User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 518 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 518

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DamianF
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    I can't believe how many negative comments are on here- have we been playing the same game? I absolutely LOVE COD4, and was a little apprehensive buying this, preparing myself for disappointment, but after less than five minutes all my initial reservations dissipated completely. This game KICKS arse!! Much more brutal than Modern Warfare, and with the best lighting effects I've I can't believe how many negative comments are on here- have we been playing the same game? I absolutely LOVE COD4, and was a little apprehensive buying this, preparing myself for disappointment, but after less than five minutes all my initial reservations dissipated completely. This game KICKS arse!! Much more brutal than Modern Warfare, and with the best lighting effects I've seen in a game so far (particularly on the first mission). BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  2. NexiousP.
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to all the people crying about how Infinity Ward didn't make this game and that Treyarch didn't add anything. First off, most of them are comparing this game to COD 3.. which makes they think they haven't even played the game. It runs on the COD4 engine and doesn't look anything like COD3. The graphics are improved over COD4 and Treyarch has added a Don't listen to all the people crying about how Infinity Ward didn't make this game and that Treyarch didn't add anything. First off, most of them are comparing this game to COD 3.. which makes they think they haven't even played the game. It runs on the COD4 engine and doesn't look anything like COD3. The graphics are improved over COD4 and Treyarch has added a lot of little changes. Like the ability to revive a teammate in MP. The solo campaign is great and in my opinion better than COD4 (which I loved). Who gets tired of killing Nazis? Bottom line... buy this game. If you liked COD4, if you like FPS than you will like this game. Expand
  3. KyleM.
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    Call Of Duty 4 was considered perfect: World at War took Moden Warfare's few flaws and fixed them, as well as delving deeper into techincal aspects such as sound. Despite a campaign that can be frustrating, World at War is the best Call of Duty to date.
  4. chrish.
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best first person shooters of all time. Call of Duty 4 had better gameplay and graphics, but the WW2 game is a more interesting play for me. i cant wait for Call of Duty 6
  5. DanB.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    Treyarch knocked it out of the park with this one, despite all the naysayers, giving us a game that stands up with the best of Infinity Ward's efforts. This is the best WW2 shooter to date!
  6. BrennanC.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    So far I think the game is great, I just wish they had moved forward from CoD4 Modern Warfare, instead of backward to WWII... I give it a 10 because I think it's a lot better than Grand Theft Auto IV, even though I don't think GTA IV deserved a 10.
  7. retardJackson
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I loved this game from the moment I started playing when I saw the guys throat get cut, to all the action pact mission, sniping. It was great. I recommend this game to anyone who loves fps. amazing graphics. I also love how its similar to the other call of duty's. Big fan of this game.
  8. TrevorG.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Game is awesome. Don't listen to all the nay sayers. The story is great, I'd say the single player is just as good if not better than COD 4. And multiplayer kicks a$$. The dogs are greats and the shells are better than air strikes. If you liked COD4 or FPS at all you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. "use the story of End War and the graphics and online game play on COD4 Game is awesome. Don't listen to all the nay sayers. The story is great, I'd say the single player is just as good if not better than COD 4. And multiplayer kicks a$$. The dogs are greats and the shells are better than air strikes. If you liked COD4 or FPS at all you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. "use the story of End War and the graphics and online game play on COD4 and make a COD5 or 6(whatever you call it) Call of Duty: World War 3" And a note to the guy who wrote the above...you don't know what you're talking about. The story from Endwar? That story sucked. P.s. Learn to spell. P.s.s. The tanks in COD5 aren't that hard to kill. It's pretty balanced against the bazookas and charges. Expand
  9. [anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    The best single player campeign in the entire francize, really good sound and graphics like all the others, and Nazi Zombies is the best DLC ever. FYI I haven't played any multiplayer.
  10. MannyD.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game rocks! Treyarch totally redeemed itself with game. WWII never looked so good. I'm hooked on the zombie level. Multiplayer is awesome! Release the hounds!!!
