User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8601 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    Come on, man. Can we at least have something new? I paid 60 dollars just to open up the box and play the same goddamn game I did a year ago, 2 years ago, 3, 4, 5. I WILL buy a new Call of Duty game if it comes out, but only if there's something innovative in there, something new. At least spend more time crafting a campaign that lasts more than 4 **** hours. I finished it in one sitting.Come on, man. Can we at least have something new? I paid 60 dollars just to open up the box and play the same goddamn game I did a year ago, 2 years ago, 3, 4, 5. I WILL buy a new Call of Duty game if it comes out, but only if there's something innovative in there, something new. At least spend more time crafting a campaign that lasts more than 4 **** hours. I finished it in one sitting. We need something new. We are BEGGING for something new. Sure, there's something here for the die-hards whose only wish in life is more maps and a few new guns, but for the majority of people, we need something that doesn't look like it spent 2 months in development. Creativity fuels games and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 has none.

    Now if you'll excuse me, I'm gonna drop this game and get the 60 dollars I need for either Saints Row, Skyrim and The Darkness 2. Or any number of other games with a higher entertainment value than this.
    Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Have you seen those videos mocking about how easy it is to level up in multiplayer modes for Call of Duty?Okay! Now they are true. Reach level 20 takes less than two hours. The physics and movement are a flashback to Moder Warfare 2, absolutely. It made me miss the team deatmatch (Yes, burn me, fanboys) from "Black Ops". At least in that game did not seems to me that I was playing aHave you seen those videos mocking about how easy it is to level up in multiplayer modes for Call of Duty?Okay! Now they are true. Reach level 20 takes less than two hours. The physics and movement are a flashback to Moder Warfare 2, absolutely. It made me miss the team deatmatch (Yes, burn me, fanboys) from "Black Ops". At least in that game did not seems to me that I was playing a Counter Strike mod. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Game should be called "Call of Duty: More of the same x3". This game is not worth the money it's priced at, for 60 dollars you can do much more than buy a rehashed game that comes out year after year with no real changes. Let me just spare you the time by giving you a full run through of what this game does -Go onto multiplayer, shoot, shoot, shoot -Shoot some more during the multiplayerGame should be called "Call of Duty: More of the same x3". This game is not worth the money it's priced at, for 60 dollars you can do much more than buy a rehashed game that comes out year after year with no real changes. Let me just spare you the time by giving you a full run through of what this game does -Go onto multiplayer, shoot, shoot, shoot -Shoot some more during the multiplayer -Shoot and not do objectives, despite being in an objective game mode -Talk tons of trash and shoot, shoot, shoot and if you are into campaign, here is a slight run through of what you'll face -Stupid A.I that has not been improved since Call of Duty 2 -The continuation of a crappy story that has been going on since COD4 -Play as terrorist, oops, I mean Americans (THERES NO DIFFERENCE!) -Watch a little girl and her family die (I.W. like to watch children die I guess) The rest of the game is everything you've seen from virtual military based shooters over the past four years, and that isn't saying much. The only people who will enoy this game is either raging teens who think kill-farming is uber kewl, or those annoying machinima kids who think doing stupid things online will make them money. Save yourself the time and stay away from this overrated piece of plastic, go burn your 60 bucks on something more important, like paying your phone bill or getting food, or take someone on a date etc.etc Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I love the negative feedback this game is getting!!! Finally, a garbage ass game getting what it deserves. I can't believe people were actually stupid enough to pay for this game as well. MW2.1 the biggest crock of **** ever. One big problem is that people will continue to buy the CoD franchise games as long as they're being made, no matter what is put into it. Activision just wantsI love the negative feedback this game is getting!!! Finally, a garbage ass game getting what it deserves. I can't believe people were actually stupid enough to pay for this game as well. MW2.1 the biggest crock of **** ever. One big problem is that people will continue to buy the CoD franchise games as long as they're being made, no matter what is put into it. Activision just wants to sell as many copies as possible to as many new players as possible. This is where the bull**** deathstreaks and killstreaks that you can get no matter your deaths come into play. They're trying to make it as noob friendly as possible. They don't give a **** about the people that days of gameplay into previous good CoD titles like CoD 2 and CoD 4, two of the many they got right. The drop out percentage of veteran players is totally outweighed by the new players coming in. They need to go back to the CoD 4 days. When simplicity and good mechanics reigned supreme over fancy graphics and explosions. I'll be playing Skyrim until CS: Global Offensive is released, which is where simple gameplay and skill will beat out 12 year old noobtubing children, with deathstreaks. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Even knowing it was going to be a MW2 clone, the game managed to disappoint me. The single player was entertaining enough, although combating the never ending horde of enemies that spawn until you progress past a certain point is getting old. I would have liked the campaign to have been longer, the story was good but the campaign was just way to short.

    The multiplayer is where I the
    Even knowing it was going to be a MW2 clone, the game managed to disappoint me. The single player was entertaining enough, although combating the never ending horde of enemies that spawn until you progress past a certain point is getting old. I would have liked the campaign to have been longer, the story was good but the campaign was just way to short.

    The multiplayer is where I the game disappointed me the most, and that's saying something from the already low expectations I had. Spawns are ridiculous in the game, after playing the multiplayer for a few hours, it astonishes me how often I kill someone to have them spawn behind me, or how often I spawn in an enemies path. The maps are all tiny full of winding corridors and very little open space. The guns respond terribly, and they all behave similarly (i.e. fire rate and stopping power). Kills come extremely easy, both ways, and take very little skill. Have had a few problems with lag so far, and it's not on my end, it's not that bad yet, but knowing the previous titles it will get worse with time. To me the multiplayer is just a chaotic mess, more akin to Halo than the COD titles I used to love playing. I give this a 3, because that's how many hours the campaign kept me entertained.
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    - Campaign is way too short ( they need to SORT THIS OUT!!) -The same graphics as MW2
    -Multilayer is the same apart from a few new things
    -COD Elite is **** why do i want to pay more money......
    -No doubt they wont be releasing any map packs for free, they are just in it for the money!!!!

    Luckily I didn't pay the full price of £44.99............WAY TOO MUCH!!!
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    I don't normally bother to review games, but after seeing Glen Schofields call to gamers to review the game, I figured, I would give him exactly what he wants/needs, but he won't like it. So here is the deal, I bought this game for the multiplayer, who didn't, it doesnt mean I won't play single player or anything else, just that my main goal is to enjoy multiplayer. CoD has offered a veryI don't normally bother to review games, but after seeing Glen Schofields call to gamers to review the game, I figured, I would give him exactly what he wants/needs, but he won't like it. So here is the deal, I bought this game for the multiplayer, who didn't, it doesnt mean I won't play single player or anything else, just that my main goal is to enjoy multiplayer. CoD has offered a very specific flavor of multiplayer that I have enjoyed, but this iteration actually felt off, not quite as good as MW2 or Black Ops. More importantly, the maps for multiplayer, are bland, mostly too hectic and feel ugly. I haven't found a single map that I have enjoyed greatly. That is not a good start. Even remade maps would have served better. The Single player so far is boring, disjointed, and already I feel disconnected from the characters I love, Soap and Price. They don't have the same flavor, and the (SPOILER) guy meant to protect the Russian president being shot by Makarov..... that felt rehashed and boring, I'm not sure I will even bother finishing single player. Survival has been enjoyable, but its just like another form of zombies, good but in the end nothing unique at all. In the end Ill play it, probably more then it would seemed based on my review, a little hypocritical I know. However, I already know now that BF3 for me has taken over the joy that I once held for the CoD series. It seems treating your stars like crap, forcing them to leave, and throwing random **** barely tested developers on a much loved series is just not a good idea. (No offense to Treyarch, they at least seemed to try and did ok) Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Feels like a cut and paste job that lost its charm along the way. As each Call of Duty has been released my levels of disappointment slowly increase. There's no doubt in my mind that Cod 4 was a class, the others on the other hand. Meh. Modern Warfare 3's multiplayer has no charm in my view. The maps feel rushed and unpolished compared to classics such as Backlot, Crossfire and CrashFeels like a cut and paste job that lost its charm along the way. As each Call of Duty has been released my levels of disappointment slowly increase. There's no doubt in my mind that Cod 4 was a class, the others on the other hand. Meh. Modern Warfare 3's multiplayer has no charm in my view. The maps feel rushed and unpolished compared to classics such as Backlot, Crossfire and Crash (Cod4) and the game play still has the usual frustrating broken points that came with its predecessor. Hit-markers are still a massive issue. Shotguns in particular- I have, on many occasions, one shot kill someone to the body from a good 5-10 metres away. But then i've also had multiple times where someone has been point blanc in front of me and i've shot them in the face only to watch in amazement as they don't die. Don't get me wrong there are some occasional fun times to be had. But one game on MW3 leaves me more frustrated then I ever was in my whole time of playing Cod 4 or even Battlefield 3. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I enjoyed MW1 multiplayer a lot, MW2 wasn't quite as good due to the focus on killstreaks but was an good game none-the-less, but MW3 does not live up to the Modern Warfare name at all. I was very disappointed in Black Ops for many reasons, namely the amount of lag and the map design that promoted a camping mentality to do well and I'm sad to say this has carried over to MW3 somehow. MW2,I enjoyed MW1 multiplayer a lot, MW2 wasn't quite as good due to the focus on killstreaks but was an good game none-the-less, but MW3 does not live up to the Modern Warfare name at all. I was very disappointed in Black Ops for many reasons, namely the amount of lag and the map design that promoted a camping mentality to do well and I'm sad to say this has carried over to MW3 somehow. MW2, among it's faults, was a good, fast paced game that actually rewarded people that moved around the map, and not in the corner to corner sence. As a 'run and gunner' I pride myself on being able to rely on my reflexes and perception, not on the amount of patience it takes to sit in a corner waiting for someone to run past and I did well as a runner. In Black Ops and MW3 this was lost in the combination of corners, choke points and bad map design. I don't understand how a team with many staff that built MW1 and 2 could create a game so closely resembling Black Ops which is made by a different developer. Everything from bad spawn points to shotty map design to lag that shouldn't be there to bad hit detection and even the graphic design mirrors Black Ops so closely that you could be forgiven for not knowing there are two different developers.
    If they had taken the MW2 architecture and netcode system, added the new maps and weapons and all that jazz and left it, it would be a decent game, but at the moment the only saving grace is the fairly interesting spec ops.
    The fact that I still actively play MW2 but am already sick of this game and it's dodgey calls and decisions shows just how dissimilar they are even though they are direct sequels, then add on the hype about lack of camping spots and choke points that came from the developers themselves and it almost boils down to a blatant lie to the consumer in that regards (much like Black Ops and it's oh so many promised features that where never fleshed out).
    As a parting word, all I can say is the multiplayer is a hassle to get through not the fun experience it is meant to be and a practise in frustration and my private, offensive vocabulary every time I play a match.
    Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Absolutely terrible game. CoD is ruined, each game is exactly the same as the previous one with just afew name changes. CoD used to be an amazing game, it's dead now.

