User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8482 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    A great game is spontaenous , Great , and bad ass game . the modern warfare series and trilogy is one of the greatest cod series i have ever seen . i do'nt understand why anyone dislike the best cod game
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    2
    Very disappointing sequel, at least in MW2 it still got me coming back even when Black Ops came out. After the first prestige it wasn't fun anymore. The campaign wasn't as polished and well done compared to MW2 either.
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    3
    This game is the Call of duty title that started the whole "same thing every year" bit, and honestly, I can understand why:
    -weapon diversity is awful. Almost every weapon can get a 3 shot kill, hurting weapon balance.
    -many weapons were recycled from older games. Also, there is only one, count it, ONE new attachment, the hybrid sight, which nobody even uses.
    -maps are all grey and
    blobish. They aren't horribly designed like they are in ghosts, they do feel kind if uninteresting.
    -massive balance issues. The type 95, fmg9, ACR, striker, and mp7 dominate the battlefield. Nobody uses anything different. Also, the assassin perk is way to powerful, blocking nearly every type of radar and surveillance. Having every weapon be the same is not balance, its just makes anything with remotely different stats OP.

    So yeah, If you have played mw2, you've basically played a toned down version of mw3. Can it be fun? Yes, but it feels like you are playing a mod rather than a sequel, and is to thank for the cod haters tradition of saying nothing has changed.
    Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    STOP DEFENDING THIS GAME! I see this one everywhere.People are calling it "so overrated it's underrated." Well i still hate it. I'm sorry, but the story was cheesy, the ending sucked, the multiplayer was far too glitchy, the mission objectives were stupid, and REALLY Activision?!! Survival mode to replace zombies?! Yet people still talk about this game like it's freaking MGS.
  5. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    I can understand why people hate this game. However if you can manage to escape all the **** that is akimbo fm9s and dead mans hand this game is terrific. Fast paced, rewards good players (and sometimes bad players) and nice graphics. I recommend this game to all CoD fans.
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    When you first play the game you no what your getting yourself in to.

    Gameplay. Now the gameplay feels like your in the story those slow motion scenes feel so epic I replayed the game again it's a beauty take my word for it if you have not brought the game you don't no what your missing
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    Another lazy-effort money grab spit out by the CoD team. I'm probably about to peeve a lot of fan-boys, or as they're more formally known: 12-year-old boys who want aggression do to their frustration of puberty.
    PROS:
    +The multiplayer is enjoyable if you're looking for action.
    CONS:
    -The story is wooden, stiff, stupid, and boring! Only a person with an extra chromosome could say it is
    even kind-of interesting.
    -The singleplayer guns are crooked and unbalanced in the campaign, as always.
    -The community of prepubescent brats who need their mouths cleaned with soap. Really, no one is going to take your stupid game seriously if you have this community, so how about you remove voice chat - you'll probably decrease the suicide rate around the world.
    -If you're playing on PC, it is a god awful port, like all CoD games!
    -It is the same game! Why do people by this garbage! Play Black Ops, or MW2, or the best one - CoD 4, you wanna why? Because they're nearly the same team!
    I wouldn't touch this game with a 10ft poll if you don't have it. Crap like this shouldn't exist...
    Expand
  8. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    Kind of an ehh game, it's like a crappy version of mw2, infinity ward really messed up on this one. Not a horrible game, but not a game to get. .
  9. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Most trolled review score on metacritic, to have this game sitting at a 3 is a joke.

    Easily as good as the 2nd modern warfare game but with the addition of survival mode, and a far more accessible and broad multiplayer. Slight graphics upgrades and slightly more interactive storytelling.