  11. DavidA.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    As a huge fan of COD4 multiplayer I can say that I enjoy COD WAW even better. The gameplay is a lot more interesting with the tanks. There is not one map that is worth skipping. The game lends itself to more strategy and teamwork with more hiding spots, more interesting terrain, and better respawn points that put you right in the action rather than on the other side of the map. I give As a huge fan of COD4 multiplayer I can say that I enjoy COD WAW even better. The gameplay is a lot more interesting with the tanks. There is not one map that is worth skipping. The game lends itself to more strategy and teamwork with more hiding spots, more interesting terrain, and better respawn points that put you right in the action rather than on the other side of the map. I give this one a 10 All the way. Expand
  12. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    This game is simply brilliant. The campaign is the best of the series, Modern Warfare included. Why? Because even though it's not it's own original story it tells the story of world war 2 brilliantly through great cutscenes and in game dialog. The characters are fleshed, and the voice acting and guns feel very authentic. Mission design is incredible, the Japanese missions are brilliant,This game is simply brilliant. The campaign is the best of the series, Modern Warfare included. Why? Because even though it's not it's own original story it tells the story of world war 2 brilliantly through great cutscenes and in game dialog. The characters are fleshed, and the voice acting and guns feel very authentic. Mission design is incredible, the Japanese missions are brilliant, with me feeling as if these people were really willing this much to die for their country. Gameplay is funner than MW and MW2, and Nazi Zombies is a fun way to kick back and reward you after beating the game. The final Russian missions are also brilliant. Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    By far my favorite Call of Duty game. The maps are wonderfully set up, the variety of weapons is great and kill streaks are set at great increments. MW2 and BO get me extremely aggravated due to camping and not having near as good of maps. The story isn't anything fantastic, but no one gets these for the story. I get the new Call of Duty every year and World at War is the only one I end upBy far my favorite Call of Duty game. The maps are wonderfully set up, the variety of weapons is great and kill streaks are set at great increments. MW2 and BO get me extremely aggravated due to camping and not having near as good of maps. The story isn't anything fantastic, but no one gets these for the story. I get the new Call of Duty every year and World at War is the only one I end up keeping and going back to time and time again. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Let's put it this way: i felt like crying when this game was killed by hackers. By far it was the best Call of Duty game, and you know what? Haters gawn' hate.
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of the Call of Duty franchise. It all went downhill from there. Honestly, I enjoyed the crap out of this game and still do now 5 years later. It makes me feel old.
  16. May 26, 2012
    10
    Call of Duty World at War is my second favorite FPS of all time. In first place? Call of Duty 3. Lately, most of the CoD games that have come out have been absolutely terrible. It seems that the series died with the horrible Modern Warfare 2, arguably the worst FPS in the past ten years with only Modern Warfare 3 to compete with that title. World at War delivers an intense, realistic WWIICall of Duty World at War is my second favorite FPS of all time. In first place? Call of Duty 3. Lately, most of the CoD games that have come out have been absolutely terrible. It seems that the series died with the horrible Modern Warfare 2, arguably the worst FPS in the past ten years with only Modern Warfare 3 to compete with that title. World at War delivers an intense, realistic WWII campaign through the eyes of the brave yet insane Soviet Red Army and through the patriotic eyes of the US Marines. The multiplayer is balanced (all except for the MP40) and is now riddled with modders, yet it is still enjoyable. The zombies easter egg is also a fun bonus, and the game was all around a fun way to spend an hour or two at night. Expand
  17. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Great Game like Black Ops but better. this game is a must have. It even has Zombie mode. And Multiplayer with Xbox Live. The price is even really great for the game.
  18. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    My favourite Call of Duty game. The simplicity of CoD4 plus the awesome maps and WW2 atmosphere makes for a very, very fun MP game. It may not be addictive as, say, MW2, but the fun factor more than makes up for that.
