User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8603 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    This game is bad. it's a carbon copy of previous CoD games. I totally bought it and played it. It was pretty much one of the most disappointing buys of my past 3 years
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    this is the worst modern warfare in the series, mostly due to the multiplayer maps. the gunplay is really really smooth, bring back the older maps and ill be interested, until then you can keep your rubbish arena style maps with a stupidly large amount of spawnkilling
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I have played this for a while now and to be honest, it is crap!!!! They used the same buildings from Call of Duty 4, the same engine from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. It is also a big downgrade from Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Ive always been a fan of the MW franchise and had no problems what so ever with the campaign "i found it actually an amazing ending to the game" but in my mind game of the year doesnt get earned from one aspect alone. Multiplayer... I feel like this is an expansion and has no right costing a full 60 dollars rather i feel this is a step backwards as far as multiplayer. COD finally realizedIve always been a fan of the MW franchise and had no problems what so ever with the campaign "i found it actually an amazing ending to the game" but in my mind game of the year doesnt get earned from one aspect alone. Multiplayer... I feel like this is an expansion and has no right costing a full 60 dollars rather i feel this is a step backwards as far as multiplayer. COD finally realized their target age group was 12-14 year olds and simplified the game as much as possible. THE MAPS HAVE NO DEPTH!!!!!!!! What happened to being able to go into buildings and shoot out of windows? I feel MW has went from formula 1 to Nascar and is making all left turns now pardon the analogy. The campaign is amazing i will give credit where is due but please do not make the mistake of buying this game rent before to determine if you like it. Way to go from a GSXR 1000 to a trike with training wheels. THis all however is some ingenious ploy to get people to pay more money later on with map packs not this guy though. You robbed your fans of their money now i hope you loose your fans that you clearly do not deserve. "Above and beyond the Call" Clearly... Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Disappointing multiplayer that is a complete copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. The campaign is great and to be honest it doesn't deserve anything under a 7 but I am rating it zero just to make a point: Activision can't keep releasing the same CoD game every year. Treyarch mixes it up when they make a new CoD game (though the fundamentals are the same) and even Modern Warfare to ModernDisappointing multiplayer that is a complete copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. The campaign is great and to be honest it doesn't deserve anything under a 7 but I am rating it zero just to make a point: Activision can't keep releasing the same CoD game every year. Treyarch mixes it up when they make a new CoD game (though the fundamentals are the same) and even Modern Warfare to Modern Warfare II had some good changes. But I see literally no changes multiplayer wise from MW2 to MW3. There are new maps and a few new features. That is it. I'd give it a 7/10, because the multiplayer is still fun and addictive and the campaign is amazing as always but I am rating it a zero here to make a point, as others are. This is the laziest game I've ever seen made. I bought the Hardened Edition which is well worth the price and it's one of the best priced/coolest features I've seen in a long time in a Collector's/Special Edition, but, like I said, the copy and paste DLC multiplayer on Modern Warfare 2 is pathetic and there is little real innovation to the Call of Duty games in general, but, in this case, it's basically a huge DLC on Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The developer didn't make any real effort in putting out a new engine for better graphics or physics which shows its lack of respect for its fans. They assume that their game is a cash cow that they can dictate any price they want and expect to give its fans the exact same game with different maps. For 3-4 years they had a chance to use a different engine but instead they sell map packsThe developer didn't make any real effort in putting out a new engine for better graphics or physics which shows its lack of respect for its fans. They assume that their game is a cash cow that they can dictate any price they want and expect to give its fans the exact same game with different maps. For 3-4 years they had a chance to use a different engine but instead they sell map packs every year for $60, that my friend is called a rip off. Bill Gates should hire Activision so he can stop making different upgraded versions of windows and sell the same version with a different name for ten years and make people pay the full price for it and buy it over and over again. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    game is a cut and paste of MW2... there are even videos showing an exact building from cod 4 in MW3... Activision if you want a good score then make a good game don't beg your fans for the scores... it is obvious little effort was put into this game and the score of the community shows it.
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I'm really disappointed with this game, the online game could have just been paid DLC for black ops the graphics look pretty much the same, and the game seems glitchy especially with the hit zones. Single player campaign is good, but its pretty much the same old stuff, overall I'm highly disappointed and now looking to sell my game on eBay.
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is the same recycled stuff of 2007....Battlefield 3 is hands down the better game online.
    MW3 is that bad that Sledgehammer games have taken to twitter to ask people for fake positive reviews!! How can you give a positive review if the game isn't that great?
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm glad I did not buy the game! I had a chance to borrow it so I did not throw my money on another failed game! I took the previous game series in which I could not play because of all the problems with their servers so I decided to stop playing in the series!! Time they learned to appreciate the gamers and invest in our games! Sorry for the English
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is always the same no change, Activion mocks us. For this price the game is completely useless. in 2011 he could get out a better game, but not he prefers to release a game every month!
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers,Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers, glitchers, cheaters and other weak gamers that think they are cool. Questions questions questions ... Luckily most of players are amercinas, that means there is still future for normal games for normal players, let the americans have their sh*tty game. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Kotick strikes again, this once great franchise has been beaten into the ground and then kicked around multiple times for good measure. If you have the attention span and intellect of a 2 year old, this game's for you. If you want a real shooter, check out Battlefield 3.
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    remember that song from Bare Naked Ladies. Each year a new COD is release i can not help myself to hum the tune of that song. "It's all been done....before"
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Nice yet abrupt end to the Modern Warfare trilogy. Activision knew they couldn't say 'Modern Warefare 2 Part 2' and that is how it feels. Its as bad as Capcom - a full priced expansion.
    The only nice (and new!) Thing I like is the hybrid sight (might have been on Black Ops)
    Online is the same bar different maps/a couple of additions. The whole run/gun/camp just doesn't do it for me.
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    THIS GAME IS DONE. I've had it with Call of Duty. Modern Warfare 2 disappointed me to no end, and I even broke the game over my knee. The single player is horrible, like someone shot the story with a machine gun, peppering it with bullet holes in the plot. The multiplayer is a copy/paste of modern warfare 2, nothing was changed at all. The maps are just as small and just as able forTHIS GAME IS DONE. I've had it with Call of Duty. Modern Warfare 2 disappointed me to no end, and I even broke the game over my knee. The single player is horrible, like someone shot the story with a machine gun, peppering it with bullet holes in the plot. The multiplayer is a copy/paste of modern warfare 2, nothing was changed at all. The maps are just as small and just as able for someone to spawn kill you over and over again. The kill-streaks are overrated, giving you a small chance to get ONE kill before by getting 5 kills or, the most advanced one, 18. Which secures you about 2 kills because everyone is lagging in and out of buildings. Even getting a killstreak doesnt secure you a kill. It just means some idiot is going to shoot it down as soon as it arrives. I got this the day it came out and people are already level 80? Even prestiged? Get a life kids and go play something that doesn't make you rely on ONE gun throughout the game and shows skill. The reason I am giving this a 1 and not a 0 is because the Spec Ops is ok. I always love co op in any game and can't resist the co op in this. Call of Duty Elite sucks to. i spent the year subscription on it and it won't even let me use it. An error message keeps telling me that "it cant connect to the call of duty servers." **** Utter **** This game is not worth your 60+ dollars, so dont buy it, dont look at it, and dont even say it's name because people are gonna be sucking infinity wards balls throughout the year until the next Treyarch Call of Duty comes out. THANK YOU Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I agree with what a lot of people are saying about this game being a cut and paste release. The only reason to buy this game for something new and fresh would be the single player campaign, but given its length I cannot justify the hefty price tag. With a planned sequel already in the works for 2012 I am worried that we will only receive more of the same as the series looks to cash in onI agree with what a lot of people are saying about this game being a cut and paste release. The only reason to buy this game for something new and fresh would be the single player campaign, but given its length I cannot justify the hefty price tag. With a planned sequel already in the works for 2012 I am worried that we will only receive more of the same as the series looks to cash in on its amazing sales figures year after year. I also dont like the elite service, having to pay for the game twice over for features I already should have feels like highway robbery. Pass on this one. Expand
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Not really a credit to your game to outsell all the competition when all the riches are spent on marketing and disgusting bonuses for a development team that has the skill level of a five man pug mod team. Quality has nothing to do with popularity in a society that has autotune and dancing with the stars. I guess that means Justin Bieber makes the best music because he tops the charts.Not really a credit to your game to outsell all the competition when all the riches are spent on marketing and disgusting bonuses for a development team that has the skill level of a five man pug mod team. Quality has nothing to do with popularity in a society that has autotune and dancing with the stars. I guess that means Justin Bieber makes the best music because he tops the charts. MW3 is the fat guy from Superbad getting imaginary kills. The game is as stupid as Tommy the five year old pressing right on his D pad and getting 10 kills with his super dooper skills because he found a care package(very powerful). Sorry Call of Duty faithful, the bad reviews will keep coming because modern warfare 2 wasn't our first gaming experience and we don't care how many times you prestige. Unfortunately the gaming industry is very copy cat and we don't want future developers thinking that we are all aboard for the stinky big mac that Call of Duty has become. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I bought both Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 because I'm a big Warfare-Shooter fan and i don't really have a favorite Franchise. Well i didn't, now i do.