    I give this game a 10 largely because it is the only shooter which has entertained me enough to
    play through the campaign more than once, and in terms of survival and multiplayer I clocked more hours on this game than any other on the 360 generation (splitscreen survival is great fun with a friend beside you) I feel like that is as good a reason as any for a top review but even if you don't feel it is worth that just ignore the ridiculously low scores and play this game it is well worth your time. Expand
  10. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    A disappointing sequel to MW2. short and boring story, boring multiplayer, and a really boring survival mode. It's all repetitive of MW2 and very unoriginal. The graphics are the same exact as the previous and the story is way too predictable. Not worth your time or your money.
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    Well, the best summary I can give is, it's not like it's generous to call it a game, but it's nothing special. I'm not much of a CoD fan, and as such, I can't give this game high marks. I did enjoy the bulk of the singleplayer game, even if a bit short. The multiplayer, once again, isn't that great. At least they nerfed explosives, no more "noob tube" spam. However, it is the same grind as it is for MW2, which is only slightly better in my opinion. I do feel, once again, that the game could've been a lot better with a bit more play-testing. Really, get a guy to level up his character to 80. I doubt he would make it far before the controller goes through the television screen. Then again, it did give a few hours of good fun, and that was nice while it lasted. However, if you must get this game for whatever reason, wait until a sale. Expand
  12. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Modern warfare 2 Over priced DLC. Good as a stand alone COD game but will only please fans of Modern warfare 2 if you really want a slightly polished of version of it or if you get it cheap and you know what you are buying, otherwise this game was a complete rip off at release.
  13. Dec 28, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game has two good things, the survival and spec ops, they where great, with ample features that rewarded dedication accurately, cods graphics have been devolving, but looking back on this i almost puked, but cod ghosts is worse. Modern warfare's story line also ended here, MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT. the modern warfare story was its zombies, why we bought the damn game, now its over, soap is dead, Yuri is dead EVERYONE IS DEAD. The multiplayer could have saved this game, oh no. the multiplayer is incredibly linear(much like the campaign) but worse, because you have 12 people jammed in a tiny corridor trying to quickscope with some of the most god forsakenly overpowered weapons every made, save your money and buy cod 4, or even better battlefield 4. Expand
  14. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    It's Modern Warfare 2.5. Infinity Ward have finally showed signs of aging and depletion as Modern Warfare 3, which would be a good game on its own without any history, comes off as a hardcore "been there, done that" experience instead of the trend-setting FPS experience that the previous two Modern Warfare games succeeded with. If you haven't played much Call of Duty in the past, then MW3 is a good game to get in on. But if you've been with CoD for the last few games, or the entire franchise, then you too will likely start feeling the effect of a tiring game. Personally, I'd rather people keep playing Modern Warfare 2 because that to me is the best CoD gets. Expand
  15. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    No bots in offline multiplayer no fun to me. I don't care there is a survival mode. It's not the same thing as Black Ops Combat Training which was an ultimate stress reliever and a great way raise up my ego. At least for this reason I chose PC version with bots mod. Makes me feel I can earn over 9000 AC130s in a single match
  16. Nov 28, 2013
    4
    seriously what is the problem in innovate a little in the why they always do this with us,i hated this game,it is almosta copy of modern warfare 2,most disapointing game of the year.
  17. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    I played this with my friend, who is a CoD fan, and I got to say I was very unimpressed. It seems to be recycling the same garbage over and over again, to the point where people are just so confused onto the way that games are made.
  18. Nov 21, 2013
    4
    Is there no longer any strategy in Call Of Duty? Just the let's make everybody feel like there good and they will like the game philosophy. Although in a way all the people that complained about camping had this coming. A game with no skill. Detail being even taken away on the maps to prevent this. Everyone who once complained about Call Of Duty should really be a fan of this. It's what was asked for. Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    I have no CoD games, but I play this one at my friend's house, and we play 2-person co-op survival, wave after wave of goombas sent at us. And I think that's fun enough that I want to keep playing for a couple hours each time. It holds my attention better than most games these days.
  20. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game is the exact same as Modern Warfare 2. It adds nothing in terms of game play or fun. It's the same repetitive garbage that has murdered the FPS genre's credibility.
  21. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    MW3 is easily the worst Call of Duty to date. The campaign is short (and story is absolutely terrible), multiplayer is more of the same, and the game's overall feel just seems like a slightly beefed up MW2. The original Modern Warfare had one of the best campaigns of any game and MW3 continues the trend of the very cheesy and ridiculous story that MW2 had. It is very disappointing since the original Modern Warfare was so incredibly awesome. MW3 multiplayer is not even nearly as fun as the previous Black Ops. I played probably hundreds of hours of online Black Ops and couldn't get into MW3's at all. Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    The game is alright. it offers some decent gameplay and the plot will put you at the edge of your seat and toes. More importantly it put some closure on the storyline. The guns playable are decent if some what inaccurate but that's video games for you.
  23. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Modern Warfare 3 was not as good as I had expected it to be. Infinity Ward had so much potential in making this game PERFECT, but the game just did not live up to the hype. Aside from the lack-luster campaign to which I shall not spoil, the special ops is pretty fun including the 'survival' option. Multiplayer is basic and really has nothing special other than 'kill confirmed' which has brought a new view on game types for Call of Duty. Aside from everything, this game was average. Expand
  24. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    W3 is best described as 'meh'. The on-line multi player is ok, but as usual, the community destroy any chance of me and others enjoying it. The campaign is the usual modern shooter affair...dull, short and explosions everywhere. I did enjoy the survival mode, especially with friends. I was lucky to pick it up for £6 and its worth that £6, i would not pay any more for this. I think the franchise needs to change itself up to survive. Expand
  25. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Cod MW3 is only good at multiplayer The single player is not so great Multiplayer on the other hand it's deep cuztomizable and good .the major flaw is the single player and the games presentation they're not presented well
  26. Oct 11, 2013
    2
    I love how people will talk about how bad the new Pokemon or GTA game is because of how it's "too similar to other games in the series" but Call of Duty always seems to get a free pass. But I'm not here to talk about how critics seem to kiss this particular franchises butt just because it's another Call of Duty game, I'm here to explain why this is just a bad game in general. What do most players of Call of Duty games do? They go straight to the multiplayer of course. However this games multiplayer is terrible, all the maps are boring and poorly designed and the colors used in the maps are dull. Guns are distributed where a high level CoD MW3 player will destroy another player with a lower level because the gun the high level player has is overpowered to the point of being unfair. Should i also mention that the servers in this game are less than fantastic leading to unfair deaths do to lag, and no i'm not a 4 year old complaining that he died cause his internet sucks I'm sincerely stating that MW3's servers are unreliable. The game adds in this survivor mode to try and replace the zombies mode in Call of Duty Black Ops, and while its an o.k game mode it doesn't come close to being as fun as the Black Ops zombies mode. The only redeemable thing about MW3 is the campaign. It's nothing to write home about but it is decent and well-done enough and completes the Modern Warfare story line in a satisfying fashion. I get it o.k? Call of Duty games are supposed to be similar to each other, that's just the way the series works. It supposed to be a game that gets upgraded graphics, new guns, and a couple new kill streaks so you and you're friends can enjoy some multiplayer. However MW3 is simply not fun, its muddy graphics and unfair gun layout make this game, for lack of a better word, bad. Get you're CoD on with some Black Ops, modern warfare 2, hey even world at war works! But stay far away from Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3. Expand
  27. Sep 15, 2013
    2
    I sure hope activision make an actually new game sometime, the old formula from 2007 is dull. I can't believe they can make so much money re-releasing the same with the same assets, textures, and gameplay year after year. I can forgive sports games but this is a joke.
  28. Sep 9, 2013
    4
    The reason people hate call of duty so much is because of this game. They basically took modern warfare 2 made the graphics worse and added a boring survival mode that fails to compete with trey-arch's zombie mode. This game is awful.
  29. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    games for babies, not a real game.
    CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS.
    CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. CASULS. Expand
  30. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Estoy en desacuerdo con los usuarios que califican a este como una mal juego, si, puede ser que la historia de esta versión de CODMW sea un poco similar a sus anteriores versiones del la saga, pero eso no des merita este gran juego que con su gran jugabilidad en linea y modos de juego logra hacer un buen juego que complace mis expectativas.
  31. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    I am a fan of the Call of Duty franchise but, man, did this game let me down. The campaign in every other Call of Duty game was short and sweet. The story mode to Modern Warfare 3 was still short, but terrible. I beat like 4 missions and then moved to the multiplayer and never played the campaign again. But the multiplayer is decent fun. There are so many unlocks and the gunplay is fun. However, the killstreaks are unbalanced. The game is decent and clearly doesnt deserve a "0" overall. Expand
  32. Aug 28, 2013
    5
    At first, I really didn't like this game, I didn't like survival mode, I didn't fond the story interesting and I thought multiplayer was the exact same as before. After a few months of not touching it I returned to it after hearing the release of the new call of duty game and began to play multiplayer. And I have to admit I quite enjoyed it, I would say that its probably my favorite Call of duty multiplayer game I have played (although that,s not saying much seeing that I have only played a few) but I did think it was quite fun. but in my opinion that's the only thing the game has going for it. If the multiplayer didn't exist I would give this game a 2 or a 3 but the multiplayer saves it from being a disaster. Expand
  33. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    It would be highly pointless of me to write a review on this because the same reasons have been given but I'll jump in.

    No, it isn't innovative. It's the same gameplay as before.

    Doesn't make it overall horrible, we liked the game we played before, and so on. But at this stage do we really need to throw in such high expectations? The people complaining are the same people who bought
    it. You knew what to expect, unless you never looked up any footage prior to purchasing it.

