Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8695 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    Doesn't quite feel like Modern Warfare anymore. I am a huge fan of Modern Warfare 1 and 2 but dindn't really like Black Ops, or anything Treyarc has done. This game kinda feels like a Modern Warfare/Black ops hybrid. Its not trerrible but it's lost that addicting, can't put the controller down fun. When you talk to anyone in the gaming industry and you mention Activision its funny howDoesn't quite feel like Modern Warfare anymore. I am a huge fan of Modern Warfare 1 and 2 but dindn't really like Black Ops, or anything Treyarc has done. This game kinda feels like a Modern Warfare/Black ops hybrid. Its not trerrible but it's lost that addicting, can't put the controller down fun. When you talk to anyone in the gaming industry and you mention Activision its funny how many people just roll there eyes. It seems to be a company that cares more about money than creating something special and creative. I don't know much about Respawn Entertainment but whatever there building with EA is sounds good. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    I usually write long detailed reviews. This won't be a long review. I am... tired. I am exhausted. People love this game, it sold more than skyrim. That's the current state of our society. This review I am writing, it's meaningless - It won't change anything. Those people who play this game, are far greater in numbers than us. They don't care about metacritic. What's the point? Why am II usually write long detailed reviews. This won't be a long review. I am... tired. I am exhausted. People love this game, it sold more than skyrim. That's the current state of our society. This review I am writing, it's meaningless - It won't change anything. Those people who play this game, are far greater in numbers than us. They don't care about metacritic. What's the point? Why am I even writing this. I guess... there is hope. We do exist. People do understand that the few of us who actually like to feel, and think, and imagine - want something. Games are getting made that appeal to us. And there are probably just as many games that appeal to us as there are games that appeal to the 'mainstream casual consumer'. So.. maybe we are not doomed. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    4
    As a fan of the Call of Duty multiplayer. The Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer was not as a good as the previous Call of Duty
  4. May 28, 2012
    0
    ...I can't be arsed to type my utter disgust about how much this game sucks. Oh boy, it's the same game for the 4th time in a row. Of course, idiotic COD fanboys will fall for it, but not me. This game is nothing but a money printer for Activision. Nothing more.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Sad. This game came out in 2009, I mean 2011. Same engine as a game 2 years ago. Nothing new, nothing fresh. Oh wait different maps. This game could have been a map pack, instead of a 60 dollar game. Graphics Suck!
    Weapons are "ok"
    Sound sucks
    "elite" is broken
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    After spending some time with the MP I can safely say that this is prob my least favorite CoD to date. This is coming from someone who has spent many, MANY hours with the franchise. CoD has consumed my gaming time for the past few years so I feel comfortable with making the following statements. The number one problem with the state of the Mp is the spawns. Hands down. I have had peopleAfter spending some time with the MP I can safely say that this is prob my least favorite CoD to date. This is coming from someone who has spent many, MANY hours with the franchise. CoD has consumed my gaming time for the past few years so I feel comfortable with making the following statements. The number one problem with the state of the Mp is the spawns. Hands down. I have had people spawned right in from of me into MY crosshairs! I have had the same happen to me but the other way around. I have had people spawned 5 feet away from me behind a corner. It's all part of CoD's 'payback' system. It's horrid. The spawn problems are amplified ten fold in objective based gametypes to boot. The maps are a little on the smallish side so this also makes the spawns seem even worse. I like a lot of the maps, I dont mind the smaller sizes, yet the smaller sizes combined with the spawns just make this MP nigh unplayable.

    A lot of people will say"You cant sit in a corner with assassin and a silencer noob", I'm a rusher at heart and I run around while I run and gun and STILL get people spawned mere feet away from me. Sometimes they spawn in front of me for a easy kill, and I literally LOL. In that moment it was awesome for me and builds my KS, yet soon enough (mere seconds/mins) it will happen to me. Overall, the MP is indeed fun for the most part, but when 9 out of 10 deaths is from getting shot in the back or the side, it really takes away from the fun.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I am actually new to the modern warfare scene, i had only played MW2 a few times and liked it, so I figured I would get MW3 which I expected to blow my mind. I ripped off the packaging, and impatiently put the game in my xbox, the introduction video started playing, Oh man I could not wait to pl --- what? this menu looks alot like MW2, I started playing multiplayer, WHAT?! this looks alotI am actually new to the modern warfare scene, i had only played MW2 a few times and liked it, so I figured I would get MW3 which I expected to blow my mind. I ripped off the packaging, and impatiently put the game in my xbox, the introduction video started playing, Oh man I could not wait to pl --- what? this menu looks alot like MW2, I started playing multiplayer, WHAT?! this looks alot like MW2!!! I couldn't believe how bad the graphics were. There were just so many little things that pissed me the hell off, what really makes me mad is I preordered elite along with it so I could save some money on DLC, but right now, I'm not looking forward to any add-ons that will come out for this game, after playing for a while trying to force myself to enjoy it, pretending I was playing a PLAYSTATION 2, I just couldn't take it any more. I reluctantly took it out and just started playing Black Ops again, at least there was some originality to that. Infinity Ward, Sledgehammer, you thieving, lazy ass bastards, you could have done better, I want my money back. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    I've been a Call of Duty fan since the start of the franchise. I've never been a fan of BF. I'm not a fan boy.

