User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 161

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    After the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still making it refreshing and enjoyable. The story telling and voice acting is, in my opinion of course, the best of the series, creating its most lovable and memorable character yet, Silas Greaves. The way the story is told beautifully connects to the flawless FPS controls. The game looks gorgeous, from its Borderlands-styled graphics in the environment to the blood gushing from the enemie's face after pulling of a satisfying headshot in Concentration Mode, making you feel like a real Western bad ass. The only very minor flaws are the frame rate and the low FOV, but since the FOV almost never gets in the way of shooting some in the knee cap, it's very forgivable, combined with all the amusing content "Gunslinger" has to offer.

    As a fifteen dollar arcade game, "Call of Juarez: Gunslinger" offers more fun than most of today's fifty dollar games even manage to get close to.

    Gorgeous, classic, amusing: everything a great and enjoyable game has to be. 10/10.
    Collapse
  2. May 22, 2013
    9
    Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative, no multiplayer(becose this way the game it´s longer), and it is more than amazing, one of the best games i had ever played in a long time. Don´t wait more and make your self with a copy.

    !The wild west is back!
  3. May 25, 2013
    10
    First i have to say i registred on metacritic, just to write this review. What an amazing game, witch is well worth the money!

    Here's a few reason the game is so fantastic, and me explaining the contents of the game;

    - Amazing Single player story mode, which has great voice-acting and an intresting story. Makes me really eager to play one more mission, just to see what happends
    further on, simply fabulous! In the story mode there is also a pretty deep skill tree, consisting of 3 different categories- Long distance combat (Rifleman), a dual wielding tree, and a close quarter shotgun skill tree. I don't wanna spoil anything, but you will not only obtain "skills" but after you have put lets say around 5 skill points in one tree, you'll recieve something cool. There is also so called obtainable "secrets", witch is spread across the diffrent levels.

    - Insane Arcade mode! This mode has extreme replayability, and action. Never have i seen so many varied and crazy fun filled levels in one mode! Firstly this mode is all about keeping the so called "score multiper" high, as this mode is all about the points you end up with after you've come to the end. To do this you have to neutralize one enemy after another withing around 5 seconds, to keep the multipler going, or it will end. This mode also has a separate skill tree from the campaign, in witch you unlock skills by aquiring this and that many points in each of the 3 very different classes.

    - Also there is a duel mode aswell, however i didn't try this one yet. From what i know, you will face many diffrent duelists, in which the goal is to take as many as you can down, within 5 lives, and it becomes more and more difficult per duel.

    Also, the game has fantastic visuals, and AWESOME sounds! Really nice feel to the diffrent revolvers, shotguns and rifles!

    Thats my review, and i recommend everyone to pick this one up right now! 10 of 10- Well done Techland! :-)

    Written on an Ipad, so thats why there may be spelling errors my main language is not English.
    Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    10
    WOW pleasantly surprised! best $14.99 I ever spent. Working through the storyline so far and it's very entertaining if you're a fan of this era (Western, no more Cartel bogus). As far as game play controls go basic FPS aspects and the dueling is fun! PC Gamer here, all maxed out settings, no issues. I did have to change a couple sound setting defaults but it was no biggie.
  5. May 24, 2013
    9
    Easily the best game in the series. Graphics are done in an almost comic book style, which works nicely. Violent as hell. Shooting mechanics work great. Generally a pleasure to play.
  6. May 25, 2013
    9
    After the awful Devil's Cartel take on the franchise Call of Juarez decided to go back to his roots as an excellent addition to the franchise, the story is telled in a shell shaded art style with excellent voice acting and and incredible twist at the end that will most definitely will let your jaw drop.
    The gameplay never gets repetitive or generic thank's to the well placed level up
    system that there is in the game, the abilities will make you reload faster, make more damage and even will change how the guns in the game look physically and overall how they work in general. This changes to yourself or to your weapons will force you to keep playing the game constantly just to get every ability and be the ultimate legend of the west.
    The game is around 7 to 8 hours clocked in counting cutscenes and gameplay, with huge chances of replayability just to get every single ability, it even has a new game plus option that allow you to start with your abilities and weapons from the first playthrough. after that you will have other game modes to explore like dueling and arcade wich each one of them have their own unique set of fun. Buy this game now
    Expand
  7. May 24, 2013
    9
    what a surprise i didnt want to play it but the game claims its oportunity and prove its value, cool and accurate shootting mecanics simply funny story line with cool narrative style well craffted envioment and graphics i dont have any big complains considering its arcade focus. cool game.....................
  8. May 28, 2013
    10
    COJ: Gunslinger is an outstanding old-school score based shooter with bags of personality and a hardcore arcade mode.