    Nonetheless, it's enjoyable, and very addictive. But yeah, something needs to change. Maybe Call of Duty: Ghosts will try something different but I will expect the worst and be a pessimist. At least then I'm not as disappointed when I'm presented with the same recycled gameplay.
    Expand
  34. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    The campaign for this game is great but the whole game is almost identical to Modern Warfare 2. The characters and missions are good but the middle of the game is boring and it has repetitive combat. I did really like the game as a fan of infinity ward. The multiplayer is fun too.
  35. Aug 10, 2013
    1
    el mw3 es simplemente un juego MUY similar a los anteriores anteriores mw los gráficos,,, no cambian mucho las armas se sientes exactamente igual ¿no que no habria segunda oportunidad? me sorprende lo malo que es el multijugador es muy injusto y las armas están desproporcionadas al final si te fijas bien de varios rifles de asalto la gente solo usa unos 3
    Esas rachas de muerte son muy
    injustas creo que hay muchas cosas en este juego que salen sobrando en mi opinión esta mejor el multiplicador de mw, obviamente los críticos están vendidos comparen las calificaciones de los críticos a las de los usuarios

    Ativicion, famosa por sacar la expansiones mas caras y llamarlas nuevos juegos
    Expand
  36. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is a good game, but there are certain glitches and the Multiplayer is not much organized, as well for the spawns. But for the cause I give this game a 6 rating for addicting content such as Chaos Mode or Survival, and polished graphics. Those must be all I guess.
  37. Aug 7, 2013
    2
    This sucked. Can't even compare to Cod 4 or MW2. Multiplayer sucked, campaign alright, and words can't describe how terrible survival was. Survival was an attempt to replace zombies but it absolutely sucked. Stick to Treyarch, Infinity Ward sucks now.
  38. Aug 5, 2013
    5
    My review for MW3 SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. high point in a lackluster game. continued from MW2, it ends the modern warfare saga with a satisfying end GRAPHICS: 4/10. S.S.D.Y. SOUND:5/10. S.S.D.Y. MULTIPLAYER: 6/10. some small additions, but this could have been a map pack for MW2 GAMEPLAY: 7/10. no problems OR changes here FUN FACTOR: 7/10. COD superfans will still like this, but it just more of the same, and in this case, its bad
    TOTAL: 5/10
    Expand
  39. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    this game is a piece of crap it sucks and the storyline is boring the only thing that made me not give it a zero is its ok multiplayer gameplay this skrewed up the call of duty series and black ops put it back on track
    my least favorite call of duty games are

    call of duty MW3
    call of duty
    call of duty world at war
  40. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    What a big surprise, there are 5,149 haters, fan boys and players that just SUCK at the game. At the VERY LEAST, this game is a 6. At the most, for people who are good at COD and for people who enjoy such a solid and easily controllable engine with balanced weapons and good maps, this game is a 9. This game is what Modern Warfare 2 SHOULD have been. Specialist is wonderful for those who HATE being on an uneven ground against other players. Support is great for those who suck and assault great for campers. This game caters to all. The single player wasn't the best, but it finished the trilogy nicely and had good action. Expand
  41. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    Este juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la putaEste juego es una mierda de la Expand
  42. Jul 24, 2013
    3
    long story short: don't buy this game. everything about it is lazy and not innovating. seriously, the maps, graphics, campaign, spec ops, guns, etc. are all forgettable and bad.
  43. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    If you have bought ANY other Call of Duty games, you wont find anything new here, do your self a favor and NEVER buy another Call of Duty game ever. Same Different year
  44. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I generally don't like too join the enormous and immature people that hate Call of Duty. But MW3 is seemingly the worst Call of Duty too date. Why? You have an overblown, short, scripted event filled, linear, mind numbing-Micheal bay action style campaign. The plot makes absolutely so sense at all. Then you have MP, which was promised to return to the CoD4 style of games. They said they were taking out the many nuisances from MW2 and CoD 4 for a polished game. In reality, you get a Modern Warfare 2 expansion pack, expect with more restrictions (invisible walls galore). That isn't an exaggeration. This game is pretty much the same exact game. But this time around, it's boring. Bad maps, bad guns, bad perks and the new killstreak system just doesn't work.

    They also have a new Survival mode. Meant to compete with Treyarch's Zombies. It's fun for awhile but get's old really fast.

    On the surface, it is a polished game, but there just isn't any thing noteworthy or exciting. It just feels routine at this point.
    Expand
  45. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    The game tries to reward you for doing well in every single way. I had fun and enjoyed it, that's what matters. 10 Times the game both black ops 1 and 2 is.

    The Assault, Support and Specialist were great ideas, as well as the score streaks reinvention from kill streaks. To say there is no innovation here is ridiculous. The audio is great, the guns don't sound like pee shooters.
    Enthralling story line that ends well and exciting. Unlike some I can mention and a good upgrade from previous MW's. They tried their best with the survival game mode which can be a lot of fun with friends. What's not to like? Expand
  46. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now before you think i hate this game because it is essentially modern warfare 2.5 well your wrong I hate it because its a terrible game on its own
    pros: Gameplay is still pretty fun, Makarov's death is just so satisfying when it happens, graphics are done well, sound design is flawless it sounds like what a war game should
    cons: the intro movie is awful, new players will be confused and would probably need to play modern warfare 2 (which i recommend you would get that instead of this) bullets flying through cover, the game is too easy I got hit by an RPG and lived ON VETERAN DIFFICULTY, Yuri's death feels like a cheap excuse to kill a russian at the last minute rather then a sacrifice to save Price. Enemy Ai is either the worst i have ever seen or the best I have ever seen (and not in a good way its like they have a supercomputer that comes up with 1000 ways to effectively defeat you) as for the bad AI lets just say enemy's have had guns in my face and just stared until i get bored waiting for them to shoot and just killed them. Soaps death doesn't have the impact it should and it felt to sterotypical. it is so linear, horde mode instead of zombies
    So there you go a bunch of reasons not to buy mw3 if you really need to know the ending just watch it on youtube. If you ever buy a COD game you would be better off with black ops, black ops 2 modern warfare 2 or even wait and see if Cod ghosts brings some cool new features along with dogs and fish. for all the fanboys probably raging at me you should know I dont hate call of duty just this
    Expand
  47. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is a decent game, The story was amazing, but it's in the multiplayer where the game starts to disappoint. It literally is the exact same as modern warfare 2, some of the weapons are the exact same as in modern warfare 2 but with a new look slapped on. There is only 1 new mode, and it's the common hoard mode. But there are some really good multiplayer maps. And killstreaks, even if some are cheap and impossible to avoid if the enemy gets one. Plus when you think of a sequel you think of innovation, there is very little found in this game. In the end it is a solid game. Expand
  48. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    MW3 made COD look like!@#$#$%$%$#$#%#***&^^$!!@#$%^&*. Today its not skill its camping. But no matter how many of us good players see this happening, it will only get worse. Hopefully Ghosts will change that (i doubt it). But we can only hope for better.
  49. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    A very safe play by Infinity Ward and Activision. It looks very similar to Modern Warfare 2, and it plays fairly similar as well (just without the noobtubes). Gun balance is iffy, but everything else is on a fairly even playing field. Best played with a group of friends, pub-stomping is prominent in MW3, and mediocre players will have a very hard time leveling up on their own. Despite these flaws, multiplayer remains a fun romp with recoilless guns and devastating killstreaks.
    Single-player campaign is only worth touching for those interested in the story of Soap and Captain Price. While gameplay is hugely boring for long-time fans of the series, the story is told adequately and will excite those looking for more Modern Warfare fiction.
    Spec Ops has been revamped, but still pails in comparison to Treyarch's Zombie mode.
    Expand
  50. Jun 29, 2013
    1
    The game engine is out of date in 1999. boring, dull, is base. The sound in the game is terrible, the weakest game in the series. Battlefild 3 compared with that as a gold ingot.
  51. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    Meh...

