User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 571 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 571
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanB
    Feb 20, 2009
    6
    A game which is hampered by its continuing delusion that World War II provides a compelling setting, World at War serves up the standard fare seen in the previous games (even going so far as to have the obligatory Normandy beach landing under a different banner), with its its tightly constructed set pieces seeming painfully contrived as a result. It's not that this is a bad game, but A game which is hampered by its continuing delusion that World War II provides a compelling setting, World at War serves up the standard fare seen in the previous games (even going so far as to have the obligatory Normandy beach landing under a different banner), with its its tightly constructed set pieces seeming painfully contrived as a result. It's not that this is a bad game, but rather, a game which is overshadowed by the far greater success of its post-modern sibling, and undercut by the plethora of prior art. Expand
  2. RickR
    Feb 5, 2009
    5
    Single Player -Too many Grenades -inconsistent difficulty. Hard and Veteran are too similar too each other, way harder than normal and not rewarding -routinely killed by unseen enemies -game saves that start with a grenade nearby and little or no warning -frustrating and not fun Multiplayer -tons of glitches and people using them -huge advantage to higher ranked players and advanced guns Single Player -Too many Grenades -inconsistent difficulty. Hard and Veteran are too similar too each other, way harder than normal and not rewarding -routinely killed by unseen enemies -game saves that start with a grenade nearby and little or no warning -frustrating and not fun Multiplayer -tons of glitches and people using them -huge advantage to higher ranked players and advanced guns -spawning is terrible. you will be respawned very close to the person you just killed (or killed you) -some unbalanced maps due to elevation changes -dogs are too powerful AND they point the enemy to your location -treyarch has taken over 3 months to patch with little to no communications Skip this game until it's patched and stick with COD4. Expand
  3. ChrisI
    Sep 9, 2009
    7
    World at War is a competent, fun shooter. Call of Duty 4 is an excellent, well thought out, amazing example of the genre. The thing that separates Modern Warfare from World at War is how they're done, the campaign in particular. MW is an entirely original war drama, while WaW is a smarmy, we beat the Nazis, we've all been here before, cash in on history's greatest conflict. World at War is a competent, fun shooter. Call of Duty 4 is an excellent, well thought out, amazing example of the genre. The thing that separates Modern Warfare from World at War is how they're done, the campaign in particular. MW is an entirely original war drama, while WaW is a smarmy, we beat the Nazis, we've all been here before, cash in on history's greatest conflict. That's not to say WaW's campaign is bad. It's a fun experience from start to finish. As with MW, the multiplayer is where this game truly shines. It's marginally expanded on MW, but that's because there's no camouflages and there's 65 levels. World of War is average. Run of the mill. Because it's done nothing but re-skin Modern Warfare. In fact, this game comes off as more of a mod, than a play-it-safe wanna be. It's worth a buy. Expand
  4. GB
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    I am confused by the negative reaction from some MW fans - I liked the single-player campaign only slightly less than MW's (i.e. a LOT). I think that it does the right thing by mainly sticking to the core gameplay that COD can do well: gradually battling point-by-point through fierce resistance, taking cover and looking for advantageous positions. For me, MW2 has too many distracting I am confused by the negative reaction from some MW fans - I liked the single-player campaign only slightly less than MW's (i.e. a LOT). I think that it does the right thing by mainly sticking to the core gameplay that COD can do well: gradually battling point-by-point through fierce resistance, taking cover and looking for advantageous positions. For me, MW2 has too many distracting novelties and not enough of the good stuff. I think Treyarch made a good call, though most of the online opinion seems to the contrary. Rolling about in a cumbersome tank is alright for five minutes but it's not a quality tank sim; it's just garnish. If I'd have to go white-water rafting as well, like at the end of MW2 I'd only have scored it an 8. Also, the guns are balanced so the PPSh-41 is just as satisfying to use as the P90. And the flamethrower rocks. Come on people. Expand
  5. JiriS.
    Oct 12, 2008
    8
    Even though the game is made by Treyarch and not Infinity Ward as the previous CoD,it still knows how bring WWII to your room. Game looks pretty and it haven't change a lot since Treyarch CoD 3. If you liked it you're going to like this one also.People who have played CoD 4 won't be so excited about this but should buy it to spent some time before CoD 6.
