User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8571 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing.I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing. I have played about 1h of multiplayer and I am totally sick of it! More campers than ever with a lot of 12 year old kids, way too easy to spawn kill, overpowered weapons etc. I could go on for a whole essay if I would have the energy to. There are a lot of glitches also, of course the game was just released but these are simple, easy glitches that should have been noticed instantly during the beta tests. The maps are all recycled with the same looks as earlier maps, nothing new. I am really disappointed mostly because I waited out in the cold rain for almost 12 hours with my friends and we really were expecting a good game. That this is not. Save your time, go play something else because this is not worth it. At least I can still sell this on eBay for 90% of the money. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Been playing all night. The maps do not feel right,. The no scooping and drops shots still being int he game are just stupid. And the MOAB is just as game breaking as the nuke was in MW2. The most damning aspect is that it is the same game as MW1, MW2, and Black ops. Huge disappointment.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Mordern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and sound ofMordern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and sound of weaponary lack any realness in the game. There really is nothing new that this Game does that makes it worth the plastic it uses. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Best Buy let a bunch of people in to play the game before picking up the reserved copy, i was one of them. And using the best "no pun" equipment and sound they have to offer i did notice one thing, same same same.. i actually thought about swapping my 5 bucks over to another game, even ordered a phone plane to get a special mw3 case. im a fan of the series but after finishing the campaignBest Buy let a bunch of people in to play the game before picking up the reserved copy, i was one of them. And using the best "no pun" equipment and sound they have to offer i did notice one thing, same same same.. i actually thought about swapping my 5 bucks over to another game, even ordered a phone plane to get a special mw3 case. im a fan of the series but after finishing the campaign and now deploying into full scale multilayer exp, well yes this is the meat and potatoes but its like christmas, always knowing it will be a turkey, was hoping for something beefier and more importantly tastier this time around. immediately i found that it has many new perks and trinkets and 3 different care package types. maps are not very creative and tbh im a bit pissed that these trinkets are to smoke screen one to see the fact that i got robbed , and what i mean is i went all the way, elite pass etc.. even angrier i check many reviews, and read many which give the game a 10, they slam this game left and right, have nothing really great to say and a 10!!! .. this is what ratings have come down to.. buying them.. i will say that the campaign started off slow, confusing but it did finish off splendidly , leaving many questions (i.e soap) answered and picked up right where it left off with 2.. my roomate is laying spec ops and says its the highlight so far, well im just disappointed. every year, the hype , the promise and then the take ..took me for my money.. but hey not a total loss. if spec ops is that good and multiplayer can hold me over a month or so then hey its better than most games do.. but im selling my unused elite membership for 30 bucks, any takers are welcome.. i will not pay for 1 single map. i bought "the other game" and hated the campaign as well, but its multiplayer delivered on many accounts. they promised bigger and better maps. maybe better but still very linear which time and time again they said they would "have an open world fps multi feel" bullsh*T.. who ever says that this is an awesome game, all fresh ideas, way better than ever, well do yourself a favor, dont ride on their "illusions" rent it.. the greatest part so far is the ending, its did bring the story to a conclusion as well as answer some things that left us cod fans mouths gaped open mw2.. but im hoping spec ops is as good as my roomate says.. dont listen to me, go read these "tens and 9.1-5 reviews, ie 1up) and read between the lines, they are paid to say .. they gripe about many things i do but give it a close to perfect score? journalism/ratings/politics are bought by money.. this game broke the hearts f many cod fans, millions of them, i wanted it to be just a little different.. not alot of the same with a few perk changes to try and blind me from what is on my screen.. like i always say, trust yourself, but rent this first, check out your buddies.. and if you are just one of them need to have it, well i must admit, i was in a way the same cod guy.. not anymore. AND NEVER LET ANYONE TELL YOU THAT YOU FINISHED A GAME SO FAST BECAUSE YOU NEED TO SET THE DIFFICULTY HIGHER, A GOOD SOLID CAMPAIGN IS JUST THAT.. ONE WHICH CAN NOT BE BEATEN IN 4 HOUR S EVEN IF SET ON BABY EASY DIFFICULTY, THATS A COP OUT FOR NO/LITTLE CONTENT.. SETTING IT HIGHER JUST MEANS YOU DIE MORE, REPLAY SAME SCENES MORE HENCE "LONGER CAMPAIGN.. THIS GOES 4 ALL GAMES.