  19. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I adore this game because it introduced zombies in which Created the COD series even futher, but really Blops 1 and 2 where mistakes. Amazing game and always will be, and always will be Mw3, Blops 1 and 2.
  20. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I give this a 10 because to me, it's right under CoD 4. It went back to the roots of where Call of Duty started. WWII. To me, the campaign was not boring it was action packed and a lot of fun because at the end you unlocked the zombies. Now to the zombies. First map was fun for what it was. 2nd map I didn't like because I was bad at it. 3rd map loved the swam because there was what? 4I give this a 10 because to me, it's right under CoD 4. It went back to the roots of where Call of Duty started. WWII. To me, the campaign was not boring it was action packed and a lot of fun because at the end you unlocked the zombies. Now to the zombies. First map was fun for what it was. 2nd map I didn't like because I was bad at it. 3rd map loved the swam because there was what? 4 paths to choose, and finally we Der Riese. The best zombies map until this very day. That's what draw us towards the characters you saw in Black Ops as well. I know we saw them in Shi no numa, but I think they had better lines in Der Riese. I'm sure all of us had a favorite. My was Nikolai and the doctor. Der Riese introduced the monkey bombs and the pack-a-punch. You had to connect the teleporters to the main frame to get it. I just love this game. A lot of people don't like this game or the multiplayer. The multiplayer of course was awesome to me. The maps were fine as is. Some of the dlc maps were a little too much or too little, but the gameplay made up for it. I really enjoyed this game and I still play it till this day even though it's hacked and stuff, but when you get into a "good" lobby, it's a lot of fun. Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic. It is by far the best Call of Duty game. The multiplayer is as balanced and fair as any other CoD game, besides MW2 (MW2 didn't have balanced Multiplayer). The campaign is a very detailed and gritty representation of the actual events of world war 2. Another great part of the campaign is the expendable friendly A.I, as any generic Private Joe Average can be gunnedThis game is fantastic. It is by far the best Call of Duty game. The multiplayer is as balanced and fair as any other CoD game, besides MW2 (MW2 didn't have balanced Multiplayer). The campaign is a very detailed and gritty representation of the actual events of world war 2. Another great part of the campaign is the expendable friendly A.I, as any generic Private Joe Average can be gunned down by the ever-adapting enemy without a second thought. This makes tactical gameplay a necessity. Overall, this is one of the best shooters on any console, and any negative assessment of the game doesn't do it nearly enough justice. Expand
  22. GB
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    I am confused by the negative reaction from some MW fans - I liked the single-player campaign only slightly less than MW's (i.e. a LOT). I think that it does the right thing by mainly sticking to the core gameplay that COD can do well: gradually battling point-by-point through fierce resistance, taking cover and looking for advantageous positions. For me, MW2 has too many distracting I am confused by the negative reaction from some MW fans - I liked the single-player campaign only slightly less than MW's (i.e. a LOT). I think that it does the right thing by mainly sticking to the core gameplay that COD can do well: gradually battling point-by-point through fierce resistance, taking cover and looking for advantageous positions. For me, MW2 has too many distracting novelties and not enough of the good stuff. I think Treyarch made a good call, though most of the online opinion seems to the contrary. Rolling about in a cumbersome tank is alright for five minutes but it's not a quality tank sim; it's just garnish. If I'd have to go white-water rafting as well, like at the end of MW2 I'd only have scored it an 8. Also, the guns are balanced so the PPSh-41 is just as satisfying to use as the P90. And the flamethrower rocks. Come on people. Expand