    MW3 makes no improvements over the previous games, nothing is innovative or new. This game does not deserve the attention it gets - it is completely overhyped and not worth playing, people just think it's automatically good
    Absolutely terrible game. CoD is ruined, each game is exactly the same as the previous one with just afew name changes. CoD used to be an amazing game, it's dead now.

    MW3 makes no improvements over the previous games, nothing is innovative or new. This game does not deserve the attention it gets - it is completely overhyped and not worth playing, people just think it's automatically good because it's Call of duty and refuse to see the truth.
    Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Honestly thought I was playing MW2 untill a friend told me it was a copy of MS3. No thats not a joke I'm being serious. There is so little difference between games its insulting that this is a stand alone title and not DLC.
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    As a huge MW fan i cant help but say im extremely disappointed. its kind of like a bad dream that you cant wake up from while playing this game. the campaign mode was obviously not going to be that surprising because it was the end of the arc so it was what i expected it to be. the real down fall is the multiplayer.so let me just make a list of why this game is just as bad or worse thenAs a huge MW fan i cant help but say im extremely disappointed. its kind of like a bad dream that you cant wake up from while playing this game. the campaign mode was obviously not going to be that surprising because it was the end of the arc so it was what i expected it to be. the real down fall is the multiplayer.so let me just make a list of why this game is just as bad or worse then black ops which is surprising to me because i expect the **** from Treyarc but not from IW or Sledgehammer. i bought both BF3 and MW3 and let me say as of right now BF is dumping on this game and im not even a Battlefield fan which is sad in my eyes.

    1.Old Game New Polish
    they advertised this game like it was the greatest thing to happen to the cod series and let me say its really not. it made world at war and black ops both look decent.(which we all know they were terrible). Graphics are the same as the last 2 MWs and aren't that much better in HD or PC versions which was really disappointing at least BF Upped their game.

    2.ITS CALLED DEDICATED SERVERS.
    You would think with all the complaints they probably got about the fact that this game has always had problems lagging and host being an issue of abuse that they would fix it. Again it didn't happen in fact its a little worse. In my eyes there is nothing worse then shooting at someone and you die instantly only to watch the kill cam and see that he was looking at you a whole 1.5 seconds before he appeared on your screen. that's very irritating because i hate having my kill streak stopped short because of lag and hosting issues not to mention we are all sick of getting a loss on our record because some kid rage quits and turns his Xbox off taking everyone back to their own lobbies and everyone getting a loss because of one person.

    3.Small Maps and Flawed Spawn System
    OK im a fan of balanced maps and not having maps so big that a sniper can pick you off from extremely far away before you even know what hit you. but if your going to have these kind of small maps then there needs to be a fix in the spawn system. it is impossible to keep a streak because of the random spawn points in not just TDM or Kill Conformed but in all of the game types across the board. how is it that every time i engage in battle with one person no where near there initial spawn point does a kid pop up next to me and pick me off that is just annoying and unpleasant and hopefully will be patched SOON!!!

    4. MODDERS AND HACKERS
    I know im not the only one who loves leader boards and i know im not the only one to complain on how a billion dollar company cant manage such a small thing. you cant make leader boards and put out there how awesome it is or what a feat it would be to be on them if they are filled with kids who don't leave their basements and just mod and hack all day making the game for the rest of us a little bit less enjoyable stop being lazy and use some of our hard earned money that we put in your pocket and swing a banhammer please and thank you.

    5.Kill Streaks
    I don't know about you but there was nothing more satisfying to me then dropping a nuke after avoiding death for 25 kills(not camping) or how you could drop a predator missile, harrier strike, and then call in your pave low or ac130 and cause havoc for a pretty decent period of time. all that has been wiped away it seems in the blink of an eye with a care package being the best kill streak you can get. this is also dumb because if you use it you cant collect any of the care packages so its pretty much for your team mates and it can be shot down with one stinger before it drops anything so what a waste. the M.O.A.B. after 25 kills is OK but its not a game changer because ive still won games while being on the losing end of it so how is that an accomplishment if people can still destroy you when its activated? also i can tell the ac130 time has been reduced which is not cool. all in all i don't get excited anymore when i get any type of kill streak which is suppose to be the most exciting part of the game.

    6.Weapons
    The weapons in this game are ridiculously unbalanced. i know i know the higher you get the better the weapons but i remember when even the low level weapons gave you a little bit of a fighting chance but now its an uphill climb until you get the type 95(pretty much the famas) and that gun is better then most if not all the guns you unlock after that. the noob tube has been nerfed a lot which is OK but it still makes it so everyone either camps in a corner with the new overpowered 50 cal sniper or runs around with the type 95 there is no variety with the weapons anymore and its sad.

    So all in all the game is what you can expect from the broken sequels of the original cod. Hopefully the developers will realize that we spend our hard earned money to pay for these games and the least they can do is give us a game that feels like an actual game and not like DLC or a polished terd.
    Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    MW3 or should I say MW2 again? Let's face the facts here people, you're paying for an overpriced map pack.

    The same crappy game, running on the same crappy engine, with recycled buildings from COD 4. This game deserves nothing but a bad rating. 10 million dumbasses is all I have to say. Infinity Ward/Sledgehammer are lazy developers that are only interested with the sales of the game and
    MW3 or should I say MW2 again? Let's face the facts here people, you're paying for an overpriced map pack.

