as MW2, it feels the same exact way, nothing new other than a few features that were added, which I don't see how they couldn't have been made into a DLC package. Do not waste your money on this game, it is not worth $60, $30-40 at it's lowest I would say it's worth. This does not feel like blackops though, it just seems that they edited the MW2 engine more.
  36. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Why pay $60 for the same thing every year it's just like Madden. People are just like sheep. It's time to move on to something else with more innovation. Call of Duty Elite is a copy of Halo Waypoint and Waypoint is free for all features. CoD is lacking because they know you will buy it just because it's called Modern Warfare.
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Huge Downgrade from Black Ops.

    -No combat training -No bots -No local search -Bad Splitscreen play -No zombies -No emblem editor -Same titles from MW2 -Camping still a problem -Guns are OP -Campaign is not as good as MW2's campaign -Hit Detection is worse than MW2 -Graphics worse than MW2, also outdated. -CtrlCCtrlV Really, I am surprised that it was even worse than people thought it
    Huge Downgrade from Black Ops.

    -No combat training
    -No bots
    -No local search
    -Bad Splitscreen play
    -No zombies
    -No emblem editor
    -Same titles from MW2
    -Camping still a problem
    -Guns are OP
    -Campaign is not as good as MW2's campaign
    -Hit Detection is worse than MW2
    -Graphics worse than MW2, also outdated. -CtrlCCtrlV

    Really, I am surprised that it was even worse than people thought it would be.

    Rent only.

    Survival is fun, however.
    Expand
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Infinitely respawning enemies with perfect accuracy & superhuman eyesight + cliched & schizophrenic story makes for a really awful and truly unenjoyable single player campaign. The multiplayer feel identical to MW2 with different skins, maps, weapons & "features". The horde mode is pretty bleh too - considering, with the infinitely respawning enemies in SP, campaign becomes a horde mode atInfinitely respawning enemies with perfect accuracy & superhuman eyesight + cliched & schizophrenic story makes for a really awful and truly unenjoyable single player campaign. The multiplayer feel identical to MW2 with different skins, maps, weapons & "features". The horde mode is pretty bleh too - considering, with the infinitely respawning enemies in SP, campaign becomes a horde mode at times anyway. Save your money people. I wish I had. Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The game is just a copy & paste from MW2. They have just added a few weapons and a predictable story to release another Call of Duty and hoard in the money from all the under 14's out there who are willing buy anything will 'Call of Duty' on it. It is a shame that the games market is flooded with Copy & Paste games like this because it really stops the few and true gold games to be successful.
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    this game is a load of tripe. there's nothing new. i expected a totally revamped game (sequels at least change graphics... MW3 does not do anything new) but was annoyed when i found new guns...maps... and a new mode. wtf? i bought this game 4 years ago. i dont want dlc for £45!!! and the fact retailers sell it for more than the usual price. RUBBISH. the campaign is dire andthis game is a load of tripe. there's nothing new. i expected a totally revamped game (sequels at least change graphics... MW3 does not do anything new) but was annoyed when i found new guns...maps... and a new mode. wtf? i bought this game 4 years ago. i dont want dlc for £45!!! and the fact retailers sell it for more than the usual price. RUBBISH. the campaign is dire and tries so hard. can't wait for skyrim, where game devs actually try hard to make something different to their previous game. come of IW, CHANGE SOMETHING!! Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    For me Call of Duty has been a solid, if stagnant, franchise with it's only weakness being a stubborn refusal to shake up it's core elements, to expand and grow, to transcend it's (very basic) run and gun formula into something truly ahead of the pack. This is the old Coke Classic vs new Coke debate. Should they have tinkered with it's tried and true gameplay and gamble on innovation orFor me Call of Duty has been a solid, if stagnant, franchise with it's only weakness being a stubborn refusal to shake up it's core elements, to expand and grow, to transcend it's (very basic) run and gun formula into something truly ahead of the pack. This is the old Coke Classic vs new Coke debate. Should they have tinkered with it's tried and true gameplay and gamble on innovation or stay the course with what they know pleases fans? Well, I can tell you this fan is not pleased. A decidedly dated graphics engine mixed with an unsatisfying multiplayer experience spells AVOID to anyone still on the fence about this title. Wow, another bland shooter in an over-saturated market. How quaint. Let's face it, they no longer want to EARN your money. They just expect you to turn out in droves rebuying the same game from 2007. CoD is a bloated dinosaur well on it's way to extinction. Expand
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 2.5, its not right to put a 3 up there. Starting with the same impossible to understand piece of **** story, and the horrible voice acting, it just isn't meant to be taken seriously, and the multiplayer, their "strenght" its just full of their core audiance, 10-12 year old boys, that call you **** trough the whole damn match, also there is gonna be a lot of sploiting on thisModern Warfare 2.5, its not right to put a 3 up there. Starting with the same impossible to understand piece of **** story, and the horrible voice acting, it just isn't meant to be taken seriously, and the multiplayer, their "strenght" its just full of their core audiance, 10-12 year old boys, that call you **** trough the whole damn match, also there is gonna be a lot of sploiting on this perk system, you can get 3 perks like usual, but with the specialist strike package you can have 6 perks in total, so there is gonna be a lot of soldiers with superpowers running around, and not only that if you suck at gaming, well look not further, there is a strike package just for you, with the support strike package you can die all you want, you just have to kill 5 guys in the entire match, and you will get every streak. Anyway this game its just bad. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    What's changed from COD2? Ridiculously shorter and shorter over-scripted single-player campaigns, more and more expensive map packs, more and more money spent in marketing and ZERO in new ideas, more and more 12 years old morons playing online, more and more "yankee save the world!! U-S-A! U-S-A!!!11!1"
    COD is s**t.
  44. Nov 29, 2011
    2
    The newish MW3 MP versus older MW/CoD games is like comparing the two like MySpace vs. Facebook. The new MW3 is like Myspace is today. Gaudy, loud, obnoxious and at the end of the day, irrelevant and unusable , mainly because of the people using it. MW3 has become the "thug life" of online FPS gaming. When and why this happened is beyond me. But the game has now devolved into everyoneThe newish MW3 MP versus older MW/CoD games is like comparing the two like MySpace vs. Facebook. The new MW3 is like Myspace is today. Gaudy, loud, obnoxious and at the end of the day, irrelevant and unusable , mainly because of the people using it. MW3 has become the "thug life" of online FPS gaming. When and why this happened is beyond me. But the game has now devolved into everyone just wanting gold guns (really???), dual wielding machine pistols(has this ever been observed in a real life gunfight and worked?), and horrible sportsmanship (12 year olds calling everyone b*tch a*s n*gg*rs?, they shouldn't even play this game, its a mature title!!!!, the user who posted about how other people used to say, "good game" is 100% on the mark here). If you got beat in MW, it was a real win for the other team. They weren't exploiting glitches, lag switching, JTAGging boxes, boosting and modding controllers just to win. They developed their play over TIME to get better and earn their wins. Unfortunately, this game has already been hacked (check out all the modded clan tags...X-Y-A-B buttons already) and exploited. This game fails because Activision has catered to the LOWEST common denominator when developing the game. And it was done intentionally for profit. It has become nothing more than ADHD kids getting their Ritalin fix via an $60 Xbox game. For the players who started with MW/CoD, notice how nobody even bothers to talk anymore during the game? Maybe the problem here is two fold now. Not just a bad game, but a bad gaming community. The two go hand in hand and both fall short. Look at most, not all, but most of the really positive reviews. It is from people who still cannot contain themselves to shout how great they are at this game while you suck. I'm trading mine in for something else. This series has run its course. Expand
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Yes, MW3 is better than a zero. But I don't take kindly to a developer begging people to raise his game's score. Not to mention that Modern Warfare 3 failed to innovate in any sort of meaningful way.
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Sad. Literally, It takes up the most powerful game developer to repackage the same SH*T