    This was nearly identical to MW2. Literally, I think they copied some of each level layout.

    Not only that, but the game is an awful port. We're locked at a console FOV, with poor optimization on high-end hardware. There are no dedicated servers, cheaters and lag abounds, and if my sticky reticule pops to one more enemy automatically I think I'm going to ceremoniously burn this
    game. There is no reason on the PC to make the game aim for the player.

    Multiplayer has literally not advanced at all. Graphics are poor, the engine is out of date. There's nothing but lag, cheaters, and kids whining and screaming over their microphones every time they die. There are no new modes, and no unique guns. You get to choose between slightly different re-skins of the same gun, pretty much, because they're all equally bland and stiff to use.

    There are no advanced physics to enhance dynamic gameplay, still no vehicles, and the killstreaks are more cheap than fun at this point. Who likes to join a match where half your team is just getting insta-killed by a helicopter above the map? Roll the dice. You might not randomly die, between the latency, the aim assist, and the 20 foot knives.

    That's pretty much all this game is. Random death. Grenade spam, camping, quickscope abuse, and lag all contribute to one pathetic package of random death.

    It gets 2 instead of 0 because it's a functional game, and not a pile of slag that nukes your HDD.
    Expand
  52. Jun 19, 2013
    1
    This game was a waste of 60 dollars in my opinion. I did not enjoy my time with this game. They got rid of all that made MW2 good and kept all the crap. It might as well have been called Modern 2.5. Plain ans simple I did not enjoy my time with this game, it just got me frustrated that's it.
  53. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    The game offers nearly nothing new to the series apart from a campaign with different missions with the same run here and shoot him tactics. Multiplayer is... Well play MW2 or MW and you know absolutely everything you need to know. Only thing that kept me playing were some interesting action scenes that occurred.

    4 out of 10
  54. Jun 11, 2013
    1
    This one of the worst games ever the game is laggy and the only players are 3 year old kids and the game is boring as hell in short don't buy this pice of game or don't buy any other COD because they are all terrible the only good COD game is COD world at war which is a great game but we are not reviewing that game we are reviewing MW3 which is terrible so in short don't buy it sucks
  55. Jun 11, 2013
    3
    When we want a sequel to a game we like, we do not mean just continue the story, change the weapons around, refine the multiplayer with horrible claustrophobic environments and introduce Survival. We also mean INNOVATION; new things, differences to gameplay and feel, better graphics and multiplayer, and non of that is in Modern Warfare 3, instead, this is just an exact copy & paste of Modern Warfare 2 and even uses some of the same buildings from Call of Duty 4 as you play. The single player is good, but doesn't explain enough about what's going on with the countries in Europe other than England, France, Germany, Czech Republic and US, and just states that there are chemical attacks going across the continent. This is World War III and doesn't even explain and show what happens after in the ending, it's abruptive. Speaking of Survival, it is great, but you have to rank up which is totally unnecessary and takes a long time, not worth all that in just a survival game... atleast let our multiplayer progress affect this. Anyway, you only have 30 seconds between waves and that's not enough for you to run to every shop, get everything you need and run back to where you were or where you want to stay, what you should do is leave 1 person and kill him when you're ready for the next wave. But what really annoys is that when you buy attachments for your guns, you can't get extended mags or rapid fire. The multiplayer maps are bland and such close quarters, and now you only get 1 grenade, 1 rocket shot, 1 grenade launcher shot and no more FMJ. The only improvement on the multiplayer is new game modes such as Infection, Kill Confirmed, Hot Drop and Team Defender. MW3 is a crap game, awful multiplayer, and the graphics are exactly the same which not only brings down the game so bad, but also makes the game bland and boring, especially in the single player. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 demonstrates the laziest way to produce a sequel to a video game and I'd hate to see any other developers foolish enough to do so, and because Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer were, you will either love this because it's the exact same game, or you will hate this because it's the exact same game. which one? Expand
  56. Jun 9, 2013
    5
    HONESTLY IT DOES HURT THE GAME INDUSTRY THAT THESE REDUNDANT COD GAMES SELL 30MIL COPPIES EACH. People buy 20-30mil copies of CoD and miss out on truly unique games like metro 2033 or the darkness 2 and these are in the same genre they are FPS's and damn good too. How many people can say they truly bought call of duty black ops AND Metro 2033 Not many if any and at least metro is an FPS too. Can anyone say black op2 was actually pound for pound better than Deus Ex H.R.? Now i don't always agree with critics but even they thought deus ex was much better than black ops2 and look how deus ex sells maybe 2 million including pc and Call of doody black oops2 sells 10 times that on xbox alone. Even worse a great immersive FPS with ten times the heart and story Metro 2033 sells under 500,000 copies, yes it sold in the ball park of four hundred thousand copies...shameful that a quality game like that sells all together less than what CoD sells in one day. Is this because CoD blows ops2 is soooooo much better than metro....? NO, it is not but brain washed sheep buy the same game with the same engine in it with the same graphics every single year, they just change the name or put a creative (1),(2),or (3) next to it and the lambs come running to shell out 60$ instead of getting a truly unique experience and maybe having some taste or style or any uniqueness of your own. Even a mega hit multiplatform game that in my opinion might be the best of all time the vaunted "Fallout 3" pales in comparison with around 8mil sold while each CoD game more than triples those sales. Can even a CoD fan name any CoD game that even comes close to being as great as Fallout 3....wait i forgot to say that modernwarfare 2 doesn't count........just kidding that would be too cruel because that is what you were gonna say right CoD fanboy you original gamer you, and i bet you play CoD on your XBOX too how original and i bet you don't even play the 4hr campaign do you? All you 14yr olds and 40yr olds alike just grab a slim jim, take a swig of Monster if you are 14 and of course Budweiser if you are 40 and start on that CoD multiplayer with all that great story and non repetitive MP gameplay, of course you do this while waiting in anticipation for bungie's next sterile, super unique( i.e. halo 3 odst) game. Oh wait bungie is actually doing something good now (i.e. Destiny) so i guess 343 or whatever their name is will be copy and pasting a new label on the same old halo game, but at least halo doesnt come out twice a year. Good luck on not being as good as Battlefield 4 Call of Doody Ghosts (scary ghosts) but hey there are enough dumb people out there so you will outsell them even with last gen graphics and the same exact engine as model warfare. Greedy, Greedy Activision shoveling crap and calling it caviar when will you stop buying it. Expand
  57. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Giving this a 6 because of the campaign, and co op was fun. I didn't like the multiplayer because of the connections to the servers. The gun took a different direction, except for some of them. I just like it because of the campaign pretty much. Finally got to kill Makarov Expand
  58. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    *sigh* i remember the good old days of modern warfare 2 so much fun, modern warfare 3 tries to revive those old days by using the same things that made moder warfare 2 so succesful, but it is starting to show it's age, it doesnt go as far as to say it is all copy paste but overall it feels the same, for some it´s gonna be great and for some it's gonna be copy paste, for me it is great, i like the excitement of leveling up and getting new guns, those thrills are still here but modern warfare 3 isn't gonna please all the fans, i liked it but it kind of feels like modern warfare 2, nevertheless modern warfare 3 is still a good experience, but i prefer modern warfare 2 Expand
  59. May 29, 2013
    4
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 was very disappointing to me. The campaign was only in the range of 4 hours long and not nearly as many Spec Op missions (unless you pay extra as DLC) and the multiplayer is also another grenadefest. Out of the Modern Warfare trilogy, this is by far the worst and wouldn't recommend getting. However, to give credit where credit is due, the campaign, despite being short, was entertaining and the spec op missions were fun, but MW3 just feels like a step backwards from it's previous game. Expand
  60. May 29, 2013
    8
    Don't read the user reviews, those people are dumb and expect to much, they don't appreciate what they get even though its everything the you could want, its a great game and if you want a legit review read the ones by the critics.
  61. May 27, 2013
    0
    Save your money and buy a better CoD. This is just a repeat of MW2. If you want a good and engaging call of duty, get MW1. Things have gone downhill with this franchise everytime they release a game. But of course the game has a huge following of younger children who love the game because it has explosions and blood.
  62. May 23, 2013
    6
    When this game was initially released, I decided to score it a 9. This is in complete conflict to my current opinion, and I have no idea what I was thinking at the time. I presumably scored it so highly out of some form of loyalty to Infinity Ward, trying to help them against some of the seemingly unfair reviews. I'm rather ashamed of having done this, and wanted to put things more on the level.