    The Problem with the Call of Duty Series is that, at some point, it turned into a unstoppable hype fueled by the masses. And it was quite profitable for Activision. So what did they do ? Change as little as possible so people don't
    I bought both Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 because I'm a big Warfare-Shooter fan and i don't really have a favorite Franchise. Well i didn't, now i do.

    The Problem with the Call of Duty Series is that, at some point, it turned into a unstoppable hype fueled by the masses. And it was quite profitable for Activision. So what did they do ? Change as little as possible so people don't get scared off, but enough to keep people motivated to play.

    After Modern Warfare, with the release of Modern Warfare 2, i thought - Yeah that's as far as it should go - but along came Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2. And "nothing" has changed, and by nothing i mean nothing fundamental, because that, again, would be too much of a risk.

    If you played Call of Duty the last years, this episode won't give you any kicks, same old formula in the campaign, same old formula in the multiplayer, same old engine, and that's getting old.

    Battlefield 3 on the other hand, even through its flaws, seems much more refreshing and appealing. It doesn't bore me, because i haven't been playing Battlefield 3 for ages. But i have been Modern Warfare 3 for years now.

    No more.
    Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    infiniity ward what happened im going to go play call of duty 2 again (best call of duty ever!!!!) at least it will be a change even if the game is 6 years old
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I've logged several hours into Modern Warfare 3 and could not be more disappointed. This product should have been titled Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.5. So little has been altered from the previous installments that I actually have a hard time pinpointing the changes. I see no reason to purchase this game at $60 and would not recommend this to anyone.
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    They are turning first person shooters into sports games, same blimmin' game just remixed and re-released. If we are willing to put up with this no progress in game engines will ever happen. It's just lazy.
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a terrible game hopefully this is the last one if the series, no company should be able to just rebundle COD 4 and add new maps and call it a new game.
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I love developers trying to brand this as review bombing. Maybe it's the fact that people realize they are being milked for their money? This is by no means a bad game, it's the SAME game. The same game as Call of Duty 4. Removing the **** that was in Modern Warfare 2 isn't some kind of achievement or renovation, it's what should have been a patch 2 years ago. Modern Warfare 3 is fun. SoI love developers trying to brand this as review bombing. Maybe it's the fact that people realize they are being milked for their money? This is by no means a bad game, it's the SAME game. The same game as Call of Duty 4. Removing the **** that was in Modern Warfare 2 isn't some kind of achievement or renovation, it's what should have been a patch 2 years ago. Modern Warfare 3 is fun. So is Call of Duty 4. Stop releasing a new one every year and subsequently destroying the player base of the previous game. If you want to release a new one, make actual improvements to the gameplay. Maybe invest in the new iDtech engine because we all know you have been using iDtech 3 every year and branding it as your own. And please, NEVER use budget as an excuse for a shortcoming or lack of a feature because there are millions of 13 year olds who worship your game and buy it every year. In short: You're stealing. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Modern warfare 3 is just a slightly upgraded version of MW2. Graphics are slightly improved but still look 5 years old. The sounds are even worse. They sound like they were recorded inside a wet sponge. Still the famed 60 fps but still doesn't bring anything new to the table. Maps are terrible since you can be spawned killed anytime. The A.I. is terrible. You can stand in the middle of aModern warfare 3 is just a slightly upgraded version of MW2. Graphics are slightly improved but still look 5 years old. The sounds are even worse. They sound like they were recorded inside a wet sponge. Still the famed 60 fps but still doesn't bring anything new to the table. Maps are terrible since you can be spawned killed anytime. The A.I. is terrible. You can stand in the middle of a firefight and they completely ignore you while you take their buddies out. Apparently "hard scoping" is trash since their are no maps for sniping because they built the maps catering off the new fad quick scoping. Ridiculous amount of auto aim with little to no recoil on the weapons. Gun models have improved but still look like you are carrying a 2d weapon. Lag is terrible in this game. Even with great internet you will still lag since you rely on the hosts connection. You would think with all the money being made off of milking this title they can afford dedicated servers. Wouldn't recommend unless you are a true fanboy. Rent or buy used since it isn't worth 60 dollars. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game deserves every poor review given to it. Presentation - Single Player story less than 4 hours. Menus and interface are copy and pasted from MW2.

    Graphics - So bad it has to be a joke. Notice that the TV advertisement with the fat superbad guy and the avatar guy had no in-game footage? Yeah because it really is that embarassing. Multiplayer - No ranked dedicated servers. Bad
    This game deserves every poor review given to it. Presentation - Single Player story less than 4 hours. Menus and interface are copy and pasted from MW2.

    Graphics - So bad it has to be a joke. Notice that the TV advertisement with the fat superbad guy and the avatar guy had no in-game footage? Yeah because it really is that embarassing.

    Multiplayer - No ranked dedicated servers. Bad crowded map designs, imbalanced guns, camping and hip shots are encouraged. Sound - Worst and most cheesy score yet. Replay value - It took only 30 mins to realise that the experience would exactly be the same. Recycled prestige system. Meaningless leaderboards. Activision better leave Starcraft II and Diablo alone. They may know how to make money off of idiots but they have not a glue anymore how to make a good quality game.
    Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm giving Modern Warfare 3 a 0/10 because now every time I type MW3 I have to clarify I'm talking about MechWarrior 3 rather than Modern Warfare 3. MechWarrior was here first and it's not like Modern Warfare has any cool 'Mechs in it or anything. Modern Warfare 3 doesn't even have any awesome laser weapons, it's all just boring soldier people shooting regular guns.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Many people said is the same MW2 game. they was wrong, MW2 was a very good game but MW3 is just crap, Maps are small, boring and all of them look similar. and the match making system oh yes good for meet people form other continent.

