User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 526 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 526

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Takes the same great formula for gameplay from cod4, and uses the same great multiplayer. The campaign is also great following two fronts of the war that were not focused on by other ww2 games. It creates and gore filled horror of war that is not seen in any other cod, and creates a visual of a hellish experience. It took the modern eleiments from cod4 and put it into a ww2 game withTakes the same great formula for gameplay from cod4, and uses the same great multiplayer. The campaign is also great following two fronts of the war that were not focused on by other ww2 games. It creates and gore filled horror of war that is not seen in any other cod, and creates a visual of a hellish experience. It took the modern eleiments from cod4 and put it into a ww2 game with little troubles. It is taking from another formula, but the formula is still almost perfect for this style of game so I don't criticize Treyarch much for this. A great experience all around Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    This game for me,is easily the best in the series of Call of Duty.I've always rated Treyarch over the overated 'Inferior' Ward.Though Black Ops was a big dissappointment for me,World at War is Treyarch at their best.Great variety of locations in the campaign,& VERY glad to finally see Campaign Co-Op in a Call of Duty game! & not just 2 player,but 4 Players at that! Not to mention ZombieThis game for me,is easily the best in the series of Call of Duty.I've always rated Treyarch over the overated 'Inferior' Ward.Though Black Ops was a big dissappointment for me,World at War is Treyarch at their best.Great variety of locations in the campaign,& VERY glad to finally see Campaign Co-Op in a Call of Duty game! & not just 2 player,but 4 Players at that! Not to mention Zombie Mode.Its even my favourate multiplayer in all the CoD series,actually having vehicles.I know CoD 3 also had vehicles(another Treyarch CoD),but it so much better implemented in World at War,with having to wear down & destroy tanks armour for instance.What else can i say,but Great Game! More Campaign Co-Op in Call of Duty though please.after all,these are 'Squad' games,with storys of Comradary.In fact,if i'm to buy any more CoD games in future,that is the MINIMUM requirment,or No sale! Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    By far one of my top favorite Call of Duty games, and the best World War 2 game I've played yet. The campaign is what did it for me, the fist five minutes of the game, I was in awe of the epic game play, and battlefield that I was playing in.
  4. JustinC.
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    The online beta is the only thing out for CoD:WW as I'm typing this, but it is pretty impressing. Although it's the same old thing as CoD:4 but WW2, it still reamains good. The Perks are still there, with some of your old favorites ( Matyrdom, Juggernaut ) and even Perks for the Tanks. This game looks to be good multiplayer wise, and if they can pull of the Single Player The online beta is the only thing out for CoD:WW as I'm typing this, but it is pretty impressing. Although it's the same old thing as CoD:4 but WW2, it still reamains good. The Perks are still there, with some of your old favorites ( Matyrdom, Juggernaut ) and even Perks for the Tanks. This game looks to be good multiplayer wise, and if they can pull of the Single Player Campaign, then this game is sure to be a hit, just like CoD4 Expand
  5. DavidA.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    As a huge fan of COD4 multiplayer I can say that I enjoy COD WAW even better. The gameplay is a lot more interesting with the tanks. There is not one map that is worth skipping. The game lends itself to more strategy and teamwork with more hiding spots, more interesting terrain, and better respawn points that put you right in the action rather than on the other side of the map. I give As a huge fan of COD4 multiplayer I can say that I enjoy COD WAW even better. The gameplay is a lot more interesting with the tanks. There is not one map that is worth skipping. The game lends itself to more strategy and teamwork with more hiding spots, more interesting terrain, and better respawn points that put you right in the action rather than on the other side of the map. I give this one a 10 All the way. Expand
  6. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    There has been a lot of rubbish written about this game, mainly by reviewers with hidden agendas or little brats who often wee their pants and cry for mummy (The hamster a prime example). The fact is this is really COD4.5, a slight improvement but a better game for it. Single player is intense, especially the night forest section which I found very authentic. But it lacks the adrenaline There has been a lot of rubbish written about this game, mainly by reviewers with hidden agendas or little brats who often wee their pants and cry for mummy (The hamster a prime example). The fact is this is really COD4.5, a slight improvement but a better game for it. Single player is intense, especially the night forest section which I found very authentic. But it lacks the adrenaline rush of COD4 set-pieces, but thankfully WOW hasn't any racist/xenophobic undertones to it, which instantly makes this better than 4. The real gameplay as in all COD is in the multi-player, which again is very familiar but still very badass! Dogs, custom weapon sets, and now there's tanks too so what more do you want? Also WOW is bloodier, grittier, and is designed well enough to force players to use strategy in warfare rather than camp out in black spots constantly like in 4. Add Nazi zombies after clocking the game, WOW is a very, very good game, just not a radically different one. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was great! It was my first CoD so i may be a bit biased but people need to stop comparing CoD 4 to every other Cod game. Cod 4 was great during its time period but other games have moved on and stepped up so we can't judge the next versions by it.
    Besides all that i commend Treyarch for going back to WW2 as many FPS these days tend to stray away from that area. I felt
    I thought this game was great! It was my first CoD so i may be a bit biased but people need to stop comparing CoD 4 to every other Cod game. Cod 4 was great during its time period but other games have moved on and stepped up so we can't judge the next versions by it.