    BEAT THIS IN 5 HOURS NORMAL SETTING
    BUT THE GAME IS DESIGNED FOR ITS MULTIPLAYER, ONE WHICH HAS GROWN TO BE VERY STALE AFTER YEARS OF NOTHING NEW, EXCEPT FOR MY BANK ACCOUNT.. SO FREAKIN TIRED OF THIS.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    They literally
    LITERALLY did not change a thing from MW2.
    Same weapons. Same streaks. Same perks. Same graphics (not even joking) Same **** cluttered maps with random fire on the streets. Autoaim is SO strong even on multiplayer that you can aim 10 inches away from someone and it'll still hit them. Same audio down to the rank up music. Even the same **** tags and loading screens. THE
    They literally
    LITERALLY did not change a thing from MW2.
    Same weapons.
    Same streaks.
    Same perks.
    Same graphics (not even joking)
    Same **** cluttered maps with random fire on the streets. Autoaim is SO strong even on multiplayer that you can aim 10 inches away from someone and it'll still hit them. Same audio down to the rank up music. Even the same **** tags and loading screens.
    THE SAME.
    ****.
    LOADING SCREENS.
    Blackops wasn't this **** rehashed even. It is seriously just MW2 with a new story, and honestly did you even play for the story?
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    I've had Thanksgiving turkey naps last longer than the single player campaign did, but at least after those I wake up feeling refreshed. The multi-player is still nicely polished and remains a benchmark for online play, but these cookie cutter releases are rushed out so often that it's too embarrassing to be caught playing it. There's a reason Grand Theft Auto and Elder Scrolls don't whipI've had Thanksgiving turkey naps last longer than the single player campaign did, but at least after those I wake up feeling refreshed. The multi-player is still nicely polished and remains a benchmark for online play, but these cookie cutter releases are rushed out so often that it's too embarrassing to be caught playing it. There's a reason Grand Theft Auto and Elder Scrolls don't whip out new releases every year. It takes time to put out a quality product. After all, you get what you wait for. And with MW3, I feel like I waited in line for Justin Bieber tickets. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do notMultiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Let me pose this question. why does a new FPS need to be released every year by the same developer like a sports game (FiFa, Madden, Tiger Woods, NBA2whatever)? Is it even necessary for a sports game to release a whole new game every year when rosters change or teams move cities? This could have easily been an expanision pack to Mw2 or even something completely different for Black Ops. WhyLet me pose this question. why does a new FPS need to be released every year by the same developer like a sports game (FiFa, Madden, Tiger Woods, NBA2whatever)? Is it even necessary for a sports game to release a whole new game every year when rosters change or teams move cities? This could have easily been an expanision pack to Mw2 or even something completely different for Black Ops. Why does the COD franchise feel they need to release something completely independent of Black Ops after people just spent money not only only buying Black Ops but then buying the DLC for it.

    It seems like Activision doesn't care and this isn't new behavior for them. Tony Hawk Pro skater was driven into the ground by Activison and Neversoft. Ironically it was EA who stole their skateboarding video game glory with the SKATE franchise. I wouldn't say that there's no room for COD, but they should think about changing their business models if they want to keep FPS enthusiasts and novices from venturing off then they better spice up the formula because the old formula is stale & expensive.
    Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a newAfter playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a new package and call it Modern Warfare 3. Contrary to all the "VIDEO GAME JOURNALISTS" that give this game a 80% or higher this game is nothing new and they should have just called it Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 2011 edition, you are basically paying $60 on a expansion pack, A very poorly made expansion pack. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    If you play any Call of Duty, you've played MW3. Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    The sounds are barely improved if at all same with graphics. I don't feel the game has stepped up enough to call it a 3, they were better off just saying it was mw2: 2.5 or episode 2 or DLC and just ending it there and waiting 2-3 years before putting out another call of duty. The as far as the gameplay and story they are both solid I guess, and will provide the same amount of replay justThe sounds are barely improved if at all same with graphics. I don't feel the game has stepped up enough to call it a 3, they were better off just saying it was mw2: 2.5 or episode 2 or DLC and just ending it there and waiting 2-3 years before putting out another call of duty. The as far as the gameplay and story they are both solid I guess, and will provide the same amount of replay just as MW2 did for those who really REALLY love COD if you don't I wouldn't suggest picking this game up. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Graphics are a joke. Feels like your a little kid running around the maps with your little head bobbing around. Slowly but surely the great franchise is dying, but with releases like this it wont be slowly. MW3 is great if you if your a 15 year old kid. Save your money and time this ones going back to the store.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Just played MW3 for a few hours as well and it's no surprised that it plays just as it has been called MW2.5. Just look at the difference between the previous CoDs up until CoD4 which was revolutionary at the time for FPS and now, MW2 to MW3. Extremely disappointing and lazy game development from the same graphical dated graphical engine to the HUDs, sounds and the gameplay formula. WhileJust played MW3 for a few hours as well and it's no surprised that it plays just as it has been called MW2.5. Just look at the difference between the previous CoDs up until CoD4 which was revolutionary at the time for FPS and now, MW2 to MW3. Extremely disappointing and lazy game development from the same graphical dated graphical engine to the HUDs, sounds and the gameplay formula. While I can't deny that people can still have fun with the game as long as they want more of the same, the novelty of the series in itself has worn off and the differences and improvements with MW3 do little in the way of shaking off deeply as the same game we've been playing for years. Also, same crappy micheal bay campaign. Overall, once you've played one of them after CoD4, you've played them all. No need for this game. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    For a game that feverishly claims to be the most anticipated title this year, nay, the greatest title of all time, this failed to meet my all already low expectations. The main feature that Infinity Ward relied upon to sell the game, the multiplayer, is still the same as it was when it was implemented in Modern Warfare 2, with a few slight changes and new perks. Not only that, they've alsoFor a game that feverishly claims to be the most anticipated title this year, nay, the greatest title of all time, this failed to meet my all already low expectations. The main feature that Infinity Ward relied upon to sell the game, the multiplayer, is still the same as it was when it was implemented in Modern Warfare 2, with a few slight changes and new perks. Not only that, they've also copied the weapon system from Battlefield 3, despite the fact that MW3 claims to be the greater game. Shameless unbalance, lazy and horrible map design and possibly the most immature community to date (I thought this game was an 18? What are little kids doing on it?). Luckily I wasn't sucked in by the same hype that's been everywhere lately, despite Activision's shameless attempt of trying to gain publicity by leaking the video of the girl getting blown up, and as such I didn't expect much from this game, I was still disappointed however, and feel the only good part of this game is the fact it's the last one in the series. But knowing IW and Activision they're try and shovel 5 more games with less character and gameplay than the last. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    What did you expect. Of course it is the same old same old.

    Lets see what has changed since the last installment: Console tech? nope. Core demographic? nope. Online tech? nope. Expectations of fans? nope. The dependency of game review sites on big game publisher $$$? Nope. Of course this game is gonna be 99% the same as the last one and 99% of the reviews are gonna be 90+ on
    What did you expect. Of course it is the same old same old.

    Lets see what has changed since the last installment: Console tech? nope. Core demographic? nope. Online tech? nope. Expectations of fans? nope. The dependency of game review sites on big game publisher $$$? Nope. Of course this game is gonna be 99% the same as the last one and 99% of the reviews are gonna be 90+ on Metacritic. It is what it is: an insanely profitable IP franchise for a huge corporation that cares only about ROI and executive bonuses. My prediction: there will be a COD: MW4 within 13 months and it will be 99% the same as this game and it will get 90+ on Metacritic. Now go insult strangers through your headset while shooting them in the face.
    Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Played this, this morning and its just a desaturated mess of a game, the whole thing needs to be updated to make it good, the textures are low, the shadows are to dark, the lighting is terrible, the only colour seems to be shades of gray and the sounds are just annoying, bad show IW, Sledgehammer and Activition, bad show
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    sigh.
    i thought this was gonna get good reviews but guess what? no when i played single player on the shop it was the same old crap
    looks like this is a Money wasted 3rd time game, glad i didn't buy it.