    Good work guys......
  29. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This game is MW2 with a faster framerate that can not be praised because with the amount of lag on multiplayer it is shadowed. Why is the game bad Well for starters Why I am not a battlefield fanboy after playing BF3 I felt that this game Is a dull piece of crap re-imagining of MW2 therfore should not be a stand alone game and is probably the worst in the series Sorry IW, activision andThis game is MW2 with a faster framerate that can not be praised because with the amount of lag on multiplayer it is shadowed. Why is the game bad Well for starters Why I am not a battlefield fanboy after playing BF3 I felt that this game Is a dull piece of crap re-imagining of MW2 therfore should not be a stand alone game and is probably the worst in the series Sorry IW, activision and slegdehammer but you let the fans down and created pure hatred. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    I've played this game for most of today, and it is the best COD yet. So why the score of 1 I hear you ask? It's because it is the same game as MW2, and if I had paid £30 for it I would be extremely annoyed. Effectively, you buy a game that you invest time playing with your friends, and then the next year, you have to pay for it all over again if you want carry on playingI've played this game for most of today, and it is the best COD yet. So why the score of 1 I hear you ask? It's because it is the same game as MW2, and if I had paid £30 for it I would be extremely annoyed. Effectively, you buy a game that you invest time playing with your friends, and then the next year, you have to pay for it all over again if you want carry on playing it (because all the other mugs will have moved onto it). EA, milking money form a once innovative and fun franchise. BUY IT IF YOUR ARE RICH OR STUPID!! Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I've owned and played all the previous renditions of the Call of Duty series. I read that they wanted us 'loyalists' to come here and put in an 'honest' review. Well, here goes...unfortunately for them I really don't have anything positive to say. There is nothing innovative or ground breaking in MW3. A few tweaks were made to the game but none of them were significant enough toI've owned and played all the previous renditions of the Call of Duty series. I read that they wanted us 'loyalists' to come here and put in an 'honest' review. Well, here goes...unfortunately for them I really don't have anything positive to say. There is nothing innovative or ground breaking in MW3. A few tweaks were made to the game but none of them were significant enough to warrant a 'new game'. I was so disappointed with MW3 I went out and bought BF3. I think this is the beginning of the end for the CoD franchise for me unless they can get their act together...... Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Dont waste your money on this game get bf3 i have both games and everything is so much better in bf3 from the graphics to the multipalyer the sound the realism is just amazing in bf3, i wouldliketo call mw3, mw2.1 because it exactly the same as mw2 with a few more guns and perks and i new mode thats all
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Been playing all night. The maps do not feel right,. The no scooping and drops shots still being int he game are just stupid. And the MOAB is just as game breaking as the nuke was in MW2. The most damning aspect is that it is the same game as MW1, MW2, and Black ops. Huge disappointment.
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    This game is absolute crap!!! i can't believe i actually pre-ordered and bought this hunk of crap not only did i glitch out 3 different times in the campaign i also think this is just a revamped map pack of mw2. i think that activision made a huge mistake for releasing this game. cmon battlefield 3's beta was better than this whole game...they should have kept treyarch and had them make aThis game is absolute crap!!! i can't believe i actually pre-ordered and bought this hunk of crap not only did i glitch out 3 different times in the campaign i also think this is just a revamped map pack of mw2. i think that activision made a huge mistake for releasing this game. cmon battlefield 3's beta was better than this whole game...they should have kept treyarch and had them make a sequel to black ops at least it had zombies... the horde mode on this is a joke and i made it through like 7 waves before getting incredibly bored all in all i think this may be the biggest waste of 60 bucks I've ever spent and I've played and bought some really crappy games lol. this however is the most horrible game ive ever played and i will be trading it in to buy Skyrim... so Activision if you want feedback here it is fire sledgehammer and rehire treyarch... one would think that they would want to be better than there competition with bf3 and gears 3 but that definitely is not the case so... this is probably the last Call of Duty game i will ever buy unless its made by treyarch. Expand
  35. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Don't waste your money. Same old, same old. If you enjoy playing with worthless high-pitched voiced 12 years olds screaming **** **** and every single other profanity into the mic, then that would most likely make yourself 12 years old. Literally NOTHING has changed. If you have played MW1, then you have played all other games after that. $60 map pack cash-in from Activision. Disgusting.
  36. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    This is one of the most unbalanced multiplayer games ever. Within 24 hours there were tons of people who were level 42-70 maybe cause they used countless double xp from the dorrito and mountain dew challenge and stayed up all 24 hours. This isn't how games should be played nor how gamers should be rewarded. This strengthens the stigma of the fat unsocial gamer and turns off theThis is one of the most unbalanced multiplayer games ever. Within 24 hours there were tons of people who were level 42-70 maybe cause they used countless double xp from the dorrito and mountain dew challenge and stayed up all 24 hours. This isn't how games should be played nor how gamers should be rewarded. This strengthens the stigma of the fat unsocial gamer and turns off the occasional mw3 gamer. Also the campaign was basically Michael Bay on acid making a shooter with all the transformer action a little 5 year old would love. Most others wouldnt. Expand
  37. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    When you make billions of dollars after blacks ops you think you could actually put some effort into the next game and make a good story mode that is more than friekin 5hrs. I payed 65 dollars for a story mode that was full of just shooting 20 guys then get in a car and kill 10 followed by kill 30 more. The story is BS. Top it off with multiplayer being the same just added map packs. Rip off.
  38. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    All the video game websites that had no balls to be truthful and give mw3 a low score which it deserves since it is a recycled game the same game as before can take the money activision payed you to give the game a high score can shove the money up each of your bunholes. And all the call of duty fan boys out there congradualations for being robbed of your money by activision.
  39. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    Im stunned that they can make a game worse than they have before. The kill streaks are awful, spawning is the worst out of any COD game. Its like they just got lazy. Can be a good game though with some updates. Oh yeah, and why the hell are we still quick scoping
  40. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I feel the Call Of Duty series has lost its way with its boring and repetitive game play. Its too annual for my liking and I believe if they took a year or two out, or tried something new they would receive a better reception. Bring on Skyrim
  41. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Is this a joke? why are we paying £45 for the same game every year? new weapons and call of duty elite? just another money making tool used by activision on thier quest to ruin the games indusrty.the game is full of hackers and mods yet nothing is done about it.i guarantee that the next call of duty which presumable will be made by trearch will be exactly the same as blackIs this a joke? why are we paying £45 for the same game every year? new weapons and call of duty elite? just another money making tool used by activision on thier quest to ruin the games indusrty.the game is full of hackers and mods yet nothing is done about it.i guarantee that the next call of duty which presumable will be made by trearch will be exactly the same as black ops. why are we falling for the hype every year and being let down? absolutly disgusted spending my hard earned cash on this *updated modern warfare 2 game. Expand
  42. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Call Of Duty continues their downward spiral. The founders of the series have gone.
    Sure MW2 needed some minor tweeks. Instead this team decided to fiddle and faddle with the game engine. Like a janitor working under the hood of a stealth bomber.
    The match making, hit detection, and host ping compensation are broken. The spawn system has been set so there is no point of being born with a
    Call Of Duty continues their downward spiral. The founders of the series have gone.
    Sure MW2 needed some minor tweeks. Instead this team decided to fiddle and faddle with the game engine. Like a janitor working under the hood of a stealth bomber.
    The match making, hit detection, and host ping compensation are broken.
    The spawn system has been set so there is no point of being born with a brain.
    Spawn point! and shot!
    That is good, because the maps are mazes of cutter. If it were not for the noobed down spawn system,
    you would never be able to find anyone.
    Expand
  43. Nov 15, 2011
    4
    when I started playing the game the first thought I had was "this is the same engine as modern warfare 2." as the story progressed I found myself asking where in this campaign is there a level that I would want to play again and again. In both modern warfare 1 and 2 there were levels I just wanted to play over and over. But this time I would probably only play the campaign to getwhen I started playing the game the first thought I had was "this is the same engine as modern warfare 2." as the story progressed I found myself asking where in this campaign is there a level that I would want to play again and again. In both modern warfare 1 and 2 there were levels I just wanted to play over and over. But this time I would probably only play the campaign to get achievements at most. There is nothing new to the campaign besides awesome weapons. The story is short about 4-6 hours on normal at most. And what little story there is, it is just a reboot of the combined ideas of modern warfare 1 and 2. I had no "wow" moment I had more of a "here we go again". For the campaign the gameplay is the same but the story is old and feels like a reboot. The multiplayer has become more "balanced" or as I like to call it become more "unrealistic". Shotguns are now pea shoots at most. And the multiplayer is mostly the same as modern warfare 2. The addition of survival adds a lot of fun but getting stuck with the guy who leaves his post to take your kills and results in you getting flanked by the enemy gets old fast. Survival is enjoyable but it does not allow you the customization nor the number of guns that you can get in multiplayer. As a result it feels unfinished and not as enjoyable as it could have been. Spec ops is back with no difference what so ever to modern warfare 2. All and all the campaign is a disappoint; as it brings nothing new to the table, same with both the multiplayer and spec ops. The only thing remotely new is survival and that is incomplete. All I can say is congrats Activision on sucking the life out of another great game. Expand
  44. z1p
    Nov 15, 2011
    2
    Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! It is a slightly adjusted version of the previous title, MW2. The challenges for multiplayer are EXACTLY the same as MW1! Story is okay, I say just give this one a rental. Not worth your money or time. Buy BF3 if you want a good shooter.
  45. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    I eagerly pre ordered the hardened edition of mw3 having played black ops to death and was part of the beta for elite then release day came my brother got a midnight copy I had to wait for the delivery next day - getting up the next morning i walked into my brothers room and said did you not manage to get it ? thinking he was playing mw2 glen schofield of sledgehammer says he worked hisI eagerly pre ordered the hardened edition of mw3 having played black ops to death and was part of the beta for elite then release day came my brother got a midnight copy I had to wait for the delivery next day - getting up the next morning i walked into my brothers room and said did you not manage to get it ? thinking he was playing mw2 glen schofield of sledgehammer says he worked his but off for 2 years - 2 years for a map pack? change career would be my advice...............wake up cracktavision ............ Expand
  46. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Sadly MW3 has ruined the franchise for me - multiplayer has lost it's fun thanks to an unbalanced kill streak system that just takes all the skill (and the fun) out of the game. If you like being blown to bits by random explosions, predato missiles or attack helicopters every 15-20 seconds (it really is that bad), then go nuts - but it's not for me...