    Besides all that i commend Treyarch for going back to WW2 as many FPS these days tend to stray away from that area. I felt that Zombies was a brilliant feature and one which has gone on to become on the most popular features of CoD. Of course the game wasn't perfect and there were some glitches and perhaps some gun and perk balancing issues (MP40, Juggernaut) but on the whole it's a fun game to play. And if you can find an un-modded lobby you should have some fun in the tanks and just playing in general.
    Expand
  8. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 5
    Characters: 4
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 6
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 7.5/10 = B
  9. May 26, 2012
    10
    Call of Duty World at War is my second favorite FPS of all time. In first place? Call of Duty 3. Lately, most of the CoD games that have come out have been absolutely terrible. It seems that the series died with the horrible Modern Warfare 2, arguably the worst FPS in the past ten years with only Modern Warfare 3 to compete with that title. World at War delivers an intense, realistic WWIICall of Duty World at War is my second favorite FPS of all time. In first place? Call of Duty 3. Lately, most of the CoD games that have come out have been absolutely terrible. It seems that the series died with the horrible Modern Warfare 2, arguably the worst FPS in the past ten years with only Modern Warfare 3 to compete with that title. World at War delivers an intense, realistic WWII campaign through the eyes of the brave yet insane Soviet Red Army and through the patriotic eyes of the US Marines. The multiplayer is balanced (all except for the MP40) and is now riddled with modders, yet it is still enjoyable. The zombies easter egg is also a fun bonus, and the game was all around a fun way to spend an hour or two at night. Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Great Game like Black Ops but better. this game is a must have. It even has Zombie mode. And Multiplayer with Xbox Live. The price is even really great for the game.
  11. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    By far my favorite Call of Duty game. The maps are wonderfully set up, the variety of weapons is great and kill streaks are set at great increments. MW2 and BO get me extremely aggravated due to camping and not having near as good of maps. The story isn't anything fantastic, but no one gets these for the story. I get the new Call of Duty every year and World at War is the only one I end upBy far my favorite Call of Duty game. The maps are wonderfully set up, the variety of weapons is great and kill streaks are set at great increments. MW2 and BO get me extremely aggravated due to camping and not having near as good of maps. The story isn't anything fantastic, but no one gets these for the story. I get the new Call of Duty every year and World at War is the only one I end up keeping and going back to time and time again. Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome in many ways. Yes, it may be away from the game Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, but this video game is one of the best WWII video games ever!!
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Call of Duty is going back to World War 2 with this game and it makes a memorable return, the campaign is short but tons of fun and challenging on the harder difficulties, the graphics are great and still impressive today, the controls haven't changed from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare because they don't need to, they are still one of the best controls out there, voice work is top notch,Call of Duty is going back to World War 2 with this game and it makes a memorable return, the campaign is short but tons of fun and challenging on the harder difficulties, the graphics are great and still impressive today, the controls haven't changed from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare because they don't need to, they are still one of the best controls out there, voice work is top notch, and multiplayer is just as good if not slightly better than Call of Duty 4, this one of the best games in the series and I would highly recomend it to any fan of the series Expand
  14. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    To a lot of people this may not be the best Call of Duty, but to me it is definitely one of the best. The campaign is fun, especially playing co op mode with friends. The best thing about this game though is definitely the zombie mode. The maps are great, with an amazing layout. Definitely better than the black ops zombie mode. This is a game worth getting.
  15. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Let's put it this way: i felt like crying when this game was killed by hackers. By far it was the best Call of Duty game, and you know what? Haters gawn' hate.
  16. GB
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    I am confused by the negative reaction from some MW fans - I liked the single-player campaign only slightly less than MW's (i.e. a LOT). I think that it does the right thing by mainly sticking to the core gameplay that COD can do well: gradually battling point-by-point through fierce resistance, taking cover and looking for advantageous positions. For me, MW2 has too many distracting I am confused by the negative reaction from some MW fans - I liked the single-player campaign only slightly less than MW's (i.e. a LOT). I think that it does the right thing by mainly sticking to the core gameplay that COD can do well: gradually battling point-by-point through fierce resistance, taking cover and looking for advantageous positions. For me, MW2 has too many distracting novelties and not enough of the good stuff. I think Treyarch made a good call, though most of the online opinion seems to the contrary. Rolling about in a cumbersome tank is alright for five minutes but it's not a quality tank sim; it's just garnish. If I'd have to go white-water rafting as well, like at the end of MW2 I'd only have scored it an 8. Also, the guns are balanced so the PPSh-41 is just as satisfying to use as the P90. And the flamethrower rocks. Come on people. Expand
  17. JiriS.
    Oct 12, 2008
    8
    Even though the game is made by Treyarch and not Infinity Ward as the previous CoD,it still knows how bring WWII to your room. Game looks pretty and it haven't change a lot since Treyarch CoD 3. If you liked it you're going to like this one also.People who have played CoD 4 won't be so excited about this but should buy it to spent some time before CoD 6.
  18. DamianF
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    I can't believe how many negative comments are on here- have we been playing the same game? I absolutely LOVE COD4, and was a little apprehensive buying this, preparing myself for disappointment, but after less than five minutes all my initial reservations dissipated completely. This game KICKS arse!! Much more brutal than Modern Warfare, and with the best lighting effects I've I can't believe how many negative comments are on here- have we been playing the same game? I absolutely LOVE COD4, and was a little apprehensive buying this, preparing myself for disappointment, but after less than five minutes all my initial reservations dissipated completely. This game KICKS arse!! Much more brutal than Modern Warfare, and with the best lighting effects I've seen in a game so far (particularly on the first mission). BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  19. BryceR.