    To take another look at this game, its certainly nothing special. While the Campaign of COD 4 was largely praised for its characters and setting. Its difficult to say the same here, simply playing along with the same recipe that just feels rather dated now, given its lack of change. But multiplayer is the main reason most are brought to Call of Duty, and it at seems a little more balanced in its gunplay following patches, something not shared by its predecessor. However, other issues quickly come to light. Odd choices such as the changes from Killstreaks to score streaks raise a number of issues.One such example is the stealth bomber, which can be earned quiet easily, due to being placed in the "support" section, meaning that the kills to obtain it compile even after death. This makes the bomber appear far to regularly, which is also far too offensive for its support namesake on many of the maps. Which brings me to another huge issue, the maps. Graphically their all rather unimpressive, largely just a series of drab, darkly hued buildings or rubble. Those that aren't marred by this issue instead of horrendous and unmemorable layouts that just don't live up to the experiences had on many of MW2's maps, such as "Afghan." When the maps are as bad as they are, its difficult to praise MW3's multiplayer at all.

    Other than these points, the rest is largely standard fair, with a few new options to keep you busy. The cooperative spec ops mode adds a little more longevity with its survival and mission modes, but it feels rather tacked on given that it can only be played with two players, a particularly noticeable omission in the uninspired survival mode.

    And that's all there really is to say. Its not particularly superior or inferior to other titles in the series. If you enjoyed them and want more, it'll largely give you what your after, but if you've always disliked the series, this certainly wont change that.
    Expand
  63. May 22, 2013
    8
    Hold on, 5,500 negative reviews on this game? That's just stupidity. Yes this game is more of the same, but thats exactly what most of you people wanted. The storyline is tied up perfectly, multiplayer is an improvement and overall it's a decent game. Definitely doesn't deserve a 3.3.
  64. May 10, 2013
    1
    So what can i saw about modern warfare 3. It sucks all around. the only things that save this steaming pile of is the new kill streak system and the survival mode. The story mode was lacking everything. I feel that my dog taking a piss is a 1000000 times more entertaining than the story. as far as online well do i really need to say anything? Full of glitches, lag and texture issues i feel that i could probably make a better game while on horse tranquilizers. as a fan of call of duty this game made me want to have my nuts stomped by a 500 pound man with cleats on. so for this fact i give it a 1 which is being kind Expand
  65. May 7, 2013
    3
    MW3 ruins the entire MW series. I think MW2 is the best CoD in the series and where the series also went downhill afterwards. The story in MW3 was obviously rushed and butchers the entire series with huge plot holes, and impossible to believe logic. Also, Multiplayer was not very well balanced and spawn killing was a massive issue. I did get some fun out of MW3 but i do not play it anymore unlike other CoDs. I still play MW2, BO 1+2, and WaW) Expand
  66. May 7, 2013
    6
    I cannot play MP since it felt like However, still like the SP, the story sometimes made no sense, but the missions self just getting better and better. I gave it a six, because I remember at one time I was like, OK, the storyline of the cod MW trilogy is still better than Mass effect, at least at the end Makarov got killed, his father didnt show up and told me how misery of Makarovs childhood and I should feel sorry for him, then the father gave me three choices to, 1. kill the father, but in the meantime somehow kill all the people with horrible childhood, 2. transfer&merge to the father, and use my love to change Makarov and everyone lives happily afterwards, 3. replace Marakrov as the leader of the gangs.... so, yeah, as the end episode of cod, it is not that bad. Expand
  67. May 6, 2013
    0
    This game is behind the times in terms of graphics, originality, innovation an relevance. It represents the negative side of the gaming industry. As this baseless title dominates the market other more unique and original games suffer.

    COD was once a great game I loved COD3, 4 and WAW. Now it is a joke, and it is beyond my comprehension why people still buy/play it.

    The people i know
    who play this game are all 'chavs' and usually lack the intelligence of your average gamer.