    Story mode is well narrated and full of humour and legendary characters. It's an action focused game with an emphasis on choreographed set-pieces and masterful shooting. There's a nice XP system in both story and arcade mode which gives access to useful upgrades and
    sweet bonus weapons.

    The real meat here is the arcade mode. Free from distractions and story guff, each level is comprised of several enemy-filled areas to speed through. The idea is to link kills to build a huge combo score and this is made possible with solid shooting mechanics and a 'Dead-eye' style bullet time meter. Linking these areas is the key to massive scores.

    When it 'clicks' arcade mode resembles a shooty version of Trials HD, especially with friends on the leaderboards.

    The lack of multiplayer irks at first but I can't think of a way this would work with the game mechanics. DLC arcade levels would add even more replay value.

    An awesome game with genuine attitude and, in my opinion, Techland's best game yet.
    Expand
  9. May 26, 2013
    10
    This is the 2nd best Call of Juarez in this console generation both story and gameplay is fantastic and unique but my personal favorit will be always the Call of Juarez1 with old reverend ray.
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    A bit hesitant at first, after playing a few minutes of the story mode I was amazed! Now that I've finished the solo (which was great and different from anything I've ever tried before) I think that I actually prefer the arcade and duel modes (the arcade mode is awesome once you've mastered the bullet time usage).
    Considering this is a digital title, it is a considerable acheivement! To
    buy without any hesitation especially for 15 bucks Expand
  11. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    One of the more refreshing and fun shooters of 2013 - in a time when most modern FPS games are focusing on massive set pieces and realism they forget about what makes a shooter truly fun, a great mix of enemies, cool locations, great upgrades that encourage a number of different play styles and also a stylish graphical style that is great to look at and makes the action fast, fluid and slick. all of this is offered by Call of Juarez Gunslinger and it also tells a fantastic story which provides interesting and unique aspects in the gameplay. With a great arcade game mode and a fun duel mode this game packs a heap of punch for the price range. easily one of the most fun shooters to come out in a while. Expand
  12. May 27, 2013
    9
    This game was a positive suprise for me I thought that It'll be a serious western story about greed, bandits morality etc. But it finds to be a great, funny game about one of the biggest badasses in history Silas Graves. Gameplay is good too, that was a great idea to add some rpg to this shooter I love this game as much as I loved the first part and brotherhood. Chłopaki z Techlandu jeśli to czytacie, to wiedzcie że wykonaliście dobrą robotę :D. Good job, very good game and wonderful graphics Expand
  13. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    With the recent influx of future shooters nowadays, Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a nice change in pace. The art direction in Call of Juarez: Gunslinger can only be described as amazing, and the Wild West Story is well written. Grab your mighty shotgun partner, you are in for a wild ride that I'm sure you'll enjoy.
  14. May 23, 2013
    0
    After the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still making it refreshing and enjoyable. The story telling and voice acting is, in my opinion of course, the best of the series, creating its most lovable and memorable character yet, Silas Greaves. The way the story is told beautifully connects to the flawless FPS controls. The game looks gorgeous, from its Borderlands-styled graphics in the environment to the blood gushing from the enemie's face after pulling of a satisfying headshot in Concentration Mode, making you feel like a real Western bad ass. The only very minor flaws are the frame rate and the low FOV, but since the FOV almost never gets in the way of shooting some in the knee cap, it's very forgivable, combined with all the amusing content "Gunslinger" has to offer.

    As a fifteen dollar arcade game, "Call of Juarez: Gunslinger" offers more fun than most of today's fifty dollar games even manage to get close to.

    Gorgeous, classic, amusing: everything a great and enjoyable game has to be. 10/10.
    Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    After an über-boring trip to the present, Call of Juarez has finally realized what makes it special. Code word is a pulp thrill ride, but this is what Techland does best. It ain't a milestone in gaming history, but it is a nice shooter with a pretty good narrative. [Aug 2013]
  2. Jul 21, 2013
    80
    A few rough spots do little to tarnish this energetic and purely fun and unpretentious FPS. [Aug 2013, p.78]
  3. 70
    There's a laser-like focus on gunplay here that strips away much of the fluff. [Issue#99, p.81]