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    This personally is a great FPS game. The settings, graphics, weapons, gameplay are all awesome. The campaign is good and the multiplayer online is fast and fun. Nazi zombies is such a fun game to play with all your mates over! Yes this and CoD 4 are pretty much exactly the same but they are totally different in a way. Totally different maps a different story line and plus nazi zombies in This personally is a great FPS game. The settings, graphics, weapons, gameplay are all awesome. The campaign is good and the multiplayer online is fast and fun. Nazi zombies is such a fun game to play with all your mates over! Yes this and CoD 4 are pretty much exactly the same but they are totally different in a way. Totally different maps a different story line and plus nazi zombies in CoD 5 is something to look forward to after completing the campaign. Overall i loved it! Expand
  20. CombatWombat
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to lie and say this is the best game ever but it's far better than MW which I was bored with after reaching level 10 or 11 online. I always found that MW was too focused on fast-paced action which was down more to reaction time than skill whereas WAW has guns that require something called accuracy. Another bonus is killing people who think they can play in the same I'm not going to lie and say this is the best game ever but it's far better than MW which I was bored with after reaching level 10 or 11 online. I always found that MW was too focused on fast-paced action which was down more to reaction time than skill whereas WAW has guns that require something called accuracy. Another bonus is killing people who think they can play in the same way as MW and are drastically wrong. Expand
  21. ShayL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    This game stands out! Yes its ww2, yes it has some of the same things Call of Duty 4 ! "even the same engine", yes the campaign is short. BUT it
  22. DonK.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Its a good game and all, pretty solid but not up to par with COD4. The tanks add some new flavor, but none of the things that needed changing from previous COD games got fixed. Its worth getting just for a new spin on killing people.
  23. ChrisM
    Dec 15, 2008
    8
    Trust me when I say.... I hate Treyarch! Every time Infinity ward create a flawless success, treyarch piggyback the success, make a horrible game and install doubt in the minds of all call of duty fans. So this review came after a lot of thought.... Trey arch finally made a good game.... quite good. Sure it lacks the polish of an Infinity ward installment and sure it rehashes on old Trust me when I say.... I hate Treyarch! Every time Infinity ward create a flawless success, treyarch piggyback the success, make a horrible game and install doubt in the minds of all call of duty fans. So this review came after a lot of thought.... Trey arch finally made a good game.... quite good. Sure it lacks the polish of an Infinity ward installment and sure it rehashes on old ground (WW2) but it does it right this time. Alot of fun, technically impressive and ferocious audio make for one of this years best titles. (PS. Change the lo-cal next time treyarch.... no more WW2. now it really has been done to death). Expand
  24. DanaR
    Dec 29, 2008
    8
    Pacific missions were great but found the russian missions were very similar to Enemy at the gates story line....anyone think the developers just ripped off this story line rather than come up with an original idea themselves! Flamethrower is great fun though!
  25. NexiousP.
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to all the people crying about how Infinity Ward didn't make this game and that Treyarch didn't add anything. First off, most of them are comparing this game to COD 3.. which makes they think they haven't even played the game. It runs on the COD4 engine and doesn't look anything like COD3. The graphics are improved over COD4 and Treyarch has added a Don't listen to all the people crying about how Infinity Ward didn't make this game and that Treyarch didn't add anything. First off, most of them are comparing this game to COD 3.. which makes they think they haven't even played the game. It runs on the COD4 engine and doesn't look anything like COD3. The graphics are improved over COD4 and Treyarch has added a lot of little changes. Like the ability to revive a teammate in MP. The solo campaign is great and in my opinion better than COD4 (which I loved). Who gets tired of killing Nazis? Bottom line... buy this game. If you liked COD4, if you like FPS than you will like this game. Expand
  26. LorenzoC
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Call of Duty world at War is the best Second World War Play, it have a very intresting and concern campaign with the new japanese front, it's very intresting the possibility of do the cooperative campaign online and offline, the local multiplayer is fun, the multiplayer on internet is one of the best multiplayer in all game, because there aren't many connesion problems, there areCall of Duty world at War is the best Second World War Play, it have a very intresting and concern campaign with the new japanese front, it's very intresting the possibility of do the cooperative campaign online and offline, the local multiplayer is fun, the multiplayer on internet is one of the best multiplayer in all game, because there aren't many connesion problems, there are many maps and arms (is very fun you can add at the arms many bonus and improvements) and the last map pack can position Cod WaW in the top of multiplayer games. The grafic is the best of all war games, the possibility of have damage product by explosion and army in the body is very realistic, other than damage also the arm and maps grafic are good, i hope treyarch in the future game add the destroiable ground in all the maps. I think also have a good succes nazi zombies, with also two ggod
    map packs and new obiectives. So i think Call of Duty 5 can have more than 90 %.