    I would give it a Minus score if Metacritic offered that function.
    Expand
  68. May 4, 2013
    6
    It works, but it's not as good as the others. A slight shame to the Call of Duty series, but not as big a mess as Declassified. 6/10 Sentry Busters riding on horses.
  69. May 3, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game itself IS entertaining. Can you believe I finished the story in 3 days? Anyways, MW3 has to do with-of course-World War 3. You go around the world as several soldiers, it pretty fun to see the Eiffel Tower get bombed down, or know that Yuri actually worked with Markolov, is it? Also, You happen to know that Price (the one that smokes a cigarette a lot) has actually killed him, pretty gruesome if you ask me. Finally, the story line is pretty entertaining, the Special-Ops missions and multiplayer campaigns are on the top-But, then again, it is Call of Duty- As long as you play with at least 3 players, you are fine. The final reason i give it an 8 is because it still does not offer much. Just a story, missions, and multiplayer maps. (had to choose from 8 or 9) Maybe I gave it an 8 since technically, this is my first Call of Duty I played. Expand
  70. May 2, 2013
    8
    Why are there so many trolls.If you were expecting a different game,but i'm sorry,it's not going to change.The campagin is pretty good,multiplayer is great and spec ops is really fun.
  71. May 1, 2013
    3
    I was all hyped for this game because modern warfare 2 was so addicting even with it's flaws and i was expecting the same addiction that i had before but was disappointed and after 3 prestige's called it quits and couldn't handle the crappyness anymore and sold it at gamestop
  72. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    I have played all of the Modern Warfare games. Obviously the first one is the best. MW2 was pretty good. But making this your sequel1?!?!?!? The graphics are bad and look like they are from Call of Duty 2. The multiplayer is the same except...hacking is allowed!!!! Maps suck. Same emblems and call signs from MW2. Although the campaign is pretty good. Great ending to the series. But I didn't enjoy playing as Yuri. Playing as Soap, Price and all the other characters were way better. What I don't like about Yuri is that they just bring him in saying he is ex-Spetsnaz that is the only back story on him. Spec ops missions are not that great they were better in MW2. Survival mode is pretty boring IW should've taken a hint from Treyarch's awesome zombies mode. In general this game is a 3 out of ten a bad. It has its goods the Campaign mainly. And its bads multiplayer, spec ops, survival. In general a very bad game Expand
  73. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    Very weak game. If this game isn't showing signs that Call of Duty is misses a step then I don't know what is. It adds absolutely nothing new. This is no exaggeration. I would rather play Pong or E.T for Atari than this garbage! Only thing good about it was the survival mode. For that I give it a 1. Not worth $60.00 ever!
  74. Apr 18, 2013
    3
    First I would like to point out that this game has gotten so many terrible reviews that it actually won't allow any reviews right now below a 5/10.
    I gave this game a chance before playing it, and was actually looking forward to it's release because of it's predecessor.
    I played it for about 30 min. and that outlook changed instantly. Not only is it just a SLIGHTLY different version of
    MW2, it's much worse.
    3/10
    Expand
  75. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    The most surprising thing about this game to me was that on metacritic people like it. Remember when call of duty was original, because apparently there was a time.
  76. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    Yet another poor result from the Activision's yearly critically acclaimed cash grabber. You know what to expect, basic, linear, repetitive, easy gameplay hiding behind flashy graphics and an overhyped ad campaign. The story writing is terrible, the campaign explains little apart from you are a generic soldier, with a generic motivation, fighting in an overall generic plot. I didn't expect much, a poor excuse for "innovation". I genuinely don't understand why such a mediocre franchise is so popular. Expand
  77. Apr 5, 2013
    3
    I honestly just don't see how people are giving the game more than a five, the game completely falls entirely off the mark of just being too bland and being a blatant copy and paste of the previous Call of Dutys, the campaign is ok and just finishes off the "story", multiplayer is the same as every other call of duty game so now it's just grown tiresome and spec ops is nothing like zombies
  78. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is not a game that's worth getting. Modern Warfare 2 is a much better COD game. BLOPS 1, BLOPS 2, and even Modern Warfare 1 are way better than this game. MW3 didn't offer anything new. The maps were horrible and the guns weren't much different from MW2 if different at all. The only thing that I found fun was Survival. Although zombies is more classic and way more fun. Expand
  79. Mar 30, 2013
    4
    The one thing that bothered me about this game was the blatant lack of creativity and innovation. While the general structure of the game held its own, and the the story fit the plot line of the previous two games, with a new playable character and the usual blockbuster set pieces, I felt as though the weapons were either reused or designed differently, (with little variation in regard to new weapons,) the graphics were actually sub-par to that of modern warfare 2, if you can even believe that, and every time I started a new mission it felt just like playing a call of duty 4/ modern warfare 2 mission, with only a new shell around it to disguise the feeling of redundancy. I felt as though the title of this game would've been better named "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.5." This low quality and low entertainment of this game, (in my personal opinion) was heavily influenced by the firings of Vince Zampella and Jason West, who were the heads of the developer company infinity ward before being fired for supposed "insubordination." As West and Zampella left, 38 infinity ward members left as well, leaving an insufficient amount of untalented developers and programmers at the head of MW3. As a longtime COD fan, (specifically the modern warfare series,) I found it thoroughly disappointing that this game did not meet the usual gusto and new found excitement that the other two games upheld, which is why I rated this game 4/10. Expand
  80. Mar 29, 2013
    6
    MW3 has a long list of problems, but its worst offense is how rehashed it is. Nothing in the game, from the assets to the experience, feel fresh whatsoever. The single-player has a pretty good story, but the whole experience is butchered by unnecessary scripted scenes and a low difficulty (I played on Regular). The multiplayer aspect feels like it is trying to be a more balanced MW2, but they overbalanced it and guns feel the same and don't have much of a personality. The killstreaks aren't very inventive and the rest of the customization options are not very interesting. The maps are possibly the worst offender, being very cramped and all very maze-like. The survival is possibly the most original feature and it soars, being the best part of the game. Overall, the game feels like a money-grab for Activision and the game does little to nothing to push the franchise forward. I would not recommend this game, unless you are a Call of Duty fanatic who just wants to prestige above all of the other players. Expand
  81. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    This game is absolute The Campaign was, one again, nothing special; Spec Ops mode was a complete joke; the Multiplayer was more or less supposed to be the selling point for this game and it was the weakest link. Infinity Ward made MW2, which is the last good CoD game ever made but sadly, they took a huge leap backwards in quality here. Yes, it looks polished at first glance, but it's just a really horrible attempt at MW 2.5! Even Black Ops was better than this and that's saying something. Expand
  82. Mar 29, 2013
    2
    Really Infinity Ward? You'd think that after Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops 2, things were changing on the Call of Duty franchise, so many things were being added and improved, it was going good, but this has to be the absolute laziest, if not worst, Call of Duty game in history. The game engine was -Literally- recycled from Modern Warfare 2 and 0% improved what-so-ever, the campaign, as ever, is the most standard and generic you can get apart from the Price missions. Russians invading America. Jeez, originality is something it is missing in every part. How about multiplayer? Imagine taking the MP from MW2, add a few useless additional game modes, and there you go. Summed up. Weapons are as overpowered and unbalanced as always and I think I've said enough. I'm trying to think of any redeeming factors about this that distinguish it from MW2, but I can't get any from the top of my head, not any significant ones. Also: There's a weapon which kills with a SINGLE BULLET. NOT KIDDING. Expand
  83. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Predecessor of MW2, MW3 is a next rung on the COD ladder, giving us access to more of the life Cpt. Soap as we continue on our quest to hunt down Makarov all within an action packed storyline to match. MW3 might have its downsides within the game such as the spawning system for its multiplayer in which I can be playing be killed only to be then shot 2 seconds after spawning again and its many bugs such as outpost wall-breaching glitch, this all adds to the thrill and adventure to the game-play or so I have found it that is.
    Developed by Infinity Ward, MW3 shows that IW really know what they’re doing when it comes to producing one hell of a game, just goes to show that you don’t need a huge development team to produce a game like MW3 unlike that of BO2. Which failed in comparison to MW3 as regards to feedback. We see a return to dedicated servers in MW3 whilst still providing us with the multiplayer lobbies we experienced in MW2 unlike that of BO1 which simply did multiplayer lobbies and no dedicated lobbies and BO2 which just did dedicated lobbies instead of multiplayer lobbies when will they learn to add both of them instead of 1 or the other.

