Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8519 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    Each new Call of Duty release has now become a truly global event as the hype machine builds towards its launch. Anyone who is a fan of the franchise will be getting exactly what they expect for their money. The campaign is as action packed as ever but even at just four hours long it became a bit of a chore to play through as it offers little that hasn’t already been seen in previousEach new Call of Duty release has now become a truly global event as the hype machine builds towards its launch. Anyone who is a fan of the franchise will be getting exactly what they expect for their money. The campaign is as action packed as ever but even at just four hours long it became a bit of a chore to play through as it offers little that hasn’t already been seen in previous entries in the series. Other criticisms that could be levelled at any Call of Duty game, such as an over reliance on scripted events and sections with infinitely respawning enemies, also still apply here. On occasions it is easy to get wrapped up in everything that is going on but for me these instances were the exception rather than the rule.

    Online multiplayer has also changed very little aside from a few new perks. The maps themselves are however rather disappointing this time around, none of them are downright poor but none could really be considered a true classic in the same way as Crash or Overgrown from previous games. In fact there is a distinct lack of variety in the maps with none really offering the opportunity for sniping or long range combat (although some may see this as a good thing I suppose). The Special Ops missions from Modern Warfare 2 also return and provide a good selection of challenging co-op game. In the end, despite the fact that the formula is now starting to wear a little thin, it seems as though the majority of people aren’t disappointed with Modern Warfare 3 as sales yet again reached record numbers.
    Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    As a package, Modern Warfare 3 isn't as hideous as these scores suggest. Sure, multiplayer is a massive let-down and really deserves no credit whatsoever as it is a step backwards; with very little additions and worse maps. The gameplay online is completely ruined in every, and we all have our reasons to justify this. However, the campaign is still good and spec ops/survival is stillAs a package, Modern Warfare 3 isn't as hideous as these scores suggest. Sure, multiplayer is a massive let-down and really deserves no credit whatsoever as it is a step backwards; with very little additions and worse maps. The gameplay online is completely ruined in every, and we all have our reasons to justify this. However, the campaign is still good and spec ops/survival is still better than what Battlefield 3 has to offer. My biggest problem with spec ops and survival isn't the fact that they are exact copies of the campaign missions and survival is effectively combat training on multiplayer maps, but that you can't compete on the leaderboards for survival and spec ops missions if you don't have Xbox LIVE Gold. If you can find it for a decent price I would recommend it since it doesn't have online achievements so like the other CoD games it's an easy 1000G in the bank and the achievements are well designed. Because I can't credit the multiplayer, I can only recommend this based off campaign and spec ops. Obviously it's got nothing on CoD4 but in my opinion the campaign is on par if not better than Modern Warfare 2's, purely because it plays slightly more like Call of Duty 4 and is a bit more varied and has a better story. It also concludes the trilogy whereas MW2, while it was good, felt more like a filler. It is short and easy, but not astronomically aweful like the multiplayer. Since spec ops and survival aren't anything special either (but they are still decent) MW3 isn't very good value for money. So overall, bearing in mind that it's a sequel to one of the most critically acclaimed games and Sledgehammer/Infinity Ward only had a year to develop it; on balance it comes out as a 5 out of 10. However, it is perfectly acceptable to rate this game much lower based on expectations and its multiplayer. Certainly the graphics are not improved, but this is mainly due to the low resolution required to maintain 60 frames per second. I didn't buy this game on release and after reading reviews and watching gameplay I knew what to expect. I'm really struggling to give this game a 5 out of 10 because there has been so little creativity in virtually all areas, but if I ignore the title it's what I believe the game deserves on its own merits. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    It's Modern Warfare 2.5. Infinity Ward have finally showed signs of aging and depletion as Modern Warfare 3, which would be a good game on its own without any history, comes off as a hardcore "been there, done that" experience instead of the trend-setting FPS experience that the previous two Modern Warfare games succeeded with. If you haven't played much Call of Duty in the past, thenIt's Modern Warfare 2.5. Infinity Ward have finally showed signs of aging and depletion as Modern Warfare 3, which would be a good game on its own without any history, comes off as a hardcore "been there, done that" experience instead of the trend-setting FPS experience that the previous two Modern Warfare games succeeded with. If you haven't played much Call of Duty in the past, then MW3 is a good game to get in on. But if you've been with CoD for the last few games, or the entire franchise, then you too will likely start feeling the effect of a tiring game. Personally, I'd rather people keep playing Modern Warfare 2 because that to me is the best CoD gets. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2012
    7
    A few days ( weeks ) ago I was able to play Modern Warfare 3 for the first time in the PS3 version. I have complains in the multiplayer , impressed with the campaign and satisfied with the great co-op. As I said in my PS3 review, CoD is mainly in the multiplayer side and needs to shake things a little bit more before it gets mauled by other successful multiplayer games. The Xbox versionA few days ( weeks ) ago I was able to play Modern Warfare 3 for the first time in the PS3 version. I have complains in the multiplayer , impressed with the campaign and satisfied with the great co-op. As I said in my PS3 review, CoD is mainly in the multiplayer side and needs to shake things a little bit more before it gets mauled by other successful multiplayer games. The Xbox version its not very different at all , still the two great features in here is the co-op and the campaign but not wise move folks. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2016
    7
    Once again Sledgehammer and Infinity ward has farted out another lackluster Call Of Duty title, Modern Warfare 3, MW3 barely improves upon MW2, the HUD is exactly the same, the guns are exactly the same, and the campaign, is kinda interesting, but not enough that you'd want to slog through it. Don't buy this game, you will regret it. Buy Skyrim instead.
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer isThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer is the same as ever with little innovation. I do recommend MW3 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  7. May 31, 2017
    6
    Modern Warfare 3 is a massive disappointment on almost every level within the context of the previous games and not those that would follow. Based on how MW2 ended it's campaign, there was going to be a inevitable sequel, but I was very concern with what that sequel would entail. The campaign was just a mess of plot holes, little character development and railroading of epic proportionsModern Warfare 3 is a massive disappointment on almost every level within the context of the previous games and not those that would follow. Based on how MW2 ended it's campaign, there was going to be a inevitable sequel, but I was very concern with what that sequel would entail. The campaign was just a mess of plot holes, little character development and railroading of epic proportions for its big action moments. A convoluted multiplayer system that retreaded back much of what Black Ops established on top of numerous problems, a survival system that was lazily tacked on to try to be like zombies but fail almost miserably and a spec ops system that was still good, but still had the same problems MW2's version had and was never fixed. I did not think the reverb from Black Ops to MW3 would be so loud that it would make me tone deaf, because the noise of everything the game was trying to throw at me was just completely exhausting to listen to. The commercialization of the game was far more important than the game itself as far as I was concern.