    Expand
  27. AustinM
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    This game was great, I'd say this game isn't worth more than $40 bucks though, which is the price i payed for it. I really have never seen a WWII game this intense, all the previous Call of Duty's never got it right I thought, this one got the violence and intensity down. The graphics are quite impressive, and very little glicthing every occured. The sounds in this game This game was great, I'd say this game isn't worth more than $40 bucks though, which is the price i payed for it. I really have never seen a WWII game this intense, all the previous Call of Duty's never got it right I thought, this one got the violence and intensity down. The graphics are quite impressive, and very little glicthing every occured. The sounds in this game could be better, but still good. Better than Big Red One's gun sounds. The Length isn't great either, but has good replay value, four difficulties, co-op mode, and Nazi Zombies. Which makes up for the short 6-8 hour campaign. There's a lot of weapons in this game, and the flamethrower is a great edition. This game is great fun, some annoying things though are the grenades, you'll get killed by them more than half the time, and everytime I see one I have to run for my life, or take the risk of throwing it back. The grenades in Call of Duty 3, weren't dangerous at all, even on Hard. The A.I. are actually quite useful, they kill guys, and don't get in your way as much as previous Call of Duty's. I recommend this game, and it's a blast to play with buddies, and don't let the negatives change your mind about it. But Modern Warfare 2 is going to come out and everyone will be over this one, but this will satisfy your Call of Duty hunger until then. There's also a graphic content filter, I played with the graphic content off, and they blur the graphic stuff in the cutscenes, take out all of the language, and take away the blood completely, so this is an okay game for your kids to play as long as you leave off the graphic stuff. Expand
  28. KyleM.
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    Call Of Duty 4 was considered perfect: World at War took Moden Warfare's few flaws and fixed them, as well as delving deeper into techincal aspects such as sound. Despite a campaign that can be frustrating, World at War is the best Call of Duty to date.
  29. chrish.
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best first person shooters of all time. Call of Duty 4 had better gameplay and graphics, but the WW2 game is a more interesting play for me. i cant wait for Call of Duty 6
  30. DanB.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    Treyarch knocked it out of the park with this one, despite all the naysayers, giving us a game that stands up with the best of Infinity Ward's efforts. This is the best WW2 shooter to date!
  31. BrennanC.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    So far I think the game is great, I just wish they had moved forward from CoD4 Modern Warfare, instead of backward to WWII... I give it a 10 because I think it's a lot better than Grand Theft Auto IV, even though I don't think GTA IV deserved a 10.
  32. retardJackson
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I loved this game from the moment I started playing when I saw the guys throat get cut, to all the action pact mission, sniping. It was great. I recommend this game to anyone who loves fps. amazing graphics. I also love how its similar to the other call of duty's. Big fan of this game.
  33. ScottP
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    Don't let all these people fool you, this game is good. The main complaints that people seem to have about the game is that it is very similar to last year's game. This is somewhat true, but what they don't realize is that it is different, in all the right ways. The storyline, although not as epic, does pull on your emotional side giving you the feeling of actually being a Don't let all these people fool you, this game is good. The main complaints that people seem to have about the game is that it is very similar to last year's game. This is somewhat true, but what they don't realize is that it is different, in all the right ways. The storyline, although not as epic, does pull on your emotional side giving you the feeling of actually being a part of this war. CoD4 gave a more separated feeling, but not in a bad way. The game does go back to WW2, but pulls off the best WW2 experience to date. Another complaint is that the multiplayer is worse than last year. People, you have to realize that when CoD4 came out, all of these same issues were being flamed in the forums. Give it some time, the game will be patched and all of your multiplayer woes will be at an end. So, ignore the CoD4 fanboys and go out and pick this one up. The multiplayer is better than CoD4 (minus a few bugs that WILL be fixed) and new perks and achievements in game help make this one hell of a shooter. This is a great xmas present for the FPS fan on your list! Expand
  34. SpencerM.
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    Call of duty world at war is a very good game it has great graphics and wonderfull detail. but i think that treyarch should have put 4-6 more months into it by fixing glitchs (like the all known glitch on castle to get underground) i personally love the game but i think that infinity ward should have sent some of their people over there and helped them out it would of helped them both. Call of duty world at war is a very good game it has great graphics and wonderfull detail. but i think that treyarch should have put 4-6 more months into it by fixing glitchs (like the all known glitch on castle to get underground) i personally love the game but i think that infinity ward should have sent some of their people over there and helped them out it would of helped them both. another thing that really makes me mad is the fact that IT TAKES MORE BULLETS TO KILL A DOG THAN A PERSON ONLINE it should be easier to kill a dog than kill a person.....besides everything that i have said above its a very good game i look forward to playing it when i get home everyday. if they could just make a patch here and there it would be perfect (more maps and more guns Treyarch). Expand
  35. TrevorG.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Game is awesome. Don't listen to all the nay sayers. The story is great, I'd say the single player is just as good if not better than COD 4. And multiplayer kicks a$$. The dogs are greats and the shells are better than air strikes. If you liked COD4 or FPS at all you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. "use the story of End War and the graphics and online game play on COD4 Game is awesome. Don't listen to all the nay sayers. The story is great, I'd say the single player is just as good if not better than COD 4. And multiplayer kicks a$$. The dogs are greats and the shells are better than air strikes. If you liked COD4 or FPS at all you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. "use the story of End War and the graphics and online game play on COD4 and make a COD5 or 6(whatever you call it) Call of Duty: World War 3" And a note to the guy who wrote the above...you don't know what you're talking about. The story from Endwar? That story sucked. P.s. Learn to spell. P.s.s. The tanks in COD5 aren't that hard to kill. It's pretty balanced against the bazookas and charges. Expand
  36. [anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    The best single player campeign in the entire francize, really good sound and graphics like all the others, and Nazi Zombies is the best DLC ever. FYI I haven't played any multiplayer.