    Until now. I must admit, I felt a little bit of sadness, kind of like telling a good friend to leave and not come back. MW3 is a arcade game compared to BF3. I am a changed gamer, just knifing some one in BF3 is more realistic. MW3 is basically paying 60 bucks for new maps and a
    I've been a Call of Duty fan since the start of the franchise. I've never been a fan of BF. I'm not a fan boy.

    Until now. I must admit, I felt a little bit of sadness, kind of like telling a good friend to leave and not come back. MW3 is a arcade game compared to BF3. I am a changed gamer, just knifing some one in BF3 is more realistic. MW3 is basically paying 60 bucks for new maps and a notch above Home front graphics. After playing BF3, I will not go back to Call of Duty. After playing both mw3 and BF3, I can safely say BF3 is hands down, better, closer to real life than mw3.
    Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Hackers all time fav game of 2011!! here is a video after 24 hrs of relese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAeWAhMGD6E
    here is a video after 48 hrs of elese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ed0CBHq9JU

    Hope u are a EPIC hacker if u want to play online Worst i have ever been ripped off 60$ got home got shot thru the wall's ty allot Activison i will pre order your next game NOT ROFL .
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I'm really struggling to enjoy this game. For $60 I'm playing a near identical experience Call of Duty has offered for the past 5 years. The evolution, new additions and gameplay aren't there for me, and that's disappointing.

    The game is solid from a graphic and gameplay standpoint. If you've never played a COD game, this is the most refined. If you've played a COD game before, save your
    I'm really struggling to enjoy this game. For $60 I'm playing a near identical experience Call of Duty has offered for the past 5 years. The evolution, new additions and gameplay aren't there for me, and that's disappointing.

    The game is solid from a graphic and gameplay standpoint. If you've never played a COD game, this is the most refined. If you've played a COD game before, save your $60 and continue on with your current version.
    Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Wow. I can understand a game like Fifa, which is simply trying to simulate a simple concept of 22 men kicking a ball around a field only making marginal improvements year on year, its not like they've got license to change the rules of the game. This is not the case with COD. It can do whatever it likes, leap from time zone to time zone, country to country - limited only by the dev team'sWow. I can understand a game like Fifa, which is simply trying to simulate a simple concept of 22 men kicking a ball around a field only making marginal improvements year on year, its not like they've got license to change the rules of the game. This is not the case with COD. It can do whatever it likes, leap from time zone to time zone, country to country - limited only by the dev team's imagination. Sadly it would appear they don't have one. All the irritating comment bleating about how MW3 was going to be a copy and paste rehash have been proved entirely correct. I'm ashamed to say I bothered to go out at midnight to join the masses and snaffle this up but after 2 days of trying to love it I'll be headed back to BF3 for my fix of variety, freshness, tactics and creativity. Poor show Infinity Ward, you just lost a big fan. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Are all these critics paid by infinity ward to give out 100's??, this game doesn't do anything ground breaking, I played it last night with a buddy of mine. For some reason I was flabbergasted that the multiplayer graphics seemed worse than black ops, the gameplay is exactly the same, the only things that have change is the annoying pick up dog tags, a few new perks, and knifing isAre all these critics paid by infinity ward to give out 100's??, this game doesn't do anything ground breaking, I played it last night with a buddy of mine. For some reason I was flabbergasted that the multiplayer graphics seemed worse than black ops, the gameplay is exactly the same, the only things that have change is the annoying pick up dog tags, a few new perks, and knifing is slightly harder. Don't get me wrong I love the MW3 storyline, the single player campaign is epic but a games replay value is in its multiplayer and i'm sorry the say, this is an update package at best. Its still the same old fun arcade style shooter that we've seen topped with a new storyline and a few new perks. However the game doesn't offer anything new like bf3 with its destructible environments, the vast size of the maps, the tactical gameplay. This game doesn't do anything innovated to become something greater, I wouldn't have given it a four, but I feel it deserved an average 5 or 6 but I need to keep this user score down because these critics are out of their minds. Reading some of their reviews, the compare mw3 only to is predecessors, well of course its going to be slightly better than their previous installments, but they never seem to compare to other great games out their, that are pushing the bar on our outdated consoles, so sorry cod, i'll rent you to find out what happens in the story but i won't buy you. Expand
  13. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Went to a bud's house and tried it out to see if I should buy it before I get the MW3 Xbox off lay away. I was overall disappointed with the game. Not enough change to justify buying it prior to getting it with the system. And even then I will probably just play it as a change of pace from other games that I have.