  6. Thehamster
    Nov 22, 2008
    2
    Big, big step back from CoD4. Now, it is fun to play the missions with 3 buddies and the game does look good, but like Christian G. said....you buy it for the multiplayer and the multiplayer sucks balls! So your telling me a dog can kill you with one bite but when you shoot a guy in THE FACE he drops down into last stand and there fore becomes invinceable??? I know its a video game, but Big, big step back from CoD4. Now, it is fun to play the missions with 3 buddies and the game does look good, but like Christian G. said....you buy it for the multiplayer and the multiplayer sucks balls! So your telling me a dog can kill you with one bite but when you shoot a guy in THE FACE he drops down into last stand and there fore becomes invinceable??? I know its a video game, but do the makers of it know? The weapons are true to life and they SUCK OUT LOUD!!! Again, you put dogs in it...lighten up on the weapon shittyness. Ahhh, screw it! I'll just play CoD4. Expand
  7. DavidJ.
    Nov 29, 2008
    3
    Ok, i'm a COD3 and COD4 fan, but this didn't do it for me, for two mian reasons: 1) I know there was a 'transition period' from COD3 to COD4 that took a bit of getting used to, bit I got there and it was worth it, but this time I took one step back and never went forwards - the game is just not as good as COD4. But I never felt good about the game anyway - see reason 2 Ok, i'm a COD3 and COD4 fan, but this didn't do it for me, for two mian reasons: 1) I know there was a 'transition period' from COD3 to COD4 that took a bit of getting used to, bit I got there and it was worth it, but this time I took one step back and never went forwards - the game is just not as good as COD4. But I never felt good about the game anyway - see reason 2 below. 2) The opening sequence of real footage is obscene. Yes of course, we have real clips of war promoting games before, but here we see people being executed and dumped in pits of bodies. This is real footage of executions used to promote a game, and that just doesn't feel right. I'm all for war games (play 'em and love 'em, been doing it for 25 year) and I can watch documentaries on war etc and I know the difference, but we shouldn't mix it up too much. If they were Brits or Yanks being being told to knee down with their hands tied behind their backs getting a shot in the head as a game promotion there'd be uproar, but maybe its because its Chinese civilians it's ok. Not for me. So I traded it after 24 hrs. Expand
  8. JustinC.
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    The online beta is the only thing out for CoD:WW as I'm typing this, but it is pretty impressing. Although it's the same old thing as CoD:4 but WW2, it still reamains good. The Perks are still there, with some of your old favorites ( Matyrdom, Juggernaut ) and even Perks for the Tanks. This game looks to be good multiplayer wise, and if they can pull of the Single Player The online beta is the only thing out for CoD:WW as I'm typing this, but it is pretty impressing. Although it's the same old thing as CoD:4 but WW2, it still reamains good. The Perks are still there, with some of your old favorites ( Matyrdom, Juggernaut ) and even Perks for the Tanks. This game looks to be good multiplayer wise, and if they can pull of the Single Player Campaign, then this game is sure to be a hit, just like CoD4 Expand
  9. JeffreyP
    Dec 30, 2008
    6
    I borrowed this game from a friend, and it didn't take much to realize how similar this game was to Cod4. Not saying that's bad, it just made it feel like, new campaign, new guns and levels, that's it. Nothing ground breaking or amazing like Modern Warfare was. Only real thing was Nazis Zombies. It just made me feel bored after a half an hour of play. Perhaps if I was just I borrowed this game from a friend, and it didn't take much to realize how similar this game was to Cod4. Not saying that's bad, it just made it feel like, new campaign, new guns and levels, that's it. Nothing ground breaking or amazing like Modern Warfare was. Only real thing was Nazis Zombies. It just made me feel bored after a half an hour of play. Perhaps if I was just getting an xbox, I would buy this game, but since I've pretty much beaten and gotten tired of CoD4, maybe it's time to look toward the future, literally. Bottom line if you haven't bought or played Cod4 entirely, buy it, or else play another because you might feel that sixty bucks went to recycled material. Expand
  10. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 8, 2009
    3