  37. JonK
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    Absolutely unbelievable game that grabs the gamer by the throat and doesn't let go until the Russian Flag is flying! I haven;t had this much fun with a game in a long time. I thought CoD4 was a masterpiece but my 'heart' has always belonged to WW2 and this game excels at bringing the gamer the sights and sounds of it convincingly! From the Japs shooting from tree tops, to Absolutely unbelievable game that grabs the gamer by the throat and doesn't let go until the Russian Flag is flying! I haven;t had this much fun with a game in a long time. I thought CoD4 was a masterpiece but my 'heart' has always belonged to WW2 and this game excels at bringing the gamer the sights and sounds of it convincingly! From the Japs shooting from tree tops, to them hiding in the grass preparing a BANZAI charge, this game has it all. Of note is the unbelievable Flamethrower effect that is stunning to look at! I was a little afraid when I heard that Treyarch was going to do this game. Only because of the HUGE SHOES that would need to be filled from Infinity Wards CoD. But Treyarch handled it and did it quite convincingly. Again, a great game that will have you playing it again, and again. Expand
  38. GarryL
    May 11, 2009
    9
    I have played every Call of Duty and plenty of FPS games, and regarding World at War I would have to agree with the critics as opposed to the user rating. I believe it has a solid single-player campaign, COD games usually lack a story but the action more than makes up for it. The graphics and effects are excellent, and the multi-player and co-op modes add a large amount of replay value. I have played every Call of Duty and plenty of FPS games, and regarding World at War I would have to agree with the critics as opposed to the user rating. I believe it has a solid single-player campaign, COD games usually lack a story but the action more than makes up for it. The graphics and effects are excellent, and the multi-player and co-op modes add a large amount of replay value. COD4 was also great, but the degree of low expectations by COD4 fans is not very fair, it seems many people refused to give World at War an unbiased review, in the same fashion as a xbox360 fan would give killzone 2 flak for no reason. There were glitches at launch and the campaign is frustrating at a few points. Give this game a chance, it's pretty fun. Expand
  39. SpencerH.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    For the limited time that I played this game I was VERY impressed. Although the multiplayer is very similar to Call of Duty 4, there were some instance where I felt the awesomeness of being back in WWII.
  40. MannyD.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game rocks! Treyarch totally redeemed itself with game. WWII never looked so good. I'm hooked on the zombie level. Multiplayer is awesome! Release the hounds!!!
  41. JoeP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Great game, as good as i thought itd be after cod4. The only people hating the game lack the skill to play so they run back to cod4 so they can spray and throw random grenades all they want again.
  42. EirikX.
    Dec 16, 2008
    9
    I never played Call of Duty 4, and I love this game. Multiplayer is a lot of fun and very addicting. It's funny. Some CoD4 players say they think this game is too much like Modern Warfare. I thought CoD4 was too much like CoD2, so that's why I didn't buy it. I guess People like to skip a CoD or two before moving on in the series.
  43. JakeS
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I very much believe that Treyarch borrowed heavily from Call of Duty 4, but why mess with near-perfection? Would you have rather had Treyarch construct a completely new and different experience, at the chance of sure failure due to the flawlessness of its predecessor? Personally, I think they made a wise decision in implementing the CoD 4 multiplayer, using the same engine, and basically I very much believe that Treyarch borrowed heavily from Call of Duty 4, but why mess with near-perfection? Would you have rather had Treyarch construct a completely new and different experience, at the chance of sure failure due to the flawlessness of its predecessor? Personally, I think they made a wise decision in implementing the CoD 4 multiplayer, using the same engine, and basically throwing a WWII paint job ontop of it. I can honestly say this game kept me engaged for a YEAR. Yes, I bought this game and didn't buy another game until Modern Warfare 2 came out, so if you are a WWII aficiando BUY THIS GAME. Even though the campaign is mostly awful save for a few interesting levels, like Vendetta and the Tank levels, you WILL love the Nazi Zombie and Multiplayer for much time to come. Treyarch added a huge amount of DLC (for a price, of course) that will keep you in it for a while! Expand
  44. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    This game is simply brilliant. The campaign is the best of the series, Modern Warfare included. Why? Because even though it's not it's own original story it tells the story of world war 2 brilliantly through great cutscenes and in game dialog. The characters are fleshed, and the voice acting and guns feel very authentic. Mission design is incredible, the Japanese missions are brilliant,This game is simply brilliant. The campaign is the best of the series, Modern Warfare included. Why? Because even though it's not it's own original story it tells the story of world war 2 brilliantly through great cutscenes and in game dialog. The characters are fleshed, and the voice acting and guns feel very authentic. Mission design is incredible, the Japanese missions are brilliant, with me feeling as if these people were really willing this much to die for their country. Gameplay is funner than MW and MW2, and Nazi Zombies is a fun way to kick back and reward you after beating the game. The final Russian missions are also brilliant. Expand
  45. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    Treyarch are right on the money (if Activision aren't already on it anyway!) as this is a great installment to the CoD series and Treyarch can pat themselves on the back after a job very well done...The campaign portrays war in its true state: desperate, scary and gruesome and this is such a great part and experience and we really hope we can expect more campaigns of this nature in futureTreyarch are right on the money (if Activision aren't already on it anyway!) as this is a great installment to the CoD series and Treyarch can pat themselves on the back after a job very well done...The campaign portrays war in its true state: desperate, scary and gruesome and this is such a great part and experience and we really hope we can expect more campaigns of this nature in future games by Treyarch such as this year's Black Ops... The online has picked up on the CoD series' weaknesses. Small maps and no vehicles in previous games could sometimes leave gamers wanting more! Never fear, maps like "Seelow" are large and tanks are bound to shake up the game a bit! Finally, zombies - A great part of the game and we really do look forward to seeing them return in Black Ops! Expand
  46. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Just picked this up again after years of modern shooters. I forgot how much I enjoyed the WW2 setting and guns. Even after all this time, it is still an amazing shooter. And who don't love popping Nazi zombie heads.
