User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 482 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 482

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    This game is simply brilliant. The campaign is the best of the series, Modern Warfare included. Why? Because even though it's not it's own original story it tells the story of world war 2 brilliantly through great cutscenes and in game dialog. The characters are fleshed, and the voice acting and guns feel very authentic. Mission design is incredible, the Japanese missions are brilliant, with me feeling as if these people were really willing this much to die for their country. Gameplay is funner than MW and MW2, and Nazi Zombies is a fun way to kick back and reward you after beating the game. The final Russian missions are also brilliant. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    By far my favorite Call of Duty game. The maps are wonderfully set up, the variety of weapons is great and kill streaks are set at great increments. MW2 and BO get me extremely aggravated due to camping and not having near as good of maps. The story isn't anything fantastic, but no one gets these for the story. I get the new Call of Duty every year and World at War is the only one I end up keeping and going back to time and time again. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Let's put it this way: i felt like crying when this game was killed by hackers. By far it was the best Call of Duty game, and you know what? Haters gawn' hate.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of the Call of Duty franchise. It all went downhill from there. Honestly, I enjoyed the crap out of this game and still do now 5 years later. It makes me feel old.
  5. May 26, 2012
    10
    Call of Duty World at War is my second favorite FPS of all time. In first place? Call of Duty 3. Lately, most of the CoD games that have come out have been absolutely terrible. It seems that the series died with the horrible Modern Warfare 2, arguably the worst FPS in the past ten years with only Modern Warfare 3 to compete with that title. World at War delivers an intense, realistic WWII campaign through the eyes of the brave yet insane Soviet Red Army and through the patriotic eyes of the US Marines. The multiplayer is balanced (all except for the MP40) and is now riddled with modders, yet it is still enjoyable. The zombies easter egg is also a fun bonus, and the game was all around a fun way to spend an hour or two at night. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Great Game like Black Ops but better. this game is a must have. It even has Zombie mode. And Multiplayer with Xbox Live. The price is even really great for the game.
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    My favourite Call of Duty game. The simplicity of CoD4 plus the awesome maps and WW2 atmosphere makes for a very, very fun MP game. It may not be addictive as, say, MW2, but the fun factor more than makes up for that.
  8. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I adore this game because it introduced zombies in which Created the COD series even futher, but really Blops 1 and 2 where mistakes. Amazing game and always will be, and always will be Mw3, Blops 1 and 2.
  9. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I give this a 10 because to me, it's right under CoD 4. It went back to the roots of where Call of Duty started. WWII. To me, the campaign was not boring it was action packed and a lot of fun because at the end you unlocked the zombies. Now to the zombies. First map was fun for what it was. 2nd map I didn't like because I was bad at it. 3rd map loved the swam because there was what? 4 paths to choose, and finally we Der Riese. The best zombies map until this very day. That's what draw us towards the characters you saw in Black Ops as well. I know we saw them in Shi no numa, but I think they had better lines in Der Riese. I'm sure all of us had a favorite. My was Nikolai and the doctor. Der Riese introduced the monkey bombs and the pack-a-punch. You had to connect the teleporters to the main frame to get it. I just love this game. A lot of people don't like this game or the multiplayer. The multiplayer of course was awesome to me. The maps were fine as is. Some of the dlc maps were a little too much or too little, but the gameplay made up for it. I really enjoyed this game and I still play it till this day even though it's hacked and stuff, but when you get into a "good" lobby, it's a lot of fun. Expand
  10. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic. It is by far the best Call of Duty game. The multiplayer is as balanced and fair as any other CoD game, besides MW2 (MW2 didn't have balanced Multiplayer). The campaign is a very detailed and gritty representation of the actual events of world war 2. Another great part of the campaign is the expendable friendly A.I, as any generic Private Joe Average can be gunned down by the ever-adapting enemy without a second thought. This makes tactical gameplay a necessity. Overall, this is one of the best shooters on any console, and any negative assessment of the game doesn't do it nearly enough justice. Expand
  11. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome in many ways. Yes, it may be away from the game Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, but this video game is one of the best WWII video games ever!!