    If you played almost ANY Call of Duty, you ain't missing anything. This game is the same recycled trash from 2007. From a Call of Duty fan, I am disappointed, glad I only rented it.
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Cause some people are genuinely dissapointed with this game. The gaming industry is one of the few industries left in the world that are actually growing rather than falling flat. Yes, MW3 is a commercial success, far more successful than a MAJORITY of fps's. I think the developer's have let it get to their head. MW3 is absolute garbage. Many people disagree with the fact of it beingCause some people are genuinely dissapointed with this game. The gaming industry is one of the few industries left in the world that are actually growing rather than falling flat. Yes, MW3 is a commercial success, far more successful than a MAJORITY of fps's. I think the developer's have let it get to their head. MW3 is absolute garbage. Many people disagree with the fact of it being compared to Battlefiled 3 but here's the deal, BF3 **** MW3 by miles in every single way. Being military based fps games, BF3 has made so many new innovations, being extremely inventive with the style of play rewarding skill and strategy, not to mention the really well done graphics. Glitches? What game is without them? Address the issue of MW3 models running like absolute spazzes being in the main game then talk to me about glitches which can be fixed. MW2.5 is right. No, I'm sorry, they should've just used the MW2 name again. You know things are bad when developers are begging for better scores... Absolute waste of time MW3 should go take a hike and save itself from further embarassment. Expand
  48. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    This game is such a cash in for them, they don't put any effort in to making a Cod game anymore. If I wanted the same game I would have bought Cod4. People need to stop buying these games because its killing gaming as we know it.
  49. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Seriously, the best map pack I have ever bought, and it comes with new gun skins, totally worth selling my other kidney!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Innovation and risk taking thrown out the window and in its place, a quick production o a simple money grab people fall for every year due to hype and social needs, seriously screw capitalism.
  50. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after yearI was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after year without really aiming to do anything new. Such a shame to see this happen to a once great series. Expand
  51. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Don't pay for this **** piece of **** Thankfully my friend paid for it, hes a dumb **** for doing so, so I didn't have to waste $65 bucks. This game is absolute **** Activision once again has **** a good franchise and turned it into a generic piece of **** whose sole purpose is to steal the money of millions of kids whose parents buy them anything. Nothing has changed since MW2 yet somehowDon't pay for this **** piece of **** Thankfully my friend paid for it, hes a dumb **** for doing so, so I didn't have to waste $65 bucks. This game is absolute **** Activision once again has **** a good franchise and turned it into a generic piece of **** whose sole purpose is to steal the money of millions of kids whose parents buy them anything. Nothing has changed since MW2 yet somehow this game is much worse. Sadly, MW4 will break sales records again and there is nothing we can do about it. People need to pull their heads out of their **** and stop feeding Activision. WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED, HONESTLY. Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    More or less the same game again. Awful Field of view, bad graphics, textures. Incredibly short and linear single player campaign with no co-op option. Again no team work. Overrated game, to give a game such as this a perfect score of 100%, well let's just say you've not really played very many computer games at all.
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It really hurts me to say that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is absolute garbage. I bought it yesterday and today it has a spot up on www.craigslist.com for $55.00. They completely destroyed the multiplayer.