  47. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    great game but the multiplayer is full of hackers and people flying around with unlimited health so dont get this game for the multipIayer. I cant describe the single player as i havent played it through. The best part of the game is the zombies,you play through waves defeating zombies that come through baricades,unfortunately if you want more zombie maps you have to buy them from the xboxgreat game but the multiplayer is full of hackers and people flying around with unlimited health so dont get this game for the multipIayer. I cant describe the single player as i havent played it through. The best part of the game is the zombies,you play through waves defeating zombies that come through baricades,unfortunately if you want more zombie maps you have to buy them from the xbox live marketplace but overall great graphics and great gameplay! Used to be a great game before it got taken over by hackers, would be good if treyarch got rid of them. Expand
  48. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of the Call of Duty franchise. It all went downhill from there. Honestly, I enjoyed the crap out of this game and still do now 5 years later. It makes me feel old.
  49. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Second best Cod game ever(slightley beaten by cod 4 mw1) Campaigns great, mulitplayers epic and zombie is awesome. Cods suck now a days but the good ones will never be forgotten. Call of Duty: World at War 9.3/10
  50. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    This was my first call of duty game, and I definitely enjoyed it, the maps were great, the connection wasn't too bad, and the general feel of it was good, and made the game very enjoyable, the game was later ruined by hackers however, and I blame Treyarch for not fixing these errors as multiplayer lobbies are still full of hackers who cannot die. The singleplayer wasn't too bad either, youThis was my first call of duty game, and I definitely enjoyed it, the maps were great, the connection wasn't too bad, and the general feel of it was good, and made the game very enjoyable, the game was later ruined by hackers however, and I blame Treyarch for not fixing these errors as multiplayer lobbies are still full of hackers who cannot die. The singleplayer wasn't too bad either, you took your place in the war, but that's all it felt like really, you were just a soldier, no real significance. Expand
  51. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    My favourite Call of Duty game. The simplicity of CoD4 plus the awesome maps and WW2 atmosphere makes for a very, very fun MP game. It may not be addictive as, say, MW2, but the fun factor more than makes up for that.
  52. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    World at War is definitely my favorite Call of Duty game. The multiplayer maps are varied and unique, and the same can be said for the guns. While the MP40 holds an advantage over the other guns because it is the easiest to use effectively, a skilled player can do well using almost any weapon they like. World at War is currently the only Call of Duty game with a co-op campaign, which makesWorld at War is definitely my favorite Call of Duty game. The multiplayer maps are varied and unique, and the same can be said for the guns. While the MP40 holds an advantage over the other guns because it is the easiest to use effectively, a skilled player can do well using almost any weapon they like. World at War is currently the only Call of Duty game with a co-op campaign, which makes the already exciting missions even more enjoyable if you play them with a friend. Zombies is also fun, although it is a little simpler in World at War than in Black Ops. If you like Call of Duty but feel like the recent installments have grown stale, try World at War. It's the most unique, and also one of the very best (if not THE best). Expand
  53. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The game may tread too deep into some decidedly grim territory at times, but "Call Of Duty: World At War" still makes for an impactful WWII shooter with some awesome gameplay additions to the franchise.
  54. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Call of Duty World at War is probably my favorite in the Call of Duty series (tied with Call of Duty 2) as I prefer the WW2 setting to the other settings the games have taken place in, World at War features a decent campaign which will last about 4-6 hours, but the real meat of the game comes from it's multiplayer which can give a lot of fun and replay value, It has some balancing issuesCall of Duty World at War is probably my favorite in the Call of Duty series (tied with Call of Duty 2) as I prefer the WW2 setting to the other settings the games have taken place in, World at War features a decent campaign which will last about 4-6 hours, but the real meat of the game comes from it's multiplayer which can give a lot of fun and replay value, It has some balancing issues and some of the maps are too big leading to times when you can't find enemies but overall these issues are not as bad of issues as some of the more recent Call of Duty games have had, I'm not sure if people still play World at War online anymore but if they do then I consider this one of the better Call of Duty games, more recent games have lost there appeal due to the annual releases in my opinion, But this was one of the last call of duty games I played and it's a good game, with solid single player campaign, fun multiplayer and the awesome co-op zombies survival mode, Whether you play alone or with a group of friends, this game can give you hours and hours of fun. Expand
  55. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I adore this game because it introduced zombies in which Created the COD series even futher, but really Blops 1 and 2 where mistakes. Amazing game and always will be, and always will be Mw3, Blops 1 and 2.
  56. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    While WW2 games are a dime a dozen on the original Xbox and Xbox 360, this game is really good. The single player game is fairly long and you play as several different soldiers in different armies. The multiplayer was really good. Maps are small, but fun. Zombies is one of the best features of this game. I actually prefer this zombies mode to the later versions because it is simplerWhile WW2 games are a dime a dozen on the original Xbox and Xbox 360, this game is really good. The single player game is fairly long and you play as several different soldiers in different armies. The multiplayer was really good. Maps are small, but fun. Zombies is one of the best features of this game. I actually prefer this zombies mode to the later versions because it is simpler and easier to play. The later zombie modes in Black Ops 1 and 2 become overly complex and too gimmicky with all the different power ups. Expand
  57. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Wow...this game is brutal. It literally opens with a guy getting a cigarette rammed in his eye then having his throat slit spraying blood everywhere.