  23. BryceR.
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    This personally is a great FPS game. The settings, graphics, weapons, gameplay are all awesome. The campaign is good and the multiplayer online is fast and fun. Nazi zombies is such a fun game to play with all your mates over! Yes this and CoD 4 are pretty much exactly the same but they are totally different in a way. Totally different maps a different story line and plus nazi zombies in This personally is a great FPS game. The settings, graphics, weapons, gameplay are all awesome. The campaign is good and the multiplayer online is fast and fun. Nazi zombies is such a fun game to play with all your mates over! Yes this and CoD 4 are pretty much exactly the same but they are totally different in a way. Totally different maps a different story line and plus nazi zombies in CoD 5 is something to look forward to after completing the campaign. Overall i loved it! Expand
  24. CombatWombat
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to lie and say this is the best game ever but it's far better than MW which I was bored with after reaching level 10 or 11 online. I always found that MW was too focused on fast-paced action which was down more to reaction time than skill whereas WAW has guns that require something called accuracy. Another bonus is killing people who think they can play in the same I'm not going to lie and say this is the best game ever but it's far better than MW which I was bored with after reaching level 10 or 11 online. I always found that MW was too focused on fast-paced action which was down more to reaction time than skill whereas WAW has guns that require something called accuracy. Another bonus is killing people who think they can play in the same way as MW and are drastically wrong. Expand
  25. ShayL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    This game stands out! Yes its ww2, yes it has some of the same things Call of Duty 4 ! "even the same engine", yes the campaign is short. BUT it
  26. LorenzoC
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Call of Duty world at War is the best Second World War Play, it have a very intresting and concern campaign with the new japanese front, it's very intresting the possibility of do the cooperative campaign online and offline, the local multiplayer is fun, the multiplayer on internet is one of the best multiplayer in all game, because there aren't many connesion problems, there areCall of Duty world at War is the best Second World War Play, it have a very intresting and concern campaign with the new japanese front, it's very intresting the possibility of do the cooperative campaign online and offline, the local multiplayer is fun, the multiplayer on internet is one of the best multiplayer in all game, because there aren't many connesion problems, there are many maps and arms (is very fun you can add at the arms many bonus and improvements) and the last map pack can position Cod WaW in the top of multiplayer games. The grafic is the best of all war games, the possibility of have damage product by explosion and army in the body is very realistic, other than damage also the arm and maps grafic are good, i hope treyarch in the future game add the destroiable ground in all the maps. I think also have a good succes nazi zombies, with also two ggod
    map packs and new obiectives. So i think Call of Duty 5 can have more than 90 %.
    Expand
  27. AustinM
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    This game was great, I'd say this game isn't worth more than $40 bucks though, which is the price i payed for it. I really have never seen a WWII game this intense, all the previous Call of Duty's never got it right I thought, this one got the violence and intensity down. The graphics are quite impressive, and very little glicthing every occured. The sounds in this game This game was great, I'd say this game isn't worth more than $40 bucks though, which is the price i payed for it. I really have never seen a WWII game this intense, all the previous Call of Duty's never got it right I thought, this one got the violence and intensity down. The graphics are quite impressive, and very little glicthing every occured. The sounds in this game could be better, but still good. Better than Big Red One's gun sounds. The Length isn't great either, but has good replay value, four difficulties, co-op mode, and Nazi Zombies. Which makes up for the short 6-8 hour campaign. There's a lot of weapons in this game, and the flamethrower is a great edition. This game is great fun, some annoying things though are the grenades, you'll get killed by them more than half the time, and everytime I see one I have to run for my life, or take the risk of throwing it back. The grenades in Call of Duty 3, weren't dangerous at all, even on Hard. The A.I. are actually quite useful, they kill guys, and don't get in your way as much as previous Call of Duty's. I recommend this game, and it's a blast to play with buddies, and don't let the negatives change your mind about it. But Modern Warfare 2 is going to come out and everyone will be over this one, but this will satisfy your Call of Duty hunger until then. There's also a graphic content filter, I played with the graphic content off, and they blur the graphic stuff in the cutscenes, take out all of the language, and take away the blood completely, so this is an okay game for your kids to play as long as you leave off the graphic stuff. Expand