    The same crappy game, running on the same crappy engine, with recycled buildings from COD 4. This game deserves nothing but a bad rating. 10 million dumbasses is all I have to say. Infinity Ward/Sledgehammer are lazy developers that are only interested with the sales of the game and making sure that the â
    Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. I hoped activision would have changed somethings about the game play or even created a new engine. This game is the same as the last 2 with updated graphics and reset multi-player rankings is all. I suggest you go and pick up black ops if you already do no own it. Black ops actually brought something new to the table, the guns actually have recoil on blacksCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. I hoped activision would have changed somethings about the game play or even created a new engine. This game is the same as the last 2 with updated graphics and reset multi-player rankings is all. I suggest you go and pick up black ops if you already do no own it. Black ops actually brought something new to the table, the guns actually have recoil on blacks ops, Overall this game is good for people who like to play the as me game as the last model,but for people like me who want something new i suggest you not buy it. Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I have supported Modern Warfare through its iterations, but this one has really been a letdown. it felt very re-packaged. No new gameplay mechanics and the maps feel small. Also sprinting everywhere is getting old, its not realistic and it feels cheap. IF you make MW4 please, PLEASE don't hype it up and let us down. For the price vs what was delivered: 0/10
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    the hit detection is the worst THE game engine IS LIKE PS2/XBOX ???
    the maps is is more like coby past and some modification from COD4
    the game freeze my ps3
    i wish i can vote 1-
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I don't understand why we keep paying for the same game... They should of stopped at cod4 and ended on a good note. I hope that people will learn their lesson this time around and not continue to buy they games anymore or at least till they decided to actually make a new game.
  18. BLk
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare is in need of an overhaul, and with is third installment, it has never before been so apparent. Everything here is overly failure, lacks any attempt at novelty. Outdated graphics, stale gameplay, and a predictable story all come together for the most underwhelming iteration yet. I honestly feel like i'm playing an expansion pack.
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    First let me say I am Very glad i rented this at redbox & did not buy it, it isnt worth it.I have spent about a good 10 hrs playing mw3 and it's really sad & pathetic how Activision cheesing millions of gamers out there. Bad maps, rehashed graphics, sounds & animations with small updates here and there. I am officially done with cod for a while. Don't believe all the fantasy hype. It's allFirst let me say I am Very glad i rented this at redbox & did not buy it, it isnt worth it.I have spent about a good 10 hrs playing mw3 and it's really sad & pathetic how Activision cheesing millions of gamers out there. Bad maps, rehashed graphics, sounds & animations with small updates here and there. I am officially done with cod for a while. Don't believe all the fantasy hype. It's all about $ to those websites/magazines & YouTube channels. Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Well I jumped right on the band wagon and bought this game without reading any user reviews I wish I had. Overall I am very disappointed. Maybe the developers felt if it ain't broke don't fix it, but I think they have ended up with a stale game, same stuff repeated. It is not a new MW game its a map pack for MW2 and no more. I am a PC player and I can't understand why the dedicated serversWell I jumped right on the band wagon and bought this game without reading any user reviews I wish I had. Overall I am very disappointed. Maybe the developers felt if it ain't broke don't fix it, but I think they have ended up with a stale game, same stuff repeated. It is not a new MW game its a map pack for MW2 and no more. I am a PC player and I can't understand why the dedicated servers are un-ranked. I'm in Ireland and don't have a great net connection but at least with dedicated servers I could find one with good ping but what's the point if you cant rank up on them, so I am forced to go the P2P option, which is, for me at least, a very inferior way of playing. You are at the mercy of lag, whom ever is the host has the advantage. Also with the p2p games it just feels like I am spending more time in game lobbies waiting for players to join than in game and when in game you get the always annoying mitigating host message. I'll stick with Black Ops for my COD kicks, enjoying BF3 at the mo and I'm looking forward to Skyrim tomorrow. Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    No innovation whatsoever except for a few maps and weapons/tweaks. While some may think this is an amazing game, its just the same game we've been playing for the past few years with a new number slapped onto it. Seriously, I regret getting this again. Just the fact that they release this game every year, I wouldn't be surprised if they announced another Call of Duty game in a month. ThisNo innovation whatsoever except for a few maps and weapons/tweaks. While some may think this is an amazing game, its just the same game we've been playing for the past few years with a new number slapped onto it. Seriously, I regret getting this again. Just the fact that they release this game every year, I wouldn't be surprised if they announced another Call of Duty game in a month. This game doesn't even deserve a score. Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    As a responsible consumer I can not give this game any recognition. Year in and year out we are given the same regurgitated crap over and over and are expected to hand over our cash. What is confusing to me is how major game critics get away with giving this game positive reviews. Even worse than that, the next COD is already announced! They dont even give you enough time to get sick ofAs a responsible consumer I can not give this game any recognition. Year in and year out we are given the same regurgitated crap over and over and are expected to hand over our cash. What is confusing to me is how major game critics get away with giving this game positive reviews. Even worse than that, the next COD is already announced! They dont even give you enough time to get sick of the same old game youve been playing since 2005 before they throw out the next mainstream bs. If you want activision to take notice stay clear away from this mess! Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Same thing as always, gets old, worth $30 max, instead of makin us wait in line buy a 60 dollar game, they should just have added a dlc for 15 for mw2, and camping has jumped to new extremes with this game.
  24. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Game had such high expectations. I atleast expected to enjoy it. Campaign is fun but forgettable. spec ops is fun but cheap. the Multiplayer is FAIL. **** maps. **** gameplay. gfx fail. sound design fail. just its a solid piece of **** well back to BF3 even though that game had a flakey campaign atleast the multiplayer of that one rocks.
  25. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    This is really just MW2.5 - an expensive expansion pack. If the Critics were truely playing the game rather than sitting with their pre-release copies in their COD t-shirts, baseball caps, MW underwear and whatever else gifts they were showered with as they were half playing half writing their review, then perhaps their scores would have been closer to the truth. User scores and reviewsThis is really just MW2.5 - an expensive expansion pack. If the Critics were truely playing the game rather than sitting with their pre-release copies in their COD t-shirts, baseball caps, MW underwear and whatever else gifts they were showered with as they were half playing half writing their review, then perhaps their scores would have been closer to the truth. User scores and reviews say it all just as it really is. Fanboys and non-fanboys alike cannot deny this is a poor uninspired un-innovative release. But IW is still laughing all the way to the bank. I hope they apologise with some sort of FREE update to add something innovative!! Expand
  26. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 has a short, boring campaign, with some scripted scenes which we already know from the previous games. There is nothing new in this game. No vehicles, no interesting new weapons, no innovative features, it has nearly the same graphic as the previous games. For such a high price you guess that you are making a good deal. Instead its a update of modern warfare 3 whichModern Warfare 3 has a short, boring campaign, with some scripted scenes which we already know from the previous games. There is nothing new in this game. No vehicles, no interesting new weapons, no innovative features, it has nearly the same graphic as the previous games. For such a high price you guess that you are making a good deal. Instead its a update of modern warfare 3 which includes a different title, a new menu and some changes like 2 or 3 new perks, thats all. Most of the maps are recycled from the previous games. It could have been a nice update for 10 bucks but instead it became an overpriced "game". When i played i felt no difference to modern warfare 2 which i played one week ago. Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    This game is essentially MW2 touched up with a little hint of things we have seen, I am very disappointed with this game and hope that the next one will actually be original, though the FPS genre had a breakthrough with Bulletstorm, I think that to buck the trend a big boy in this schoolyard needs to innovate, but then again the franchise has no incentive, the majority of the populationThis game is essentially MW2 touched up with a little hint of things we have seen, I am very disappointed with this game and hope that the next one will actually be original, though the FPS genre had a breakthrough with Bulletstorm, I think that to buck the trend a big boy in this schoolyard needs to innovate, but then again the franchise has no incentive, the majority of the population of FPS gamers are mindless whores to the COD series, this disappoints me. Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    I've been playing CoD since it first arrived on PCs, and have generally loved the series. However, at this point, the wear and tear on the engine and gameplay are really starting to become prominent. This is really just an expansion for MW2, despite the slight changes in killstreaks and the addition of two new (to Modern Warfare games only) game modes. I bought MW3, but this will be theI've been playing CoD since it first arrived on PCs, and have generally loved the series. However, at this point, the wear and tear on the engine and gameplay are really starting to become prominent. This is really just an expansion for MW2, despite the slight changes in killstreaks and the addition of two new (to Modern Warfare games only) game modes. I bought MW3, but this will be the last time I purchase a CoD game until the make some significant strides in improving the game engine and the gameplay itself.

    For those of you complaining that all of the bad reviews are by Battlefield fanboys, I'd like to point out that those of us who have been playing CoD since the beginning are really used to a more Battlefield type game. For example, CoD: United Offensive was almost identical to the type of gameplay you find in Battlefield. Even as recently as Word at War, BF and CoD were very similar, especially when playing Conquest/Domination or Rush/Search and Destroy/Demolition. The difference here is that DICE has continued to upgrade their engine and refine gameplay in a much more progressive manner than IW has done with CoD. Until Activision stops churning out a yearly rehashed sequel, I'm done with CoD.
    Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    I mean nothing personal against Call of Duty, personally I love the games, but as time has progressed I am really starting to remember why I truly enjoy a new Battlefield or Halo over this. Keyword, INNOVATION! CALL OF DUTY HAS LOST ALL CONCEPTS OF INNOVATION!!! Every year its the same game just from a different developer. Treyarch royally s****ed up zombies so they kinda went out theI mean nothing personal against Call of Duty, personally I love the games, but as time has progressed I am really starting to remember why I truly enjoy a new Battlefield or Halo over this. Keyword, INNOVATION! CALL OF DUTY HAS LOST ALL CONCEPTS OF INNOVATION!!! Every year its the same game just from a different developer. Treyarch royally s****ed up zombies so they kinda went out the window, seeing as though they always make steps backwards in Call of Duty games, good ideas on paper, but poor game play overall, and IF, I'm sorry but there are so many things that just exploded in this game that screamed to me. One explosives are no longer explosives! I'd feel better throwing a pillow than a grenade, one because they tend to bounce off of everything and two, The guy literally has to sit on it for it to kill him! Next thing is mobility, I like how they varied it up with the guns, but honestly? You run like a moron at maybe a half a foot per second if you use anything bigger than an assault rifle, which screams, "Shoot this idiot!!!" Campaign really lacked any strong moments that drew you in or any super BA ones, all of it was predictable and what about these fancy new game modes? In my eyes kill confirmed is dreadful unless its in team tac, you say it encourages teamwork, I say it encourages camping since kids just sit in the center of the map and camp dog tags! The game itself is structurally sound, but there is no way it should be hailed like this, I agree with the others this isn't MW3, this is MW2.5. I will still play it, but not as much as BF or Halo or Skyrim which brings me to another thing. I paid 50$ for CoD Elite and signed up the first day, so far the servers are still down, I don't have the Founder status yet and I don't know if I ever will get it and who knows what this means for the DLC schedule. Poor poor poor poor poor POOR planning on activisions part! Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    i played MW3 on first day expecting it to be like the best multiplayer experience, but sadly they brought back the same crappy game play from cod 4 in, it contains so many bugs its not funny it took to grenades to kill somebody and i actually got a hit maker with a F'in KNIFE like cmon and somehow u can dodge a RPG in mid air by ducking, same with bullets. Not only did they have ani played MW3 on first day expecting it to be like the best multiplayer experience, but sadly they brought back the same crappy game play from cod 4 in, it contains so many bugs its not funny it took to grenades to kill somebody and i actually got a hit maker with a F'in KNIFE like cmon and somehow u can dodge a RPG in mid air by ducking, same with bullets. Not only did they have an overload of bugs but they pretty much have a random spawn system no there is no enemy side ally side like in MW2 now its more like guerrilla warfare, i really think the only good things of this game are campaign, dedicated servers , and the strongest thing survival which it a combination of zombies and horde i am definetly considering selling this a trading for battle field 3. Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I think that this is a great map pack. Cant wait for the next map pack next year :D!
  32. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Is this an add on to MW2?
    or is it true
    MW3 was my M = Money W = Wasted for a 3= third time.