    To fair however, I still had fun with the game. a 6/10 is often seen as a failing grade in the mainstream media of critics and players, but I thought MW3 was decent, alright and/or okay. It did still have cool campaign moments that made it feel like a big dumb action flick, the spec ops was still good and some charm was found in pockets on the multiplayer. It's just a dam shame again that it sunk so low on quality and the idea of war just doesnt exist. It's completely barren from the game's entire being. It might have a war in the background, but the feeling and pacing just eradicates any sense of the idea. MW3 is not a bad game, but not really a good game. Just my view though now looking back as a adult with a critical mind.
    Expand
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    What's with all the hate??? You guys are pretty much criticizing it for it's lack of originality and innovation instead of the overall gameplay experience and only a few too little comments mentions it. MW3 is an okay game and though the same as previous COD games, what the hell did you expect? The gameplay is of course, the same and offer no new gameplay mechanics but why fix what's notWhat's with all the hate??? You guys are pretty much criticizing it for it's lack of originality and innovation instead of the overall gameplay experience and only a few too little comments mentions it. MW3 is an okay game and though the same as previous COD games, what the hell did you expect? The gameplay is of course, the same and offer no new gameplay mechanics but why fix what's not broken and the graphical style has age quite well since MW2. Single player: I thought the single player was much better than Battlefield 3 because I was already emotionally invested on the main characters from COD4 and the set pieces and overall pacing was just better (though the "shock moment" was completely unnecessary and out of context). Multi-player: Same old yet still intense and fun to play and I do like the dog tag collecting after you kill someone, which actually ruins a camper's day and makes the matches more fair. To be honest, it's still the same as the other COD games but it's kind of pointless to bash it for its lack of originality because its not the only game franchise that has used their formula over and over again . MW3 is fun to play overall. The single player is fun but it does not have a good replay value like COD4 had and the multi-player is still as intense and mindlessly fun since the previous games. Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I am neither a CoD or BF fanboy - I happen to enjoy shooters of all stripes and have since the age of Wolf 3D. That said, it honestly baffles me how the CoD franchise can copy and paste every iteration and keep getting 9's. Any other franchise that would DARE copy and paste would be panned for being unoriginal, for copying past elements, and for generally not innovating between titles. AndI am neither a CoD or BF fanboy - I happen to enjoy shooters of all stripes and have since the age of Wolf 3D. That said, it honestly baffles me how the CoD franchise can copy and paste every iteration and keep getting 9's. Any other franchise that would DARE copy and paste would be panned for being unoriginal, for copying past elements, and for generally not innovating between titles. And people wonder why "professional" reviewers are distrusted? |||| The sad reality of MW3 is that it looks and plays just like MW2 and Black Ops. There's little to no graphical difference between them, there's really no gameplay changes between them other than the renaming of some of the kill/death streaks. The AI is bad, the voice overs are bad, the maps are small and campy, et cetera. It's basically a carbon copy of MW2 and Black Ops. |||| Now I'm sure people will say "the game was perfect and sold millions so they don't need to change anything". To say the game was perfect is hubris of the highest order though no one can dispute that it sold millions. However, consider, in the same time frame, that Epic Games continually tweaked UE3 for the Gears franchise, making each one richer than the previous, DICE brought out a new engine this generation for BFBC2 and BF3, and Bungie modified the Halo 2 engine for H3 and ODST while making an entirely new engine for Halo: Reach. But Call of Duty? To quote one of its own callsigns: S.S.D.D. I don't think it's too unreasonable to ask for at least a new engine and some better graphics after all these years, even if they leave the core gameplay the same. |||| The game is enjoyable but it's AVERAGE. The engine and the gameplay style show their ages. I honestly would be hard pressed to recommend MW3 to someone who is still having fun with MW2 or Black Ops because they'd just be spending money to get the same experience they already have. |||| (PS. Metacritic, when can we get carriage returns for our reviews so they're not big walls of text?) Expand
  10. Feb 12, 2013
    6
    I'm basing this score on buying this game for around twenty dollars and the percieved value of enjoyment I got out of this. I learned awhile ago not to buy these shooter games for the full $60 because I found out that I really don't enjoy playing multiplayer. So this score is also reflected mainly on the single player experience. Ahem....That was incredibly short even for a ModernI'm basing this score on buying this game for around twenty dollars and the percieved value of enjoyment I got out of this. I learned awhile ago not to buy these shooter games for the full $60 because I found out that I really don't enjoy playing multiplayer. So this score is also reflected mainly on the single player experience. Ahem....That was incredibly short even for a Modern Warfare game. The final game to what turned out to be an over-the-top storyline trilogy was over before it even began. It didn't even take me four hours. I still run around like a chicken with my head cut off getting barked at for going the wrong way, or taking my time taking out a tank, or whatever,...and its still a fun first person shooter. Lots of increadible destruction graphics, struggling to get out of debris or from falling from dizzying heights. Again, the story line is over the top and doesn't make much sense or have any realism to it, but it is interesting as any Darkhorse comic out there that ask us to suspend disbelief. Fun game and worth it for twenty dollars, no more, but still could have fleshed out the storyline and should have made it a bit longer than 3 and a half hours. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    With stale online, a short campaign, and dated visuals, Modern Warfare 3 does not stand the test of time, and has brought Call of Duty down on the path of death. However, multiplayer has been improved a bit, the ending to the campaign is good enough, and Spec Ops provides a few thrills. However, this game's stale design and gameplay make Black Ops seem like a completely different game inWith stale online, a short campaign, and dated visuals, Modern Warfare 3 does not stand the test of time, and has brought Call of Duty down on the path of death. However, multiplayer has been improved a bit, the ending to the campaign is good enough, and Spec Ops provides a few thrills. However, this game's stale design and gameplay make Black Ops seem like a completely different game in terms of the changes. Modern Warfare 3 is a rental at best. Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    This game is not a 1. Nor is this game a 10. It falls in the category of average to good. Despite only slightly enjoying this game, I find myself coming back to it again and again to play with friends. This is the point of this game, and the developers know it. My rating is based on a combination of the campaign and the multiplayer. CAMPAIGN: 4.5/5
    The campaign is absolutely
    This game is not a 1. Nor is this game a 10. It falls in the category of average to good. Despite only slightly enjoying this game, I find myself coming back to it again and again to play with friends. This is the point of this game, and the developers know it. My rating is based on a combination of the campaign and the multiplayer. CAMPAIGN: 4.5/5
    The campaign is absolutely beautiful. Some graphic problems are present and that is essentially why it doesn't get a perfect score. The story is an excellent continuation of Price's story, and the missions are exciting and gripping. I played through on veteran difficulty and it was extremely challenging and felt realistic and accurate. There is very little I would change about this game up to this point.

