User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8593 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    Doesn't quite feel like Modern Warfare anymore. I am a huge fan of Modern Warfare 1 and 2 but dindn't really like Black Ops, or anything Treyarc has done. This game kinda feels like a Modern Warfare/Black ops hybrid. Its not trerrible but it's lost that addicting, can't put the controller down fun. When you talk to anyone in the gaming industry and you mention Activision its funny howDoesn't quite feel like Modern Warfare anymore. I am a huge fan of Modern Warfare 1 and 2 but dindn't really like Black Ops, or anything Treyarc has done. This game kinda feels like a Modern Warfare/Black ops hybrid. Its not trerrible but it's lost that addicting, can't put the controller down fun. When you talk to anyone in the gaming industry and you mention Activision its funny how many people just roll there eyes. It seems to be a company that cares more about money than creating something special and creative. I don't know much about Respawn Entertainment but whatever there building with EA is sounds good. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    I usually write long detailed reviews. This won't be a long review. I am... tired. I am exhausted. People love this game, it sold more than skyrim. That's the current state of our society. This review I am writing, it's meaningless - It won't change anything. Those people who play this game, are far greater in numbers than us. They don't care about metacritic. What's the point? Why am II usually write long detailed reviews. This won't be a long review. I am... tired. I am exhausted. People love this game, it sold more than skyrim. That's the current state of our society. This review I am writing, it's meaningless - It won't change anything. Those people who play this game, are far greater in numbers than us. They don't care about metacritic. What's the point? Why am I even writing this. I guess... there is hope. We do exist. People do understand that the few of us who actually like to feel, and think, and imagine - want something. Games are getting made that appeal to us. And there are probably just as many games that appeal to us as there are games that appeal to the 'mainstream casual consumer'. So.. maybe we are not doomed. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    4
    As a fan of the Call of Duty multiplayer. The Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer was not as a good as the previous Call of Duty
  4. May 28, 2012
    0
    ...I can't be arsed to type my utter disgust about how much this game sucks. Oh boy, it's the same game for the 4th time in a row. Of course, idiotic COD fanboys will fall for it, but not me. This game is nothing but a money printer for Activision. Nothing more.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Sad. This game came out in 2009, I mean 2011. Same engine as a game 2 years ago. Nothing new, nothing fresh. Oh wait different maps. This game could have been a map pack, instead of a 60 dollar game. Graphics Suck!
    Weapons are "ok"
    Sound sucks
    "elite" is broken
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    After spending some time with the MP I can safely say that this is prob my least favorite CoD to date. This is coming from someone who has spent many, MANY hours with the franchise. CoD has consumed my gaming time for the past few years so I feel comfortable with making the following statements. The number one problem with the state of the Mp is the spawns. Hands down. I have had peopleAfter spending some time with the MP I can safely say that this is prob my least favorite CoD to date. This is coming from someone who has spent many, MANY hours with the franchise. CoD has consumed my gaming time for the past few years so I feel comfortable with making the following statements. The number one problem with the state of the Mp is the spawns. Hands down. I have had people spawned right in from of me into MY crosshairs! I have had the same happen to me but the other way around. I have had people spawned 5 feet away from me behind a corner. It's all part of CoD's 'payback' system. It's horrid. The spawn problems are amplified ten fold in objective based gametypes to boot. The maps are a little on the smallish side so this also makes the spawns seem even worse. I like a lot of the maps, I dont mind the smaller sizes, yet the smaller sizes combined with the spawns just make this MP nigh unplayable.

    A lot of people will say"You cant sit in a corner with assassin and a silencer noob", I'm a rusher at heart and I run around while I run and gun and STILL get people spawned mere feet away from me. Sometimes they spawn in front of me for a easy kill, and I literally LOL. In that moment it was awesome for me and builds my KS, yet soon enough (mere seconds/mins) it will happen to me. Overall, the MP is indeed fun for the most part, but when 9 out of 10 deaths is from getting shot in the back or the side, it really takes away from the fun.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I am actually new to the modern warfare scene, i had only played MW2 a few times and liked it, so I figured I would get MW3 which I expected to blow my mind. I ripped off the packaging, and impatiently put the game in my xbox, the introduction video started playing, Oh man I could not wait to pl --- what? this menu looks alot like MW2, I started playing multiplayer, WHAT?! this looks alotI am actually new to the modern warfare scene, i had only played MW2 a few times and liked it, so I figured I would get MW3 which I expected to blow my mind. I ripped off the packaging, and impatiently put the game in my xbox, the introduction video started playing, Oh man I could not wait to pl --- what? this menu looks alot like MW2, I started playing multiplayer, WHAT?! this looks alot like MW2!!! I couldn't believe how bad the graphics were. There were just so many little things that pissed me the hell off, what really makes me mad is I preordered elite along with it so I could save some money on DLC, but right now, I'm not looking forward to any add-ons that will come out for this game, after playing for a while trying to force myself to enjoy it, pretending I was playing a PLAYSTATION 2, I just couldn't take it any more. I reluctantly took it out and just started playing Black Ops again, at least there was some originality to that. Infinity Ward, Sledgehammer, you thieving, lazy ass bastards, you could have done better, I want my money back. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    I've been a Call of Duty fan since the start of the franchise. I've never been a fan of BF. I'm not a fan boy.

    Until now. I must admit, I felt a little bit of sadness, kind of like telling a good friend to leave and not come back. MW3 is a arcade game compared to BF3. I am a changed gamer, just knifing some one in BF3 is more realistic. MW3 is basically paying 60 bucks for new maps and a
    I've been a Call of Duty fan since the start of the franchise. I've never been a fan of BF. I'm not a fan boy.

    Until now. I must admit, I felt a little bit of sadness, kind of like telling a good friend to leave and not come back. MW3 is a arcade game compared to BF3. I am a changed gamer, just knifing some one in BF3 is more realistic. MW3 is basically paying 60 bucks for new maps and a notch above Home front graphics. After playing BF3, I will not go back to Call of Duty. After playing both mw3 and BF3, I can safely say BF3 is hands down, better, closer to real life than mw3.
    Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Hackers all time fav game of 2011!! here is a video after 24 hrs of relese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAeWAhMGD6E
    here is a video after 48 hrs of elese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ed0CBHq9JU

    Hope u are a EPIC hacker if u want to play online Worst i have ever been ripped off 60$ got home got shot thru the wall's ty allot Activison i will pre order your next game NOT ROFL .
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I'm really struggling to enjoy this game. For $60 I'm playing a near identical experience Call of Duty has offered for the past 5 years. The evolution, new additions and gameplay aren't there for me, and that's disappointing.

    The game is solid from a graphic and gameplay standpoint. If you've never played a COD game, this is the most refined. If you've played a COD game before, save your
    I'm really struggling to enjoy this game. For $60 I'm playing a near identical experience Call of Duty has offered for the past 5 years. The evolution, new additions and gameplay aren't there for me, and that's disappointing.