    My friend invited me over to play this game, after playing call of duty 4 I thought it must be pretty good. Oh god, was I wrong. The graphics were bad for last gen, and the sound was not realistic at all. The online took forever to find a match, unlike in its predecessor in which it took barely any time at all. The aspect I've heard is amazing the "Nazi Zombies" was a real My friend invited me over to play this game, after playing call of duty 4 I thought it must be pretty good. Oh god, was I wrong. The graphics were bad for last gen, and the sound was not realistic at all. The online took forever to find a match, unlike in its predecessor in which it took barely any time at all. The aspect I've heard is amazing the "Nazi Zombies" was a real disappointment. If you want Call Of Duty, get 4, or WF2. Do not buy this game. Expand
  11. CS
    Jan 30, 2009
    4
    Multiplayer is aggravating due to poor respawn mechanics and the terrible "dogs" bonus. Single-player at it's most difficult level is only difficult for how cheap you are killed. In comparison to COD4: Modern Warfare, the highest difficulty setting was extremely challenging but actually forced planned attacks. Modern Warfare is a crapshoot lottery. World at War offers a new veneer to Multiplayer is aggravating due to poor respawn mechanics and the terrible "dogs" bonus. Single-player at it's most difficult level is only difficult for how cheap you are killed. In comparison to COD4: Modern Warfare, the highest difficulty setting was extremely challenging but actually forced planned attacks. Modern Warfare is a crapshoot lottery. World at War offers a new veneer to COD4, but leaves behind the tactics of multiplayer, the urgency of the story in singleplayer, and is ultimately just another shooter. This is evidenced by the steeply declining users on the servers as well. Just buy COD 4. Expand
  12. DamianF
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    I can't believe how many negative comments are on here- have we been playing the same game? I absolutely LOVE COD4, and was a little apprehensive buying this, preparing myself for disappointment, but after less than five minutes all my initial reservations dissipated completely. This game KICKS arse!! Much more brutal than Modern Warfare, and with the best lighting effects I've I can't believe how many negative comments are on here- have we been playing the same game? I absolutely LOVE COD4, and was a little apprehensive buying this, preparing myself for disappointment, but after less than five minutes all my initial reservations dissipated completely. This game KICKS arse!! Much more brutal than Modern Warfare, and with the best lighting effects I've seen in a game so far (particularly on the first mission). BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  13. GavinA.
    Feb 15, 2009
    1
    This gameis a compete repetitive piece of bulls*** compared to COd 4 what the hell were treyarch thinking about this game. Well done infinity ward for not protecting their online system from cod 4. COD 2 is even better than this it just another boring war game that will entertain the masses and then onn the relase of modern warfare 2 in Q4 this year 2009 will die in the preverbial game This gameis a compete repetitive piece of bulls*** compared to COd 4 what the hell were treyarch thinking about this game. Well done infinity ward for not protecting their online system from cod 4. COD 2 is even better than this it just another boring war game that will entertain the masses and then onn the relase of modern warfare 2 in Q4 this year 2009 will die in the preverbial game ing hell that it is. If you share my opiniion and will stick to Cod 4 heres my gamertag GavMan92 and we will have some proper Call odf Duty online fun. Expand
  14. ColinC
    Mar 20, 2009
    7
    A solid shooter. My biggest gripe is with the co-op though. Given a choice, I'll always play through a co-op game with a friend before even thinking of replaying by myself. But this co-op mode doesn't give you the option to play with any of the proper cutscenes, so you get none of the story. Gears of War 2 co-op and Halo did it right, letting you and a friend enjoy the story A solid shooter. My biggest gripe is with the co-op though. Given a choice, I'll always play through a co-op game with a friend before even thinking of replaying by myself. But this co-op mode doesn't give you the option to play with any of the proper cutscenes, so you get none of the story. Gears of War 2 co-op and Halo did it right, letting you and a friend enjoy the story unfolding together. And yes, I know Call of Duty isn't generally big on story, but still, I like at least a little context for the action I'm about to be engaged in. Infinity Ward (not to mention the developer of Killzone 2), I hope you're reading this. Don't strip the story out of co-op modes. At the very least, give us an option to watch with cutscenes or not. Expand