    I've not played the campaign, but
    Sadly MW3 has ruined the franchise for me - multiplayer has lost it's fun thanks to an unbalanced kill streak system that just takes all the skill (and the fun) out of the game. If you like being blown to bits by random explosions, predato missiles or attack helicopters every 15-20 seconds (it really is that bad), then go nuts - but it's not for me...

    I've not played the campaign, but that's not what I buy for - think I may finally have to give Battlefield a chance.
    Expand
  47. Nov 19, 2011
    6
    I just got screwed by the marketing machine. I was expecting a game with improvements in gameplay, graphics and sound. Kinda works like that otherwise we would all be still paying pong and pacman.

    Not in this case. Exactly the same as his predecessors which are two year old games. I paid a lot of money for a game with little effort. The 1 is to compensate for the fanboys give this 10's
    I just got screwed by the marketing machine. I was expecting a game with improvements in gameplay, graphics and sound. Kinda works like that otherwise we would all be still paying pong and pacman.

    Not in this case. Exactly the same as his predecessors which are two year old games. I paid a lot of money for a game with little effort. The 1 is to compensate for the fanboys give this 10's and that includes that corrupt game journalist whose sites shall not be visited anymore ( just gamespy who gave a fair judgement)
    Expand
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    So terrible, where to begin? Bugs galore, and for a linear single player game that's not good. Boring, feels like ive played this before. Oh, wait i have. It was called Call of duty modern warfare 2.
  49. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    My scores fair enough. Not saying this game is terrible its far from it. All im saying is if you own Call of Duty 4 or MW2 don't bother its just another reboot. Obviously with each game released it gets better, but I am not interested in the little extras which all fan boys love to brag about. Its the same old gameplay in single and multiplayer even the same old plot. In case no one elseMy scores fair enough. Not saying this game is terrible its far from it. All im saying is if you own Call of Duty 4 or MW2 don't bother its just another reboot. Obviously with each game released it gets better, but I am not interested in the little extras which all fan boys love to brag about. Its the same old gameplay in single and multiplayer even the same old plot. In case no one else has noticed (which everyone obviously has) it seems like the series is running in an infinite loop. Also I dont get why they made the AK 47 look different and well lets face it, in the game its not the best choice of gun. This also makes no sense to me. To sum it all up, its good but also very similar to the older games and this has thrown me off completely. Expand
  50. Dec 1, 2011
    3
    First I am a cod fan I have played them all. I don't see how some on here can say Mw3 is like Mw2 really well Mw2 worked there was no lag which this is all the game has in MP play. Spawns are broken you will shot someone only to have them spawn right behind you that sure didn't happen in MW2 now did it.. They put out 2 patches so far and have not been able to fix the lag in this game orFirst I am a cod fan I have played them all. I don't see how some on here can say Mw3 is like Mw2 really well Mw2 worked there was no lag which this is all the game has in MP play. Spawns are broken you will shot someone only to have them spawn right behind you that sure didn't happen in MW2 now did it.. They put out 2 patches so far and have not been able to fix the lag in this game or spawns yet. Maps are the biggest fail ever in this game. They are so small with junk everywhere no clear shooting lines lots of buildings which you can't even go though to get to the other side everything is closed off no big maps like waste land or over grown. If you haven't got this game yet I'm sure most have it now but if you don't wait till it drops in price I really hope Sledgehammer never gets another chance at making a COD game ever again you dropped the ball big time Expand
  51. Dec 6, 2011
    5
    No stopping power, but Infinity Ward kept last stand. Terrible idea. No Ricochet on Hardcore modes. Another big mistake. Why change weapon stats from previous games? Totally unbalanced weapon loadouts. These single player campaigns need a major overhaul, enough with the scripted events already. Look folks this formula has run its course now. Call of Duty Elite is just a cash grab.No stopping power, but Infinity Ward kept last stand. Terrible idea. No Ricochet on Hardcore modes. Another big mistake. Why change weapon stats from previous games? Totally unbalanced weapon loadouts. These single player campaigns need a major overhaul, enough with the scripted events already. Look folks this formula has run its course now. Call of Duty Elite is just a cash grab. Make a game worthy of tracking stats on and people will take it more seriously. These fresh developers simply cannot fill the shoes of the originals. R.I.P. Call of Duty. Expand
  52. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    First off I wanted to write a mw3 review for a while its a complete review from the story to spec ops all the way to the criticality acclaimed multilayer. Story: Its hard to give a review without giving out spoilers but il try :) The story basically takes off where MW2 left its WW3 and Soap Mactavish and Captain Price have to stop Makarov. Now without giving spoilers I will tell you thatFirst off I wanted to write a mw3 review for a while its a complete review from the story to spec ops all the way to the criticality acclaimed multilayer. Story: Its hard to give a review without giving out spoilers but il try :) The story basically takes off where MW2 left its WW3 and Soap Mactavish and Captain Price have to stop Makarov. Now without giving spoilers I will tell you that they're are fundamental plot holes in the story that dont require a genius to figure out. Apart from that, its still fun, missions are varied, entertaining and dont require much skill even on veteran compared to black ops that is but the ending will give you a great surprise. Spec Ops. Spec ops is very fun, mission are varied but are way to easy even on veteran, and survival was a brilliant addition to this spec ops. It's good to get the DLC from COD elite as well. Multiplayer: although the multiplayer is fun, its a copy paste from MW2, top to bottom, many weapons, game titles, sound effects, as well as kill streaks all come from previous titles (espacially MW2). Well some people do tell me why change what's great? Well I would normally agree the core gun on gun game play is still they're but is being hindered by MAJOR balance issues from perks to weapons, no dedicated servers, lack of team play as well as knife issues all that with a terrible spawn system. The maps all feel the same. Probably the most disappointing aspect of the game. Even Robert Bowiling the creative strategist said this in an interview : "I feel like we are in a f*cking era where everyone is so focused on subscriber numbers and all that stuff that we need to get back to what I feel like we did so much better in the old days of just plain good will, like stuff like the LAN patch, yeah it is lower priority but letâ Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disclaimer: Reviewer is a PC gamer
    while the new streak packages and classes are a welcome change, its not enough! this game is all about running and spraying ur weapon whenever an enemy appears on your crosshair. not to mention the naderpg spam.
    for PC gamers since MW2 the series has been a slap to the face. Blops gave us back Dedi servers but the overall game itself was really lacking
    Disclaimer: Reviewer is a PC gamer
    while the new streak packages and classes are a welcome change, its not enough! this game is all about running and spraying ur weapon whenever an enemy appears on your crosshair. not to mention the naderpg spam.
    for PC gamers since MW2 the series has been a slap to the face. Blops gave us back Dedi servers but the overall game itself was really lacking on the PC, with the game in an unplayable state for the first month past release and Wager matches only playable with stupid sucky matchmaking and limited to 6 people!