    The game is solid from a graphic and gameplay standpoint. If you've never played a COD game, this is the most refined. If you've played a COD game before, save your $60 and continue on with your current version.
    Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Wow. I can understand a game like Fifa, which is simply trying to simulate a simple concept of 22 men kicking a ball around a field only making marginal improvements year on year, its not like they've got license to change the rules of the game. This is not the case with COD. It can do whatever it likes, leap from time zone to time zone, country to country - limited only by the dev team'sWow. I can understand a game like Fifa, which is simply trying to simulate a simple concept of 22 men kicking a ball around a field only making marginal improvements year on year, its not like they've got license to change the rules of the game. This is not the case with COD. It can do whatever it likes, leap from time zone to time zone, country to country - limited only by the dev team's imagination. Sadly it would appear they don't have one. All the irritating comment bleating about how MW3 was going to be a copy and paste rehash have been proved entirely correct. I'm ashamed to say I bothered to go out at midnight to join the masses and snaffle this up but after 2 days of trying to love it I'll be headed back to BF3 for my fix of variety, freshness, tactics and creativity. Poor show Infinity Ward, you just lost a big fan. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Are all these critics paid by infinity ward to give out 100's??, this game doesn't do anything ground breaking, I played it last night with a buddy of mine. For some reason I was flabbergasted that the multiplayer graphics seemed worse than black ops, the gameplay is exactly the same, the only things that have change is the annoying pick up dog tags, a few new perks, and knifing isAre all these critics paid by infinity ward to give out 100's??, this game doesn't do anything ground breaking, I played it last night with a buddy of mine. For some reason I was flabbergasted that the multiplayer graphics seemed worse than black ops, the gameplay is exactly the same, the only things that have change is the annoying pick up dog tags, a few new perks, and knifing is slightly harder. Don't get me wrong I love the MW3 storyline, the single player campaign is epic but a games replay value is in its multiplayer and i'm sorry the say, this is an update package at best. Its still the same old fun arcade style shooter that we've seen topped with a new storyline and a few new perks. However the game doesn't offer anything new like bf3 with its destructible environments, the vast size of the maps, the tactical gameplay. This game doesn't do anything innovated to become something greater, I wouldn't have given it a four, but I feel it deserved an average 5 or 6 but I need to keep this user score down because these critics are out of their minds. Reading some of their reviews, the compare mw3 only to is predecessors, well of course its going to be slightly better than their previous installments, but they never seem to compare to other great games out their, that are pushing the bar on our outdated consoles, so sorry cod, i'll rent you to find out what happens in the story but i won't buy you. Expand
  13. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Went to a bud's house and tried it out to see if I should buy it before I get the MW3 Xbox off lay away. I was overall disappointed with the game. Not enough change to justify buying it prior to getting it with the system. And even then I will probably just play it as a change of pace from other games that I have.

    Was once a fan of the franchise but, just as the Gran Turismo series,
    Went to a bud's house and tried it out to see if I should buy it before I get the MW3 Xbox off lay away. I was overall disappointed with the game. Not enough change to justify buying it prior to getting it with the system. And even then I will probably just play it as a change of pace from other games that I have.