  12. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Call of Duty is going back to World War 2 with this game and it makes a memorable return, the campaign is short but tons of fun and challenging on the harder difficulties, the graphics are great and still impressive today, the controls haven't changed from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare because they don't need to, they are still one of the best controls out there, voice work is top notch, and multiplayer is just as good if not slightly better than Call of Duty 4, this one of the best games in the series and I would highly recomend it to any fan of the series Expand
  13. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    This game for me,is easily the best in the series of Call of Duty.I've always rated Treyarch over the overated 'Inferior' Ward.Though Black Ops was a big dissappointment for me,World at War is Treyarch at their best.Great variety of locations in the campaign,& VERY glad to finally see Campaign Co-Op in a Call of Duty game! & not just 2 player,but 4 Players at that! Not to mention Zombie Mode.Its even my favourate multiplayer in all the CoD series,actually having vehicles.I know CoD 3 also had vehicles(another Treyarch CoD),but it so much better implemented in World at War,with having to wear down & destroy tanks armour for instance.What else can i say,but Great Game! More Campaign Co-Op in Call of Duty though please.after all,these are 'Squad' games,with storys of Comradary.In fact,if i'm to buy any more CoD games in future,that is the MINIMUM requirment,or No sale! Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was great! It was my first CoD so i may be a bit biased but people need to stop comparing CoD 4 to every other Cod game. Cod 4 was great during its time period but other games have moved on and stepped up so we can't judge the next versions by it.
    Besides all that i commend Treyarch for going back to WW2 as many FPS these days tend to stray away from that area. I felt
    that Zombies was a brilliant feature and one which has gone on to become on the most popular features of CoD. Of course the game wasn't perfect and there were some glitches and perhaps some gun and perk balancing issues (MP40, Juggernaut) but on the whole it's a fun game to play. And if you can find an un-modded lobby you should have some fun in the tanks and just playing in general. Expand
  15. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    To a lot of people this may not be the best Call of Duty, but to me it is definitely one of the best. The campaign is fun, especially playing co op mode with friends. The best thing about this game though is definitely the zombie mode. The maps are great, with an amazing layout. Definitely better than the black ops zombie mode. This is a game worth getting.
  16. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    By far one of my top favorite Call of Duty games, and the best World War 2 game I've played yet. The campaign is what did it for me, the fist five minutes of the game, I was in awe of the epic game play, and battlefield that I was playing in.
  17. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Just picked this up again after years of modern shooters. I forgot how much I enjoyed the WW2 setting and guns. Even after all this time, it is still an amazing shooter. And who don't love popping Nazi zombie heads.
  18. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Takes the same great formula for gameplay from cod4, and uses the same great multiplayer. The campaign is also great following two fronts of the war that were not focused on by other ww2 games. It creates and gore filled horror of war that is not seen in any other cod, and creates a visual of a hellish experience. It took the modern eleiments from cod4 and put it into a ww2 game with little troubles. It is taking from another formula, but the formula is still almost perfect for this style of game so I don't criticize Treyarch much for this. A great experience all around Expand
  19. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Second best Cod game ever(slightley beaten by cod 4 mw1) Campaigns great, mulitplayers epic and zombie is awesome. Cods suck now a days but the good ones will never be forgotten. Call of Duty: World at War 9.3/10
  20. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    World at War is definitely my favorite Call of Duty game. The multiplayer maps are varied and unique, and the same can be said for the guns. While the MP40 holds an advantage over the other guns because it is the easiest to use effectively, a skilled player can do well using almost any weapon they like. World at War is currently the only Call of Duty game with a co-op campaign, which makes the already exciting missions even more enjoyable if you play them with a friend. Zombies is also fun, although it is a little simpler in World at War than in Black Ops. If you like Call of Duty but feel like the recent installments have grown stale, try World at War. It's the most unique, and also one of the very best (if not THE best). Expand
  21. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Wow...this game is brutal. It literally opens with a guy getting a cigarette rammed in his eye then having his throat slit spraying blood everywhere.
    I think that this game gets dark and gritty much better than the more recent Cod games (Which is ironic considering who makes them). Whilst the two campaigns (Russian and American) aren't that long they are still enjoyable. Also most of the
    performances are really good most of the time.
    The multiplayer is enjoyable but hackers run rampant so that sucks.
    Also this game introduces Zombies which I'm glad for because it is brilliant.
    So yes I definitely recommend this game.
    Expand
  22. May 26, 2013
    9
    Treyarch might be one of my favorite game company for this. This is the most bloody, exciting, and explosive Call of Duty since Finest Hour and Medal of Honor! Its just to bad this is the last WWII CoD in the franchise.