    With dedicated servers in place MW3 brings the party, allowing players to experience MW3 like no other game before it, things like High Jump servers and Infected Shop servers bring even more action to the player that wants the thrill and adventure of a fire-fight in mid air or the exploring of new places within the maps. Like come on who doesn’t want to reach the Eiffel tower on Resistance? Cause I certainly want to, so what if I can’t get there fully it still adds to the fun of the game.

    Along with the main game of MW3 of course comes the ever increasing collection packs ranging from 1 to 4 these DLC’s offer new maps for players to dominate and master, new spec ops to blast through like the veterans they are.

    A new game mode hits the scene within the MW3 collection DLC’s, named Chaos mode; it says exactly what it does on the tin. In which players can either solo or blast it out with a friend through their favourite maps against a limitless amount of spawning enemies.

    Designed to test the player/player’s logical thinking, Chaos mode is the perfect mode for testing strategies/strength of the player. The amount of times I tried to get past 5 juggernauts all charging at me at once was very filling for my taste of adrenaline and thrill as I ran for my life like the coward I am.

    Overall I feel MW3 even with its ups and its downs is a 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  84. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Not bad! The graphics were exceptional but the story line was very repetitive. Some levels were a drag, where others were actually pretty good.
  85. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    the graphics hadnt change the story its normal but boring i think the last mission was the best online is good i like prestige and golden guns only online saves this game from bad vote
  86. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    What a Horrible game, this game, blops 1, and blops 2 RUINED the COD series and could never be the same. This can show that a company cant even spice it up a bit, with Mw2 and 3.. they both have graphics and engines. They both suck. Dont BUY.
  87. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    This game is a monumental piece of crap. Everything is pasted from previous games. I hope Activision goes Broke. THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP THIS GAME IS CRAP
  88. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    I've only played like 4 Call of Duty games and this one is just far by the worst one. All the campaign levels and multiplayer maps have the same blend of color and background usage of either sand, snow or swamp, a unoriginal feeling. The story wasn't as exciting and really felt boring after the first two levels of the game, which were pretty much the only good ones. Spec ops is really nothing special compared to the storyline, just extra missions to make you have different perspectives on the game. I had fun playing online with my friends and all but something about this game doesn't feel right compared to all the others. Expand
  89. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    This is seriously not what I had expected from Infinity Ward. Out of all of their games I'm sorry to say this is their worst. Its not bad but when you compare it to the previous Call of Duties you can see that they were more than what was expected at the time. COD fans from all around the world expected something special from MW3 thinking it would be a new start for Call of Duty but it was just another small stepping stone. The entire game didn't even seem like a COD game. The maps were dull I mean just look at the ones in Black Ops (1). MW3 took the fun out of COD. Expand
  90. Mar 2, 2013
    1
    COD MW3 was the worst thing in FPS history. The dialogue in the game makes absolutly no sense at all, the single-player will be completed in two days even on Veteran difficulty, MW3 is supposed to be set in WWIII so WWIII was only two days, I mean WWI lasted for 4 years, WWII lasted even longer for 6 years, but WWIII is only two days? WTF. Oh yeah the pointless shooting in this game is absurd, like in the first mission in NYC when you're playing as Frost, once you get out of that chopper, Im serious the exact second you come out, GODMODE is on, you're just some Terminator shooting the out off everybody, hopefully this is the last MW game. 1/10 Expand
  91. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    After playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and all the previous games in the franchise (Since 2007, as we generally do not care about the WW2- themed games before Call of Duty 4, said games having stopped being produced after the 90's), there are several concepts I am beginning to grasp. First, after playing the multiplayer for at most 2 hours per game, I am increasingly feeling that they should rename the franchise: 'Camping Simulation: Modern Tent Erecting'. If you've played for more than an hour, you'll know what I mean. This is a distinct (but not the sole reason) why the multiplayer has gradually become a mind- numbing, boring, irritating experience which generally would put anybody with an ounce of sanity off the franchise completely. Second, both Infinity Ward, Treyarch and Sludgehammer games are becoming increasingly lazy- probably because they're too busy bathing in the money they get from all their previous games and the overpriced map packs they subject the online community to- and have descended into more or less not caring in the least about how good their content actually is; the story line for single player mode was anticlimatic considering where we left off with Modern Warfare 2, the multiplayer was unplayable and 'Spec Ops' was tedious as the day is long. Third, after looking at the reality-defying sales figures considering how much of an utter travesty the game was, it is clear to me that the title 'Call of Duty' is simply associated with popularity. Get 50 million dogs to in paper bags and slap an official 'Call of Duty' sticker onto each bag and sell them in game stores and by the end of the month you'll have made hundreds of millions of dollars. The only reason people aren't doing this to get rich quick is because of Copyright and Animal Cruelty laws, but neither apply to those actually responsible for the franchise and subjecting the world to it; watch out, they might try this tactic with Modern Warfare 4. Finally, after playing the game and looking at critic reviews, it appears that game critics are either under the control of Activision, have mental issues or enjoy heavily abusing amphetamines before they make a game review. How anybody could make it past the title screen without raging about how they wasted $60, let alone playing the game for a while and concluding that it's good is totally beyond me. Now for the only two positives, as we should always leave on a good feeling!

    The only two things good about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, in my opinion, are:
    1. It made Black Ops actually look playable, which I didn't think was possible before I played Modern Warfare 3.
    2. It helped me to decide whether I should buy Black Ops 2 or Assassin's Creed 3 the next year. Having an actual functioning brain, I of course chose Assassin's Creed 3. And guess what. It was actually a pretty decent game.
    Expand
  92. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    Each new Call of Duty release has now become a truly global event as the hype machine builds towards its launch. Anyone who is a fan of the franchise will be getting exactly what they expect for their money. The campaign is as action packed as ever but even at just four hours long it became a bit of a chore to play through as it offers little that hasn’t already been seen in previous entries in the series. Other criticisms that could be levelled at any Call of Duty game, such as an over reliance on scripted events and sections with infinitely respawning enemies, also still apply here. On occasions it is easy to get wrapped up in everything that is going on but for me these instances were the exception rather than the rule.