    Get milked hard.
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year.
    Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Picked this up on release after playing Modern Warfare 2 last night to prepare. Guess what? It was the SAME GAME. So entirely disappointed, I can't believe they hyped up this game to have it be nothing more than a map pack released for $60 that runs worse online. It's really sad what the horrible progression of this game has seen since COD4. I'd rather play the original, which was actuallyPicked this up on release after playing Modern Warfare 2 last night to prepare. Guess what? It was the SAME GAME. So entirely disappointed, I can't believe they hyped up this game to have it be nothing more than a map pack released for $60 that runs worse online. It's really sad what the horrible progression of this game has seen since COD4. I'd rather play the original, which was actually unique, new, and good. Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    The game is not for 2011. It was possible, would put the balls in the works, but the engine is very old and is just copy-paste. I hope if the continuation of the series and will be, on the other engine.
  21. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    It comes as no surprise, but the ramblings of the internet rang true: this game should have been an expansion pack, not a full retail release. The storyline is incoherent, fails to deliver any sort of interesting grip on the character, and eventually throws out huge plot lines in favor of a quick tie-up that makes the job feel like the game's story was cut down the middle, only to beIt comes as no surprise, but the ramblings of the internet rang true: this game should have been an expansion pack, not a full retail release. The storyline is incoherent, fails to deliver any sort of interesting grip on the character, and eventually throws out huge plot lines in favor of a quick tie-up that makes the job feel like the game's story was cut down the middle, only to be released as the inevitable MW4. Infinity Ward has made the first true milking of a franchise, adding in one single interesting aspect to the game: survival. Yet, oddly familiar, it plays almost identical to Zombies, one of the main driving forces for WaW and Black Ops (made by Treyarch). Some bonus points for not making a complete repeat, but it's hard to be excited over something we've all seen before. Of course, by looking at all of the players online, you notice they all have around 0-20 gamerscore in MW3 at the moment, simply because they bought this for the multiplayer, the infamous wife-replacing, work ditching fiasco that we've all played before. And here it is again, basically in the same form as before. Kudos on the deathstreaks and 16 launched maps, IW, but even though your formula is "tried and true", this game is old, already, and in need of serious nerfing patches from day one. This game turned out to be the biggest disappointment of the year, and the first slip down for the CoD franchise. Here's to hoping that they make something worth the $60 price of admission next time. (P.S. Campaign beat in seven hours... are you kidding?) Expand
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Why bother making a new great game when you can just take your last one and "polish" it a litte? This is IW's mindset behind MW3. Never have I seen such a lazy excuse for a "new" iteration in a game series.

    The campaign is mindless and cliche as expected, but MW3 goes out of its way to show you how uterly unoriginal it is. The visuals are practically identical to MW2, and so is most
    Why bother making a new great game when you can just take your last one and "polish" it a litte? This is IW's mindset behind MW3. Never have I seen such a lazy excuse for a "new" iteration in a game series.

    The campaign is mindless and cliche as expected, but MW3 goes out of its way to show you how uterly unoriginal it is. The visuals are practically identical to MW2, and so is most everything else. EVERY single add on to the multiplayer is directly taken from other games. Kill confirmed knocked off from Crysis 2. Halo's Oddball is taken and given a different name here. Gears of War's Horde mode is copied, but with less than impressive AI, is just another tack on. This is laziness at its grandest. If you really liked MW2, then play MW2. This is a 60 dollar polish of it.
    Expand
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After playing Call of duty games while over at friends house for a few years now I finally decided to go and get one myself. I said "What could the harm be?" Well... everything. From poor graphics to the same game engine being used, all that MW3 feels like is a $60 map pack with new game balancing done. Absolutely nothing other than skill perks and Halo Style game making was added. TheAfter playing Call of duty games while over at friends house for a few years now I finally decided to go and get one myself. I said "What could the harm be?" Well... everything. From poor graphics to the same game engine being used, all that MW3 feels like is a $60 map pack with new game balancing done. Absolutely nothing other than skill perks and Halo Style game making was added. The colors are washed out. And, I'm pretty sure GameCube games looked better than this steaming POS. Will be asking for a refund in the morning! Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The Singleplayer is ok. The multiplayer is really bad. Get this only if you like to follow the stream. I have no idea how a game like this manages to sell millions of copies. Either the gaming industry and consumers consist of a much younger audience, or something drastically casual has washed over it. Skyrim is probably the game to buy this november.