    MULTIPLAYER: 2.5/5
    Okay, this is where problems begin. Firstly, for Xbox 360 users paying for ELITE for me is just a money grabbing ploy. The map packs in Black Ops were ridiculously priced for the amount of content, and this is even worse. Considering we will be seeing Treyarch's newest addition within the next 6-8 months, this is not a prudent investment for me. Secondly, the game mechanics are unbelievably absurd; hardcore players will find their rockets and grenades useless against Ballistic vests; Shotguns can kill at greater than 30 meters; No recoil on high-level SMG's. Essentially, the multiplayer does not play to people who use strategy, it plays to random chaos. Kill confirmed is a nice addition, but the ricochet system results in your death for other people's stupidity. The hardcore system in Black Ops was much fairer as team-killing resulted in getting kicked after 2 offences. Once you drop a martyrdom grenade and your teammate runs over it you will know what I mean.

    Overall, good to average. Brilliant campaign, bad multiplayer. That's it.
    Expand
  13. DME
    Dec 20, 2012
    7
    In short, MW3 is a solid game, but not as good as Black Ops. The campaign isn't memorable and multiplayer has it's ups and downs. The survival mode, however, is a lot of fun.
  14. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    The campaign was actually really good, and I enjoyed playing it just like I enjoyed playing the prequels, however multiplayer felt more or less the same as Modern Warfare 2, if not worse, it felt slower and it didn't even really have the 'new' element to a game that a new call of duty installment should. But hey, its Call of duty, I still play it.
  15. May 7, 2013
    6
    I cannot play MP since it felt like However, still like the SP, the story sometimes made no sense, but the missions self just getting better and better. I gave it a six, because I remember at one time I was like, OK, the storyline of the cod MW trilogy is still better than Mass effect, at least at the end Makarov got killed, his father didnt show up and told me how misery of MakarovsI cannot play MP since it felt like However, still like the SP, the story sometimes made no sense, but the missions self just getting better and better. I gave it a six, because I remember at one time I was like, OK, the storyline of the cod MW trilogy is still better than Mass effect, at least at the end Makarov got killed, his father didnt show up and told me how misery of Makarovs childhood and I should feel sorry for him, then the father gave me three choices to, 1. kill the father, but in the meantime somehow kill all the people with horrible childhood, 2. transfer&merge to the father, and use my love to change Makarov and everyone lives happily afterwards, 3. replace Marakrov as the leader of the gangs.... so, yeah, as the end episode of cod, it is not that bad. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2014
    5
    MW3 lacks the iconic Call of Duty feel that we have become accustomed too. It feels at times like some cheap Call of Duty rip off, this limits it's potential and makes for an irritating lack of identity. The multiplayer maps are poor but the conclusion to the trilogy's story makes this instalment worth playing.
  17. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    I absolutely loved the first Modern Warfare, and the second was alright. Black Ops wasn't the most original CoD, but there was still things I liked about it, as you could tell Treyarch was really trying to step out of Infinity Ward's shadow. Modern Warfare 3 didn't disappoint me, but it made me feel a little empty. Even as I'm writing this review, commercials keep talking and boastingI absolutely loved the first Modern Warfare, and the second was alright. Black Ops wasn't the most original CoD, but there was still things I liked about it, as you could tell Treyarch was really trying to step out of Infinity Ward's shadow. Modern Warfare 3 didn't disappoint me, but it made me feel a little empty. Even as I'm writing this review, commercials keep talking and boasting about the game. The game doesn't seem good enough to receive THAT much praise and attention. The campaign is alright, and I enjoyed the Special Ops more due to being able to find players randomly on it instead of MW2's crappy "you have to invite a friend!" system. The multiplayer is even laggier than before and makes it almost unplayable - mixed in with elitist kids who only experience the highlight of their lives by running around with UMP's and the Steady AIm perk. Expand