    here comes MW3, another slap to the face, do they give us Dedi servers? yes!!!
    but wait!!!
    they forgot to mention that all dedicated servers will be UNRANKED(!) and if u want to play on ranked servers and rank up and unlock stuff u'll have to resort to matchmaking ala MW2!!

    not enough that this game is using the same engine from CoD4, some say its "improved" but to me its just smokes and mirrors.
    this was once a beautiful series, strong on both PCs and Consoles. now its just a yearly cash-in for Activision.

    im sure this game will succeed in sales, there are alot of not-so-smart 12yrs old out there waiting to get there hands on it.
    but for me, i'll stick to other shooters.
    Expand
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    it's just DLC no new thing

    Negative is good for it (((Have been playing MW3 online for a few hours now and it surprised me that a game I wasn't looking forward to, at all, still was able to... disappoint me. Have seen many of the maps and I haven't felt a presence of a classic map. Running makes you wiggle like a drunk duck, reloading is much quicker than switching weapons. The thing
    it's just DLC no new thing


    Negative is good for it

    (((Have been playing MW3 online for a few hours now and it surprised me that a game I wasn't looking forward to, at all, still was able to... disappoint me. Have seen many of the maps and I haven't felt a presence of a classic map. Running makes you wiggle like a drunk duck, reloading is much quicker than switching weapons. The thing cod "had going for it" was fast fluent game play huh?)))
    Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a joke- buying it only tells developers that its ok to release the same game over and over again. I mean, it took them 2 years to add some lighting effects and new animations, and then make some new maps (and even buildings within those have been copy-pasted...)
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    hmmm... Critic score: 89 User's Score: 3.0. Did Activision line some pockets? There is only one way that +2400 users would come up with a score this low while the Critic's rave about it.... Sad.... WAKE UP - Gamers don't want the same game every year with a pretty new bow on it. Activision ran the Guitar Hero Franchise into the ground and they are doing the same to the FPS market.
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    was very hyped for this and was so let down....same old cod, feels like modern warfare 2 DLC imo, yes this may be the "best" call of duty multiplayer but no improvements that i'm willing to fork out £40 for. I'll be trading this game in very soon. utter garbage and just to think activision makes so much money from people, and the the DLC will be over 10 per mapwas very hyped for this and was so let down....same old cod, feels like modern warfare 2 DLC imo, yes this may be the "best" call of duty multiplayer but no improvements that i'm willing to fork out £40 for. I'll be trading this game in very soon. utter garbage and just to think activision makes so much money from people, and the the DLC will be over 10 per map pack...outrageous, glad ive got other GREAT games to play such as fifa 12, uncharted 3, battlefield and batman AC. Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I will be honest, Call of Duty has been nothing but rehashed since Call of Duty 4. Kotick has been capitalizing on map packs since then. It's the same content since 2009. It's a terrible game, while the graphics may be good, and music; it is is still just THE SAME EXACT GAME
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    I'm about 30% into the campaign and I don't really want to keep playing it. The story is a mess and the regular progression of coming up to more spawning enemies is old and boring. The same old graphics leave nothing to be excited about. I've played 5 hours of multiplayer and so far I haven't been impressed with the maps. Many of them seem like rush jobs that just feel like mazes whereI'm about 30% into the campaign and I don't really want to keep playing it. The story is a mess and the regular progression of coming up to more spawning enemies is old and boring. The same old graphics leave nothing to be excited about. I've played 5 hours of multiplayer and so far I haven't been impressed with the maps. Many of them seem like rush jobs that just feel like mazes where you can flank any location multiple ways. The one positive I've noticed is the gun sounds and feel which have been improved. The kill confirm death match mode is also something new and enjoyable. I'll play this for a while with friends, but unless there are dramatic changes in next years release I'm going to have to pass on buying it for the first time in a long time. It's time for the franchise to give us something new and stop milking the hype they created from the first Modern Warfare. Expand
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'd like to kick off this review saying I'm not a BF fanboy, you can keep your bf's and your bff's for all I care.

    Twelve months ago, the CEO of Activision, who was bred in a test tube with fertilisation donations from the risen ghost of hitler, called for another game to lengthen the turgid slick of mediocrity that is Call of Duty. Featuring another uninspired campaign of betrayal,
    I'd like to kick off this review saying I'm not a BF fanboy, you can keep your bf's and your bff's for all I care.

    Twelve months ago, the CEO of Activision, who was bred in a test tube with fertilisation donations from the risen ghost of hitler, called for another game to lengthen the turgid slick of mediocrity that is Call of Duty. Featuring another uninspired campaign of betrayal, shooting foreigners, on rails gunning, and controversy, (think car bombs in London and twelve year old girls) interspersed with witless dialogue and explosions that appeal to the lowest common denominator, this game can only be described as terrible.

    It seems no effort was made to make a good game. The graphics are poor in comparison to well made recently released games that will cost you the same amount of money, the campaign is a recycled version of the last 4 years worth of call of duty's. The multiplayer is EXACTLY the same as every other game in the series, but with a collection of new, poorly concieved maps and ideas to create weapon imbalance. In short this game's only redeeming feature is that if you put it in the microwave on high, I believe it will crackle up in a small light show.

    Don't get Modern warfare 3, you worked too hard for that money, and you don't want to encourage that lazy bunch of developers. It seems the most effort they made with this game was to beg for people to overlook the lack of quality and give the game a good review. This is a company that had a press release with one of their Modern Warfare 2 map packs, stating that a price rise from the usual 800 MSP per map pack, to 1200 MSP, is in the interests of consumers. Stay away from this game, I have it on good advice that it is one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse, gathering strength with every sale.

    Important note: The game features a car bombing in London, and, while I'm all for poorly timed walks of the dangerous knife edge that is taste and decency, capitilising on devastating terrorist attacks to create the illusion of storyline and plot, and to generate anger out of teenage boys, it must be noted that the scene is handled with the sensitivity and delicacy of a drug mule's full cavity search at an Indonesian airport. Also PARIS LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THAT!! The furthest the developers must have gone in their 'research' was the McDonald's nearest to the 'development' 'studio' , while their MW2 disks had the 3's printed over.