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What an absolute mess. At this point, Call of Duty has become another by the numbers, copy and paste shooter franchise. I bought this game expecting something enjoyable and fun. What I got was yet another mindless corridor shooter that plays the game for me. The multiplayer is an absolute abomination as well. It's amazing to me that in the time since Call of Duty 4 has released the seriesWhat an absolute mess. At this point, Call of Duty has become another by the numbers, copy and paste shooter franchise. I bought this game expecting something enjoyable and fun. What I got was yet another mindless corridor shooter that plays the game for me. The multiplayer is an absolute abomination as well. It's amazing to me that in the time since Call of Duty 4 has released the series has almost single handedly killed the FPS genre. This game just puts the final nail in the coffin. Expand
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    i gave it a 4 because of good single player. but the multiplayer was AWFUL, player about 10-15 matches and it was one of the worst experiences i had even though i was doing really well. going from battlefield 3 to this is a pretty massive difference that it hurts my eyes, what an eyesore of a game.
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments fromIt's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Same your money. Expand
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I am a call of duty fan, Im in it for the multiplayer, got my copy of MW3 yesterday, ran home popped it in,
    and heres whats up;
    They seem to have spent all there time tweaking the frills and inconsequential nic naks, rather than focus on game play, they should know everyone who is buying MW3 has been playing black ops for months. Black Ops is like butter to MW3's sand paper. Cons:
    I am a call of duty fan, Im in it for the multiplayer, got my copy of MW3 yesterday, ran home popped it in,
    and heres whats up;

    They seem to have spent all there time tweaking the frills and inconsequential nic naks, rather than focus on game play, they should know everyone who is buying MW3 has been playing black ops for months. Black Ops is like butter to MW3's sand paper.
    Cons: 1)clunky controls, same old layout, just feels slow, like your avatar is 350lb, which means its a Campers paradise...running and gunning,,will leave you wondering how did this guy shoot me from 200 yrds and around a corner, 2)maps are uncreative, they look great, but 90% of what you see you can't interact with, there is no freedom of movement, or freedom to be creative in your play
    3) lastly its just not an improvement on Black Ops, we want to see the envelope pushed, not a turd polished
    4) Spawning is mind bogglingly terrible,,,I can't even begin to say how poor this aspect is, I don't think I even have the words to articulate the almost blatant neglect
    5) and lastly,, after a couple of hours of play, and achieving a 35 rank I just stopped,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, and thought this is hellof boring, I can't believe the nerve of Activision asking people to pay $50 bucks for the elite package of such a amazingly boring multiplayer game,,,,

    I'm going over to best buy right now and returning it, not even going to give it another go
    Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    But oh my god people, You were all saying this was going to be the greatest game ever. Battlefield 3 has nothing on your great innovative Modern Warfare games. Why so serious? We told you it was going to be a rehash but none of you really listened did you? You went out and bought it because it's the cool thing to do, All of your friends have the game. At least you made Activi$ion happy byBut oh my god people, You were all saying this was going to be the greatest game ever. Battlefield 3 has nothing on your great innovative Modern Warfare games. Why so serious? We told you it was going to be a rehash but none of you really listened did you? You went out and bought it because it's the cool thing to do, All of your friends have the game. At least you made Activi$ion happy by giving them $60 for a MW2 DLC. In return, Activi$ion used your money to pay off the critics to give it good reviews influencing more purchases. Oh yeah, Call of Duty is soooo much better than Battlefield 3 LOL. Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It's not a bad game by any means. But it shouldn't even be one - it should be DLC. The campaign took me 4 and a half hours, and I wasn't rushing my any means. Just too similar to the last one.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.