    Was once a fan of the franchise but, just as the Gran Turismo series, COD is just setting back and raking in the cash from the sheep.......it either needs a re-boot or to just go away.
    Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Welcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but isWelcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but is somewhat entertaining. Now for the worst part, the multiplayer. The maps have no direction and just seem like they've been thrown together. The hit detection is extremely horrible. Explosions have been nerfed, quick scoping has returned for what seems like the target age range for this game 8-12 year olds. I have had this game for 3 days and have 1 hour multiplayer play time because I am so disgusted with it. If you want an amazing first person shooter that is realistic and extremely fun to play, go pick up Battlefield 3 and let this game collect dust on the store shelves. Collapse
  16. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    If you were a big fan of MW2 like some of my friends then you will love this game because that is essentially what it is with some minor improvements. For myself this game is kind of disappointing, I was much more a fan of black ops and to me MW3 is a step back from it. MW3 just doesn't feel like a 'new' game it feels like something that came out 2 to 3 years ago. It's not a bad game butIf you were a big fan of MW2 like some of my friends then you will love this game because that is essentially what it is with some minor improvements. For myself this game is kind of disappointing, I was much more a fan of black ops and to me MW3 is a step back from it. MW3 just doesn't feel like a 'new' game it feels like something that came out 2 to 3 years ago. It's not a bad game but in my opinion it is definitely not a game i would have waited in line at midnight to get. Try it before you buy it Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Ballhair 3 is nothing but a boring repetitive multiplayer. Just because this one has different goals it's the same damn thing. The games story in every modern Ballhair is such nonsense. I hate this game. I'm sick of this game. I'm never buying any COD again. Activision is just going to keep ripping us off!
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I thought mw2 was pretty good but mw3 does absolutely nothing to progress the franchise, in fact it actually took a step back. The guns don't handle as well though the sound is better, the maps are overly complicated, claustrophobic and lack any sort of landmarks or locations for the most part to make them memorable or easy to navigate. The leveling system is a nice change and the gunsI thought mw2 was pretty good but mw3 does absolutely nothing to progress the franchise, in fact it actually took a step back. The guns don't handle as well though the sound is better, the maps are overly complicated, claustrophobic and lack any sort of landmarks or locations for the most part to make them memorable or easy to navigate. The leveling system is a nice change and the guns seem to have a better natural progression as you get the higher level ones but the maps are so tight and the game paced so quickly that SMGs seem to be the weapon of choice for most people. Quick-scoping is back and better than ever to appeal to the 11 year olds, noob tubing got the nerf bat along with all explosives, grenade kills are way harder to come by even if you're practically sitting on the grenade. The engine at a whole feels dated and although I'm not a stickler for graphics there doesn't seem much of an improvement here. The game as a whole feels uninspired and dated, and can get extremely frustrating, especially when out of 16 or so maps, you only look forward to playing 3 or 4 at most. The whole game feels as though it could've just been a huge DLC for MW2. They probably should've used all that Jonah Hill and Sam Worthington money to build a new engine and hire some new map developers. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I created a metacritic account just to review this terrible game. The more I play it the more I hate it. I am a long time COD player, played MW, MW2, and black ops all to prestige. The maps and spawning system are terrible in this one though. The maps are all dozens of narrow passages crisscrossing each other so you are constantly getting shot in the side and back, add to that the newI created a metacritic account just to review this terrible game. The more I play it the more I hate it. I am a long time COD player, played MW, MW2, and black ops all to prestige. The maps and spawning system are terrible in this one though. The maps are all dozens of narrow passages crisscrossing each other so you are constantly getting shot in the side and back, add to that the new spawning system and it is impossible to play this game with any sort of tactics. You cant clear an area and then feel confident the enemies will be ahead of you they will just spawn behind you and come at you from one of 6 different angles. Activision shouldn't have been greedy and fired the people that made these games good. I wont be buying another COD game until something drastic changes. Expand
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    2 years in development and infinity ward gave us this piece of crap.story mode is fine but the multyplayer is junk.This franchise is starting to go the same way every activision franchise have gone."innovation" they took a crap cake and put crap frosting on it.
  21. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Same old recycled, copy and pasted game with very few changes. My review would match the major reviewer's scores, but unfortunately, Activision isn't paying me to do so. Save your money for something better folks.
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    There's only one thing to say about the game's multiplayer, and that it still feels over developed and corny. There are too many gimmicky things in the game and killstreaks are still cheap. The graphics and HUD are virtually unchanged, and The same crappy community is back from Modern Warfare 2, glitching and hacking to their hearts desire. It's a shame that no big game review sites wantThere's only one thing to say about the game's multiplayer, and that it still feels over developed and corny. There are too many gimmicky things in the game and killstreaks are still cheap. The graphics and HUD are virtually unchanged, and The same crappy community is back from Modern Warfare 2, glitching and hacking to their hearts desire. It's a shame that no big game review sites want to give it a score it deserves. Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Save yourself $60 and play the Call of Duty game you already have! This game should just be sold as a MW2 expansion pack. The game literally reuses textures and models from past CoD games... including CoD4.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Overrated garbage. I really wish people would spend more money supporting more deserving games rather than playing the same first person shooter year after year.
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    I would expect more from such a grand gaming company, I really would, but Infinity Ward has failed to deliver. You would expect a sequel to add more content, to innovated and improve (ex. Dark Souls, Batman: Arkham City) but it has failed to bring something gamer's need to the table. The best example of this would be eating "mom's delicious spaghetti" it may taste great the first coupleI would expect more from such a grand gaming company, I really would, but Infinity Ward has failed to deliver. You would expect a sequel to add more content, to innovated and improve (ex. Dark Souls, Batman: Arkham City) but it has failed to bring something gamer's need to the table. The best example of this would be eating "mom's delicious spaghetti" it may taste great the first couple days, but having to eat it over and over and over and over again gets tiring. That being said, the story mode feels lazy and uninspired, and the online play, with just few additions could be easily mistaken for a MW2 match. They want my positive review? A little advice would be to TRY HARDER because this was downright disappointing. Expand
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I played it last night, couldn't tell the difference between it and modern warfare 2. Why they don't make a new engine is beyond me. Your money would be better spent on games like Skyrim, uncharted 3, Arkham city or Deus Ex Human revolution.
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    HI the user score went up to 3.0 so iam here to bring it back to 0 where this pile of trash belongs.Btw glen shcofield is a **** **** and he needs to go and masturbate to tranny porn if he thinks this game deserves more than 1.
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    TINY MAPS. ZERO flow, ZERO strategy involved WHATSOEVER. People running around like chickens with their heads cut off spraying, dying, respawning OVER AND OVER. At least every previous COD title had solid maps that offered some balance. Hell, I'd be content with an identical game if the maps were such crap. Once the game starts, its a straight up free for all regardless of theTINY MAPS. ZERO flow, ZERO strategy involved WHATSOEVER. People running around like chickens with their heads cut off spraying, dying, respawning OVER AND OVER. At least every previous COD title had solid maps that offered some balance. Hell, I'd be content with an identical game if the maps were such crap. Once the game starts, its a straight up free for all regardless of the game-mode you're in. I don't know why they even include any game mode besides DEATHMATCH because thats all it is. Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    MW3 = MW2. It looks the same game... I won't play this anymore. I just beat the campaign, played few online matches and I'm going to sell the game.
    For me, COD4 is the best from the serie, but Infinity Ward ruined everything after MW2.
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Been following this game, hasn't been interesting to me at all in the slightest. Watching videos of it just makes it out to be boring. To me, it's the worst CoD to date. Activision needs to take a break on this franchise.
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It's not a bad game by any means. But it shouldn't even be one - it should be DLC. The campaign took me 4 and a half hours, and I wasn't rushing my any means. Just too similar to the last one.
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Sure its pretty, but I could get the same effect from squinting my eyes at CoD 4. Could not have been a bigger disappointment had EA directly developed the whole thing.
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    A completely unoriginal update to the franchise, it uses the same engine the same graphics and the same run and gun game play with hardly anything different. It has been like this ever since modern warfare came out, just a new game every year with nothing but different guns. I am tired of this and would love some fresh blood into the series.
  34. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Absolute rubbish! Patches do nothing to improve it! Multiplayer is poor. lag, campers, overpowered shot guns, bad hit detection, hackers, aimbots! List goes on and on! I'm never buying a CoD game ever again, RIP CoD!!! The dev's really dont care unless they are making $$$$$
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    So, the long anticipated MW3 is here and just as expected, its garbage. I`ll start out by stating the obvious, this game WILL sell heavily, and undoubtedly outsell Battlefield 3, But its down to a few reasons, the level of marketing this series goes to, to ensure its the most anticipated game of the year is unparalleled. The demographic of the game is probably 70% under 18s.. which isSo, the long anticipated MW3 is here and just as expected, its garbage. I`ll start out by stating the obvious, this game WILL sell heavily, and undoubtedly outsell Battlefield 3, But its down to a few reasons, the level of marketing this series goes to, to ensure its the most anticipated game of the year is unparalleled. The demographic of the game is probably 70% under 18s.. which is honestly amazing seen as the game is rated 18, but it also means that the majority of the Call of Duty followers are easily impressionable, and gullible children, therefore they just follow the trend.

    Branding will only take them so far, and this year its evident that Battlefield has raised the bar and surpassed the entire CoD series with astonishing gameplay, fantastic lag free online, unrivalled diversity and brilliant graphics. Seriously where is the appeal of MW3?