    The developers sank as low as to beg for good reviews (absolutely shameless) - originally the user score sat at less than 2.5 - now, sadly, it is rising because of the flock of sheep that follow the developer around blindly. It is not worth 3.
    Expand
  61. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    A good game if you hadn't seen it before. If this was the first of it's kind we would all love it. Instead paid $60 for a slightly tweaked MW2 with smaller multiplayer maps. Played it for 4 hours will be giving it away tomorrow. Too many good games out there to invest any more time. On Xbox I think they have already figured out how to do the care package glitch. Haven't played the campaignA good game if you hadn't seen it before. If this was the first of it's kind we would all love it. Instead paid $60 for a slightly tweaked MW2 with smaller multiplayer maps. Played it for 4 hours will be giving it away tomorrow. Too many good games out there to invest any more time. On Xbox I think they have already figured out how to do the care package glitch. Haven't played the campaign may give it a shot. Expand
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Call of Duty's next screwed up. The series sank in **** and noobs player. Multiplayer is disgusting. Graphics got sucked. I think i rather play Battlefield 3 getting **** in my toilet than play that with my girlfriend doing blowjob.
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Score for re-selling Call of Duty 4 over and over again. Call of Duty will end up like Tony Hawk, Vigilante 8 or Guitar Hero series. Good work Activision!!! When games are made only just to earn as much money as possible they lose their charm.
  64. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Glorified map pack is what MW3 is. Maps are too small making snipers ineffective, hit detection is super wonky and single player is only 5 hrs long. Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops are much better games. Kinda of fun but don't waste 60 dollars on this.
  65. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    This game has bad graphics compaired to other games first of all, second is the voice actors are horrible, third is the story is crap, the game looks dated, the only play is very laggy and sluggish for no reason, and it also freezes sometimes. Total waste of money.
  66. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Absolute garbage. The same bs rehashed and repackaged with new cover and marketed to 11 year old boys across the world. Why would anyone want to play a game where the primary demographic while online is squeaky voiced 11 year olds calling you a f@g?

    I'd rather not play games with roomfulls of children tyvm.
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Oh look! I just bought Modern Warfare 2 again! Silly me!
  68. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Uggghhhh, I picked up a copy of MW3 on released date and I'm regretting that decision right now!!! I was hopping for something a little new compared to previous COD titles but I was greatly disappointed, its just the same old MW2 with new maps and some added game modes. Other than the Survival mode (which is fun), there aren't really anything too exciting to look forward to in thisUggghhhh, I picked up a copy of MW3 on released date and I'm regretting that decision right now!!! I was hopping for something a little new compared to previous COD titles but I was greatly disappointed, its just the same old MW2 with new maps and some added game modes. Other than the Survival mode (which is fun), there aren't really anything too exciting to look forward to in this iteration of the series so don't waste your money. This might have been good as a DLC for MW2 but it doesn't cut it as a brand new game, which it definitely is not!! Everything is almost the same down to the menus, game play, and graphics (even had re-cycled building from COD4)!!!! As for all these rave reviews from all these so call critics passing off MW3 as the most exciting and innovative game yet, what a crock of BS! All the misleading reviews from these critics pushed me off the fence and I bought the game. Unfortunately, I fell off on the wrong side of the fence and re-purchased the same game I bought 2 years ago!! Expand
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Nothing new!

    That right there is probably the biggest problem for MW 3 there is NOTHING new about it. It has the same graphics, it uses the same engine, it has the same guns, most of the same perks and killstreaks. The only thing new are the maps. The maps are horrible. They are unbalanced and in general not very well made. We should have seen this coming though. Some people might
    Nothing new!

    That right there is probably the biggest problem for MW 3 there is NOTHING new about it. It has the same graphics, it uses the same engine, it has the same guns, most of the same perks and killstreaks. The only thing new are the maps. The maps are horrible. They are unbalanced and in general not very well made. We should have seen this coming though. Some people might remember that almost everyone at Infinity Ward up and quit after Activision didn't pay them their bonuses they they rightly earned by having one of the best selling FPS's of all time. The new teams that they brought in were Sledgehammer and Raven, neither of them had made an extremely successful FPS before and for being completely new developers to the franchise they did nothing new. They took MW 2 added some new maps a few new killstreaks and called it MW 3. This was just Activision's way to milk more money out of the COD franchise, IW had almost no part in this, the love that they put into MW 2 that made it fun is completely gone, MW 3 was stale before it even came out of the box.
    Expand
  70. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    LOOOOOOOOOOOOL SIXTY DOLLA MAP PACK! LOOOOOOOOOOOOOL! Even the fake so-called infinity ward developer tries to boost up the metacritic score with their babbies fans. "hey man, boosting should only be on your rehashed mw2 game"
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I enjoyed Modern Warfare 1 for story and MP, and Modern Warfare 2's MP and I never got along, but the story was great and action packed as usual and key features and gameplay additions were made. Spec Ops was a blast and provided hours of fun. MW3 doesn't feel updated at all. It feels like a zombie. The graphics are old, the facial animations stiff, the characters round turns like robots,I enjoyed Modern Warfare 1 for story and MP, and Modern Warfare 2's MP and I never got along, but the story was great and action packed as usual and key features and gameplay additions were made. Spec Ops was a blast and provided hours of fun. MW3 doesn't feel updated at all. It feels like a zombie. The graphics are old, the facial animations stiff, the characters round turns like robots, the sounds are still terrible, and many of the environments still look like cardboard, which, in MW 1 and 2's case, I excused because of the exciting game play and story. MW3 is just a rehashed and uninventive copy of the first two. I played the whole campaign and never once felt the rush or compulsion I did in MW 1 and 2. Then I tried the MP, the three maps I played for mostly flat, mazes that were CQB and very, very bland. Everything looked exactly the same. I legitimately attempted to enjoy this. I did, but it's obvious that Activision is just grubbing for money. If Infinity Ward's original creators would've been at the helm, things might have been different. All and all, hugely disappointed. Expand
  72. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This game sucks it is a recycled update from Call of Duty Modern **** 2, no innovation, jus Copy and Paste everything, there are even videos on You tube that prove how lazy ass infinnity ward has recycled buildings from COD 4 into this game.
    If you like to play the same **** over and over and forever again, this is the game for you
  73. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    Congratulations on somehow milking more and more money out of each subsequent copy of CoD: Modern Warfare. This game would be more aptly titled "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Ep 3," as it is essentially an expansion pack to the same game we've been playing for four years. Infinity Ward really phoned it on the single-player campaign, and the multiplayer is--yet again--another glorified mapCongratulations on somehow milking more and more money out of each subsequent copy of CoD: Modern Warfare. This game would be more aptly titled "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Ep 3," as it is essentially an expansion pack to the same game we've been playing for four years. Infinity Ward really phoned it on the single-player campaign, and the multiplayer is--yet again--another glorified map expansion and balance tweak. Modern Warfare 3: you get 9 for quality gameplay, minus 2 points for leaving that gameplay unchanged for four years, and minus 3 more points for charging us 60 bucks for the exact same experience. And you know what? Minus one more point for selling us over-priced DLC which was probably finished weeks before the game released. Expand
  74. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Dissapointing rehash of MW2. Shame on you Activision. How could you let something like this get out the door? You have like 4 game development studios working on this game, and yet it looks as if someone made the multiplayer in 5 seconds
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a re hash of CoD:MW2, so embarrassed i spent money on it....Its like a big map pack for CoD:MW2. Everyone needs to stop buying these games from Activision because they are just taking our money and laughing at us. And when they come out with DLC, rest assured they price it $5 higher than every other DLC pack. O and did I mention that the story sucks...come on. Anyway, if youThis game is a re hash of CoD:MW2, so embarrassed i spent money on it....Its like a big map pack for CoD:MW2. Everyone needs to stop buying these games from Activision because they are just taking our money and laughing at us. And when they come out with DLC, rest assured they price it $5 higher than every other DLC pack. O and did I mention that the story sucks...come on. Anyway, if you read this, don't buy it. BF3 kids are not trolling you, this game is NOT worth your money. Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Repacking the same game for the third time in a row. The SP is anemic, MP identical and the DLC gouging of customers remains the same. MW3 should have been sold as 15$ expansion to MW2. There is simply no excuse for the consistent lack of creativity and shady business practices revolving around this series.
  77. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    The 2nd expansion pack to MW2 has arrived. More of the same- yawn. I'm not quite sure whether they are too scared of innovating and scaring off the occassional tatoo toting bogans who are cod fanboys, whether the release cycle is burning them, or they have just run out of steam. Either way this is dodgy.
  78. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot,Run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, GLITCH run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, MODDED CONTROLLER run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get run, shoot, get shot, respawn,shot, respawn, SAME GAME EVERYTIME run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, THE WORST THING TO HAPPEN TO VIDEOGAMES SINCE THE ATARI JAGUAR run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, run, shoot, get shot, respawn, OH LOOK MW4 IS ABOUT TO COME OUT. Expand
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Have been playing MW3 online for a few hours now and it surprised me that a game I wasn't looking forward to, at all, still was able to... disappoint me.
  80. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    To be honest, I wasn't expecting good things at first. But... yeah I was about right. Same game engine since Call of Duty 4. However, this was made even worse when they added the glow effect in Modern Warfare 2 which made everything look like it was covered in an oddly rigid water. Do not buy. Let the poor guy die. He's had enough. Call of Duty had potential, but it was quickly sapped byTo be honest, I wasn't expecting good things at first. But... yeah I was about right. Same game engine since Call of Duty 4. However, this was made even worse when they added the glow effect in Modern Warfare 2 which made everything look like it was covered in an oddly rigid water. Do not buy. Let the poor guy die. He's had enough. Call of Duty had potential, but it was quickly sapped by the greedy publishers. Do not blame the devs. It's all on Activision. Expand
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    8th same Call of Duty game in 8 years, to milk even more money they decided to just downgrade the MP even more for a elite subscription which won't even include $15 old map packs every month! Avoid.
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    I'm sorely disappointed in the multiplayer. After playing both BF3 and MW3 multiplayer, BF3 is in my opinion the superior of the two.