  15. [Anonymous]
    Mar 6, 2009
    7
    Anyone who calls this a bad game is lying, but sadly, so is anyone who calls it the best game of the year. It's a good game, but has quite a few flaws. First off, the single player can range from too easy to deceptively frustrating at points, and the game will rub it in your face if you are killed by a grenade or tank. Secondly, it's not very compelling to play. If you start it Anyone who calls this a bad game is lying, but sadly, so is anyone who calls it the best game of the year. It's a good game, but has quite a few flaws. First off, the single player can range from too easy to deceptively frustrating at points, and the game will rub it in your face if you are killed by a grenade or tank. Secondly, it's not very compelling to play. If you start it up, you'll play for a good while, but after that, you'll play something else. It's a bit off-and-on. Also, it's a good WWII game, but I thought we were over that when Call of Duty 4 came around. But still, the gameplay is solid, the multiplayer can be fun, and it looks very nice, even at 60 FPS. In short, it's not necessary, but it's still pretty good. Expand
  16. BryceR.
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    This personally is a great FPS game. The settings, graphics, weapons, gameplay are all awesome. The campaign is good and the multiplayer online is fast and fun. Nazi zombies is such a fun game to play with all your mates over! Yes this and CoD 4 are pretty much exactly the same but they are totally different in a way. Totally different maps a different story line and plus nazi zombies in This personally is a great FPS game. The settings, graphics, weapons, gameplay are all awesome. The campaign is good and the multiplayer online is fast and fun. Nazi zombies is such a fun game to play with all your mates over! Yes this and CoD 4 are pretty much exactly the same but they are totally different in a way. Totally different maps a different story line and plus nazi zombies in CoD 5 is something to look forward to after completing the campaign. Overall i loved it! Expand
  17. CombatWombat
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to lie and say this is the best game ever but it's far better than MW which I was bored with after reaching level 10 or 11 online. I always found that MW was too focused on fast-paced action which was down more to reaction time than skill whereas WAW has guns that require something called accuracy. Another bonus is killing people who think they can play in the same I'm not going to lie and say this is the best game ever but it's far better than MW which I was bored with after reaching level 10 or 11 online. I always found that MW was too focused on fast-paced action which was down more to reaction time than skill whereas WAW has guns that require something called accuracy. Another bonus is killing people who think they can play in the same way as MW and are drastically wrong. Expand
  18. MickJagger
    Nov 11, 2008
    5
    Anytime Activision tries to slap their name on a product done better by a better developer (infinity ward) you know it is going to suck. Also, the fact there is a single review on release day speaks volumes about the kind of money grab company Activison is (Soldier of Fortune anybody). Seriously, has Activision made a quality product since the Atari? We would all be smarter to avoid this Anytime Activision tries to slap their name on a product done better by a better developer (infinity ward) you know it is going to suck. Also, the fact there is a single review on release day speaks volumes about the kind of money grab company Activison is (Soldier of Fortune anybody). Seriously, has Activision made a quality product since the Atari? We would all be smarter to avoid this sh** and keep playing Call of Duty 4 unitl the real Call of Duty 5 is released. Expand
  19. ChristianG.
    Nov 17, 2008
    1
    What everybody wants to play this is for the multi-player. And to say they took a step back from cod 4 is a severe understatement. The guns are absolutely horrible, you can stand in front of somebody and shoot 5 times and not hit them. It is very upsetting because I was looking forward to this game for a long time. Back to COD 4 for me.
  20. ShayL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    This game stands out! Yes its ww2, yes it has some of the same things Call of Duty 4 ! "even the same engine", yes the campaign is short. BUT it
  21. DonK.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Its a good game and all, pretty solid but not up to par with COD4. The tanks add some new flavor, but none of the things that needed changing from previous COD games got fixed. Its worth getting just for a new spin on killing people.