    I know the reviewers will give MW3 a high score because theyre biased as **** and paid massively to do so, User scores have spoke, MW3 is the biggest fail of the year, its roughly the same game that was released 2 years ago with subtle changes trying to mask the underlying disappointment. Anyway game where somebody can jump off a building, do about 20 spins, and no scope somebody without dying is lets face it, a joke. You know what would happen if somebody tried that on battlefield? Theyd just get run over in a tank and laughed at. Seriously Activision, its time to wake up, come see the real world and leave the kids behind.
    Expand
  36. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Uh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isntUh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isnt revolutionary enough to need a whole team behind it. Expect the exact same game, with similar animations etc. I guess you could say that you will pay to keep playing MW2 with a new campaign and weapons. DLC material. Too short, a little lacklustre. Dont believe the reviews, I reckon that they are payed and they kind of tricked me. I knew this was coming and i got it cheap but I still feel a little wronged . Of course, I still have BF3 to keep me busy, but expect similar problems (except with multi and coop, they are flawless) but the campaign was a ltittle strange. I wont elaborate on the IW engine and the Frostbite 2 one, because this is not a rant, although i dont give details. The IW engine is borderline ok; it still looks fine, and there is a clear 60fps being consistent , but it shows that its a bad effort, as the swift controls and user friendly design was done badly on MW3.
    Look at the user reviews; take away around a quarter from pos and neg and you get rid of the fanboy crap. Still its bad. Activision knew that this would happen, considering Black ops had also bombed in actual worthiness so they hyped up MW3 with advertising and paying off reviewers eh.
    Expect a **** of kids who will infuriate you with obviously better guns. Expect to be screaming at the tubers and cheap deaths. Instead of ridding the MW franchise of the stupid kids its embellished it. If you love to the point that its all you talked about on Nov 7, buy it, Otherwise dont. It couldve been so much more, but it wasnt. (I bought this on the pc but its the same.) Kids will flood it, ruin it, but if you are 12 go nuts.
    Expand
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People don't bother with MW3 it's exactly like the last one. Stupidly difficult missions, Checkpoints are practically none existant once again, no actual improvement in graphics or gameplay, the story line is all over the place. I can't even remember the names of the characters I played as because quite frankly I don't give a **** about them. Should I even go on about the online? save your money and get treat yourself with Battlefield 3. You're welcome. *SPOILER* This new developer has had the audacity to kill off one of the main characters. Who do they think they are exactly?? Expand
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Contrary to popular belief I am not a BF3 troll here to slander MW3, I am a Call of Duty fan who has been let down again. I loved MW and was even a fan of MW2, got hyped by black ops and was slightly let down but at least black ops was different. MW3 is a cut and paste of MW2 with a scope that flops over and a few new perks. I have been extremely disappointed by this glorified $60 mapContrary to popular belief I am not a BF3 troll here to slander MW3, I am a Call of Duty fan who has been let down again. I loved MW and was even a fan of MW2, got hyped by black ops and was slightly let down but at least black ops was different. MW3 is a cut and paste of MW2 with a scope that flops over and a few new perks. I have been extremely disappointed by this glorified $60 map pack and will be selling this lemon party, in order to put money towards something better... like paying a tranny to punch me in the nuts. Expand
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I am a call of duty fan, Im in it for the multiplayer, got my copy of MW3 yesterday, ran home popped it in,
    and heres whats up;
    They seem to have spent all there time tweaking the frills and inconsequential nic naks, rather than focus on game play, they should know everyone who is buying MW3 has been playing black ops for months. Black Ops is like butter to MW3's sand paper. Cons:
    I am a call of duty fan, Im in it for the multiplayer, got my copy of MW3 yesterday, ran home popped it in,
    and heres whats up;

    They seem to have spent all there time tweaking the frills and inconsequential nic naks, rather than focus on game play, they should know everyone who is buying MW3 has been playing black ops for months. Black Ops is like butter to MW3's sand paper.
    Cons: 1)clunky controls, same old layout, just feels slow, like your avatar is 350lb, which means its a Campers paradise...running and gunning,,will leave you wondering how did this guy shoot me from 200 yrds and around a corner, 2)maps are uncreative, they look great, but 90% of what you see you can't interact with, there is no freedom of movement, or freedom to be creative in your play
    3) lastly its just not an improvement on Black Ops, we want to see the envelope pushed, not a turd polished
    4) Spawning is mind bogglingly terrible,,,I can't even begin to say how poor this aspect is, I don't think I even have the words to articulate the almost blatant neglect
    5) and lastly,, after a couple of hours of play, and achieving a 35 rank I just stopped,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, and thought this is hellof boring, I can't believe the nerve of Activision asking people to pay $50 bucks for the elite package of such a amazingly boring multiplayer game,,,,

    I'm going over to best buy right now and returning it, not even going to give it another go
    Expand
  40. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    A pathetic rehash of a game everyone has played at least 4 times already. This game is absolutely terrible in every way conceivable, from the short, terrible campaign to the rehashed, overdone multiplayer. 0/10
  41. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Have you played Modern Warfare? How about Modern Warfare 2 or Black Ops? If you said yes to any of those questions, then you've already played Modern Warfare 3.
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    The game is not for 2011. It was possible, would put the balls in the works, but the engine is very old and is just copy-paste. I hope if the continuation of the series and will be, on the other engine.
  43. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    It comes as no surprise, but the ramblings of the internet rang true: this game should have been an expansion pack, not a full retail release. The storyline is incoherent, fails to deliver any sort of interesting grip on the character, and eventually throws out huge plot lines in favor of a quick tie-up that makes the job feel like the game's story was cut down the middle, only to beIt comes as no surprise, but the ramblings of the internet rang true: this game should have been an expansion pack, not a full retail release. The storyline is incoherent, fails to deliver any sort of interesting grip on the character, and eventually throws out huge plot lines in favor of a quick tie-up that makes the job feel like the game's story was cut down the middle, only to be released as the inevitable MW4. Infinity Ward has made the first true milking of a franchise, adding in one single interesting aspect to the game: survival. Yet, oddly familiar, it plays almost identical to Zombies, one of the main driving forces for WaW and Black Ops (made by Treyarch). Some bonus points for not making a complete repeat, but it's hard to be excited over something we've all seen before. Of course, by looking at all of the players online, you notice they all have around 0-20 gamerscore in MW3 at the moment, simply because they bought this for the multiplayer, the infamous wife-replacing, work ditching fiasco that we've all played before. And here it is again, basically in the same form as before. Kudos on the deathstreaks and 16 launched maps, IW, but even though your formula is "tried and true", this game is old, already, and in need of serious nerfing patches from day one. This game turned out to be the biggest disappointment of the year, and the first slip down for the CoD franchise. Here's to hoping that they make something worth the $60 price of admission next time. (P.S. Campaign beat in seven hours... are you kidding?) Expand
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    sigh.
    i thought this was gonna get good reviews but guess what? no when i played single player on the shop it was the same old crap
    looks like this is a Money wasted 3rd time game, glad i didn't buy it.
    Get milked hard.
  45. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    This was simply an over-hyped expansion pack. Many of the things I felt Black Ops did well seem to have been ditched as they essentially took MW2, added a few new things, and called it a new game entirely. I bought this only to hold me until Skyrim's release and sadly I'm going to return it before Skyrim and continue playing Batman.
  46. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    the fact of the matter is you shouldnt say something about a game that you know little about and havent played it but after 5 years of COD being the same thing over and over again and once myself being a fan... it has finally gotten to the point where its been enough... Black Ops was the last straw and itself was a decent game at the time but it finally got me thinking that you shouldntthe fact of the matter is you shouldnt say something about a game that you know little about and havent played it but after 5 years of COD being the same thing over and over again and once myself being a fan... it has finally gotten to the point where its been enough... Black Ops was the last straw and itself was a decent game at the time but it finally got me thinking that you shouldnt expect anything new from this Franchise because it will continue to be the repetitive, re copied, re pasted, and re disappointment. If running around, shooting mindlessly, screaming at 12 year olds, creating the same class you made for the last 5 years, and prestiging your life away... then sure this is your game Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    i gave it a 4 because of good single player. but the multiplayer was AWFUL, player about 10-15 matches and it was one of the worst experiences i had even though i was doing really well. going from battlefield 3 to this is a pretty massive difference that it hurts my eyes, what an eyesore of a game.
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    I've had Thanksgiving turkey naps last longer than the single player campaign did, but at least after those I wake up feeling refreshed. The multi-player is still nicely polished and remains a benchmark for online play, but these cookie cutter releases are rushed out so often that it's too embarrassing to be caught playing it. There's a reason Grand Theft Auto and Elder Scrolls don't whipI've had Thanksgiving turkey naps last longer than the single player campaign did, but at least after those I wake up feeling refreshed. The multi-player is still nicely polished and remains a benchmark for online play, but these cookie cutter releases are rushed out so often that it's too embarrassing to be caught playing it. There's a reason Grand Theft Auto and Elder Scrolls don't whip out new releases every year. It takes time to put out a quality product. After all, you get what you wait for. And with MW3, I feel like I waited in line for Justin Bieber tickets. Expand
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Well, this game is complete garbage. Wish I didn't preorder... This is a disgrace to FPS. If you played one, you've played them all. Same thing. I had high expectations and was completely disappointed
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do notMultiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Why bother making a new great game when you can just take your last one and "polish" it a litte? This is IW's mindset behind MW3. Never have I seen such a lazy excuse for a "new" iteration in a game series.

