Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Xbox 360

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 27, 2013
    72
    Playing the game is a blast, as the whole "desperado" feeling comes through in spades. Story is a fun play through, and could be done in one sitting. But the Duel and Arcade modes offer a good amount of re-playability.
  2. May 21, 2013
    70
    Despite its successes and mild inventions, Gunslinger can't quite manage to struggle free of the general sense of ennui surrounding the corridor shooter in 2013.
  3. May 31, 2013
    60
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger has some good ideas, especially the playful storytelling and how it directly affects the gameplay. And it's only $15 as a digital title. However, it gets bogged down with its on-rails confinement, its slow, overly precise aiming, and its tedious dueling system.
  4. May 24, 2013
    70
    Gunslinger wipes away the disappointment of the previous Call of Juarez. The affordable price of this shooter makes up for its short adventure and its shortcomings: mainly a poor AI and the lack of multiplayer. Its overall good storytelling, and the fitting cel shading of its visuals make up for those as well.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    70
    There are worse ways to spend a weekend than playing through your own trashy western novel. [Issue#136, p.119]
  6. May 20, 2013
    70
    Gunslinger offers an entertaining romp through a stylized Western world. The famous name dropping doesn't add much spice to Silas' revenge story and their gameplay implementation is even less memorable. But where Gunslinger falters with the legends of the West, it succeeds in creating a score-based shooter with an interesting, constantly morphing environment and charming narration.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    For less than 15 euros, Techland gives us an honest game which can stand the comparison with blockbusters. The developers took great care in making a nice environment through the use of cel-shading for graphics, music, and the voice that makes the game entertaining. But Call of Juarez Gunslinger ain't faultless. The game is quite short, the AI and the dullness of the gameplay are serious faults. Gunslinger is an arcade title that you should play like an arcade game: intensively and quickly!
  8. 70
    If all you want is to gun down wave after wave of enemies set to the pleasant Southern drawl of its narrator, hang up your spurs and have at it. If however, you demand a little innovation with your arcade shooters, then much like Silas himself, tales of Gunslinger's greatness may be greatly exaggerated.
  9. May 20, 2013
    60
    No-one seems to have quite figured out how to do these correctly, but Gunslinger's combo of using the sticks to position the draw hand and focus your target – as well as waiting for the right time to shoot – is pretty good. Much like the game as a whole then.
  10. 70
    There's a laser-like focus on gunplay here that strips away much of the fluff. [Issue#99, p.81]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    After the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still makingAfter the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still making it refreshing and enjoyable. The story telling and voice acting is, in my opinion of course, the best of the series, creating its most lovable and memorable character yet, Silas Greaves. The way the story is told beautifully connects to the flawless FPS controls. The game looks gorgeous, from its Borderlands-styled graphics in the environment to the blood gushing from the enemie's face after pulling of a satisfying headshot in Concentration Mode, making you feel like a real Western bad ass. The only very minor flaws are the frame rate and the low FOV, but since the FOV almost never gets in the way of shooting some in the knee cap, it's very forgivable, combined with all the amusing content "Gunslinger" has to offer.

    As a fifteen dollar arcade game, "Call of Juarez: Gunslinger" offers more fun than most of today's fifty dollar games even manage to get close to.

    Gorgeous, classic, amusing: everything a great and enjoyable game has to be. 10/10.
    Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2013
    9
    Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative,Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative, no multiplayer(becose this way the game it´s longer), and it is more than amazing, one of the best games i had ever played in a long time. Don´t wait more and make your self with a copy.

    !The wild west is back!
    Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2013
    10
    First i have to say i registred on metacritic, just to write this review. What an amazing game, witch is well worth the money!

    Here's a few
    First i have to say i registred on metacritic, just to write this review. What an amazing game, witch is well worth the money!

    Here's a few reason the game is so fantastic, and me explaining the contents of the game;

    - Amazing Single player story mode, which has great voice-acting and an intresting story. Makes me really eager to play one more mission, just to see what happends further on, simply fabulous! In the story mode there is also a pretty deep skill tree, consisting of 3 different categories- Long distance combat (Rifleman), a dual wielding tree, and a close quarter shotgun skill tree. I don't wanna spoil anything, but you will not only obtain "skills" but after you have put lets say around 5 skill points in one tree, you'll recieve something cool. There is also so called obtainable "secrets", witch is spread across the diffrent levels.

    - Insane Arcade mode! This mode has extreme replayability, and action. Never have i seen so many varied and crazy fun filled levels in one mode! Firstly this mode is all about keeping the so called "score multiper" high, as this mode is all about the points you end up with after you've come to the end. To do this you have to neutralize one enemy after another withing around 5 seconds, to keep the multipler going, or it will end. This mode also has a separate skill tree from the campaign, in witch you unlock skills by aquiring this and that many points in each of the 3 very different classes.

    - Also there is a duel mode aswell, however i didn't try this one yet. From what i know, you will face many diffrent duelists, in which the goal is to take as many as you can down, within 5 lives, and it becomes more and more difficult per duel.

    Also, the game has fantastic visuals, and AWESOME sounds! Really nice feel to the diffrent revolvers, shotguns and rifles!

    Thats my review, and i recommend everyone to pick this one up right now! 10 of 10- Well done Techland! :-)

    Written on an Ipad, so thats why there may be spelling errors my main language is not English.
    Full Review »