    smh its not as bad as Thor or the new Transformers game... oh well i already sold this on Craigslist and bought BF3.
  33. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Exactly the same as the previous 2 Modern Warfare's save for a slightly different storyline, a few new guns and maps, and updated graphics. Story took 2 hours to beat, so the $60 (without tax) was not worth 2 hours of gameplay; worst way to spend money. Multiplayer was also disappointingly exactly the same as the previous CoD games. If they can't even come up with something unique, theyExactly the same as the previous 2 Modern Warfare's save for a slightly different storyline, a few new guns and maps, and updated graphics. Story took 2 hours to beat, so the $60 (without tax) was not worth 2 hours of gameplay; worst way to spend money. Multiplayer was also disappointingly exactly the same as the previous CoD games. If they can't even come up with something unique, they cannot get a decent rating from me. Highly disappointed with Infinity Ward. Expand
  34. Nov 20, 2011
    3
    I fell for the marketing ploy once again... Mind you, this low user score rating is no fluke. Yes, the single player campaign is decent although short, the multiplayer experience, which is the majority of its success, is exactly the same game they have released twice before. Yes, the gameplay is smooth and fluid, but it should be considering how old the engine is.
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Still unbalanced mess with all the perks and killstreaks... remove all of those and the leveling... tight and focused gameplay please... Visuals are really bland and reused from MW2 and the campaign is average at some points.
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Are you kidding me!? Don't waste your money, played it before, seen it before. Activision's idea of putting "infinity ward" back together by taking a group developers and having them photocopy past work has fallen flat on its face.
  37. Nov 18, 2011
    1
    This game is all about multiplayer to me and it flat out sucks!!!
    The real infinity war would have been embarrassed to put out a piece of garbage like this. I guess its all about money and not taking pride in the product you put out. The multiplayer maps are the worst out of all the series, they are a cluttered mess with no flow at all. Its nice to respawn an be shot immediately....I was
    This game is all about multiplayer to me and it flat out sucks!!!
    The real infinity war would have been embarrassed to put out a piece of garbage like this. I guess its all about money and not taking pride in the product you put out. The multiplayer maps are the worst out of all the series, they are a cluttered mess with no flow at all. Its nice to respawn an be shot immediately....I was killed 7 times in a row without even taking step forward on one map. Graphics, guns and kill streaks....seen it all before. This game is just a huge disappointment to me.
    Expand
  38. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    I gave the game a low score for a few reasons. I feel that because the damage is so beefed up that the game now doesn't rely on tactics and strategy as it is too strongly now based on reaction time and latency, this issue punishes those of us that don't have super low pings. Tied to the first issue, because the game is so fast my friends who havn't played as much CoD and don't reactI gave the game a low score for a few reasons. I feel that because the damage is so beefed up that the game now doesn't rely on tactics and strategy as it is too strongly now based on reaction time and latency, this issue punishes those of us that don't have super low pings. Tied to the first issue, because the game is so fast my friends who havn't played as much CoD and don't react completely on instinct (there isn't any time to consciously think about your actions) do not enjoy playing the game (so much for 'anyone can pick up and play") which makes it more difficult for me to enjoy. Another issue is team play. IW and SH keep coming up with ways to reward the individual for objective play under the guise that they are promoting "team play". If you want tips on how to promote team play you need only look at BF3. Because the game is so fast now there is no reason to call out to a friend about enemy locations because by the time they are able to react the same enemy has cleared out the room before you could finish the sentence. As far as map design an sniping is concerned... There are very few places you can legitimately snipe. The maps are so tiny that it only lends itself to quick scoping, by and large alienating people who want to kick back, take it a little slower and snipe from range. like normal snipers.

    In my honest opinion. the game needs to be slowed down by reducing damage in general to be somewhere between black ops and MW2.

    There is a reason the user score is so low IW/SH. These are only some of my concerns from my experience. I just hope they are listening.
    Expand
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    It's the same game everyone already bought with a new number in the title. You're paying the price for a full game when all you are really getting is an overpriced expansion pack.
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Sorry Activision, but its just a next title update. I'm very dissapointed, next time I will not buy "another" Call of Duty game. Really sad to say it but its true.
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Maps are too maze-like close-combat maps. I really havent imagined yet how this differs from MW2 other than the couple odd new killstreaks. I actually paid 60â
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I had no expectations for this game and yet I still find myself hating it. The campaign is terrible, it's just a series of explosions w/ no narrative comprehension, the maps are the worst the series has seen yet and the multiplayer is still the same camp fest that MW2 and BO were, the only thing different about it is that kill streaks are now in categories, but it doesn't matter becauseI had no expectations for this game and yet I still find myself hating it. The campaign is terrible, it's just a series of explosions w/ no narrative comprehension, the maps are the worst the series has seen yet and the multiplayer is still the same camp fest that MW2 and BO were, the only thing different about it is that kill streaks are now in categories, but it doesn't matter because all the same kill streaks are there, all you have to do is get your 7 kills and let the attack helicopter get you another 20. Survival mode is the only "new" thing in this game but anyone should be able to tell that it's just a cheap combination of horde from GoW and zombies plus is doesn't even have matchmaking so it's pretty useless. The thing that pisses me off the most about this game is that the devs made no attempt to make any thing different, it feels, plays, looks and sounds exactly like the past 2 MW games even the menus look exactly like the MW2 menus. The last time this series had any innovation was in 2007, it's been running off the same engine and gameplay ideas ever since but yet for some reason the critics still go and give it 9s and even worse the same people go out and help it break sales records (at what point do you people realize you just paid $60 for the same game you bought 5 years ago?). To call this game MW2.5 is generous it is MW1 w/ a different cover, a 3 in the title, a couple of re-skinned guns and some new modes that don't even have matchmaking. I'm glad I had the sense to only rent it, too bad the same couldn't be said for the 9 million people who blindly handed their money over to the devs on day one, you people just bought Call of Duty Modern Warfare...AGAIN. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A miserable game like none other. Worst fps game I've ever seen in my entire life! Green oxidized copper all over the screen. Everything is green with the miserable post fx! The previous games in the series were miserable but this one is reaching new lows. Bf3 is 10000 times better than mw3! Do NOT BUY. I repeat DO NOT EVEN GET CLOSE TO IT !
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game shows how Activision runs every title it can into the ground for money. By the by, if you're looking forward to the DLC map packs in the future, they're already on the disc but they're just going to make you pay to activate them. Squeezing every last ounce of profit from a good franchise, what a disgrace.
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    You know what? Why wont they just admit this crap is just a rehash of Blops and MW2? I swear to god, I wanna enjoy this game, but I'm sick and freaking tired of it to no end. From the obvious rehashing of past ports to the horrible online it has become. Bad hit detection, kill-cams that show the true connection between two people, it's ridicules. This will never be CoD4 no matter how hardYou know what? Why wont they just admit this crap is just a rehash of Blops and MW2? I swear to god, I wanna enjoy this game, but I'm sick and freaking tired of it to no end. From the obvious rehashing of past ports to the horrible online it has become. Bad hit detection, kill-cams that show the true connection between two people, it's ridicules. This will never be CoD4 no matter how hard they try. They just need to get over it. IW is done since the real guys left, SledgeHammer sucks and Treyarch had it's day in the light with WaW which was awesome IMO. Activision will me milking this till the day the world ends. I've been a fan of CoD for along time and it kills me to see this franchise turn into some laughing stock of the gaming world. Believe it or not Schofield people actually hate this game. And the only reason you all make a killing like you do is because of the millions of 11 year olds who wanna LULxXxquickscopeXX420. I used to be a CoDrone like them, but you all can keep your ridicules 15$ map packs and rehashing for the kiddies. I gave this a 3 like I did because deep down I want CoD to return to it's amazingness that was CoD4, hell, even WaW to an extent. But in the end, CoD needs to stop BSing the video game world. I'm done, people who aren't 11 know what needs to be done with this game. Expand
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is pure crap

    The graphics are outdated The Multiplayer is broken and designed for Casuals The Weapons sound like Paperguns The maps are smaller than my bathroom The Campaign is 3 Hours long and boring They did copy+paste in a lot of places > 1:1 copy of buildings from CoD4 This game is pure crap and the Justin Bieber of Gaming.No Quality and a bunch of 5 year old casuals behind
    This game is pure crap

    The graphics are outdated
    The Multiplayer is broken and designed for Casuals
    The Weapons sound like Paperguns
    The maps are smaller than my bathroom
    The Campaign is 3 Hours long and boring
    They did copy+paste in a lot of places > 1:1 copy of buildings from CoD4