  28. SpencerM.
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    Call of duty world at war is a very good game it has great graphics and wonderfull detail. but i think that treyarch should have put 4-6 more months into it by fixing glitchs (like the all known glitch on castle to get underground) i personally love the game but i think that infinity ward should have sent some of their people over there and helped them out it would of helped them both. Call of duty world at war is a very good game it has great graphics and wonderfull detail. but i think that treyarch should have put 4-6 more months into it by fixing glitchs (like the all known glitch on castle to get underground) i personally love the game but i think that infinity ward should have sent some of their people over there and helped them out it would of helped them both. another thing that really makes me mad is the fact that IT TAKES MORE BULLETS TO KILL A DOG THAN A PERSON ONLINE it should be easier to kill a dog than kill a person.....besides everything that i have said above its a very good game i look forward to playing it when i get home everyday. if they could just make a patch here and there it would be perfect (more maps and more guns Treyarch). Expand
  29. JonK
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    Absolutely unbelievable game that grabs the gamer by the throat and doesn't let go until the Russian Flag is flying! I haven;t had this much fun with a game in a long time. I thought CoD4 was a masterpiece but my 'heart' has always belonged to WW2 and this game excels at bringing the gamer the sights and sounds of it convincingly! From the Japs shooting from tree tops, to Absolutely unbelievable game that grabs the gamer by the throat and doesn't let go until the Russian Flag is flying! I haven;t had this much fun with a game in a long time. I thought CoD4 was a masterpiece but my 'heart' has always belonged to WW2 and this game excels at bringing the gamer the sights and sounds of it convincingly! From the Japs shooting from tree tops, to them hiding in the grass preparing a BANZAI charge, this game has it all. Of note is the unbelievable Flamethrower effect that is stunning to look at! I was a little afraid when I heard that Treyarch was going to do this game. Only because of the HUGE SHOES that would need to be filled from Infinity Wards CoD. But Treyarch handled it and did it quite convincingly. Again, a great game that will have you playing it again, and again. Expand
  30. GarryL
    May 11, 2009
    9
    I have played every Call of Duty and plenty of FPS games, and regarding World at War I would have to agree with the critics as opposed to the user rating. I believe it has a solid single-player campaign, COD games usually lack a story but the action more than makes up for it. The graphics and effects are excellent, and the multi-player and co-op modes add a large amount of replay value. I have played every Call of Duty and plenty of FPS games, and regarding World at War I would have to agree with the critics as opposed to the user rating. I believe it has a solid single-player campaign, COD games usually lack a story but the action more than makes up for it. The graphics and effects are excellent, and the multi-player and co-op modes add a large amount of replay value. COD4 was also great, but the degree of low expectations by COD4 fans is not very fair, it seems many people refused to give World at War an unbiased review, in the same fashion as a xbox360 fan would give killzone 2 flak for no reason. There were glitches at launch and the campaign is frustrating at a few points. Give this game a chance, it's pretty fun. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Call of Duty: World At War needs better character development and more "oh my God" moments. However, it's still a terrific first-person shooter. The combat is tight, the presentation shines and the multiplayer, particularly Nazi Zombie mode and co-op campaign, will keep you blasting enemy soldiers for weeks.
  2. Treyarch did a remarkable job of breathing new life into the WWII shooter. They followed the conventions outlined by Infinity Ward to a tee and, as a result, created a shooter that is every bit as good as last year's entry. Of course, there isn't a whole lot of innovation this time around, but the increased Multiplayer options, new settings, and great enemy A.I. should more than satisfy all but the most jaded Infinity Ward fanboys.
  3. 90
    Although the campaign storyline isn't nearly as engaging as the one seen in "CoD4," there should be enough memorable set pieces and intense sequences to keep you riveted throughout. The addition of a co-op mode brings a great deal of replay value to the proceedings, especially once you start throwing the death cards into the mix. Ultimately, it's the multiplayer and co-op action that will keep us coming back for more.