    The campaign is mindless and cliche as expected, but MW3 goes out of its way to show you how uterly unoriginal it is. The visuals are practically identical to MW2, and so is most
    Why bother making a new great game when you can just take your last one and "polish" it a litte? This is IW's mindset behind MW3. Never have I seen such a lazy excuse for a "new" iteration in a game series.

    The campaign is mindless and cliche as expected, but MW3 goes out of its way to show you how uterly unoriginal it is. The visuals are practically identical to MW2, and so is most everything else. EVERY single add on to the multiplayer is directly taken from other games. Kill confirmed knocked off from Crysis 2. Halo's Oddball is taken and given a different name here. Gears of War's Horde mode is copied, but with less than impressive AI, is just another tack on. This is laziness at its grandest. If you really liked MW2, then play MW2. This is a 60 dollar polish of it.
    Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    A 4 hour campaign, lack of innovation, old engine, recycled models, textures, sound files and the gameplay is the same as in MW2. If you look at it as a game for itself, it isn't bad, but if you look at it as the third game of the MW series, which it is, then it's just a damn expensive update.
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What a scam. I thought I was going to get a new game, but it looks like Infinity Ward's team of 3 people spent a few days reskinning MW2 and hashed this trash out.
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    For a game that feverishly claims to be the most anticipated title this year, nay, the greatest title of all time, this failed to meet my all already low expectations. The main feature that Infinity Ward relied upon to sell the game, the multiplayer, is still the same as it was when it was implemented in Modern Warfare 2, with a few slight changes and new perks. Not only that, they've alsoFor a game that feverishly claims to be the most anticipated title this year, nay, the greatest title of all time, this failed to meet my all already low expectations. The main feature that Infinity Ward relied upon to sell the game, the multiplayer, is still the same as it was when it was implemented in Modern Warfare 2, with a few slight changes and new perks. Not only that, they've also copied the weapon system from Battlefield 3, despite the fact that MW3 claims to be the greater game. Shameless unbalance, lazy and horrible map design and possibly the most immature community to date (I thought this game was an 18? What are little kids doing on it?). Luckily I wasn't sucked in by the same hype that's been everywhere lately, despite Activision's shameless attempt of trying to gain publicity by leaking the video of the girl getting blown up, and as such I didn't expect much from this game, I was still disappointed however, and feel the only good part of this game is the fact it's the last one in the series. But knowing IW and Activision they're try and shovel 5 more games with less character and gameplay than the last. Expand
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Picked this up on release after playing Modern Warfare 2 last night to prepare. Guess what? It was the SAME GAME. So entirely disappointed, I can't believe they hyped up this game to have it be nothing more than a map pack released for $60 that runs worse online. It's really sad what the horrible progression of this game has seen since COD4. I'd rather play the original, which was actuallyPicked this up on release after playing Modern Warfare 2 last night to prepare. Guess what? It was the SAME GAME. So entirely disappointed, I can't believe they hyped up this game to have it be nothing more than a map pack released for $60 that runs worse online. It's really sad what the horrible progression of this game has seen since COD4. I'd rather play the original, which was actually unique, new, and good. Expand
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing.I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing. I have played about 1h of multiplayer and I am totally sick of it! More campers than ever with a lot of 12 year old kids, way too easy to spawn kill, overpowered weapons etc. I could go on for a whole essay if I would have the energy to. There are a lot of glitches also, of course the game was just released but these are simple, easy glitches that should have been noticed instantly during the beta tests. The maps are all recycled with the same looks as earlier maps, nothing new. I am really disappointed mostly because I waited out in the cold rain for almost 12 hours with my friends and we really were expecting a good game. That this is not. Save your time, go play something else because this is not worth it. At least I can still sell this on eBay for 90% of the money. Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I like the multiplayer, but the game doesn't cost what it cost, another year, same CoD, poor graphics. poor narration. It's just like the same Michael Bay's movie every year.
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Played this, this morning and its just a desaturated mess of a game, the whole thing needs to be updated to make it good, the textures are low, the shadows are to dark, the lighting is terrible, the only colour seems to be shades of gray and the sounds are just annoying, bad show IW, Sledgehammer and Activition, bad show
  59. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    I've played through the singleplayer and enough hours of the multiplayer to get a good idea of what the game is like.

    The singleplayer is terrible, like all of the recent games, but with an even sillier plot. This is forgivable however - who plays this game for the singleplayer? The multiplayer... well... its the exact same thing as the previous two. And to be honest, I'm sick of it.
    I've played through the singleplayer and enough hours of the multiplayer to get a good idea of what the game is like.

    The singleplayer is terrible, like all of the recent games, but with an even sillier plot. This is forgivable however - who plays this game for the singleplayer?