  23. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Campaign is really good. I love playin Coop. I love this game. This game, Modernwarfare2 and Modernwarfare are the only ones that I've played that aren't copy cats.
  24. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    At first I was confused as to why they returned to WWII in the Call of Duty series, but it's not a bad thing at all that they did. World at War is probably, in my opinion, the 2nd best or possibly best of the series. It remained basically the same in multiplayer, adding a few new things, but it's still very fun. The single player is pretty good, but I think the game really shines with the brand new Co-op campaign, with a scoring system, and the Nazi Zombies. I loved playing through the campaign with friends, and I loved zombies. Zombies was obviously great because of its originality and also because it's still around in the series in the new games, or at least versions of it are.

    World at War gets an 8.8/10
    Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    Treyarch are right on the money (if Activision aren't already on it anyway!) as this is a great installment to the CoD series and Treyarch can pat themselves on the back after a job very well done...The campaign portrays war in its true state: desperate, scary and gruesome and this is such a great part and experience and we really hope we can expect more campaigns of this nature in future games by Treyarch such as this year's Black Ops... The online has picked up on the CoD series' weaknesses. Small maps and no vehicles in previous games could sometimes leave gamers wanting more! Never fear, maps like "Seelow" are large and tanks are bound to shake up the game a bit! Finally, zombies - A great part of the game and we really do look forward to seeing them return in Black Ops! Expand
  26. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 5
    Characters: 4
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 6
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 7.5/10 = B
  27. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    great game but the multiplayer is full of hackers and people flying around with unlimited health so dont get this game for the multipIayer. I cant describe the single player as i havent played it through. The best part of the game is the zombies,you play through waves defeating zombies that come through baricades,unfortunately if you want more zombie maps you have to buy them from the xbox live marketplace but overall great graphics and great gameplay! Used to be a great game before it got taken over by hackers, would be good if treyarch got rid of them. Expand
  28. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    This was my first call of duty game, and I definitely enjoyed it, the maps were great, the connection wasn't too bad, and the general feel of it was good, and made the game very enjoyable, the game was later ruined by hackers however, and I blame Treyarch for not fixing these errors as multiplayer lobbies are still full of hackers who cannot die. The singleplayer wasn't too bad either, you took your place in the war, but that's all it felt like really, you were just a soldier, no real significance. Expand
  29. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The game may tread too deep into some decidedly grim territory at times, but "Call Of Duty: World At War" still makes for an impactful WWII shooter with some awesome gameplay additions to the franchise.
  30. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Call of Duty World at War is probably my favorite in the Call of Duty series (tied with Call of Duty 2) as I prefer the WW2 setting to the other settings the games have taken place in, World at War features a decent campaign which will last about 4-6 hours, but the real meat of the game comes from it's multiplayer which can give a lot of fun and replay value, It has some balancing issues and some of the maps are too big leading to times when you can't find enemies but overall these issues are not as bad of issues as some of the more recent Call of Duty games have had, I'm not sure if people still play World at War online anymore but if they do then I consider this one of the better Call of Duty games, more recent games have lost there appeal due to the annual releases in my opinion, But this was one of the last call of duty games I played and it's a good game, with solid single player campaign, fun multiplayer and the awesome co-op zombies survival mode, Whether you play alone or with a group of friends, this game can give you hours and hours of fun. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Call of Duty: World At War needs better character development and more "oh my God" moments. However, it's still a terrific first-person shooter. The combat is tight, the presentation shines and the multiplayer, particularly Nazi Zombie mode and co-op campaign, will keep you blasting enemy soldiers for weeks.
  2. Treyarch did a remarkable job of breathing new life into the WWII shooter. They followed the conventions outlined by Infinity Ward to a tee and, as a result, created a shooter that is every bit as good as last year's entry. Of course, there isn't a whole lot of innovation this time around, but the increased Multiplayer options, new settings, and great enemy A.I. should more than satisfy all but the most jaded Infinity Ward fanboys.
  3. 90
    Although the campaign storyline isn't nearly as engaging as the one seen in "CoD4," there should be enough memorable set pieces and intense sequences to keep you riveted throughout. The addition of a co-op mode brings a great deal of replay value to the proceedings, especially once you start throwing the death cards into the mix. Ultimately, it's the multiplayer and co-op action that will keep us coming back for more.