    Was once a fan of the franchise but, just as the Gran Turismo series,
    Went to a bud's house and tried it out to see if I should buy it before I get the MW3 Xbox off lay away. I was overall disappointed with the game. Not enough change to justify buying it prior to getting it with the system. And even then I will probably just play it as a change of pace from other games that I have.

    Was once a fan of the franchise but, just as the Gran Turismo series, COD is just setting back and raking in the cash from the sheep.......it either needs a re-boot or to just go away.
    Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Welcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but isWelcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but is somewhat entertaining. Now for the worst part, the multiplayer. The maps have no direction and just seem like they've been thrown together. The hit detection is extremely horrible. Explosions have been nerfed, quick scoping has returned for what seems like the target age range for this game 8-12 year olds. I have had this game for 3 days and have 1 hour multiplayer play time because I am so disgusted with it. If you want an amazing first person shooter that is realistic and extremely fun to play, go pick up Battlefield 3 and let this game collect dust on the store shelves. Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    If you were a big fan of MW2 like some of my friends then you will love this game because that is essentially what it is with some minor improvements. For myself this game is kind of disappointing, I was much more a fan of black ops and to me MW3 is a step back from it. MW3 just doesn't feel like a 'new' game it feels like something that came out 2 to 3 years ago. It's not a bad game butIf you were a big fan of MW2 like some of my friends then you will love this game because that is essentially what it is with some minor improvements. For myself this game is kind of disappointing, I was much more a fan of black ops and to me MW3 is a step back from it. MW3 just doesn't feel like a 'new' game it feels like something that came out 2 to 3 years ago. It's not a bad game but in my opinion it is definitely not a game i would have waited in line at midnight to get. Try it before you buy it Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Ballhair 3 is nothing but a boring repetitive multiplayer. Just because this one has different goals it's the same damn thing. The games story in every modern Ballhair is such nonsense. I hate this game. I'm sick of this game. I'm never buying any COD again. Activision is just going to keep ripping us off!
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I thought mw2 was pretty good but mw3 does absolutely nothing to progress the franchise, in fact it actually took a step back. The guns don't handle as well though the sound is better, the maps are overly complicated, claustrophobic and lack any sort of landmarks or locations for the most part to make them memorable or easy to navigate. The leveling system is a nice change and the gunsI thought mw2 was pretty good but mw3 does absolutely nothing to progress the franchise, in fact it actually took a step back. The guns don't handle as well though the sound is better, the maps are overly complicated, claustrophobic and lack any sort of landmarks or locations for the most part to make them memorable or easy to navigate. The leveling system is a nice change and the guns seem to have a better natural progression as you get the higher level ones but the maps are so tight and the game paced so quickly that SMGs seem to be the weapon of choice for most people. Quick-scoping is back and better than ever to appeal to the 11 year olds, noob tubing got the nerf bat along with all explosives, grenade kills are way harder to come by even if you're practically sitting on the grenade. The engine at a whole feels dated and although I'm not a stickler for graphics there doesn't seem much of an improvement here. The game as a whole feels uninspired and dated, and can get extremely frustrating, especially when out of 16 or so maps, you only look forward to playing 3 or 4 at most. The whole game feels as though it could've just been a huge DLC for MW2. They probably should've used all that Jonah Hill and Sam Worthington money to build a new engine and hire some new map developers. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I created a metacritic account just to review this terrible game. The more I play it the more I hate it. I am a long time COD player, played MW, MW2, and black ops all to prestige. The maps and spawning system are terrible in this one though. The maps are all dozens of narrow passages crisscrossing each other so you are constantly getting shot in the side and back, add to that the newI created a metacritic account just to review this terrible game. The more I play it the more I hate it. I am a long time COD player, played MW, MW2, and black ops all to prestige. The maps and spawning system are terrible in this one though. The maps are all dozens of narrow passages crisscrossing each other so you are constantly getting shot in the side and back, add to that the new spawning system and it is impossible to play this game with any sort of tactics. You cant clear an area and then feel confident the enemies will be ahead of you they will just spawn behind you and come at you from one of 6 different angles. Activision shouldn't have been greedy and fired the people that made these games good. I wont be buying another COD game until something drastic changes. Expand