    I think that this game gets dark and gritty much better than the more recent Cod games (Which is ironic considering who makes them). Whilst the two campaigns (Russian and American) aren't that long they are still enjoyable. Also most of the
    Wow...this game is brutal. It literally opens with a guy getting a cigarette rammed in his eye then having his throat slit spraying blood everywhere.
    I think that this game gets dark and gritty much better than the more recent Cod games (Which is ironic considering who makes them). Whilst the two campaigns (Russian and American) aren't that long they are still enjoyable. Also most of the performances are really good most of the time.
    The multiplayer is enjoyable but hackers run rampant so that sucks.
    Also this game introduces Zombies which I'm glad for because it is brilliant.
    So yes I definitely recommend this game.
    Expand
  58. May 26, 2013
    9
    Treyarch might be one of my favorite game company for this. This is the most bloody, exciting, and explosive Call of Duty since Finest Hour and Medal of Honor! Its just to bad this is the last WWII CoD in the franchise.
  59. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I give this a 10 because to me, it's right under CoD 4. It went back to the roots of where Call of Duty started. WWII. To me, the campaign was not boring it was action packed and a lot of fun because at the end you unlocked the zombies. Now to the zombies. First map was fun for what it was. 2nd map I didn't like because I was bad at it. 3rd map loved the swam because there was what? 4I give this a 10 because to me, it's right under CoD 4. It went back to the roots of where Call of Duty started. WWII. To me, the campaign was not boring it was action packed and a lot of fun because at the end you unlocked the zombies. Now to the zombies. First map was fun for what it was. 2nd map I didn't like because I was bad at it. 3rd map loved the swam because there was what? 4 paths to choose, and finally we Der Riese. The best zombies map until this very day. That's what draw us towards the characters you saw in Black Ops as well. I know we saw them in Shi no numa, but I think they had better lines in Der Riese. I'm sure all of us had a favorite. My was Nikolai and the doctor. Der Riese introduced the monkey bombs and the pack-a-punch. You had to connect the teleporters to the main frame to get it. I just love this game. A lot of people don't like this game or the multiplayer. The multiplayer of course was awesome to me. The maps were fine as is. Some of the dlc maps were a little too much or too little, but the gameplay made up for it. I really enjoyed this game and I still play it till this day even though it's hacked and stuff, but when you get into a "good" lobby, it's a lot of fun. Expand
  60. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Campaign is really good. I love playin Coop. I love this game. This game, Modernwarfare2 and Modernwarfare are the only ones that I've played that aren't copy cats.
  61. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic. It is by far the best Call of Duty game. The multiplayer is as balanced and fair as any other CoD game, besides MW2 (MW2 didn't have balanced Multiplayer). The campaign is a very detailed and gritty representation of the actual events of world war 2. Another great part of the campaign is the expendable friendly A.I, as any generic Private Joe Average can be gunnedThis game is fantastic. It is by far the best Call of Duty game. The multiplayer is as balanced and fair as any other CoD game, besides MW2 (MW2 didn't have balanced Multiplayer). The campaign is a very detailed and gritty representation of the actual events of world war 2. Another great part of the campaign is the expendable friendly A.I, as any generic Private Joe Average can be gunned down by the ever-adapting enemy without a second thought. This makes tactical gameplay a necessity. Overall, this is one of the best shooters on any console, and any negative assessment of the game doesn't do it nearly enough justice. Expand
  62. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    At first I was confused as to why they returned to WWII in the Call of Duty series, but it's not a bad thing at all that they did. World at War is probably, in my opinion, the 2nd best or possibly best of the series. It remained basically the same in multiplayer, adding a few new things, but it's still very fun. The single player is pretty good, but I think the game really shines with theAt first I was confused as to why they returned to WWII in the Call of Duty series, but it's not a bad thing at all that they did. World at War is probably, in my opinion, the 2nd best or possibly best of the series. It remained basically the same in multiplayer, adding a few new things, but it's still very fun. The single player is pretty good, but I think the game really shines with the brand new Co-op campaign, with a scoring system, and the Nazi Zombies. I loved playing through the campaign with friends, and I loved zombies. Zombies was obviously great because of its originality and also because it's still around in the series in the new games, or at least versions of it are.

    World at War gets an 8.8/10
    Expand
  63. May 29, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 9.0 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 7.8

    A consistent and solid FPS. Great graphics and maps design. Perhaps it should be more polished to get higher score.
  64. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    This is one of the best call of duty games that not only tries to focus on making the campaign really great but also by making the multiplayer really great. Zombies is a great addition for multiplayer and campaign can get a bit boring after awhile. The story is the best I have seen in a world war 2 game and the graphics are great.
  65. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    By far the most moving and well designed military game I've ever played, this is my favourite Call of Duty in the series. It actually has a really good story, with fantastic voice acting from everyone. The shooting itself is as immersive as it is realistic, and I think it's one of one of the most enjoyable shooters ever. The campaign is bucket loads of fun, if not a bit short. TheBy far the most moving and well designed military game I've ever played, this is my favourite Call of Duty in the series. It actually has a really good story, with fantastic voice acting from everyone. The shooting itself is as immersive as it is realistic, and I think it's one of one of the most enjoyable shooters ever. The campaign is bucket loads of fun, if not a bit short. The 'Zombies' mode is the best horde mode I've played, and the multiplayer is FANTASTIC; I've never had so much fun online! If only the newer CoD games could return to the form of the war games, which I enjoy more. Expand
  66. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    This is easily my favorite COD game, the story is just amazing. a great WWII shooter. the multiplayer needed work but it was fun nonetheless. The characters were unique and interesting. Just an example of a good game.