    The multiplayer... well... its the exact same thing as the previous two. And to be honest, I'm sick of it. Sure the previous games were good, but you can only play so much of it before getting bored. Infinity Ward could have at least TRIED to change things up but they didn't. And I feel ripped off for paying full price for it, something like this should be an expansion or DLC or something. It doesn't justify purchasing a new game.
    Expand
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year.
    Expand
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    But oh my god people, You were all saying this was going to be the greatest game ever. Battlefield 3 has nothing on your great innovative Modern Warfare games. Why so serious? We told you it was going to be a rehash but none of you really listened did you? You went out and bought it because it's the cool thing to do, All of your friends have the game. At least you made Activi$ion happy byBut oh my god people, You were all saying this was going to be the greatest game ever. Battlefield 3 has nothing on your great innovative Modern Warfare games. Why so serious? We told you it was going to be a rehash but none of you really listened did you? You went out and bought it because it's the cool thing to do, All of your friends have the game. At least you made Activi$ion happy by giving them $60 for a MW2 DLC. In return, Activi$ion used your money to pay off the critics to give it good reviews influencing more purchases. Oh yeah, Call of Duty is soooo much better than Battlefield 3 LOL. Expand
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    They literally
    LITERALLY did not change a thing from MW2.
    Same weapons. Same streaks. Same perks. Same graphics (not even joking) Same **** cluttered maps with random fire on the streets. Autoaim is SO strong even on multiplayer that you can aim 10 inches away from someone and it'll still hit them. Same audio down to the rank up music. Even the same **** tags and loading screens. THE
    They literally
    LITERALLY did not change a thing from MW2.
    Same weapons.
    Same streaks.
    Same perks.
    Same graphics (not even joking)
    Same **** cluttered maps with random fire on the streets. Autoaim is SO strong even on multiplayer that you can aim 10 inches away from someone and it'll still hit them. Same audio down to the rank up music. Even the same **** tags and loading screens.
    THE SAME.
    ****.
    LOADING SCREENS.
    Blackops wasn't this **** rehashed even. It is seriously just MW2 with a new story, and honestly did you even play for the story?
    Expand
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The same stuff thats been churned out since they discovered COD4 made infinity x cash. Honestly, there is nothing new or innovative here, its playing to a crowd people who average in age at 12
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Just played MW3 for a few hours as well and it's no surprised that it plays just as it has been called MW2.5. Just look at the difference between the previous CoDs up until CoD4 which was revolutionary at the time for FPS and now, MW2 to MW3. Extremely disappointing and lazy game development from the same graphical dated graphical engine to the HUDs, sounds and the gameplay formula. WhileJust played MW3 for a few hours as well and it's no surprised that it plays just as it has been called MW2.5. Just look at the difference between the previous CoDs up until CoD4 which was revolutionary at the time for FPS and now, MW2 to MW3. Extremely disappointing and lazy game development from the same graphical dated graphical engine to the HUDs, sounds and the gameplay formula. While I can't deny that people can still have fun with the game as long as they want more of the same, the novelty of the series in itself has worn off and the differences and improvements with MW3 do little in the way of shaking off deeply as the same game we've been playing for years. Also, same crappy micheal bay campaign. Overall, once you've played one of them after CoD4, you've played them all. No need for this game. Expand
  65. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Been playing all night. The maps do not feel right,. The no scooping and drops shots still being int he game are just stupid. And the MOAB is just as game breaking as the nuke was in MW2. The most damning aspect is that it is the same game as MW1, MW2, and Black ops. Huge disappointment.
  66. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    The sounds are barely improved if at all same with graphics. I don't feel the game has stepped up enough to call it a 3, they were better off just saying it was mw2: 2.5 or episode 2 or DLC and just ending it there and waiting 2-3 years before putting out another call of duty. The as far as the gameplay and story they are both solid I guess, and will provide the same amount of replay justThe sounds are barely improved if at all same with graphics. I don't feel the game has stepped up enough to call it a 3, they were better off just saying it was mw2: 2.5 or episode 2 or DLC and just ending it there and waiting 2-3 years before putting out another call of duty. The as far as the gameplay and story they are both solid I guess, and will provide the same amount of replay just as MW2 did for those who really REALLY love COD if you don't I wouldn't suggest picking this game up. Expand
  67. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game. Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps.I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game. Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. Heck, You can go farther back and buy Call of Duty 4 for even less! The game is simply a cash in , plain and simple. Expand
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The Singleplayer is ok. The multiplayer is really bad. Get this only if you like to follow the stream. I have no idea how a game like this manages to sell millions of copies. Either the gaming industry and consumers consist of a much younger audience, or something drastically casual has washed over it. Skyrim is probably the game to buy this november.
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hello Modern Warfare 2.5... Feeling like someone re-boxed an old mission pack addon for MW2 somewhat. Other than some slightly polished graphical updates, it's all same 'ol, same 'ol so far... disappointed with the whole game.
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    What did you expect. Of course it is the same old same old.

    Lets see what has changed since the last installment: Console tech? nope. Core demographic? nope. Online tech? nope. Expectations of fans? nope. The dependency of game review sites on big game publisher $$$? Nope. Of course this game is gonna be 99% the same as the last one and 99% of the reviews are gonna be 90+ on
    What did you expect. Of course it is the same old same old.