    Graphically MW3 hasn't changed much while BF3 adds a new level of realism. Sound wise, and this is the first thing I noticed as soon as I started playing MW3 multiplayer, MW3 is dull. Every time the weapon fired it just kinda sounded like thuds to me. BF3
    I'm sorely disappointed in the multiplayer. After playing both BF3 and MW3 multiplayer, BF3 is in my opinion the superior of the two.

    Graphically MW3 hasn't changed much while BF3 adds a new level of realism.

    Sound wise, and this is the first thing I noticed as soon as I started playing MW3 multiplayer, MW3 is dull. Every time the weapon fired it just kinda sounded like thuds to me. BF3 sound seems to have that special sharpness and crack when a weapon or explosion goes off.

    The maps, oh the maps..., are the exact same thing I've seen in MW for a while now. Each one is just laid out different and with different textures. Actually trying to use knowledge of the map to your advantage fails horribly because by the time you try to circle around any enemy they are either gone or already killed by the fast paced nature of things.

    The list of game modes available, while impressive, still lack ways to differentiate from each one, mostly due to the lack of map uniqueness.

    The only thing that saves it for me is the single player campaign.
    Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Another year, another COD: and every new COD is worst than previous. MWF3 is repetitive, the 6 hour campaign is too short, and the multiplayer adds nothing new.
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Why would i continue to play this game? I played for like three hours, and realized...it was just the same thing as modern warfare 2 and black ops...which were bad too. When will they get an idea and actually change the game instead of just copying and pasting? I'm surprised so many people like it and don't see that it's copy and paste. The story was short, and very very very boring, iWhy would i continue to play this game? I played for like three hours, and realized...it was just the same thing as modern warfare 2 and black ops...which were bad too. When will they get an idea and actually change the game instead of just copying and pasting? I'm surprised so many people like it and don't see that it's copy and paste. The story was short, and very very very boring, i know people that say its "the best ever" but all they play is call of duty, they don't play other games. The story was very short, boring, and felt like it was trying to be good, but we all know it wasn't. Year after year, people want the next call of duty game to be better, but deep inside they know its not good at all. Expand
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3? A new videogame? I was thinking that was a DLC of 70$. You will feel like you've stepped back in time 6-7 years. The graphics are brown and grey and decay-esque, the gun sounds are horrible.
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same game as MW2, MW1 and black ops, nothing has changed! Just new maps, which they will release a few more for $20 every month. Why do people keep buying this?
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    same ole same ole! Nothing has changed... This game used to be about skill. The player with the most skill would win everytime... Now, a 10 yo can pick up a controller and go 30-2... sickening!
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    I've played COD since I got a demo for the first one long ago on a "Maximum CD". I've seen the series grow and change except for recently when It stopped. COD MW3 is just another rehash of an old game with a new skin/logo and they except everyone to buy it. It's effectively nothing more than one of their cash cows now.

    The single player is okay but just like every game its over in one day
    I've played COD since I got a demo for the first one long ago on a "Maximum CD". I've seen the series grow and change except for recently when It stopped. COD MW3 is just another rehash of an old game with a new skin/logo and they except everyone to buy it. It's effectively nothing more than one of their cash cows now.

    The single player is okay but just like every game its over in one day if you sit down to really play it. The online part of it is just the same as the previous except with what appears to be smaller sized maps. If you want just rent the game and beat the campaign. If your looking for online play just play any of the other copies that were released previously or just find another series.
    Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I am a COD player ever since Call of Duty hit the shelves in 2003. I like the series very much, I played every single COD game across every platform. Unfortunately I also had a chance of playing MW3. I regret getting it both on PC and the 360. I had fun with this game for about 20 minutes in SP and an hour in MP. It's as much as I could take. The game is way too repetitive in every aspectI am a COD player ever since Call of Duty hit the shelves in 2003. I like the series very much, I played every single COD game across every platform. Unfortunately I also had a chance of playing MW3. I regret getting it both on PC and the 360. I had fun with this game for about 20 minutes in SP and an hour in MP. It's as much as I could take. The game is way too repetitive in every aspect of it. There is nothing new that is good going for it. The MP maps are a joke, campers on every corner, the SP is cliched and comes with all the cheap thrills we already saw dozens of times before. While it runs great on a greatly outdated engine on the 360 the PC graphics are crappy and are a complete mess. Some of the screen shots posted online were retouched without a doubt. If MW3 released in 2006 it would be good, but for today's standards it just shows the lack of effort on Activision's part. I am really disappointed. We as gamers need to ask more from the companies we support. With the release of MW3 I lost the respect I had for Activision. Begging gamers for support in raising a user score on here by a CoD developer is something I would never expect. I would never suggest getting this game to anyone. Let's hope MW4 will be better. Just an honest opinion. Expand
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I am a big Call of Duty fan and I have been playing CoD games since COD2. Overall, I think it is quite obvious by the number of bad reviews that this game is a disappointment. Its a real shame that with all the revenue generated by the CoD series, that no development has gone into any substantial updates.

    MW3 did away with any innovation that Blackops brought to the table. It seems all
    I am a big Call of Duty fan and I have been playing CoD games since COD2. Overall, I think it is quite obvious by the number of bad reviews that this game is a disappointment. Its a real shame that with all the revenue generated by the CoD series, that no development has gone into any substantial updates.