    I've been a very big fan of Modern Warfare but I can no longer support the franchise if this is the route they've decided to take it. The multiplayer is so awful that after I sell
    It really hurts me to say that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is absolute garbage. I bought it yesterday and today it has a spot up on www.craigslist.com for $55.00. They completely destroyed the multiplayer.

    I've been a very big fan of Modern Warfare but I can no longer
    support the franchise if this is the route they've decided to take it.

    The multiplayer is so awful that after I sell it, I'm going to pirate it and
    beat that because I started the campaign and it seemed somewhat worthwhile.
    Expand
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A huge fan of Call of Duty. Loved COD4 (MW) but MW3 is a complete unbalanced mess of a game, we all know people only play it for the multiplayer and this game is just ridiculous. Treyarch did a good job of really balancing out Black Ops for multiplayer cutting out a lot of the BS from the game eg. Predator drones, Nuke etc. MW3 on the other hand just replaces it all again with moreA huge fan of Call of Duty. Loved COD4 (MW) but MW3 is a complete unbalanced mess of a game, we all know people only play it for the multiplayer and this game is just ridiculous. Treyarch did a good job of really balancing out Black Ops for multiplayer cutting out a lot of the BS from the game eg. Predator drones, Nuke etc. MW3 on the other hand just replaces it all again with more rubbish and silly **** completely unbalanced and just not fun at all. COD is dead. Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    3
    I have been a die-hard CoD fan for years, but I have been growing tired of the series of late. So here it is! I gave this game the low score for many reasons. If Activision expects me to fork over $60 on practically the same game they have been releasing for the last 4 years with nothing more than a new story and minimal tweaks to the multiplayer, than they have seen my last dollar. TheyI have been a die-hard CoD fan for years, but I have been growing tired of the series of late. So here it is! I gave this game the low score for many reasons. If Activision expects me to fork over $60 on practically the same game they have been releasing for the last 4 years with nothing more than a new story and minimal tweaks to the multiplayer, than they have seen my last dollar. They haven't done a single thing to innovate the franchise in years. This franchise has become nothing more than a shameless yearly cash-grab on the behalf of the developers. I won't even get into the CoD elite service which offers nothing gamers haven't seen with games like Halo and Battlefield. At least those two examples don't charge you. The fact that the DLC for this series has become known for overpriced and underwhelming extras has added to my disenfranchisement with the whole series. Plus the fact that game like Deus Ex has released DLC that is longer than the campaign of MW3 is laughable. Activision needs to put this series to bed for a while until they can come up with something substantial to offer the gaming community. Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Same game as previous. Activision once again cheats with players and this 4 year-old engine with 0 physics. Nothing new. The MP part is the same as MW2. Only fanboys will like.
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Just another rehash of a tired old franchise to cash in while they wait for the next cash-in this time next year. The fact that they can release the same game every year for the past 4 years and still get money is a slap in the face to any real developer that takes time to craft a good game. The campaign is dull and overscripted, the online is cheesy and full of 12 year olds screaming inJust another rehash of a tired old franchise to cash in while they wait for the next cash-in this time next year. The fact that they can release the same game every year for the past 4 years and still get money is a slap in the face to any real developer that takes time to craft a good game. The campaign is dull and overscripted, the online is cheesy and full of 12 year olds screaming in the mic, and the game is still full of cheaters. Expand
  58. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Can I say why I am giving this game a low score?

    First the graphics are from COD4 MW1. So what we have is no innovasion on that side. 2nd The story is dull, I have now stopped playing it and it will be returned to the video sstore from where i rented it. 3rd I feel robbed for spending 1 euro for the 1 day rental. 4th If you have played any MW game you have played this. 5th This
    Can I say why I am giving this game a low score?

    First the graphics are from COD4 MW1. So what we have is no innovasion on that side. 2nd The story is dull, I have now stopped playing it and it will be returned to the video sstore from where i rented it.
    3rd I feel robbed for spending 1 euro for the 1 day rental.
    4th If you have played any MW game you have played this.
    5th This game costs 60 euro....
    I cannot comment on mp as I could not be bothered trying it as I assume it is the same as previous games.

    I really enjoyed cod 4 mw1 and I cant remember the amount of times I reset my rank. It was fun then but now it is old and I really cannot see the point in playing the same game and paying 1 euro or 60 euro for it.
    Expand
  59. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Call of Duty MW 2.5 - thats the real name of this game. same game another 60$
    you get a new story WOW but after you play it over and over, you want to enjoy some Multi action and then you get MW 2 all over again..

    GREAT STUFF ACTMONEY

    the 2 points go to the single..
  60. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Yet another Call of Duty that is essentially just another re-skin of the same formula that's kept fanboys coming back time and again. Don't spend your $60 on what could just as easily pass for MW2 DLC with more stats.
  61. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This is the WORST Call of Duty EVER! I use to love this game. I waited eagerly to play MW3 only to be meet with frustration and disappointment. The "Run n' Gun" is virtually impossible in the multiplayer due to poor spawn points, an insanely high amount of campers, and an abundance of noobs. I will also add that the maps are less then desirable, I didn't enjoy playing on any of them. BRINGThis is the WORST Call of Duty EVER! I use to love this game. I waited eagerly to play MW3 only to be meet with frustration and disappointment. The "Run n' Gun" is virtually impossible in the multiplayer due to poor spawn points, an insanely high amount of campers, and an abundance of noobs. I will also add that the maps are less then desirable, I didn't enjoy playing on any of them. BRING BACK BLACK OPS!! Expand
  62. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    The game is the same exact thing. It hasn't changed at all. It was fun 3 years ago, but its bland and aged now. This cow has been milked as much as it could possibly could.
  63. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    My problem with the game is that it is the same thing repeated over again. I was talking with a friend today and we discussed the fact that there no longer is a game with working multiplayer that is based on skill, rather then how much you have played. This game lacks serious functionality, and for all you noobs I beg you to watch your kill cam. On your screen you are behind the wall; onMy problem with the game is that it is the same thing repeated over again. I was talking with a friend today and we discussed the fact that there no longer is a game with working multiplayer that is based on skill, rather then how much you have played. This game lacks serious functionality, and for all you noobs I beg you to watch your kill cam. On your screen you are behind the wall; on your opponents you are not. Still p2p servers no dedicated where is the effort anymore.

    Got bored with singleplayer turned it off quick. Spec ops missions are cut outs of singleplayer with a partner, and are mediocre at best.
    Expand
  64. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    same game ive been playing since mw2. controls feel clunky and slow. gameplay is the same and for me the games been lagging alot since release. cant even see the leaderboards...
  65. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Over hyped game. This game feel more like modern warfare 2.5. Players don't need a new CoD every year. We want and uber new CoD every 2-3 years instead. Activision, learn from Battlefield!!!
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't believe I wasted $50 on another copy of Modern Warfare 2. SPOILER: It is exactly the same formula as has been seen in the last two games, and if anything isn't as good as them, as i thoroughly enjoyed those games, and this one is just pathetic. Expand
  67. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Game is terrible. I've been a cod fan for years now and this is the worst of the bunch. Maps are too compact, and at every turn there is an enemy. It takes out the tactical aspect of cod. There's isn't one, u basically just run around shooting. You no longer feel accomplished getting 20+ kills, now that that's the average. I feel that they made the game so the players can get matchesGame is terrible. I've been a cod fan for years now and this is the worst of the bunch. Maps are too compact, and at every turn there is an enemy. It takes out the tactical aspect of cod. There's isn't one, u basically just run around shooting. You no longer feel accomplished getting 20+ kills, now that that's the average. I feel that they made the game so the players can get matches done quickly, rack up as many kills as possible, rank up like crazy, and acquire kill streaks like its a job. Graphics are good. Only positive. I'm going to return the game and keep playing my BF3. Game needs to be challenging and require skill and tactic, not a massacre at every turn. Bad job!! Expand
  68. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Wow what a complete let down. I was expecting to get the best COD yet but instead its still less balanced than the first Modern Warfare. The weapons are even easier to fire. You can easily spray with any weapon and land most of the shots. This series is just losing its tactics and strategy behind it. It's gotten to the point where it feels like quake with modern assault rifles and weakWow what a complete let down. I was expecting to get the best COD yet but instead its still less balanced than the first Modern Warfare. The weapons are even easier to fire. You can easily spray with any weapon and land most of the shots. This series is just losing its tactics and strategy behind it. It's gotten to the point where it feels like quake with modern assault rifles and weak player characters instead. The only draw to this game comes from some new weapons, maps, and a new killstreak system. Which in a way is kind of better but that feature alone doesn't change enough...let alone sell the game. The new maps are also uninspired and don't give you many options flanking. Trust me, after a couple hours the game just starts to feel like the same old stuff. You might as well go back to the first Modern Warfare from '07 if you want a better experience. Remember more does not mean better. Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Do yourself a favor and ignore what the flock of sheep are saying about this game. Same iteration, no matter the name change. Just go back to playing Blops or MW2 or even MW1. Its not like you'll find much of a difference anyway.
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    As a long time COD player, I find myself disappointed by the latest installment. Although the campaign was the predictable fare it was fairly well done, but nothing truly new or innovating was to be seen there. Moving on to the MP side of things, I feel its a backward step compared to its Treyarch predecessor, something I would never thought I would say, poor map designs, even poorer spawnAs a long time COD player, I find myself disappointed by the latest installment. Although the campaign was the predictable fare it was fairly well done, but nothing truly new or innovating was to be seen there. Moving on to the MP side of things, I feel its a backward step compared to its Treyarch predecessor, something I would never thought I would say, poor map designs, even poorer spawn mechanics, the removal of the great gun customisations Combat Training, and the parred down theatre editing options so well implemented In COD:BO. With a bleak selection of weapons and perk choices It feels more and more like expansion pack territory in all but name. I would love to of been able to give this the usual score of 8+ out of 10 but with such a pedestrian franchise update and the many problems, lag, poor hit detection, no Elite Access, (Paid For Hardened Edition) no Founder content accessible and irredeemable avatar DLC, I feel giving a score of 5+ here is too generous for the problems faced, I had high hopes but low expectations coming in, but not this low. Expand
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    after being loyal to COD games for ages i had enough-- sure it can be fun. but its the same **** in a different package-- i will not pick up another COD before they change everythæng drasticly-- this just feels like a big DLC-- very dissapointing-- R.I.P COD--
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    It gets a 1 for Spec Ops only.

    Money grabbing fools learn to look after your customers not fob them off. Same old crap diffrent year.
    The worst sound effects in any shooter seriously doom had better sounds.

    If this is your very first COD game go ahead and enjoy it if it is not dont waste your money on this console ****
  73. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I was really looking forward to this but I've got to say I'm dissapointed. I dont know what game the reviewers have been playing but some of their scores beggars belief. It's the same old same old. Maybe I'm just growing up & out of this style of game & it's better suited for younger people. The campain was ok but the multiplayer is boring after a week. I'm selling it on ebay right nowI was really looking forward to this but I've got to say I'm dissapointed. I dont know what game the reviewers have been playing but some of their scores beggars belief. It's the same old same old. Maybe I'm just growing up & out of this style of game & it's better suited for younger people. The campain was ok but the multiplayer is boring after a week. I'm selling it on ebay right now while it's still worth something. BF3 is my new game & I've finally seen the light regards what it offers as an FPS. Which is about 10 times more & then some.. Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    well after playing this game yess the campaign is action packed and fun to play thew multiplayer just plain sux I mean map design is horrible as well as the dated graphics I accidently swore that this was MW2 when I playing through a couple of lvls. any there is no excuse for this POS for a game I mean for crying out loud why couldnt they borrow the ID Tech 5 engine it would have donewell after playing this game yess the campaign is action packed and fun to play thew multiplayer just plain sux I mean map design is horrible as well as the dated graphics I accidently swore that this was MW2 when I playing through a couple of lvls. any there is no excuse for this POS for a game I mean for crying out loud why couldnt they borrow the ID Tech 5 engine it would have done wonders for this game. anyway I own both MW3 and BF3. and i can tell u this one of them I played for a couple of hours and got bored immediatly the other one for a whole day I didnt even go to sleep and played it straight I'll let you figure out
    which one is which.
    Expand
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    In general it is a good quality game - though basically the same as the previous ones. The biggest problem continues to be the XBOX live play. It suffers from individual connection speed. If you have a top notch internet provider you reign supreme. But for the rest of us it is rather dissatisfying since you are killed even before you see your opponent!
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Honestly, if it wasn't for the title I would think that I was playing MW2 all over again. Obviously this game is not not worth $60. COD is slowing killing any originality in the gaming industry and this game continues to prove that.
  77. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I was super excited for this game, but utterly disappointed when I finally got it. This should have been released as DLC and not as a full game. This is a money grab by Activision plain and simple. Without IW this franchise turned to garbage in a hurry. The fact that Activision is begging people on twitter to come give this crap a better score on here forced me to come help rate it downI was super excited for this game, but utterly disappointed when I finally got it. This should have been released as DLC and not as a full game. This is a money grab by Activision plain and simple. Without IW this franchise turned to garbage in a hurry. The fact that Activision is begging people on twitter to come give this crap a better score on here forced me to come help rate it down even more. Dont buy this garbage unless you like to throw money away, and if you do, send it to me instead! Go buy a good game like Skyrim, BF3, or Arkham City. MW3 is a joke... Expand
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Mordern Warfare 3 is the exact same **** game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and soundMordern Warfare 3 is the exact same **** game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and sound of weaponary lack any realness in the game. There really is nothing new that this Game does that makes it worth the plastic it uses Expand
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    After cod4 i think they just gave up. little has been done to make us feel like this game is worth 60$ more like a mini-mod or a dlc for 20$ max. maby if they spent more money on the game it self and not wasting 1mill on **** pr stunts and videos.
  80. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Please do yourself and favor and save your money for a more innovated game or play other cods that have down in price. Gamers sorry to say....its the same game, dont be fooled!!!
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Horrid game. Series has been going backwards since MW1. Only lowbirds still play this **** If you want a real game get bf3 on pc or red orchestra. Might be the worst game in the series period.
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    This so called "Best game ever" is nothing more than some whipped up copy and past monstrosity. I can tell just by writing this, I'm going to be labeled a BF3 fanboy by all of the CoD zombies. I'm not. I'm fine with any game unless I play it and it's garbage. This is, and I'm glad I didn't wast 60 dollars and had someone give it to me FOR FREE because of how bad it was. This game might asThis so called "Best game ever" is nothing more than some whipped up copy and past monstrosity. I can tell just by writing this, I'm going to be labeled a BF3 fanboy by all of the CoD zombies. I'm not. I'm fine with any game unless I play it and it's garbage. This is, and I'm glad I didn't wast 60 dollars and had someone give it to me FOR FREE because of how bad it was. This game might as well be some **** DLC pack. The storymode feels like a convoluted, slapped together, rushed out failure that just tries to continue the story when the whole thing will keep you interested if you have the attention span of a microorganism, which is probably equal to the average CoD fanboy. This is what you get when you spend a year to make a game. Sure, they kept it the same because it works. Look at **** Valve though. They took 6 long years AND suffered being hacked, but they gave us Half Life 2, which is only good in the eyes of true gamers whereas CoD fanboys say that it sucks because it doesn't have HD graphics or Iron Sights. Moving right along, it's visibly clear that they just took models and textures from MW1 since they have LOADS of the same building models and textures from MW1. There's little kids who make original models, maps and textures for Garry's Mod, but developers for some big name company are so frigging lazy that they have to reuse the same models from a game they did 4 **** YEARS AGO?! Now, let's move on to the part I dreaded most; the multiplayer.I don't know about you, but I grew up with games like Half Life, Quake, and Counterstrike so I attempt to use that skill that I've accumulated in other games. Well, that's all in vain when it comes down to this asstastrophe, because it's just a mindless **** Example: I start up, and 1 second after spawning, I get pegged in the **** face with a throwing knife. How is that fair? That's cheap **** right there. That's only the beginning when you have people getting frigging choppers raining in a hellstorm of bullets with no way to stop it, people camping and getting continuous kills at your team's spawn, and the most overpowered perks that people got by wasting hours and braincells playing multiplayer. Even worse, when you try to use a sniper the right way by picking a spot and hiding, waiting for a target and a good shot, you get a thousand, prepubescent kids yelling over the mic saying, "YOU HARDSCOPING CAMPER NOOB!" and get the story about how they could quickscope better than me. They even award you for dying multiple times with deathstreaks- ooh yeah. Cheap **** like the ability to Kamikaze people with C4 to the ability to see where the guy murdering you is on the map are only some of them. Why the **** are you rewarding deaths? Dying should encourage you to better yourself, not just get **** kills with explosives. I've even seen little kids who purposely get killed just to get the C4 and get a 6 person kill later on. Speaking of little kids, there's thousands of them in this game, swearing every word in the **** book at everyone. And whatever you do, don't mention ANY OTHER GAMES otherwise you'll get bombarded with rage from everyone else. I just mentioned that I spent more time playing Counter Strike than CoD and the little kids and even some adults were saying "COUNTER STRIKE IS A NOOB GAME, IT SUCKS AND IT'S OLD AND COD IS BETTER, THE GRAPHICS SUCK!". It's almost insulting that they just rage at every other game. And on the topic of CS, the wager matches, A.K.A. Gun Game, was a total rip from CS. But oh "It's an original Idea" says the ****all developer. Thanks **** now whenever gungame and CS are mentioned in the same sentence, CoD fanboys will be the first to say Cs ripped it off when it was made before CoD even existed. So that's my thought on the multiplayer. Just a bunch of ripped off, cheap **** kid infested, garbage fest game modes. The only things left are the spec ops mode and survival, which are just as ****. Spec ops is more like Spec Ass because it's the same **** thing from MW2, which was as equally overrated and overhyped. Survival is fun for about a good hour or so before you lose your interest. It's sad to think that this series went from being pretty fun to being an outright attention whoring game that blinds so many people into thinking it's the best. There's so much more out there to choose from, but instead games are bashed for looking anything like CoD. So my final verdict is that it's a poorly made game and to all of the CoD worshippers out there, I just want to say that it's the same game and that you shouldn't just jump straight to blaming BF3 for everyone's rage and that graphics and Iron sights don't make a better shooter. Expand
  83. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Same old garbage. Another year, another sub-standard, over-priced corridor shooter from Activision. If you have MW2, then theres no need to buy MW3, as its the same game. Avoid at all costs.
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    The single player is awesome!!! The multiplayer sucks!!! I purchased this game for multiplayer. I look at the kill cam and none of my rounds are hitting, yet I was dead aim on my screen. Spawn camping is back! I put a 150+ hrs into Blk Ops. . . I was praying that this crap would have been fixed. WTF!!!!!
    Pro-reviewers have a mental problem! It took freaking 3 hours to adjust my internet
    The single player is awesome!!! The multiplayer sucks!!! I purchased this game for multiplayer. I look at the kill cam and none of my rounds are hitting, yet I was dead aim on my screen. Spawn camping is back! I put a 150+ hrs into Blk Ops. . . I was praying that this crap would have been fixed. WTF!!!!!
    Pro-reviewers have a mental problem! It took freaking 3 hours to adjust my internet settings because of stop p2p , not dedicated servers, crap. Crap that allows hackers to destroy the experience!
    Expand
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    I can`t believe that Activision can make record breaking sales on a game that has next to no innovation since Modern Warfare 2. The part that really baffles me is that IW claims to have started working on this game within a couple weeks after the release of MW2, yet after 2 years they have accomplished barely anything. The running animations make me LOL too, so glad I picked BF3 up insteadI can`t believe that Activision can make record breaking sales on a game that has next to no innovation since Modern Warfare 2. The part that really baffles me is that IW claims to have started working on this game within a couple weeks after the release of MW2, yet after 2 years they have accomplished barely anything. The running animations make me LOL too, so glad I picked BF3 up instead of this game. Good buy COD, hopefully this will end the genre Expand
  86. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This is literally a cut and paste with new maps. It's overpriced dlc and that's about it. Save yourself the time and money and dust off your old copy of MW:2 or COD4. DO NOT SUPPORT this rushed, uninspired garbage!
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Can't believe I bought this game a third time.
  88. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Saw someone online..."Man, you're already a 77?" One reply was "Not surprising, game's been out for 2 years." I laughed, then sighed. Here's to Skyrim in a few days.
  89. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Yawn, sorry, but it feels exactly the same as before and I am returning my copy. What I don't understand is the frothing critics who have unanimously praised this as a 'game of the century' - either they didn't play it, or the free goodies from Activision has blinkered them somewhat...
  90. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    after 12 hours of non stop playing i can say this is not worth your money. its what every on expected the online has almost zero changes the story was short and predictable spec ops is the only thing a see that was worth putting into the game and its a small part of the game.. guys save your money i regret spending my money this would better as dlc. there more then plenty reused weaponafter 12 hours of non stop playing i can say this is not worth your money. its what every on expected the online has almost zero changes the story was short and predictable spec ops is the only thing a see that was worth putting into the game and its a small part of the game.. guys save your money i regret spending my money this would better as dlc. there more then plenty reused weapon skins and sound its like they put more work into marketing it then they did making it. there is nothing thats make this stand out except the hundreds of paid reviews. if i had to make the choice bf3 or mw3 i would choose bf3. but if i were u guys pick up skyrim or halo anniversary this holiday season. or if your looking for good online look to bf3 avoid this game your better off picking up mw2 for 20 dollars less Expand
  91. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Worse than expected. And I didn't even expect much. The campaign is alright. The survival mode is just multiplayer maps with rather poor AI. The multiplayer is the same as mw2, with just a few changes. The maps are also too... narrow.
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    played this for 2 days and if its your first mw game go for it , if you have played the othrs dont waste your money, people keep saying if it aint broke dont fix it yes thats why midway didnt change mortal kombat from the original engine .....oh wait they did didnt they as thats how games get better and dont end up being the same thing each time with different colours and a new story. nowplayed this for 2 days and if its your first mw game go for it , if you have played the othrs dont waste your money, people keep saying if it aint broke dont fix it yes thats why midway didnt change mortal kombat from the original engine .....oh wait they did didnt they as thats how games get better and dont end up being the same thing each time with different colours and a new story. now sp i`ll give a 4/10 since its pretty much an interactive story that brings nothing new to any series let alone cod.opy and paste art work from the last 2 mw`s ( check it out they really did ) mp is running and shoting, if you enjoy using long range weapons or any form of tactics then you will enjoy it, the maps are so small its pathetic in a 2011 war game. this is what the 3rd mw and i still cannot drive anything really?. new games are making engines that allow the world around you to be effected by weapons e.g. walls being blown up and buildings , this one is sadly lacking. i used to love mw2 and spent months on end playing it but this just feels like they made a game for 12 year olds on a sugar rush that want to scream down a head set. they even brought quick scoping back ? i meen using a sniper as a shotgun is a no ...its just no. the guns have next to no real recoil. i can understand the game having no bullet drop as the maps aint big enough to worry about adding it. i feel so let down by a game i used to count down the days to just for them to sell me mw2 with new maps , they could of atleast updated the sound and visual aspects to a degree where it looks like a new title. a sequel to a game is something like the new batman and the elder scrolls , the devs sat down and thought right we can do this and its new and exciting , the main word being new , a new game should have new things hence the word new , i meen how anoyed would you be if microsoft brought out a new xbox that runs the same as the old one but has a different shape and colour ? would you really pay for it ? Expand
  93. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Just for a little background, I have been a hardcore call of duty fan since the original call of duty was released. Lackluster campaign, literally NO innovations in the multi-player department, all scenery,sound effects, characters are recycled from the last modern warfare. Maps just don't feel right, game play is exactly the same it honestly feels like i just bought a map pack and a smallJust for a little background, I have been a hardcore call of duty fan since the original call of duty was released. Lackluster campaign, literally NO innovations in the multi-player department, all scenery,sound effects, characters are recycled from the last modern warfare. Maps just don't feel right, game play is exactly the same it honestly feels like i just bought a map pack and a small patch to modern warfare 2. PLEASE save your money d'ont regret spending $65 like i did. DOES NOT LIVE UP TO THE HYPE AT ALL Expand
  94. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    I played this game thinking the whole time it could have been sold for $30 as a DLC pack. Same ole same ole stuff year in year out. This is the madden of shooter games
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity? No, but seriously why this game sells great every year is a mystery to me. I don't want to support anything to do with this game anymore, and at this point, i'm pretty ashamed to be in in the same category as this yearly cash-in. It honestly reminds me of something like a cheap 80s remake or even the likes of Twilight.
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you are thinking this is an awesome FPS, you are sadly mistaken. It is the same copy and paste iteration of Moderb Warfarea past. Nothing game breaking, new new engine, feels the same, boring and repetitive, no team work, no skill, just run and gun. Save your money and get Battlefield 3 instead. It's worth every dollar. Unlike this egregious attempt to milk the 12 year old sheeple thatIf you are thinking this is an awesome FPS, you are sadly mistaken. It is the same copy and paste iteration of Moderb Warfarea past. Nothing game breaking, new new engine, feels the same, boring and repetitive, no team work, no skill, just run and gun. Save your money and get Battlefield 3 instead. It's worth every dollar. Unlike this egregious attempt to milk the 12 year old sheeple that will buy anything with a "call of duty" name on it. Expand
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    ok. ok. i loved COD4, WOW was ok, MW2 was fun to start with but the MP was broken, BLOPS personally for me was excellent MP especially, MW3 so far.......its not that its awful but its so uninspiring. Im literally just churning through the SP so i can trade it in. The MP is woeful, utterly utterly awful. Terrible hit detection, retarded spawn points where you get constantly killed fromok. ok. i loved COD4, WOW was ok, MW2 was fun to start with but the MP was broken, BLOPS personally for me was excellent MP especially, MW3 so far.......its not that its awful but its so uninspiring. Im literally just churning through the SP so i can trade it in. The MP is woeful, utterly utterly awful. Terrible hit detection, retarded spawn points where you get constantly killed from behind the second you hit X, Serious lag - the amount of times ive got the drop on someone, fired first almost point blank.....and nothing ....just a volley of bullets back. seriously, you check the kill cams and your avatar hasnt even fired a bullet in the replay. Survival would be good if you could have more than 2 players. MP maps are all forgettable, no classics like terminal or summit. just grey and brown blocks everywhere. i havent ever played battlefield but surely it must be better than this? Expand
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The multiplayer has taken a real downward spiral since mw2. The maps are small and are nothing more than run and gun. They no longer take skill and limits the value of alot of the weaponry.
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I have played about 7 hours of MW3 online and I have a different point of view than many others here, but it still leads to the same conclusion. This game is more like Black Ops than MW/MW2. First and foremost the game has sped up way too fast. It has turned into a bunch of kids running around with submachine guns or the G36c. There is very little to do that can counter this because 1)I have played about 7 hours of MW3 online and I have a different point of view than many others here, but it still leads to the same conclusion. This game is more like Black Ops than MW/MW2. First and foremost the game has sped up way too fast. It has turned into a bunch of kids running around with submachine guns or the G36c. There is very little to do that can counter this because 1) the maps are so condensed it feels like it's impossible to snipe (unless of course you're a quick scoper) 2) if you have a 3 bar connection you won't kill half the time anyway (I usually have 4 bar but sometimes it's 3 bar) 3) It is damn near pointless to use the M16, you will get out gunned every time. The accuracy and power have little effect due to kids just holding the trigger down and spraying. I know MW2 had it's issues as far quick scoping, danger close/noob tubes, and a few other issues. However, I feel the maps were more balanced as far as open areas vs. closed tight confined areas.

    I'm not going to give up yet, but I am damn close. So far I am thoroughly disappointed which is why I'm rating the game a 4.
    Expand
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Proof that you don't need to be innovative to sell a product. With the hype machine COD has built, it can sell Modern Warfare 1.2 to anyone with no discerning taste and an 11 month-long memory. The only positive aspect of this game is the cooperative play. Otherwise, MW3 is an expensive map pack that gives you the same muddy graphics, twitch gunplay, and convoluted story that the alsoProof that you don't need to be innovative to sell a product. With the hype machine COD has built, it can sell Modern Warfare 1.2 to anyone with no discerning taste and an 11 month-long memory. The only positive aspect of this game is the cooperative play. Otherwise, MW3 is an expensive map pack that gives you the same muddy graphics, twitch gunplay, and convoluted story that the also under-whelming MW2 gave us. The sound design is of low quality, there are clear instances of copy and paste structures and areas from previous MWs, and the new killstreak mechanic for multiplayer is taken out of last year's Medal of Honor. COD 4 was new and interesting, but COD has turned into a perennial has-been. Save your money, and buy any one of the other great games out this fall. Expand
  101. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The sound is horrible, the game play is horrible, the fun is negative, the excitement is none. This game is terrible. I loved BLOPS, and MW2, and COD4, they were all great. This game is exactly what a 13 year old on a sugar rush is looking for. Constantly being shot from behind, horrible lag, horrible hit detection. I want my money back. If you check gamestop they will give you $30The sound is horrible, the game play is horrible, the fun is negative, the excitement is none. This game is terrible. I loved BLOPS, and MW2, and COD4, they were all great. This game is exactly what a 13 year old on a sugar rush is looking for. Constantly being shot from behind, horrible lag, horrible hit detection. I want my money back. If you check gamestop they will give you $30 in store credit if you return the game before 1/7/2011. I am looking forward to that. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.