    This game is pure crap and the Justin Bieber of Gaming.No Quality and a bunch of 5 year old casuals behind them who don't know it better.
    For people who want to play a real good FPS there are a lot of alternatives.
    People rather spend their money on good games for example Skyrim,Uncharted 3,Battlefield 3,Saints Row 3,AssaCreed,Zelda,Import NiNoKuni from Japan or hell even Rayman.
    Expand
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same ol thing, nothing new here. Sounds, maps, guns and a bunch of people riding for the brand. Time to fire IW and get some new talent. At least Treyarc thought out of the box and actually developed a decent Co-Op game! IW nice try, better luck next time.
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This tittle is disappointing in all aspects. To start of the multiplayer which is supposed to be at its best according to them is more of a failure not only because gameplay is sluggish and their so called balance just made the game a lot worst and unplayable. Since when can a hand gun one shot you in the hand....since mw3 got here. Leveling system is waaaay to easy, you can reach 1This tittle is disappointing in all aspects. To start of the multiplayer which is supposed to be at its best according to them is more of a failure not only because gameplay is sluggish and their so called balance just made the game a lot worst and unplayable. Since when can a hand gun one shot you in the hand....since mw3 got here. Leveling system is waaaay to easy, you can reach 1 prestige in just 5 hours. Oh and don't feel proud of your first prestige because as soon as you leave the Game for the day, they will reset everything and give a lame excuse that they were unable to receive data of your level. Also don't get me started on the $50 "SCAM" that is cod elite. No double exp. ( so much for the so called 2xexp week debut) no clans, no founder status or anything they said we would receive and to top it off after there HUGE mistake and UNTESTED NON WORKING product they want YOU to give them a 48 hour wait time for this to be fix for when after the 48hrs are over they would have made your $50 in interest in their bank account so they won't give a s*** about you the consumer. So I hope that after this review you invest it in a better company, game and product. Expand
  49. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    There are serious problems with this game. Forget that it looks like MW2 for a second because everyone's saying that. I rather point out strictly the multiplayer. I consider myself a very good COD player with a black ops k/d of 1.5. Not amazing but decent. This game I'm going 7-26 every match. I've gone positive twice out of hundreds of matches. My skills haven't changed but this gameThere are serious problems with this game. Forget that it looks like MW2 for a second because everyone's saying that. I rather point out strictly the multiplayer. I consider myself a very good COD player with a black ops k/d of 1.5. Not amazing but decent. This game I'm going 7-26 every match. I've gone positive twice out of hundreds of matches. My skills haven't changed but this game has. Being killed in THREE bullets no matter the gun means that as soon as you take damage it's a death sentence. And with a mess of kill streaks there seems to be no balance as your pummeled by a million random things making it impossible to keep a "point streak" going in anything other than a support class. (doesn't reset after death.) Your movement speed is awkward as hell. The garbage all over every level makes it difficult to pick people out. And I die a lot. Not because I'm a noob but cuz I feel this game is broken. MW2 was broken with one man army noobtube but did they fix it? Nope. Will they fix this game? Probably not. The way this game is set up is to reward the camper. Because running and gunning isn't possible as you'll lose almost all one on one fights trying to run around. I can't camp. I'm just not that type of player and see no fun in it.

    With all my friends who converted to BF3 I held out my judgement and said c'mon guys give this game a chance. COD is fun arcade like fast paced action game. How could they have gone wrong? Well they did. I will be trading this game in next week and I will be waiting for treyarch's black ops 2 hoping that the series that I love isn't completely gone and that a decent about of balance and regular updating that made the game fair, balanced, and fun will return.
    Expand
  50. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Very much dissatisfied with this game thus far. The MP graphics look identical to MW2 which was a surprise for me. The multiplayer offerings are the usual fare. It seems as though they did not want to risk changing much or adding anything new, and wanted to play it safe. The game plays as well as any of the other COD's out there. My score is indicative not of the content, but the lackVery much dissatisfied with this game thus far. The MP graphics look identical to MW2 which was a surprise for me. The multiplayer offerings are the usual fare. It seems as though they did not want to risk changing much or adding anything new, and wanted to play it safe. The game plays as well as any of the other COD's out there. My score is indicative not of the content, but the lack of ingenuity and impactfulness of this game. It is much more MW2.5 than an actual sequel. I was very bored playing this game the 2nd day and am not sure how much more I will be playing. I have prestiged 7 times in the last 2 COD's, and doubtful I will get close to that this go round. The game is just getting stale.

    The end.
    Expand
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    The Call of duty series as a whole has been disgustingly bad since modern warfare one, but this game takes the cake. This isn't a game, this is a movie with 2 minutes of gameplay between every scripted sequence. Honestly, the world would be a better place if the entire FPS genre was dead. There hasn't been a single FPS since Halo one that had any legitimate innovation. Call of Duty modernThe Call of duty series as a whole has been disgustingly bad since modern warfare one, but this game takes the cake. This isn't a game, this is a movie with 2 minutes of gameplay between every scripted sequence. Honestly, the world would be a better place if the entire FPS genre was dead. There hasn't been a single FPS since Halo one that had any legitimate innovation. Call of Duty modern warfare 3 is a prime example of corporate greed overtaking the gaming industry. The fact that this was even released boggles the mind. This game is a clone of every other modern call of duty, with some new textures, different maps, and a different yet equally terrible campaign. The online mode is exactly the same, why would anybody even buy this if they can get the exact same experience in that pile of unimaginative bland shooters that they already own?

    Call of Duty tries it best to be something it's not, a good game, but unfortunately falls short in almost every way imaginable. Skip this one at all costs. And before you think about Battle Field 3, that's the EXACT same thing with even more automation.
    Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    One of the worst games I have every played this game brings nothing new to the table its the same game over and over again every year i have no idea how the masses find this game entertaining. And the story how does Russia leap frog over Europe to get from Russia to Germany to France to The UK this is an idiotic story for idiotic people.
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same formula, different title. This new edition to the Call of Duty franchise is forgettable and abhorrent. Do not buy this if you have played Black Ops or MW2 as it will give you little to no satisfaction in its entirety.
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Sadly, this game is the same old stuff, with some enchancements. Solo campaign is short and lackluster, and the multiplayer mode brings nothing new in general...

    Should have been an expansion.... The price asked isn't justified! Poor gamers, they're getting ripped off
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This engine has been used since Call of Duty 4, with minor graphical tweaks here and there. This is pathetic. No significant improvement since MW2 has happened. Besides for Single player, this is the same game.
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game was the BIGGEST piece of **** that I have ever had the misfortune to pay for. It was honestly NOTHING that I haven't seen done bigger, better and more entertaining. Soap dies, and so does Yuri, the main character, all for Mr. Mustache (who is undeniably awesome) to come sailing in to save the **** day. I hope the creators of this game, and all who enjoy it will get eaten andThis game was the BIGGEST piece of **** that I have ever had the misfortune to pay for. It was honestly NOTHING that I haven't seen done bigger, better and more entertaining. Soap dies, and so does Yuri, the main character, all for Mr. Mustache (who is undeniably awesome) to come sailing in to save the **** day. I hope the creators of this game, and all who enjoy it will get eaten and digested alive by a succubus for 10,000 years. Nuff said. Expand
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    First, I want to say I was previously a die- hard cod fan; would buy NO other game. But this, this is just frustrating. The one point I gave is only for the campaign. The multiplayer is trash. EVERY SINGLE MAP is close quarters. You die so quickly, most of the time you can't even see the killer before you are dead. Honestly, one corner after the next. Its whoever sees who first... And ifFirst, I want to say I was previously a die- hard cod fan; would buy NO other game. But this, this is just frustrating. The one point I gave is only for the campaign. The multiplayer is trash. EVERY SINGLE MAP is close quarters. You die so quickly, most of the time you can't even see the killer before you are dead. Honestly, one corner after the next. Its whoever sees who first... And if you thought the spawns in MW2 were bad, you are going to be downright infuriated with this game. You can literally watch a person spawn in front of you, and one second you are facing the enemy spawn and the next they are quiet literally ten feet behind you. Call of Duty was the only game I ever played. I loved Modern Warfare 2. However for this game, I'm getting pretty close to saying I hate it.

    Besides maps and spawns, this game is more Like a Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 1.8, not even two. If you hadnt ever played number 2 or 3 before, you would have thought mw2 was newer. They were too lazy to even keep Black Ops' changes. They didn't even keep the fact that the amount of points you get off assists depends on the damage you inflict. Its back to a set 20 points again!!! And as for last stand, If you put a person in last stand, and then a teammate kills them from there, that teammate gets the kill! The were soooo dependent on the mw2 format that the didn't even bother going back to make the changes that black ops made for the better.