  22. RavenWolfx
    Oct 15, 2008
    5
    Now keep in mind I am basing this solely on the Beta, but I am extremely disappointed in Treyarch. Do you remember CoD3? How it was sorta fun? Well, take the fun out, take CoD4's graphic engine and ruin it, take perks and mess them up, take WWII weapons and make them shoot like a .22, and somehow make the respawns worse than CoD4 and you get CoD5. What I mean about the guns is that Now keep in mind I am basing this solely on the Beta, but I am extremely disappointed in Treyarch. Do you remember CoD3? How it was sorta fun? Well, take the fun out, take CoD4's graphic engine and ruin it, take perks and mess them up, take WWII weapons and make them shoot like a .22, and somehow make the respawns worse than CoD4 and you get CoD5. What I mean about the guns is that every single weapon has nearly zero recoil. A great example is the Browning Automatic Rifle (BAR). This rifle fires a 30.06 round that is capable of taking down a deer from a hundred yards or more, and it has some decent kick. In CoD5, the BAR takes 3+ bullets to kill someone with Stopping Power on, with very minimal kick. And it fires slowly. Again, this is just on the Beta, but I'm not buying this game. Expand
  23. ErikE.
    Oct 17, 2008
    4
    If Call of Duty 2 and 4 didn't exist (and I suppose Infinity Ward at all), this would be considered an okay game. What makes it bad is that despite having double the time to develop it (compared to COD3), Treyarch still can't add anything really exciting to the genre. The single additon of some usable vehicles (tanks) in the level callled Round House is probably the most If Call of Duty 2 and 4 didn't exist (and I suppose Infinity Ward at all), this would be considered an okay game. What makes it bad is that despite having double the time to develop it (compared to COD3), Treyarch still can't add anything really exciting to the genre. The single additon of some usable vehicles (tanks) in the level callled Round House is probably the most interesting addition. This is accompanied by the ability to specify a vehicle perk. The maps Makin, War Castle and Round House are nowhere near as good as COD4 maps. Although Round House is the best of the bunch. Makin is an awful nighttime map that is essentially flat and small. War Castle is just too small and awkward without too much replay variety. The weapons sounds are muffled and unsatisfying. Shooting a BAR (Browning Automatic Rifle) should feel powerful but it sounds like a pea shooter. The bullets don't seem to do much damage so you still run through clip after clip on even the machine guns. EA just doesn't get it. This is an Infinity Ward creation and no other developers can do it justice. I am definitely glad I'm only beta testing the multiplayer and didn't pay $60 for this. Wait for Call of Duty 6 (the REAL Call of Duty 5, most likely to be developed by Infinity Ward). Expand
  24. ChrisM
    Dec 15, 2008
    8
    Trust me when I say.... I hate Treyarch! Every time Infinity ward create a flawless success, treyarch piggyback the success, make a horrible game and install doubt in the minds of all call of duty fans. So this review came after a lot of thought.... Trey arch finally made a good game.... quite good. Sure it lacks the polish of an Infinity ward installment and sure it rehashes on old Trust me when I say.... I hate Treyarch! Every time Infinity ward create a flawless success, treyarch piggyback the success, make a horrible game and install doubt in the minds of all call of duty fans. So this review came after a lot of thought.... Trey arch finally made a good game.... quite good. Sure it lacks the polish of an Infinity ward installment and sure it rehashes on old ground (WW2) but it does it right this time. Alot of fun, technically impressive and ferocious audio make for one of this years best titles. (PS. Change the lo-cal next time treyarch.... no more WW2. now it really has been done to death). Expand
  25. DanaR
    Dec 29, 2008
    8
    Pacific missions were great but found the russian missions were very similar to Enemy at the gates story line....anyone think the developers just ripped off this story line rather than come up with an original idea themselves! Flamethrower is great fun though!