    Lets see what has changed since the last installment: Console tech? nope. Core demographic? nope. Online tech? nope. Expectations of fans? nope. The dependency of game review sites on big game publisher $$$? Nope. Of course this game is gonna be 99% the same as the last one and 99% of the reviews are gonna be 90+ on Metacritic. It is what it is: an insanely profitable IP franchise for a huge corporation that cares only about ROI and executive bonuses. My prediction: there will be a COD: MW4 within 13 months and it will be 99% the same as this game and it will get 90+ on Metacritic. Now go insult strangers through your headset while shooting them in the face.
    Expand
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    If you play any Call of Duty, you've played MW3. Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a newAfter playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a new package and call it Modern Warfare 3. Contrary to all the "VIDEO GAME JOURNALISTS" that give this game a 80% or higher this game is nothing new and they should have just called it Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 2011 edition, you are basically paying $60 on a expansion pack, A very poorly made expansion pack. Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Graphics are a joke. Feels like your a little kid running around the maps with your little head bobbing around. Slowly but surely the great franchise is dying, but with releases like this it wont be slowly. MW3 is great if you if your a 15 year old kid. Save your money and time this ones going back to the store.
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After all the feedback from the community.....still no Dinosaurs. We asked for Dinosaurs. We want Dinosaurs. We SHALL have Dinosaurs! Reddit commands it.
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Mordern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and sound ofMordern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and sound of weaponary lack any realness in the game. There really is nothing new that this Game does that makes it worth the plastic it uses. Expand
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After playing Call of duty games while over at friends house for a few years now I finally decided to go and get one myself. I said "What could the harm be?" Well... everything. From poor graphics to the same game engine being used, all that MW3 feels like is a $60 map pack with new game balancing done. Absolutely nothing other than skill perks and Halo Style game making was added. TheAfter playing Call of duty games while over at friends house for a few years now I finally decided to go and get one myself. I said "What could the harm be?" Well... everything. From poor graphics to the same game engine being used, all that MW3 feels like is a $60 map pack with new game balancing done. Absolutely nothing other than skill perks and Halo Style game making was added. The colors are washed out. And, I'm pretty sure GameCube games looked better than this steaming POS. Will be asking for a refund in the morning! Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Best Buy let a bunch of people in to play the game before picking up the reserved copy, i was one of them. And using the best "no pun" equipment and sound they have to offer i did notice one thing, same same same.. i actually thought about swapping my 5 bucks over to another game, even ordered a phone plane to get a special mw3 case. im a fan of the series but after finishing the campaignBest Buy let a bunch of people in to play the game before picking up the reserved copy, i was one of them. And using the best "no pun" equipment and sound they have to offer i did notice one thing, same same same.. i actually thought about swapping my 5 bucks over to another game, even ordered a phone plane to get a special mw3 case. im a fan of the series but after finishing the campaign and now deploying into full scale multilayer exp, well yes this is the meat and potatoes but its like christmas, always knowing it will be a turkey, was hoping for something beefier and more importantly tastier this time around. immediately i found that it has many new perks and trinkets and 3 different care package types. maps are not very creative and tbh im a bit pissed that these trinkets are to smoke screen one to see the fact that i got robbed , and what i mean is i went all the way, elite pass etc.. even angrier i check many reviews, and read many which give the game a 10, they slam this game left and right, have nothing really great to say and a 10!!! .. this is what ratings have come down to.. buying them.. i will say that the campaign started off slow, confusing but it did finish off splendidly , leaving many questions (i.e soap) answered and picked up right where it left off with 2.. my roomate is laying spec ops and says its the highlight so far, well im just disappointed. every year, the hype , the promise and then the take ..took me for my money.. but hey not a total loss. if spec ops is that good and multiplayer can hold me over a month or so then hey its better than most games do.. but im selling my unused elite membership for 30 bucks, any takers are welcome.. i will not pay for 1 single map. i bought "the other game" and hated the campaign as well, but its multiplayer delivered on many accounts. they promised bigger and better maps. maybe better but still very linear which time and time again they said they would "have an open world fps multi feel" bullsh*T.. who ever says that this is an awesome game, all fresh ideas, way better than ever, well do yourself a favor, dont ride on their "illusions" rent it.. the greatest part so far is the ending, its did bring the story to a conclusion as well as answer some things that left us cod fans mouths gaped open mw2.. but im hoping spec ops is as good as my roomate says.. dont listen to me, go read these "tens and 9.1-5 reviews, ie 1up) and read between the lines, they are paid to say .. they gripe about many things i do but give it a close to perfect score? journalism/ratings/politics are bought by money.. this game broke the hearts f many cod fans, millions of them, i wanted it to be just a little different.. not alot of the same with a few perk changes to try and blind me from what is on my screen.. like i always say, trust yourself, but rent this first, check out your buddies.. and if you are just one of them need to have it, well i must admit, i was in a way the same cod guy.. not anymore. AND NEVER LET ANYONE TELL YOU THAT YOU FINISHED A GAME SO FAST BECAUSE YOU NEED TO SET THE DIFFICULTY HIGHER, A GOOD SOLID CAMPAIGN IS JUST THAT.. ONE WHICH CAN NOT BE BEATEN IN 4 HOUR S EVEN IF SET ON BABY EASY DIFFICULTY, THATS A COP OUT FOR NO/LITTLE CONTENT.. SETTING IT HIGHER JUST MEANS YOU DIE MORE, REPLAY SAME SCENES MORE HENCE "LONGER CAMPAIGN.. THIS GOES 4 ALL GAMES.

    BEAT THIS IN 5 HOURS NORMAL SETTING
    BUT THE GAME IS DESIGNED FOR ITS MULTIPLAYER, ONE WHICH HAS GROWN TO BE VERY STALE AFTER YEARS OF NOTHING NEW, EXCEPT FOR MY BANK ACCOUNT.. SO FREAKIN TIRED OF THIS.
    Expand
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments fromIt's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Same your money. Expand
  79. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Let me pose this question. why does a new FPS need to be released every year by the same developer like a sports game (FiFa, Madden, Tiger Woods, NBA2whatever)? Is it even necessary for a sports game to release a whole new game every year when rosters change or teams move cities? This could have easily been an expanision pack to Mw2 or even something completely different for Black Ops. WhyLet me pose this question. why does a new FPS need to be released every year by the same developer like a sports game (FiFa, Madden, Tiger Woods, NBA2whatever)? Is it even necessary for a sports game to release a whole new game every year when rosters change or teams move cities? This could have easily been an expanision pack to Mw2 or even something completely different for Black Ops. Why does the COD franchise feel they need to release something completely independent of Black Ops after people just spent money not only only buying Black Ops but then buying the DLC for it.