  67. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    This game is one of my favorite Call of Duty's. We have the story of a Marine named Miller and a Russian Sniper Dimitri Petrenko, inspired by the film 'Enemy at the Gates'. This game introduced one of Call of Duty's best characters, Viktor Reznov, who is a bad ass.
    This game makes 9 because of cooperative campaign, not only we can replay missions, but we can replay them with our friends.
    This game is one of my favorite Call of Duty's. We have the story of a Marine named Miller and a Russian Sniper Dimitri Petrenko, inspired by the film 'Enemy at the Gates'. This game introduced one of Call of Duty's best characters, Viktor Reznov, who is a bad ass.
    This game makes 9 because of cooperative campaign, not only we can replay missions, but we can replay them with our friends. Nazi Zombies is also an awesome feature and generally the storyline itself is quite historically accurate.
    The real reason I love this game is the music. The music matches this game perfectly. And the intro to each mission has a cool commentary. Everything about this game is awesome.
    Keep Shootin'
    Expand
  68. Dec 1, 2014
    9
    This was a good game overall. I liked the fact they decided to go with the WWII theme one last time. The Zombie Mode was also really enjoyable for me. It does seem like they could have done better on the campaign, however. It is also unfortunate that there are a lot of hackers on the multiplayer part of this game.
  69. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    Taking place before the milking, and hype for call of duty, World at war takes place in several parts of WWII, divided into two campaigns. American, and the Soviet campaign. The Soviet campaign is returning after having last been present in Call of Duty 2. There is no British campaign in the game, making World at War the only major Call of Duty set in the Second World War not to feature aTaking place before the milking, and hype for call of duty, World at war takes place in several parts of WWII, divided into two campaigns. American, and the Soviet campaign. The Soviet campaign is returning after having last been present in Call of Duty 2. There is no British campaign in the game, making World at War the only major Call of Duty set in the Second World War not to feature a British Campaign or a British playable character. It features both a solo and co-op campaign, however both are the same except that co-op is played with multiple people and certain missions are unplayable. The American campaign is set in the Pacific theater on the islands of Makin, Peleliu, and Okinawa. Expand
  70. Mar 29, 2015
    8
    If you are a fan of World war II games, then this is essential to buy. This is the best World war II game ever. The singleplayer brings you right into the action. Some of the most memorable missions. This Call of duty really shows you the horrors of war, making this game rather frightening to play, also adding a fair amount of blood and gore. The multiplayer is disappointing, fun butIf you are a fan of World war II games, then this is essential to buy. This is the best World war II game ever. The singleplayer brings you right into the action. Some of the most memorable missions. This Call of duty really shows you the horrors of war, making this game rather frightening to play, also adding a fair amount of blood and gore. The multiplayer is disappointing, fun but disappointing. You will often find yourself in hacked lobbies and matches making the multiplayer somewhat useless and barely playable, you will have some good matches i can bet that. But just be aware. The newly added zombies mode is a fine and welcoming addition to the call of duty franchise. You may have the most amount of fun with that. Expand
  71. May 22, 2015
    8
    This game is a modern classic. The campaign is intense form start to finish, with flamethrowers, men charging at you with bayonets (and you doing the same to them), and even throwing mortar shells as people! Its multiplayer isn't the best in the series but it's fun nonetheless. Its biggest flaws were an abundance of attack dogs and bouncing betties but it was great anyways. Now, itsThis game is a modern classic. The campaign is intense form start to finish, with flamethrowers, men charging at you with bayonets (and you doing the same to them), and even throwing mortar shells as people! Its multiplayer isn't the best in the series but it's fun nonetheless. Its biggest flaws were an abundance of attack dogs and bouncing betties but it was great anyways. Now, its biggest flaw is all of those hackers who have completely ruined the multiplayer. This is also the game to introduce zombies to the series. The zombies are fun but the only map you're given (DLC ones don't count because they're not part of the original, $60 game) is very small. Overall, it's a rather enjoyable, appropriately dark Wod War II shooter. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Call of Duty: World At War needs better character development and more "oh my God" moments. However, it's still a terrific first-person shooter. The combat is tight, the presentation shines and the multiplayer, particularly Nazi Zombie mode and co-op campaign, will keep you blasting enemy soldiers for weeks.
  2. Treyarch did a remarkable job of breathing new life into the WWII shooter. They followed the conventions outlined by Infinity Ward to a tee and, as a result, created a shooter that is every bit as good as last year's entry. Of course, there isn't a whole lot of innovation this time around, but the increased Multiplayer options, new settings, and great enemy A.I. should more than satisfy all but the most jaded Infinity Ward fanboys.
  3. 90
    Although the campaign storyline isn't nearly as engaging as the one seen in "CoD4," there should be enough memorable set pieces and intense sequences to keep you riveted throughout. The addition of a co-op mode brings a great deal of replay value to the proceedings, especially once you start throwing the death cards into the mix. Ultimately, it's the multiplayer and co-op action that will keep us coming back for more.