  26. CoreyR.
    Dec 5, 2008
    1
    The game got really frustrating fast, the unrealistic detail and the cartoon characteristics about it. The weapons detail great, the maps are ok, but the actual players are garbage. And what really grind my gears were the perks and the sprees (artillery and dogs). The idea for the dog was outrageous, get rid of the dogs and tanks, and have tank support and a 7 man kill spree. I am on The game got really frustrating fast, the unrealistic detail and the cartoon characteristics about it. The weapons detail great, the maps are ok, but the actual players are garbage. And what really grind my gears were the perks and the sprees (artillery and dogs). The idea for the dog was outrageous, get rid of the dogs and tanks, and have tank support and a 7 man kill spree. I am on online player and don't really bout the store but really big on the online game play and it SUCKED. COD5 seemed like a cheat spin of COD4, Treyarch are just trying to make money of you. Don Expand
  27. NexiousP.
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to all the people crying about how Infinity Ward didn't make this game and that Treyarch didn't add anything. First off, most of them are comparing this game to COD 3.. which makes they think they haven't even played the game. It runs on the COD4 engine and doesn't look anything like COD3. The graphics are improved over COD4 and Treyarch has added a Don't listen to all the people crying about how Infinity Ward didn't make this game and that Treyarch didn't add anything. First off, most of them are comparing this game to COD 3.. which makes they think they haven't even played the game. It runs on the COD4 engine and doesn't look anything like COD3. The graphics are improved over COD4 and Treyarch has added a lot of little changes. Like the ability to revive a teammate in MP. The solo campaign is great and in my opinion better than COD4 (which I loved). Who gets tired of killing Nazis? Bottom line... buy this game. If you liked COD4, if you like FPS than you will like this game. Expand
  28. LorenzoC
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Call of Duty world at War is the best Second World War Play, it have a very intresting and concern campaign with the new japanese front, it's very intresting the possibility of do the cooperative campaign online and offline, the local multiplayer is fun, the multiplayer on internet is one of the best multiplayer in all game, because there aren't many connesion problems, there areCall of Duty world at War is the best Second World War Play, it have a very intresting and concern campaign with the new japanese front, it's very intresting the possibility of do the cooperative campaign online and offline, the local multiplayer is fun, the multiplayer on internet is one of the best multiplayer in all game, because there aren't many connesion problems, there are many maps and arms (is very fun you can add at the arms many bonus and improvements) and the last map pack can position Cod WaW in the top of multiplayer games. The grafic is the best of all war games, the possibility of have damage product by explosion and army in the body is very realistic, other than damage also the arm and maps grafic are good, i hope treyarch in the future game add the destroiable ground in all the maps. I think also have a good succes nazi zombies, with also two ggod
    map packs and new obiectives. So i think Call of Duty 5 can have more than 90 %.
    Expand
  29. ChrisMcTear
    Jan 2, 2009
    5
    Call of duty world at war single player was lots of fun. But the multi player sucked. It has all of the same perks as COD4. The multi player is the exact same as COD4 but with tanks that make it no fun. It is a wast of money i now just play COD4 instead of it.
  30. AH.
    Jan 26, 2009
    6
    The single player story failed to grab me. The visuals were impressive, but nothing about the game had me hooked. The multiplayer was good, but offered little improvement upon COD:4. I'll stick with Modern Warfare.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Call of Duty: World At War needs better character development and more "oh my God" moments. However, it's still a terrific first-person shooter. The combat is tight, the presentation shines and the multiplayer, particularly Nazi Zombie mode and co-op campaign, will keep you blasting enemy soldiers for weeks.
  2. Treyarch did a remarkable job of breathing new life into the WWII shooter. They followed the conventions outlined by Infinity Ward to a tee and, as a result, created a shooter that is every bit as good as last year's entry. Of course, there isn't a whole lot of innovation this time around, but the increased Multiplayer options, new settings, and great enemy A.I. should more than satisfy all but the most jaded Infinity Ward fanboys.
  3. 90
    Although the campaign storyline isn't nearly as engaging as the one seen in "CoD4," there should be enough memorable set pieces and intense sequences to keep you riveted throughout. The addition of a co-op mode brings a great deal of replay value to the proceedings, especially once you start throwing the death cards into the mix. Ultimately, it's the multiplayer and co-op action that will keep us coming back for more.