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    2 years in development and infinity ward gave us this piece of crap.story mode is fine but the multyplayer is junk.This franchise is starting to go the same way every activision franchise have gone."innovation" they took a crap cake and put crap frosting on it.
  21. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Same old recycled, copy and pasted game with very few changes. My review would match the major reviewer's scores, but unfortunately, Activision isn't paying me to do so. Save your money for something better folks.
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    There's only one thing to say about the game's multiplayer, and that it still feels over developed and corny. There are too many gimmicky things in the game and killstreaks are still cheap. The graphics and HUD are virtually unchanged, and The same crappy community is back from Modern Warfare 2, glitching and hacking to their hearts desire. It's a shame that no big game review sites wantThere's only one thing to say about the game's multiplayer, and that it still feels over developed and corny. There are too many gimmicky things in the game and killstreaks are still cheap. The graphics and HUD are virtually unchanged, and The same crappy community is back from Modern Warfare 2, glitching and hacking to their hearts desire. It's a shame that no big game review sites want to give it a score it deserves. Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Save yourself $60 and play the Call of Duty game you already have! This game should just be sold as a MW2 expansion pack. The game literally reuses textures and models from past CoD games... including CoD4.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Overrated garbage. I really wish people would spend more money supporting more deserving games rather than playing the same first person shooter year after year.
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    I would expect more from such a grand gaming company, I really would, but Infinity Ward has failed to deliver. You would expect a sequel to add more content, to innovated and improve (ex. Dark Souls, Batman: Arkham City) but it has failed to bring something gamer's need to the table. The best example of this would be eating "mom's delicious spaghetti" it may taste great the first coupleI would expect more from such a grand gaming company, I really would, but Infinity Ward has failed to deliver. You would expect a sequel to add more content, to innovated and improve (ex. Dark Souls, Batman: Arkham City) but it has failed to bring something gamer's need to the table. The best example of this would be eating "mom's delicious spaghetti" it may taste great the first couple days, but having to eat it over and over and over and over again gets tiring. That being said, the story mode feels lazy and uninspired, and the online play, with just few additions could be easily mistaken for a MW2 match. They want my positive review? A little advice would be to TRY HARDER because this was downright disappointing. Expand
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I played it last night, couldn't tell the difference between it and modern warfare 2. Why they don't make a new engine is beyond me. Your money would be better spent on games like Skyrim, uncharted 3, Arkham city or Deus Ex Human revolution.
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    HI the user score went up to 3.0 so iam here to bring it back to 0 where this pile of trash belongs.Btw glen shcofield is a **** **** and he needs to go and masturbate to tranny porn if he thinks this game deserves more than 1.
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    TINY MAPS. ZERO flow, ZERO strategy involved WHATSOEVER. People running around like chickens with their heads cut off spraying, dying, respawning OVER AND OVER. At least every previous COD title had solid maps that offered some balance. Hell, I'd be content with an identical game if the maps were such crap. Once the game starts, its a straight up free for all regardless of theTINY MAPS. ZERO flow, ZERO strategy involved WHATSOEVER. People running around like chickens with their heads cut off spraying, dying, respawning OVER AND OVER. At least every previous COD title had solid maps that offered some balance. Hell, I'd be content with an identical game if the maps were such crap. Once the game starts, its a straight up free for all regardless of the game-mode you're in. I don't know why they even include any game mode besides DEATHMATCH because thats all it is. Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    MW3 = MW2. It looks the same game... I won't play this anymore. I just beat the campaign, played few online matches and I'm going to sell the game.
    For me, COD4 is the best from the serie, but Infinity Ward ruined everything after MW2.
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Been following this game, hasn't been interesting to me at all in the slightest. Watching videos of it just makes it out to be boring. To me, it's the worst CoD to date. Activision needs to take a break on this franchise.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.