  18. Sep 3, 2012
    6
    Overall I must agree that this game is a disappointment. It is not a bad game, just very disappointing. When people pay $60 for something, which in today's economy is a nice hunk of change, they do so to get something worthwhile out of it. If you spent your $ on this game, your most likely going to feel it wasn't worthwhile. This is surprising too do to the fact that Infinity Ward is not aOverall I must agree that this game is a disappointment. It is not a bad game, just very disappointing. When people pay $60 for something, which in today's economy is a nice hunk of change, they do so to get something worthwhile out of it. If you spent your $ on this game, your most likely going to feel it wasn't worthwhile. This is surprising too do to the fact that Infinity Ward is not a joke company. The game is just way too similar to 2, pretty much NOTHING new is offered, and anything that is new including guns/perks, aren't good. I would like to say however that this game does not deserve a 3.2 user score, that number is definitely nerf-trolled. There are still people plenty of people playing the multiplayer and I still think co-op with a friend online is a blast. I no longer own a XBox but I will most likely be getting Black Ops 2 for the PC, IMO they are a much better game all around and BO2 looks promising. Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    This review only covers the single-player campaign.
    Overall, MW3 is a decent entry in the series, although it lacks some of the coherence of earlier installments. While MW2 and, to an extent, MW, set up clearly delineated plots following individuals through effective story arcs, MW3 bounces around a little too much, taking you to exotic locales, certainly, but seemingly only because they
    This review only covers the single-player campaign.
    Overall, MW3 is a decent entry in the series, although it lacks some of the coherence of earlier installments. While MW2 and, to an extent, MW, set up clearly delineated plots following individuals through effective story arcs, MW3 bounces around a little too much, taking you to exotic locales, certainly, but seemingly only because they wanted to be able to say the game takes place in the US, Paris, London, and everywhere else. The resolution to a major series arc, the invasion of the US, is rushed and largely ignored. The campaign is chaotically structured, which helps keep the player off-balance, but also prevents a large degree of emotional investment in any of the played characters or, for that matter, the situation the world is in.
    That said, the gameplay is solid, just as it was in MW2. This is no accident; no substantial changes occurred to the engine, so MW2 players will be able to pick up MW3 without any difficulty at all. The game is relatively entertaining and provides enough variety to keep your interest through its campaign.
    Unfortunately, that doesn't mean much. The campaign is depressingly short, about eight hours. For a $60 game, this is too short by half, shorter even than MW2. In truth, it feels more like a long DLC rather than an installment in the series. For campaign players, though, it's a solid game, good adventure, and has enough spice to make it fun. It is on the short side, but manages to close the story without feeling rushed. Consider waiting until prices fall somewhat, though, if you're not keen on multiplayer.
    Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Without a fanboy rating I'll give this game what it deserves. The story is a joke, same **** as every year...just even more predictable cheese and effects. Details like the foreign cities where presented with lots of mistakes and even lots of spelling mistakes...embarrassing.
    the multiplayer is nothing new either.