    I always thought Treyarch made the trash call of duties, but Activision, I want them back. Badly.
    ...At least they tried, and I appreciate that... I just feel betrayed on this game...
    Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's using the same engine as the previous titles. Pumping COD games out every year is not the way to go. It may as well be called Modern Warfare 2k11.
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible. same old same old garbage. wake up players. I bought this title with the intention of getting a game that was worth $60. Turns out that it was just a waste of money.
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Hey look a 60 dollar map pack.... returning this crap for skyrim A.S.A.P. you guys killed guitar hero... your killing world of warcraft and now you are running COD into the ground.. typical activision. the difference between this and the last modern warfare 2 is about the same as the difference between madden 2010 and madden 2011... barf..
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is just a revamp of Modern Warfare 2 gone horribly wrong. They took all the good things about Modern Warfare 2 and tossed it into the garbage. However, they kept the terrible components (ie. grotesque hit detection, terrible explosion radius, quick scoping, etc.). They spent so much time working on the graphics that they forgot that mechanics and game-play mattered... Sure, it'sThis game is just a revamp of Modern Warfare 2 gone horribly wrong. They took all the good things about Modern Warfare 2 and tossed it into the garbage. However, they kept the terrible components (ie. grotesque hit detection, terrible explosion radius, quick scoping, etc.). They spent so much time working on the graphics that they forgot that mechanics and game-play mattered... Sure, it's fun to play, when you're 8 years old and have never experienced the true gaming the rest of us are used too. Go and buy a good First-Person Shooter like Crysis 2, Battlefield 3, or one of the other plethora of games that aren't produced by Activision. Expand
  62. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I already played this game, it was called Modern Warfare 2, and that was a pile of **** too. They really just need to stop with this series and get creative, now I'm not just a CoD hater, I love CoD4 and World at War, and can't forget CoD2.
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Absolute **** 0/10. Do Not Buy. The developers as bad as the publishers on this one, they're all just bad. The developers also tweeted asking for higher scores, **** them, this piece of crap needs to die, it really does. the entire franchise has been terrible, especially Modern Warfare and up.
  64. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The biggest P.O.S ive ever payed $100 for. (australian) It feel's bad it doesnt look good. its so similar to mw2 it is just wrong. how did this even take a whole year to release its the same game that was made in what 2009? I wouldn't call this a sequel.
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty Weak Warfare, same mutton dressed up as lamb, like going to Thailand, finding the girl of your dreams and waking up with a lady boy and finding you're the one who has been screwed
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    I'm very disappointed with this game. It seems more like an addon to MW2 than a brand new game. This is a game that's probably better rented than bought. Took less than 12 hours to finish the single player on the hardest difficulty. Multiplayer is pretty much more of the same action as before. The game basically equates to an xp wipe for multiplayer with a few minor changes. Of course nowI'm very disappointed with this game. It seems more like an addon to MW2 than a brand new game. This is a game that's probably better rented than bought. Took less than 12 hours to finish the single player on the hardest difficulty. Multiplayer is pretty much more of the same action as before. The game basically equates to an xp wipe for multiplayer with a few minor changes. Of course now you have the ability to spend another 50 dollars for some additional multiplayer perks and maps. Expand
  67. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Its like Deju vu all over again. its basically the same as MW2 which was the same as MW. Try something new Infinity ward!! or whoever developed this game...
  68. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    Critics will rave about the game like they do every year. Gamers will buy it and rave about the game like they do every year. Bobby Kotick laugh while stroking his cat in front of a fireplace like he does every year. Infinity Ward will get back to brainstorming up a storyline that is even more nonsensical than the last one and copying and pasting code from COD4. But how long must thisCritics will rave about the game like they do every year. Gamers will buy it and rave about the game like they do every year. Bobby Kotick laugh while stroking his cat in front of a fireplace like he does every year. Infinity Ward will get back to brainstorming up a storyline that is even more nonsensical than the last one and copying and pasting code from COD4. But how long must this go on? If someone critizises the game for being the same old thing, fanboys will shout about how the game is perfect and how it doesnt need to be changed, but honestly, if the game is perfect already, why even bother making a new one? I feel dirty for wasting my money on this franchise again. Expand
  69. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    When you put this against Battlefield 3 ....battlefield will take it every time bc they had the guts to innovate and come up with some of the best graphics and best multiplayer ever! But modern warfares campaign was amazing and kept me interested and on the edge of my seat. If you compare MW3 by its self it is a solid game but it feels like an expansion of mw2. Very disappointed infinityWhen you put this against Battlefield 3 ....battlefield will take it every time bc they had the guts to innovate and come up with some of the best graphics and best multiplayer ever! But modern warfares campaign was amazing and kept me interested and on the edge of my seat. If you compare MW3 by its self it is a solid game but it feels like an expansion of mw2. Very disappointed infinity ward. Very disappointed! Expand
  70. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    All the negative user reviews really speak for the quality of this game. I have been an avid follower of CoD games like many others and MW franchise really impressed me the first time around and even MW2 was an improvement in terms of storytelling and epic scale battles. I guess everything has its peak and MW2 was definitely the peak of this franchise. MW3 felt bland with no innovationsAll the negative user reviews really speak for the quality of this game. I have been an avid follower of CoD games like many others and MW franchise really impressed me the first time around and even MW2 was an improvement in terms of storytelling and epic scale battles. I guess everything has its peak and MW2 was definitely the peak of this franchise. MW3 felt bland with no innovations compared to its predecssors and the plot couldn't be more linear and straight forward. There are no choices that will change the gaming experience the second time around. The original guys who quit from Infinity Ward must be laughing at the quality of this game. I would highly recommend skipping this if you haven't bought it yet. I wish I could ge a refund. Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    mw3 is a fun game to play, don't get me wrong; but it feels more like an expansion pack than a new game. I feel as if the creators of the game really half assed this one. Most, if not all of the callsign titles and emblems are recycled from mw2. Most of the guns are the same, or slight variants on those from mw2. The only good thing I can say about this game that is new is the survivalmw3 is a fun game to play, don't get me wrong; but it feels more like an expansion pack than a new game. I feel as if the creators of the game really half assed this one. Most, if not all of the callsign titles and emblems are recycled from mw2. Most of the guns are the same, or slight variants on those from mw2. The only good thing I can say about this game that is new is the survival mode. Someone called this game mw2.5, and I couldnt agree more.Same game. Bought the hardened edition and I feel like I was ripped off. Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Felt Like I played the original Modern warfare from the start. Minimum effort was put into creating this game. I will trading this in for ANYTHING else. Waste of money.
  73. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    This is the same old COD! There is nothing new, other then few modification and a rubbish story. Why they don't sale these as DLCs (oh! wait it's money I forget). I loved COD 4. It had something new, something refreshing and now MW2, MW3 is nothing but just a Copy and Paste. If this is the future of FPS then this is very sad..
  74. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    This game, while it is essentially another CoD game, sucks. Yes, they used old elements in the game. Yes, they changed very minor details. However, they didn't change anything for the better. The Campaign and Special Ops portions of the game are great. They are really nice, with good delivery and challenge. The multiplayer, arguably the biggest part of the game, is what I have a problemThis game, while it is essentially another CoD game, sucks. Yes, they used old elements in the game. Yes, they changed very minor details. However, they didn't change anything for the better. The Campaign and Special Ops portions of the game are great. They are really nice, with good delivery and challenge. The multiplayer, arguably the biggest part of the game, is what I have a problem with. They brought in new guns and perks, gun levels, and gun perks. Those are all very good. But, some of the new guns are extremely over-powered. The game has been sped up to make it better for people who like to rush in. There is very little strategy involved, especially in the modes of Team Deathmatch and Kill Confirmed. The only strategy there is "look here, look there, try not to get shot, and kill enemies as fast as possible". This game is really built for the types of players who want to race to see who can get the best score, the fastest. The last part is what I have a problem with. It also seems like the maps have been made more compact, with shorter ranges of sight requiring faster reactions and higher sensitivities. In addition with the fact that players move more quickly, this makes the game frustratingly fast-paced. It's so sped up, in fact, that the fire-rate on most of the automatic weapons makes it seem like someone hit you once and killed you. This is a step down from the level of Black Ops. It's probably even worse than MW2. I suggest to anyone considering getting this game to take little stock in the "critics" who gave this game high scores, and instead listen to the actual players. Instead of this game, get Skyrim, Saints the Third, Battlefield 3, or something else that you find interesting, because this game is not worth a $60 investment. Expand
  75. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    I was always a CoD Fan boy, it was the first game I ever bought for my xbox, hell Id even say I bought my xbox for call of duty. But now even I, a person who has bought every Call of Duty game for the 360 and PC, who hyped for months and months following tweets and facebook posts, has finally come to to terms with the fact that series of games is now redundant. Call of Duty: Modern WarfareI was always a CoD Fan boy, it was the first game I ever bought for my xbox, hell Id even say I bought my xbox for call of duty. But now even I, a person who has bought every Call of Duty game for the 360 and PC, who hyped for months and months following tweets and facebook posts, has finally come to to terms with the fact that series of games is now redundant. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 =======> Copy n Paste: Money Wasted 3. Expand
  76. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    All I can say is disappointment. It's not like it's a horrible game, I just wish they would have done a lot more to make this feel new. Recycled content, not much has changed. Without trolling at all I seriously do feel like I'm playing MW2 (which I always play). IDK this game will be great for hard core COD lovers but me, I already traded mine in.
  77. Nov 18, 2011
    1
    What a pile of garbage. A dog could take a dump on a fancy dinner plate and make a better game. Its becoming so childish that it rivals Halo in stupidity. All it is, is a really violent shooter, for 10 year-olds. The maps are microscopic and crowded, the only weapon class that is useful is the SMG's unless you are one of those a**hole quick-scopers. There isn't a line of sight long enoughWhat a pile of garbage. A dog could take a dump on a fancy dinner plate and make a better game. Its becoming so childish that it rivals Halo in stupidity. All it is, is a really violent shooter, for 10 year-olds. The maps are microscopic and crowded, the only weapon class that is useful is the SMG's unless you are one of those a**hole quick-scopers. There isn't a line of sight long enough to make a sniper rifle useful. And the connection problems are ridiculous. All the weapons feel like they have been nerfed. And from a financial stand-point, this is wise for the designers, because it will be harder to get a kill, thus harder to level up, and so you play longer. Well played Infinity Ward, Sledgehammer, whatever you are now. Did they even hire military consultants? Or did they just watch a marathon of Rambo and Delta Force? How much more military cliches can you cram into one game?! It's like watching your valedictorian son with a full scholarship to Harvard(Call of Duty 4:Modern Warfare) become a vagrant meth head that steals the copper out of your walls.(World at War, MW2, Black Ops, and finally MW3). I can't play that game for a whole match without the urge to destroy something i love nearby. They didn't improve on the game, they just made changes. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME; Unless you are completely ignorant or between the ages of 10-14...which are pretty much the same thing. Battlefield 3 is the new champ...hands down Expand
  78. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    A step sideways for FPS and the series. I found the gameplay to be much the same as previous MW games while the maps were less fun and worse designed. I would not recommend this game, and would suggest to those interested in the COD experience to pick up MW1 or MW2 for a better time.
  79. Nov 18, 2011
    2
    Same old game. Its sad that they made another bajillion dollars on what essentially is an expansion pack. The story plays ilke a best of Michael Bay movie. The multiplayer is the biggest disappointment... Absolutely nothing new. Spawning system is garbage as you spawn into enemy fire. CoD is on its way to destroying the FPS.
  80. Nov 30, 2011
    4
    This isn't one of those games you can't put down; this is one of those games you find yourself thinking of something to do so you can put it down even quicker.