    Online multiplayer has also changed very little aside from a few new perks. The maps themselves are however rather disappointing this time around, none of them are downright poor but none could really be considered a true classic in the same way as Crash or Overgrown from previous games. In fact there is a distinct lack of variety in the maps with none really offering the opportunity for sniping or long range combat (although some may see this as a good thing I suppose). The Special Ops missions from Modern Warfare 2 also return and provide a good selection of challenging co-op game. In the end, despite the fact that the formula is now starting to wear a little thin, it seems as though the majority of people aren’t disappointed with Modern Warfare 3 as sales yet again reached record numbers.
    Expand
  93. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This game is AMAZING! I don't know why so many people hate MW3, i mean its WAY better than BO2. There are so many game modes to try out, tons of guns and equipment, good perks death streaks, tons of kill streak rewards and much more! They even give you 3 free DLC maps (Terminal remake, 2 face off maps). The graphics are also really good. The only flaw I think it has is that about 3 of the maps are just kind of thrown in there because they got a little lazy or ran out of ideas. They all are pretty much the same being in destroyed parts of cities; But the others are good! The Spec ops mode is also really fun! There are 2 game modes that come with the game which are survival and missions. The campaign is alright but i think they could of done a lot better on it. Other than those 2 flaws this game is definitely worth buying! Expand
  94. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    Boring, repetitive, and uninspired campaign. Terrible and unbalanced multiplayer with overpowered explosive weapons. Not much different than MW2, yeah I know, but now they are asking for your money again for the same crap, and this doubles the crapness factor. This is the worst Call of Duty game ever made.
  95. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Modern Warfare 3 is a good game for the most. Its not terrible what people make it out to be and it is not the greatest Call of Duty to date. After the events of Modern Warfare 2, many fans and I expected to be a sequel since one of the main antagonists, Makorov escaped. I waited so long for this game to come out and I thought it would be better than Modern Warfare 2, however the game is good and very enjoyable to say the least but it falls a little bit short. The campaign feels much shorter than Modern Warfare 2 and the story is not as good as Modern Warfare 2. The campaign feels that it has to tell a story about how to find Makorov and kill him. Once again the main protagonists in the game are OK, but Modern Warfare 3 doesn't add anything to these characters. I found it very sad that Soap or some character that you played as in Modern Warfare 2 dies during the campaign that made me very upset. Even though the campaign is not as good as Modern Warfare 2, it still manages to fun and pretty good. Last the Multiplayer in Modern Warfare 3 is good and bad. The good is it feels faster, there are some new perks that come in handy, some new weapons like the dreaded Type 95, and the way you get killstreaks is a lot better. The bad is the maps are terrible, most of the killstreaks from Modern Warfare 2 are in Modern Warfare 3, and feels very dull and repetitive. With Modern Warfare 3 not living up to the hype and Modern Warfare 2 does it deserve such a horrible rating? I don't think so. The Multiplayer at the time was one of the better shooters out there, and seeing other crappy shooters, I would play this game all day and get throwing knifed in the face than play those crappy shooters. The game is fun, if you enjoy Call of Duty you will like this game. Expand
  96. Feb 12, 2013
    6
    I'm basing this score on buying this game for around twenty dollars and the percieved value of enjoyment I got out of this. I learned awhile ago not to buy these shooter games for the full $60 because I found out that I really don't enjoy playing multiplayer. So this score is also reflected mainly on the single player experience. Ahem....That was incredibly short even for a Modern Warfare game. The final game to what turned out to be an over-the-top storyline trilogy was over before it even began. It didn't even take me four hours. I still run around like a chicken with my head cut off getting barked at for going the wrong way, or taking my time taking out a tank, or whatever,...and its still a fun first person shooter. Lots of increadible destruction graphics, struggling to get out of debris or from falling from dizzying heights. Again, the story line is over the top and doesn't make much sense or have any realism to it, but it is interesting as any Darkhorse comic out there that ask us to suspend disbelief. Fun game and worth it for twenty dollars, no more, but still could have fleshed out the storyline and should have made it a bit longer than 3 and a half hours. Expand
  97. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    dis da best gaem 12evr. im so mlg pro noscopezZz in dis gaem. lol 2 all da **** sayin dis gaem suk dik, i fuked ur mom last nite. u guize suk. anywayz, liek i wuz sayin, dis gaem iz da best. i got mah mlg frendz wit meh and we 360 yy ladder stall noscope across da map headshot quad. evrybody r n00bz, **** **** scrubz. 1v1 me bro, gt: **** bf3 suk dik cumpared 2 dis. 9999/10 goty
  98. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    This game. This one game is the game that shows me that video games are dieing. There is nothing new in this game, its just an addon to mw 1 who was original. it annoys me a game could be so repetetive and loose sight of what should be the greatest game. The fact is this is little more than an expansion pack. Say what you want about the war Z and medal of honor warfighter. At least they tried to change at least a single mechanic. There is nothing reddeeming about modern borfare 3 to me. Expand
  99. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    Arguably everything thats wrong with the series, MW3 came out when the opposition were crying out "same game every year", and what did we get as a defense....the same game as MW2 and CoD4.

    It stubbornly refused to change the multiplayer, keeping flaws from MW2 and not learning lessons from Black Ops.

    It kept the blandness of the repetition, without realising that fun can be in the
    other games at times.

    Had the lawsuits never happened, this might have been a different story, of a game with changes akin from CoD4 to MW2, but well never know. Everyone suffered by getting this instead. MW4 may be different this year, but its got a tough act to follow now that Black Ops 2 actually did some change to the series
    Expand
  100. Jan 8, 2013
    3
    Another Call of Duty another clone from last year.The single player campaign is a joke lasting only 6-7 hours and having a very generic story. The friendly AI is extremely brain dead they might as well not exist as they don't do anything except get in your way.The enemy AI isn't any better, usually suicide charging you or not shooting at all.You have all the same vehicle sections from past games in this one to ac-130,chopper,gun turret ect. The voice acting is average, there aren't really any characters in the game you'll like or care for as there all bland and uninteresting plus the game doesn't tell you anything about them anyway. Now onto the catastrophe that is multiplayer god where to start...oh i know just look at Modern Warfare 2 and there you go, it's the exact same broken multiplayer from that game.The matchmaking still joins you up with matches that are one second from finishing,the spawn system is still broken making you spawn in front of enemy players. The list goes on, Don't buy this game. Expand
  101. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game.

    Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new
    maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else , maybe buy an indi game. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. The game is simply a cash in , pure and simple. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.