    It seems like Activision doesn't care and this isn't new behavior for them. Tony Hawk Pro skater was driven into the ground by Activison and Neversoft. Ironically it was EA who stole their skateboarding video game glory with the SKATE franchise. I wouldn't say that there's no room for COD, but they should think about changing their business models if they want to keep FPS enthusiasts and novices from venturing off then they better spice up the formula because the old formula is stale & expensive.
    Expand
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What an absolute mess. At this point, Call of Duty has become another by the numbers, copy and paste shooter franchise. I bought this game expecting something enjoyable and fun. What I got was yet another mindless corridor shooter that plays the game for me. The multiplayer is an absolute abomination as well. It's amazing to me that in the time since Call of Duty 4 has released the seriesWhat an absolute mess. At this point, Call of Duty has become another by the numbers, copy and paste shooter franchise. I bought this game expecting something enjoyable and fun. What I got was yet another mindless corridor shooter that plays the game for me. The multiplayer is an absolute abomination as well. It's amazing to me that in the time since Call of Duty 4 has released the series has almost single handedly killed the FPS genre. This game just puts the final nail in the coffin. Expand
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game was just so lackluster. If you enjoy mw2 you'll enjoy this "new" game its basically the except smaller maps more people more lag more camping and less fun with a horribly forgettable campaign and boring modes it is fun when play with four friends locally though.
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a glorified DLC. Same graphics as well. Usually if a trilogy is at an end, they would go out with a bang, but no, they copied MW2 and pasted it onto a disc. Not good.
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Not enough has changed since MW2, same graphics, short campaign (shorter than Black Ops imo). I kinda get the feeling I paid $60 for a map pack. I'm a complete idiot for buying this, and refuse to buy another CoD title again. Please, do not make the same mistake I did.
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    No innovation, this game is just an update of the preceding. The graphics are the same and the gameplay is the same. Map is only a few were added, I am disappointed.
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Quality versus Quantity truly will shine...How long did activision think they would get away with making cut and paste games. Activision needs to realize that lining your pockets with money doesnt necessarily equal success. Black Ops had the same problem which should have been called Call of Duty: Classic Warfare 60's.
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I can't believe i fell for another call of duty game. It's clearly the same game since 2007 and by the looks of it that's never going to change. I understand how the users are giving negative scores, If the people do not speak up then nothing will ever be done! They will just keep on releasing the same crap every year. Take a look at what Sledgehammer Gamesâ
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Seriously, it's the same game...again. From few MP games I have played, I couldn't tell if I was playing MW2 or MW3.The only give away was the map. The new killstreaks idea was a sad attempt at trying to be fresh, but overall it's another flop as expected. The Singleplayer has been pretty cool, but you deserve a 0 for your lack of innovation in this already stale multiplayer experience.Seriously, it's the same game...again. From few MP games I have played, I couldn't tell if I was playing MW2 or MW3.The only give away was the map. The new killstreaks idea was a sad attempt at trying to be fresh, but overall it's another flop as expected. The Singleplayer has been pretty cool, but you deserve a 0 for your lack of innovation in this already stale multiplayer experience. Change it up. Expand
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Personally I have no idea how this game has so many positive reviews. The critics must have been seeing a different game than I was. This game is a complete visual atrocity. It is the SAME exact game from MW2 with the exception they went through and took all the perks they liked from every other game to add into MW3. This game did not live up to the hype and I was thoroughlyPersonally I have no idea how this game has so many positive reviews. The critics must have been seeing a different game than I was. This game is a complete visual atrocity. It is the SAME exact game from MW2 with the exception they went through and took all the perks they liked from every other game to add into MW3. This game did not live up to the hype and I was thoroughly disappointed... I can't believe I payed $60 for a 5 year old game. The game engine is exactly the same, the graphics are exactly the same, and the sound is still terrible. I enjoyed BO and MW2 but this game? No... The only positive things I can say about it are 1) They put the Delta guys back into a game and did a good job with it. 2) I can still resell this and get my money back but I can never get the time back I wasted on this garbage. Way to go Activision, looks like you lost the battle with EA. Stop selling sub par products to loyal fans - The title alone won't sell you 50 million copies next time after this! Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty has been a 'copy and paste' job since the success of COD MW1, they've used the same engine for the last 8 years making minor tweaks to it, changes that should have been done the first time around not the 4th, the maps are recycled, the spawn points and weapons are ludicrous that make the game require no skill at all and caters for 10 year old kids. A word to Activision if youCall of Duty has been a 'copy and paste' job since the success of COD MW1, they've used the same engine for the last 8 years making minor tweaks to it, changes that should have been done the first time around not the 4th, the maps are recycled, the spawn points and weapons are ludicrous that make the game require no skill at all and caters for 10 year old kids. A word to Activision if you want peoples money so much you might as well pay the developers to go door to door with a hooded mask, a burlap sack and a gun demanding they put their money into the bag it would be money better spent, everybody wins Activision gets the money they obviously crave and the world is not forced to endure another poorly designed and executed Call of Duty game. Expand
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Try and play free for all. With dying no longer being an issue in getting your killstreak rewards, the radar is constantly red with enemy stuff. And since all the maps are ridiculously small, there is nowhere you're safe for even 3 seconds. Literally.
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    horrible game. this is the same game every 2 years. why do they keep doing this? this is an inferiror game to black ops, a game made by the lowly treyarch. things could not get any worse for "infinity ward"
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I have played this game for several hours now and everything about it has me sick to my stomach. The audio, the graphics, the twitchy gun play. This game hasn't change anything at all since Call of Duty 4. If you are buying this game in hopes of something better or different don't, but if you don't mind paying 60 dollars for new maps then by all means help yourself.
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    disappointing game,boring campaing levels and the multiplayer is the same as mw2.I loved modern warfare 1 because it brings innovation to the gender and multiplayer made the game been amazing but after that each call of duty game is more of the same.
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The multiplayer is so awful that after I sell it, I'm going to pirate it and beat that because I started the campaign and it seemed somewhat worthwhile.
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    There is nothing positive to say about this game. I knew there'd be no innovation, but I was at least hoping for a new zombies campaign. Spec Ops is just stupid. Campaign is incredibally forgetable. I wanted to like the multiplayer I really did after having so much fun with previous titles, but after my recent play with some fresh multiplayer it was really hard to get back into the anThere is nothing positive to say about this game. I knew there'd be no innovation, but I was at least hoping for a new zombies campaign. Spec Ops is just stupid. Campaign is incredibally forgetable. I wanted to like the multiplayer I really did after having so much fun with previous titles, but after my recent play with some fresh multiplayer it was really hard to get back into the an experience that just feels outdated. SPOILER ALERT: THIS GAME BLOWS. Expand
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same nonsense. Hardly any change from CoD 4. It's basically selling the same game in a new case. Same mechanics, same gameplay and outdated graphics.
  97. Fay
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I have played other cod games and i have slowly seen this one coming as they gain a bigger fanbase and more money they dont feel the need to make a new game
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is absolutely the worse game I have ever seen. You can't recycle game after game and expect millions! Why are original, innovative games always regarded as trash? I am sick of game reviews constantly giving recycled gamed such as MW3 a high rating when many gaming companies painstakingly work and get NOTHING. An example of these hard-working companies would be Bethesda,This is absolutely the worse game I have ever seen. You can't recycle game after game and expect millions! Why are original, innovative games always regarded as trash? I am sick of game reviews constantly giving recycled gamed such as MW3 a high rating when many gaming companies painstakingly work and get NOTHING. An example of these hard-working companies would be Bethesda, Bethesda does not **** out a game every year constantly and have the audacity to let their games fall prey to hackers, problems ect; Bethesda spends years and years on their content, constantly perfecting and adding to give a sense of adventure. Anyways only the mentally deficient will rave this game, too blind to see its the same thing as the last game and the next one will be the same. Good luck burning 60$, I can get this trash in Bosnia for 5-10$...I Expand
  99. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I am rating this as low as possible so that MAYBE these guys will get the point that they need to stop taking advantage of consumers by repackaging the same game year in and year out. I would also like to point out how frustrating it is to have such lopsided performance issues on one console vs the other. The PS3 version of this game looks and runs sloppy. Detail, textures, frame rate,I am rating this as low as possible so that MAYBE these guys will get the point that they need to stop taking advantage of consumers by repackaging the same game year in and year out. I would also like to point out how frustrating it is to have such lopsided performance issues on one console vs the other. The PS3 version of this game looks and runs sloppy. Detail, textures, frame rate, lighting, effects are all terrible in comparison to the 360. It's clear to me that these web critics are paid off to write good reviews because I have read nothing but bs compared to what I have played. I wasted my money on this game and will be returning it for BF3 which I told myself I should have bought in the first place. I'm the idiot for letting them get my money once again. Expand
  100. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Iv played every COD game and the only ones I liked were the modern warfare ones, seems every year the series gets worse n worse, ima stop here with MW3 n buy BF from now on. Sure I get a KD of 40-1 but what's the point anymore for COD, the game has failed.
  101. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Welcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but isWelcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but is somewhat entertaining. Now for the worst part, the multiplayer. The maps have no direction and just seem like they've been thrown together. The hit detection is extremely horrible. Explosions have been nerfed, quick scoping has returned for what seems like the target age range for this game 8-12 year olds. I have had this game for 3 days and have 1 hour multiplayer play time because I am so disgusted with it. If you want an amazing first person shooter that is realistic and extremely fun to play, go pick up Battlefield 3 and let this game collect dust on the store shelves. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.