Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a genuine homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a brutal bounty hunter onto the hunt for the West's most infamous outlaws. Blurring the distinction between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 27, 2013
    91
    All in all I found myself really impressed by what Call of Juarez: Gunslinger brought to the table. It took a series name fouled by a recent entry and essentially turned it into a respectable property once again, without completely abandoning the setting or tone found in earlier titles.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    It may lack the sprawling epic world of Red Dead Redemption, but this is your next best choice for a Western fix that satisfies.
  3. May 20, 2013
    80
    There's so much stupid satisfaction to be had from Gunslinger's bloody headshots and from nailing sweet combos that its flaws quickly disappear in a flurry of gunpowder and shotgun shells. It doesn't look half-bad either, with a semi-cel-shaded design and some nicely detailed environments that drive the Wild West theme home.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    After an über-boring trip to the present, Call of Juarez has finally realized what makes it special. Code word is a pulp thrill ride, but this is what Techland does best. It ain't a milestone in gaming history, but it is a nice shooter with a pretty good narrative. [Aug 2013]
  5. May 24, 2013
    77
    After the disgraceful neo-western The Cartel, Techland goes back to its Call of Juarez-roots with Gunslinger. And while the arcade mechanics rarely go beyond average, the imaginative narrative and the visual style draw you deep into the alternative history of Billy the Kid, Jesse James and Silas Greaves.
  6. May 27, 2013
    72
    Playing the game is a blast, as the whole "desperado" feeling comes through in spades. Story is a fun play through, and could be done in one sitting. But the Duel and Arcade modes offer a good amount of re-playability.
  7. May 20, 2013
    60
    No-one seems to have quite figured out how to do these correctly, but Gunslinger's combo of using the sticks to position the draw hand and focus your target – as well as waiting for the right time to shoot – is pretty good. Much like the game as a whole then.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    After the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still making it refreshing and enjoyable. The story telling and voice acting is, in my opinion of course, the best of the series, creating its most lovable and memorable character yet, Silas Greaves. The way the story is told beautifully connects to the flawless FPS controls. The game looks gorgeous, from its Borderlands-styled graphics in the environment to the blood gushing from the enemie's face after pulling of a satisfying headshot in Concentration Mode, making you feel like a real Western bad ass. The only very minor flaws are the frame rate and the low FOV, but since the FOV almost never gets in the way of shooting some in the knee cap, it's very forgivable, combined with all the amusing content "Gunslinger" has to offer.

    As a fifteen dollar arcade game, "Call of Juarez: Gunslinger" offers more fun than most of today's fifty dollar games even manage to get close to.

    Gorgeous, classic, amusing: everything a great and enjoyable game has to be. 10/10.
    Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    A bit hesitant at first, after playing a few minutes of the story mode I was amazed! Now that I've finished the solo (which was great and different from anything I've ever tried before) I think that I actually prefer the arcade and duel modes (the arcade mode is awesome once you've mastered the bullet time usage).
    Considering this is a digital title, it is a considerable acheivement! To buy without any hesitation especially for 15 bucks
    Expand
  3. May 22, 2013
    9
    Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative, no multiplayer(becose this way the game it´s longer), and it is more than amazing, one of the best games i had ever played in a long time. Don´t wait more and make your self with a copy.

    !The wild west is back!
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Excelente narrativa, excelentes gráficas y el detalle de los elementos que se destruyen durante las balanceras es muy bueno. Cada uno de los jefes finales tiene una dinámica diferente y muy trabajada. Que puedo decir de los duelos; es con lo que mas sufro en el juego. Un gran juego! Expand
  5. May 23, 2013
    8
    For 15 bucks you probably won't find a better FPS. Sure it doesn't do anything new to the FPS genre but its still very fun and enjoyable, the FPS mechanics are functional and the skill trees are also good for using your own playstyle. The graphics and artstyle are good and mix very well with the setting which by the way is very good, you really feel like a bad ass in a wild west setting, the story does the job and the comic style cutscenes with the good voice acting is really good. The bad things: The FOV sometimes can feel too narrow, the frames per second are sometimes lower than they should be, the story did the job but I wished a little more from it, there's pretty much no weapon variety. Only the low price keeps this game from getting an 7, for that price anyone should try it because it is really fun. Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The first two Call of Juarez games were good, but had some flaws, and The Cartel was a disaster. So I had some reservations in playing the newest entry in a series that never really did much for me. Thankfully, Gunslinger is good enough to be one of my favorite Arcade titles in a while. The biggest thin going for it is the sheer amount of content it has. The campaign, runs roughly 9-ish hours, and manages to tell a compelling tale with some interesting characters and some really clever gameplay mechanics involving the stories flashback nature. Meanwhile, the Duels challenge and ten different Arcade levels are a lot of fun, and extend the game's lie considerably. Throw in some tight gameplay, excellent sound design, and beautiful cel-shaded graphics, and you have a serious contender for best Arcade title of the year. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    Wanna save $15? Pick the most brainless level in a Call of Duty game and replay it 10 times. I can feel my IQ drop 1 point per minute that I play this. Point and shoot point and shoot x100. The fact that this is $15 does not save it from a bad score. I am stupider for having played this game. An entirely pointless experience. Just replay your COD games, those are way smarter than this. Goodbye $15. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews