User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8593 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The multiplayer has taken a real downward spiral since mw2. The maps are small and are nothing more than run and gun. They no longer take skill and limits the value of alot of the weaponry.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    3rd game in the MW franchise, and has yet to add anything really new and exciting. Still using an old engine, and same old premise. The campaign was alright, but short and not as ground breaking as some would say it is. Half of it felt like it was on rails. This game is being given way too much credit for what amounts to be pretty expensive DLC. Even sports games at least improve in3rd game in the MW franchise, and has yet to add anything really new and exciting. Still using an old engine, and same old premise. The campaign was alright, but short and not as ground breaking as some would say it is. Half of it felt like it was on rails. This game is being given way too much credit for what amounts to be pretty expensive DLC. Even sports games at least improve in graphical quality year over year and MW3 fails to even achieve that. I can understand that it's popular because it's easy to pick up and play, but definitely not my cup of tea. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I have played about 7 hours of MW3 online and I have a different point of view than many others here, but it still leads to the same conclusion. This game is more like Black Ops than MW/MW2. First and foremost the game has sped up way too fast. It has turned into a bunch of kids running around with submachine guns or the G36c. There is very little to do that can counter this because 1)I have played about 7 hours of MW3 online and I have a different point of view than many others here, but it still leads to the same conclusion. This game is more like Black Ops than MW/MW2. First and foremost the game has sped up way too fast. It has turned into a bunch of kids running around with submachine guns or the G36c. There is very little to do that can counter this because 1) the maps are so condensed it feels like it's impossible to snipe (unless of course you're a quick scoper) 2) if you have a 3 bar connection you won't kill half the time anyway (I usually have 4 bar but sometimes it's 3 bar) 3) It is damn near pointless to use the M16, you will get out gunned every time. The accuracy and power have little effect due to kids just holding the trigger down and spraying. I know MW2 had it's issues as far quick scoping, danger close/noob tubes, and a few other issues. However, I feel the maps were more balanced as far as open areas vs. closed tight confined areas.

    I'm not going to give up yet, but I am damn close. So far I am thoroughly disappointed which is why I'm rating the game a 4.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Proof that you don't need to be innovative to sell a product. With the hype machine COD has built, it can sell Modern Warfare 1.2 to anyone with no discerning taste and an 11 month-long memory. The only positive aspect of this game is the cooperative play. Otherwise, MW3 is an expensive map pack that gives you the same muddy graphics, twitch gunplay, and convoluted story that the alsoProof that you don't need to be innovative to sell a product. With the hype machine COD has built, it can sell Modern Warfare 1.2 to anyone with no discerning taste and an 11 month-long memory. The only positive aspect of this game is the cooperative play. Otherwise, MW3 is an expensive map pack that gives you the same muddy graphics, twitch gunplay, and convoluted story that the also under-whelming MW2 gave us. The sound design is of low quality, there are clear instances of copy and paste structures and areas from previous MWs, and the new killstreak mechanic for multiplayer is taken out of last year's Medal of Honor. COD 4 was new and interesting, but COD has turned into a perennial has-been. Save your money, and buy any one of the other great games out this fall. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    The Call Of Duty franchise has received much deserving critical acclaim from all over the world. The series set a high standard with Call Of Duty 4 Modern Warfare that continued with modern warfare 2, and black ops. However, there is nothing significantly new and fresh with modern warfare 3. The game has the same admirable high production values that the previous games in the series have,The Call Of Duty franchise has received much deserving critical acclaim from all over the world. The series set a high standard with Call Of Duty 4 Modern Warfare that continued with modern warfare 2, and black ops. However, there is nothing significantly new and fresh with modern warfare 3. The game has the same admirable high production values that the previous games in the series have, and there is plenty of improvements and refinements in the overall package, but it seems developer activision is satisfied only with replicating nearly the same content the other modern warfare games contained and while this should be enough to please hardcore fans of the series that are willing to accept what i would call an expensive expansion, mw3 should not be highly praised for only having high production values and doing the same thing over and over again. If it were the first installment in the modern warfare series, the effort here would have been highly praised in my regard, but with this third iteration it all feels much too similar. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Individually, MW3 is a fantastic game, but one can only compare to previous Call of Duty titles, and this leaves a lot to be desired.

    First of all, the graphics have undergone zero improvement, and that includes all the killstreak icons, in-game text and HUD. The menus and screens are all the same, and the whole multilayer experience lacks any real innovation. Okay, so they added Strike
    Individually, MW3 is a fantastic game, but one can only compare to previous Call of Duty titles, and this leaves a lot to be desired.

    First of all, the graphics have undergone zero improvement, and that includes all the killstreak icons, in-game text and HUD. The menus and screens are all the same, and the whole multilayer experience lacks any real innovation. Okay, so they added Strike Packages, some weapons, and the weapon levelling system, but that really is about it. From the main menu with the traditional 3 rectangular options to the lobbies, nothing is new. Even the voices of triumph or defeat are the same words in a slightly different accent.

    Multiplayer games are incredibly laggy and unrefined; sprinting is quite a task, especially when you wobble around, and the dolphin dive in Black Ops doesn't make feature in this title, which is sad.

    The campaign is phenomenal, but again, the standard graphics we've become used to mean there's always something missing. It's the typical formula of CoD titles since World at War, and once more, lacks any real innovation.

    Spec Ops includes the new survival mode, which is as limited as it is boring. Only two players can play together, and it's repetitive and no way near as entertaining as the Zombies in Treyarch's titles. In summary, MW3 is a good buy, but don't expect much difference from MW2. Black Ops is still personally my favourite title, what with the Zombies, COD points and huge customisation potential.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's a sad state of affairs when the video game industry hands out review scores of 9-9.5/10 for any big name title. Modern Warfare 3 is completely undeserving of the fanfare which has greeted it. It completely lacks innovation. Graphically underwhelming, ridiculous story with hold-my-hand linear gameplay, and multiplayer which is overpopulated by 12 years olds on a caffeine high, or theIt's a sad state of affairs when the video game industry hands out review scores of 9-9.5/10 for any big name title. Modern Warfare 3 is completely undeserving of the fanfare which has greeted it. It completely lacks innovation. Graphically underwhelming, ridiculous story with hold-my-hand linear gameplay, and multiplayer which is overpopulated by 12 years olds on a caffeine high, or the more "elite" who hide in a corner of the map and wait for you to run by. If this had been my first exposure to the COD franchise, I may have considered an average score. However, this game does nothing to improve on an already successful franchise. Complete waste of time and a backwards step for the industry. Expand
  8. CCR
    Nov 10, 2011
    4
    MW3, bought it on day 1. Liked the last few previous installments and was set to enjoy this one as well. After a few days of tooling around on it, Single Player story wasn't amazing, but it was what I expected and that was ok. Multi-player, arguably the meat and potatoes of this franchise... definitely disappointing to me. A lot of people seem to dislike BO but I enjoyed theMW3, bought it on day 1. Liked the last few previous installments and was set to enjoy this one as well. After a few days of tooling around on it, Single Player story wasn't amazing, but it was what I expected and that was ok. Multi-player, arguably the meat and potatoes of this franchise... definitely disappointing to me. A lot of people seem to dislike BO but I enjoyed the customization it allowed. If I wanted to spend COD points on a certain upgrade I could and so on, and I felt it gave me a great sense of freedom to do as I please. MW3 does what it always does, force feeds me the same upgrades regardless of whether or not I even want them based on a level I achieve. As for the maps, not very excited about them. There are a couple that I really like, but a couple out of 16 is a big let down to me. The maps seem very small and rely solely on who can outdraw who, and even then if you have a slower connection, you still lose. I enjoy a match that has some strategy drawn in to it, and allows for teamwork, a lot of these maps do not have it, just run and shoot run and shoot etc... Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    Definitely a 9 if you liked MW2 because not much has changed. It's a map pack or expansion pack in my opinion and the only need for this hype was most likely to beef up the bottom line.
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    An extremely disappointing addition to the Modern Warfare franchise. The similarities with MW2 are ridiculous. Some people say that similarities should be expected, but not to this degree. Multiplayer is lifeless and poor like the previous instalment. The maps are boring and feel very cobbled together. Single Player holds the only promise, but this is knocked away by a once again poor andAn extremely disappointing addition to the Modern Warfare franchise. The similarities with MW2 are ridiculous. Some people say that similarities should be expected, but not to this degree. Multiplayer is lifeless and poor like the previous instalment. The maps are boring and feel very cobbled together. Single Player holds the only promise, but this is knocked away by a once again poor and dull storyline. This game does indeed deserve the poor user reviews its getting, and I would recommend avoiding it unless the price drops well below £20. Even then I'm not sure. Hopefully the next instalment will have some changes and will be slightly better. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    First of all I want to say that I base my reviews off value. So Does MW3 warrent your $60.00 purchase? Nope an 5.99 rental will just about do the trick. Modern warefare 3s campaign is filled with great explosions great sounds, and great graphics. From the Moment you start to the moment you finish its a heart pounding experience that most gamers will find awesome! BUT its so short you canFirst of all I want to say that I base my reviews off value. So Does MW3 warrent your $60.00 purchase? Nope an 5.99 rental will just about do the trick. Modern warefare 3s campaign is filled with great explosions great sounds, and great graphics. From the Moment you start to the moment you finish its a heart pounding experience that most gamers will find awesome! BUT its so short you can finish it on normal in one evening. So $60.00 and the story is over in one sitting. Sure there is multiplayer (and it's more of the same great MW action we all love) but thats what it is more of the same. 16 new maps, some new stuff that helps players that are not super hardcore get there streak stuff in. A new system that levels up each weapon as you use it. and a handful of other changes that overall don't make a difference from the core game play. But (at least on 360) if you are new to the series I recommend just staying away from the online component altogether. Everyone playing seems to already have the best weapons and accessories and they are already experts. Each time I spawned It was no mach. One on one there weapons were just to powerful. The team stuff was a little bit better but unless your going to pour hours and hours into the steap online learning curve your better off just sticking to the single player. And forget playing with bots in a practice arena that option is not available in MW3. So for most of us that will only play the single player and dable in the multiplayer this game as a whole is one of the biggest rip-offs of all time. Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    Same crap as always. Same infinity respawn & other **** Don't buy this if u respect yourself. I hope if players don't will buy it , he will do something good.
  13. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    Strictly MP only review: Disappointment. There is no other word I can think of to describe MW3. My buddies and I have spent days (literally, by looking at our hour logs) playing MW2, Black Ops, etc together. We had so much fun, and got quite good, and had high hopes for MW3. Infinity Ward created a fantastic (though sometimes unbalanced) game with MW2, so I 'knew' MW3 would be great.Strictly MP only review: Disappointment. There is no other word I can think of to describe MW3. My buddies and I have spent days (literally, by looking at our hour logs) playing MW2, Black Ops, etc together. We had so much fun, and got quite good, and had high hopes for MW3. Infinity Ward created a fantastic (though sometimes unbalanced) game with MW2, so I 'knew' MW3 would be great. Wow was I wrong.

    The maps are the bane of MW3. I enjoy the other minor changes to online gameplay, but the maps are what makes MW3 an extreme disappointment. I cannot comprehend how the devs didn't notice that EVERY single map is practically the same: small, confined, and noob friendly. Why bother getting an AC130 when you can hide from it almost anywhere in any map. There are no long distance shooting skills needed, SMGs (UMP) are favored in any situation. There is no flow to the maps, just chaos. You constantly get shot in the back, there is no feeling of a standoff like in previous COD games. I literally could go on forever with how bad these maps are. It's obvious the map makers of IW were the ones that left, because these maps are atrocious, and kill any sense of fun or accomplishment online.
    Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I have never been a fan of the CoD series. I think they take the great idea of custom classes, intriguing perks, and weapon upgrades, and slam it into an arcade-style shooting game. I played around 6 hours of this game, at times, enjoying it. The more I played, the less I enjoyed it. Half of the time, I feel like the game lags. Watching the kill cams, I notice the player sees me muchI have never been a fan of the CoD series. I think they take the great idea of custom classes, intriguing perks, and weapon upgrades, and slam it into an arcade-style shooting game. I played around 6 hours of this game, at times, enjoying it. The more I played, the less I enjoyed it. Half of the time, I feel like the game lags. Watching the kill cams, I notice the player sees me much sooner than I see him, although that wasn't the case on my screen. Maybe that is just me, but not why I dislike the game. The players make this game awful. There are people who play this game NONSTOP, so for almost a week, players have been able to level up, get great perks, and totally ruin the experience for novices like myself. The unrealistic aspects of this game really bother me. The constant summoning of UAVs, helicopter strikes, and missile attacks just do me in. This is simply not a shooter that is my style, and the people who consume the multi-player servers make this game even more non-enjoyable. Didn't take the opportunity to play the campaign, so I am not going to comment on that. I did like the missions part of the game, where you are given an objective to complete within a time limit, either alone or with a friend. That was both challenging and fun, and survival is pretty neat, but there is only so much of that you can play. If you were expecting a ground-breaking multi-player experience with MW3, don't get too excited. It is just ok. Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    MW3 stinks. When I first played MW1 my jaw dropped off the floor. And then when I got MW2 I did not see any improvements. After that I realized that what Activision really wanted is our $$. Since then I avoid COD's and MW's.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Biggest piece of dog crap I have ever played. Honestly, this game is kinda like nhl and madden, ggets released every year with the same bull **** and some how game review companies give it 9s and 10s. Some serious dick sucking goes in with the cod series and frankly I dont want to get those herpes so **** you cod, **** the millions of ****s who bought it, go suck cods tiny **** ass ****ers.
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    It is disappointing that we keep buy these games. I do not understand why we keep paying them to release the same game. Let me be clear: for what the game is, it is very good. I enjoy the campaign albeit as short as it is and I somewhat enjoy the multiplayer. However, there is no new graphics engine, no new matching making, only two new modes, the maps are rehashed from modern warfareIt is disappointing that we keep buy these games. I do not understand why we keep paying them to release the same game. Let me be clear: for what the game is, it is very good. I enjoy the campaign albeit as short as it is and I somewhat enjoy the multiplayer. However, there is no new graphics engine, no new matching making, only two new modes, the maps are rehashed from modern warfare and modern warfare 2. And the maps to be released on the elite service are supposedly going to be remakes of the previous maps. If this game were the first entry into the Modern Warfare series I would rate it a 10. But, seeing that we are on Call of Duty 8 or Modern Warfare 3 it is really hard to justify a glorified paint job rehashing for 59.99. If you are looking for something new, do not buy it. If you are satisfied with playing a patched version of Modern Warfare 2 then you will love it. Good night and Good luck! Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    Uninspired, boring, drull and another fact that FPS is in a tragic slump. Graphics are meh, as they are covered by an explosion every two seconds. The campaign has no substance and isn't much longer then a piece of string cheese. And the fact that you can pick up the game, play the multiplayer for 10 minutes and be good at it says way too much about it. It's like Michael Bay decided toUninspired, boring, drull and another fact that FPS is in a tragic slump. Graphics are meh, as they are covered by an explosion every two seconds. The campaign has no substance and isn't much longer then a piece of string cheese. And the fact that you can pick up the game, play the multiplayer for 10 minutes and be good at it says way too much about it. It's like Michael Bay decided to remake Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    The major Call of Duty fanboys will defend COD games regardless of what was served up by Activision and the developers but as an unbiased gamer I can give a true and accurate review. The campaign is not great which is expected given past form. It is very rare to see a top quality FPS single player and I would say the last top quality ones were Half Life 2 and Episode 1 & 2. MultiplayerThe major Call of Duty fanboys will defend COD games regardless of what was served up by Activision and the developers but as an unbiased gamer I can give a true and accurate review. The campaign is not great which is expected given past form. It is very rare to see a top quality FPS single player and I would say the last top quality ones were Half Life 2 and Episode 1 & 2. Multiplayer though is even worse and any comments about this being MW 2.5 are well justified. Visuals and audio are second rate and the map design is poor with maps being too small and quickly forgettable. Then there is the fact that there are still no dedicated servers which makes online gaming still a game of chance and don't believe this nonsense they have spouted about dedicated servers costing 'billions of dollars' as it is complete lies. The fact is the Call of Duty series is living off the success of COD 4 which was a good game in its day but the last three instalments have been well below standard. The series is simply now aimed at the 15 and under who will insist it is still brilliant but take it from someone who knows what is quality and what is not. This is just not good enough. Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    I'm very disappointed. This is the same game, again. No better graphics, no better gameplay, no better multiplayer from MW2. No multiplayer across multiplatforms.
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    WHAT THE **** INFINITY WARD YOU LAZY BASTARDS I PAY YOU OVER £180 OF MY HARD EARNED MONEY AND YOU CANT UPGRADE THE ****ING GAME!! you lazy, worthless, pathethic money grabbing bastards you are supposed to be artists you should be ashamed of your selves, how you can even call your selves developers is beyond me? i mean what have you developped? **** ALL THATS WHAT! well. guessWHAT THE **** INFINITY WARD YOU LAZY BASTARDS I PAY YOU OVER £180 OF MY HARD EARNED MONEY AND YOU CANT UPGRADE THE ****ING GAME!! you lazy, worthless, pathethic money grabbing bastards you are supposed to be artists you should be ashamed of your selves, how you can even call your selves developers is beyond me? i mean what have you developped? **** ALL THATS WHAT! well. guess what **** YOU and im never buying a product with an infinity ward logo on ever again, you guys are a ****ing joke I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!! Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    Take a MW2 disk, tip-ex out the logo and write MW3 over the top. Congratulations, you are now the proud owner of a copy of Modern Warfare 3. If you've never owned another CoD game, go for it, you'll have loads of fun, but if you have (and I suspect you have) anything over 10$ is too much for this game.
  23. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    saltychipmunk
    Nov 8, 2011
    5 I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game. Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat
    saltychipmunk
    Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game. Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else , maybe buy an indi game. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. The game is simply a cash in , pure and simple
    Expand
  24. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    This game was a big dissapointment and very little thinking process went in the making of this game. Black Ops was Great and feel like something much more advance than mw3. they made a game that feels old and outdated. The maps are too small the weapons are way over powered and the kill feel cheap! There's not much stragedy to playing this game than just running around and gettingThis game was a big dissapointment and very little thinking process went in the making of this game. Black Ops was Great and feel like something much more advance than mw3. they made a game that feels old and outdated. The maps are too small the weapons are way over powered and the kill feel cheap! There's not much stragedy to playing this game than just running around and getting kills. the spawns are terrible and it feel like a little kids game. I play mw2 and black ops all the time but mw3 it a game that I have already gotten tired of and fixing sale it for something else. I really regret getting call of duty elite. It was a waste. I still are not giving up on the series just going to wait and see if next year they learn from their mistakes and come up with something that is more dignify of the call of duty name. Expand
  25. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    I think this is the worse cod until now, it shows that infinityward have runed out of ideas.Its exactly like moder warfare.Infinity-ward is a realy disapointment this time. Tyst havent almost changed enithing.
  26. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    More like Modern Warfare 0.5. I have waited this long to write a review to give myself time to make the minor adjustments necessary for all the games in the cod series. My initial impressions were that MW3 is terrible, and sadly it is still my opinion. Infinity Ward made promises to 'fix' the problems with MW2, and make it more like cod4, meaning less overpowered kill streaks, fasterMore like Modern Warfare 0.5. I have waited this long to write a review to give myself time to make the minor adjustments necessary for all the games in the cod series. My initial impressions were that MW3 is terrible, and sadly it is still my opinion. Infinity Ward made promises to 'fix' the problems with MW2, and make it more like cod4, meaning less overpowered kill streaks, faster pace, and more focus on gun-on-gun battles. They failed in every single aspect in what they promised. MW3 rewards bad players who aren't able to string together kills and rewards them for playing slow paced. It also punishes people for trying to play fast paced and aggressive. First of all, the maps are terrible. There are so many different paths leading to the same location it makes it very easy for people to flank you. Creating less gun-on-gun battles and very slow paced gameplay because people just sneaking around corners. This favors inexperienced players because people who have no idea what they're doing are able to accidentally sneak up behind people and shoot them in the back. Next, the support strike package is absolutely idiotic. It is a system that rewards bad players who are not able to get multiple kills in a row. Also, it is a support class, not an assault class. There should be absolutely no lethal kill streaks in the support package. Period. However, the biggest problem of all is the perk assassin. This is most overpowered perk in the history of call of duty. People complained of ghost from black ops being overpowered. How did Infinity Ward respond to that complaint? Doing the exact freaking opposite. They made it even more powerful. Being immune to counter UAV, EMP, and advanced UAV! What were they thinking!? There is no counter to it. This perk is what is most responsible for the slow paced, boring, camping behavior that is oh so prevalent online. I found myself almost forced to use it at times because of the excessive amount of enemy UAV's people are able to get because of the support strike package. People may counter this by saying that you are able to shoot the UAV's down. This is true. However, another stupid move by infinity Ward was to make the UAV's extremely hard to see. And on most maps, there are so many buildings you can't shoot down anything. Lastly, the matchmaking system took a step backward. There is no locale only search option. I'm tired of being put in games where I get killed without even seeing who shot me. Then i look at the killcam and from their point of view they were right in front of me! Bottom line: MW3 is a huge disappointment. They took one step forward and 10 steps backward. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    I don't get why Call of Duty insists on releasing the same game over and over again, and hoards of fanboys insist that it's "the greatest" game when I could name 20 games off the back of my hand that are better than Modern Warfail 2.5.
  28. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    Coming from someone that has played both BF3 and MW3, MW3 takes the true disappointment of the year award away from BF3 and Brink. Both games were attempting something new and fresh and they both were successful in creating those things that'll most likely be implemented into future FPS games. However the true disappointment comes from this unseen and more felt out process of MW3 it feelsComing from someone that has played both BF3 and MW3, MW3 takes the true disappointment of the year award away from BF3 and Brink. Both games were attempting something new and fresh and they both were successful in creating those things that'll most likely be implemented into future FPS games. However the true disappointment comes from this unseen and more felt out process of MW3 it feels like something is always working against you in this game weather its the death by latency or poor spawning mechanism with no spawn protect to help you at least move for 2 seconds, the game doesn't feel right. The story was the only thing that will get a semi positive rating since seeing the Michael Bay stuff is pretty cool and nice to end this story arch. Now the bad things The story was just well predictable 80's movie style I'm sorry but only 3 men should be able to do what Pierce did well 4 men Chuck Norris, Arnold, Sly, and Willis. The Multiplayer is the worst out of all the MP's and Sure I don't have an amazing K/D Ratio I don't see how I really could, being an Old school CoD Player (Yes, PC CoD back in `04) I play aggresive/conservative objective style modes, plus a lot of my death's have come from one death that gets stack into 3 or 4 due to spawn camping and tiny jam packed maps. Next we have the rehashing of almost everything in game , I feel like I got mugged by the lazy computer nerd with a phaser. The only big thing I notice different in CoD is Assassin Pro which in my honest opinion shouldn't be in this game at all its overused and abused to encourage camping, Don't even think about jumping my case about that you all know it's the truth and I would rather have no perks and killstreaks just the standard UAV, Art strike and Heli like CoD 4. You want to know what ruined this franchise it's those KS and Virgin Halo cast offs that only care about a K/D, that's what made this game garbage a new incoming fan base that a company is making a glutton for spoiled gamer syndrome. All in All I wish I had just rented this game and purchased BF3 or even Brink and even more upset I turned in GoW3 for this garbage of a game. Expand
  29. Nov 25, 2011
    2
    Sorry for the false hope. My rating was suppose to be only a 2. NOT a 10. Well I guess I have write some more because it was to short. All I can say peeps is save your money for when the price drops, it might be worth it by then.
  30. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 was a huge disappointment. The short campaign and carbon-copy multiplayer added nothing to the FPS genre, instead only existing to milk the CoD cash-cow. Huge waste of $60.
  31. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    This game is a joke, the all new Spec Ops, is just a plagiarize of the resident evil mercenaries mode on 4 & 5 and all the aspects of multiplayer from sounds, effects, emblems, titles,graphics and 90% of weapons and perks are identical to mw2. This whole new proficiency features is just a rip off of a feature which has been in the battefield franchise for years, returning ASAP >_
  32. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    If you are interested in purchasing a game that strays from its predecessor in no way, shape, or form, then MW3 is the game for you. The story provides quite a cliche war experience, and the multiplayer remains unchanged in all ways of significance. Survivor mode is fun for a short period, and for this reason alone I give MW3 a 4 as opposed to a 0.

    The main problem I have with MW3 is
    If you are interested in purchasing a game that strays from its predecessor in no way, shape, or form, then MW3 is the game for you. The story provides quite a cliche war experience, and the multiplayer remains unchanged in all ways of significance. Survivor mode is fun for a short period, and for this reason alone I give MW3 a 4 as opposed to a 0.

    The main problem I have with MW3 is its lack of evolution. Many bring forth the argument that "If you say its the same as MW2, then you should give it the same rating." IGN, Gamespot, and other websites seemingly deliver their reviews from that standpoint. They openly admit to the games lack of progression, yet they still praise it. That being said, none of them address the fact that a blatant refusal to evolve in the video game industry is something that should go punished. The absence of any technical change whatsoever to the game is something that should be highlighted and taken into vast consideration when reviewing this game. The fact that Activision released MW3 in this form is insulting to the intelligence of the populous. Do they not think that we know how much money they have made off of the franchise? Do they think that we won't notice if they release the same game, year after year? Do they really think we are that stupid? The answer, unfortunately, is yes. The developers will sit on their billions of dollars and continually put the bare minimum into each game every season. And unless reviews are written that shed light upon this fact, and unless the majority of the gamers come out and express their dissatisfaction, people will continue to buy into this manipulative franchise.
    Expand
  33. Jan 16, 2012
    1
    Which Modern Warfare was this, again? The more changes, the more stays the same. My review takes into account the value of the game for its price tag - if you have any of its predecessors, save yourself the money and play their prestige mode.
  34. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    Greatly disappointed! I'm glad I didn't pre-order, saved $60. I agree with what everybody else has said about MW3 being a copy/paste of MW2. Compared to the last COD game, Black Ops, the guns look a lot worse and the kill-streak system is terrible. I also think that the currency system is a better idea for people who don't religiously play COD, you could just buy the attachments that youGreatly disappointed! I'm glad I didn't pre-order, saved $60. I agree with what everybody else has said about MW3 being a copy/paste of MW2. Compared to the last COD game, Black Ops, the guns look a lot worse and the kill-streak system is terrible. I also think that the currency system is a better idea for people who don't religiously play COD, you could just buy the attachments that you wanted instead of playing for hours to unlock one thing at a time. It's my opinion that Activision knew they would get easy money so they cake walked through the game. I'm staying loyal to Black Ops until the next installment. Expand
  35. Mar 15, 2012
    0
    By far the worst of the series. Multiplayer mode is a complete joke, no strategy or teamwork is needed, its just run and die in 3-4 bullets. Worst investment i've ever made in any game. DO NOT BUY!
  36. Mar 26, 2012
    1
    People **** about this being more or less the same title. In all honesty I would been satisfied if this game was half as good as its predecessors....but its not. It's awful, especially the multiplayer. The maps simply not fun. They make camping and shadow sitting almost a necessity. Players can head glitch in almost every location. Likewise, the maps are visually distracting and preventPeople **** about this being more or less the same title. In all honesty I would been satisfied if this game was half as good as its predecessors....but its not. It's awful, especially the multiplayer. The maps simply not fun. They make camping and shadow sitting almost a necessity. Players can head glitch in almost every location. Likewise, the maps are visually distracting and prevent any kind of comfortable, eventual familiarity. The combat engine is also dull and inconsistent. This game, and series are officially dead to me Expand
  37. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    Terrible game, the maps online are so small it has to be seen to believed, the guns feel like ball baring guns, all guns feel like thye have double tap on them, played for 4 hours online al together compared to 90 days for Call of Duty 4 and Modern Warfare 2
  38. Apr 1, 2012
    0
    This game is a miserable cash in. The killstreaks are awful, the spawning is abysmal, and the servers are atrociously slow. Someone please tell activision that they're simply filling the call of duty franchise with embalming fluid and taking up donations at its wake. This cash cow has mad cow, get it off my plate you fat cat corporate uninventive sobs.
  39. Apr 6, 2012
    3
    It's almost sad how obvious it is that 90% of those critic reviews are paid. Anyways, I borrowed the game from my friend who bought it a while ago and I've got to say that the multiplayer is abysmal. The maps are bland and they have recycled textures from Call of Duty 4 and Modern Warfare 2. That's unacceptable. I didn't beat the singleplayer story completely because I got so bored of itIt's almost sad how obvious it is that 90% of those critic reviews are paid. Anyways, I borrowed the game from my friend who bought it a while ago and I've got to say that the multiplayer is abysmal. The maps are bland and they have recycled textures from Call of Duty 4 and Modern Warfare 2. That's unacceptable. I didn't beat the singleplayer story completely because I got so bored of it halfway through. The missions aren't that bad but it's just shoot, get behind cover, go from point A to B, shoot, shoot, cover, done. It's not fun. There's only one good thing about the game and that is the "new" survival mode (which was done before, just instead of soldiers it had zombies) which is actually kind of fun. Do not buy the game unless you're a hardcore Call of Duty fan, and if you are one, shame on you, it's a bad series of games. Expand
  40. Apr 6, 2012
    1
    An absolutely terrible game. This is coming from a fan of the series too, the game is literally Modern Warfare 2 with a few new guns. The game did not improve on anything, they took away zombies and replaced it with a lame survival mode, they have less guns, they took away game modes, they put in less gun camo, they took away the monetary system, they took away the ability to dive, theyAn absolutely terrible game. This is coming from a fan of the series too, the game is literally Modern Warfare 2 with a few new guns. The game did not improve on anything, they took away zombies and replaced it with a lame survival mode, they have less guns, they took away game modes, they put in less gun camo, they took away the monetary system, they took away the ability to dive, they took away a gory and gritty campaign, they made it simpler for modders to get into the game, they kept kill streaks (which has always been a stupid way of keeping the good really good and the bad down), they took away any character customization (including playercards and face paints). Call of Duty is just a terrible excuse to get money from you. Do not make the same mistake i did of buying it. Expand
  41. Apr 14, 2012
    0
    I was smart and rented this game, (For all of you people stupid enough to buy it.) I was stunned by the lack of change done by the producers: no graphics changes, multiplayer is still crap, and the campaign is too freakin' predictable. Multiplayer is still at it's worst with more **** and five-year-olds to annoy the living soul out of you. They even copied BF3 in a few multiplayerI was smart and rented this game, (For all of you people stupid enough to buy it.) I was stunned by the lack of change done by the producers: no graphics changes, multiplayer is still crap, and the campaign is too freakin' predictable. Multiplayer is still at it's worst with more **** and five-year-olds to annoy the living soul out of you. They even copied BF3 in a few multiplayer features! (Infinity Ward is running out of ideas!) Same old $60.00 game you buy expecting some type of entertainment. I now know when Infinity Ward makes another game, I WILL NOT buy it. Expand
  42. May 26, 2012
    1
    **** modern warfare 3 is a bad game. I played this game for a couple of days before realising it was a horrible excuse for a FPS. Overall its the tried and true formula of the other modern warfare games which has been stamped with a flashy new title. Multiplayer is not fun at all. Single player is Michael Bay **** This game gets a 1 because Infinity Ward made this game purely for profits**** modern warfare 3 is a bad game. I played this game for a couple of days before realising it was a horrible excuse for a FPS. Overall its the tried and true formula of the other modern warfare games which has been stamped with a flashy new title. Multiplayer is not fun at all. Single player is Michael Bay **** This game gets a 1 because Infinity Ward made this game purely for profits and not for customer satisfaction. I will NEVER buy a CoD game again! Expand
  43. Oct 6, 2012
    3
    This will be the last MW game I buy at midnight. Huge dissapointment. The LE I bought is sitting on my desk as a permanent testament to why I should always review games before they come out. Black Ops is by FAR the better shooter, in every way. MW3 brought back Quickscoping, fast kill times and ridiculously spammed kill streaks. Also, there are like 4 guns that everyone uses because theThis will be the last MW game I buy at midnight. Huge dissapointment. The LE I bought is sitting on my desk as a permanent testament to why I should always review games before they come out. Black Ops is by FAR the better shooter, in every way. MW3 brought back Quickscoping, fast kill times and ridiculously spammed kill streaks. Also, there are like 4 guns that everyone uses because the rest are terrible, the maps are all insanely cramped with very short lines of sight, and the game is completely catered towards the casual crowd; flashy sounds, bright colors, same old prestige system. Expand
  44. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Welp, I've spent the majority of late last night and today playing MW3, so I figured I'd post a review.

    Let me start off by saying I got a lot of grief from friends who told me my comments on MW3 are non-valid until I've played the game. Well, I played it, and upon reflecting on that experience from a non-objective, unbiased point of view, I have come to the conclusion that all of my
    Welp, I've spent the majority of late last night and today playing MW3, so I figured I'd post a review.

    Let me start off by saying I got a lot of grief from friends who told me my comments on MW3 are non-valid until I've played the game. Well, I played it, and upon reflecting on that experience from a non-objective, unbiased point of view, I have come to the conclusion that all of my previous predictions of the game were true, with few exceptions.

    I began by playing the campaign, and what fun it was. This new development team did a better job at tying up the loose ends from the jumbled mess that was MW2's plot that I thought, and it was quite a fun ride. The levels were varied and expansive, characters were well fleshed out, and the experience was what I'd expect from a COD game. That being said, another bland shooter, delivering just another bland Michael Bay style blockbuster, with shallow characters, over the top story, basically a jingly toy with shiny lights to keep us amused for 5 or 6 hours. It doesn't investigate the complexity human morality like Batman Arkham City does with population control, crime, or the moral implications of justice. It doesn't delve into a story of survival, with the main character's desperately fighting for humanity while uncover secrets of the history of the universe as Halo does. The only challenge presented to players is how many bullets are shot at you and how many bullets it takes to kill someone, unlike Half-Life 2 and its physics puzzles. Nor does MW3 give players any variety in how to play, if you fail at stealth you automatically die, unlike Splinter Cell, which gives you a multitude of choices on how to proceed through the levels. The game is just too simple.

    Now onto multiplayer. New killsteaks, new toys, new perks, new guns, new maps. Same gameplay, same experience as Black Ops, MW2, MW1, just more polish and new toys. Its fun as hell, thats right, you heard me, I loved playing it. But I can have the exact same fun and the exact same experience on any of the other COD titles I have. I knew this going into the game, and I figured I'd try this new system out, and I just can't distinguish the gameplay from any of the others.

    Overall, the game feels like its a five year old game that could have been an Xbox release title. The graphics are sub par compared to every other recent shooter, there's hardly any physics aside from glass bottles and cardboard boxes that get shot around (every thing that happens is scripted, not random, so its not physics), even the external gun models look like they came out of Counter-Strike 1.6. I can't find the article, but I read an interview with Activision CEO Bobby Kotick about the future and he said that someday COD games will have movie/film like quality, with more realistic character and facial animations, etc. He's right, eventually COD will catch up with Crysis 2, Battlefield 3, the Mass Effect series, Arma 2, etc.

    A I'd also like to note a few nitpicky things that surprised me. Characters say "Roger Wilco" a lot. You never say "Roger" with "Wilco," the "Roger" is implied. Its just as bad as saying "Over and Out." You just don't do it. The charging handle on the ACR is ambidextrous, so why does the player character reload with his left hand, then take his right hand off the pistol grip to charge the weapon? Also, why charge the weapon at all? The M4, ACR, G36 and many more have bolt locking mechanisms, so theres no need to pull back the charging handle. I was actually surprised at this, even Battlefield 3 has the player model grips the foregrip with the "magpul technique," or uses the support hand to reach under an AK and charge it without removing his primary hand from the pistol grip, as they should.

    In conclusion, its just another COD game on a five year old engine, brings nothing new or innovating to the genre, and is nothing more than an update to COD4.

    I'm sorry if you blew $60 on this game, because you could've just rented it for $2 at a redbox for the campaign and continued to play Black Ops for the same multiplayer experience.

    Lets assume COD4-7 never existed, I'd give MW3 a solid 7 for being original, and a joyful experience.
    If MW3 was only $20 and the other games do exist, I'd give it an 8 for being a worthy expansion pack.
    But, because its just another MW update, it gets a 2.
    Fun, but not worth the money, especially if you have any of the past three games in the series.
    Expand
  45. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  46. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I have played cod since it started. When i heard that MW3 was coming out, I was pretty excited.
    But it all flushed out when i bought it.
    The graphics?
    They look like MW2.
    Gameplay?
    Didn´t innovate at all, and just terrible.
    But the worst was the hit detection.
    I liked it in the most cod games, but in this one, you just shoot anywhere and they give you 200 points.
    LAME
  47. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Terrible. MW 2.5 is the proper name for this piece of crap....

    I used to be a cod fan, but now I see how they rip off their customers. Until they learn to respect their consumers, I'm switching to BF3 and not giving Activision any more money...
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Just the same as MW1 and MW2, just another city. Same multiplayer, spawn campers, boosters, yelling in the mic, crying, jack holes. Once sledgehammer can produce a "GOOD" game things might change. Untill then just another activision rewash.
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    This game is bad. it's a carbon copy of previous CoD games. I totally bought it and played it. It was pretty much one of the most disappointing buys of my past 3 years
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I have played this for a while now and to be honest, it is crap!!!! They used the same buildings from Call of Duty 4, the same engine from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. It is also a big downgrade from Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Ive always been a fan of the MW franchise and had no problems what so ever with the campaign "i found it actually an amazing ending to the game" but in my mind game of the year doesnt get earned from one aspect alone. Multiplayer... I feel like this is an expansion and has no right costing a full 60 dollars rather i feel this is a step backwards as far as multiplayer. COD finally realizedIve always been a fan of the MW franchise and had no problems what so ever with the campaign "i found it actually an amazing ending to the game" but in my mind game of the year doesnt get earned from one aspect alone. Multiplayer... I feel like this is an expansion and has no right costing a full 60 dollars rather i feel this is a step backwards as far as multiplayer. COD finally realized their target age group was 12-14 year olds and simplified the game as much as possible. THE MAPS HAVE NO DEPTH!!!!!!!! What happened to being able to go into buildings and shoot out of windows? I feel MW has went from formula 1 to Nascar and is making all left turns now pardon the analogy. The campaign is amazing i will give credit where is due but please do not make the mistake of buying this game rent before to determine if you like it. Way to go from a GSXR 1000 to a trike with training wheels. THis all however is some ingenious ploy to get people to pay more money later on with map packs not this guy though. You robbed your fans of their money now i hope you loose your fans that you clearly do not deserve. "Above and beyond the Call" Clearly... Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Disappointing multiplayer that is a complete copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. The campaign is great and to be honest it doesn't deserve anything under a 7 but I am rating it zero just to make a point: Activision can't keep releasing the same CoD game every year. Treyarch mixes it up when they make a new CoD game (though the fundamentals are the same) and even Modern Warfare to ModernDisappointing multiplayer that is a complete copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. The campaign is great and to be honest it doesn't deserve anything under a 7 but I am rating it zero just to make a point: Activision can't keep releasing the same CoD game every year. Treyarch mixes it up when they make a new CoD game (though the fundamentals are the same) and even Modern Warfare to Modern Warfare II had some good changes. But I see literally no changes multiplayer wise from MW2 to MW3. There are new maps and a few new features. That is it. I'd give it a 7/10, because the multiplayer is still fun and addictive and the campaign is amazing as always but I am rating it a zero here to make a point, as others are. This is the laziest game I've ever seen made. I bought the Hardened Edition which is well worth the price and it's one of the best priced/coolest features I've seen in a long time in a Collector's/Special Edition, but, like I said, the copy and paste DLC multiplayer on Modern Warfare 2 is pathetic and there is little real innovation to the Call of Duty games in general, but, in this case, it's basically a huge DLC on Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The developer didn't make any real effort in putting out a new engine for better graphics or physics which shows its lack of respect for its fans. They assume that their game is a cash cow that they can dictate any price they want and expect to give its fans the exact same game with different maps. For 3-4 years they had a chance to use a different engine but instead they sell map packsThe developer didn't make any real effort in putting out a new engine for better graphics or physics which shows its lack of respect for its fans. They assume that their game is a cash cow that they can dictate any price they want and expect to give its fans the exact same game with different maps. For 3-4 years they had a chance to use a different engine but instead they sell map packs every year for $60, that my friend is called a rip off. Bill Gates should hire Activision so he can stop making different upgraded versions of windows and sell the same version with a different name for ten years and make people pay the full price for it and buy it over and over again. Expand
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    game is a cut and paste of MW2... there are even videos showing an exact building from cod 4 in MW3... Activision if you want a good score then make a good game don't beg your fans for the scores... it is obvious little effort was put into this game and the score of the community shows it.
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I'm really disappointed with this game, the online game could have just been paid DLC for black ops the graphics look pretty much the same, and the game seems glitchy especially with the hit zones. Single player campaign is good, but its pretty much the same old stuff, overall I'm highly disappointed and now looking to sell my game on eBay.
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is the same recycled stuff of 2007....Battlefield 3 is hands down the better game online.
    MW3 is that bad that Sledgehammer games have taken to twitter to ask people for fake positive reviews!! How can you give a positive review if the game isn't that great?
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm glad I did not buy the game! I had a chance to borrow it so I did not throw my money on another failed game! I took the previous game series in which I could not play because of all the problems with their servers so I decided to stop playing in the series!! Time they learned to appreciate the gamers and invest in our games! Sorry for the English
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is always the same no change, Activion mocks us. For this price the game is completely useless. in 2011 he could get out a better game, but not he prefers to release a game every month!
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers,Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers, glitchers, cheaters and other weak gamers that think they are cool. Questions questions questions ... Luckily most of players are amercinas, that means there is still future for normal games for normal players, let the americans have their sh*tty game. Expand
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Kotick strikes again, this once great franchise has been beaten into the ground and then kicked around multiple times for good measure. If you have the attention span and intellect of a 2 year old, this game's for you. If you want a real shooter, check out Battlefield 3.
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    remember that song from Bare Naked Ladies. Each year a new COD is release i can not help myself to hum the tune of that song. "It's all been done....before"
  62. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Nice yet abrupt end to the Modern Warfare trilogy. Activision knew they couldn't say 'Modern Warefare 2 Part 2' and that is how it feels. Its as bad as Capcom - a full priced expansion.
    The only nice (and new!) Thing I like is the hybrid sight (might have been on Black Ops)
    Online is the same bar different maps/a couple of additions. The whole run/gun/camp just doesn't do it for me.
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    THIS GAME IS DONE. I've had it with Call of Duty. Modern Warfare 2 disappointed me to no end, and I even broke the game over my knee. The single player is horrible, like someone shot the story with a machine gun, peppering it with bullet holes in the plot. The multiplayer is a copy/paste of modern warfare 2, nothing was changed at all. The maps are just as small and just as able forTHIS GAME IS DONE. I've had it with Call of Duty. Modern Warfare 2 disappointed me to no end, and I even broke the game over my knee. The single player is horrible, like someone shot the story with a machine gun, peppering it with bullet holes in the plot. The multiplayer is a copy/paste of modern warfare 2, nothing was changed at all. The maps are just as small and just as able for someone to spawn kill you over and over again. The kill-streaks are overrated, giving you a small chance to get ONE kill before by getting 5 kills or, the most advanced one, 18. Which secures you about 2 kills because everyone is lagging in and out of buildings. Even getting a killstreak doesnt secure you a kill. It just means some idiot is going to shoot it down as soon as it arrives. I got this the day it came out and people are already level 80? Even prestiged? Get a life kids and go play something that doesn't make you rely on ONE gun throughout the game and shows skill. The reason I am giving this a 1 and not a 0 is because the Spec Ops is ok. I always love co op in any game and can't resist the co op in this. Call of Duty Elite sucks to. i spent the year subscription on it and it won't even let me use it. An error message keeps telling me that "it cant connect to the call of duty servers." **** Utter **** This game is not worth your 60+ dollars, so dont buy it, dont look at it, and dont even say it's name because people are gonna be sucking infinity wards balls throughout the year until the next Treyarch Call of Duty comes out. THANK YOU Expand
  64. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I agree with what a lot of people are saying about this game being a cut and paste release. The only reason to buy this game for something new and fresh would be the single player campaign, but given its length I cannot justify the hefty price tag. With a planned sequel already in the works for 2012 I am worried that we will only receive more of the same as the series looks to cash in onI agree with what a lot of people are saying about this game being a cut and paste release. The only reason to buy this game for something new and fresh would be the single player campaign, but given its length I cannot justify the hefty price tag. With a planned sequel already in the works for 2012 I am worried that we will only receive more of the same as the series looks to cash in on its amazing sales figures year after year. I also dont like the elite service, having to pay for the game twice over for features I already should have feels like highway robbery. Pass on this one. Expand
  65. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Not really a credit to your game to outsell all the competition when all the riches are spent on marketing and disgusting bonuses for a development team that has the skill level of a five man pug mod team. Quality has nothing to do with popularity in a society that has autotune and dancing with the stars. I guess that means Justin Bieber makes the best music because he tops the charts.Not really a credit to your game to outsell all the competition when all the riches are spent on marketing and disgusting bonuses for a development team that has the skill level of a five man pug mod team. Quality has nothing to do with popularity in a society that has autotune and dancing with the stars. I guess that means Justin Bieber makes the best music because he tops the charts. MW3 is the fat guy from Superbad getting imaginary kills. The game is as stupid as Tommy the five year old pressing right on his D pad and getting 10 kills with his super dooper skills because he found a care package(very powerful). Sorry Call of Duty faithful, the bad reviews will keep coming because modern warfare 2 wasn't our first gaming experience and we don't care how many times you prestige. Unfortunately the gaming industry is very copy cat and we don't want future developers thinking that we are all aboard for the stinky big mac that Call of Duty has become. Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I bought both Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 because I'm a big Warfare-Shooter fan and i don't really have a favorite Franchise. Well i didn't, now i do.

    The Problem with the Call of Duty Series is that, at some point, it turned into a unstoppable hype fueled by the masses. And it was quite profitable for Activision. So what did they do ? Change as little as possible so people don't
    I bought both Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 because I'm a big Warfare-Shooter fan and i don't really have a favorite Franchise. Well i didn't, now i do.

    The Problem with the Call of Duty Series is that, at some point, it turned into a unstoppable hype fueled by the masses. And it was quite profitable for Activision. So what did they do ? Change as little as possible so people don't get scared off, but enough to keep people motivated to play.

    After Modern Warfare, with the release of Modern Warfare 2, i thought - Yeah that's as far as it should go - but along came Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2. And "nothing" has changed, and by nothing i mean nothing fundamental, because that, again, would be too much of a risk.

    If you played Call of Duty the last years, this episode won't give you any kicks, same old formula in the campaign, same old formula in the multiplayer, same old engine, and that's getting old.

    Battlefield 3 on the other hand, even through its flaws, seems much more refreshing and appealing. It doesn't bore me, because i haven't been playing Battlefield 3 for ages. But i have been Modern Warfare 3 for years now.

    No more.
    Expand
  67. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    infiniity ward what happened im going to go play call of duty 2 again (best call of duty ever!!!!) at least it will be a change even if the game is 6 years old
  68. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I've logged several hours into Modern Warfare 3 and could not be more disappointed. This product should have been titled Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.5. So little has been altered from the previous installments that I actually have a hard time pinpointing the changes. I see no reason to purchase this game at $60 and would not recommend this to anyone.
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    They are turning first person shooters into sports games, same blimmin' game just remixed and re-released. If we are willing to put up with this no progress in game engines will ever happen. It's just lazy.
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a terrible game hopefully this is the last one if the series, no company should be able to just rebundle COD 4 and add new maps and call it a new game.
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I love developers trying to brand this as review bombing. Maybe it's the fact that people realize they are being milked for their money? This is by no means a bad game, it's the SAME game. The same game as Call of Duty 4. Removing the **** that was in Modern Warfare 2 isn't some kind of achievement or renovation, it's what should have been a patch 2 years ago. Modern Warfare 3 is fun. SoI love developers trying to brand this as review bombing. Maybe it's the fact that people realize they are being milked for their money? This is by no means a bad game, it's the SAME game. The same game as Call of Duty 4. Removing the **** that was in Modern Warfare 2 isn't some kind of achievement or renovation, it's what should have been a patch 2 years ago. Modern Warfare 3 is fun. So is Call of Duty 4. Stop releasing a new one every year and subsequently destroying the player base of the previous game. If you want to release a new one, make actual improvements to the gameplay. Maybe invest in the new iDtech engine because we all know you have been using iDtech 3 every year and branding it as your own. And please, NEVER use budget as an excuse for a shortcoming or lack of a feature because there are millions of 13 year olds who worship your game and buy it every year. In short: You're stealing. Expand
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Modern warfare 3 is just a slightly upgraded version of MW2. Graphics are slightly improved but still look 5 years old. The sounds are even worse. They sound like they were recorded inside a wet sponge. Still the famed 60 fps but still doesn't bring anything new to the table. Maps are terrible since you can be spawned killed anytime. The A.I. is terrible. You can stand in the middle of aModern warfare 3 is just a slightly upgraded version of MW2. Graphics are slightly improved but still look 5 years old. The sounds are even worse. They sound like they were recorded inside a wet sponge. Still the famed 60 fps but still doesn't bring anything new to the table. Maps are terrible since you can be spawned killed anytime. The A.I. is terrible. You can stand in the middle of a firefight and they completely ignore you while you take their buddies out. Apparently "hard scoping" is trash since their are no maps for sniping because they built the maps catering off the new fad quick scoping. Ridiculous amount of auto aim with little to no recoil on the weapons. Gun models have improved but still look like you are carrying a 2d weapon. Lag is terrible in this game. Even with great internet you will still lag since you rely on the hosts connection. You would think with all the money being made off of milking this title they can afford dedicated servers. Wouldn't recommend unless you are a true fanboy. Rent or buy used since it isn't worth 60 dollars. Expand
  73. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game deserves every poor review given to it. Presentation - Single Player story less than 4 hours. Menus and interface are copy and pasted from MW2.

    Graphics - So bad it has to be a joke. Notice that the TV advertisement with the fat superbad guy and the avatar guy had no in-game footage? Yeah because it really is that embarassing. Multiplayer - No ranked dedicated servers. Bad
    This game deserves every poor review given to it. Presentation - Single Player story less than 4 hours. Menus and interface are copy and pasted from MW2.

    Graphics - So bad it has to be a joke. Notice that the TV advertisement with the fat superbad guy and the avatar guy had no in-game footage? Yeah because it really is that embarassing.

    Multiplayer - No ranked dedicated servers. Bad crowded map designs, imbalanced guns, camping and hip shots are encouraged. Sound - Worst and most cheesy score yet. Replay value - It took only 30 mins to realise that the experience would exactly be the same. Recycled prestige system. Meaningless leaderboards. Activision better leave Starcraft II and Diablo alone. They may know how to make money off of idiots but they have not a glue anymore how to make a good quality game.
    Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm giving Modern Warfare 3 a 0/10 because now every time I type MW3 I have to clarify I'm talking about MechWarrior 3 rather than Modern Warfare 3. MechWarrior was here first and it's not like Modern Warfare has any cool 'Mechs in it or anything. Modern Warfare 3 doesn't even have any awesome laser weapons, it's all just boring soldier people shooting regular guns.
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Many people said is the same MW2 game. they was wrong, MW2 was a very good game but MW3 is just crap, Maps are small, boring and all of them look similar. and the match making system oh yes good for meet people form other continent.

    Good work guys......
  76. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This game is MW2 with a faster framerate that can not be praised because with the amount of lag on multiplayer it is shadowed. Why is the game bad Well for starters Why I am not a battlefield fanboy after playing BF3 I felt that this game Is a dull piece of crap re-imagining of MW2 therfore should not be a stand alone game and is probably the worst in the series Sorry IW, activision andThis game is MW2 with a faster framerate that can not be praised because with the amount of lag on multiplayer it is shadowed. Why is the game bad Well for starters Why I am not a battlefield fanboy after playing BF3 I felt that this game Is a dull piece of crap re-imagining of MW2 therfore should not be a stand alone game and is probably the worst in the series Sorry IW, activision and slegdehammer but you let the fans down and created pure hatred. Expand
  77. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    I've played this game for most of today, and it is the best COD yet. So why the score of 1 I hear you ask? It's because it is the same game as MW2, and if I had paid £30 for it I would be extremely annoyed. Effectively, you buy a game that you invest time playing with your friends, and then the next year, you have to pay for it all over again if you want carry on playingI've played this game for most of today, and it is the best COD yet. So why the score of 1 I hear you ask? It's because it is the same game as MW2, and if I had paid £30 for it I would be extremely annoyed. Effectively, you buy a game that you invest time playing with your friends, and then the next year, you have to pay for it all over again if you want carry on playing it (because all the other mugs will have moved onto it). EA, milking money form a once innovative and fun franchise. BUY IT IF YOUR ARE RICH OR STUPID!! Expand
  78. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I've owned and played all the previous renditions of the Call of Duty series. I read that they wanted us 'loyalists' to come here and put in an 'honest' review. Well, here goes...unfortunately for them I really don't have anything positive to say. There is nothing innovative or ground breaking in MW3. A few tweaks were made to the game but none of them were significant enough toI've owned and played all the previous renditions of the Call of Duty series. I read that they wanted us 'loyalists' to come here and put in an 'honest' review. Well, here goes...unfortunately for them I really don't have anything positive to say. There is nothing innovative or ground breaking in MW3. A few tweaks were made to the game but none of them were significant enough to warrant a 'new game'. I was so disappointed with MW3 I went out and bought BF3. I think this is the beginning of the end for the CoD franchise for me unless they can get their act together...... Expand
  79. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Dont waste your money on this game get bf3 i have both games and everything is so much better in bf3 from the graphics to the multipalyer the sound the realism is just amazing in bf3, i wouldliketo call mw3, mw2.1 because it exactly the same as mw2 with a few more guns and perks and i new mode thats all
  80. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Been playing all night. The maps do not feel right,. The no scooping and drops shots still being int he game are just stupid. And the MOAB is just as game breaking as the nuke was in MW2. The most damning aspect is that it is the same game as MW1, MW2, and Black ops. Huge disappointment.
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    This game is absolute crap!!! i can't believe i actually pre-ordered and bought this hunk of crap not only did i glitch out 3 different times in the campaign i also think this is just a revamped map pack of mw2. i think that activision made a huge mistake for releasing this game. cmon battlefield 3's beta was better than this whole game...they should have kept treyarch and had them make aThis game is absolute crap!!! i can't believe i actually pre-ordered and bought this hunk of crap not only did i glitch out 3 different times in the campaign i also think this is just a revamped map pack of mw2. i think that activision made a huge mistake for releasing this game. cmon battlefield 3's beta was better than this whole game...they should have kept treyarch and had them make a sequel to black ops at least it had zombies... the horde mode on this is a joke and i made it through like 7 waves before getting incredibly bored all in all i think this may be the biggest waste of 60 bucks I've ever spent and I've played and bought some really crappy games lol. this however is the most horrible game ive ever played and i will be trading it in to buy Skyrim... so Activision if you want feedback here it is fire sledgehammer and rehire treyarch... one would think that they would want to be better than there competition with bf3 and gears 3 but that definitely is not the case so... this is probably the last Call of Duty game i will ever buy unless its made by treyarch. Expand
  82. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Don't waste your money. Same old, same old. If you enjoy playing with worthless high-pitched voiced 12 years olds screaming **** **** and every single other profanity into the mic, then that would most likely make yourself 12 years old. Literally NOTHING has changed. If you have played MW1, then you have played all other games after that. $60 map pack cash-in from Activision. Disgusting.
  83. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    This is one of the most unbalanced multiplayer games ever. Within 24 hours there were tons of people who were level 42-70 maybe cause they used countless double xp from the dorrito and mountain dew challenge and stayed up all 24 hours. This isn't how games should be played nor how gamers should be rewarded. This strengthens the stigma of the fat unsocial gamer and turns off theThis is one of the most unbalanced multiplayer games ever. Within 24 hours there were tons of people who were level 42-70 maybe cause they used countless double xp from the dorrito and mountain dew challenge and stayed up all 24 hours. This isn't how games should be played nor how gamers should be rewarded. This strengthens the stigma of the fat unsocial gamer and turns off the occasional mw3 gamer. Also the campaign was basically Michael Bay on acid making a shooter with all the transformer action a little 5 year old would love. Most others wouldnt. Expand
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    When you make billions of dollars after blacks ops you think you could actually put some effort into the next game and make a good story mode that is more than friekin 5hrs. I payed 65 dollars for a story mode that was full of just shooting 20 guys then get in a car and kill 10 followed by kill 30 more. The story is BS. Top it off with multiplayer being the same just added map packs. Rip off.
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    All the video game websites that had no balls to be truthful and give mw3 a low score which it deserves since it is a recycled game the same game as before can take the money activision payed you to give the game a high score can shove the money up each of your bunholes. And all the call of duty fan boys out there congradualations for being robbed of your money by activision.
  86. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    Im stunned that they can make a game worse than they have before. The kill streaks are awful, spawning is the worst out of any COD game. Its like they just got lazy. Can be a good game though with some updates. Oh yeah, and why the hell are we still quick scoping
  87. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I feel the Call Of Duty series has lost its way with its boring and repetitive game play. Its too annual for my liking and I believe if they took a year or two out, or tried something new they would receive a better reception. Bring on Skyrim
  88. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Is this a joke? why are we paying £45 for the same game every year? new weapons and call of duty elite? just another money making tool used by activision on thier quest to ruin the games indusrty.the game is full of hackers and mods yet nothing is done about it.i guarantee that the next call of duty which presumable will be made by trearch will be exactly the same as blackIs this a joke? why are we paying £45 for the same game every year? new weapons and call of duty elite? just another money making tool used by activision on thier quest to ruin the games indusrty.the game is full of hackers and mods yet nothing is done about it.i guarantee that the next call of duty which presumable will be made by trearch will be exactly the same as black ops. why are we falling for the hype every year and being let down? absolutly disgusted spending my hard earned cash on this *updated modern warfare 2 game. Expand
  89. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Call Of Duty continues their downward spiral. The founders of the series have gone.
    Sure MW2 needed some minor tweeks. Instead this team decided to fiddle and faddle with the game engine. Like a janitor working under the hood of a stealth bomber.
    The match making, hit detection, and host ping compensation are broken. The spawn system has been set so there is no point of being born with a
    Call Of Duty continues their downward spiral. The founders of the series have gone.
    Sure MW2 needed some minor tweeks. Instead this team decided to fiddle and faddle with the game engine. Like a janitor working under the hood of a stealth bomber.
    The match making, hit detection, and host ping compensation are broken.
    The spawn system has been set so there is no point of being born with a brain.
    Spawn point! and shot!
    That is good, because the maps are mazes of cutter. If it were not for the noobed down spawn system,
    you would never be able to find anyone.
    Expand
  90. Nov 15, 2011
    4
    when I started playing the game the first thought I had was "this is the same engine as modern warfare 2." as the story progressed I found myself asking where in this campaign is there a level that I would want to play again and again. In both modern warfare 1 and 2 there were levels I just wanted to play over and over. But this time I would probably only play the campaign to getwhen I started playing the game the first thought I had was "this is the same engine as modern warfare 2." as the story progressed I found myself asking where in this campaign is there a level that I would want to play again and again. In both modern warfare 1 and 2 there were levels I just wanted to play over and over. But this time I would probably only play the campaign to get achievements at most. There is nothing new to the campaign besides awesome weapons. The story is short about 4-6 hours on normal at most. And what little story there is, it is just a reboot of the combined ideas of modern warfare 1 and 2. I had no "wow" moment I had more of a "here we go again". For the campaign the gameplay is the same but the story is old and feels like a reboot. The multiplayer has become more "balanced" or as I like to call it become more "unrealistic". Shotguns are now pea shoots at most. And the multiplayer is mostly the same as modern warfare 2. The addition of survival adds a lot of fun but getting stuck with the guy who leaves his post to take your kills and results in you getting flanked by the enemy gets old fast. Survival is enjoyable but it does not allow you the customization nor the number of guns that you can get in multiplayer. As a result it feels unfinished and not as enjoyable as it could have been. Spec ops is back with no difference what so ever to modern warfare 2. All and all the campaign is a disappoint; as it brings nothing new to the table, same with both the multiplayer and spec ops. The only thing remotely new is survival and that is incomplete. All I can say is congrats Activision on sucking the life out of another great game. Expand
  91. z1p
    Nov 15, 2011
    2
    Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! It is a slightly adjusted version of the previous title, MW2. The challenges for multiplayer are EXACTLY the same as MW1! Story is okay, I say just give this one a rental. Not worth your money or time. Buy BF3 if you want a good shooter.
  92. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    I eagerly pre ordered the hardened edition of mw3 having played black ops to death and was part of the beta for elite then release day came my brother got a midnight copy I had to wait for the delivery next day - getting up the next morning i walked into my brothers room and said did you not manage to get it ? thinking he was playing mw2 glen schofield of sledgehammer says he worked hisI eagerly pre ordered the hardened edition of mw3 having played black ops to death and was part of the beta for elite then release day came my brother got a midnight copy I had to wait for the delivery next day - getting up the next morning i walked into my brothers room and said did you not manage to get it ? thinking he was playing mw2 glen schofield of sledgehammer says he worked his but off for 2 years - 2 years for a map pack? change career would be my advice...............wake up cracktavision ............ Expand
  93. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Sadly MW3 has ruined the franchise for me - multiplayer has lost it's fun thanks to an unbalanced kill streak system that just takes all the skill (and the fun) out of the game. If you like being blown to bits by random explosions, predato missiles or attack helicopters every 15-20 seconds (it really is that bad), then go nuts - but it's not for me...

    I've not played the campaign, but
    Sadly MW3 has ruined the franchise for me - multiplayer has lost it's fun thanks to an unbalanced kill streak system that just takes all the skill (and the fun) out of the game. If you like being blown to bits by random explosions, predato missiles or attack helicopters every 15-20 seconds (it really is that bad), then go nuts - but it's not for me...

    I've not played the campaign, but that's not what I buy for - think I may finally have to give Battlefield a chance.
    Expand
  94. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    So terrible, where to begin? Bugs galore, and for a linear single player game that's not good. Boring, feels like ive played this before. Oh, wait i have. It was called Call of duty modern warfare 2.
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    My scores fair enough. Not saying this game is terrible its far from it. All im saying is if you own Call of Duty 4 or MW2 don't bother its just another reboot. Obviously with each game released it gets better, but I am not interested in the little extras which all fan boys love to brag about. Its the same old gameplay in single and multiplayer even the same old plot. In case no one elseMy scores fair enough. Not saying this game is terrible its far from it. All im saying is if you own Call of Duty 4 or MW2 don't bother its just another reboot. Obviously with each game released it gets better, but I am not interested in the little extras which all fan boys love to brag about. Its the same old gameplay in single and multiplayer even the same old plot. In case no one else has noticed (which everyone obviously has) it seems like the series is running in an infinite loop. Also I dont get why they made the AK 47 look different and well lets face it, in the game its not the best choice of gun. This also makes no sense to me. To sum it all up, its good but also very similar to the older games and this has thrown me off completely. Expand
  96. Dec 1, 2011
    3
    First I am a cod fan I have played them all. I don't see how some on here can say Mw3 is like Mw2 really well Mw2 worked there was no lag which this is all the game has in MP play. Spawns are broken you will shot someone only to have them spawn right behind you that sure didn't happen in MW2 now did it.. They put out 2 patches so far and have not been able to fix the lag in this game orFirst I am a cod fan I have played them all. I don't see how some on here can say Mw3 is like Mw2 really well Mw2 worked there was no lag which this is all the game has in MP play. Spawns are broken you will shot someone only to have them spawn right behind you that sure didn't happen in MW2 now did it.. They put out 2 patches so far and have not been able to fix the lag in this game or spawns yet. Maps are the biggest fail ever in this game. They are so small with junk everywhere no clear shooting lines lots of buildings which you can't even go though to get to the other side everything is closed off no big maps like waste land or over grown. If you haven't got this game yet I'm sure most have it now but if you don't wait till it drops in price I really hope Sledgehammer never gets another chance at making a COD game ever again you dropped the ball big time Expand
  97. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disclaimer: Reviewer is a PC gamer
    while the new streak packages and classes are a welcome change, its not enough! this game is all about running and spraying ur weapon whenever an enemy appears on your crosshair. not to mention the naderpg spam.
    for PC gamers since MW2 the series has been a slap to the face. Blops gave us back Dedi servers but the overall game itself was really lacking
    Disclaimer: Reviewer is a PC gamer
    while the new streak packages and classes are a welcome change, its not enough! this game is all about running and spraying ur weapon whenever an enemy appears on your crosshair. not to mention the naderpg spam.
    for PC gamers since MW2 the series has been a slap to the face. Blops gave us back Dedi servers but the overall game itself was really lacking on the PC, with the game in an unplayable state for the first month past release and Wager matches only playable with stupid sucky matchmaking and limited to 6 people!

    here comes MW3, another slap to the face, do they give us Dedi servers? yes!!!
    but wait!!!
    they forgot to mention that all dedicated servers will be UNRANKED(!) and if u want to play on ranked servers and rank up and unlock stuff u'll have to resort to matchmaking ala MW2!!

    not enough that this game is using the same engine from CoD4, some say its "improved" but to me its just smokes and mirrors.
    this was once a beautiful series, strong on both PCs and Consoles. now its just a yearly cash-in for Activision.

    im sure this game will succeed in sales, there are alot of not-so-smart 12yrs old out there waiting to get there hands on it.
    but for me, i'll stick to other shooters.
    Expand
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    it's just DLC no new thing

    Negative is good for it (((Have been playing MW3 online for a few hours now and it surprised me that a game I wasn't looking forward to, at all, still was able to... disappoint me. Have seen many of the maps and I haven't felt a presence of a classic map. Running makes you wiggle like a drunk duck, reloading is much quicker than switching weapons. The thing
    it's just DLC no new thing


    Negative is good for it

    (((Have been playing MW3 online for a few hours now and it surprised me that a game I wasn't looking forward to, at all, still was able to... disappoint me. Have seen many of the maps and I haven't felt a presence of a classic map. Running makes you wiggle like a drunk duck, reloading is much quicker than switching weapons. The thing cod "had going for it" was fast fluent game play huh?)))
    Expand
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a joke- buying it only tells developers that its ok to release the same game over and over again. I mean, it took them 2 years to add some lighting effects and new animations, and then make some new maps (and even buildings within those have been copy-pasted...)
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    hmmm... Critic score: 89 User's Score: 3.0. Did Activision line some pockets? There is only one way that +2400 users would come up with a score this low while the Critic's rave about it.... Sad.... WAKE UP - Gamers don't want the same game every year with a pretty new bow on it. Activision ran the Guitar Hero Franchise into the ground and they are doing the same to the FPS market.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.