    rent or pass
  21. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    MW3 is easily the worst Call of Duty to date. The campaign is short (and story is absolutely terrible), multiplayer is more of the same, and the game's overall feel just seems like a slightly beefed up MW2. The original Modern Warfare had one of the best campaigns of any game and MW3 continues the trend of the very cheesy and ridiculous story that MW2 had. It is very disappointing sinceMW3 is easily the worst Call of Duty to date. The campaign is short (and story is absolutely terrible), multiplayer is more of the same, and the game's overall feel just seems like a slightly beefed up MW2. The original Modern Warfare had one of the best campaigns of any game and MW3 continues the trend of the very cheesy and ridiculous story that MW2 had. It is very disappointing since the original Modern Warfare was so incredibly awesome. MW3 multiplayer is not even nearly as fun as the previous Black Ops. I played probably hundreds of hours of online Black Ops and couldn't get into MW3's at all. Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    I am not going to be one of these idiots who rates the game zero. I intend to applaud this game for it's good stuff.

    The campaign was by and large pretty decent, and it made for a nice wrap up of the series, but the advertisements said "WW3", the combat is not to that scale, we're talking small scale skirmishes. I do like the new weapons. The multiplayer has shown some improvement, but
    I am not going to be one of these idiots who rates the game zero. I intend to applaud this game for it's good stuff.

    The campaign was by and large pretty decent, and it made for a nice wrap up of the series, but the advertisements said "WW3", the combat is not to that scale, we're talking small scale skirmishes. I do like the new weapons.

    The multiplayer has shown some improvement, but while actually playing the game you can't help but feel like you've played this game last year. The Spec Ops Survival mode is fantastic! Unlike Zombies, MW3's survival mode doesn't see you getting completely swarmed in 5 minutes. I managed to get to Wave 25 on my own, which with Zombies was impossible to even get past round 5 on my own.

    Also before the game's release they were boasting about how balanced the game is, when now we have rank 1's facing off against rank 80's on the first day.

    They said they were going to ban cheaters .... no bans have took place as people are still using Lag switches, and glitches.

    CoD Elite premium has not added any extra content to the game so far, and after the 9 month DLC season, I can't see anyone getting Elite premium any more, as there wouldn't be any point in getting it.

    There are no "big" maps.