    COD is all about mutiplayer, after all of 3 hours you've beat the campaign. It's been a few weeks now and 30 hours of online play but time hasn't improved my opinion of the game. Camping and getting shot in the back is what MW3 is
    This isn't one of those games you can't put down; this is one of those games you find yourself thinking of something to do so you can put it down even quicker.

    COD is all about mutiplayer, after all of 3 hours you've beat the campaign. It's been a few weeks now and 30 hours of online play but time hasn't improved my opinion of the game. Camping and getting shot in the back is what MW3 is all about. Colors are washed out and the guns are unspectacular and all will one/two shot kill you from any range. The maps are a chaotic nightmare, prepare to streak (3 deaths, 4 kills, 4 deaths, 5 kills). You'll have a bunch of players run right out in front of you only to streak into the abundance of campers (lay in a sewer pipe with heartbeat sensor anyone) and your turn at bad luck by players coming out behind you. Low levels are a PITA, you get welcomed to the game by being absolutely punished by vets with all the attachments. If you make it through that tough spell there's a good chance you are ready to reap the rewards by turning off the game due to the fact you've already done it all. That's not to say the game doesn't have some fun opportunities. Mic up with 4-5 friends and you will run amuck through the maps. However if you're on the wrong side of that team you'll just find yourself grabbing your ankles. In the end MW3 is a good starting point for a game but misses all the small (see development time consuming) things that make a game great. We have been shown what game designers are capable of when they care, the depth and innovation that they can do when they want to (they make it painfully obvious they didn't care for MW3). Infinity Ward has had really four games starting with MW1 to really see what works and doesn't and tune and perfect the product, MW3 feels like a developer's first dive into the fps just throwing out what is already out there and not using any player feedback for development.
    Expand
  81. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    MW3,wot can i say???without using a bunch of words that will get my message banned?how about,useless?waste of money?not worth the disc its put on?much less the case its in.crap spawn points,quick scopers(seriously?????).ok,had my wee rant,now onto the simple truth.americans build games for themselves.if u plan on buying this game,DONT!!!!!.quickscoping is jst a gimmick for those who cantMW3,wot can i say???without using a bunch of words that will get my message banned?how about,useless?waste of money?not worth the disc its put on?much less the case its in.crap spawn points,quick scopers(seriously?????).ok,had my wee rant,now onto the simple truth.americans build games for themselves.if u plan on buying this game,DONT!!!!!.quickscoping is jst a gimmick for those who cant actually shoot.as its not a skill in anyway shape or form.perks,if the perk says dead silence then i expect to BE DEAD SILENT!!!!not found cos someone can still hear me running otherwise whats the point???an the stupid music u cant turn off,that gets louder at the most important times in multiplayer(like when ur the last left in s n d and u wana hear whos running around.)recon choppers who blind you when they see ya??WTF????the developers of MW3 need to take a serious look at what kind of game they r building.instead of just churning out the same old crap that they know we will buy.i personally will be refusing to buy another game made by these fools.no matter what it is.i will be keeping a eye on wot they make,but thats it.this game deserves its current user score,for its myriad problems.until they fix the problems with this game(quick scopers,spawn points,weapon strengths,perks etc and theres a lot of ETC)its not worth buying this or any other game these fools make.just my opinion.but sayin that,i own the complete set of cod.but not for long. Expand
  82. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is one of the worst games ever in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare games they should have stop with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 1 that was the best (:
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The latest installment of the "Call of Duty " (also dubbed "flock of the gullible") franchise is in perfect alignment with the current level of incompetence found anywhere else you look in the world today. It is well represented by the same old knock-off rehashed/recycled piece of **** graphics, and game engine, with a side of packed to capacity full of belligerent 15 yr old FPSThe latest installment of the "Call of Duty " (also dubbed "flock of the gullible") franchise is in perfect alignment with the current level of incompetence found anywhere else you look in the world today. It is well represented by the same old knock-off rehashed/recycled piece of **** graphics, and game engine, with a side of packed to capacity full of belligerent 15 yr old FPS enthusiasts. The came looks, plays, exactly as - and even in some ways takes a step backwards from its predecessors. Activision (also the creators and copyright owners of fellow addict-funded franchise World of Warcraft) clearly continue to deploy circumvent marketing practices to lure young new potential customers into their crosshairs, once bright individuals turned rabid fan-boy. This game is just proving ground for the direction that these greedy corporations are trying to take. It's an abomination to all of us, clearly contributing to the dumbing-down of our society, already deeply troubled. tl;dr You're not missing much if you have ever touched a CoD game in your life before, it's a worthless pile of market abuse -- you're still playing Cod 4 + updated killstreaks and a lousy map download. let the butt hurt tears flow Expand
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This leech of company is lucky for the legions of children who beg there parents to buy these games for them. Gamers deserve better then a rewashed game year after year, while they sit amused as bank account balloons. They are afraid to change, afriad to loose money, afraid to loose respect. Hmm check that last one because there is no respect left. I call for a boycott! PEOPLE CONTROL THEThis leech of company is lucky for the legions of children who beg there parents to buy these games for them. Gamers deserve better then a rewashed game year after year, while they sit amused as bank account balloons. They are afraid to change, afriad to loose money, afraid to loose respect. Hmm check that last one because there is no respect left. I call for a boycott! PEOPLE CONTROL THE SWAY THE INDUSTRY, WE THE PEOPLE SHOULD NOT LET ACTIVISION RUIN IT WITH GREED! Expand
  85. Nov 28, 2011
    2
    Very very disappointed. I expected Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games to innovate on what was once one of the greatest franchises of all time. Instead they decided to churn out the same junk from last year and the year before. I'm just in shock they would let this franchise die such a horrible death. The weapon sound effects are the same, rank up sounds same, kill streak menus the sameVery very disappointed. I expected Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games to innovate on what was once one of the greatest franchises of all time. Instead they decided to churn out the same junk from last year and the year before. I'm just in shock they would let this franchise die such a horrible death. The weapon sound effects are the same, rank up sounds same, kill streak menus the same and the main menu is also exactly the same as Modern Warfare 2. Graphics have barley had a tune up. Thing don't look better just more glossy. As if everything in the world of Call of Duty is colored with Candy paint. The Campaign was a let down as well, I expected an epic climax to the story instead i got lead down a straight path to at the end, push keys it told me to, and with such dated graphics it just looks so cheesy. Theres no variety to multiplayer either. Basically its every man for himself. Everyone run around like chickens with their heads cut off. In my opinion this game also takes no skill to play. The weapons significantly lack recoil making it very, very easy to aim and by aim i mean spray rounds everywhere because you wont be bumped off target. Not worth 60 dollars, hell not worth 20 dollars. I'm no fanboy, just a very disappointed gamer. Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehicle's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain experience. The visuals are still comparable to my PlayStation 2, voice acting and sound ofModern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehicle's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain experience. The visuals are still comparable to my PlayStation 2, voice acting and sound of weaponry lack any realness in the game. There really is nothing new that this Game does that makes it worth the plastic it uses. Expand
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is a rehash and its pretty much solidifying the fact that gaming is dying. Every year expect more and more of these things to come out, receive inflated scores by paid off reviewers, and for them to break all sorts of retail records. COD is the new Madden of our time, only difference is it changes even less between installments.
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty... Such a great series of games which brought whole new level to FPS type of games. Thanks to CoD the shooters look like they look. So where is the problem??