    MW3 did away with any innovation that Blackops brought to the table. It seems all they did was to take MW2 and throw a stupid amount of killstreaks/perks/unlockables at it. The maps are again very disappointing, too tight and maze like. There is a reason why CoD4 is hailed as the best in the series, its simplicity created good gameplay, which neglected the need for silly features. I don't understand how hard it is to look at the maps that people like the most and create more like them. I think that this poor reiteration of an ageing CoD formula is the icing on the cake, people are fed up and want change. In my opinion, take a step back, don't rush to release a new CoD game purely for revenue as it is only going to hurt you in the long run. Instead, look at the feedback from the user base and ask them what they want done differently. Another option would be show us the changes, and get feedback, instead of just pushing it out on release day and hoping for the best.
    Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game. Cut and paste of mw2. It is so bad, don't even try it out. Barely anything has changed and it sucks. It is just a $60 dollar expansion pack.
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a disgrace. The graphics are the same as MW2 and the levels use recycled aspects. Most importantly the online play is absolutely horrendous. Hosting is a huge issue and I have played games where an entire team is goes positive while the other team is completely negative. There is no balance and is clearly the fault of the developers who made a crappy game that was clearlyThis game is a disgrace. The graphics are the same as MW2 and the levels use recycled aspects. Most importantly the online play is absolutely horrendous. Hosting is a huge issue and I have played games where an entire team is goes positive while the other team is completely negative. There is no balance and is clearly the fault of the developers who made a crappy game that was clearly a cash in on a franchise. For the amount of money that went into this game I expect much more. Activision and Infinity Ward should be ashamed for putting out such a half baked product Expand
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This should have been sent to the recycle bin on the creators desktop. YES everyone it's that bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GARBAGE GARBAGE GARBAGE GARBAGE GARBAGE GARBAGE
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    When I play Modern Warfare 3, all i can think of is how this game could have been so good. The game has a deceptive single player and a copied multi-player. The single player game is just like a B-movie. Explosions, bullets flying, and add Military jargon to mix and you have the single player portion of Modern Warfare 3. When the Modern Warfare 3 commercial includes WW3, I expect fullWhen I play Modern Warfare 3, all i can think of is how this game could have been so good. The game has a deceptive single player and a copied multi-player. The single player game is just like a B-movie. Explosions, bullets flying, and add Military jargon to mix and you have the single player portion of Modern Warfare 3. When the Modern Warfare 3 commercial includes WW3, I expect full scale front lines war, like World at War. I wasn't expecting tactical teams going street to street following tanks. This is not WW3.

    The multiplayer is exactly the same as Modern warfare 2 and Black Ops. Perks, Unlockable guns, and killstreaks are all apart of the multiplayer. The only difference is that we get a new mode called survival. Survival is the only reason, in my opinion, to get this game. It is fun. The only thing is it is two player. It Would be better with more than two players.

    I give this game a 5 because of the lackluster single-player, the copycat multiplayer (but fun Survival). I really hope that this Franchise does not turn into another Madden.
    Expand
  95. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    This game is pure fail, graphics are old, if someone who loves cod go's and plays the game called two worlds they would comment n how bad the graphics are...there the same year engine! And them mp is boring with bad maps. Just a total fail game. At least now people are starting to realise. It's just a cash cow with nothing new. When a sexual comes out it HAS to be an improvement or thisThis game is pure fail, graphics are old, if someone who loves cod go's and plays the game called two worlds they would comment n how bad the graphics are...there the same year engine! And them mp is boring with bad maps. Just a total fail game. At least now people are starting to realise. It's just a cash cow with nothing new. When a sexual comes out it HAS to be an improvement or this kind of thing happens.... Or should I just get a marker pen and write the number 2 in my Beverly hills cop 3 DVD and just pretend that's it's an improvement from the 2nd. Call me a hater and your blind! Look at my other reviews, I used to like cod and I have also given bf3 a bad review. If a game company doesn't put serious work to update a game, not just single player and a game mode it should be worth the money that they get in profit. Or should be be paying the £40 for any old game and then when a "top title" comes out it should be £42.99 emm NO! Bad games that fall to a serious price drop should not be the £40 price anyway, and then high street stores rip you off even more. Shame though as my gamestation has stacks of mw3 left that you could build a child's fort out of. Anyway cod is nothing but a cash label now. It brings some serious hype everyyear with the name only. Some of the reasons why, it used to be really good, kids will hype there friends, teenagers want to seem cool, adults just want a shooting game. And when a company does well it wants to stay at that level for as long as it can. But think of it this way, if coca-cola want to try new flavours like cherry and lemon etc etc, when one of the flavours suck sooooo bad they cant just wack out coca-cola in a "strawberry" flavour can. It's the same ingredients as the last 4 cod games before it, when you take away the same graphics, the same story, the same mp experience, the same weapons with a new name, the same dated textures, the same easy 4 hour story, the same stupid ott missions, all that's left is a white picture with a man holding a gun on the display case. And if that's worth paying full price for then troll on this comment, because we both know that I'm right! Expand
  96. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Just a blatant copy paste of their previous release, just like activision loves to do. It gets boring very fast, I've never really understood the hype about this game, I rented it and just found out like many other that it wasn't good at all. I don't even see any improvments from the past games, nothing out of the ordinary and mostly nothing that looked like something original and new.Just a blatant copy paste of their previous release, just like activision loves to do. It gets boring very fast, I've never really understood the hype about this game, I rented it and just found out like many other that it wasn't good at all. I don't even see any improvments from the past games, nothing out of the ordinary and mostly nothing that looked like something original and new. Everything is just the same, they just make these games for money seriously... Expand
  97. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    i gave this a 3.1 as its just a mash up of WaW levels and previous Modern Warfare, give that the facial graphics are better other then that its just a botch job to be honest, and the MP is just MW2 and MW1 maps rehashed and tweaked
  98. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I will never stop asking, is this a dlc of the previous game or not. Same engine, same graphics. Why even buy a game that never updates, always the same, a bunch of hackers and a bad system called VAC...
  99. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I am HIGHLY disappointed with this game. It's not so much the game sucks in and of itself, as it is I wish I had purchased Skyrim and waited for this game to drop in price. This game is like DLC for MW2 with a few tweaks. The Multiplayer is the exact same game with different maps. The camping is absolutely ATROCIOUS and the new game modes wear thin quickly. You'll be bored with themI am HIGHLY disappointed with this game. It's not so much the game sucks in and of itself, as it is I wish I had purchased Skyrim and waited for this game to drop in price. This game is like DLC for MW2 with a few tweaks. The Multiplayer is the exact same game with different maps. The camping is absolutely ATROCIOUS and the new game modes wear thin quickly. You'll be bored with them after a day. The Campaign is mediocre at best. It is painfully obvious that the COD:MW franchise has exhausted all of it's Shock and Awe in the first two series. It throws nothing shocking at you like "No Russian" or your guy dying in a Nuclear blast. The new characters it introduces are forgettable and the plot just has a predictable, flat and sudden end. I wouldn't complain if I had only spent like 29.99 for this down the road. But this isn't worth forking over $60. Now I have to wait until my next payday to purchase Skyrim.

    Booooooooo.
    Expand
  100. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    If you enjoyed MW2 then you are definetly going to enjoy MW3, due in large because its the same exact game. I found nothing new in the single player campaign, but there seems to be a few more options for multiplayer. Having said that, I still enjoy playing the game and think that its a definite buy.
  101. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Before dropping money on this series like I have in the past I went to a friends house to check his copy out and all I can say is i'm glad I didn't buy this year. Most reviews go in depth but i'm going to give you a short but valid reason why it's not worth $60.

    It's nothing more than an expansion pack. That series is going no where. Same game engine, same animations and the same sounds.
    Before dropping money on this series like I have in the past I went to a friends house to check his copy out and all I can say is i'm glad I didn't buy this year. Most reviews go in depth but i'm going to give you a short but valid reason why it's not worth $60.

    It's nothing more than an expansion pack. That series is going no where. Same game engine, same animations and the same sounds. Nothing has really changed at all and doesn't warrant a $60 price tag. Just your run of the mill generic FPS which brings NOTHING new or innovative to the table. This game feels like nothing more than an over priced map pack. Press reviews obviously feel differently but i'm a gamer, and from a gamers point of view who actually spends more time with these games than a few hours (such as the press) i'm going to be honest. This game, is garbage. Save your money and buy Battlefield if you already haven't.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.