    Overall they tried, but we got another Copy-paste-edit of last years game. Granted MW3 is better than Black ops is every way.
    Expand
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Very short one this time just highlighting key points.
    Graphics: 6.5 - Certainly not the best on the console anymore, somewhat dated but new engine makes things a bit more sleek.
    Presentation: 6 - Quite well presented but there is a lot of room for improvement again. Gameplay: 7 - Keeps the gameplay fresh with the addtion of new modes and some additional features but nothing
    Very short one this time just highlighting key points.
    Graphics: 6.5 - Certainly not the best on the console anymore, somewhat dated but new engine makes things a bit more sleek.
    Presentation: 6 - Quite well presented but there is a lot of room for improvement again.
    Gameplay: 7 - Keeps the gameplay fresh with the addtion of new modes and some additional features but nothing groundbreaking in the slightest
    Lasting Appeal: 7 - Depends on the player, personally the series has become to formulaic and needs a fantastic reboot to help the series make that groundbreaking step of modern warefare this is also applied to why graphics gets a 6.5 its not far enough from nodern warare 2. This game is very frustrating to any fan of the series as it does not innovate but simply reiterates the series formula activision fail to take a risk and end up paying for it through the fans critical analysis of the game.
    Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    I've buyed this game to see the end of the campaign and the survival co-op. The competitive multiplayer is the same of MW2 with some new maps, not a lot of differents killstreaks or perks and some new weapons. Not worth the 70â
  25. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    In 100% honesty, between Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3, they both suck, and the earlier games in the franchise could do you better... FAR better. Modern Warfare 3 lacks "fun", IMO. Too many people are competitive, and for some reason camping is far more present in this installment than in the previous COD's. The Singleplayer, was the biggest disappointment. I prefer BattlefieldIn 100% honesty, between Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3, they both suck, and the earlier games in the franchise could do you better... FAR better. Modern Warfare 3 lacks "fun", IMO. Too many people are competitive, and for some reason camping is far more present in this installment than in the previous COD's. The Singleplayer, was the biggest disappointment. I prefer Battlefield 3's, solely because Battlefield 3 ripped of COD4, which was a decent story to unravel. MW3, you just kill Makarov, and for some reason, the developers wanted to kill off all the main characters on the way, which is lazy story telling IMO. But nobody plays this for the Singleplayer, and if you did/were going to get this for that (like I did); trust me, it's crap. The multiplayer will make you want a COD older than Black Ops, and the only good thing that keeps this game "average" IMO, is the Spec Ops Survival mode. Expand
  26. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    This game was over-hyped and ended up as a disappointment. The story line was very bare, extremely rushed, totally unrealistic, and had no value or meaning behind it. Barely any connections with the characters, so I did not feel for them. The entire game was focused on gameplay, which was pretty much an exact copy of modern warfare 2. It even looked the same, just about. When I boughtThis game was over-hyped and ended up as a disappointment. The story line was very bare, extremely rushed, totally unrealistic, and had no value or meaning behind it. Barely any connections with the characters, so I did not feel for them. The entire game was focused on gameplay, which was pretty much an exact copy of modern warfare 2. It even looked the same, just about. When I bought this game I had a hope that this game would deliver. When the menu came up and I started playing, I thought I was playing Modern warfare 2 accidentally and had to check the box and the disc. Lol jk but you get my point. Multiplayer is too flawed to compare to its predecessor, but to me it is more fun and addictive. This game's saving grace is the multiplayer. Expand
  27. Oct 20, 2015
    7