    The problem is the technology. Activision didn't invest any money since CoD 2 to develop new engine (Yes Since CoD 2 its the same engine slightly modified), they managed to improve it up to CoD 4 but then they reached
    Call of Duty... Such a great series of games which brought whole new level to FPS type of games. Thanks to CoD the shooters look like they look. So where is the problem??

    The problem is the technology. Activision didn't invest any money since CoD 2 to develop new engine (Yes Since CoD 2 its the same engine slightly modified), they managed to improve it up to CoD 4 but then they reached limit of it. Did they bother to develop new one? No. Since that time nothing changed. Same animations of characters, weapons and look of maps. They are trying to blind us through doing stuff like replacing zombies with 2 player co-op, new game mode and few new weapons model, but that's all. If you are going to get that game prepare for disappointment. Activision managed to sink all the way to the bottom of the sea one of the best FPS series in history of video games - Well done! From the king to the street beggar. I think it's time for CoD to retire for couple of years and come up with something new. Single player - stopping WW3 sounds great, you have the same characters (that didn't die) from previous version of MW. Map design is simple - get from point A to point B. Don't worry you won't get lost on the way. Guess why... CoD1 offered several different paths to reach objective and that's what should be restored! I don't care about fancy explosions!

    Multiplayer - its just map pack for MW2.

    Conclusion? Get different game because this one is worth only half of it's current price...
    Expand
  89. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    i have had all the cods and this one is buy far the worst. i will never buy a game made buy sledge hammer games again thay have messed cod up im going back to black ops as it is a far better game. if you are thinking on geting mw3 dont bother im tradeing my 1 in on monday the only cod i havent kept
  90. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    If you like to camp, pitch a tent in this game and get a KDR of 15.0 -> pure skill. Game isnt for me, literally if you want to do well all you need to do is hide in a corner. Black ops had it right with run and gun being viable eliminating campers. This game takes it back 5 steps. Not to mention they basically run the same code as the previous games barely changing a thing but theIf you like to camp, pitch a tent in this game and get a KDR of 15.0 -> pure skill. Game isnt for me, literally if you want to do well all you need to do is hide in a corner. Black ops had it right with run and gun being viable eliminating campers. This game takes it back 5 steps. Not to mention they basically run the same code as the previous games barely changing a thing but the order you get the weapons in!

    Game isn't for me, I'll stick with black ops
    Expand
  91. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    THe guys who made call of duty 4 and modern warfare 2 were fired! The infinty ward you speak of is a new team of devs under the same name all they did was take The orginal infinty ward formula and cashed in on it thats why I dont like them, Treyarch also cashed in on their formula too. So BF3 is winning cuz they are more innovative......Winning go copy your homework Bam!
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Awesome Framerate, character design, great interface design, great party support, and good use of old technology and tweaking the visuals... Still doesn't make up for horrible sound effects, guns sound effects are comparable to Super Nintendo. Poor net code allows for severe Host Advantage and getting killed around corners. Unrealistic physics, players are able to stand over 1 inchAwesome Framerate, character design, great interface design, great party support, and good use of old technology and tweaking the visuals... Still doesn't make up for horrible sound effects, guns sound effects are comparable to Super Nintendo. Poor net code allows for severe Host Advantage and getting killed around corners. Unrealistic physics, players are able to stand over 1 inch objects, killstreaks are excessive, overall experience feels way too arcadey. At the end of the day, if the game favors an unfair advantage just by having the fastest connection, the quality of the game suffers. I can deal with the asthetics and sounds, but the overall immersion of the game promotes lone wolf gameplay. Even on the team based objectives. Sometimes its not good to change what's not broke, but in this case, this is the same game made in 2007, only with different maps, a few boring new game modes. Single player is nothing more than Michael Bay type garbage. But then again if you like Michael Bay, you'll probably love the game as well. Not for me, but its my opinion and if it offends you, then you can go kill yourself. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I enjoyed MW1, I enjoyed MW2, I did not enjoy Black Ops and now I really don't enjoy MW3. Not because of the graphics or the game play but because of the lack of innovation and moving forward. Come on COD! We aren't all idiots, stop selling us the same exact product every year. Step it up next time and I will reconsider.
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    If you play any Call of Duty titles you've played this game as well. Ill start with the single player which seems to be the only "new" part added to the game. Unfortunately its the same as other fps games. It took me less than three hours to finish the campaign which is nothing more than a run of the mill story that was somewhat hard for me to follow at times. You have the sameIf you play any Call of Duty titles you've played this game as well. Ill start with the single player which seems to be the only "new" part added to the game. Unfortunately its the same as other fps games. It took me less than three hours to finish the campaign which is nothing more than a run of the mill story that was somewhat hard for me to follow at times. You have the same infinitely spawning enemies that try to kill you before you and your team reaches the objective which just leads to a somewhat dull story telling experience. But in the end 98% of people don't buy the game for the story they buy it for the countless hours of multilayer enjoyment that we all come to love with modern games. Sadly I just don't feel they delivered what we all were expecting when this game was being hyped up. Its the same graphics same sound and unfortunately the same feel as the past two games just with a new name and a brand new game price tag slapped on a box. But it is a structurally solid game and I haven't encountered may bugs that cant be attributed to release day bugs but I just cant get past it having the EXACT same feel as the past two games had. For me this feels like nothing more than a glorified map pack that has been polished a bit and I for one refuse to give a developer credit for what I consider lazy and unoriginal work. Expand
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you want to save 60 dollars I'm selling stickers with the number "3" written on them. Simply remove the adhesive cover and place it on a previous Modern Warfare game.
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same game. Each game has gotten progressively worse since Call of Duty 4. This game is exactly identical to Modern Warfare 2, and I wasn't a fan of that one either.
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    WOW IT'S LIKE I'M REALLY PLAYING MW2!!!!!!
    This game just screams of a rehash, from easily recognisable assets from previous games, to the unchanged controls and game mechanics. The campaign is nothing but over-the-top set pieces connected by rooms of generic baddies, with virtually no variation, and the online isn't worth talking about.
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game was so over hyped. It's basically mw2 in a different box. The storyline is okay in parts but it's still the same old thing where they have loads of explosions and you save the day. Same old lag issues online and getting killed when you quite blatantly shot at them (yet the kill cam states you didn't?!) with under aged children playing and screeching down the mic. The only plusThis game was so over hyped. It's basically mw2 in a different box. The storyline is okay in parts but it's still the same old thing where they have loads of explosions and you save the day. Same old lag issues online and getting killed when you quite blatantly shot at them (yet the kill cam states you didn't?!) with under aged children playing and screeching down the mic. The only plus side to this game is that I didn't pay for it as the company I used messed up my order (yet I still feel robbed). Going back to Battlefield 3.. Much more grown up and realistic. Won't be ordering this rubbish ever again. Expand
  99. PJZ
    Nov 10, 2011
    1
    You cut Marathon so objective games take 3 times as long to get back to A, B, and C. That was a deal breaker for me. Not being able to run when someone can pick you off from a mile away or just shotgun you up close couldn't be more of a nuisance. You think sprinting is overpowered and needs balance yet QS is fair? No sir. Doesn't help that I paid $60 for Elite and it's still down. If IYou cut Marathon so objective games take 3 times as long to get back to A, B, and C. That was a deal breaker for me. Not being able to run when someone can pick you off from a mile away or just shotgun you up close couldn't be more of a nuisance. You think sprinting is overpowered and needs balance yet QS is fair? No sir. Doesn't help that I paid $60 for Elite and it's still down. If I made my clients pay for something and didn't deliver, I'd be sued. Complete all this new balancing with bringing marathon back and i'd give it a 10. Expand
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    To be honest, I love almost every COD game. I was so excited for mw3 to come out. I get home, and Im just like, wtf is going on? The maps were just so clustered and big, spawns suck, On top of this, the elite service doesnt even work? They say they didnt expect that many people to be on the servers? WHAT??? You did a **** beta for the service, you charge us 50 bucks for the **** thing,To be honest, I love almost every COD game. I was so excited for mw3 to come out. I get home, and Im just like, wtf is going on? The maps were just so clustered and big, spawns suck, On top of this, the elite service doesnt even work? They say they didnt expect that many people to be on the servers? WHAT??? You did a **** beta for the service, you charge us 50 bucks for the **** thing, and you cant have it up and running when it comes out? Lol. Wow. Maybe they shouldnt of spent so much money on actors to do a **** commercial and used the money on the damn servers. I like COD, but Battlefield is the true winner this year, and for many more to come. Expand
  101. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    BF3 fanboys shouldn't be allowed to post, really this is just to counter act them. It's a solid 9.5 game though. I own both games and I almost sold bf3 within first 30 minutes after having huge lag, server connection, and rediculos downloads dor graphics, 2 disks retarded! Mw3 had nothing like this and blew me away at how smooth and how much anoying stuff they fixed from old games. LoveBF3 fanboys shouldn't be allowed to post, really this is just to counter act them. It's a solid 9.5 game though. I own both games and I almost sold bf3 within first 30 minutes after having huge lag, server connection, and rediculos downloads dor graphics, 2 disks retarded! Mw3 had nothing like this and blew me away at how smooth and how much anoying stuff they fixed from old games. Love new kill streak system. Buy the game and you bf3 looses stop posting horri.ble reviews Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.