    A step back for call of duty. Essentially was MW2 level graphics with worse gameplay and maps. Campaign was satisfying though, especially at the end...
  28. Jan 20, 2012
    6
    Admittedly I never played MWF1 or 2 due to it's Neo-Con/Zionist/Racist propaganda, but have played most of the other COD's hence I think my assessment will be balanced. It's isn't a rubbish game, it isn't a great game, it simply is a game designed to appeal to kids and impressionable minds. My favourite COD is Blacks Ops as it had everything a shooter should have ie an excellent story,Admittedly I never played MWF1 or 2 due to it's Neo-Con/Zionist/Racist propaganda, but have played most of the other COD's hence I think my assessment will be balanced. It's isn't a rubbish game, it isn't a great game, it simply is a game designed to appeal to kids and impressionable minds. My favourite COD is Blacks Ops as it had everything a shooter should have ie an excellent story, excellent multi-player and of course.....Zombies! MWF3 has a great cinematic story which is gripping, but the multi-player is a nest of adolescent children, racist immature thugs, and campers galore. But the gameplay is the real issue as it just isn't balanced, it's like Unreal Tournament but with different weapons. Everything is far too quick, yet lacks the polish and precision of games like GOW and BF. Spec ops is interesting for a while, but again gets boring quickly. Overall I think COD should stop the yearly releases to improve and redesign the formula, however they simply games for profit not entertainment. Or should I say, they entertain the simple to make money. Either way, stick with Black Ops! Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    I'm not into multiplayer gaming these days, so when I buy a shooter I expect a single player game on the quality bar of something Irrational Games might put out. And while I did enjoy the first and second instalment of CoD on PC, I have become pretty jaded at this point with the the Modern Warfare SP campaigns, which is really nothing more than the same game with a different paint job.I'm not into multiplayer gaming these days, so when I buy a shooter I expect a single player game on the quality bar of something Irrational Games might put out. And while I did enjoy the first and second instalment of CoD on PC, I have become pretty jaded at this point with the the Modern Warfare SP campaigns, which is really nothing more than the same game with a different paint job. Spec-Ops mode is fun for what it is, but other than that I cant in good conscience inflate my score any higher than a yellow mark. So sorry to Glen Schofield, I hear your appeal on twitter and I think it sucks that BF fans are being a-holes with the scores because I think that game suffers from the same lack of innovation and quality in the single player department too... But as far as this MW3 is concerned, imo its a mediocre game simply due to the fact I am so jaded on this franchise now. It just doesn't interest me any more... Doesn't mean any dev who worked on this title shouldn't be proud of their work, as usual their is a good level of polish, but even the most addictive innovative game can get boring after a while, especially if its milked so heavily. The tipping point was at MW2 I think, so we've already started on the gradual decline in gamer support for this IP. Anyone in the industry or who has been gaming since the Atari 2600 has seen this happen many times before. Its a slow undignified death. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    There is no reason for such awful reviews of this game. I understand everybody is mad because it seems like the same game as MW2 but it isn't, ok? MW3 has a new game mode called "Survival" which is like zombies but with enemy soldiers/aircraft that get harder as you get further. The online play is rivaled by only Battlefield 3 and still cannot touch COD MW3. The first couple weeks areThere is no reason for such awful reviews of this game. I understand everybody is mad because it seems like the same game as MW2 but it isn't, ok? MW3 has a new game mode called "Survival" which is like zombies but with enemy soldiers/aircraft that get harder as you get further. The online play is rivaled by only Battlefield 3 and still cannot touch COD MW3. The first couple weeks are always laggy online due to the sheer amount of people online. Give them some time to work out the bugs people! 7/10 Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.